Stats: 3,325,185 members, 8,420,703 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 09:31 AM

Obaidan's Posts

Nairaland ForumObaidan's ProfileObaidan's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 (of 93 pages)

TravelRe: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by obaidan: 8:16pm On Jan 10, 2024
Impactever:
Wow... Thank you so much for the information above. This is very insightful.
I am already in the IT space.
I am a Data Scientist and also an AI Specialist.
I am not too sure about how easy it is to land a job into the AI space in the US within 60 days after completing a PhD program in AI .
I was actually considering getting married in Nigeria before I Japa but with this information from you, I have just changed my mind.
I will have to delay that immediate gratification .
I am now beginning to see the long term benefits of getting married to a US Citizen. Most especially African American women.
All eyes on the American Green Card .
Securing my future and that of my future generations is the goal.

May God help me as I embark on this transformative journey.
Keep your eyes on your goal....... that's the only way. Luck will easily locate you if you are prepared. And dont forget excellence is important.... be the best or almost the best at what u do. You will be found

ANd you see that one i shaded for you in red grin grin grin grin grin, A lot of people won't agree with you on that. you will decide when u start interacting with them. Have an open mind, your luck fit come from naturalized east african/nigerian/even indian women. If you eventually get in for a PhD, you may a very good chance with NIW if you work towards it, but get to the us fess
TravelRe: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by obaidan: 2:48pm On Jan 10, 2024
tensazangetsu20:
That country is very stingy with green card. Read a lot of things on Reddit with regards to studying in the US for international students and it just made me weak.
Exactly Reddit and Quora will show you what immigrants really go through. It's not for the faint hearted. But I still consider US the top destination for anyone with tall dreams. If that person is willing to uphold excellence as a value. If you are shining light, somehow you will be found in the US. Just keep doing your thing and be d best at it.
TravelRe: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by obaidan: 2:35pm On Jan 10, 2024
Impactever:
What about going for a PhD program through a fully funded scholarship in the US with a student VISA.

Is there any hope of any chance of staying back to live and work in the US after finishing my PhD program for some time before applying for a PR ?
It depends on what exactly you are trying to study. See these days, even the IT industry is slowly becoming uneasy to break into for new comers. People with green card and US passports are taking up multiple jobs now doing 2 to 3 jobs remotely. Employers also do not want to go through the stress of filing for people when there are numerous skilled people applying for the same job and they do not have to file for those ones. For better chances of staying back, u are better off studying health related course(nursing in particular) or IT. And for IT you will be better off mastering a skill, not just having the degree. Also know that the 3 years postgraduate IT work permit you get after graduation is 1 year + an extension of 2 years which is conditioned on you fulfilling some funny conditions for the the first 1 year. Conditions like getting a job(related to your field) not later than 90 days after your permit is approved( know that u also have 60 days to stay in the US after graduation without a work permit). Another condition is that during that one year period, you can't stay jobless for more than 3 months cummulatively. All these conditions may be d reason u will still see lots of people with good jobs n degree still opting for the marriage route.

And yes phD gives you sufficient time to plan your next move, also helps you build your profile so you can explore applying for green card via a route called NIW/EB2. If you decide for phD, try to write n publish at least one paper.

But like others have adviced you, you are actually better off sharpening your interaction skills with women, learning to open up and be receptive to women of different culture because marriage is the surest. The earlier you get your green card the better, because it's after you get your green card you can start living your American dreams properly. You begin to use government and financial services support to conquer and expand.
RomanceRe: Dealing With The Mr. Nice Guy Attitude by obaidan: 11:27pm On Jan 09, 2024
na true she talk...na mumu man dey form nice guy
I don't get how people are comfortable being someone else, are u not miserable doing that? Nice guy nice guy she go still serve u breakfast lunch and dinner at the same time
CelebritiesRe: "Sophia Momodu Is Demanding $800 For Nanny's Fee From Davido" – Cutie Juls by obaidan: 11:18pm On Jan 09, 2024
anonym0us:
in the USA or uk it's 2k up, and if you fail to pay, your body go tell you. Try leave ekiti travel.
so because nanny is 2k in USA and UK...e should pay 2k or even 800 for a nanny in Nigeria. so if e leave Ekiti travel, weytin that one come mean. U get paid according to the wage structure and realities of where you work.....even in the US u are talking about...pay in same organization for same position dey vary from one location to another...make una stop to dey use this kain argument support what is not. 800k per month for a nanny in Nigeria, u cannot justify it, even if e dey rent a whole mother to help him nurture the child totally. I believe Davido still pays the child's tuition, still caters for the child's accomodation, the girl should let him have access to his child. All these small girls should be told to stop raising bitter kids, if the guy is so absent, it will be so obvious, the little girl will know and see it, and the father will eventually regret it. Stop encouraging them to be using vagina as workshop.

