Blacklion's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Blacklion's Profile › Blacklion's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 (of 24 pages)
@ Mrs. Chima and Annita19 As an American woman, do you have any moral objection to an African immigrant man paying cash to a native-born American citizen woman for a 'green card marriage' as part of a mutually agreed transaction? An African immigrant who exploits the love and affection of an innocent American woman in order to gain citizenship is plain wrong in his actions from a moral perspective and he is also committing a criminal offence under US immigration law. But what about where the immigrant paid cash for what BOTH parties knew beforehand and agreed was a pure business transaction with no emotions or sex involved? Do you think this is a bad thing in moral terms? I'm not talking about the law now because its plain illegal. Would you report to ICE if you knew that any of your female relatives, co-workers or friends was getting into such a transaction? |
@ OP You will not be the first nor the last woman to date or marry a guy who previously dated her sister, cousin, aunt etc. In fact, its not as uncommon as some people are trying to pretend here. Some men have married women that previously dated their brother or uncle. It is true that your situation is really not ideal and most families would not like for a man to date one sister and then marry another. But there is an exception to every rule. At the end of the day, its you and this man who will share a bedroom/life together for the next 50 years plus. The main issue you need to address is your sister's lingering feelings for the guy. Are you certain that he's moved on from your sister? Do you trust that he will not betray you in future with your sister if the opportunity presents? What do your parents/family have to say about this situation? Disclose fully to them and hear them out. Bottomline - the decision is yours. Pls don't let all the childish rants and petty insults put you off. As for those going eew, gross etc here, pls keep in mind that inheritance of a late brother's wife or wives was once accepted as part and parcel of our African culture. And in the olden days before IVF and other modern reproductive technology was available, an infertile or impotent man would ask his male relative to help impregnate his wife. So its not necessarily an abomination by African culture to have sex with a woman or man who previously had sex with your brother or sister. |
OBJ and UMYA paying bribes and according VIP treatment to some criminals in the Niger Delta who were masquerading as 'militants' not only detracted from addressing the fundamental problems but has also created a bad precedent. |
The cavemen are clearly having a field day on this thread ![]() |
The most annoying aspect is that it is this very same far northern states where the Hausa-Fulani are to be found that are dragging Nigeria down since 1960. These are the areas with the highest indices of maternal and infant mortality rates, poverty, illiteracy and disease. It is on record that northern Nigeria is the last remaining place on earth where polio and meningitis reign rampant. In fact, northern Nigeria has turned into the primary incubator of these dreadful diseases in the whole world since the emirs and imams have refused to allow these diseases to be eradicated. No wonder Lagos is full of hideous beggars from the North; the emirs and imams breed the beggars and ship them to Lagos to milk the generosity of southerners. If you subtract the far northern states from Nigeria's Human Development Index as assessed by the UN and international institutions, you will discover that Nigeria will suddenly leap into the middle ranking categories. Southern Nigeria is very well advanced in the key indicators such as literacy, access to safe water, infant/maternal mortality etc. Southern Nigeria on its own would be a mid-income country, not almost bordering on least developed category thanks to the stupidity and wickedness even unto their own people of the Hausa-Fulani elites. This is why the Northern elite witch-hunted Soludo for telling them the bitter truth that their region is the poorest and the most backward and is dragging Nigeria behind. They got rid of him and replaced him with a Sharia law expert who wants to conduct Islamic finance experiments with Nigeria's economy. Yet, we are seeing all sorts of m o r o n s coming here to nairaland to brag how they and their fellow elites are squandering southern Nigeria's wealth in London - even while their own people are wallowing in illiteracy and disease back home. Its clear now that Maj. Orkar and his fellow coupists were prophets. They saw that Nigeria can never move forward as long as the shadow of the Caliphate hangs over the country. |
