Stats: 3,151,903 members, 7,814,061 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 04:42 AM

Wroskian's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Wroskian's Profile / Wroskian's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 21 pages)

Health / Re: Handsome Man Turns To...... (pics) # Save A Soul (odafe) by wroskian(m): 9:08pm On Nov 09, 2016
masties2:

I get information from Odafe family regularly. He is currently at the University of Benin teaching hospital. He is being monitored till when he is strong enough for bedsore surgery which is the first step. As at yesterday he was able to eat a little previously he had been on water only. We need more publicity for his case. Thanks
Good work, great news.
I've been trying to get a contact at UBTH to verify the whole thing, but I'm glad you are here. His case can be given wide publicity if we can get bloggers to help make posts about him on their platforms.

Computer Market / Re: UK Used HP Pavilion G6 #60k SOLD!!!!!!!!!!!!! by wroskian(m): 7:01pm On Nov 09, 2016
Oga, are you saying the laptop up there is clean? OK. HAPPY SALES.

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Who Knows Anything About WORKFORCE? Please Helo by wroskian(m): 3:51pm On Nov 08, 2016
Beckyojes:

Thanks. But please do u know what the interview will be like? What am to be expecting
You are welcome.
You didn't state what you applied for; but, I can assure you will scale through with good preparation, just be yourself. Good luck. wink
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Who Knows Anything About WORKFORCE? Please Helo by wroskian(m): 3:12pm On Nov 08, 2016
Beckyojes:
I want to know if they are real or scam
You better start preparing for your interview. Workforce is REAL!!!
Romance / Re: Two Nairalanders Set To Wed. by wroskian(m): 2:50pm On Nov 08, 2016
Mr. & Mrs. Explorers loading ... grin grin Congratulations Bro. wink
Education / Re: Tips To Succeed In PTDF OSS Msc Scholarship Exam by wroskian(m): 2:43pm On Nov 08, 2016
Congratulations mosbiod and co. grin

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Jobs/vacancies Section Chatroom by wroskian(m): 7:58am On Nov 07, 2016
At an interview to fill the vacancy of a Field Engineer in a multinational oil company, two competent and qualified Engineers were shortlisted and the company was to decide on
who to retain and who to show the red card.

They asked them If they could drive and they both answered in the affirmative even though only one of them could drive. The Head of the Human Resources spearheading the interview cum pruning session then handed his car keys to them to prove their driving skills within the premises. The over-confident applicant collected the car key, opened the car, switched on the ignition, lighted it up, sped off, swirled, swerved and made some stunts on wheels before parking the car on the same spot to the seeming rousing applause and mischievously knowing smile of the interviewers.

The other applicant who could not drive collected the key all the same, opened the car, opened the bonnet, checked the engine oil level, the brake fluid level, the gear oil level and the water in the radiator level. As he closed the bonnet, the chief interviewer walked towards him and said: "Don't bother driving, you've just been hired!"

Precaution is more powerful than expertise! The race is not for the swiftest, but to the wise! Don't be brash and over-confident. Learn the ropes and never back off from giving your best even If you don't possess what it takes.

That someone is doing it fast doesn't mean he is doing it right! Direction is more important than speed! Exercise caution and take precaution in the journey of life- that's how to be recruited into the employment of success...
#copied

Good morning fam, have a productive week ahead grin

10 Likes 6 Shares

Health / Re: Handsome Man Turns To...... (pics) # Save A Soul (odafe) by wroskian(m): 1:42pm On Nov 04, 2016
shocked embarassed embarassed Oh my God, I know this guy. We were in the same CDS group while serving in Benin, he was the assistant drama director while I was the Gen Sec. Cool guy...chai!!!
I'm short of words now...

MODs, kindly push this to FP.
cc: Lalasticlala
Seun

Modified:
Freshestguy, are you close to Odafe's family? I think it will be helpful to give a summary of the total funds he needs so as to give those who would like to help a kind of direction.

Career / Re: Activities For The First 5 Years Of Your Career by wroskian(m): 4:01pm On Oct 28, 2016
nmreports:
I feel compelled to also say this.
No matter how your career has turned out.
No matter the mistakes you have made in the past.
No matter how ridiculous your discipline is.
Noatter how "unmarketable" it is.

What I have come to realize is that we can always start again.
Starting again means drawing a new plan.
If you noticed that your passion is media and you studied biology, there are a tons of young entrepreneurs in the field that you can move with and learn from.
Tons of courses you can take.
More importantly, you can even decide to go back to school.

