Stats: 3,331,125 members, 8,448,809 topics. Date: Monday, 20 July 2026 at 08:55 PM

Adesbaba's Posts

Nairaland ForumAdesbaba's ProfileAdesbaba's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)

TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by adesbaba: 4:48am On May 15, 2025
Looking for a nice basement of 1 bedroom apartment (max 1250cad),,and if I get 2 bedroom ,no wahala...2 adult and an infant.

No I don't drive yet cos I am yet to take the driving test,once accomodation is sorted,will do that.

The NE part seems to have lot of Punjabis indians and co.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by adesbaba: 12:31am On May 14, 2025
Hello all,

Please which part of Calgary feels okay to stay and with at least a sprinkle of naija or multicultural persons.

Went to check an apartment at Northeast today and everyone was just staring at me(95%) of the person's I saw were indians.

PS:if you have an agent ,I don't mind.
Wifey is starting a program at UCalgary

TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by adesbaba: 5:16pm On Mar 30, 2025
NuCypher:
To be honest with you, banking operations for 7 years is not premium experience to bring to Canada. Banking is very saturated here and because it operates quite differently (in some ways) from what obtains in Nigeria, many Canadian banks will hesitate to bring you in at the same level as you are in Nigeria. That's not to mention the need for Canadian experience that could sometimes be a hinderance. However, that shouldn't deter you. I'll recommend a few things to you.

Start looking at additional transferable skills you could layer on top of or adjacent to your banking experience. For example, say you also did project management while you were at the bank, try to sell this as a different skill by (1) trying to write PMP if you can, and (2) preparing a different resume that sells you as a project manager (and not a banking advisor, for example). If you have other transferable skills, try to build resumes in those directions and claim your normal years of experience doing this. Things that I can imagine you can spin out of working in a bank could be project management, business intelligence, business development, customer success, customer service, etc. You are the one who knows better, in any case. But these could help increase the breadth of organizations you can apply to outside of banking institutions. I remember once successfully advising a process engineer to spin out into data analysis because he did work with a lot of data as a process engineer, except he had to write a few Microsoft data certifications to layer on top of that experience and get up to speed quickly with some well-known data analysis tools like PowerBI.

Second thing is to start building your network. LinkedIn is a very good place to start. So are arrival services, which are almost all free. Try to register for one of these arrival services in Canada once you land and go take many of their programs, and try to build your networks from there. If possible, reach out on LinkedIn to people working in your desired field and look into going to the same networking events they are going to, so that when you are there you can say stuff like "Oh, I actually follow you on LinkedIn. I like what you discussed about ......It's quite related to what I did back in my previous organization where I was employed as......I've been looking for new opportunities in this area since I came to Canada some few months ago so that I can expand my skills...." Anything along those lines.

Third thing is to start furiously applying for jobs RIGHT now. Nothing should be stopping you from throwing as many resumes out there as you can, making sure to tailor each according to the job you want. You don't have to expect anything, but it doesn't hurt to try. My recommendation here is to keep your expectation low, as you continue to do the two above. If you find that there is need for you to acquire a few certifications here and there to boost your chances, this is when you start working on them. For example, would you be shooting for project management jobs while leveraging your banking experience, then start prepping to write PMP, etc. THis is the part where you are building yourself, while not waiting for a job first.

Finally, in addition to all above, you want to prepare for the worst case. What's the worst case? That all these efforts don't pay off for several months. In that case, what's your plan? Do you want to do Uber on the side? Ubereats? Skip? Or you want to shoot for a quick Amazon warehouse job? Or customer service from home? Something in retail? Or you are quite handy and don't mind becoming a blue collar? If you are open to any of such contingencies, this is the time to start working towards them. For example, if you think you are going to do Uber, then go tidy up your Nigerian driver's licence and learn how you can quickly transition to start driving in Canada. Would you need to start studying the driver's handbook for the exam? Time to start now. Just plan, plan, plan. If you would love to get into welding because it's something you've always thought about, time to visit a welder in Nigeria and start learning the basics, etc.