murtalaa:Yes, there we have it. Here is an example of Hausa-Fulani 'businessman' and 'professional' squandering money at Debenhams. Where are the m o r o n s who were denying yesterday that the Hausa people shopping at Debenhams are the thieves and rogues? Thank God this Mutallabist has confessed that his governor Bafarawa is among the Hausa thieves that shop at Debenhams. What exactly does Sokoto produce for Bafarawa to be spending at Debenhams? What does Sokoto contribute to Nigeria's GDP? So whose money is Bafarawa squandering at Debenhams? Federation Allocation derived from the blood money of Niger Deltans + VAT + tax revenues generated in the South. Useless & hopeless parasites and leeches. That region will remain the poorest and most backwards with all these Mutallbists we have here on nairaland. |
ezeagu:Don't mind the m u g u. He's part of the wicked and selfish northern elite that deprives their own people of education so that the northern talakawa are forced to work as mai-guard and aboki in the South while the northern elites loot the federation allocation to the northern states and pack the money to London to shop at Debenhams. |
auwal87:Pls name them. I challenge you to name just 10 prominent nationally known businessmen of Hausa-Fulani extraction who - 1. never made any money whatsoever from Nigerian government contract 2. never benefitted from Nigerian government-approved import duty waiver or other government business concession 3. never participated in politics or held political post in Nigeria 4. never benefitted from Nigerian Customs Service illegal seizure of imported goods or illegal customs duty waivers When you have finished that one, then please name 10 Hausa-Fulani lawyers who became SAN or had successful corporate practice; also name ten prominent northern medical practitioners who have money to squander on Oxford Street etc. |
Tweety121:Thanks for the sensible comments. I was not addressing people like you. Yes, its absolutely true that the elites from all over the country have looted Nigeria blind. And yes, we all know that the North has its own educated professionals and not all are almajiris or beggars. My comments are directed at the group of numbskulls who are here celebrating that Nigeria's stolen money is being squandered by elites from their area in London to the extent that UK shop owners now advertise in their native language as if that is anything to celebrate. |
Look at this pack of internet Boko Haram exponents. I can see that even shame and commonsense are also haram in the North. Your region is the worst ravaged by poverty and disease and all you can do is celebrate on the internet that your rulers are able to squander the oil wealth of Niger Delta in London shops so tey the shopowners now advertise in Hausa. I've long resisted the argument that Hausa-Fulani are destructive parasites on the rest of Nigeria but the i d i o t i c and m o r o n i c responses I'm reading here are lending credence to those who argue that there is no other way for Nigeria to move forward but to discard the incorrible parasites in the sands of the Sahara desert. See i d i o t s that contribute zero, nothing, NADA to Nigeria but only feed fat on other people's resources coming here to exhibit almajiri mentality. I never knew that many of the educated Hausa are equally hopeless like their rulers. |
Equality/equity between a married couple in today's world is fair and proper provided its fully across the board. It is fair and right for a man to do his equal share of cooking, cleaning, sweeping, childcare etc provided the woman agrees that they will split the bills 50/50. Equal rights = equal responsibilities. A couple must agree before the wedding day about what type of marriage they want to have and stick to it. Some women claim to be liberated, feminists etc whereas in fact, what they really want is to enjoy the financial benefits of olden days marriage while insisting on avoiding the financial responsibilities of modern day marriage. |
pleep:Speak for yourself. Hundreds of millions of Chinese, Vietnamese, Indonesians etc are paying premium to learn English. Even some Nigerians are working as English language teachers in China and other parts of East Asia while you want to learn the language of polio and Boko Haram. Good luck with that. Some of you don't know what time it is. GEJ's election was a watershed. The era of Hausa political domination in Nigeria has been finally broken. 'One North' is dead and buried for ever. The Arewa yansh has finally been exposed as toothless tigers. Nigeria will fall apart before Hausa is made the lingua franca. |
