Stats: 3,152,667 members, 7,816,743 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 04:09 PM

Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. - Family (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. (40724 Views)

Nigerian Mother In U.S Navy And Her Son Reunite After 7 Months In Sea (Photos) / Wedding Of 42-Year-Old Folasade Dairo, A Nigerian Mother Of 4 In USA / Interesting Ways To Please A Nigerian Mother In Law. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:14pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

Does that look like ordinary love to you? To me it seems more than that, like she sees him like her "Man" the truth is that he is not her man, she has a man(her husband) if she didn't, I would advise her to remarry.

No one says don't love your son, but some women take it too far, he is not your husband, he will get married and leave you
You need to stop whatever you are on.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:16pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

She thinks she's married to him
You are the one with the problem here.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by kennydotkom(m): 5:19pm On Oct 05, 2016
ring7:
Some daughter in-law are mean now,once they get married name baba house den go visit..

Lolzz. U no say. Na because of mentality that they brought into marrige is that their mother- inlaw wil always be a wicked one. Most of them never pray to hv mother-inlaw. Yet i never sew ex- mother or ex - father but they forget that they can divoice their husband anytime. Though men must love his wife more than his mother but he suld not allow his wife to dictate how he should relate wit his mother.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by JSMB: 5:20pm On Oct 05, 2016
JUSTbuchi:
Finally it did make front page cheesy

My aunt always gives praise to God that her mother in-law is no longer alive grin grin

Y'all disturbing ma mentions tho cheesy cheesy angry angry

Shebi your aunt sef go become mother-in-law someday and maybe someone too go thank God
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by barbie1018: 5:24pm On Oct 05, 2016
Well, I have never experienced such. My mother in law is the best!
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:26pm On Oct 05, 2016
NevetsIbot:
Op. I'm not even married yet, mum is already listing things she'd have my wife do for me..... I'm just looking at her
Why are you just looking at her? Isn't it possible what she wants your wife to do, will be healthy for your marriage? Don't people share tips anymore?

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Pidggin(f): 5:28pm On Oct 05, 2016
sweetcocoa:
You are the one with the problem here.

Explain
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by josite: 5:32pm On Oct 05, 2016
It is simply because mother in law being female can see through your pretence and can further tell if u are a witch or tragedy personified. Wise men drop the idea if their mum says no. Bad wives should avoid highly spiritual mother in laws in their own interest.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Pidggin(f): 5:32pm On Oct 05, 2016
sweetcocoa:
You need to stop whatever you are on.

I hope you are not planning on substituting your son for a husband. As long as you don't do this you will not have problems letting go and your son won't have to chose between you and his wife because you will be busy taking care of your own husband.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:40pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

Explain
Your mind is not right for for interpreting that picture the way you did.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by luminouz(m): 5:40pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

Lol she has a husband but see how she is leaning on her son as if he is her life support, when the boy gets married she will now be in competition with her daughter - in-law, then the guy wouldn't be able to chose. Most MILs have bad marriages, no love from a man, or maybe she's a widow or single mother who didn't remarry.

Women who lack intimacy in their lives end up being bad mother - in-laws who can never be pleased
U super make sense! Get a jug of chilled palm wine n add d cost to my nairaland account!

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by jordinsparkles(f): 5:42pm On Oct 05, 2016
My mother-in-law isn't like that oo
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:43pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

I hope you are not planning on substituting your son for a husband. As long as you don't do this you will not have problems letting go and your son won't have to chose between you and his wife because you will be busy taking care of your own husband.
Again, you prove how messed up your mind, is, by assuming a son can be used as replacement for a husband, because a woman hugged her son.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by chiraqDemon(m): 5:43pm On Oct 05, 2016
Its mostly moms and sisters
Im my moms fam i noticed my grandma likes all her sons in law
But she despises all her daughters in law

Idk but its annoying she is always like they are not making my son buy things for mw they are turning my sons against me
Always lookimg for non existent reason to dislike

Like on of my uncle's wife and my grandmom are like cat and mouse
Grandmom made her an enemy she also despises my grand mom

My mom too takes the same stance against all her sisters in law

Men dont have time to beef....women do.
Just hope my mom doesnt try that with my wife o
I need peace in life

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by chiraqDemon(m): 5:47pm On Oct 05, 2016
josite:
It is simply because mother in law being female can see through your pretence and can further tell if u are a witch or tragedy personified. Wise men drop the idea if their mum says no. Bad wives should avoid highly spiritual mother in laws in their own interest.
Do witches even exist
Is that not the idea of pastors and other superstituous ppl to grab money from ppl that believe in folk lore
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by motherfucker: 5:48pm On Oct 05, 2016
bukatyne:

@Bold:

The simple solution is to marry her son herself.
whatever rocks your boat. I am not unaware to the fact that most of the women in this family section HATE their mother-in-laws.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Nobody: 5:53pm On Oct 05, 2016
Benita27:
I am not sure of the bolded bold, because is not usually written on their forehead.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 5:57pm On Oct 05, 2016
motherfucker:
Mothers are very protective of their son. You wouldn't understand until you have raised one for 27+ years and a lady comes in one day to take away what she has laboured for.

The mother would always feel no one can take care of her child like her. What most DIL should do is assure MIL that her son is in safe hands. It's that simple but most of you would rather compete with her or take her head on, which often backfire
Na wa o, does he stop being her son because he is married? How exactly does extending family, mean taking away what was laboured for?
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Nobody: 5:58pm On Oct 05, 2016
ammyluv2002:
Are you married?

