Stats: 3,152,449 members, 7,816,039 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 12:26 AM

Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice - Family (17) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice (52666 Views)

Why I Won't Allow My Brother To Bring His Wife Abroad- Nigerian Lady, Arike(vid) / Don't Marry Me If You Won't Allow My Relations To Stay Or Visit Me. / My Wife's Elder Sister Has Finally Settled In My Home & I Don't Know What To Do (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) ... (33) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Rinoxy: 10:38pm On Mar 29, 2023
cococandy:
All emotions. No logic

Make dem use logic drive ur mama comot for ur house now!
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Munzy14(m): 10:38pm On Mar 29, 2023
Neweramify:
Op your wife was wrong, but try and understand her fear. Most women feel inconvenient around their mother inlaw. Not because she hates her mother inlaw but for the fear of the unknown.

Let her know how you feel knowing she wanna bring her mum in when she rejected your mum. I'm sure she will feel remorse of her action.

Permit her to bring her mum, cause if anything happen to the old woman, she may accuse you of one thing or the other.
Marriage is between a man and his wife.

Anyone coming to equity, must come with clean hands.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by obynokoko: 10:40pm On Mar 29, 2023
Bro know that many women are very selfish and you need to teach her a lesson else next time she will even do worst.
Reject her mum vehemently the way she rejected your own mum
Let her learn a lesson from that.
I want to advise you since you now know that you married a wicked and unreasonable wife you better gear up to the challenge else one day she will send you packing from your own house.please note that whatever power your wife has,you are the one that gave her that power.be firm and assertive
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Yarimoooh: 10:40pm On Mar 29, 2023
This isn't about vengeance but keeping up with standard and laid down principles which shouldn't be broken irrespective of whom and circumstances. She should kindly pay someone to do the needful coz what's good for the geese, is good for the ganders. Your mom ain't coming back to make amends so let the trend roll

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by vanvickie(m): 10:41pm On Mar 29, 2023
ozalogbo:
I am the first child of my mother, and I have two younger male siblings. I am doing well financially. My wife is the last of four children in her family. My dad died when I was still in the university, and this affected my mum.

However, as she aged, her health waned. She was a retired teacher. My brothers are not in the country. Both of them are in Europe. I wanted to have my mother stay with me in her later years because of her health and loneliness but my wife did not want it.

Whenever she was ill and I brought her home to be with us, my wife was usually hostile, especially if my mum had stayed beyond a week. She did not hid her disapproval, and this caused problems in the marriage. People advised that I should send my mum away and pay someone to live with her and take care of her. They said that marriage was between a man and his wife, not between a man, his wife, and his mother. I did and peace returned. Eventually my mum passed on after a few years.

Along the line, my father in law also died. And down the line, my mother in law's health began to deteriorate. We live in the same town. Among my wife's siblings she is the only one doing quite well. Now there are suggestions that the mother should come and live with us so that my wife can give her proper care. I believe that her living with us and seeing her grandchildren will help her. And indeed i have no problem accepting her, but when i remember the treatment my wife gave to my mum, there is a strong revulsion, in fact, anger in me. I shared with a friend, and he advised i forgive my wife, but the revulsion is so strong that i would feel cheated if i agreed.

What do you guys think. She reminded me then that marriage was between a man and his wife only. Shouldn't this also apply to my wife now?

Na where una dey see all these women marry self You really need to make ur authority known and felt in that house, not saying you should be cruel though.....
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Sunrise258: 10:41pm On Mar 29, 2023
If you let her mother come to your house for one day, then you're a bastard! Tell her point black her mother is not welcome and marriage is btw a man and a woman. Period. If she put up a fight, send her away for a week, body go tell her. Remember, your wife's hostility towards your mom cut short her life.

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by clockwisereport: 10:41pm On Mar 29, 2023
EriMma1:

Let's temper justice with mercy. Two wrongs cannot make a right

No be when e affect my parents. I no dey carry those people play
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Zupay: 10:41pm On Mar 29, 2023
Peppysco:

Your 'worldview', don't worry, when that time reach, you go remember this talk.

I will prefer to end my first marriage before marrying another woman.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by BlessingTee23: 10:42pm On Mar 29, 2023
This is not to control your home but since she couldn't accommodate your mum while she was alive then her mum too should be kept in another home. You are the man of the house and you have authority over everything in the home except you do not have authority in your home. You should asked her if she was in your mum's shoes and her son's wife rejected her,how will she feel?

