Stats: 3,154,157 members, 7,821,934 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 10:07 PM

Aphrodite007's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Aphrodite007's Profile / Aphrodite007's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 45 pages)

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 11:03pm On Jun 30, 2021
Lexusgs430:

Una no dey ever forget something......... cheesy

I literally said the same thing haha
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 11:01pm On Jun 30, 2021
RalphJean:

So so sorry to hear that, @ Fatima04.

@ Tobexin... Tobexin.... Tobexin... (how many times did I call you?
Come and read something, here.

You people are cruel on these streets haha

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:02pm On Jun 26, 2021
Josh121:

I guess ralphjean have been ban again .

Hahahahaha! grin looks like I’ve lost my crown of “most troublesome Nairalander” to ralphjean grin
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:00pm On Jun 26, 2021
Roomies o, who is in tech and is doing a global talent visa or will do a global talent visa or has done a global talent visa.. I need guidance. kiss

The gov website is frustrating time.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:58pm On Jun 26, 2021
iboboyswag:

Uncle Chukwuka... Daalu!

Lol thanks for not replying to his whole wrote up.. I was worried at how much I would have needed to scroll. But yes his thoughts were great to read.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 9:18am On Jun 26, 2021
BouharryArtikou:
Lot of hidden posts this morning.
Hope we are safe?

Haha I hate that I missed the gist.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 9:13am On Jun 26, 2021
justwise:

You just made my point! They can’t keep it in their trousers.

Same as Nigerian politicians- it’s just more scandalous here and more naturally-accepted in Nigeria.
Travel / Re: Applying For FLR After Your Initial UK Spouse Visa (extension) by Aphrodite007(f): 9:11am On Jun 26, 2021
foxyvisa:

Thanks for the response. I had no idea what the extra months represented.
Concerning spacing my text, can you explain further?

Loads of people don’t have the time to read a clump of information. I skipped your post at first until I read the shorter response to someone’s question and understood what you were asking, then went back to read carefully. If I hadn’t seen that shorter and more spaced form, I wouldn’t have answered your question.

It was just an advice for better writing- nothing serious.
Travel / Re: Applying For FLR After Your Initial UK Spouse Visa (extension) by Aphrodite007(f): 4:21pm On Jun 25, 2021
foxyvisa:
Good day house. Its being quiet in house for weeks. Please I need clarity on my 5 years indefinite leave to remain (ilr) calculation.
I am on the 5 years route. My BRP first issue was 11th December 2017 (11/12/2017). Arrived UK 30/12/2017. I have been given extension and it expires 21/7/2023. With this calculation, (date of first issue to expiry) its 5 years 7 months.
In order to qualify for 5years ilr application, should I wait till my BRP expires 21/7/2023 (which will be 5 years 7 months)? Or can I calculate exactly 5 years from date of issue 11/12/2017, which will be 11/12/2022 and apply?
To summarise my date of first issue to expiry is 5years 7months but I want to apply exactly 5years from first issue (due to school admissions timing). Please I need the house opinions, must I wait till brp expires (28 day rule considered) or simply calculate 5 years from first brp issue. Thanks.

You can apply anytime after your 60 months. The extra months are for any circumstances that keep your abroad for less than 5 months.

Spacing your text makes it easy for people to read.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:42pm On Jun 25, 2021
Lexusgs430:

This answer got 2 parts .....

- Yes
- No

Legally - No

Illegally - Yes, work on the black market, be prepared for slave wages + slave labour and the risk of UKBA officers, arresting you, deporting you and be banned for 10 years........

Hahaha
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 8:44pm On Jun 20, 2021
TheGuyFromHR:

For instance, if you woke me suddenly like that, I'd say "What is it?!!". My Igbo grandmother on my mother's side, originally from the Owerri area but who spent years living in both Enugu, then Ibadan and Lagos and speaks fluent Yoruba and the Anambra dialect as well as English, will probably exclaim "O nini?" in her Owerri dialect. And so forth.

