Stats: 3,158,665 members, 7,837,465 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 03:24 AM

Yorex2011's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Yorex2011's Profile / Yorex2011's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 106 pages)

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: How Being Informed Got Me A Job With An International Organisation. by yorex2011: 7:42pm On Jan 11, 2018
Hmmm
Programming / Re: Please Help Look At My Code (what is wrong with my code ) by yorex2011: 5:18pm On Jan 11, 2018
You have tables for January , February... Etc ??

Why not create one table and have a month column, then create you sql to search through the months you need.

What exactly are you trying to achieve, cos i don't seem to understand..

Who taught you php?
Romance / Re: We Lost A Deary Nairalander (so Sad) by yorex2011: 8:04pm On Jan 10, 2018
Snow02:
RIP

Did you read?

Romance / Re: Leaked Pics From The Nairaland Broke Party! Enter Here!!!!!!! by yorex2011: 8:20pm On Jan 08, 2018
Fidelmalek:
only geniuses can decipher this picture grin grin grin
Emptiness undecided

Prolly as it applies to the owner of this thread
Romance / Re: Leaked Pics From The Nairaland Broke Party! Enter Here!!!!!!! by yorex2011: 7:36pm On Jan 08, 2018
We seriously need a rubbish section on nairaland.

Why will someone bash folks who came together to have a good time.

Somewhere one tree is doing its best to produce oxygen for some folks.

Na wa o..

Family / Re: Man Gifts Wife New Car For Exclusively Breast-Feeding Their Baby For 6 Months by yorex2011: 5:11pm On Jan 07, 2018
Ok great...

So she agreed to do what she's naturally supposed to do..

How nice...

Celebrities / Re: Yemi Alade Set To Tour 11 European Countries by yorex2011: 5:08pm On Jan 07, 2018
Francfort Frankfurt

Programming / Re: The Complete Ethical Hacking Course- Biginner To Advanced! by yorex2011: 7:29pm On Jan 04, 2018
Are you selling?
Phones / Re: How To Retract Whatsapp Messages At Anytime Even After A Week! by yorex2011: 9:59am On Jan 02, 2018
Here to look at profile pictures
Religion / Re: Going To Church With White Candle Sticks On Crossover Nights: Meaning? by yorex2011: 2:42am On Jan 01, 2018
valacious:
The candle symbolizes the light that Christ brought to the world, while darkness existed.
In my church, all lights are switched off just before mid night, and the pastor then lights a candle to symbolize the light Jesus brought to the world. Everyone then gets his candle lit from that one source.
Best reply. OP should get a cue from this
Romance / Re: #menarescum- Is This What Women/girls Really Face Everyday? by yorex2011: 1:20am On Dec 29, 2017
Wondering what she wants us to do. After the likes and retweets, what next?
Romance / Re: Thread For All Those Still Single In 2017: What's The Way Forward? by yorex2011: 12:46pm On Dec 27, 2017
Been single for 3 years now grin

Is an enjoyable something

Romance / Re: Lady Who Turned Down Boyfriend’s Marriage Proposal On Her Birthday Writes by yorex2011: 8:16am On Dec 25, 2017
Everyone just wants attention these days.
Celebrities / Re: Fuel Scarcity: 2face Idibia Protests Against Filling Stations. Nigerians React by yorex2011: 12:26pm On Dec 23, 2017
FaniDan:
Nobody is doubting that, what would have made him outstanding was pushing through, we want a better Nigeria then we should be willing to put our lives out there

Its not as easy as you say... People who died in occupy Nigeria campaign.. Does anyone speak of them today?

Like i said, this generation is compromised already
Celebrities / Re: Fuel Scarcity: 2face Idibia Protests Against Filling Stations. Nigerians React by yorex2011: 11:50am On Dec 23, 2017
Everybody shouting Tuface is a coward...dyu even know the kind of principalities that dude must've seen during that incident? To be honest I think Nigerians what we are suffering now from politicians. Why? Because these people are a direct representation of us. They are not strangers from another land.