Women are callous and selfish until it concerns their flesh and blood, then they'll know the right thing to do.

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by SenatePresdo(m): 10:42pm On Mar 29, 2023
ojun50:
Discuss with her and remind her how she treated yr mum, then tell her to give you time to think about it.

In the end still allow her mother to come and stay for peace and unity.

Every married man should understand that the wife is not your blood so expect anything expectable but is children is his blood.

The man sent his own mother away for peace to reign, I think the wife should also not allow her mother to come so that peace will reign.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by cococandy(f): 10:42pm On Mar 29, 2023
Mrbllymer:

Are you being serious ? Can her mother die for him ?
A house he pays the rent or built ? A house he provided for , a woman he paid her dowry ?
So it’s just to send her out ?
ah I see we are operating with the outdated assumption that he’s the sole provider. Do you people not live in the real world where men and women are present in the workforce in almost 50:50 ratios?

She can as well pay rent or built a house for her, provide for her needs and take care of her as she wants and not bring her to my “HOUSE” since it’s not also my duty to take care of another woman who’s not my mum.

Again with the financial assumptions. Ask the OP if his wife is financially dependent on him.
This argument fails every time because most of you have never and will never be sole providers

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by emmybobo1: 10:42pm On Mar 29, 2023
ozalogbo:
I am the first child of my mother, and I have two younger male siblings. I am doing well financially. My wife is the last of four children in her family. My dad died when I was still in the university, and this affected my mum.

However, as she aged, her health waned. She was a retired teacher. My brothers are not in the country. Both of them are in Europe. I wanted to have my mother stay with me in her later years because of her health and loneliness but my wife did not want it.

Whenever she was ill and I brought her home to be with us, my wife was usually hostile, especially if my mum had stayed beyond a week. She did not hid her disapproval, and this caused problems in the marriage. People advised that I should send my mum away and pay someone to live with her and take care of her. They said that marriage was between a man and his wife, not between a man, his wife, and his mother. I did and peace returned. Eventually my mum passed on after a few years.

Along the line, my father in law also died. And down the line, my mother in law's health began to deteriorate. We live in the same town. Among my wife's siblings she is the only one doing quite well. Now there are suggestions that the mother should come and live with us so that my wife can give her proper care. I believe that her living with us and seeing her grandchildren will help her. And indeed i have no problem accepting her, but when i remember the treatment my wife gave to my mum, there is a strong revulsion, in fact, anger in me. I shared with a friend, and he advised i forgive my wife, but the revulsion is so strong that i would feel cheated if i agreed.

What do you guys think. She reminded me then that marriage was between a man and his wife only. Shouldn't this also apply to my wife now?
I hate weak men like you. You allow your own mother to die of loneliness. One of my brothers who was doing well when my mother was still alive couldn’t allow her to with him because of a fiancée ( wife now). Anytime I see that lady I feel so angry. She can never be accepted in my heart . I pray God mends my heart though
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by shantti(m): 10:42pm On Mar 29, 2023
cococandy:
All emotions. No logic

On the contrary, you are being emotional and sentimental cos a woman is involved, and those guys u quoted are being logical.

Why and how did you arrive at the conclusion that the op's wife will be the one to cater and nurse his mum. Did the op said anything like that. Remember he paid someone to look after his mum in a different house. Does that not tell you that he is buoyant enough to employ a caregiver for his mom in his house Why did you cook up an assumption that will favour the op's wife. Why. Yet you accuse logically reasoning people of being emotional when you are actually the one guilty of it. Why do u women do this. Can u tell me?
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Justbehave(m): 10:43pm On Mar 29, 2023
Rinoxy:

Forget that one. She no dey everly get sense once the matter involve woman.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by cococandy(f): 10:43pm On Mar 29, 2023
Rinoxy:

That’s why you should prepare now and learn how to care for your own parents instead of hoping that one day you’ll marry someone who will do it for you.

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by cococandy(f): 10:44pm On Mar 29, 2023
Justbehave:
Forget that one. She no dey everly get sense once the matter involve woman.

