Stats: 3,325,543 members, 8,422,500 topics. Date: Monday, 08 June 2026 at 11:48 AM

Oletunow's Posts

Nairaland ForumOletunow's ProfileOletunow's Posts

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)

PoliticsRe: Under Which Regime Was Corruption At The Highest Level, by Oletunow(m): 10:32am On Feb 12, 2012
All of the above!
CareerRe: Is There Something Inconsequential That People Do At Work That Irritates You? by Oletunow(m): 4:44am On Feb 11, 2012
People wen go give that silent but strong and wicked mess, plus they will say nothing especially after break,
RomanceRe: Opening The Door For Ladies by Oletunow(m): 4:06am On Feb 11, 2012
Inked_Nerd:
For me its a polite gesture, no different from me opening a door for an elderly person.
So many times have you been so polite to open the door for males or your husband? Or does this politeness of a gesture only cut one way?, I was brought up to believe that, what is good for the goose is equally good for the gander, or isn't it so?
PoliticsRe: Boko Haram Threatens To Kill US Ambassador McCulley by Oletunow(m): 3:30am On Feb 11, 2012
Bad timing, that is not only an open invitation for the US to be heavily invested in crushing BH, but in an election year in the US where a strong foreign defense stance is one of the criterias to choose a new President, the current President will be under enormous pressure from American citizens to show that he is tough on defense.

I know BH is smarted than that and these statements are just for effects.
RomanceRe: Worst Pick-up Lines. Ever! by Oletunow(m): 7:01pm On Feb 08, 2012
Guy: You are an angel, do you live in this area?
Gurl: No, angels lives in Heaven!
SportsRe: Super Bowl XLVI: Giants Vs Patriots by Oletunow(m): 5:48am On Feb 06, 2012
isale_gan2:
Of boredom!  angry  I almost did.  The one and only time I watched that @#$%^&*! cry  Never again.  tongue
That is how you feel when you do not understand the game, I was in your shoes before. Then I felt that soccer was the greatest game, until I took the time to study and understand football, sine then I have come to appreciate the game.
SportsRe: Super Bowl XLVI: Giants Vs Patriots by Oletunow(m): 12:30am On Feb 06, 2012
It will be a repeat of super Bowl 42, when Giants won over the Patriots, more so, Giants are coming here with no injury unlike the Pariots, it is 6:30pm ET, off to watch the game.
RomanceRe: Beauty Shock! From Being Ugly 2 Pretty! by Oletunow(m): 3:00pm On Jan 21, 2012
makeup does not make anyone beautiful, it just covers the ugliness, that is why it is called 'MAKE UP', you are just making up for what you lacks naturally,
PoliticsRe: Senate Bill: Social Security For Unemployed Graduates & The Aged by Oletunow(m): 4:35am On Jan 18, 2012
Bad! bad!! bad!!! idea.

For a country that does not know its actual population not to talk of the statistic about who is employed and who is unemployed, this is another way for the elites to siphon and divert money out of the national treasury into their private accounts.

If the government is really concern about the unemployed, they will put that N10K to better use by establishing Agricultural centers or some type of industrial center that automatically employed the unemployed graduates, this way they earn the money and the federal government get some products/services done and their will be accountability, If people finds job in the private sector, they can decide to leave the program. The salary should be indexed for inflation and should be enough to sustain the individual but not too much to discourage people from taking advantage of the scheme, paying the minimum wage might be a way to start.
PoliticsRe: Us Issues Travelling Warning To Citizens Coming To Nigeria by Oletunow(m): 11:08pm On Jan 16, 2012
solomon111:
The U.S had little or nothing to do with china's growth.
China's growth came from agressive globalization i.e they have available markets for their products in almost every nation of the world.
They are virtually independent of U.S.
In fact china expansionist policies is shrinking the U.S, and america is pleading with them to be considerate.
It is beyond our control!
Whether we like it or not,china is overtaking america!
The US account for about 50% of all export out of china. China lacks originality, its major companies are US company branches; most of the items that originated from there are imitations.

The only reason China is growing is, They are able to reduce corruption, they artificially control their currency and they have cheap labor. These are the factors contributing to its growth, but the fact that all major Chinese companies are government owned and government controlled is making alot of foreign investors develop cold feet.

