Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 8:06pm On Oct 05, 2023 |
Tricia14: Hi, are there any legal means for a 57yr old retired woman with 3 children below 10yrs, relocate and work in Canada without writing IELTS? Thanks for the info. Tbh, I don’t think so |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 7:42pm On Jul 01, 2023 |
Happy Canada Day 🇨🇦 |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 3:01am On Mar 11, 2023 |
Has anyone travelled to Nigeria with an expired passport in recent times? What was your experience? |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 1:10pm On Sep 28, 2020 |
Gifty28: Gifty28(f): 3:17pm Good afternoon everyone, for single moms who have gone through this process or for people who have ideas about this. (1) A friend wants to try this express entry process but she Just gave birth recently and isn’t with the baby’s father( she’s single not married) she wants to know how to go about it? She hasn’t collected her baby’s birth certificate yet and she wants to know if putting her surname on the certificate won’t have any issue with the immigration process concerning/asking about her baby’s dad?? (2) Will they ask for a consent letter from the child dad regardless of who’s surname is on the certificate? The guy isn’t in her life so she doesn’t want to even tell him anything about it, since it’s just her and her baby. Pls so many responses will be appreciated � I don’t think they care whose last name the kid has tbh. A friend went through this process. She showed them court documents that she had sole custody of the kid but they still asked for the dads consent. In her case tho the kid had the dads last name but I don’t think it would have made any difference otherwise. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 2:12am On May 13, 2020 |
Narkoya: Pls does any one have any advice for an oil rig worker with a masters degree in chemical engineering looking to switch careers to something more promising? Open to all ideas pls IT could be promising if you like tech |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 6:07pm On Jan 28, 2020 |
lifeevents: Please what is ETF, GICs etc A GIC (guaranteed investment certificate) is a safe and secure investment with very little risk. You don’t have to worry about losing your money because it is guaranteed. A GIC works like a savings account in that you deposit money into it and earn interest on that money. The difference is that you need to leave your money in a GIC account for a specified period of time. If you take it out early, you may have to pay a penalty – depending on the type of GIC you own. When you buy a GIC, you are agreeing to lend the bank or financial institution your money for a specified number of months or for up to 5 years. In exchange, your money will earn interest. The longer the term, the more interest you earn. At the end of the term, you get the entire amount you deposited plus the interest. An ETF (Exchange-Traded Fund) is a type of investment product that owns and manages an underlying basket of assets (stocks, bonds, commodities, derivatives, etc.) and divides the ownership of those assets into individual shares. VFVF.TO is an ETF that holds 500 large-cap US companies in the US. One might be better of buying this ETF than buying single stocks of Microsoft or Apple. This is because VFV holds both stocks and 498 more (Amazon, Facebook .....) which makes your portfolio more diverse. I don’t know if any of this make sense but if you want to know more you’d have to read. P.S. VFV.TO is the stock symbol for the Vanguard S&P 500 Index ETF on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX). |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 5:09pm On Jan 28, 2020 |
Seeing lots of career fair ads. Just wondering if anyone has gotten a job from one of them. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 11:14pm On Jan 27, 2020 |
inafix2019: Good day! Please for a family of 4 with no family or "close" friends in Canada, whose initial main focus is "settling down" (basically to start working in entry level positions and not deplete POF, then later face regulated professions licensing), kindly assist to offer advise on the best landing city. Presently considering Manitoba, Edmonton and Calgary, based on my online research on the cost of living. Please kindly advise and help us make a final informed decision. Thanks. I don’t know much about Manitoba. Cost of living in Edmonton is lower than Calgary. I also think you’re likely to get a job in Edmonton faster than in Calgary. This is based on family and friends that have landed in both cities. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 11:01pm On Jan 27, 2020*. Modified: 5:18pm On Jan 28, 2020 |
Echinedu1: Both long and short terms then l can decide what best For short term you can look at GICs. For long term investments you can look at buying ETFs. If you want to be a DIY investor, you can start by reading The Value of Simple (2nd Ed) by John Robertson. It’s not difficult handle your investments yourself. There are other options like robo advisors (e.g Wealthsimple and Nest Wealth) which make things easier but note that you pay more. Please don’t walk into a bank and tell them you want to invest, they’ll most likely sell their product to you (high fees). Do you plan on making any major purchases in the near future e.g down payment for a house. If you are, you can also save that money in a HISA like EQ bank, their interest rate is 2.45% currently or buy GICs. There’s no harm in investing the money you plan to use as a down payment in ETFs but there’s also no guarantee that the market won’t be down when you’re ready to pull your cash. I hope this makes sense a little. P.S. Millionaire Teacher 2nd Ed by Andrew Hallam is also a great read. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 9:51pm On Jan 26, 2020 |
Echinedu1: i need advice my people You need to me more specific. Long term or short term. If it’s long term, how much room do you have in your TFSA and RRSP? But I think first and foremost the cash should be in a HISA. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 7:59pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
PLSHELEP: My fellow future Canadians, una well done.
So i recently got PPR and I am trying to obtain as much as possible from this country but departure. I've been thinking, is the CIPM diploma of any relevance whatsoever in Canada (WES evaluated obviously).