I hope you’re putting your ducks in a row. Learning how to care for your mom and dad instead of hoping that after insulting women on the internet, you’ll then marry one and expect them to do it for you

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by shantti(m): 10:45pm On Mar 29, 2023
Samantha124:
But you are emotional.

I'm guessing it's a genetic thing then.

And yet u are the one ranting.
No clear logic, no deductions, no facts, just rallying around this thread and ranting about. Kid steer clear
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by JASONjnr(m): 10:47pm On Mar 29, 2023
If you ozalogbo would be too stupid to let her mother to come and stay at your house... Your late mother will never forgive you and I pray that she will stop watching over you.

A retired teacher is a honorary person to be hostile to. A woman who made you and your siblings who you are. Do you think your mother deserves what she got from you all because of the wife you married?

God, I will divorce any woman that will be hostile to my mother!

My mother is too quiet and peaceful for anyone to ride on her!
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by shantti(m): 10:47pm On Mar 29, 2023
Samantha124:
Why are you Nigerian men this emotional? Is it because of the environment you were raised in or is it just a genetic thing

Why didn't u answer my question.
Why did u switch to accusations of being emotional since you have no other tactics
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by poppy83(m): 10:48pm On Mar 29, 2023
Brother, discuss with your wife and let us know her opinion pls
ozalogbo:

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Amumaigwe: 10:48pm On Mar 29, 2023
Mom007:
Return evil for evil to no one. Especially not your wife Oga.
Look, there is something I always tell my son whenever he comes to complain of his younger sisters behavior of not playing fair during their games and such. I tell him that ladies are not nice. He should never hold a lady to the same standard he will hold himself, he should always be the bigger person. Besides he is older. Truth is, We ladies are mean especially to our fellow gender. Sometimes we don't even mean it, its just how we are wired.
Be the bigger person bro.

So you ladies are wired for wickedness. What right do you then have to demand kindness?
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by djon78(m): 10:48pm On Mar 29, 2023
CSTRR:

They are the cause of all these mannerless wives everywhere now.

You would see married women with no single respect or empathy for anybody in the streets or at work.

They behave anyhow.

It starts from the home of a weak husband.

You can't say it better

Weak men have enabled the epidemic we have today

And many children are being damaged by these weak men

Thank God for the father that raised me

He suffered no weak man gladly
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by cococandy(f): 10:50pm On Mar 29, 2023
shantti:

On the contrary, you are being emotional and sentimental cos a woman is involved, and those guys u quoted are being logical.
I get it. They are men and I’m a woman. So obviously. Biologically they are logical and I’m emotional grin

Just as biologically I’m supposed to meet your mom today and develop the same level of love for her that I have for my mom who sacrificed all her life for me. Very logical

Why and how did you arrive at the conclusion that the op's wife will be the one to cater and nurse his mum.
I said that’s USUALLY the expectation. Not my personal conclusion. Comprehension is key. OP should feel free to correct that if it doesn’t apply in his case. But based on stats, women are the ones expected to do the caregiving. It’s based on facts. So tell me where my emotion is coming from. 🤨

Did the op said anything like that. Remember he paid someone to look after his mum in a different house. Does that not tell you that he is buoyant enough to employ a caregiver for his mom in his house
he paid for someone after his wife said no. Your point?

Why did you cook up an assumption that will favour the op's wife. Why. Yet you accuse logically reasoning people of being emotional when you are actually the one guilty of it. Why do u women do this. Can u tell me?

Start by telling me why some of you don’t reason past the f behind a moniker? The moment you see f, that means the person is being emotional and all the Ms are being logical. If you know anything about logic you will know that it’s not gender based. But you don’t. You assign logic by gender. Literally defeating the meaning of it

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by SenatePresdo(m): 10:50pm On Mar 29, 2023
ojun50:
Discuss with her and remind her how she treated yr mum, then tell her to give you time to think about it.

In the end still allow her mother to come and stay for peace and unity.

Every married man should understand that the wife is not your blood so expect anything expectable but is children is his blood.

You sent a woman that carried you for 9 months away from your house, because your wife didn't want her around?

You didn't do that because you want peace, you did that because you are weak, and you never loved your mother as much as you should.
I'm the last child to my mum, I'm too close to her, and I love her to death.
I don't think I won't slap my wife if she nurtures that thoughts, let alone making it obvious.

