Stats: 3,325,282 members, 8,421,174 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 09:50 PM

Uzomagic's Posts

Nairaland ForumUzomagic's ProfileUzomagic's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

PoliticsRe: Sure-p Intervention (road Rehabilitation And Construction). by uzomagic(m): 6:19pm On Nov 15, 2014
Louis88:
I am very much aware of the fact that no matter the amount of good that you do everybody cannot like you or say well done to you,so bearing that in mind I decided to post this piece.

The aim of this piece is to try and enlighten some who do not neccessarily have access to some of the information out there. This piece shows with pictorial evidence some of the achievements of the GEJ administration in the construction of roads and bridges through the subsidy reinvestment programme(SURE-P).

The SURE-P intervention in Roads and Bridges has resulted in a number of significant turn-around in the pace of critical road infrastructure provision. For instance, Abuja-Lokoja, Benin-Ore-Shagamu, Kano-Maiduguri and the East-West Road Section 3 (PH to Eket) roads, have recorded appreciable progress following the investment made by SURE-P on them.

The on-going strategic roads include, the Abuja-Abaji-Lokoja Dual Carriageway (200 km 75% completed) Benin-Ore-Sagamu Dual Carriageway (295 km 90% completed) Onitsha-Enugu-Port Harcourt Dual Carriageway (317km under construction), and the Kano-Maiduguri Dual Carriageway (510km 90% completed).

In addition, the SURE-P intervention mandate on roads and bridges extends to ensuring the construction and completion of the 2km Oweto Bridge.
The achievements of the sure-p initiative are fruits of a corageous decision to reduce waste of precious resources thru subsidy payment. It also helps to address the imbalance in distribution of resources and to ensure that the masses benefit from the country's wealth in terms of infrastructure and other basic needs.
PoliticsRe: Wike Weeps As PDP Blocks His Gubernatorial Aspirations by uzomagic(m): 7:55pm On Jul 07, 2014
jt2010: The battle of wits in the Rivers PDP has finally dealt a blow on the supervising Minister for Education, Nyeso Wike as he and his men wept uncontrollably on Tuesday night when the Minister broke the news that he has been asked to drop his governorship ambition by the powers that be.
According to Prince Chidi Weli the Spokesperson of RIVERS PROGRESSIVE FORUM, “it was not clear on what eventually led to this decision by the Presidency and the PDP to stop Chief Nyesome but unconfirmed reports from a source who was privy to the meeting said the internal crisis within the state chapter of the PDP was largely responsible for the Minister’s current woes.
Wike who was seen as the man responsible for the widening of gaps between the Presidency and the Rivers State Governor had hijacked the Party machinery from Gov. Amaechi who had trusted him with the political aspect of his government was shocked when the state Party Chairman, G.U. Ake was replaced by Felix Obuah who was never part of the Congress that voted Ake into office. It was alleged that Goround as he is popularly called had travelled out of the country two days before the Congress. But in what looks like a scene from Nollywood, Obuah, a close ally of Ake was the willing tool in the hands of Wike and Prince Uche Secondus to nail Amaechi at all cost.
It was gathered that Ake actually won the election but resumed duty at the State Party Secreariat without a Certificate of Return from the National Secreariat of the Party. That thud afforded these men the opportunity to append Obuah’s name on the Certificate which they presented in Court. Surprisingly, the Court refused to admit a video evidence of the Congress tendered by Ake’s counsel. INEC officials were not left out in this conspiracy.
At the end, Ake lost out to a man who did not even pick a nomination form and was not part of the Congress. As Ake lost, so did Amaechi.
The stage was then set for the frustration of Amaechi out of the Pary. Wike did not stop to show his disdain for his former boss and ally. He became the hatchet man for the job of pulling Anaechi down in defence of his new found boss, President Jonathan.
He was given a free hand to run the Ministry of Education, after the unceremonious exit of the Minister. Choice contracts were awarded to cronies and supporters even at tge expense of poor quality jobs. In some cases, it was alleged that the jobs were not executed but payments were made.
The failed attempt to impeach Amaechi also proved another opportunity for millions of naira to exchange hands. While the siege on Rivers state lasted with the alleged support of the First Lady, the President kept mum.
But Wike may have bitten more than he could chew when his crony, Obuah publicly announced Wike’s ambition to succeed Amaechi. Using the GDI, he hijacked the party structure while he trasversed the nooks and crannies of the state. He moved unchallenged until Elemchukwu Ogbowu dared him. Ogbowu said it was morally wrong for Wike, an Ikwerre man to succeed his kinsman, Amaechi. The former lawmaker said the proper thing was for power to shift to the Riverine people of Kalabari or to the Upland people of Ogoni.
That audacity to challenge Wike and Obuah incurred a suspension and later an expulsion hammer on Ogbowu and a few others with him. But Ogbowu was not done yet as he galvanised the support of those who were against the plot to enthrone Wike and together they petitioned the NWC of the PDP led by Adamu Muazu.
The pressure was on Wike to recall the men and drop his ambition, but as it is said, whom the gods want to kill, they first make mad; Wike would not bulge, rather he went ahead to sponsor his crony, Chukwuemeka Aaron to obtain a suspicious Court order restraining the PDP National from dissolving or changing the Rivers Exco led by Obuah. This was a move aimed at stopping the Party from changing the Exco during the forthcoming mini – convention of the party in July.
Unknown to Wike, that was his death nail as that action angered the Party leadership as well as the President.
Last week, he was asked to vacate the Order but he chose to ‘fight back’, more so when he had spent so much in pursuing his ambition.
Now, it is obvious that he would be dropped from the Federal Executive Council, having tendered his resignation notice; it is just enough reason for him and his foot soldiers to weep.
Our source also gathered that the meeting which lasted into the wee hours of the morning were brainstorming on how best to break the news to the public. The group agreed that a Press Statement would be issued claiming that the Minister never had any such ambition.
Prince Chidi Weli
Publicity Secretary, Rivers Progressive Forum