I won’t lie, this is amazing.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:59pm On Jun 20, 2021
Ilekokonit:

So, your wife's best bet is NOT TO RELOCATE OR RESIGN but to first go off sick if the victimization becomes unbearable and then go back and fight it out with them BUT ensuring she sticks to the contents of the organizations employee hand book (which she must devour during her time off sick) but she should NOT relocate to a different city and should NOT resign as the devil you know is better than the angel you don't know. she has no guarantee that a new job in a new city will be any better and at worst she should start looking for a job in the same Norwich but never resign before getting a new job as it is easier to get a job whilst you are still in one and any gaps on your CV WILL be used against you in the UK.

God bless you- I feel like you were speaking directly to me.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:42pm On Jun 20, 2021
KOVIC19COVID20:

You wanted the bank to send you official mail to your Nigeria address?

I would contact the debt collection agency, agree on a repayment plan. And take it from there.

Hahaha
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:35pm On Jun 20, 2021
Ilekokonit:

For some it helps reshape thinking but don't forget that the Brits shot themselves in the foot around 2004/05 when they did what was called Non-Appearance Visa when you could get a Visa without going for a face to face interview at the Embassy and all you needed do then was send your documents though a drop box system.

This scared me.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 1:22pm On Jun 20, 2021
TheGuyFromHR:

Very well said.
A native speaker of a language is simply someone who has spoken that language from earliest childhood as a first language, whether that language can be considered "their" language or not. An Igbo chap who grew up in the north and speaks Hausa fluently is properly classed as a native Hausa speaker, just the same way my cousin's children who were born and brought up in Germany are native German speakers despite the non-paleness of their skin. Put simply, the language one thinks in is always the one they speak natively.

This is interesting!! So native Yoruba speakers think in Yoruba? Amazing! I ignorantly thought everyone thinks in English. Thanks for sharing.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 7:20pm On Jun 10, 2021
dustydee:

Good evening ma. We've been on fire these past few days. grin

It’s not you people that were on fire o- you people were doing the frying. Chai! Even me I started pitying JW grin
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 7:16pm On Jun 10, 2021
Omo!

You guys dragged JW wella! I was just laughing all afternoon! I’m impressed. I promise never to piss y’all off in my life.

Whaaat!

This is the energy that Nigerians in Nigeria need. Very proud of you guys kiss

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:33pm On Jun 10, 2021
justwise:

Maybe you need to go back to read his replies to my posts, this is not even the first or second time he does this, every time we have debate here he will pick on my post with insults. I can pull out posts regarding this.

How come i haven't banned everyone that disagrees with me here? How come he is the only person that got banned? Calling me a criminal for not opening door to TV lience people? I have no class for not reporting that i don't streaming live program?

How many of you here have i banned?

Have i ever banned you before but we have disagreed on many issues.

How many of you here have i ever banned? Even when we don't agree on the same issue?

Don't i have the right to give my opinion on issue without receiving insults from someone?

Don't streaming any live program and i don't want to pay for something i don't use but i still get called a criminal.

Eh I spoke to him personally about this. He went too far with the criminal thing, but the point he was making was that you shouldn’t encourage bad thing.

But you’re right, you’ve never blocked me even with all the problems I cause, so it was not fair that you blocked him. (Please I’m behind o, no vex).
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:29pm On Jun 10, 2021
dustydee:

If he was banned as a result of the TV license thing then that is wrong. My major problem with the mod here is the penchant to banned dissenting voices even if they have not committed an offense. Justwise please unban him. We need as many people as possible to make this thread lively and informative.

Please we are lively enough Dusty.. I only left for a few days and I’m 10 pages behind cry
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:28pm On Jun 10, 2021
LagosismyHome:

If I misread you then thank goodness..... we need less of what I initially thought

Apologises for the gbas gbos ..

Better person. If it’s justwise now, he won’t apologise cry

Last last, I go chop my blocking and you people will miss me grin

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:26pm On Jun 10, 2021
Wait.. I’m still in page 651?? shocked

Una no get work? Wetin be this??! grin I’m basically reading a funny novel! grin
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:22pm On Jun 10, 2021
davide470:
This group and drama.

Oga Justwise, kindly unban Ralphjean. Not sure he warranted that long ban

Wait o he is still banned?? Haba Justwise, This is unfair now. You banned him just because he had a different opinion to yours, how is that right?

