Stats: 3,328,795 members, 8,437,443 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 July 2026 at 08:27 PM

Themaths's Posts

Nairaland ForumThemaths's ProfileThemaths's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 29 pages)

TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:40am On Mar 21, 2022
Ijchichi5190:
I have another question please.Howong does it take to do WES evaluation of transcript,for those that have done it.

I graduated from Uniben. My transcript is ready already,just the WES evaluation.

Thank you
If what you mean by "my transcript is ready already" is a copy of your transcript you have with you, then WES won't accept that. The transcript has to come from uniben directly to WES
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:39am On Mar 21, 2022
Ijchichi5190:
Please who will help me with GRE materials and how to go about it please,I do not know anything about it atall.Help please

I plan to write it and its kinda urgent.

Thank you
You can DM me for a compiled list of GRE materials. Goodluck!
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:29am On Mar 21, 2022
oluzdreamz:
Hi guys, I’ve been a silent participant on here, great job from everyone for all the insights, tips and ideas being shared at all times. So I got this offer from Ball State University. A 50% tuition remission and GAship which makes my tuition instate...the stipend makes a lot of sense though, I wish I had a full tuition waiver though, what do you think bout it?
I hope you know the stipend will be around $650-700/month after tax? In all, it is better than nothing, you should take it if you don't have any other better offer. All the best!
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:15am On Mar 21, 2022
freezy4me:
Are you proceeding with your admission? If yes let's connect please cos I got admitted for same course
My wife was admitted to the same program. Can I send a DM?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 12:42pm On Mar 15, 2022
seunaros:
Going to BGSU for my MBA.

Who else is expecting funding decisions today?
Many people are waiting for funding offers from BGSU. I wonder why they are wasting time.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 6:14am On Mar 15, 2022
cole82:
Hello house, had my first degree in BSc in Social work from UNIBEN with cgpa of 3.01 after WES evaluation my cgpa decrease to 2.96. I have just concluded my Masters of social work application to Salem state University in Massachusetts, after sending them my transcript, did my transcripts evaluation with WES which later decrease my cgpa to 2.96 and was asked to write GRE and scored 275/340. I am currently waiting for a decision for my admission. But an email was sent to asking me if I am interested for graduate assistantship employment, Which I gladly applied. However, I am waiting for a decision regarding my admission. I hope I get it the admission.
Just to correct a misconception, your CGPA was not reduced like you are thinking, they are both weighted on different scales, I don't know if that makes any sense to you. the first one is 3.01/5.0 and the other one is 2.96/4.0. Again, the dept or sch reaching out to you if you are interested in an assistantship is usually a good sign. All the best!
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 10:59pm On Mar 13, 2022
Princessemily:
okay
Did you apply too?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 11:44pm On Mar 12, 2022
Timaiko:
Thanks mate. I'm putting everything into consideration.
All the best bro.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 11:44pm On Mar 12, 2022
Pekun210:
Is your friend going to take the offer?
Yes, he is planning to.
Princessemily:
whoa, no GT assistantships too?
He was told offer letter for funding will be disbursed this month, so we are waiting.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 7:40am On Mar 12, 2022
Pekun210:
Who got offer from university of Georgia here pleasehuh
I have a friend who got admitted to UGA, Electronics and computer engineering, MSc, but no funding.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 7:39am On Mar 12, 2022
MufasaLion:
An internship at NASA would have been an experience to remember for life.
Swears...but being an international student on a non-immigrant visa has already handicapped you.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 7:37am On Mar 12, 2022
UmmZayd:
Yes good point. Just like NASA for example. A student was recommended for NASA internship by the department but she had to reject because she's not a citizen
I don't even bother applying to these positions anymore. Next thing, they will start asking your security clearance level...lols...see me wey dey on F-1
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 7:31am On Mar 12, 2022
Timaiko:
Thank you so much bro. Well I hold a Bachelors degree in Aeronautical Engineering which is why Aerospace would have been the preferable next phase.
Considering everything you've said and your advises, can I process a change of course upon my arrival at the school? Afterall, I have more experience working in an automobile industry.
The automobile industry is a big deal here bro. Now, you can apply for multiple programs in the same school and get admitted.

Yes, you can apply to multiple programs, use one program to get your visa and change to another program you are admitted into when you land.

As for Aerospace or aeronautics, remove hand bros. But if it's a school that has the aeronautics and mechanical engineering as one, then it's another good deal.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 9:21am On Mar 11, 2022
Timaiko:
Hello beautiful people,

I ended up having only 1 successful application despite making attempts to 2 other school but I didnt complete it.
I got an offer from this school(KSU) for Msc. Aerospace Engineering, unfortunately they won't be giving any assistantship position to any student this sem, therefore, I am directed to apply as a self funded Student. Total cost is $42,025/year about N18m
Please I need clarity on the questions below.

1. It is okay if the balance of my account reflect 20M?
2. Will i be submitting this same SOA at the embassy? Or i have to update it before going for visa application. School resumes Aug.
3. My mum will be the sponsor, should i submit her personal SOA or her business SOA(earing the name of her business)

This is all I need to know for now, thanks for the help.
Bro, I don't want you to take what I'm about to tell you the wrong way, it is wholly based on my experience being here in the states.