http://dailypost.ng/2014/07/06/wike-weeps-pdp-blocks-gubernatorial-aspirations/
Any discerning person can see that this is a well scripted lie.
PoliticsRe: Dr. Goodluck Jonathan Campaign Promises – Fulfilled! by uzomagic(m): 2:29pm On Dec 17, 2013
GEJ promised to revolutionize Agriculture in Nigeria. This may not have been achieved fully but there is significant progress as evidenced in increasing rice mills, silos and fertiliser distribution etc.I wish both the Minister of Agricuture and President Jonathan well in this regard.
PoliticsRe: APC Reps Set To Impeach Jonathan by uzomagic(m): 10:00am On Dec 17, 2013
Gbajabiamila is just a class clown. He said they have enough grounds to impeach Jonathan. But they are watching events in Rivers state before taking that decision. The impeachment of jonathan and events in Rivers state are mutually exclusive.

If president Jonathan violated the constitution or has shown gross incompetence that could warrant impeachment, go ahead and impeach him. You don't have to wait for events in Rivers state to activate moves for his impeachment. but we all know that it's all about politics.

They just want to see Jonathan's back by hook or by crook. they can't wait for elections because they know it will be a tough call.
Very useless party-APC
PoliticsRe: Another Look At President Jonathan’s Achievements by uzomagic(m): 7:57pm On Dec 16, 2013
Sincere 9gerian: Some additional ongoing federal road projects in the southeast
I can attest to some of these projects. Na my area
PoliticsRe: Jonathan Replies Obasanjo: Prove ‘hit-squad’ Allegation Or Remain A Coward by uzomagic(m): 2:39pm On Dec 16, 2013
Mandelaguy: It is rather too unfortunate that such a matured and old man like Obasanjo will come out to accuse Jonathan of training snipers without having any serious evidence to back his claim up.
I read Obasanjo's letter and came to the irresistible conclusion that the former President was very desperate to whip up public sentiments against Jonathan. According to him, he heard that Jonathan was training snipers and placing 1000 people on watch list.
Even if Obasanjo doesn't want to disclose his source, he should have at least provided the location of the training and other little details that will make any serious minded Nigerian to take him serious.

But he just made an empty allegation without no iota of evidence based on hearsay.
I was so disappointed with Obasanjo when I got to that part of the letter. It was so childish and very unprofessional of the former President.
He said he heard but has not confirmed if its true. He now proceeded on the assumption that "if it's true,". Kai! A Statesman in the mould of Obasanjo shouldn't have gone ahead to write on such a weighty allegation on the basis of assumptions. What was he thinking?
FamilyRe: Dino Melaye's Wife Files For Divorce + Proof Of Assault Domestic Violence (PIC) by uzomagic(m): 2:34pm On Dec 16, 2013
Dollarman101: grin grin grin Here comes the progressive Activists of our time.
Believe that Dino is a progressive and you would believe anything.
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Replies Obasanjo, Says Letter Self-serving, Provocative by uzomagic(m): 11:21pm On Dec 11, 2013
Guess who is talking? Matthew Okikiola Aremu Olusegun Obasanjo.
I can't believe that this man will muster the moral vertebrae to criticise a Nigerian President after a woeful and disastrous outing as President.
What lessons has OBJ to teach GEJ? The disobedience of court orders and rule of law or the culture of immunity that he entrenched in Nigeria?