I have always maintained that all that ecstasy or excitement from getting Canadian PR, all that excitement that follows "He has finally done it!", all that jumping up and screams of excitement that is so palpable all over the Canadian express entry thread once folks get their visa; all that excitement is unwarranted and doesn't prepare you for what to expect in Canada. Canada is no heaven. In fact, anyone could be easily worse off once they get here. It doesn't get any easier. If anything, it could get crazy mental. What matters is to start preparing once you are sure you are leaving the country. There is a lot of preparations to do and only those who prepare win in the end!
Thank you so much for this,I am grateful.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by adesbaba: 1:07pm On Mar 16, 2025
Happy Sunday all,

Please I should be heading to Calgary on Spouse open work permit in a month or 2 as my visa has been approved,I will like to ask if there are settlement programs I am eligible/can join in Calgary to assist with Jobs e.g ACCESS employment that is in Ontario??

PS:Worked in banking operations (branch) for 7 years??
TravelRe: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by adesbaba: 7:25am On Jan 16, 2025
Hello all,

Please for someone that has SOWP and spouse has study permit.If they both travel 2 months before school resume,can the person on SOWP start working immediately?
TravelRe: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by adesbaba: 3:09pm On Dec 04, 2024
Kyrx:
Yes, this depends solely on the capturing center. Some have lesser population to deal with, hence faster production.
Thank you ,

Please do you know of any lagos center with lower population
TravelRe: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by adesbaba: 5:51pm On Dec 02, 2024
Good evening everyone.

Please is it possible to get passport within 3 weeks as it's for a new born ,to urgently apply for visa??

Thank you
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by adesbaba: 8:28pm On Aug 03, 2023
Hello family,

My brother got his student visa PPR mail on 27th July...He used an agent....Now he is asking the agent to fill the link for him to be able to submit his passport to be stamped but the agent has not been responding.

Can he use a new email different from the one he used to apply for his visa, to fill the form for passport submission
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 9 by adesbaba: 10:52pm On Jul 22, 2023
[quote author=oladeyle post=124594191]No, u won't.

Thanks...but what do I do now as I already got a date cos I sent a mail for appointment to them and I was given a date
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 9 by adesbaba: 10:10pm On Jul 22, 2023
Hello,

Who has gone for TB test with expired passport ..as I plan going to IOM for test next week with my expired passport

Will I be allowed to in.

Thanksss
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 10:33pm On Jul 03, 2023
Hello All,

Please is University of Law a cool school,

Is it a school one can get 2 years PG permit after msc.

Thanks alot as I await your review...or anyone here that has schooled there?
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 2:16pm On Jun 20, 2023
adesbaba:
@’duchess and all,please ....I want to seek for little clarification.

1)Can one book TB appointment with an expired passport,say expired in March as the person will be getting renewed passport around July 18?

2) for someone whose passport will be out say August 5 ,can the person still book TB test after that August 5 to travel as dependent with M.A for September intake.

3).Let's say M.A applies for visa 20th august with POF for both of them,,
Can the dependent apply say a week after,like 28th Aug, with same POF bank statement or will it be seen as fund recycling.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 2:13pm On Jun 20, 2023
[quote author=adesbaba post=123911233][/quote]
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 5:57am On Jun 20, 2023
adesbaba:

1)Can one book TB appointment with an expired passport,say expired in March as the person will be getting renewed passport around July 18?

2) for someone whose passport will be out say August 5 ,can the person still book TB test after that August 5 to travel as dependent with M.A for September intake.

Can the dependent apply say a week after,like 28th Aug, with same POF bank statement or will it be seen as fund recycling.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 11:15pm On Jun 19, 2023

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 8:52am On Jun 17, 2023
Hello,

Please someone posted about travelling with a partner some days back (not yet married) and they got visas.Pls, who has the link to the page been unable to get that page again

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 6:13am On Jun 07, 2023
olatunji1989:
Yes ma sister, one HENCH EDUCATION called and sent me email on behalf of the school asking me to send email to one of the school admission officer and put them in copy of which I did, and since then they have gone into the blue. Have not have heard from either of them

Oh okay.... Let's see how it goes.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 4:04pm On Jun 06, 2023
olatunji1989:
Good morning, Pls how did u get admission to that university. Did they refer u back to their office in Nigeria.
I am still waiting for admission letter.....were you refered to their Nigeria office after you had applied?
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 6:14am On Jun 06, 2023
adesbaba:
Good evening all,

Please anyone with idea of how York St John University is ...

how is the city in terms of getting student jobs and accomodation

Is the city okay for newly wedded coupled without child yet?