Sadly this our generation is gone already, nothing to salvage. We hope the next generation of Nigerians won't be like this
Technology Market / Re: Pls Where Can I Sell My Swift 4G LTE Modem At The Computer Village? by yorex2011: 10:50pm On Dec 19, 2017
freedomessence:

You mean the swift sim?...Except you are certain you can convince me you won't do yahoo yahoo with the sim.

I heard swift don't sell sims only, you have to buy with the device.

I have 2 mifi devices already, no need piling them up for nothing, hence my asking about the sim...
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:48pm On Dec 19, 2017
pcguru1:

In terms of performance Golan is good, my boss showed a rewrite he did from Java to Go and memory consumption was fvcking minimal and performant.its the only binary I can easy package and pass around even our kubernetes its one file but we use that shit to deploy docker images and monitor docker images running live from my system. It's something in my office that will save you time esp when you want to read logs. Access to production in my company is sacred so kubes is the only shi.t that works for us.

These una dev ops i no understand o shocked.
Technology Market / Re: Pls Where Can I Sell My Swift 4G LTE Modem At The Computer Village? by yorex2011: 7:41pm On Dec 19, 2017
I'm actually interested in the sim.. How much will you sell the sim?
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 7:15pm On Dec 19, 2017
pcguru1:
So after ranting to a colleague , he showed me his example of Redux via react-redux I guess my issue was I knew you could dispatch to alter the state but I was lost on how the component responded to the change that was where the mapToProps came in, I think I get it now. But for the app am building its too small for redux almost done. Was thinking of adding a back end to save the data deciding Golang or Slim PHP

Golang ke?
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 9:18pm On Dec 18, 2017
Also love react native cos all i need is a text editor and my phone.. unlike android studio wey large full everywhere.. I just use wifi adb connection ( no need for cord sef grin) and run my app on my phone then debug real time on my pc browser, the dev tools are just amazing i swear

Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 9:06pm On Dec 18, 2017
bet9ja:
React is fun and easy to grab even for a newbie, it allows you to do everything at a go including styling with Css, But things get messier if you switch to react native for mobile App. Things like navigation can make you fee dump and you might spend days trying to switch from one page to another. Most of the dependency are deprecated and sometimes one will need to deprecate the version of the react native before things works out.

That said, I would advise anyone who need to get things done on time with less stress to go with Ionic for mobile app and react for web app. However, learning angular before diving into ionic will give more insight.

My opinion though.

Below is the pix of the Vtender App i'm working on, the left is the Android view while the right is the iOS view.
The app is a business app and it can also verify government tender.

Hope you'll reduce the scrollbar width a lil, abi is it the browser/emulator?
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 9:03pm On Dec 18, 2017
bet9ja:
Do you know that you can easily navigate to another page in Angular with just one line of code.

this.NavCtrl.push("AboutPage"wink ; and your app will navigate to ABOUT page.

With lazyloading you can just tell ionic to generate a newpage and voila, your page is ready.

ionic g page About after typing this in your console, your page will be ready and you can easily call that page from any page with
this.NavCtrl.push("AboutPage"wink ;

Thats quite easy lol.. I've never really liked angular much tho.. Too overly complex and opionated..I will still learn it tho, just inicase i have do some maintenance work or forced to do something with it....

at least i can use that opportunity to see the ttypescript that pcguru is drooling over for tongue cheesy
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:59pm On Dec 18, 2017
pcguru1:
The problem with me is I don't subscribe to that concept of a single store where the whole application are listening for changes, I guess it hasn't grown on me, and I think it's wasteful in the sense that all components are listening to the store, and when i dispatch only certain component will read them based on the reducer.

The concept I am familiar with is each Component is isolated and they publish and subscribe to the events they fill is important, that way when the event is triggered it's only the Components that subscribed that will be notified rather than the whole component listening and only responding when the state matches their condition.