This is unbelievable
PoliticsRe: Bazaar: Rehabilitation Of 100km Umuahia-Portharcourt Expressway To Gulp N90.3bn by uzomagic(m): 7:43pm On Dec 03, 2013
berem: whaaaaattt!!! huh A reconstruction and rehabilitated road? Really? huh
Guy, stop screaming for what you don't know about. I know that road too well. It passes through my village so i know what I'm saying.
That road has been very bad since Obasanjo's days as president. It has always been patched by FERMA but Jonathan stepped in to do some major rehabilitation that made the Aba-Umuahia stretch motorable early this year.

It is a welcome development now that it has been finally awarded for reconstruction. We are all happy for this intervention by President Jonathan. We hope that the execution will be accelerated so that motorists will heave some sigh of relief
PoliticsRe: Federal Government Approves N42bn For Roads Rehabilitation And Construction by uzomagic(m): 11:57am On Nov 28, 2013
Nnewi1stSon: Work is actually ongoing @ the Onitsha end only that the contractors are working @ snail speed! From headbridge to umunya the road looks sweet.
Yes I can attest to that. The last time I passed through that road, I saw work ongoing by NIGERCAT. even the Onitsha head bridge side has been sanitized and now looks widened easing the free flow of traffic.
PoliticsRe: It's a decoy,The President Was actually On A Medical Trip! by uzomagic(m): 12:48am On Nov 22, 2013
Our health sector may not be in a state of eldorado and may not compare with what is available in advanced countries but it is not as bad and gloomy as some critics like this OP may paint of it.
There is no major federal university teaching hospital that has not received upgrade and refurbishment since Goodluck came in as president. It is not true that our hospitals are getting worse either.

If you go to jos, you will see the new permanent complex and facilities at the Jos university teaching hospital (JUTH). They have installed a dialysis centre for treatment of kidney failure an all. There's a new trauma management centre in National Hospital Abuja. I went to see someone at the Asokoro general hospital and you can't help but notice the refurbishment that the hospital has received under the present administration.

Few days ago, it was widely reported in the media that Dr Wada has successfully handled three kidney transplants in the hospital courtesy of the new equipment installed and dialysis center. The same applies to UBTH as my friend who is a resident doctor there can attest to the new cancer center in UBTH including rehabilitation of the hospital.
We know we are not there but lets acknowledge significant improvements that this govt has made in the health sector
PoliticsRe: SSS Traces N3 Billion SURE-P Money To Lamido's Cronies by uzomagic(m): 1:12am On Nov 21, 2013
The last time I checked, Sule Lamido was claiming to be a progressive governor and APC has been wooing him to cross over to their party. Is this the kind of corrupt leadership that he seeks to replicate in APC? I said it that APC may turn out to be a disaster for Nigeria. I rather stick with PDP.
PoliticsRe: Fani Kayode Urges Nigerians KICK OUT Jonathan 2015 by uzomagic(m): 7:38am On Nov 15, 2013
grin grin Femi will never cease to amuse me. Kick him out and get who? You? Or your oga-OBJ? Or your new found godfathers-Tinubu? Or the renouned proffessional presidential candidate-Buhari? This guy is just a class clown. The earlier he realizes that APC has no credible alternative to Jonathan, the better for him, his godfathers and party.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s 2014 Budget Presentation Divides Reps by uzomagic(m): 2:03am On Nov 09, 2013
diva_tosin: Upon resumption from RECESS, Tambuwal left the business of lawmaking and delved into Pro Tukur and Baraje politics.
He left the Medium Term expenditure framework for 2014 that was presented to the house and was frolicking in politics.
He has started that distractive path again by this attempt to bar GEJ from presenting his budget. It will not work.
Tambuwal is PDP in the afternoon and APC in the night. All these GRA GRA is not about substance of the budget but more about a calculated plot to rubbish Jonathan and make him relinquish his second term b
PoliticsRe: The National Good Governance Tour Of Kogi State. by uzomagic(m): 3:14am On Nov 08, 2013
But GEJ has tried shaa. It's just that many have allowed parochial and tribal sentiments to becloud their senses of judgement.
Look at the New universities that the president has set up in less than 3 years in office.
No matter how you look at it, these are legacies that will survive GEJ and stand the test of time.
PoliticsRe: Do The Needfull :- What Does It Mean To You by uzomagic(m): 11:49am On Nov 01, 2013
It means go ahead to comply with the law and all the procurement procedures.
PoliticsRe: Photos As Oduah Faces House Committee by uzomagic(m): 12:38am On Nov 01, 2013
Finally, Odua wins round one. Shifts liability to NCAA.
PoliticsRe: Electiricity Union Directs Members To Down Tools by uzomagic(m): 5:00pm On Oct 31, 2013
Bukkyade: Last antics of a drowning union. They must find a string to clutch unto. It's that simple. I have seen a PHCN staff that was settled. He lives four houses away from mine. He told me that he got an alert from SIGMA in his RSA. That is why I believe Governments account that it's only workers without proof of appoinment letters that are yet to be paid.
One of them even went to flex the money by buying jeeps https://www.nairaland.com/1495438/ex-phcn-worker-spends-n5.5m-gratuity
He must have stolen a lot while in office as to use his own money to buy jeep. Corrupt NEPA. If I were Jonathan, I won't spend a dime to pay for severance.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan May End Up As The Most Corrupt Leader In Nigeria’s History by uzomagic(m): 1:30am On Oct 29, 2013
DerideGull: A mere governor of a state in SW region of Nigeria has his Yacht anchored off Lagos Lagoon and no idiotic newspapers from the zone even question why public money was used to purchase Yacht for a personal usage yet the fools have the alacritous pedigree to insult Stella Oduah because NCAA bought two BMW cars for ministry of aviation. What an idiotic country called Nigeria.
Our problem in this Country is selective amnesia, we turn a blind eye to the log in our eyes and focus on the stick in other peoples eyes. Lai Mohammed has lost the moral locus to speak on corruption given what his party is doing at the state level. He should first of all tell us about the ongoing criminal trial of the speaker of Lagos state, kuforiji by EFCC.
PoliticsRe: APC: We’ll Not Attend Jonathan’s National Conference by uzomagic(m): 1:04am On Oct 25, 2013
Nothing is more hypocritical from APC than this attempt at discrediting president Jonathan's move for national dialogue.
There has been an age long clamor for a jaw jaw on the structure of our nationhood, our unity, differences and sustainability of peaceful coexistence as one nation. Yorubas have been at the vanguard of this struggle for a genuine dialogue about Nigeria.

