Stats: 3,330,290 members, 8,444,806 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 July 2026 at 05:06 AM

Centrifude's Posts

Nairaland ForumCentrifude's ProfileCentrifude's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 (of 26 pages)

Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Centrifude(m): 10:17pm On Nov 01, 2014
Patchesagain:
Nigeria has gone for a big military

The Swedes have gone for a very small military

Small militaries are easyer to maintain at a high standard.

If Nigeria halved its army kept the budget the same, and cleared out its arsenal, focused on quality and not quantity they would definitely be more effective.

South Africa took the decision to go for a small high capacity force in the 1998 review, and it was definitly worth it
Yeah true and once you're done with the quality over Quantity part, its much easier to expand your force, but I think S.A still has a lot of work to do before we can expand to the over 100K soldiers that our defence minister so badly desires
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 10:11pm On Nov 01, 2014
DieVluit:
He's been ALL OVER except where he needed to be.
Dude is contradicting himself
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 10:10pm On Nov 01, 2014
EVarn:
of course,little wonder rebels and poachers have no problem gunning down the feeble sack of bones you call soldiers.
Lol look who's talking B.H is f*cking you in the a** right in your own back yard, we only lost soldiers in a foreign country, and not to poachers.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Centrifude(m): 10:07pm On Nov 01, 2014
Henry240:
And, this is why, I love algeria's deal to get 1000 up-graded fauch APC. All 1000 of them would be built in Algeria.

On the parts we disagree, Afghanistan has no Oil, so it is illogical to say the Americans have been in Afghanistan for over 10 years because of oil. From a military standpoint, NATO troops in Afghanistan have used every asset they have in their inventory against the taliban, except for a nuclear bomb.

In the battle of tora bora, the Americans dropped the world's second most powerful bomb, the "daisy cutter", on the taliban, including all precision bombs they had. Fast-foward today, the Talibs are still fighting NATO forces in Afghanistan.

The idea that superior firepower guarantees success in battle is nonsense. Afghanistan is a clear example, neither could the Germans who had superior Tiger tanks defeat the russians in WWII. For every one Russian T-34 destroyed, the russians had two more to supplement.

Coming back home, the Nigeria airforce has carried over 5,000 missions and over 2,000 ground attack mission.

"While speaking on the activities of his men, Amosu said the air force has carried out more than 5,390 missions comprising 2,468 on various ground attack platforms, 1,443 air surveillance and 1,479 airlift missions."

“The air force has recorded significant gains in the ongoing effort, the war has brought to the fore the need for a critical look at how we define air power vis-à-vis shaping of the battle space and control of air.”

Amosu is Nigeria's chief of Air-staff. These are comments from our chief supporting my argument.

From the CAS comments, their isn't any proof that precision guided munitions or any Hight-Tech weaponry would greatly change the conflict.

Neither is there proof that MGL and AGL primarily turned the tide for Nigerian troops in against B.H. Nigeria's fortunes turned because our troops stood their grounds, held the enemy after wave, after wave of attacks. In traditional combat, like they are trained to d

They knew when the enemy was about to attack, they set a bait, channelled the enemy into a killing field, and the military let loose with small arms and artillery fire. Troops don't fight the enemy from within their MRAPs.

P.S, i'm not against High-Tech, but eventually, your High-tech equipment would malfunction, the battery for your EO-tech aiming sight would run down, and you won't be able to use your aiming sight, when this happens, the you abandon your mission, and let the enemy have a field day?

Accessories are a great add on, but they won't always function, the infantry man has to full back on his traditional fighting, and map reading. This turned the tide for the Nigerian military, and not some fancy pants AGL/MGL.

At this point, the Nigerian airforce does not require any fancy looking fighter plane, more ground attack jets and helicopters are the way forward.
A small heavily armed highly mobile force will does the job when it comes to dealing with insurgency in a country, and the new acquisition of fire arms has made a huge difference on the ground, the guys now have ways to counter those insanely powerful anti-Air guns.