Anything that deals with the aviation/aeronautics/aerospace industry in the US is highly regulated and it might be a bit challenging for international students to break into such industry due to several clauses bothering around defense contract with the American government. These clauses do not allow internationals apply for positions including internships, if you aren't a citizen or a PR, your application is trashed. This is of you intend to work in the Aviation industry, but if you want to lecture, then by all means go ahead.

Now, I might be wrong, other people with more insight can add their contribution. I'd advise you go the Mechanical/Mechatronics/Controls path. All the best.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 7:28am On Mar 08, 2022
freezy4me:
CECSW22
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 10:49pm On Mar 07, 2022
freezy4me:
Anyone interested in applying for Masters in Industrial Engineering at University of Michigan Dearborn and needs application fee waiver code should indicate
Please, I have a friend who is interested. Thank you.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 10:42pm On Mar 07, 2022
Progress100:
Here’s my friend’s transcript.

Interview held today at Abuja.
Visa Delayed. (He’d like to know the possible reasons for his delay)

I was supposed to be next to a woman who was giving people white paper. When it was my turn she asked me to wait and let the person behind me jump and she asked me to wait for the lady refusing people.

Vo: Good morning

Me: Good Morning Ma

Vo: asked me to pass my i20 and asked me to thumbprint. While taking the thumbprint I told her I stutter. She said ok.

Vo: You are going to Jacksonville University for MBA BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION.

ME: yes, I'll be going to JU to study Master's in business administration in healthcare management.

Vo: What do you do?

Me: I currently work as a human resources manager at XXXX

Vo: I see you have a master's degree in Cyprus.

Me: Yes, I had a master's degree in Innovation and knowledge management at xxxx

Vo: why this course?

Me: Out of passion and I’d like to continue my career path in the healthcare sector. While working as an HR manager at my current job. I discovered there are a lot of opportunities to explore the healthcare sector in my state and Nigeria at large and nobody is taking advantage of it. Some of the opportunities are Health insurance, Healthcare Marketing, Healthcare tech but I'll be focusing on Health Administrative which is about administrative efficiency, legal compliance, work environment, procedural flow, financial processes, healthcare innovation, and development. *( but I was stuttering). It's a stigma from birth *tears* but VO was nodding to be Interested. she was typing on the computer

Vo: cut in *( I was stuttering for seconds with a big gap to recover*

Me: I'm sorry ( feeling embarrassed )* I loss the momentum.

Vo: what will you be doing with your course.

Me: I was confused ( I felt I just explained about the course and what ill be focusing on.

So, I said I'll be coming back to Nigeria diving into the opportunities in the healthcare sector, and ill like to work in the Nigeria Institute of health. I was explaining still talking *( but stuttering )*

Vo: cut in. Looking at me and gave me the blue slip.

Me: what happened?

Vo: it's written in the letter.

Me: I said because of stuttering disability? She kept looking into my eyes and said pick your passport.

I couldn't comprehend the horrible experience. It was like when I had my first heartbreak.

I found an elderly man that came to me with his wife to hug me and said don't give up. He's a USA citizen
I'm sorry for the delay, but tell your friend it's not about his stutter. I stutter too, and it gets pretty bad when I'm tensed. During my interview, before I started, I wrote on a piece of paper boldly "I STUTTER" and showed the lady, she smiled and said alright. Gave me enough time to say everything I had to say.

(S)he should apply again. Goodluck.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 12:40am On Feb 28, 2022
Coachatm10:
Nawa o, so BGSU don give plenty admission and my own admission decision is still awaiting decision..

God help me o
My wife got admitted going to 2 months now. We are still waiting on funding decisions though.
SportsRe: Did You Grow Up With This? What Is The Name Of This ball In Your Area? by Themaths(m): 3:45am On Feb 20, 2022
paulolee:
kpako ball...that was the best tin to happen to street children back den, the ball can serve for a long time n even wen e press, jus place it near fire n it would rise again..
na mostly children de get dis ball, our bros dey roll with dt felele or double leather type...
growing up was fun jhare, back den we were wishing to turn adults bt now I wish I can turn back d hand of time to wen I was a kid..
jus play all day n mum de provide our needs n i didn't know how difficult it is to take care of children..
GOD bless out parents jhare..
Felele...lmao, bros na for Benin you for grow? grin grin grin
EducationRe: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Themaths(m): 9:02am On Feb 18, 2022
In as much as I do not intend to put sand in anyone's garri, those registering for the subsidized GRE of around 50-70k should know they do so at their own risks. Many people's result were withheld and told to make a full payment of $200+ which is the official price.

It could be that the guys doing this have found a way around it, I can't really say, but be careful people.

If you need GRE materials, you can send me a DM, I have a Google drive with materials that can help you. Goodluck.

