Boyoorisha's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Boyoorisha's Profile › Boyoorisha's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 (of 22 pages)
dj187: I think u OP is either a taxi-cab driver or a newspaper vendor abroadWhatever he is doing to earn a living is none of your buz, as long as he is doing a legal job |
eGuerrilla: @OP, I was completely ignorant about this particular requirement until you mentioned it.Thanks guy, now I know it is legal! |
maninmood: You should pay for your TV license braWhat is TV licence bra? |
I stay somewhere around Ire Akari, Isolo in Lagos. I got home yesterday and my neighbor told me that we have been served a criminal summons to appear in customary court for failure to obtain Radio and TV permit. I have not heard of this before in Nigeria! Please share your experience if you have been a victim |
AKWA Ibom State Deputy Governor, Mr. Nsima Ekere, on Wednesday resigned his position with immediate effect and without official explanation. His Chief Press Secretary, Inemesi Ina, in a statement, said Ekere resigned “on personal grounds” and declined to elaborate. However, there were indications that the Deputy Governor’s resignation might not be unconnected with his governorship ambition. The Civil Liberties Organisation chairman in the state, Mr. Clifford Thomas, described Ekere’s resignation as a conspiracy. He added that Ekere had been nursing the ambition to contest the governorship of the state. He said, “Ekere is not going to wait if he is asked to wait for someone from Uyo senatorial district who had had their turn in the person of Governor Victor Attah. There is a conspiracy yet to be known. “Ekere is not going empty just like that, he is going to disclose a lot of things; there are arm-twisting. “It’s a very sad thing: I want to see competition in this state and not arm twisting people. He might have endured a lot of things.” Chairman, Conference of Nigerian Political Parties, Akwa Ibom State, Mr. Linus Udofia, said the resignation of Ekere was not good for the government. He described Ekere as very quiet and intelligent, saying whatever forced him to resign would have been weighty. He said, “It is not possible for Ekere to have resigned so early. There are indications that Ekere might have been tolerating something, which he felt there was no need putting up with it anymore. And this may lead to his resigning so early. A source, who confided in our correspondent, stated that Akpabio starved Ekere of funds. He said, “Ekere fell out with Akpabio because of his interest in running for the PDP’s governorship ticket in 2015 election. “Akpabio prefers SSG, Okon Umana, for governorship ticket in 2015 to Ekere. This has led to a frosty relationship between the two. He might have resigned owing to frustration.” Efforts to speak with the Commissioner for Information, Mr. Aniekan Umana, did not yield result as his telephone indicated that it had been switched off.
The Lagos state government has raised concerns over the imminent ripple effect of the Hurricane Sandy that hit the United States of America and the Caribbean. At a press conference in Lagos on Tuesdau, the Commissioner for Waterfront and Infrastructure Development, Segun Oniru said experience has shown that whenever hurricane, cyclone or other natural disasters occurred on the American shore, the ripple effects were always felt in Lagos within seven and 14 days period. “Let Lagosians know what is going on, and what to expect, it is not to create panic; they should be careful around the Ocean and Lagoon. In the last five to six days, around the Caribbean, from Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba Hurricane Sandy has hit those places and has also hit the East Coast of America. “Normally, when such happens, and when those kinds of magnitude hit that part of the world, we always have a ripple effect in Lagos and around the West Coast of Africa. Our main concern is Lagos; it is a warning, but not to create panic,” he said. The Commissioner further said that “Lagos lies parallel to the South America part of the world on the map, but super storm Sandy has hit New York City and Atlantic and the West Part. “That part of the world is northern to us, but we need to note that within the next seven to 14 days, we may get a ripple effect. “When the wind starts, the wind turns to a hurricane and then high water level begins to rise because of the wind; imagine throwing water on a glass, it will splash back, so we may have high wave, high water level. “I advise those who live around the coastline and shoreline to be vigilant and remain calm and if they start seeing storms like the one that occurred on 17 of August this year, they should stay off the Atlantic. It’s a warning to those on the Coastline.” http://www.channelstv.com/home/2012/10/30/ripples-of-hurricane-sandy-may-hit-lagos-commissioner/ |
all4naija: I don't really understand what you are trying to pass across. It's clear Convenant University could be better. Harvard university upgrade the education system and standard every now and then.I give 100 likes for your response! |
why is it that nairalanders wait for someone to comment first and everyone follows the same pattern/tone of the first comment? |