What is therefore surprising is this volte face by the Yoruba dominated APC. it all started dramatically when Tinubu returned from Ghana and made damaging remarks about the proposal for dialogue. Expectedly, his foot soldiers started speaking against the dialogue and when they convened a meeting to decide on the national dialogue, I knew this outcome was predetermined.

It's so unfortunate that such leaders will compromise such an opportunity for Nigerians to address teething problems on the altar of politics. Very unfortunate.
EducationRe: ‘quit Playing Politics And Go Back To Class’, Maku Tells ASUU by uzomagic(m): 6:52pm On Oct 23, 2013
Zutchy: FG BUDGET 2013

KEY ALLOCATIONS

Works – N183.5 billion; Power - N74.26 billion; Education – N426.53 billion; Health – N279.23 billion; Defence – N348.91 billion; Police – N319.65 billion; and Agriculture & Rural Development – N81.41 billion

It's quite obvious that education got the single largest allocation in the 2013 budget more than any other ministry. That notwithstanding, GEJ has approved the release of additional and extra budgetary funds to ASUU amounting to 130B Naira. What else does ASUU want? Can't someone tell these lecturers that Govt will not grind to a halt just to fund only ASUU? I don't understand.
Thank you for this information. ASUU needs to reconsider and suspend this strike for now while pressurizing for more funding.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan's Administration: What Went Wrong? by uzomagic(m): 10:25am On Oct 11, 2013
Nothing went wrong. I think it's the stupidity of some few who are sponsoring BH in a bid to create the mischievous impression that Mr President is weak. They will not succeed. Even ASUU strikes have been politicized otherwise why would they demand FG to pay 800B which s very impossible given that our national budget is about 4 trillion.
PoliticsRe: Oshiomhole Wont Use State Resources For Good Governance Tour by uzomagic(m): 1:17pm On Feb 20, 2013
GARRI (x7):
Can't you read? Oshiomole isn't against the GGT, what he's saying is‎​ that he's not gonna feed, book hotel and take care of logistics for Liebaran Maku and his 120 Choristers!!

If they want to visit Edo state, then their bills should be taken care of by the FG.. PERIOD!!
Wasnt Oshiomhole part of the National Governors Forum that resolved to host the tour? How come he is now feigning ignorance to that consensus?
We have seen Maku visit so many states including opposition states like Nasssarawa and Anambra, they all participated actively in the tour and even showed up at the town hall meetings to respond to questions from the electorate. We all watched it live on TV so Why is Oshiomhole playing to the gallery and seeking to confuse issues?