Remember, Practice! Practice!! And keep Practicing!!!
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:08am On Feb 12, 2022
ToughGuy111:
Thank you sir! I'v dm you.
I should have replied you by now.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 8:07am On Feb 12, 2022
TabletMan:
Anyone please

I cannot send DM because I lost access to my mail.
But can you please forward the material to this email
Sent.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 9:59am On Feb 11, 2022
ToughGuy111:
Any one with GRE practice material? Pls send help a brother and send it to baracktough@gmail.com.
Thanks.
Send me a DM. I have a well updated Google drive of GRE materials
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 9:56am On Feb 11, 2022
Becky42:
Good evening , is there anyone here with admission to University of Little rock , Arkansas ?
I'm currently at University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Do you have any questions?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 9:34am On Jan 26, 2022
learner007:
MY 3 CENTS

It's tax season once again, and I recommend that international students filing their taxes for the first time avoid using Turbo Tax [because it is free]. Only F1 holders who have passed the substantial presence test in the US are allowed to utilize it. On this, I am open to correction. Happy filing!
Please, I need further information on this. I emailed you. Thank you.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 6:38am On Jan 18, 2022
oracle009:
Avoid talking about PERCENTAGES when dealing with schools in the US. 75% is a failure here.
#Word. If your percentage is not up to 90%, don't use percentage to express your grades.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 10:17am On Jan 16, 2022
Marvliz:
Pls I need help, it is very urgent pls
But you haven't asked any questions yet. What do you need help with?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 10:09am On Jan 16, 2022
Leviack:
Hello everyone.
I'm currently in my finals studying Computer Science. I'm going to be applying to grad schools next year (my target is Fall 2023). Based on my research, I discovered that I have to make my profile very competitive inorder to secure fully funded scholarship for masters degree (I don't think going for doctorate degree aligns with my career goals).
I don't have any cordial relationship with my lecturers beyond the classroom aside my project supervisor.

Background Information:
Current CGPA: 4.64
Research Paper: Nil (I'm currently working on one, in addition to my final year project , I plan on publishing both if I'm able to pull it off)
Internship: 2 (3 months and 6 months respectively)
Volunteering:
- volunteer with an NGO

How can I work on having a competitive profile? I have 7 months left to finish my bachelor's degree.
You are already on the right track my brother. You wanna be super competitive? Take the GRE, TOEFL/IELTS and get ready to do your WES evaluation as soon as you graduate. Start looking out for schools now; target like 10 schools and write down their requirements, deadlines, if you need to contact a potential supervisor. Then, email all the graduate coordinators to know if they would have available funding for fall, 2023.

If you can do all this, God being with you, there is no way you won't be out of 9ja come fall, 2023. Goodluck!

And of course, set aside money for application fees, and remember early application will give you the opportunity to take the biggest chunk of the pie.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m):
naijaeclectic:
Moderators, please let me know if I'm going against the rules and I'll delete this post. For now, here goes nothing:

So, I encountered loads of difficulties when I was leaving Nigeria. With the limits on Nigerian bank cards, I and the guy attending the same school (Miami University, Oxford, Ohio) could not pay for many things, even within that $50/$100 CBN-imposed limit. We spent days trying to pay for a hotel/Airbnb, GreyHound services, and whatnot. I've not been that stressed in years.

Let me not even go into how AirBnB canceled a booking when we were at the airport, an hour to getting on our flight. Why did they do that? Our booking was tagged as fraudulent. So, the booking came from Nigeria and payment from a virtual card with a US address. Also, because Airbnb refused to verify our Nigerian phone numbers for reasons known to them, we used one belonging to a friend in the UK. It was extremely complicated, and we'd tried all we knew, but that's the only option we had before we found someone who helped at the last minute. Let's just say that we ended up rooming in a hotel (read: motel) in a Nigerian-like neighborhood in New York. grin

Lol. Don't ask why the UK friend didn't just pay and do everything from his end. As I said, things were super-complicated.

The thing is that things could have been easier if someone helped facilitate everyone from one spot, with one card.

Based on this experience (and several more), I would like to help anyone who needs to pay for buses, accommodation, semester dues, and anything that they can't do from Nigeria. I've seen people who can't access US websites, people whose cards are not working, and people who are faced with using a third-party offering ridiculous over-N515 (naira) exchange rates.

I understand that everyone's being careful and that you don't want to get scammed. But I am genuinely doing this because I can imagine the kind of stress people are going through right now.

Please send a message if you would like me to help. When you reach out, I can share details about myself, and you can Google me, too, for credibility purposes.

At this point, the stress in the world (read: Nigeria) is too much to add difficulties when japa-ing.

I sincerely hope this helps someone. Again: Moderators, if this is way off, please let me know and I'll delete this.

Thank you.
Definitely not way off. To add to this, I'd still advise people coming over to get some hard currency (cash, USD) at hand, minimum $400. With this you can pay for motels with cash, buy SIM cards, pay for taxis, open an account. Wishing everyone resuming this spring a safe trip.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m):
CelinaAK:
Please travel with your B2 visa and change to status on arrival here in the states. My husband changed from f2 to f1 here. Don't take any chances..
Please, I sent you an email. I need information on changing from F2 to F1. Thank you.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Themaths(m): 6:43pm On Jan 06, 2022
pelpizy:
Please how long does it take for embassy to reply you for emergency visa. I have applied for it since morning, no news from them yet
It varies, a day to a few weeks.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 29 pages)