Now, it's her own turn to bring her mother, and you have the guts to even bring it on Nairaland, meaning that you are confused on what to do?

So your wife can have her way and bring her mother, but you can't?

If you allow your mother in-law to come and live with you, that means you cheated on your own mother.
Her spirit will frown at you. And if I were her, I will never forgive you if you accept your mother in-law.

Bro I hate you, no need.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Justbehave(m): 10:50pm On Mar 29, 2023
cococandy:

I hope you’re putting your ducks in a row. Learning how to care for your mom and dad instead of hoping that after insulting women on the internet, you’ll then marry one and expect them to do it for you
You keep disgracing yourself everytime you comment here thinking you re being woke.You can never call a spade a spade. Always trying to blame men even when it's clear that the ops wife is at fault. I don't need all you manipulative bitches to come take care of my parents. Care givers are doing it already.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Amumaigwe: 10:51pm On Mar 29, 2023
cococandy:

I wouldn’t expect him to foot the bills as if it’s his responsibility. It’s not. If he helps that’s fine and wonderful but he shouldn’t be expected to do it as if his job. After all she has 3 older siblings who can contribute financially to their moms care

Why can't she stay with those 3 older siblings since the OP's wife marriage is strictly between a man and his wife?
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by Advocate1810(m): 10:53pm On Mar 29, 2023
ozalogbo:

My brother never allow her mother to move in so far she’s not the only child let her move in to another place maybe any of her child
“What goes around comes around”

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by shantti(m): 10:53pm On Mar 29, 2023
Op abeg answer this question cos some women here want to the form logic.

Are you the provider of your home?
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by XTHRONE(m): 10:53pm On Mar 29, 2023
cococandy:
All emotions. No logic

Lol, is all logic girl, what is good for the goose , is also good for the gander. The man is weak and a simp for allowing a woman dictate in the affairs of his Mom, such nonsense can't happen around me, na she go dey beg me to invite my Mom.
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by emmanuelbrown26: 10:53pm On Mar 29, 2023
Neweramify:
Op your wife was wrong, but try and understand her fear. Most women feel inconvenient around their mother inlaw. Not because she hates her mother inlaw but for the fear of the unknown.

Let her know how you feel knowing she wanna bring her mum in when she rejected your mum. I'm sure she will feel remorse of her action.

Permit her to bring her mum, cause if anything happen to the old woman, she may accuse you of one thing or the other.
If u don't hv any other suggestion, that means dis particular one is non and void
Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by cococandy(f): 10:54pm On Mar 29, 2023
Justbehave:
You keep disgracing yourself everytime you comment here thinking you re being woke.You can never call a spade a spade. Always trying to blame men even when it's clear that the ops wife is at fault. I don't need all you manipulative bitches to come take care of my parents. Care givers are doing it already.

Why can’t you do it?
Why caregivers? Are you hands broken? Are you too slow to learn how to do it? What’s the barrier that’s stopping you from doing it?

That’s literally the point I’m making. Y’all think the job of caring for your loved ones are beneath you. I’m actually embarrassed for you. You’ll do anything to get out of being responsible loving children to your parents. Some of you marry so you can have wives that will care for your parents. When that’s not available you use caregivers if you can afford it.

Because of the assumption that as men you’re too good for it. Imagine having kids like that. Poor old parents

Re: Should I Allow My Mother-in-law In Our Home? I Need Advice by akinbodma(m): 10:54pm On Mar 29, 2023
frozen70:

I understand how you feel about her treatment to your mum and eventually she passed on because she didn't get the care you have planned for her due to your wife refusal to cooperate with her

Now it's her mums turn, just allow her to come the one let her provide her needs while you focus on the family needs as usual

What she denied you off is what she is requesting your approval to get, such is life

Your refusal may react to another thing

Best advice
Welcome her mom, while you also switch character after 2/3 days of her arrival

Let her use her imagination
So she can remember it’s a man and woman like she also said before

(1) (2) (3) ... (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) ... (33) (Reply)

Nursing Mother With Her Baby Spotted At A Betting Shop In Lagos. Photos / Man And His Friends Storm Pastor's House, Demand For The Car His Wife Gave Him / Italy-Based Nigerian Man Jails His Parents For Sending Him Pics Of Fake House

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 98