Stats: 3,330,702 members, 8,446,705 topics. Date: Friday, 17 July 2026 at 05:13 AM

WesleyanA's Posts

Nairaland ForumWesleyanA's ProfileWesleyanA's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 (of 261 pages)

TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 2:47pm On Mar 14, 2007
Ha na wa oh.Why u attacking d guy now?Hes jst happy doing what hes doing.
it wasn't an attack. it was a question

Highrises are a way of celebrating humanity, and If you can't see te good in them, then you obviously don't like life and in that case you need therapy
this directed at me? I hope my question didn't offend you this much huh

ok. when you're done designing your own buildings, put the pics up.
I'm sure they'll be awesome
TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 2:13am On Mar 14, 2007
why are you so much obsessed with buildings. were you born in a skyscraper or something?
TravelRe: Why Are Some Nigerians Abroad Scared Of Going Back Home? by WesleyanA(f): 2:10am On Mar 14, 2007
I definitely am scared.
it's not that i don't love my country or anything. just scared
I hear lots of stuff about those who go back (even some family of mine) and they never bring back much good news

but i know i'll eventually go back though. most likely not to stay permenently but i don't know about my future so i can't tell.
TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 12:46pm On Mar 13, 2007
I can think of a hell of a lot more important indicators of
REAL development.
so if the govt spend all the money on free education, where will revenue come from to fund healthcare? or even continue the free education program tongue
we can always borrow more money from the IMF right?

well in the city that i live in, we invested money in building infrastructure and inviting coperate businesses to come build their skyscrapers and headquarters with us. our city have grown rapidly since the past decade now, the mayor is now tackling public education. i think there's a reason why he didn't go for education first. i don't know the reason though.
do you? huh

oh well it's all complicated politics.
TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 12:22pm On Mar 13, 2007
VOR:
I'm glad you qualified your statement.
I can think of a hell of a lot more important indicators of
REAL development. I'm sure you can too. How about
for starters.

1. GDP
2.GNI PER CAPITA
3. Infant mortality rate.
4. Provision of a decent affordable health care, transport service.
5. Free and Universal education up to secondary school.
6. literacy rate.
7. Decent housing.

Shall I go on?
I agree that Nigeria's economy is improving gradually
but given our natural and human resources we really should
be in a far better state than we are.

And at the risk of sounding like a broken record
nice skyscrapers and a few nice shopping centres
and cinema facilities available only to the privileged
are not a true reflection of development.
i thought those skyscrapers were business buildings huh
'cause i know that in my city most skyscrapers are coperate (sp?) buildings. banks, companies, hospitals, govt buildings etc and not entertainment facilities.
and we all know these facilities are necessary for development. and that's why most developed cities have more skyscrapers.
the city i currently live in invest money all the time for companies to come build their headquarters with us.
those skyscrapers aren't there for aesthetic purposes alone.

and those "nice shopping centers," cinemas are also by private investors not public so that has nothing to do with the govt. even though they're highly ecouraged. they should be.

yeah we're not a developed. that's true but if someone is rich and decides to invest his money in a shopping center, or private hospital, the govt can't stop him. lol 'cause it benefits all of us

those things you listed are govt jobs. and i think the govt knows what they're doing. as you said, the economy is improving gradually (i hope this is true. lol).
I know lagos is building her roads, trasportation
and i know there are plans to build abuja

everything is gradual. if the govt decide to build housing facilities (easier to do) and people don't rent or can't afford it (the tough part), it's the govt's loss and our loss.
if there's free education, that means the govt has to find a way to pay teachers their salary, fund the education e.t.c (even now that we don't have it, teachers are going on strike, now think about what will happen if we do have it. and we can't have it for just one year it has to be continous so that's a HUGE investment.)

we have to build our economy first before thinking about free, cheap programs for the masses.

anyways, it' all complicated politics that also has a lot to do with the IMF, World Bank, UN e.t.c these people create their own policies that our govt have to comply with and most of the time, they hurt our (and other developing african countries) development a lot .the UN is fairer in their policies i will assume.
but we blame everything on corrupt govt even though there are other things involved (from my knowledge, the US govt is pretty corrupt too undecided and usually caters for the rich. in fact, the gap between the rich and poor in the US, i won't be surprised is greater and widening everyday than that in African countries)

but i'm sure we'll get there.

and most of the time, if the govt was to start a huge project, they need a center and so they build their office. so i don't see what's so unbenefiting about skyscrapers. they're there for a purpose too and not just for us to look at.

the only thing i'm worried about is that we won't have enough to maintain the infrastrutures. let's just hope our ecoomy continues to grow.

ok. enough rambling from me.
CelebritiesRe: Oprah's School Is A "prison" Claims Students And Parents by WesleyanA(f): 10:59pm On Mar 12, 2007

South Africans never liked the plan at the onset anyways.
If it's a "prison", transfer your kids to another school. that easy

but many of the rules definitely are harsh.
TravelRe: Abuja Skyline: Day And Night-time by WesleyanA(f): 10:31pm On Mar 12, 2007
dblock:
Nigeris is multi tasking because we are too way behind, to develop the constitutional way.

Nigeria is creating wealth through tourism (Ammenities are built and the FG tries to support this with propoer infrastructure)

Nigeria designates a city to host a major event (and in so doing, has to prepare by bosting the cities infrastructure, Hotels, Attractions etc.