What point will u want to prove by restricting access to a child that wants see her father. Because of her own ego, she dey put the little girl through emotional distress..because she wan score point.
CelebritiesRe: "Sophia Momodu Is Demanding $800 For Nanny's Fee From Davido" – Cutie Juls by obaidan: 10:58pm On Jan 09, 2024
Na toto be a lot of women workshop...what is wrong with you raising your child within the limits of what u can afford as a mother....even if the father is useless........raise this child within ur means...stop asking for money you did not work for. If you are sure of yourself, raise your child to be valuable to the society, na d absent father go carry the shame eventually
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Middlesbrough Vs Chelsea FA Cup (1 - 0) On 9th January 2024 by obaidan: 10:49pm On Jan 09, 2024
Pochetino is clueless..no style, no agenda...just pass around aimlessly
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Middlesbrough Vs Chelsea FA Cup (1 - 0) On 9th January 2024 by obaidan: 9:54pm On Jan 09, 2024
That boy Colwil scammed his way into this chelsea squad......the coach is mediocre.....Its a bad day for Palmer...Madueke should be playing from Middlesbrough, not chelsea
EducationRe: Secondary School Teachers In Taraba Must Have Master’s Degree – Gov Kefas by obaidan: 6:59pm On Jan 09, 2024
More importantly, will you pay them appropriately...I wonder who cursed nigeria with all manner of shallow thinkers, across party lines...all dumb leaders. Focus should be on training the people you employ to be teachers not, the degree they carry.
PoliticsRe: Tinubu Summons Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo by obaidan:
The best way to fight corruption is to put measures in place to prevent it. Mr. President should have declared his assets, the ministers and other public officers would have declared theirs too. This may have prevented Bosun and Betta from awarding contract to themselves through this inexperienced format. Put structures in place that will fight corruption............the same shell that will behave appropriately in other places is the same shell that will connive with naija officials to steal crude oil in Nigeria.

Once there is a cloak of secrecy in any space, people will take see it as a shield and try to do bad things. Tinubu should declare his asset, even if na lie e wan lie, make e even pretend, so the other thieves working with him wont be encouraged to be cornering contract for themselves because they feel no one is looking
PoliticsRe: Tinubu Slashes Travel Convoy By 60% by obaidan: 3:56pm On Jan 09, 2024
If this is true, this is the first time i will be commending him. The next step is for him to go ahead and discipline anyone that violates this, especially those head of agencies and ministers.
Outright sack for the first 2 to violate this directive will be sufficient to whip others in line
BusinessRe: Cadbury, Guinness, Others Lost N472bn To Naira Depreciation – Meristem by obaidan: 9:50pm On Jan 07, 2024
Originalsly:
They've made enough .... they should leave and let us develop our own industry using our resources.
u are doing yourself.
Christianity EtcRe: Maintain Territory! - Becky Enenche Tells Women (Video) by obaidan: 9:44pm On Jan 07, 2024
LilMissFavvy:
This woman again. Is this not the woman who said wives should not be checking their husbands phones huh ? Not all married women can give good marital advise.
Kindly highlight what exactly you find wrong with the advice she gave. Women should not look make effort to look good? or the looking good should not be for their husband?
Christianity EtcRe: Maintain Territory! - Becky Enenche Tells Women (Video) by obaidan: 9:39pm On Jan 07, 2024
EreluRoz:
Never will I marry someone who think it's normal I wake up by four to be cooking. My wakeup time is 8.30am
That is it. If that works for u and ur partner, perfect. I will also not encourage my wife to deprive her body of sufficient sleep because she wants to cook for me...but if another woman in agreement witth her husband is happy to make that sacrifice, it doesn't mean she is under pressure or miserable or some form of discomfort. In some situations that men are out all day toiling and sweating so the wife and the family can be fine and comfortable, i am sure your judgement will be that the man is hardworking and responsible. You wont say he is under pressure or discomfort. People will do what works for them
Christianity EtcRe: Maintain Territory! - Becky Enenche Tells Women (Video) by obaidan: 9:32pm On Jan 07, 2024
EreluRoz:
I don't even get it anymore.

You must be under some intense pressure and discomfort in your marriage before you can get the good wife tag from Nigerian men
some of you are just bitter by default.......making effort and sacrifices to stay happy in marriage is now a source of discomfort and pressure,
TravelRe: UK Man Confronts Nigerian Neighbour After He Stopped Him From Using His Wifi by obaidan: 2:52pm On Jan 07, 2024
Na old news nairaland dey always bring. The owner should employ people that can get the job done
FamilyRe: “Stop Chasing Money, Go And Marry, Money Will Start Chasing You” — Nigerian Lady by obaidan: 2:38pm On Jan 07, 2024
If you like, follow her advice when u no get anything u are working on. She will not tell u the things she n her man were working on before they got married, she didn't not tell u how many proposals they ha e submitted hoping for approvals, she will not tell u what was already put in motion before they got married. Blessings manifested after they got married, efforts expended before they got married was not mentioned. Once again, if you like, do like mumu follow her advice without asking further questions

She also did not tell u what she and her husband are into.
CrimeRe: Total War Against Name Checkers On Nairaland by obaidan: 2:30pm On Jan 07, 2024
What took you so long. You have cashed out enough on the traffic tribal insults generate. Well done for SAYING you will do the right thing. I really really really HOPE you will do what you have said you will do.
Congratulations for planning to take the path of honour
CrimeRe: "If Change No Dey In 2months, I Go Start To Carry Gun" - Says Man by obaidan: 3:59pm On Jan 05, 2024
Jennyclay:
Go and carry gun naw!! Afterall that’s what you Nigerian men are good at… to carry gun, kill and rape undecided. Shior!!