Thanks alot
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 9:45pm On Jun 05, 2023
Good evening all,

Please anyone with idea of how York St John University is ...

how is the city in terms of getting student jobs and accomodation

Is the city okay for newly wedded coupled without child yet?

Thanks alot
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by adesbaba: 8:42pm On May 29, 2023
Good evening family...

Although I have made research but then still want to get some info here..

Can you kindly help with schools with good installment plan still taking admission for 2023 Sept.

Thanksssssssss
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by adesbaba: 2:14am On Mar 05, 2023
suleyoung:
Hello everyone,

I got an offer for a Ms in Global Affairs with full tuition scholarship plus stipends at the University of Notre Dame.

Can i go along with my spouse? We intend to get married in few months.

Also, how much should we budget to show as proof of funds as a dependent applying for F2 Visa?

Lastly, is it advisable for me to go first then she joins in few months time?

Sorry for my questions, I am a novice in this stuff and really want to avoid mistakes.

God bless you all
Congratulations on your admission and funding ..
Pls,what documents did you submit to get funding or what did you do ..

Thanks alot
TravelRe: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by adesbaba: 11:34pm On Jan 25, 2023
adesbaba:
Good morning fam,

1)Please for a 17 year old that wants to process his international passport ,please what are the requirements ,trying to read online but not straightforward...

2) I read somewhere that he has to present his father's or mother's own too but what if the parent don't have international passport ,can he use his elder brother that bears same surname and has a valid international passport or what does he need to get his passport being 17 yrs old

Please,someone assist .Thanks alot
TravelRe: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by adesbaba: 10:49am On Jan 25, 2023
Good morning fam,

1)Please for a 17 year old that wants to process his international passport ,please what are the requirements ,trying to read online but not straightforward...

2) I read somewhere that he has to present his father's or mother's own too but what if the parent don't have international passport ,can he use his elder brother that bears same surname and has a valid international passport.

Car TalkRe: Car For First Buyer by adesbaba(op): 3:54pm On Oct 03, 2022
Dozieson:
At what price? The car is a good car but not too rugged. Fuel economy na baba

Since it is below 2007, the engine and gear cost will be relatively cheap

Inspect the car if it is good, then go for it
1.3m.... yes ,it's below 2007....thank you so much for the feedback
Car TalkRe: Car For First Buyer by adesbaba(op): 1:02pm On Oct 03, 2022
Dozieson:
But your budget won't get them
I have someone who bought Hyundai Elantra toks last year Jan from USA but going to UK now and wants to sell off at a give away price...he is like a brother to me....2006 hyundai
Car TalkRe: Car For First Buyer by adesbaba(op): 2:38pm On Oct 01, 2022
Dozieson:
What is on your mind? Year of manufacture?

Three simple popular car to maintain by most mechanic with reasonable fuel economy

1. Civic
2. Corolla
3. Accord
4. Camry

From year 2003-2007

I was thinking of say 2010 to 2012 year..atleast I feel they will have more recent features compared with 2003 model
Car TalkRe: The Official Car Comparison/Recommendation Thread by adesbaba: 8:37am On Oct 01, 2022
Please for one trying to get a car for the first time with a budget of 2m to 2.5m max..

What kind of car will you advise...neat, and fuel consumption is average.
Car TalkCar For First Buyer by adesbaba(op): 8:35am On Oct 01, 2022
Please for one trying to get a car for the first time with a budget of 2m to 2.5m max..

What kind of car will you advise...neat, and fuel consumption is average.

Thanks fam

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)