Stats: 3,331,250 members, 8,449,408 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 July 2026 at 06:05 PM

Anonymousmum's Posts

Nairaland ForumAnonymousmum's ProfileAnonymousmum's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 15 pages)

TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 1:29am On Jan 06, 2016
Bisoye82:
But what all these banks are doing is wrong,charging customers for transactions at black market rate and claiming it's not them that it's the merchant (Visacard or Mastercard owners) while they are forming third party.
I believe this is happening only in Nigeria and CBN seems not to have any policy on it or come up with one.
I believe some high level settlement(corruption) is involved because CBN seems to have policies for everything except this craziness.
So pissed right now because I can't take advantage of the year end sales going on because by the time you do the exchange rate maths you wanna slap somebody.
I absolutely agree. The banks are taking advantage of the disorderliness from CBN to rip us off. Even black market is 265 or so, GTB charged me 270 yesterday. It's a huge scam and CBN is pussyfooting because they have bigger issues on their hands re economy in free fall.

The truth is that the banks are still accessing CBN at inter bank rates so I have no clue why they are charging the end users such a huge amount.

Imagine, earlier this year I made a USD transaction (charged at 270), transaction failed, when my cash was reversed, I was given 199. There is simply NO justification for such a spread. If they had given me 260, or even 250 I would not be complaining.

I dey go sleep jor, I cannot "tight" Nigeria's problems to my chest angry
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum:
Finally bought PTA from Stanbic head office today...

Kind of a man-know-man arrangement but I think with the mail they sent today they are definitely selling now.

I had applied over a week ago, and was calling everyday to check..also you don't need to have an account with them to buy (though I do)

Vacay loading yayy!
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 2:58pm On Jan 04, 2016
happy new year all!

Still on the search for PTA...any new leads? Thanks...
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 8:55pm On Dec 26, 2015
dyout:
Sierra Providence East campus El paso. One day stay for VD. Dr Yolanda .L
good stuff thanks.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 3:04pm On Dec 26, 2015
dyout:
Thank you for all the likes and comments. The Lord shall see everyone that have embark in this journey through, couple with this dollar palava.
Anyway our breakdown are as follows:

Hospital with Epidural $2,700
Doc $2070
Rem/Lab work $340
Paed $200
Circumcision $200

Note this Bills are for VD.

Waiting to receive the Birth certificate in my address and start processing baby's document
Hi congratulations again. What hospital and doc is this. Seems like a nice deal. Also how many days in the hospital.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 10:29pm On Dec 23, 2015
GUYS!

Can we ignore this mother-whatever guy? he is a troll and is derailing the thread.

Me I am looking for PTA for personal vacation and all these posts are distracting me.

@Ijay Mama - I think this first bank thing is the way o. I have one coded FBN near my house. Pray tell - can I use savings account for PTA?

I am willing to spread mat in front of the bank by 6am in order to be first customer come Dec 29th...
EducationRe: PLEASE ADVISE: I Want To Sue My School by anonymousmum: 7:37am On Dec 23, 2015
confidant:
Revamping our educational system. It's a must for this generation. Appalling sentence construction.. which way naija.
Pathetic, really. Very poor grammar, using "am" for "I'm", etc etc.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 7:31am On Dec 23, 2015
frendly99:
Its time to share e'en though the story is yet to be sweet.

I made up my mind long before now to share my interview transcript whether gud or gud smiley
I had my interview in Abuja.... I applied for b2 medical visa since i'm actually going for medical purpose.