You people voted in calamity and you want the calamity government to give you good life. Mtcheww!!

Give to Caesar what belongs to Caesar. You voted in calamity, you get calamity!!
-e be like na rape dem use conceive this one
-you are not even smart, give to caesar what belongs to caesar, how is that a description of what is happening. you want to sound smart but ended up appearing like the opposite
CrimeRe: "If Change No Dey In 2months, I Go Start To Carry Gun" - Says Man by obaidan: 3:55pm On Jan 05, 2024
Bodexinvest:
Get ready to go to jail as well.
someone that needs to trek from Mowe in order to get to VI no go really fear jail o
CareerRe: I Relocated To US To Start My Career Again - Vincent Adeoba by obaidan: 3:48pm On Jan 05, 2024
Timoleon:
Most of it reeks of complaints about a failed product really.

[s]What businesses does your company have with NURTW? As a 'senior associate' with Pwc, you and your colleagues ought to know that your profit actually comes from cutting out the NURTW from your operations.[/s]

Good luck to you in your new sojourn.
I am not sure you understand how transportation business operate in Lagos. You are not really aware of the stakeholders in the business of transportation in Lagos, otherwise you would not say what business does he have with NURTW.

Have you ever tried to start a business that will create distortion to the existing ways of operating in an industry? You will understand him better
SportsRe: Weah, Drogba Are For Me The Greatest African Players Of All Time - Mikel Obi by obaidan: 3:39pm On Jan 05, 2024
Noniblaq:
Nobody reach okocha abeg
JJ Okocha is the most talented and skillful man from Africa to ever play the game BUT HE IS NOT THE GREATEST ...... He gives me joy more than any other player, I love him more than any other African player, past and present, But he isn't the greatest
SportsRe: Weah, Drogba Are For Me The Greatest African Players Of All Time - Mikel Obi by obaidan: 3:37pm On Jan 05, 2024
MichaelSokoto:
Bad belle statement!

lipsrsealed
where is the bad belle there, i hope you do not expect him to put any Nigerian player there. He probably forgot to add Samuel Etoo
PoliticsRe: ‘Don’t Wait Till Nigerians Start Stoning You’ – Primate Ayodele Tells Tinubu by obaidan: 3:20pm On Jan 05, 2024
dunce pastors. Before election they were singing Tinubu is the right man to lead the country, now their tithe and gift from church members dun dey reduce because of hardship in the land, he dun dey sing another tune. Nobody go stome am, if e pain u mr. pastor carry all ur children make una go stone am alone.
CrimeRe: US Charges Nigerian Businessman, Dozy Mmobuosi Who Tried To Buy Sheffied by obaidan: 8:54pm On Jan 04, 2024
YOur role model's role model has been nabbed....hard work is the best
CultureRe: Things Nigerians Call Twice by obaidan: 4:20pm On Jan 03, 2024
Jay Jay
TravelRe: Should I Keep My Federal Job Or Travel to the U.K by obaidan: 4:17pm On Jan 03, 2024
h
Christianity EtcRe: International Christian Worship Center Uyo. Photos by obaidan: 4:02pm On Jan 03, 2024
Focusmind:
Nigeria and misplaced priority. The same Akwa Ibom that a syringe manufacturing company just folded is commissioning a worship centre. I keep saying it, religion should be a private matter. We should be deliberate with our priorities in this country.
Unwise people leading. the money they spend on religious pilgrimage to mecca and israel is the one that I will never understand. these guys will literally budget as much as 3 to 4m for one person, check the total stock of goods in the person's shop where he/she makes a living, 300 thousand naira
Christianity EtcRe: International Christian Worship Center Uyo. Photos by obaidan: 3:51pm On Jan 03, 2024
Stop building worship centers. Build people so they can generate value for themselves and the society. What's the point of building big and beautiful worship centers that will be attended every sunday by hungry people or people that cannot afford to go to school.

It's like the government spending a lot of money on religious pilgrimage, when the ministry of education does not have enough money to improve education
TravelRe: Japa: UK Stops Nigerian Students, Others From Bringing Dependants. by obaidan: 4:54pm On Jan 02, 2024
Jokerman:
USA is just the best....
no matter what anyone tells u, this is just the truth, if u enter yankee, e no easy o BUT last last u go ball
BusinessRe: What Business Can I Start With 200k In 2024? by obaidan: 10:25pm On Jan 01, 2024
Randal:
Hello, it's not news that we're in a new year and we all have desires to start something to make money.

I have 200k and I don't know where to put it and make good profits.

Please give Me ideas.
it depends o...if u voted for this present government, with that 200k you can actually start a refinery and be cashing out steady
Christianity EtcRe: Oyedepo Releases Prophetic Declarations For 2024 by obaidan: 3:24pm On Jan 01, 2024
This Daddy GO package him own well well, he do am like prayer and proclamation, not God says. He's a wise man.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 (of 93 pages)