Plus the newly acquired gunships are said to be reeking havoc on B.H fighters, and they are providing and incredible amount of support for the guys on the ground
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 10:01pm On Nov 01, 2014
DieVluit:
Let's not forget that this is the same military that had killed Shekau a hundred times already. And let's not forget that this is not the first truce ever alleged. They aren't being made to look like fo0ls. They are bumbling id10ts.
Yeah dude its pretty pathetic, how that Evarn guy was claiming that N.A was the best equipped and experienced Army in Africa yet they can't even kill one guy. N.A should just do such ish behind closed doors, and not brag about things they are not sure about, right now they are they're own worst enemies.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 9:52pm On Nov 01, 2014
EVarn:
yes i said that they are making the NA "LOOK" like fools,the NA arent fools,unlike the SANDF{half of which are older than mandela}.and yes,it appears that danladi amodu is an impersonator,or perhaps he represents another faction of boko haram.thats for the NIA to figure out.
Dude I don't care about us having old soldiers, I'd rather be lead by an old man with great experience and skills, I don't mind doing all the heavy lifting, running around and fighting, as long as I have a good leader who knows what they are doing, that is how you learn dude, the old pass their knowledge down to the next generation, that's why most professional Special Forces have a much more older leader who leads the young guys in missions.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 9:44pm On Nov 01, 2014
EVarn:
indeed now?,what a pity then,because any sensible media should be censored!,the amount of information and secrets each country has to hide could be used against such a country in a diplomatic spat{or even in a time of war}.i'm all for freedom of speech and media rights,but the line has to be drawn somewhere!.
Dude please stick to one topic, at first you said S.A media was being controlled by government now that we've proven that, that's not true, you change the topic to, every country has to keep secrets from its people, and there should be a limit to freedom of speech.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 9:41pm On Nov 01, 2014
DieVluit:
Try a different browser or device and let us know what happens.
it was just my Operamini it was acting up, thanx dude.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 8:18pm On Nov 01, 2014
EVarn:
the NA have been staying their hands because of those girls,these boko haram guys just dont know what they are doing,they are confusing the world and making the NA look like fools ,a few weeks ago they said that the girls were fine and in good condition,ready to be exchanged for top commanders.now they are saying that the girls are converted and married.these guys are senile megalomaniacs!...and dumb saffers like you play right into their hands.i'm too tired to argue with you tonight.
It wasn't the Entire group that said the girls were fine, it was just one person who claimed to be their representative, but as we can see that guy was just playing y'all, and its good to see you admitting that B-H is making N.A look like fools.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 5:04pm On Nov 01, 2014
EVarn:
c*mm-gulping fool,political decisions influence the local media which in turn influence the international media,where do you think the media reports come from?,of course,you wouldnt understand,afterall you saffers only know what ANC has pumped into your brains through the media.BBC and reuters are always reluctant in reporting the wrongs of western governments,they focus much negative media reports on africa,asia and the middle east,well about obama/camerons' foolishness,ISIS/ISIL??
Dude you know nothing about South Africa's media, I highly doubt that you've read any South African Newspapers, because then you would know how brutally honest those guys are, our media isn't censored or controlled, if it was controlled then the ANC wouldn't be trying so hard to pass the Secrecy Bill, they want to control our media, because they know that our guys say whatever they want.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 11:25pm On Oct 31, 2014
Real Soldiers
SANDF kicking A**

Two SANDF Soldiers Wounded in Sudan
31 October 2014

"The rebel group, whose intentions are unknown, was forced to withdraw due to the outstanding retaliation by the South Africans."

http://m.allafrica.com/stories/201410310877.html/
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 6:12pm On Oct 31, 2014
Even the smallest Squads of Soldiers from the SANDF are fully equipped with, an LMG, Knee Mortar, a MLG and a couple of Assault Rifles and a lot of ammo.

Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 2:11pm On Oct 30, 2014
*I need help*

I can see that I've been Mentioned on other peoples posts, but I can't open them or reply, I can only comment on the ones I wasn't mention on.

Is there something I can do to fix this?
Foreign AffairsRe: Nigerien Leader Calls For New Military Intervention In Libya by Centrifude(m): 8:12pm On Oct 29, 2014
Funny enough Nigeria Supported the West when they decided to "intervene" in Libya.

Feeling a bit guilty now.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Centrifude(m): 6:01pm On Oct 27, 2014
Henry240:
Sweden has a well established, well developed defence industry. In my opinion, countries in Scandinavia shouldn't even have militaries.

I do however disagree Nigeria needs to go High tech to defeat boko-haram. If this is the case, the Americans won't have spent over 10 years in Afghanistan or 9 years and counting in Iraq.
Yeah very true, every country needs to strengthen their defence industry, I think that's what we lack here in Africa, we concentrate more on buying then investing.