US policies can easily affect China's growth, all the US need to do is impose heavy duties on imported items from China, give preferential treatment (like tax breaks, deductions, etc) to America companies that did not shift jobs oversea, strengthen importation screenings and start confiscating all pirated, imitations or other products from manufacturers in china who does not have license from the copyright owns,

These actions will in no doubt affect the US economy as well, but the impact would not be severe as it would the Chinese economy.
PoliticsRe: Bidemi Bakare Disgrace by Oletunow(m): 12:13am On Dec 31, 2011
Walala:
Extortion (also called shakedown, outwresting, and exaction) is a criminal offence which occurs when a person unlawfully obtains either money, property or services from a person(s), entity, or institution, through coercion.

Would it have been extortion if it was really the American guy that asked her for money? He used his own credentials to collect the money so this is not a crime. All dating sites must have a lot of criminals then since most people use other pictures that they find on the web.
1. Obtaining money under false pretense will stick like a glue, he said he is Benjamin but he is actually Bidemi.
2. Evasion of Taxes will net him additional years.
3. Wire fraud will add additional years on top.

The lady is about 50 yrs old, in certain jurisdiction, committing crimes like these against the elderly carries additional years.

Moreso, they found other victim's contacts on his phone that he have also defrauded, even if they are only about 20 victims, just 20 counts of obtaining money under false pretense will put him away for a long time.

Do not underestimate Prosecutors, if they want to put you away, they can add up these little charges together and before you know it, you will be looking at a long prison sentence.
PhonesRe: How Much Do Nigerians Love The Blackberry by Oletunow(m): 10:18am On Dec 27, 2011
oraclefemi:
oHhh you people should just shut up, i know how many people i have met on bb that ave affected my life in different ways and how many business deals i have sealed with people i havent met in real life yet we transact and exchange ideas,is it on iphone or android that i want to do all that, if most people are on it its because its connecting them, all other phones should just shut up, bb has yahoo messenger and msn what other applications are you talking about self?? abeg someone designed a shirt for me , i stole the idea from someone elses dp and the shirt won an award! its called connecting ! anything other than this ,,,stfu !!!! by the way ive got the galaxy tab and ipad and it just bores me so i drop it and pick my bb and check for pings from friends, news , jokes and cool stuff !
To some extend, it shows that most of your friends do not have any iDevice (e.g. iTouch, iPhone, iPad, etc) because you can do all of the things you mentioned above and much more on any of the iDevice, the iDevices. By the way, there are many social networking apps where you can met people through your iDevice. The other truth is, since the iPhone or the iPad is more expensive to buy and to maintain on a network than the Blackberry; friends you met on the iDevice might be on a higher social status than those on BB.
PoliticsRe: Third Christmas Church Blast In Yobe! by Oletunow(m): 12:21am On Dec 26, 2011
Prelude to another military take over, these continual strikes and the ineptitude of the President and his forces to comprehend it let alone deal withis a perfect setup and excuse for another coup.
EducationRe: 44 Million Nigerians Can't Read ? by Oletunow(m): 7:14pm On Dec 25, 2011
If you add the ones on Nairaland who can't read, that number is grossly underestimated,

You will notice those in this category on Nairaland by their replies and responses, Their replies are totally unrelated to the subject or topic of discussion and it makes one concludes that, they could not read, sarcasm implied, smiley

Your reaction or reply to this post will determine if you fall into this category, so unload the return fires,
Foreign AffairsRe: Is Obama Likely To Win His Relection Bid In The States? by Oletunow(m): 1:19am On Dec 23, 2011
mail4gift2:
am not in the USA but i pray for RON PAUL to win and btw why is the media not showcasing RON PAUL? i really love that guy, i have read allot about him, this is his speech, very touching and very TRUE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4s_IUwwGq-A

what if Christianity preaches peace, Ron Paul

AMERICA, VOTE RON PAUL 2012
If you are a Nigerian or black, you should be afraid of Ron Paul. I live in the US, there is no way this would be President.

Try google 'Ron Paul Newsletter', you will be amazed at the depth of racism in the 90s. Then he was a marginal figure, those newsletters are going to come back and hurt him big time. So far he has been deflecting questions about this in the media.