Let's just say am writing React in an angular-ish way, But mehn I love React , I built this application that in Angular 2 would have taken me much more time and it's straight forward.

Kotlin to build android app, mehn there's no much gain because with React Native you can target both platforms IOS/Android at once so I don't really see the gain in using Kotlin, I would say Java incase you need to write a Java React Component. But i could be wrong though send me some links that will make me understand Redux because that's what all companies use, I can't ignore it, my Visa depends on this. I will jump to React native later haven't had any mobile project thrown to my side.

Thenewboston and one dude called Stephen Grider (Has some good react and redux courses on Udemy)..

redux-persist is a very good package to use with redux too

redux = Idumota market

actions = COME_AND_BUY_MALE_SHOES

action creator = bell and mouth, and hand

reducers = Potential Customers

So the shoe seller is a react component who has been given the bell (via matchDispatchToProps)..

Oya come and buy male shoes o, (dispatch being called with a payload of the shoes he has),

all customers in the market hears the announcement (all reducers);

Only male customers respond because e no consign female users,

then the either buy or not whatever payload the seller has,

the market (store) knows at all times knows the state of the seller's stock

Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:42pm On Dec 18, 2017
bet9ja:
React is fun and easy to grab even for a newbie, it allows you to do everything at a go including styling with Css, But things get messier if you switch to react native for mobile App. Things like navigation can make you fee dump and you might spend days trying to switch from one page to another. Most of the dependency are deprecated and sometimes one will need to deprecate the version of the react native before things works out.

That said, I would advise anyone who need to get things done on time with less stress to go with Ionic for mobile app and react for web app. However, learning angular before diving into ionic will give more insight.

My opinion though.

I agree with you on the navigation ish, like my own app

has an AuthNavigator which is a stack type for login and registration

and a MainRouter which is for Authenticated users,

so my render code uses redux to know if anyone is currently logged in and renders one of the above

heres my mainRouter breakdown

const ScreenRouter = DrawerNavigator(
{
Home: { screen: HomeScreen },
Drafts: { screen: DraftsScreen },
History: { screen: HistoryScreen },
NewInvoiceRoute: {
screen: StackNavigator(
{
NewInvoice: { screen: NewInvoice },
InvoiceSummary: { screen: invoiceSummary },
},
{
navigationOptions: { header: null }
}
)
},
},
{
navigationOptions: {
headerStyle: {
backgroundColor: '#19b800',
},
headerTitleStyle: { color: 'white' },
},

contentComponent: props => <SideBar {...props} />
}
);

const SettingsNavigator = StackNavigator(
{
Settings: {
screen: SettingsList,
},
CompanySettings: {
screen: CompanySettings,
},
InvoiceSettings: {
screen: InvoiceSettings
}
},
{
header: null
}
}

);

export const MainRouter = StackNavigator(
{
General: {
screen: ScreenRouter,
},
SettingsScreen: {
screen: SettingsNavigator,
},
},
{
header: null,
}
}
);

once any navigator wants to give me wahala, i just switch to redux and use it as my messenger grin grin

Passing params between deeply nested is quite notorious on react native,

imagine trying to access a param and u can see it when you console.log but the next line and the app complains of undefined, you start asking yourself which lifecycle hook you should use and you just go nuts cry
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:40pm On Dec 18, 2017
pcguru1:

Am actually worse at Ui, I can replicate but i can't design from my head, I must look at Dribbble, I prefer to write code, that's why i love porn sites, they don't spend much details on UX and users find their way around,

Epic grin grin grin
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:24pm On Dec 18, 2017
UI still a little boring tho

Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 8:16pm On Dec 18, 2017
pcguru1:
Thanks I finally decided to take last week and this week to pick up React and mehn i am amazed this is what i used to understand what was going on

1. Understanding the Internals of React
http://www.mattgreer.org/articles/react-internals-part-one-basic-rendering/
https://bogdan-lyashenko.github.io/Under-the-hood-ReactJS/

2. Redux Concept

I started with a simple tutorial
https://github.com/reactjs/redux/tree/master/examples/counter

then switched to react-redux after reading about it.