Dude you can't really believe that America has been in Afghanistan for 9 years just to fight insurgents, many soldiers who were there have release countless documentaries showing what the are doing there, and it's mainly to take the country's Oil and other resources, this modern day Colonialism, A country that has a military with the most modern and sophisticated weapons and a large number soldiers like the U.S would've had full control of a country like Afghanistan withing 3 years, America is creating a need for them to be there, they fund terrorism and use it as an excuse to occupy the country.

I disagree with you when it comes to Nigeria needed better tech, look at how the war completely turned for B-H when you guys bought those Mi-35, introduced APCs, AGL & MGL, the people with the latest weapons, the largest number of fighter that better trained, will almost always will.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 10:28am On Oct 27, 2014
neighy:
do u mean the Drone Base?? The Base is located in NIGER not NIGERIA... Plus the American Military should be stoned to death and thrown into the Red Sea... They should be Escorted out of Africa BUT... The Whole Africa dosnt stand a chance Facing the US and its Guard dog(Israel)... SO LET THEM BE... For the Main Time thou
Americans are the scum of this earth, they claim that Nigeria is guilty of human rights violations, *whether its true or not* it still doesn't change the fact that they are also guilty of the same thing, they drop bombs on to of peoples homes just to kill one person, they used Chemical weapons and Fallujah, their soldiers sometimes kill civilians for fun, they fund terrorism... and maybe we should also start funding terrorists in Israel, china russia and europe.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 10:16am On Oct 27, 2014
Henry120:
Like neighy has stated, the base isn't in Nigeria, but in Niger. The Americans are a two faced, back-stabbing partner. They always have.
Nah I know that the Base is not in Nigeria, I was just wondering what the other U.S forces who were sent to Nigeria, to "help gather intelligence on Boko-Haram" are really doing there, because ever since I heard that they would going to Nigeria, I haven't seen or read a single story about them providing information or any kind of help to Nigeria.
From what I've seen so far, they seem to be making the situation much worse.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 10:08am On Oct 27, 2014
Missy89:
But when are we going to develop a jet engine aircraft? are we that dumb?
One word "Funding"

Investing in home grown products seems to be a serious problem for the South African Government, we don't have a problem with ingenuity or rare skill sets, the only problem is funding, it takes too long for us to provide funding for home grown products, yet we invest Billions on foreign products, South Africa has the Experience and the Skills needed to produce modern Jet engines, we just don't want to explore such things, we'd rather waste money on overpriced western equipment.
Foreign AffairsRe: Forgotten War, Forgotten Black Soldiers by Centrifude(m): 5:57am On Oct 27, 2014
This is why black people should let white people fight their own wars, unless it directly affects us.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 1:11am On Oct 27, 2014
Henry120:
US Drone Crashes in Niger
October 22, 2014 - Uncategorized - Tagged: Africa, Africa Defence, African Defense, African Military, mali, Niger, Nigeria
A US drone crash-landed at Niger’s main airport for unknown reasons on Monday [October 19], the US army said, forcing the closure of the runway for several hours.

The “hard landing” of the unarmed MQ-9 Reaper aircraft damaged the runway at Diori Hamani International airport in the Niger capital Niamey, but no injuries were reported, according to a statement from the US Air Forces in Europe and Africa public affairs directorate.

“The US government is working closely with the government of Niger to secure the scene and mitigate inconveniences caused by the incident,” the statement sent to AFP added.

“The cause of the incident is currently under investigation.”

The United States started drone surveillance flights out of Niger in early 2013 to support French forces fighting Islamist militants in northern Mali.

“The aircraft nosed down” around 03:40 am (0240 GMT), a Nigerien airport source told AFP, adding that the drone was originally thought to be French.

The airport stayed closed until 12:30 pm to repair the damage to the runway, the source said.

A plane carrying pilgrims on their way back from Mecca had to be diverted to Ouagadougou, airport authorities in Burkina Faso said.

Planes could be seen landing at Niamey airport again in the afternoon, a security source said.

Despite its porous borders, Niger is seen as haven of stability in the region, with neighbouring Mali, Libya and Nigeria all battling Islamist insurgents.

Last month, the US military announced it would shift its drone flights from Niamey to a base about 500 miles (800 kilometres) further north in Niger, allowing Washington to better track Islamist fighters in the region.

The northern location will give the unmanned, robotic aircraft easier access to a desert route linking southern Libya and northern Mali, which is used to move arms and Islamist fighters.

The French military also flies drones out of Niamey.

As reported by AFP in New Vision
What exactly are the Americans doing in Nigeria because I don't really see the purpose of their Military personnel being there.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 1:07am On Oct 27, 2014
Missy89:
what is your take on the first indigenous Aircraft in Africa?