Lemme give a brief history.....
Got married 2012. Became preggy in 2013 and baby died in utero at 38wks. Another preg came, baby didnt make it at 32wks. Is someone wondering where d doctors are when all dis happened? 'trust me u dont wanna know. Some wld be in jail by now in a sane country. Now, dnt wonder how i cope with d losses, i think some angels were deployed from above to kip me. Now another preg is here and i cant afford a third still birth. Fast forward to interview

Transcript goes thus:
Me: Gd afternoon ma'am
VO: Gd afternun with a smile.... So why are u going to Texas
Me: (Assumed she saw medical on my visa type) To have my baby
VO: where do you work
Me: I work for the govt
VO: what do u do there
Me: I explained my roles
VO : How much do you earn
Me: *grabbed my payslip to confirm the kobo kobo dt usually follow d amt*
VO: Vo said no, just tell me without checking
Me: I told her the amount without adding d kobos.
VO: what does ur husband do?
Me: He's a bizness man, runs a printing press
VO: how much does he earn?
Me: (hubby doesn't earn salary so didnt know what to say but 250k jumped in my mouth and i spilled it)
VO: Sorry your application is not successful at dis time u may reapply.

I know i goofed but there has to be a way my people, what do I do?
I'm so worried sick about my health and dt of this baby.
So sorry about the loss of earler pregnancies...

First bolded suggest you were not prepared. You may have appeared to the VO as someone who brought fake documents (that was packaged by an agent), by looking at the payslip, VO will not know you are checking the kobo amount (which is generally irrelevant, by the way).

Second bolded - also lack of preparation. This is a pretty standard question, and a clear answer could have been that "his earnings are seasonal, but an average of blah blah monthly over the past 6 months".

Would suggest you re apply asap. Cheers.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 3:25pm On Dec 21, 2015
firsttymum:
it may not b myopic at all o... E get some people wey this dollar no dey touch....
Which is my point exactly, how do we know that dollar na problem for am.

Meanwhile if this is an decision that can possibly help you out of a very long arduous visa renewal, what is exchange rate?

Last last buy the cheapest ticket available, spend 5 days and come back.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 8:51am On Dec 21, 2015
Austine2020:
For this Dollar wahala, u are telling her to Travel and come back.I prefer the 2nd one.
Myopic view.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 7:10pm On Dec 20, 2015
firsttymum:
no one is angry with u.
So
1. It's either u travel to the US and come back
2. You take d risk and travel and pray fervently that u pass tru the poe smoothly.
But note renewing ur visa will b a big deal because of this lie.
3. You save your self the risk of deportation and give birth to d baby here.
4. Write to the embassy explain yourself and apologize for the lie.
My advice would be a variant of no 1 above -

Immediately travel to the US - i.e. use the visa and come back. So you would have at least "fulfilled all righteousness" in the eye of POE.

Come back, then go back better prepared. This still is not fail proof, but can be explained somewhat, how you changed your mind blah blah.

Caveat - I am in no way in support of the deed, just thinking of the best way out of a potentially grave situation.

Of course, your renewal is still dicey, but at least you should be in a better position.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 10:03am On Dec 19, 2015
LadyGuinivere:
Honey bunch. In my humble opinion the problem transcends the passport. Why? Your interviews are transcribed and stored which is why they keep on referring to it.Soo new passport or not, its on the system. U have been refused 3 times abi? With different combo of alone and with oga?
I believe u should tackle those visas. Uk is pretty easy to get if u fulfill all righteousness.
Once u scale that hurdle believe me ul get the visa. US are just not ready to 'disvirgin' your passport. The timeline may not work for u. If this particular baby is born in Naija that's not the worst thing. The rest will have the opportunity. Its better to go back to the drawing board. Cos somebody prolly made a note that's working against u. So take urtime and show them u can be trusted. Get a uk visa. Visit. Return. And reapply. That was what worked for me.
Sorry if this isn't the advice u were seeking for
I cannot like this comment enough.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 4:31pm On Dec 07, 2015
firsttymum:
For those who have to pump milk, did u pump on the plane? if yes how did u do it.
I pumped wella. At least 2ce on each leg of my flight. I set up my pump, and threw on a scarf to cover myself.