If you won't work with it, it would help when building your own business.

Check www.HRtechniques for interesting things that can aid your career journey.
Bros, to do the bolded part of your comment, money is needed. How will one go about the money aspect?
Agriculture / Re: My Organic Poultry Project (broilers) by wroskian(m): 6:38pm On Oct 24, 2016
organicfoods:
What is the colour of their poo? Any pix?
Thanks for your response.
Sorry, can't upload pictures now, maybe later. But the color is kind of greyish with normal whitish stains.
Agriculture / Re: My Organic Poultry Project (broilers) by wroskian(m): 4:15pm On Oct 24, 2016
Turks:
Do you have rats invading your pen as well as eating your feed?
The only rat I saw was when they were 2 weeks old and the mofo has since been eliminated. cheesy
Moreso, feeds are kept in a secure place where I'm 101% sure there are no rodents.
Agriculture / Re: My Organic Poultry Project (broilers) by wroskian(m): 4:02pm On Oct 24, 2016
organicfoods:
Selenium deficiency or likely they turn out massive body before feathers can cover. grin I know just how to fix this...but not much of a problem for now though.
I have been a silent follower of this thread and all I can say is you are doing a great job. Kudos Sir!!!

I got my BXs the same time as yours. Few days ago, I noticed diarrhea (watery poo) which is getting severe, I have been giving them vitalyte+dextrose from day2 except for days when I have to administer vaccines. I am not on the organic path though.
What can be done to permanently stop the diarrhea?

NOTE: I resumed giving them vitalyte after stopping 3 days ago to administer FP vaccine and honestly, they are feeding well. I must also add that I'm using the deep litter system.

Career / Re: My Embarassing Professional Exam! by wroskian(m): 9:47pm On Oct 22, 2016
amicable09:
Lol. Wr.oskian, I just bit my tongue now cheesy. The thing I wanted to say now to you ehn? Lol, it would have caused a love spark grin
Oya now...let there be sparkling sparks of love. grin
amicable09:
You've written well but did I hear you say the government should look into private schools by making them more accountable? Well, I think public schools are the breeding ground for this malaise. Even though I do not rule out private schools completely but it seems to me that it is more condoned in Public schools where anything goes than in private schools.
Yes, I did say the government should wade into this situation in the education sector especially in private schools by making all stakeholders accountable, this is not exonerating public schools.
While the government has total control of public schools, they also have at least regulatory control over the privately owned ones. Let me explain a bit:

In every local government, there are LIE offices from where personnels are deployed to monitor the activities of private schools in their LG. For instance, before any private school is approved to conduct external exams, LIE officers are supposed to make recommendations to the exam body after they might have visited (with prior notice) the school and assessed the state of facilities (classrooms, toilets, exam halls, laboratories et.al) and quality of man-power.
Do you know what actually happens? The owner of the school is expected to "take good care" of the inspection team by providing meals and cash gifts for EVERY member of the team after paying the statutory fees into government coffers or risk victimization. Once the owner dances to the tune of the inspectors and at least has a building called "school," then he/she is sure to receive government approval. I am writing this from what I have both heard and seen and not common talk. I must also say not all private schools go through this, that is why I will classify them:

1. First Class Private Schools "A": They have well built and equipped structures, organizational structure is superb and staffers are well remunerated. Such schools are owned by the high and mighty in the society and they don't have to bribe anyone for government approval. Discipline is top-notch and students don't need to be "assisted" to pass exams because they are well prepared. Admission into such schools is very competitive.
First Class Private Schools "B": They are also well run and structured. Parents get value for their money; fees are more affordable than their A counterparts. Some "assist" their candidates to make sure they pass.

2. Second Class Private Schools: They own their buildings which might not be well equipped because their focus is on making profits. Because population is more important, students are not admitted on merit & not well groomed for external exams. They are special centres where students are "assisted" to pass exams.

3. Third Class Private Schools: They operate in rented apartments, you find kerosene stoves in place of bunsen burners here cheesy Students' population is more important than quality of education, the owner's major aim is to move to permanent site asap. Here, you will find the best runz centres. The school lacks proper organizational structure and teachers are treated like slaves.
NOTE: I am not against starting a school in a rented building.

Amy, second and third class private schools are all over the place and they carry out their activities with reckless abandon even with cooperation from parents because some government officials have refused to do their jobs from scratch. This is contributing to the rot in the system.

On the other hand, public schools are just what they are - breeding grounds for exam malpractices - much shouldn't be expected from them until the government decides to overhaul the whole system.
This is the unfortunate state of our education sector which in my opinion should be one of the most regulated sectors.