It was a simple calculation, Ribadu could not have won! |
E*X*P*O*S*E*D! A rogue leadership collected N16b and turn round now to say PDP is corrupt. ACN is a mere party that have always abused its constitution. We challenge their Exco to say the truth why 15 states outside S/West are facing National leadership induced crises. The Kaduna State chairman of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), Barr Mohammed Musa Soba, has claimed that his party sold its Presidential Candidate in 2011, Mal. Nuhu Ribadu, to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for One hundred million dollars (N16 Billion). The ACN chairman, in a statement, said he told his party leadership to stop being hypocritical and rather address the crisis within the party. He demanded for an explanation from the national leadership on why the Party sold out its presidential election to the PDP in the South-West in 2011. He said, “A rogue leadership is one that collected one hundred million dollars (N16 Billion) from the PDP, delivered the south-west to the PDP in the 2011 presidential election and shamelessly turn round to accuse the PDP of corruption and stealing of public funds.” According to him, ACN is a mere political party without Board of Trustees and visionary leaders and has always abused its own constitution and shamelessly label others as clueless and dictatorial. Reacting to the recent media comments by the party’s national publicity secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, on the Kaduna State ACN leadership crisis, the statement said the Kaduna State ACN under Barrister Soba would never succumb to the abuse of party constitution and reckless statements credited to Lai Mohammed who, of recent, has become a nuisance and an errand boy for political and emotional blackmail. “We challenge Lai Mohammed and the national secretary of the party, Senator Lawal Shuaibu, to tell the whole world why state chapters like Enugu, Ebonyi, Abia, Cross Rivers, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Nassarawa, Plateau, Bauchi, Gombe, Yobe, Borno, Adamawa, Taraba and Kaduna states are all facing National leadership induced crises,” the statement said. On the threats by some National officers of the ACN to drag the Kaduna State government and the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM) to court to stop the forthcoming local government election over the later’s recognition of Barr. Mohammed Musa Soba as the duly elected chairman of the party in the state, the statement said it was an empty threat and emotional blackmail by Lai Mohammed. Report any suspicious persons and object to the law enforcement agencies, as that will save lives. |
e-herbal:So PDP will win Lagos with just a Local govt? Who told you the so call jide will not deflect to CAN in the near future? |
sub_zero: Bros, if you feel Fashola is more intelligent than the govs i mentioned in my post, why not state in your opinion those you feel are your top four rather than quoting Bible 4me?By their fruits, we shall know them. Arrogance at its peak |
aryzgreat: PLS WOT IS OLEdepo ehm oyedepo doing with abt 4 jets? can he enter in 4 jets at a time? na waa o! wonders shall never end. Tithe money at work.Watch it! |
Siena: The most sensible response here. If I know a route I take has random potholes, I wouldn't be driving fast. 100km/h though may be only 62mph, but there've been fatal, or close to trying to avoid obstacles at this relatively modest speed. Worse when the car has had the suspension artificially jacked up, any sudden change in direction can unsettle the ride.Fatal means capable of causing or causing death. Fatal can be used even if the accident did not involve death |
The Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN candidate in the forthcoming gubernatorial election in Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN) in an interactive session with journalists in Lagos shared his thoughts on issues surrounding his emergence, governance in Ondo and his plans to enthrone a new political culture in the Sunshine State. Excerpts: Your emergence as the ACN candidate was shrouded in controversy leading to the exit of some of your fellow aspirants from the party. So, how do you react to insinuations that you may not be your own man? I wish to place on record that I have always been my own man. The assumption in some quarters that I was hand-picked is not correct. I served as Attorney general of Ondo State and I know Ondo State very well. It is also instructive to point out that when I was president of Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and I was championing a number of campaigns, aimed at curbing government excesses, was anybody using us? So all along, I have always been my own man at every given opportunity and at every point in time. On the issue of my emergence, I want to say that the process that produced me was fair because all the aspirants signed up to it. No exception. Every political party has its process of selection which I believe is democratic enough. If at the end of the day some people feel aggrieved, which I believe is normal, well. But we have continued to talk to them and most of them are now with us.  