The Newsletters are only part of his problem; his policies non governmental intervention is heart-breaking, if The hurricanes happened under President Ron Paul and he has his way, government will not response, private citizen who want such services would be left to carry insurance policies.

Ron Paul Presidency will eliminate the U.S. Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Commerce, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Interstate Commerce Commission, Internal Revenue Service, Federal Reserve, Federal Student Loan, etc.

He is the only one that voted against awarding Pope John Paul II, Mother Theresa medal of honor; he felt they are not deserving of these medals.

He believes Prostutition is not against the US constitution; DOMA & DADT are illegal, gays should be allowed to marry whoever they want, the definition of marriage as between a man and a woman is unconstitutional.

He is against the 1964 civil rights act, against the 1965 voting rights act; he does believe that government should intervene during medical epidemic like the past swine flu or in bail-outs during economic recessions, I can go on and on, research the guy yoursel.
Music/RadioRe: Why Do You Buy Pirated Cd's? Share Your Reason by Oletunow(m): 5:16am On Dec 22, 2011
It depends on your definition of 'Pirated Music' in Nigeria.

The real question is actually, where do one goto in Nigeria to buy an original Music CD? Definitely not directly from the artist, and how do you know that the CD you just bought from the store is not high quality fake?

The truth is, the pirated ones are far more easy to get, cheaper.
CelebritiesRe: World's Shortest Woman Wants To Be Bollywood Star by Oletunow(m): 5:45am On Dec 19, 2011
Siena:
What disability does she have? Sometimes it's best to really think before passing comment, otherwise you come across as a r[i]e[/i]tard. She may be less than petite, but she's still perfectly formed.
According to, The Americans with Disabilities Act, a disability is a “physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity.

Their have been some cases where people with dwarfism have qualify for SSI in the US. Without coming out as disparaging, there is a way you will look at her and say that her statue would substantially limit some major life activities in comparison to the general population makeup of her age & gender.
RomanceRe: All "players" Get Caught! True Or False by Oletunow(m): 5:25am On Dec 19, 2011
Since this is more like a statistical question, the more accurate answer would be NO, not all of them get caught.

This should follow all other life questions and the right answers are never Yes or No, e.g.

Do all exam cheats get caught or do all thieves get caught? The obvious answer is No, but if the question is, do their cheating/stealing caught up with them in life? the answer is more likely Yes, maybe they are not fully prepared to face life, or fail an interview, etc, but it is very possible for them not to get caught.
HealthRe: One Good Achievement As A Nigerian Don Discovers Cure For Diabetes by Oletunow(m): 5:15am On Dec 19, 2011
I guess the value of this new drug to the whole community is that, it was discovered by a Nigerian, beyond that; I did not see any marginal value above the some herbal remedies in the market for this same disease.

Also, the heading indicating that it 'cures' is misleading, it was more accurately defined as a management drug in the article.
RomanceRe: What Is The Meaning And Purpose Of Honeymoon? by Oletunow(m): 5:07am On Dec 19, 2011
The real value that is left of honeymoon is bragging rights and status symbol, If it is met to be a time when the newly couples are to rest away from the hustling and bustling around them,

why don't we hear of people traveling from Nigeria to some village in Ghana or Togo or Cameroon for honeymoon? Why do people always desire some highly busy places like New York City, Paris, London, etc whose rate of stressfulness is even higher than that of places in Nigeria?

It is more poise and polish when you tell me that, you had your honeymoon in Paris instead of in Mbaise and Ladies especially gloats while saying it,
PoliticsRe: Which Of These Is Nigerians Greatest Dissapointment? by Oletunow(m): 4:51pm On Dec 16, 2011
I think Super Eagles and Co will top my list of disappointments,

As for GEJ, PHCN & Police; we expected the results we got, very few might have expected a better performance from GEJ, but the vast majority would not be telling the truth if they indicated that, they expected better performance from PHCN & the Police, So there is no disappointment if you got the results you were expecting,
PoliticsRe: Nigeria To Buy Electricity From Ghana - Can You Believe It? by Oletunow(m): 4:19pm On Dec 16, 2011
I do not see anything wrong with, if we as Nigerians put our prides aside, you will find out with little research that, Ghana have the largest dams in the world and they on their 10 year uninterrupted power supply, The key here is, Countries all over the world import resources and manpower they could not met locally.