If you can, make a special request for plenty of water (at least 300mls for every hour you will be in the air, I am told) on the flight to ensure your flow, as combination of bfeeding and flying can leave you dehydrated.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 9:17pm On Dec 03, 2015
ackoxy:
Hello wonderful mommies with a mission to birth in the USA. So I have been following this thread from the first part, and I must admit I skipped some pages..so I have the intention to birth my second baby in the US.
My question is has anyone used delux childbirth or heritage childbirth services in lagos?
What are your reviews on them?
Is there any other good childbirth service in Abuja?
My other question is, in 2005/06 I applied for a vacation visa and the age in that passport was reduced as advised by my sister. However I was denied the visa as there wasn't enough financial backing and I was even a student back then.
Fast forward to 2010. I got a new passport with my current age and have travelled to 2 African countries with Dubai. m married, haven't changed my maiden name In the passport. Will this pose a problem in my visa interview? How do I go about the age thingy, even though it has been more than 10 years?
Lately, for mums that travelled with their toddlers alone, did you use a daycare? What is the cost? How did you cope alone without any help? Thanks in advance.
Hi there,

Like Nasadiva said, your details are already on their system. It will be extremely tough as what you did, unknowingly, was misrepresentation aka lying. They do not take these things lightly at all at all. Miracles happen though...

I would advice you to go ahead to apply, come clean if the VO picks it up. On the other hand, you may declare it outright when filling the form, in the section for other information...Other views are welcome...

Last piece of advice - apply from Abuja.

The question on daycare is a secondary one...you have a bigger issue on your hands...
BusinessRe: Uber Taxi Business Inquiry by anonymousmum: 11:47pm On Nov 29, 2015
subscribing.

I am about to become a partner and and scouting for additional information before I make a final decision..
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 3:37pm On Nov 26, 2015
I see the matter has been killed on earlier pages.

But Mr Austine, so after all we talked the other time, you are still considering this lost passport route? Hian!
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 3:35pm On Nov 26, 2015
Enyinne:
It's better she makes a new passport claiming she lost d old one as that is what I did when my application for Canadian visa was refused .I had to do a fresh passport and tendered it to usa embassy and I got my 2yrs visa .if she dare go to usa embassy with that passport, tendencies is that she will be refused visa.
Extremely incorrect, false and wrong. The intent is to deceive the VO, which is what we preach against on this forum.

So what do you fill in the section of "Have you ever been denied a visa"? Never? no?
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 7:51pm On Nov 25, 2015
Austine2020:
Thanks,for your Advice.
No problem she should be fine.

I was denied common South African visa last year (the idiots were looking for bribe and I did not have a kobo for them).

Even though they did not stamp my passport, I declared it in the section of the ds 160, no issues whatsoever with my Dropbox renewal.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 6:01pm On Nov 25, 2015
Austine2020:
Please my fellow nairalanders, My wife has been a frequent traveller to Germany since 2009 Having up to 5 schengen visas in her old Passport & 1 USA visa issued Last year in her new passport,but have used the US visa two times for Vacation last year & this Year. But to my surprise And Unexpectedly she was rejected a Schengen visa today & stamped her passport. I dont know if it was because she didnt travel to Europe last year. So please my question is, will the rejected stamp affect her US Visa when she will be renewing her US visa via drop box next Year May, when her US visa will Expire? or is it better for her to go for interview incase if they asked question about the rejected Schengen Visa? or can she make a new passport and tell them that she lost her passport and the Visa.
Haba. Bolded is a bit extreme..even if you get a new passport doesn't take away the fact that the denial happened.

There is no implication. If her travel history is as you have said it she no get problem.

That is why I have not gone for Schengen, they ask for one million documents, after gathering everything, at best they give you 3 months, at worst, they deny you.