I hope we are not detailing this thread with this.

Career / Re: My Embarassing Professional Exam! by wroskian(m): 10:01pm On Oct 21, 2016
[b]Honestly, this exam malpractice of a thing is now rampant, it simply shows we have lost our values, we no longer uphold integrity in this part of the world.

Private schools cum miracle centres put the future of the younger generation in jeopardy in a bid to make name and money, parents buy results for their wards to demonstrate that they "want the best" for them. This is the reason why we'll continue to produce killers in white overalls in the name of doctors, experience more buildings collapsing due to influx of quacks into the engineering profession, having lazy and incompetent teachers in our schools, having incompetent and corrupt leadership...etcetera. The government should do something about exam malpractice in the education sector especially in private schools by making all stake holders accountable before we get to a point-of-no-return.

Op, if you trace the history of your protegé, he has been doing it right from when he was young, probably secondary school. It is really shameful.

Amicable09, I like the fact that we still have people of integrity in this country, judging from your post, you are one. wink
[/b]

Education / Re: I Wonder What This School Is Really Teaching The Students by wroskian(m): 9:00am On Oct 15, 2016
amicable09:
grin grin grin Our President is also adding gas fumes to my laughing gas grin grin grin
Abi you will like to belong to my kitchen ni? grin
Education / Re: My Published Dissertation by wroskian(m): 11:28am On Oct 13, 2016
Great achievement there, kudos Bro. smiley
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Updated-New Job Vacancies by wroskian(m): 12:20pm On Oct 06, 2016
bluish:
Good day house, Please I need directions to this
address from ikorodu : 5 Balarabe Musa Crescent
2nd gate, 1004, Victoria Island, Lagos. Thank you
Hello, kindly send me a PM, I got similar message, but I already had it rescheduled because I'm far from Lagos. I would like to know what the job is all about and whether it'll be worth traveling to pick. Goodluck to you.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: . by wroskian(m): 9:06pm On Oct 04, 2016
LadyOmaDine:

I don't really know if I can cope, but I'll give it a try.

Thanks for the links, I've started my application process

Thanks a lot for your concern, I think I'll have to keep trying and I'll reach out to people as you've said..

I promise to remain positive, coz I believe with God all things are possible.
Yes...that's the spirit.
You are welcome, waiting for your success story.

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Jobs/vacancies Section Chatroom by wroskian(m): 8:47am On Oct 02, 2016
ladyF:

Anyway sha... Ferdyboss, I caught you peeping, biko I have my SSCE certificate, the F9 no too plenty . embarassed Make I send give you? Dav.ide470, abeg find me something too o. Biko epp me!!! grin
I've been curiously seeking the origin of the "F" in your moniker, now I know better lipsrsealed

Congratulations to our new mother, may he not be the last as more bouncing baby boys and girls shall follow by His Grace. smiley cheesy

LadyOmadine don't take things too serious, e go better.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Jobs/vacancies Section Chatroom by wroskian(m): 6:33pm On Sep 29, 2016
amicable09:

No one else has the guts and wit to talk to me like this on NL except wroski gringringrin
You cracked me up completely. I don't know how to even fight back cheesy but I promise you when I'm done chuckling, I'll come after you! tongue
Waiting tongue
amicable09:

The demon by the way is strong. Can't believe it's 6 days and I'm still under its stronghold. It's beginning to wear me out.
Six days shocked Oh sorry, have you seen an optometrist?
... If it is really apollo, I learnt early morning urine can do wonders; try it and thank me later wink
amicable09:

How far with our scholarships?
Any luck with any yet?
Psalm 121:1-2
Crime / Re: The Nigeria We Live In by wroskian(m): 6:07pm On Sep 29, 2016
Laveda:

Thanks jare..
She's out, tho no pay..
You're welcome. Hope the bail was free like they always say & I think you should still go secure the services of a human rights lawyer. That woman needs to be taught some lessons.

Mr. Lalasticlala, kindly do the needful, someone needs help.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Jobs/vacancies Section Chatroom by wroskian(m): 2:14pm On Sep 29, 2016
amicable09:

Ok. I'll keep my eyes and ears open. If I come across anything I think may interest you, I'll give you a mention.
HR Minister, great ministry you have in your hands here grin Please I need a job too o, make I forward my CV?

Hope you have been delivered from that red-eyed demon wink ? Sorry ehn, it's high time you stop chooking your eyes in things upandan tongue

Crime / Re: The Nigeria We Live In by wroskian(m): 4:04pm On Sep 28, 2016
Laveda:
Good morning.