[quote author=alj_harem link=topic=676290.msg8412801#msg8412801 date=1306639007]can you shut the f up u envious goat ![]() how is it gloating, when it is a normal thing hausa is a language spoken in 5-7 different countries ![]() so it is not only nigerians but other hausa speaking countries[/quote]Gbam! Here is another Mutallab in the making! After they are thoroughly jaded from squandering southern Nigeria's oil and VAT revenue in London, the spoilt Arewa brats in London turn into suicide bombers to redeem their 72 virgins fantasy. I'm sure this one here is already practising wearing suicide diapers. Abeg, show me any Hausa-speaking area in West Africa/Sahel/ Darfur that is not ravaged by poverty, high maternal/infant mortality, polio, meningitis etc? Show us the poverty indices for northern Ghana/Togo/Benin as well as Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso, Chad, Darfur and other areas with Hausa communities if you have the guts. Is it any coincidence that ALL these countries I just listed are categorized by the UN and World Bank as among the Least Developed Countries? You are not even ashamed - the masses of your people are ravaged by rampant poverty and disease yet you are here defending the hopeless elites that are busy squandering their criminal loot in London. For all the corruption and misgovernance in the south, I thank God at least the southern elites do not prevent their people from acquiring Western education and so the southern masses have the ability to empower themselves and improve their lives irrespective of bad leaders. There is no part of southern Nigeria that is as wretched as the North. But in the North, the useless leaders not only loot, they actively prevent their people from going to school so that they don't acquire Western education and start to challenge them. Hence the northern masses have absolutely no way of escaping poverty in this life. No wonder they turn to almajiri and Boko Haram and then start butchering innocent youth corpers. Any Hausa-speaking person with any bit of sense in his or her skull would be cringing and hiding right now on reading the original post. BTW, mumu, the big spenders in London are from northern Nigeria, not the Sahel or Darfur. The Debenhams' ad is squarely targetted at the corrupt squandermaniac elite of northern Nigeria, not Nigeriens or Darfuris. |
No wonder the Niger Delta militants are so aggrieved. Its truly painful to see their own people suffering and dying while the northern elites who destroyed Nigeria and reduced the ND to an environmental wasteland are busy squandering money like Arab sheikhs in London. In fact, I'd be a militant myself if I was from ND and read some of the s t u p i d comments here on this thread from some r e t a r d e d northerners gloating because a London shop now advertises in Hausa. These m o r o n s are from a region that according to the UNDP, WHO, World Bank etc has the highest incidence of maternal mortality, infant mortality, polio, meningitis etc in all of Africa and the world. Not to talk of the highest incidence of poverty, illiteracy, underdevelopment etc in Nigeria. Yet some i d i o t northerners instead of hiding their heads are exhibiting their s t u p i d i t y here on nairaland. No wonder the almajiri are busy murdering innocent southern corpers in the North, while their useless leaders are busy shopping in London. |
I will post whatever questions I deem fit on this thread and seek whatever information on nairaland or anywhere else on the web as I see fit. |
Perhaps because I'm more interested in real world user experiences than geek reviewer arcane obsessions with the various iterations of Android firmware? Troll much? |
Thanks for the information about Bowen. The private unis that I have visited do not have that size of enrollment. Hence the caveat 'as far as I know'. You could have addressed my question without the petty personal insult. Says a whole lot about your personality. |
kodewrita:Is there any private uni in Nigeria with an enrollment in excess of 2, 000 students? As far as I know, most of them have less than 1, 000 students, many even less than 500. |
LOL, nollywood movie! Abeg, where is the part 2 and 3 of dis tory? Illiterates! Una neva hear about artificial insemination AKA test tube baby? |
Many of the mushroom private universities will fall by the wayside and eventually a 'tier' system will emerge just like the US News college rankings in the US. Over time, the consumer (parents and intending students) will learn to identify and rank the private unis according to academic standards/reputation, facilities/extras and infrastructure etc. The top tier private unis can hike their fees as they like because they know the demand is there from elite parents/students who are willing to pay top dollar for glittering academic credentials plus luxury hostel accommodation and first campus facilities/infrastructure. The middle tier private unis will have to reduce their fees to attract middle class parents and students who want basic/sound academic standards and reasonably good facilities/infrastructure but cannot afford the fees at top tier unis. There will also be lower tier private unis whose academic standards and facilities will not be very different from the public unis; these schools will cater to those parents/students who cannot afford the fees at the top and middle tier unis but don't want to risk the uncertain academic calendars, sordid hostels, cultism, rape, random violence etc prevalent at public unis. There is already an informal ranking/tier system among private schools in Nigeria. Some private primary and secondary schools already charge N1.5m plus per annum, how much more private university. |