Quite annoying. The migrant crisis is not helping matters too.
PoliticsRe: Audu Vomited Blood Before His Death - Daily Post by anonymousmum: 10:14pm On Nov 22, 2015
s
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 10:13pm On Nov 22, 2015
toludestin:
Photocopies either coloured or black and white will suffice from my previous experience.
LadyGuinivere:
Any will suffice. The koko is to have something to refer to...any can be verified
just seeing these, thanks for confirming..
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 10:11pm On Nov 22, 2015
IjayMama:
Lol...my preferred Dr who I used last year for my first baby has almost doubled his fee. So I thot i'd just try a new hospital entirely that's cheaper & Oakbend seems to be okay. Will make a final decision after I visit Oakbend tho...fingers crossed
The dokkie you kindly recommended to me...thanks again...

Good stuff...all the best
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 3:29pm On Nov 22, 2015
@IjayMama cry why are you porting cry cry
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 4:52pm On Nov 20, 2015
^^^agree

Biko question for the house, when you want to travel to the US after missionary journey, are you expected to carry the original receipts?

Or are coloured copies enough. Or black and white self. Thanks all
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 4:06pm On Nov 20, 2015
drfdee:
I will share it at the ryt tym...
If this something that can impact others right now, please share. I am particularly interested because you mentioned Sugar Land.

If not, it may have been better not to raise it here yet until you were ready.
BusinessRe: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by anonymousmum: 12:03pm On Nov 20, 2015
I am bumping this thread as I am interested in this and putting together the paperwork.

Don't we have any partners on here? Pray tell
CareerRe: When You Lied On Your Resume About Being Proficient In Excel (pics) by anonymousmum: 8:12pm On Nov 17, 2015
Melahou:
i can challenge you on excel even with my eyes closed

there are things i can do with excel that will amaze you
Plenty Excel gurus here. I am up for a challenge too. #excelexperthere.

I hope y'all can use VBA, first of all
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum:
shanaka29:
Ok, so here's my story. Mum and I flew AF and arrived in Houston around 3 PM a little more than a week ago.
If I can give you people my humble opinion:
1- bring as much cash as you can, you'll avoid a lot of trouble if you can show hard cash
2- know that Dr F is kind of targeted there
3- know that they follow this forum and don't like it at all
Thank God for your testimony o, 8hrs is no joke.

I don't know how else we can say this thing again. CASH IS KING! no apologies for the caps lock and bold

Even if you have to buy black market, just do it. Why risk all this business of bank statement/card etc? What if they say they are not interested in seeing any statement?

Houston POE for that matter?

Once again sorry shanaka for your ordeal, i am not saying this to chastise you but it is better we put it out there...
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 9:11am On Nov 10, 2015
firsttymum:
The Lord that does what no man can do.... How excellent is His name.

I'm a Mother... I give God the praise.
firstymum is now a firstymama kiss kiss
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 7:18pm On Nov 05, 2015
THREAD SUSPENDED FOR 10 MINS FOR EVERYONE TO COOL DOWN

hiannn
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 4:35pm On Nov 04, 2015
Tobermom:
In other matters, i had my baby on the 22nd oct....... God bless you all
Congratulations! You are #teamexpress too...do and carry go cheesy
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by anonymousmum: 10:20pm On Nov 03, 2015
Enyinne:
I hv taking the motrin I bought from walmart as suggested by my Aunty. I did a c-section last week Wednesday. I hv also checked my bp and it's normal. Does anyone experience this ill feeling while breastfeeding. ur tone is harsh, pls calm down as I ask a question that matters to me meanwhile ,one can't basically pick malaria from TX but it can be in the system thru pregnancy unnoticed .
Eyinne sorry about that. I don't thing bbaby84 meant any harm, after all she ended the post with e-hugs.

forget malaria, not every fever is malaria, and if u had it in your system it would have manifested a while ago.

Please call your doctor. Don't know what your package covers but you are still within the post partum period.

It may be that your milk has not come through. I was miserable for the first week after having baby anon because i struggled badly with bfeeding, engorgement, hormones everywhere, cried at every little thing.

Please call your doctor asap. Even if he asks you to come to his/her clinic it should not cost as much as going to the hospital and racking up more bills.

Pele.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 15 pages)