Why are some humans so wicked? Please read carefully..

So my friend has been working for this woman for the past 7months now and she's paid her for only 2months and that's february and march.. Ever since then till today, she hasn't received anything from her.They sell baby wears, gowns and shoes, but the place isn't a really busy arena.

Fast forward to July while I was still in school, my friend called me that she hasn't received anything from the woman and I was like Wtf? You mean you've been working like like that? No pay nothing? And she said yeah that the woman said she'll pay, I advised her to quit than sitting there like that cause its almost like she's jobless, but she said she can't leave her money for the woman like that. Last month she had accommodation issues she had to leave where she's staying, parked her things and dropped somewhere (the parents aren't based here) she talked to the madam about paying even tho it means giving her 20,000 as part payment so as to add up to what she has and rent a house, the woman still refused saying she doesn't have money, and they've been making sales in the shop, now isn't that wickedness?

Now the issue is, she got fed up and decided to forward the issue to the police.. Reaching there she made complains,wrote statement.. But when her Madam arrived she changed the issue, called the husband and told the DPO the girl stole her things and that she's only owing her for 2months.. Now my friend Is been detained there since yesterday till now, the police has asked her to call her people to come sign undertaking, undertaking for what... Is this the kinda police we now have in Nigeria? Where if you don't have money you don't have right to freedom? This is just sheer wickedness.

Lalasticlala,dominique, mynd44.
please, this thread needs wider view below is the picture of the girl, I don't know if she can be bailed today cause the Madam has taken up the case, she really needs help...

Sorry about what your friend is facing.

She should have discussed the matter with a lawyer before going to the police station; I don't think it is right to take remuneration issues between an employer & employee to the police in the first place because it isn't a criminal case, it is an industrial (or labour) case...I might be wrong.

Can she provide proofs to show that the woman is owing her? (e.g bank statements if she receives her pay through the bank which I doubt)
We have human rights lawyers who would like to take this up pro bono, please get one as that is what you need now.
Lawyers on Nairaland, please advice op.
Religion / Re: How I Found God: Marilyn Adamson (ex-atheist) Shares Her Experience. by wroskian(m): 10:27pm On Sep 24, 2016
I have been waiting for this...

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: 2016/2017 NLNG Overseas Postgraduate Scholarship by wroskian(m): 6:51pm On Sep 23, 2016
Nwugo24:
They've replied!
Congratulations!!!
Meemee247:
Yes, I did.
Congratulations Bro, it's good to know people here got it.

It seems we have a lot of Aberdeen hopefuls here, I hold an Aberdeen offer as well, but didn't make the scholarship interview stage.

How possible is it to still meet up for 2016 start considering the number of days it takes to secure a visa? NLNG might have a perfect plan though ...

smileSTELLA:
Yes they've replied, if you don't get a message today, expect your success message tomorrow. Keep shining all. God bless NLNG
Congratulations!!! smiley
Career / Re: Nigerian Lady Joins The US Army (photos) by wroskian(m): 9:31am On Sep 19, 2016
davide470:
Lol. What's the proof that you are the one? grin

Seconded smiley
cc: Angelalawson

Education / Re: 2016/2017 University of Ibadan Admission Thread Guide. by wroskian(m): 8:02pm On Sep 18, 2016
[quote author=Annibiteye post=49472347][/quote] Okay ...I see.
Thank you.
Education / Re: 2016/2017 University of Ibadan Admission Thread Guide. by wroskian(m): 3:46pm On Sep 18, 2016
Annibiteye:

Debited twice? for the refund, you go the two different banks you used to apply for refund. For my Ward's case, she was debited once, and when we used another card, in another more reliable cafe, her registration was completed successfully. I think you should look for a cafe whose attendant is highly competent and try again. Refunding will take 5working days or thereabout, so it won't be wise waiting for your money to be refunded before you log in to complete your registration. 23rd is in 5days time. please Members with a better solution can help
Yes, I tried the second time with a different bank atm card after the first attempt was unsuccessful with my money deducted and it also ended up like the first try.

Thanks a lot for your advice, I'll get someone to do it in a cybercafe.

About visiting the bank, I'll do as you advised. I'm glad your ward got her money back.

wroskian:
While trying to register for a sibling, I've been debited twice using 2 different cards. How do I resolve this? How do I apply for a refund?
cc: An.nibiteye

Please, if you have gone through the bolded, kindly share your experience with me.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 21 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69