Akeredolu If we have one or two who felt they must eventually go, there is nothing we can do about that. It is politics. It is personal ambition. So for me, nobody can fault the process of my emergence because it was thorough and we were all part of it. So by and large, I believe the Action Congress of Nigeria that chose me has made the best choice for Ondo State ahead of the governorship election. Your opponent who is the incumbent Governor kick-started his campaign in your hometown with a mammoth crowd in attendance. Does that not sound ominous for you? The crowd you saw were people they brought from outside. People from Owo never came out. They brought in people from all the 18 local governments to Owo in many buses. We all know, crowd doesn’t vote. We are unperturbed because we know people are behind us. Even with the crowd that was brought to Owo, if you ask them to vote, we know that over 70 percent of them will vote for us. You can bring people to a rally. You can drive people to a rally and you can more or less bribe people to come to a political campaign. They were more or less forcing people to come out. We have been out and we have seen crowd too, those who will attend rallies from 9 am till 11 pm without being given a Kobo. Those are the real crowd. Those are the people we have. If you do your research in Owo, you will confirm what I’m saying and you will discover that the crowd was brought there. What factors do you think can make the incumbent lose the coming election? Mimiko has already lost the election. He can never win any election in Ondo State and that is why he is running from pillar to post. This is because he knows quite well that he has lost the forthcoming election. And how did he lose? It has been said that if you have a government that has nothing as achievement in four years, how do you expect people to vote for such government? In four years, he started one or two roads, none is completed. And I have said while campaigning that he can never complete any of those roads because I will be the one to complete them. I’m standing on that. Again, you have a government where the army of unemployed has increased and many of these unemployed are voters. How do you expect those people to vote for a government that does not provide them with jobs? I tell you many of those you see in their rallies were there because they are forced. Some, out of inducement and some are there for sight-seeing. Some go there to collect vests and money. In the heart of Ondo state people, Mimiko is out already. You can stay here in Lagos, watch television and start to imagine how we are going to defeat him because of the crowd you see. But I don’t have any doubt in my mind that he is going to lose. And if we are to look at it critically again, are the people of Ondo State foolish? They are not. I mean we are talking about Oba Adesida Road. The road has been there all the while, with street lights on it and then you remove them and put other ones. At what cost? There is no project today he can commission except the markets which are responsibilities of the local governments. And this is someone who has refused to conduct election at local government level. And the markets, nobody is even going there. Just drive through Ondo State and you will see that there are no people in those markets. The other one, you force people to go and be building town halls. What has the state government got to do with the building of town halls? What are the people there to do? These are what people could raise money among themselves to build. And in fact some of these town halls are already collapsing. In Opete for instance, a side of the town hall wall has collapsed. So this is a government that has not achieved anything, except hardship. The economy is grounded. How do you expect people to retain it? You need to go to Ondo State, the whole place is dry. Specifically, what are your programmes for the people of the state? We have sold to the people of Ondo State, a five cardinal programme. These include education, technology, agriculture, entrepreneurship and infrastructure, and most importantly, the rural areas. How did you receive the endorsement of the governor by some prominent citizens like Dr. Tunji Braithwaite, Dr. Fredrick Fasehun and Mrs Ganiat Fawehinmi, among others? Endorsement don’t win election, especially by people who are out of the woods. Who is Braithwaite in Ondo State politics? Nobody. Who is Fasehun in politics of Ondo State? Nobody. Yes Ganiat Fawehinmi can ride on the goodwill of her husband, Chief Gani Fawehinmi. But I can tell you that if the husband were to be alive, he would have supported me. So I will rather prefer having the spirit of the husband who is no more rather than that of the wife who is around. Yes, when Chief Gani Fawehinmi died, the governor gave him a befitting burial and we also know that he established a diagnostic centre which he named after him. How do you react to insinuations that the political configuration of the state does not favour you, given that your base, Owo does not have much population? I am very sure that ACN as a party, must have considered all these permutations before making a choice of a candidate from Owo. And I want to say categorically, that no one is better placed than a candidate from Owo. In