FYI, the constitution was amended within 6 months in order to allow certain provisions of the Electoral Act to be enacted as recommended by the Uwais panel; without it, the 2011 elections would not have held. So the same means and speed that GEJ applied to secure amendment of the constitution when he needed to pass the Electoral Act can equally be applied to amending the constitutional requirement for 36 ministers. |
The constitution says there must be 36 ministers - one for each state - but it does not specify that they must be of cabinet rank or ministers of state. Its silent on that point. GEJ can appoint 18 ministers of full cabinet rank to supervise 18 ministries i.e. 3 each from the 6 geo-political zones. The remaining 18 constitutionally mandated ministerial slots can be appointed as Ministers of State in the Presidency i.e. they are basically Special Advisers but with 'honorary' ministerial rank. They will not actually supervise any ministry or attend federal cabinet meetings. That will satisfy the constitutional requirement while reducing the federal bureaucracy to just 18 ministries with 18 ministers. |
Princek12:I also agree that he should not have been denied visa merely for criticizing the naija govt. - but we should not be naive as to his motives or his current clientele. As for predicting Nigeria's break up, so many American and European think-tanks have long predicted same and we are still here. Even the author Frederick Forsyth predicted Nigeria's disintegration in 1982 in a novel he wrote in the the 1970s! Nothing new there ![]() I personally think Amb. Walter Carrington did more for democracy in Nigeria than any US ambassador before or since. Compared with Amb. Campbell, I think Amb. Renee Sanders did even better. |
Princek12:You must be incredibly naive! Which people? naija people? The only people the former ambassador is advocating for are his clients among Nigeria's ruling class. FYI, he now works for a Washington DC lobbying firm. IBB and Atiku are among his clients. This is why he was so insistent that Nigeria will collapse if the rotational presidency is abandoned. But his bias and ignorance have now been put to shame. After slaughtering innocent youth corpers, have the warmongers in the North not fallen silent? Let them secede if they feel too big to be ruled by an Ijaw fisherman. |
OK, I just googled Affordables. The Desire HD is currently 68k. Just wondering cos I saw that phone at Dubai Duty Free about 3 weeks ago and it was going for $777. On amazon.com, it goes for $514 while on amazon.co.uk, its 390 pounds. So does Affordables sell brand new phones with warranty or are these used phones? The price seems rather too good to be true. |
texazzpete:Where is Affordables please? Can you share their contact details - phone, street address - pls? Thanks! |
OK, how about 95k for a Desire HD in May 2011? Is that also a maga premium? |
Campbell has every right to criticize things that are wrong with Nigeria; and his speaking truth to GEJ is most welcome. But why can't his fellow American diplomats speak the truth to Yoweri Museveni who has been ruling Uganda since 1986 and now jails and tortures opposition leaders. Museveni has ruled Uganda for almost as long as Mugabe has ruled Zimbabwe (1980). Is it because Museveni salvaged Uganda from the ruins which Idi Amin left in 1979 that he must remain in power for life? After all, the mere fact Gadaffi provided good infrastructure and high standards of living for Libyans is not the reason why he should remain in power for over 40 years. Or shall we talk about the apartheid regime in Bahrain where Sunni royal family is ruling over majority Shia population? Why don't the American speak the truth to them? Or is it Saudi Arabia where women are stoned to death for adultery and flogged for immodest dressing even till tomorrow? Is Saudi Arabia a democracy? Nigerians should indeed welcome honest, well-intentioned and helpful criticism. But with all this hypocrisy and double standards from the West, one is never sure of their real motives in criticizing African leaders. |
For those with Igbo language qualifications - http://www.proz.com/translation-jobs/527621 |

? Just because you are not rich? Don't you want to be rich too? Common man, be fair, not all rich Nigerians are public office holders. We have lots of business men all over the world.