New Megacity is being planned on the by the Lagos-Ibadan expressway (Pressure is taken off Lekki and Mainland Lagos, thus meaning that Lagos becomes less congested and a new alternative place of commerce is built.

Skyscrapers are being planned such as the millenium tower, that will act both as symblic edifices and at the same time as Civic and Leisure buildings, the millenium tower will have a Library accessible to anyone

Satellites are built (putting Nigeria ahead in Telecommunications and Technology and at the same time enhances the Government's potential to allocate resources through demographical mapping.

Multi Tasking is the way, it seems akward to someone who may not understand the concept wink
where do you get these info? are you some govt spy or something j/k cheesy
hope all these plans become realized

i don't get the multitasking part. our govt isn't multitasking. i think in my mind that we're just following UN, IMF, World Bank rules.
TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 10:06pm On Mar 12, 2007
VOR:
Another thing is that a lot of those buildings are a bit of a joke.
Go inside, often the lifts don't work or like a lot of the country
they suffer from the results of frequent power failure.

I love Nigeria but I don't think development is measured
by how many skyscrapers you have or my tallest building is
bigger than yours.
yes it is. sort of
in this globalized economy that we live in

you just said it yourself that a lot of the buildings are a joke. (i agree with you. the "national open university of nigeria" pic looks like an abandoned building or a section 8 project building ) and doesn't that reflect our underdevelopment?
we don't that many "tall buildings" either.

how come the better developed a country is, the more skyscrapers they have in their cities?

that's why i said we still got a very long way to go.

it's pretty much the same ol' buildings being displayed over and over again from different angles here on this thread. lol
i'm not hating though. they're cool pics and it's always good to see progress, positive threads
Nairaland GeneralRe: For Only Ajebos: Please No Ajepaki Allowed! by WesleyanA(f): 2:37am On Mar 12, 2007
ashewo:
hell No, my dad isnt going to do all that to send my ass to school, he is a working man, so he doesnt need to do that, ! lipsrsealed and by the way i just landed a nice ass internship with Valero in sanantonio this summer, I really can't wait! shocked shocked And quit hating dude, i can predict your ass works at Micky D, or that razz common chineze restuarant again, what do they call it huh huh, ??/, yes, Timmy Chan or somthin! angry sad, sad shocked shocked, Go get a life n quit hating on my ajebo ass grin grin okay!!!!!! tongue tongue
what does your dad do for a living? undecided

you sound pretty excited to start your internship tongue (i want one too)
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Pictures Of Nairaland Members. by WesleyanA(f): 11:19pm On Mar 11, 2007
omogenaija:
i didnt know that the trools had a rep , this is my first time seeing one on nairaland
he's been around for a while.
he uses different usernames and creates annoying topics

sometimes he's ok though
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Pictures Of Nairaland Members. by WesleyanA(f): 10:54pm On Mar 11, 2007
it's not rocket science
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Pictures Of Nairaland Members. by WesleyanA(f): 10:39pm On Mar 11, 2007
that's not his pic, you guys.
it's his "son"'s pic
and we all know that, by "son," he probably means some ftball player or something.

the trolls family have a nasty history/reputation on nairaland.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Pictures Of Nairaland Members. by WesleyanA(f): 10:27pm On Mar 11, 2007
mozarttroll, tombradytroll, trollusa, familytrolls
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Pictures Of Nairaland Members. by WesleyanA(f): 10:23pm On Mar 11, 2007
sharetroll, trollremix, trollsmom, don't know what's next huh
TravelRe: Pictures of Lagos Skyline (City-Scape) by WesleyanA(f): 9:49pm On Mar 11, 2007
Poverty is not created by commericial activity, it is created when resources doesn't reach a percentage of a countrie's poplation, due to factors such as; Corruption, famine/droughts, lack of resources etc. . . . Commericial activity is not what causes poverty. The money that Nigerians aren't seeing is mainly in politicians pockets
nigeria definitely has resources. it's just that citizens can't afford it because of poverty.
Forum GamesRe: Lovely Pictures by WesleyanA(f): 7:11am On Mar 11, 2007
what kind of hair have you got?
what's your question again?
Forum GamesRe: Lovely Pictures by WesleyanA(f): 7:09am On Mar 11, 2007
so you got nappy hair too don't you? tongue
Forum GamesRe: Lovely Pictures by WesleyanA(f): 7:06am On Mar 11, 2007
no duh. i'm not that old cheesy

Forum GamesRe: Lovely Pictures by WesleyanA(f): 6:58am On Mar 11, 2007
wth is that? your little friend?

Forum GamesRe: Look At The Person's Profile Above Yours & Make A Comment by WesleyanA(f): 6:54am On Mar 11, 2007
go to bed
Forum GamesRe: Lovely Pictures by WesleyanA(f): 6:51am On Mar 11, 2007
my erykha badu?

you've got any "lovely" pics to share, mr star? tongue
Forum GamesRe: Who Is This Girl? by WesleyanA(f): 6:05am On Mar 11, 2007
brandy, tyra huh
EducationRe: What Is The Meaning Of 'Deja Vu'? by WesleyanA(f): 6:04am On Mar 11, 2007
see Groundhog day (the movie). you'll get the meaning.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 (of 261 pages)