One should not care, where the power comes from as long as it leads to more sustainable power supply in Nigeria, this will stipulate growth, productivity, efficiency and would attract more foreign investment into other sectors in Nigeria.
Foreign AffairsRe: Us Senate Okays Soldiers To Be Intimate With Horses! by Oletunow(m): 5:05am On Dec 13, 2011
olyivy:
The fact that you are in existence and have male or female reproductive organs to be used in reproduction with the person of opposite sex is more than enough proof.
You are confusing gender with sexuality, they are completely two different things. If your assumptions that gender equals sexuality, what is the sexuality of people who were born with both male and female reproductive organs in one body?

There are a lot of people who struggles with their sexual identifications, many are youths who even dispises what gays do; but they believe they are trapped in the wrong body. Many have committed suicide, helping people in situations like this involves taking the time to understand their struggles and don't pass it off.
Foreign AffairsRe: Us Senate Okays Soldiers To Be Intimate With Horses! by Oletunow(m): 1:44am On Dec 12, 2011
You guys should go get a life!

I live in the US, no State in the US condole bestiality, in fact, animals are well protected and cared for in the US and within the laws of the United States, I have even heard people here saying animals have more rights than human beings.

If you google, you will find situations where people have been charged with 'cruelty to animal' when they engage in bestiality, so there is a law against bestiality in the United States.

What happened here is the law on unintended consequent, There was a section of the US Military code that prohibit bestiality, homosexuality and some form of heterosexual acts, Since DTDA has been repealed; congress in an attempt to make the military code consistent with current laws, struck that section and replace it with a new one.

Sincerely speaking; those who commits bestiality in the US would meet greater punishment in the hands of the law, condemnation from society and isolation by society than those who commit the same act in 9ja.
Foreign AffairsRe: Us Senate Okays Soldiers To Be Intimate With Horses! by Oletunow(m): 1:15am On Dec 12, 2011
ramalot:
It is obvious you are unintelligible.
I am not here to debate the source of homosexuality, but advocate human rights. These are human beings, and you have no right to be their judge.

If that is an argument you want to stick with, then its like saying its ok for muslims to persecute you because you are a christian. Except you say you were born a christian with a "christian DNA" then your point is invalid.

The point is this. These are choices; some more controlable than others. Provided these choices do not impede on the freedom and security of others, you should learn to tolerate them.
olyivy:
Stop running around in circles and answer the question.

Just prove to us here beyond reasonable doubt that people are born g@y.

Until you do that, you have no case at all.  grin
Can you prove to us beyond reasonable doubt that people are born heterosexual?
Foreign AffairsRe: Us Senate Okays Soldiers To Be Intimate With Horses! by Oletunow(m): 4:57pm On Dec 09, 2011
Ninja will never cease to amaze me,

Where una get this fake news from? Such a bill will never make it into the US Senate agenda,

See below the US Defense Authorization Bill from library of Congress that passed the Senate 93-7, no mention of this nonsense:

http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/D?c112:2:./temp/~c112MDuW2F::

This is the PDF version of the same S1867 Bill:

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/BILLS-112s1867es/pdf/BILLS-112s1867es.pdf
RomanceRe: Nigerian Women Ranked Most Unfaithful In The World by Oletunow(m): 6:46am On Dec 08, 2011
Lord_Reed:
The dumbest survey ever! 29,000 people is supposed to produce a decent sampling of several billion people? If stupidity hasn't another name it should be labeled after the OP, the source and company that undertook such a brainless survey.
29,000 is even too much, most US election prediction samples about 2,000 people, if the survey is done by a reputable company; they do not need to interview 29,000 people, all they will need is the right sample of participant from different groups, background, location and weight the result proportional to arrive at a percentage and these surveys also have a margin of error e.g. If the margin of error os +/-5; then Nigeria having 62% and the next country 59%, could also mean Nigeria had 57% and the next next country 64%.

1 2 3 (of 3 pages)