He was just pointing out that because you’re a stickler for the rules and you shouldn’t encourage mago mago. Please chill and unblock him abeg.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:19pm On Jun 10, 2021
Mamatukwas:

Commercially, Most carriers won’t carry even 1kg of it. You need a license to do so and very few people have it. In your personal luggage this might not apply (re:guidance)

However, (slides closer and whispers): You must be very careful. There are people close by with ‘teams’ watching our every move. And horror of all horrors their office seems to be 4 levels above M16. Even Scotland Yard is afraid of them (looks around furtively)….. If you’re not careful, they might come with badges and haul your ass in for attempting to smuggle in ‘dry fish’ (shudders). For them, the sin is not much different from bringing in cocaine through the borders. So please, watch your back, lock your doors, make sure you eat all your fish, don’t leave any traces. May heaven safe us (sprinkles holy water).

Good morning.

#radaradarada

grin mama you gats teach me sarcasm
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:17pm On Jun 10, 2021
LagosismyHome:

Abi ooo. Nothing we no go see or hear...... for a second i thought the writer was Priti Patel. To think it just a staff in one of those listed, let me join Mamatukwas in the

Mtschewwww!!!

Hahaha you people should please allow him to do his work now grin

I can imagine he will drop all our handles for his team to catch us grin

But he was playing sha, may una relax
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:14pm On Jun 10, 2021
Divine88:

Am walking away (In Craig David voice)

Hahaha
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 5:32pm On Jun 07, 2021
chrisj2:
babajeje123 should really live up to his name...

Threatening to sue people on an open online forum like this is a bit much... Also, you said you have not been in the country that long, so, the way people interact with each other is something you have to watch and learn from.

He has every right to sue if he feels slighted.

In short I encourage him to sue, because I want to watch him explain to a Brit lawyer how he had an opinion of young ladies outfits, got corrected and told that it can be classed as harrassment, and wants to sue for being bullied and “false” allegations..

I can’t wait to see the lawyers eyes.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 5:24pm On Jun 07, 2021
babajeje123:

Yes air your concern, then learn that what you did, if uncontrolled, can be classed as harrassment (that’s why I said “Indirectly” and said mind your business). Since you’re new to the UK, start learning how the civilised world behaves. I know someone that got into trouble here for something he could do and get away with in Nigeria.

Also mate, “who are you?” Has no place in this country. I don’t need to be “anyone” to sort you out.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 5:19pm On Jun 07, 2021
babajeje123:

I wonder where the allegation is coming from.
And I didn’t say he was. I said indirect harassment.

Women in Nigeria get harassed when they go to the market, due to men like him having such mentality.

Worse still he said it was Nigerias dress code, please how? The yorubas traditionally, wear short skirts, the Fulanis wear half tops, the igbos tie a small wrapper up and down. So which Nigeria? Are we now imposing religious rules on what should be a secular state?
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 5:15pm On Jun 07, 2021
dustydee:

I don't think she was trying to insult you. Our cultural way of dressing was "indecent". Our women wore scanty clothes or none at all until the white people came. Till date some cultures, like the ibos, still wear those types of clothes. I agree that some of the clothes worn by some here are grossly indecent but it's a free world.

There was absolutely no insult there. You guys have scolded me a few times so I read twice. Which is what even pained me. Me telling him to mind his business of observing young ladies enough to form an opinion is advice not insult.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 5:13pm On Jun 07, 2021
justwise:

I'm here..so yeah igbos don't wear short skirt and tube dress, traditionally igbo men especially wear wrapper with short underneath and white singlet , a bit closer to Scottish kilt

Please don’t make me laugh. Everyone knows that Igbo maidens tie their wrappers short and tie a smaller version just enough to cover their breast. Dunno what part of Igbo land you’re from. Even things fall apart or any other Igbo literary book describes this, hence the reason the maidens dress that way during Igbo weddings.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 3:03pm On Jun 07, 2021
Justwise please I beg you in the name of God don’t delete my comments, babajeje needs them as evidence for cyber bullying and false accusation.

Ejor.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Aphrodite007(f): 2:54pm On Jun 07, 2021
babajeje123:

And I was wondering what you are to be telling me nonsense? Let's be careful please

Same way I wondered what you are to have an opinion on someone’s outfit and not knowing that that’s harassment. The audacity! Better drop that village mentality, you’re not in Nigeria and won’t get away with shit like that here!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 45 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44