I am a HR personnel with more than 4 years of experience but have both my degrees in Engineering. You know the story: life, lemons, lemonade.
Is CIPM relevant in Canada? My sister has CIPM and she’s also into HR. Sadly, it was never of use to her. She’s gunning for CPHR tho. But you never know it can come in handy for you. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 12:52am On Jan 05, 2020*. Modified: 4:40am On Jan 13, 2020 |
stonecoldcafe: This is me right here; I need epp. I know i'm doing something off by just saving but my ''Art'' brain cant seem to really understand this investment thing.  Ejo which podcast. I don watch Youtube video tire You can start by reading Millionaire Teacher 2nd ed by Andrew Hallam. As for blogs and podcasts you can check out Build Wealth Canada and Canadian Couch Potato. Hope this helps. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 2:36pm On Jan 01, 2020 |
cochtrane: You should look into TFSA with Questrade. That way you can put your money in index funds like Vanguard. I second this, Questrade is one of the few brokerage accounts that don’t charge you for buying funds, most charge about 10 bucks. My people please don’t just use your TFSAs as a savings account. Invest invest invest!!! If you’re not sure how to, read books, listen to podcasts.... |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 6:06pm On Dec 27, 2019 |
irocalot042: Hi guys, any Health and Safety Professionals here? Would appreciate some pointers in getting certifications and related jobs. Hi! My SO is an HSE professional. So there’s CRSP you can check it out. Unfortunately they said my SO’s experience was more technical and advised CRST instead. For jobs SO just kept on applying till one clicked. Luckily they dint care about CRSP or any other licences. If you need any more info, you can holla. Best of luck. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by A14: 3:49pm On Jun 25, 2019 |
If you really want to be close to Bow Valley, living downtown would be great. The trains that run downtown are free. In terms of safety, I've been at downtown west end for almost two years and I've not had any issues. For cost, you can get a 2bed for $1200-$1400, depends on how many baths. If you're looking for a 3bed looking outside downtown may be a great idea cos I think it's cheaper. With regards to traffic, using the train would be your best option wherever you decide to live because parking downtown is expensive plus traffic during rush hour. Use rentfaster.ca to check out apartments then you can use Google map to check the proximity to bow valley and how to get there. Hope this helps lennyk: Hi all,
I really love all the good stories I’m reading here, very encouraging!
Please I have an urgent question, I’m moving to Calgary in August and will be schooling at Bow Valley College, downtown SE.
Please which is the best area to rent apartment close to my school, in terms safety, cost and traffic for my family and I |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by A14: 2:18pm On May 03, 2018 |
Thank you so so much Sandydav: Here is the requirements for CIPM transcript as received from them |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by A14: 9:02pm On May 02, 2018 |
Abeg can you shed more light on this. WES says they need a transcript for it to be evaluated and CIPM says they don't have transcripts. Please how was it done? Thanks MummyJaygirls: For those of u looking for extra points and have CIPM cert, send it to WES, it’s evaluated as 3yrs. ACT FAST!!! |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by A14: 7:25am On Dec 07, 2017 |
arizona20: Good Morning All.
May we all have a great day.
Please assist me with this enquiry.
My document had been sent to my School for Verification.
However, My School is saying I shall pay N20, 000 to verify both Certificate and transcript.
Please, Does the certificate need to also be verified or only transcript.
Kindly help.
Thank you In my case both were verified |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 3:56pm On Nov 21, 2017 |
miliicarter: Hi House,
We also received an ADR requesting that we provide Height, eye colour, passport data page, bank statement and payslips.
1) My proof of fund was provided by a Gift deed (49%) and by my husband (51%). Husband provided source of the fund employment letter, statement and letter explaning the funds. Also the fund was in form of a 1 year treasury bill. The fund was 3 months away from maturity when we applied.
2) I only claimed points for 1 year work experience which was in HR. Although I worked in a Bank and currently work in a construction firm, I didn't put this in my work history. I only specified it in my personal history. As such no point was awarded for it.
3) However, CIC has asked me to provide reference letters for my bank job and current employment. Also I've been asked to provide the payslip and corresponding bank deposit for the job i claimed point for and my current job.
4) I have my payslips however for the bank statement for one of my jobs is not available. After i joined the bank, the bank opened accounts for us as staff and closed my former account. I was in the bank branch today and asked to print my statement. I was told that the statement cannot be printed as the account was closed. However, I've sent a mail to the bank to document the situation. In the event the bank cannot provide me with the statement, I intend to attach the email alerts I got for the times the salary was paid into my account, my mail to the bank and the response received from the bank and an explanation saying that the bank could not provide me with statement.
5) I was asked to provide reference letter from the bank. I've called the HR at the bank and was asked to send a email. I've sent the mail and given the bank's not so stellar record of being bureaucratic, In the event they can't provide the refernence, I've decided to submit my employment , confirmation letter and complementary cards and correspondence with the bank as regards my reference letter.
6) On myCIC portal, there is no placeholder to upload the documents. I've sent a mail to the London office and copied ottawa and also raised a technical issue report on the portal.