a state like ours, there are so many fallacies being dished out to the public and because you repeat them all over again, it seems to bring about some elements of truth. Of course, Akoko is an integral part of Ondo North senatorial district and it has four local governments with 54 percent voting population while Owo has two local governments with about 46 percent voting strength. So the figures are not determined by the number of local governments. Secondly, the relationship between Owo and Akoko has always been that, if you rub my back, I will rub your back. The role of First Lady is now said to be an abused phenomenon. Should you succeed would your wife follow the present pattern of abuse? It’s quite unfortunate that my wife is not here. But I can tell you that I’m married to a person that is highly political. She is somebody who does not believe in wasting people’s resources. So we are going to have a first lady who is not going to waste people’s resources. I know that for sure. She runs an NGO that address women issues. She is the President of Breast Cancer Association of Nigeria (BECAN). She already has an idea of what to do. It is not that when she gets there that she would start thinking of what to do. I’m sure her programme may include “let us all jog for a week. Let’s have breast cancer examination for all women”, among others |
As committee recommends 27 new LG's, 2 new Area Offices. The Governor of the State of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, on Wednesday assured on the readiness of the state to adhere to all constitutional provisions in the process of creating new local governments areas in the state. While saying that the state is not out to confront the Federal Government on the issue of Local Government creation, the governor lamented what he believed have been the unfair considerations that had hallmarked the process of creating states and local governments in the past. This was just as the committee saddled with the creation of more Local Governments in the state of Osun recommended 27 new LGs and 2 Area Offices. The governor stated this while receiving the report of Osun Local Government Areas Creation Committee at the Governor's Office in Abeere, Osogbo. Aregbesola noted that the state will do everything possible under the constitution of Nigeria to create Local Governments that will meet all required standards, stating that the basis for the exercise was the genuine desire and consent of the people of Osun. In his words, "We are simply not ready to confront anybody or the Federal Government, but we are working on the constitution to grant the wishes of our people. Osun will be the first to constitutionally create local governments. We will create councils that will meet all constitutional requirements. "The difference between what we are seeking to do from others is that, we have not in, any way influenced this. It is the genuine desire of the people for self-government or expression of having control of their own affairs." The governor stated. Aregbesola held that Nigerians must not be deceived that the structure that they have all over the country were derived from the genuine and consent of the people who are entrapped in various states and local governments in the country. The governor averred that the creation of local governments according to the amended 1999 Constitution, the creation of LGs is totally in the hands of the states through the State House of Assembly. According to Aregbesola, "The only mention of LG in our constitution is the nature of the government and not a tier of government. Local governments can never be a unit of the federation outside the state. It is a contradiction that LG is a tier of government in our own federalism." Earlier in his address, the Chairman, Osun Local Government Areas Creation Committee, Prof. Mojeed Alabi, said the subsequent decisions of the Supreme Court have deepened their current understanding of the Federal-State relationship in Nigeria that justifies the State of Osun taking the struggle father from where Lagos stopped. The chairman urged the state to prepare a bill for a law of the state House of Assembly to be duly passed and assented to by the governor to empower the state to distribute the funds domiciled in the state Joint Local Government Account among all the LG in the state, including the newly created. According to Alabi, "The state government of Osun should create Local Government Areas and not Local Government Development Areas in line with the decision of the Supreme Court of Nigeria that such Local Government Areas have come into legal existence once a bill to such effect is passed by the state House of Assembly and assented to by the Governor. "The State of Osun should activate its legal machinery and strengthen the same in anticipation of the legal battles in order to enforce its right under the constitution, including the possibility of getting the National Assembly to perform its legislative duty of amending the relevant section." The chairman enthused. Prof. Alabi urged the government of Osun to work tirelessly for the search for viable constitution for the country that will be based on value of true federalism, anchored on the promotion of regional diversity in a united and strong Nigeria. http://www.osundefender.org/?p=38218 |