Not yet. Very soon.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by HENRY940: 6:00pm On Oct 05, 2016
Benita27:
Wow!. grin
Your mum is the kind we are praying for.

I think u should ask for some tips of the wife's behaviour to d mum, she has some little stuff that matters that she does.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by ammyluv2002(f): 6:01pm On Oct 05, 2016
Avalon316:

Not yet. Very soon.
I hope she would understand
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Favored4gud: 6:01pm On Oct 05, 2016
It depends on the guy you are dating or about to marry. If he looks out for you, mother in-law is not a problem
Benita27:
I feel for women who marry only sons, so much is expected of them.
I don't want. grin

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by SycophanticGoat: 6:02pm On Oct 05, 2016
Pidggin:

Lol she has a husband but see how she is leaning on her son as if he is her life support, when the boy gets married she will now be in competition with her daughter - in-law, then the guy wouldn't be able to chose. Most MILs have bad marriages, no love from a man, or maybe she's a widow or single mother who didn't remarry.

Women who lack intimacy in their lives end up being bad mother - in-laws who can never be pleased

Hehehehe! I know the lady in that pic is you... tongue cool

Hmmm.. What about women who turn out bad mothers (I mean women that threat their children like trash, simply because of one thing or the other-from experience tho), can lack of intimacy also result to that?
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Nobody: 6:04pm On Oct 05, 2016
ammyluv2002:
I hope she would understand

Why not?. She should understand.

Mothers are precious. They can do anything for their kids. Isn't that enough to love them till the end of time?
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Emasel(m): 6:07pm On Oct 05, 2016
It happens more when the daughter in-law is from another tribe and when the woman is illiterate.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by ammyluv2002(f): 6:08pm On Oct 05, 2016
Avalon316:

Why not?. She should understand.

Mothers are precious. They can do anything for their kids. Isn't that enough to love them till the end of time?
Of course! Nothing can replace our mothers, but as regards the topic thats what I'm talking about here.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 6:09pm On Oct 05, 2016
Ugosample:

It is more of an African /SEA countries problem than say Europe/America IMO because The former are more particular about extended family stuff than say in Europe, where family members are more individualistic/mind their business.

This is my observation tho, because my cousins in Germany hardly get involved in each other's lives, and their mother is living with their dad (my uncle) in the countryside most of the time, and is not inclined to visit all the time, as opposed to Naija MIL that will always find opportunity to visit/breeze in/get involved in the son's life.

The more individualistic a society is, the less likely in laws (Not just mil) get involved/cause friction in the family.
hope you understand my point? ?
I beg to differ.

It is more about being emotionally healthy than visiting one another, than what you term individualistic society, the US is a very individualistic society, yet this issue plays there and so is New Zealand, Australia and a bunch of other countries but MILs and DILs disagree there.

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by sweetcocoa(f): 6:13pm On Oct 05, 2016
Jerryojozy:
What do u expect ? when daughter in laws will be asking the younger brother of her husband to do dishes . The mother in law won't be happy with this when she finds out. Therefore the aggression toward daughter in law. Mother tends to love their boys even when they are married but for the father , he doesn't care cos he feels you are man enough.
Why can't he do dishes, is he not a human being who eats with dishes? Even if he doesn't use dishes sef, can't he be of help in the house?

Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Pidggin(f): 6:15pm On Oct 05, 2016
SycophanticGoat:

Hehehehe! I know the lady in that pic is you... tongue cool

Hmmm.. What about women who turn out bad mothers (I mean women that threat their children like trash, simply because of one thing or the other-from experience tho), can lack of intimacy also result to that?

Lol, yes of course.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by HENRY940: 6:18pm On Oct 05, 2016
gabicon:
I think the reason for mother in-law n wife debacle is that men could be such babies and they sometimes make foolish decisions, a mother is always there to curtail these excesses but she doesn't trust that a young wife will do same. A mother is the centre of her son's world and she is afraid of being thrown out but they loose the insight that the world is big enough for two. Life has taught me that the more you let go the more control you can have.

My mum will not curtail any xcess, a relationship is for two, my papa xcesses neva dey xhausted to curtail. Guys should give mums a body language that tho they respect their mum, their relationship with wifey does not need d 3rd party. I think their advice will be asked for when needed.There are some mistakes some mistakes adults should be allowed to make, if they are anxious, mums should get in their closets and pray for us.....ur welcome.
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Alegirl: 6:20pm On Oct 05, 2016
Is not about mother in-law,is about woman been able to manage her fellow woman.

many ladies have the mind set that mother in-laws are bad so you hear say words like I don't want a mother in-law,I don't disturbance she most call before coming to my house may while they own mother and people will not call before coming.As a woman which of us will pray that when her son is getting married that she should be present.

If we can tolerant our own mothers we can do same with mother in-laws and stop preparing for battle where there is non
Re: Why Are Nigerian Mother In-laws Too Mean Towards Their Daughter In-laws?. by Menzy86(m): 6:22pm On Oct 05, 2016
Wit d quality of DIL's these days contaminated by a warped sense of gender equality, why won't MIL's b in constant battle wit them? E.g MOST 9ja babes these days think it is 'modern' or 'acceptable' not to know how to cook. Or to rule out d possibility of preparing a particular dish even if its ur husband's favourite and expect it to be ok by everyone.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

I Think My Marriage Is In Trouble Please Help! / Woman Exposes Friend Who Sent Nude Photos To Her Husband / Nigerian Lady Gets A Job After Asking Her Late Sister For Help In A Dream

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50