Jaybee3's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Jaybee3's Profile › Jaybee3's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 (of 532 pages)
Ada Bekee: to me, d ring serves as a symbol of committment, its an evidence dat he proposed.Evidence to who, the society? |
Olurose: Hmmm, as 4 me ooo I won't accept a marriage proposal without a ring, I'll take it as if u're just joking. U av to go and get d ring baibeeThe dynamics of relationships in this current times have changed and you just have to evolve. Yes the natural order is to meet someone/date/court/engage/get married bla bla bla What if this natural order was altered by you mistakenly getting pregnant and all, would you still insist on no wedding without engagement ring? |
uj_sizzle: I wish you could be a girl for a week, then you'd understand that admirers will always be there and sometimes seeing that you are about to wed is the only way to get some annoying pest-ly males off your backI strongly disagree that only a ring will enable you reach that desired effect. You have admirers because you simply allowed/encouraged it. Most women that aren’t able to feign off admirers simply enjoy the attention they get from them. There are far better ways to achieve the same result without the need of a ring. • You can always be firm and formal when associating with these so called admirers. • Value and respect you relationship more. |
uj_sizzle: @bolded. Very worthy cause if you ask meWhy should a girl in a relationship be having all those admirers? If you focus on your relationship then surely you will have no reason to warn off admirers, no? Commitment is all about mindset |
I'd propose to my girl with a ring if: 1) That's what she wants (This is the single most important reason why you should cos at the ed of the day we do everything for love) 2) I can afford one Not because: 1) It's the norm 2) It's the only way to show i'm committed |
uj_sizzle: It's still tradition. The same reason why some cultures have the man paying a bride price and others have a woman paying dowry.I'm not saying it isn't tradition. I just frown at people hiding under tradition/culture/norm whenever it suits them. Getting engaged/married is a decision between two people willing to spend the rest of their lives together. They should decide on what works for them and not what the society deems acceptable. The notion that a ring is a sign of commitment is all farce. Commitment is all about respect and values that the couple have for each other once they make that decisions to embark on the journey of no return. One of the main reason why this same ring has almost lost its true value/meaning is simply because most women want this same ring to show off or better still use to warn all their numerous admirers off. Technically, being committed starts once you are in love and you both see each other as someone you had be able to spend the rest of your life with. |
Mynd_44: Wait ooo. A ring signifies commitment and promise bla bla bla but why a ring? What not a diadem, a tiara, a scarf, a bracelet, necklace or waistbead? Why a ring? jay bee: Phew, thanks for seeing my question for what it was really.Oga mynd, that's the angle that i'm trying to get uj sizzle to view it from as well hence my question. |
uj_sizzle: Not one party, it's more a question of which does the greater good.Phew, thanks for seeing my question for what it was really. Here is another question, so if a ring is meant to be a sign of commitment and commitment is meant to be between 2 couples in love so why then must the ring be given to the woman alone? |
HisRib: Bride Price is tradition. It's something that has been done for years by our ancestors. Why are you trying to twist things? All this because of a mere engagement ring?!Take a chill pill ma'am, i was only trying to point the obvious double standards to the person i quoted. I was in no way trying to justify an engagement without a ring. Besides, is it even tradition to offer a ring as a sign of commitment? Again, i'm only questioning the rationale. I'm by no means trying to justify anyone's action or inaction. |
uj_sizzle: Please teach your brothers. I think globalization is becoming a curseWhy is globalization acceptable when it benefits only one party? How come this same globalization ish gets frowned upon if the man dare try to use it to get out of the somewhat archaic practices disguised under bride price arrangements? A practice ought not to be acceptable when it suits just one party |
See all these fine gurls wey you been dey control ehn |
Why you dey do me like dis na lolly |
Results
Judge 5 and 6 Contestant 5-10
Judge 5 and 6 Contestant 1-4
Judge 1 - 4 Contestant 5 - 10
Judge 1 - 4 Contestant 1-4
lorretta u: you like this sexy babe on glasses I just posted now ?If na the one wey you been think say your own bros suppose wife then no shaking ![]() |
tellwisdom: Just use knife and chook your belle... the baby will be abortedGet serious dude....geeeez @OP You are still a child so my advise is for you to go and meet your folks for direction. |
@lolly I need a wife Oya hook your bro up na with on of these sexy chicas |
Madam cc na contestant 69? |
Naija politics cheiiii |
I'm around |
baby_123: I dont think Coogar has the ability to be unbiased. He cannot help himself. I will be observing and make sure i protest till he gets removed. Same with Sagamite.Debaters are being scored against published criteria Each criteria carries a maximum of 5 points Each judge is required to give feedback Above all, only the "content" criteria is susceptible to some level of bias |
Sleep during the day Stay away from films > 90 minutes Stay away from certain genres Get involved with the touchy touchy business with your date (This should get your body and soul engaged) |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 (of 532 pages)

).