The Federal Executive Council (FEC) on Wednesday approved N1.3 billion contracts for the design of five fast train lines across the country. The Minister of Transport, Alhaji Idris Umar, disclosed this after the Council meeting presided over by Vice President Namadi Sambo, at the State House, Abuja. Umar said that the Council had approved the contracts to ease the burden of transportation across the country. “Today I brought a memo to Council seeking for the approval to award contract for consultancy services to carry out feasibility studies on five corridors. “The first is Lagos-Abuja. The Lagos-Abuja is intended to usher in the highest speed train system which is a distance of 615km. “It is our hope that the train can ply from Lagos- Abuja within a maximum period of three hours with about five stops. “The total contract sum for the five corridors is N1, 334, 405, 366.74 with a completion period of seven months.’’ The minister said that the light rail, which was conceived to ease transportation problems, would “compete favourably with the air industry’’. The second rail line is Lagos – Benin with a distance of 300km while the third will run from Ajaokuta – Abuja, a distance of 533km. The fourth and fifth, from Zaria – Illela and Benin to Aba covered 520km and 500km respectively. Umar said that government was committed to the resuscitation of the railway system in the country. He said that a double approach adopted included the rehabilitation of the existing narrow gauge rail lines and the resuscitation of the railway in the area of the modernisation. (NAN) |
Whoever inserted the stuff into the boy's hand should confess now. Oloyede’s words: “I heard a sound of something dropping into the bed pan before the placenta came out. “It sounded as if it was an iron or something with weight that dropped on it and when I checked it closely, I saw a rosary covered with thick blood.” Mrs Oloyede said that when she took the rosary by the ‘tail’ to examine it properly, all the clotted blood on it fell off, leaving the shinning rosary. According to her, the rosary was not around the neck of the boy when he was delivered by her mother. Oloyede said the boy held on to the rosary and did not allow anyone to remove it from him despite the fact that he was yet to open his eyes. If I should investigate this, I tell you my interrogation will produce the perpetrator of this evil act. God isn't this cheap! |
Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state has condemned criticisms on the role of Eko Atlantic City in the Kuramo ocean surge, saying “such statements show their poor knowledge of history and geography.” The Kuramo ocean surge, which occurred , penultimate Saturday, claimed 16 lives while five bodies were still missing. Fashola, who spoke Saturday during an inspection tour of the ongoing works at the Kuramo Beach, Victoria Island, said such comments showed the limitation of critics’ thinking. According to him, “The only thing that has surprised me is that they showed very poor knowledge of geography and history that ordinary student in climate change clubs in our schools now know. It is a shame that their history and geography knowledge is not only poor but they have also gone ahead to demonstrated it publicly.” The governor went on: “This is because the issue here is an environmental challenge. And, as a state government, we have to be innovative and courageous about it in order to deal with it. “Our world in changing and it is only those who want to be cut off by the change that would be pretending. Residents of Lagos State must try to understand that it is a world challenge and Lagos State is not left out”. The governor recalled that before the commencement of the Eko Atlantic City project, many roads and property were already damaged by the consistent ocean surge from the Bar Beach. “Before the Eko Atlantic city project started, the Modupe Oshikoya Road was already damaged by the consistent cases of ocean surge from the Bar Beach.” He noted that since the commencement of the project, the story has changed in the axis of the state, adding: “Now we can drive through the roads on the Island which is the financial heart of the country today. That is what the Eko Atlantic City project has done.” The governor continued “The Eko Atlantic city has solve the problem of ocean surge in the Bar beach area. And it has now manifested itself in this area (Kuramo). So what is left for us now is that we have to extend our work down to this axis up to the Alpha Beach, so that we can protect the entire property within this axis” |
Source is OGTV |
Boyoorisha: Ogun state government issues five-day ultimatum to residents of isheri under- bridge and cattle market to vacate |
Ogun state government issues five-day ultimatum to residents of isheri under- bridge and cattle market to vacate |
I saw them when the police came to deposit their bodies @ the general hospital, Isolo. I was told that they also killed one police officer |