I'd like to know if there's anyother thing I can add or am missing at the moment. Thank you so much. London and their annoying ADRs arrrghh.... Everything looks on point to me. I believe once you submit you'll get your PPR. Congrats in advance |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 5:43am On Nov 19, 2017 |
cochtrane: Abeg make una sorry for the delay o. Na work & movement.
My timeline
23-Aug ITA 23-Oct AOR 23-Oct NA1 06-Nov ADR for Travel History & Background Check 07-Nov ADR submitted 07-Nov IP1 12-Nov Medicals Passed 14-Nov NA2 16-Nov IP2 17-Nov PPR
Thing now is, I've traveled and didn't make arrangements for this 15-day deadline. I'll have to find a way to extend this. Congrats man, you've been a pillar here |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 6:52am On Nov 17, 2017 |
Guitarlife: Help ! I know the important thing is that your job responsibilities match the NOC. If you've done you're research well and you're sure it's NOC 2241, you're good to go. All the best |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 6:27am On Nov 17, 2017*. Modified: 6:59am On Nov 17, 2017 |
toyogirl: Congrats! Zarasmomma  From their timelines you shall know them hehehe. Congrats @Ajujuju2. Toyogirl how far, have you gotten yours now? Cannymode any update? |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 9:25pm On Nov 14, 2017 |
bigfido: Hi, please for self employed, is it personal tax or company tax they request for? Not sure, but I think it was company. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 11:25am On Nov 12, 2017 |
Ekinado: congrats!! was it PNP? Nah, FSW |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 11:20am On Nov 12, 2017 |
Late post Thanks guys for all the plenty congratulations lol.
Plenty has been said about London VO let me share what I know it may help someone.
First of all if you've had a visa refusal you MAY most likely end up in London. Those guys are not like Ottawa, they scrutinize most applications. That being said you MAY want to be proactive and submit things like your payslips and employment letter (of course your reference letter is a must).
You won't be rejected cos you dint submit them. If they need any, they'll ask you for it, the thing is it MAY delay your application by some days.
If you don't have your payslips I'll advice you write an LOE when you're submitting your application so they don't bother asking you for it.
I was asked to submit proof of funds again so please keep the 'dough' intact, with London VO anything is possible.
If you're self employed get your tax documents ready cos they'll most likely ask for it, some that are not self employed were asked for this also. Someone (self employed) was asked to show example of what his company had done (I have no idea what they wanted).
Well this seems to be the trend for now. It may change soon, you never know.
And please if you're a lazy reader like me use the search bar, it would help you a lot. Any issue you're having I can bet more than 10 people here have had it and have gotten solutions from our seniors.
All the best |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 1:23am On Nov 11, 2017 |
Guys it was a long wait but it finally came. AOR: 21 April MP: 20 June IP1: 20 June NA: 21 June FTD: 03 August IP2: 07 Nov ADR: 07 Nov PPR: 10 Nov FSW
Thanks everyone for your contribution and thank you vcole, it was your ITA post last year October that gave me the ginger to start this process. To those who want to start and are having financial difficulties, I pray God provides for y'all. And to my London gang still waiting, just be patient it'll come. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 9:57am On Nov 03, 2017 |
CannyMode: I have.... It will all end in thanksgiving by His special grace Yes o it will |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 9:54am On Nov 03, 2017 |
Where is beem4cupid? Has she/he gotten PPR ?
Congrats esosa4real. It was such a long wait, can't imagine how you're feeling atm |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 9:21am On Nov 03, 2017 |
LordSebastian: Hello.
Been a while. So I had to come back here to do this. This was where it all started.
PPR finally landed.
Timeline is as below:
ITA: March 1 AOR; May 9 NA: June 28 Transferred to London VO: Aug 9 Informed CIC of marriage: Sep 5 ADR for Spouse: Sep 6 Added Spouse to application:Sep 14 IP2: Sep 29 ADR for updated POF: Oct 25 Submitted ADR: Oct 26 PPR: Nov 1 God bless you all. Cheers. Wow congrats. Just thought about you some days ago. Happy for you man. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 5:14pm On Nov 02, 2017 |
CannyMode: Wow! 3 days off the forum and 20 pages gone. A huge congratulations to all PPR recipients. 189 days post AOR and still marking attendance  London be dulling us. Have you emailed them though? |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 7:39pm On Oct 29, 2017 |
topsy5: I have not changed my maiden name in the bank, how dies this affect me when I get a statement for POF Not sure, but I think a letter of explanation should suffice. I personally won't risk it though. Why don't you just go ahead and change your account name. It should reflect in 5 working days max, easy-peasy. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 2 by A14: 7:29pm On Oct 29, 2017 |
HighBK: 1. No, you need PoF after ITA, not when creating a profile 2. Yes, most debit cards will work. I used FBN card.
How come you applied for your transcripts before WES ECA application? You need WES reference number for the transcripts. Also WES expects your school to send the transcripts to them directly. Don't know if this is what he did, but you can get your WES reference no without paying by selecting the Western Union option of payment, you get the reference number then pay whenever with a debit/credit card. |