3. TypeScript and React

Because I'm not a fan of loose typed languages I decided to go with TS since it's what i love using and ditched Babel, but am sure Babel is still behind the scenes converting TS to JS

https://www.typescriptlang.org/docs/handbook/react-&-webpack.html
Boilerplate
https://github.com/Microsoft/TypeScript-React-Starter

So with all these knowledge I decided to work on a real life application and it's something that is currently on-going here is the UI i saw on dribbble

UI

My Attempt : https://github.com/dojoVader/ReactPlayGround/tree/dev/react-ts-addressbook

My Github Repository

I created a repo to create different boilerplates and examples because when taking another Project i'd like to just use a boilerplate and save myself the stress of starting again, here it is

https://github.com/dojoVader/ReactPlayGround

Thanks for creating this thread if not I won't have been gingered to take up React at all

Also this is my feedback on React so far while learning

Pros

1. Minimal Api when compared to Angular 4/5
2. Small Learning Curve
3. Robust Developer Tools and Debugging error is explicit and detailed
4. Build tools are amazing thanks to Babel
5. React generated code is easy to understand

Cons for me o

1. You are responsible for alot of things, how you structure your code, which Router to use, how to achieve XYZ feat in react unlike Angular where there is an opinionated structure

2. React is typically viewed from Parent Component to Child Component in terms of communication, unlike Angular 4/5 where you can use EventEmitter to handle cross communication with other components, in this case Redux is used and it can be very confusing as it's a React-ish-Pub-Sub Pattern

3. The Concept of mixing Presentation with code is still depressing but hey it works in it's own way

Thanks OP

Just took a look at the repos. You sure like your strict typing.. Code looks really well organized, noticed you also used serviceworkers. I did't bother with all those, since i'm still trying to learn the ropes. We that don't have many years experience like you guys tongue tongue
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 7:50pm On Dec 18, 2017
pcguru1:
Mehn I hate Redux

But why dyu hate redux... I'm using it in my react Native app alongside a library called redux-persist to persist store to storage... Twas quite easy to set up and its been working pretty well...

My boss actually said using normal java/kotlin to develop android apps is easier than react native, tho i never really picked up the former much.

I'm sure its cos of my web background, tho Javascript still has its perks like callback hell and all.. Its still quite an experience.

I use native-base library for the mobile app
Here are some awesome packages that can make your react development really interesting..
Programming / Re: The Javascript Thread by yorex2011: 7:44pm On Dec 18, 2017
pcguru1:
Mehn I hate Redux

Wow.. Nice... I've been really busy at work... When I told my boss i was learning React, he told me to build an app with react Native...

So i decided to build an invoice generator which will have an api written in php...

I actually found it easier learning redux on react native sef..

I can finally implement it in my forum app when I'm done...

Tho I'm not using es6 on the forum, its super awesome as i used it in react Native as it helped make a lot of my code shorter and more readable..
Programming / Re: Recommend A Laptop For Programming by yorex2011: 10:04pm On Dec 14, 2017
I can write a simple laravel web app for you on a 20 leaves jotter sef.

As far as you can type on the laptop..

Even if compiler doesn't install, you can use online compilers

Romance / Re: Ladies Which Size Are You? And Guys Which Size Do You Prefer? by yorex2011: 9:28am On Dec 13, 2017
Demetria Obilor embarassed tongue grin
Programming / Re: Kivy Or Django by yorex2011: 5:01pm On Dec 10, 2017
Last time i checked python has less than 1% of the market share for web development..

I'd suggest knowing php

The Javascript

Then Node Js
With either React,Angular or Vue

They will also help you make stunning mobile apps especially React Native.

Back to your question.. I'd prolly pick Django

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 106 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58