Four suspected members of a notorious robbery gang that has been terrorizing residents of Ilasamaja and its environs were at the early hours of yesterday shot dead during a gun duel with a team of policemen from Ilasamaja division. The robbers numbering over seven as gathered, stormed a building on Ibadan street where they reportedly held the residents hostage and carried out a room-to room operation. They reportedly dispossessed the residents of cash, phones and other valuables. They however met their Waterloo, when the Divisional Police Officer in charge of Ilamaja division, Mr Ochogwu Ogbe, drafted Anti robbery policemen to the scene, following a distress call he received. Sighting the policemen, the robbers reportedly opened fire and during the cross fire, four of them laid dead. Residents of the area throng the police station as early as 7am to their surprise, the dead suspects were discovered to be residents of the area. The on-lookers identified two of the dead men as members of the Bale chapter of the National Union of Road Transport Workers. Their identities were given as Soji Afolabi and Ahmed Babalola, both from Ondo state , who resided number 3 Osoyintola and 3 Sofuye streets respectively. One of them was also said to be a member of the outlawed Odua Peoples Congress. Confirming the incident, the Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, Ngozi Braide said two of the dead suspects were arrested last month for vandalizing a vehicle but hinted that they were later released after the complainant decided to withdraw the case , saying he did not want to go to court. Recovered at the end of the gun duel according to her, were three locally made guns and several mobile phones suspected to have been stolen from their victims. She said other member of the gang fled with bullets wounds and therefore advised management of hospitals around to be on the look out for patients with bullet wounds who might come for treatment. “ Residents are advised to report anybody that has gunshot wound to the nearest police station. Medical Doctors should also come forward if anybody comes to them to extract bullets from any part of their body or to treat any gunshot wound. This is to help the police get the armed robbers that escaped from the crime scene”, Braide said. |
By Johnbosco Agbakwuru, Calabar THE sudden alleged appearance of a mysterious hand during a crusade organized at the headquarters of the Glorious Assemblies Ministries popularly known as Christ Endtime Military Academy, Calabar, Cross River State is now a subject of discussion among residents of the city. The mysterious hand was said to have appeared on the fourth day of the programme and radiated with light and pierced through the ceiling of the church building before young boys who were part of the programme noticed it with amazement. Though many people have insinuated many things concerning the hand, the General Overseer of the Church, Pastor Timmy Larry described the hand as the hand of Jesus Christ and that a day before the mysterious hand appeared, a lady saw a vision that a mighty hand came from behind and lifted and smashed a man. Larry explained that “the mysterious appearance of the hand came up on the fourth day of the programme. “ I was busy praying for people after coming out from seclusion. I was told of the hand by a Camera man, but before that event, I was talking to people about the right hand. “It was revealed that 2012 was going to be an exceptional experience in His presence and I had told my people that the month of July was going to be a month of signs and wonders and it is the month this thing happened,” he said. A member of the Church, Mrs. Iwatt said that the appearance of the mysterious hand as a big surprise and shock to her, adding that “this season God has visited our people greatly and I feel God has come down during the programme as a result of praise and singing. I was sure the presence of God is there.” Another member of the Church, Princess Agnes Archibong said, “it was a surprise to me when the hand of Jesus appeared before us here even people are overwhelmed and you see the hand does not look like ordinary hand. This was a confirmation that the Lord has accepted the man of God.” |
Chanchit: The size issue is very serious o, and i also hope say e don do DNA for full confirmation..Bro, which one be DNA now? Na him size get issue, no be the thing. Na him born him pikin o |
Congrats to Aki! I pray that his daughter will grow in size ![]()
God bless Akpabio, God bless Fashola, God bless Oshiomole, God bless Rochas, but woe betide all those governors who love their pocket more than Nigeria |
Akwa Ibom Live! This is Uyo - Ekim Itam Road, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. ''We are repeating this post for the interest of those requesting for the picture of another road in Akwa Ibom. These transformational Posts have nothing to do with Praising the state respective Government(s), but to let Nigerians know that irrespective of the shortcomings of our leaders, there is still Hope For Nigeria''. HOPE FOR NIGERIA
Paul John: Nice one there.Tell the appropriate authority! That is not under Lagos state |
spyder880: All my ancestors were buried in my family compound, I dont want to break the family tradition of being the first to be buried without seeing the "corpse"May be you will live all your life in Nigeria. If you must travel outside the country, you would have to be on the plane |