I also understand that the tour consist largely of journalists and representatives of various civil society groups. So is that what you call a chorister?
PoliticsRe: Oshiomhole Wont Use State Resources For Good Governance Tour by uzomagic(m): 12:51pm On Feb 20, 2013
This Oshiomhole like show oooo. Something that all the Governors agreed upon during a governors forum meeting but he is now forming as if na Maku wan use am chop. grin
Was he absent at the meeting? Abi he was sleeping when other governors agreed to do the Maku tour. Na waa ooo!
I believe Oshiomhole dey fear the tour because Maku dey expose cost of projects and all. The town hall meeting is also another nightmare for most governors who don't want to entertain questions from the public about several issues on governance. I dey watch am steady and see how people expose governors Nyash with questions.
Too bad Oshiomhole
PoliticsRe: Is GEJ Your Dream President Or nightmares? by uzomagic(m): 2:06pm On Feb 19, 2013
Arobam: I'm particularly happy about the steps so far taken in power and Agric. The transformation agenda is in progress with reforms and privatisation drive in both sectors. It's only a matter of time and Nigerians will begin to enjoy the dividends.
True talk bro. Jonathan dey try for power shaa but people no know. He has fixed the Alaoji power station in Aba. The last time I was in IMO, EGBEMA power plant was been inspected by Maku's tour. Many of those thermal power stations are now working including Calabar, GEREGU, Afam etc.
At least you must start somewhere to generate power first before embarking on generation. If the likes of Buhari were intelligent enought to build thermal stations in the 80's as Jonathan is doing, we would have gone very far by now. I must commend Jonathan for working on these neglected NIPP plants
PoliticsRe: Labaran Maku: Best Minister Of Information Ever? by uzomagic(m): 9:59am On Dec 13, 2012
Without an iota of doubt, Maku has gone thru processes and events that have adequately nurtured and prepared him for this ardous task. His antecedents as a dogged and passionate Students' Union Leader, Journalist, Administrator, Deputy Governor, Minister of State have all contributed immensely to moulding arguably the best minister of information we have ever had. He is an avid reader and eloquent orator. He has in such a short time, public access to information has reached an unprecdented high. The penetration of govt information across various platforms and social media is massive and commendable. The good governance tour is already proving a master stroke as Government officials at various levels are striving to put in place lasting structures to showcase to the world and the greatest beneficiaries of Maku's excellent work are the people themselves.
PoliticsRe: Rest In Peace Labaran Maku, 1988 - 2012 by uzomagic(m): 11:15pm On Dec 05, 2012
Sahara reporters have again proven to be a supermarket for the propagation of falsehood and outright lies. The unwarranted and grossly misleading attacks on the person and office of the minister of information, a man who has carried himself with unquestionable integrity and are rather unfortunate.
PoliticsRe: Goodluck Jonathan Is Like A Disease by uzomagic(m): 5:23pm On Nov 20, 2012
Have you not noticed that president Goodluck Jonathan without sounding rude has become like a disease, that when anyone is infected with it, that person lost every sense of justice,reasoning and good judgement? I do not mean to sound insulting,but i just couldn't explain the reason why most people claiming to be in support of gej lack reason even before undisputable facts and figure.] See your folly out in the open.
PoliticsRe: Presidential Media Chat On 18th November 2012 by uzomagic(m): 8:42pm On Nov 18, 2012
solomonkane: "Obama's victory is the best thing that has happened to Africa,....."

GEJ, did you just say this on national television? SMH
Black race, not Africa he said
PoliticsRe: Good Governance Tour Town Hall Meeting Live In Benue(Pictures & Report) by uzomagic(m): 2:43pm On Oct 31, 2012
Government works better when it is in synergy with the people for cross-pollination of ideas and deepening of the democratic culture. In this regard, Maku stands out as the best information minister in our Country's history. Keep it up.
PoliticsRe: National Good Governance Tour Kicks Off In Benue State by uzomagic(m): 3:31pm On Oct 30, 2012
For us Nigerians, we are standing tall to reap the benefits of these projects. it does not matter whether I am from the North,South, West or East, but because we are Nigerians and this government and indeed others that have come and gone are ours. Their good and bad. GEJ, we are not willing to stop hearing about thiese but need more-for "when" as has been said by our elders that, "you greet a performing worker he do more."
Maku, continue. GEJ WE ARE EXPECTANT OF MORE.
PoliticsRe: Femi Falana Vindicates Maku, Blasts National Assembly by uzomagic(m): 2:00pm On Oct 22, 2012
Brilliant and spot on from the Senior Advocate. The National Assembly is in grave danger of losing its relevance over her all to frequent ramblings and frivolous resolutions.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)