This babies can be used for surveillance and light patrols. and from the looks of things, it can be very cheap.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egtrWmKNWbw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0CYD53Qc7A
I think its a great Aircraft and would be perfect for Surveillance, I just hope that our Government buys a couple of these for the S.A.A.F, because such projects cannot grow unless the local Government shows its support and invest in them, if we don't show any interest then the rest of the world will do the same, I just hope it doesn't turn out like to be like many other great South African projects that ended up being shelved because of the lack of interest from the government.

This aircraft has great potential
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Centrifude(m): 12:59am On Oct 27, 2014
*unrelated*
I was reading about the Swedish Armed forces after the whole ghost submarine saga, and I was surprised to see how seriously high-tech Swedens defence force is, seeing all that High-tech gear only being used in exercises and patrols makes me really sad, to think that there are dozens of African Army's that really need those kind of weapons and would put them to good use if they had them, just makes me wonder what we as Africa's are doing wrong, Sweden has a defence budget of around $6 Billion.
It just make me think that if a country like Nigeria had half the ish Sweden has, Boko-Haram fighters wouldn't even dare try to do the shit they've been doing for the past 2years, they'd just stick to the most common kind of terrorism.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 1:11pm On Oct 26, 2014
Dear Moderator, It has already been decided "who has the strongest military in Africa", we all know that its Egypt, and because of that we've decided to use this thread as a place to compare or judge our Armed Forces, and to mainly have discussions about issues that affect a country's Defence Force. So what may seem like "derailment" to you is actually us analysing the external factors that affect the military.

Banning People and blocking comments is what's really derailing this Thread.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 12:59pm On Oct 26, 2014
Derailing is what's kept this Thread alive, and its amazing how its only the people who don't participate on this Thread who seem to have a problem with the derailing. *Mod you Suck*
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m):
EVarn:
No wonder your president was crying about how dumb his countrymen are.if you have identified them,then what are you waiting for?,why didnt you partner with the nigerian coroner to clear this issue faster?...this is disaster management,officials need time.
No dude we tried doing that but your Government refused after we did our tests and identified each person your Government insisted on doing their own DNA tests, we also offered to help to speed up the process of your test but you refused.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 1:19pm On Oct 24, 2014
EVarn:
whats this one saying?,do you thing disaster management,cadaver profiling and DNA analysis are childs play?,do you think it can be done in a few days?...i'm not saying they should hold on to the corpses,that will be an horrible thing to do,there are ways to play political and diplomatic games other than hording the corpse of innocent victims,they deserve a good burial.i'm not sure they are witholding the bodies to score cheap political points,to what end?,what are the benefits?
Hey Smart Mor*n, South Africa was able to do it in a couple of days it didn't take us that long to identify the people, So if Nigeria has the tech why is it taking them so long to do it, and if you really did respect those dead people when you wouldn't keep them in non-refrigerated places. Families of the victims where told that they might have to have closed coffin funerals, because of the conditions the bodies are in, the bodies are kept in non-refrigerated places with just fans used to keep them cool.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 11:57am On Oct 24, 2014
So is the Nigerian Government going to continue holding on to the Synagogue bodies, just like we're holding on to their money?
Foreign AffairsRe: Synagogue: Outrage In South Africa Over Bodies by Centrifude(m): 11:56am On Oct 24, 2014
So is the Nigerian Government going to hold on to the Synagogue bodies, just like we're holding on to their money?
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Centrifude(m): 4:18pm On Oct 23, 2014
overhypedsteve:
oga Henry i ve noticed somethings about the various pictures you and other posters ve been posting.
1. The pictures posted for the southafrican security services " shows" a well equipped security and trained security service( since most of the pictures are from training exercises) with very good public relation.
2. The Kenyan defence force photos are focused mainly on their land based assets and their efforts in AMISOM.
3. I ve also noticed that the photos posted here for AMISOM are very professional and does not only capture the military equipment but also give the viewer a scenic view of the area.
4. The nigerian navy seems to be the only nigerian security service releasing professional photos to the public. This have built and nurtured the false idea that the nigerian military is a large poorly equipped and poorly trained security service.
5. The nigerian defence industries and foreign defence industries based in Nigeria like proforce, DICON, BVST ( bulgarian) have been poorly covered here.

This are some of my observations.
Well to be honest most Africans believe that their defence force are weak and unprofessional, because of the bad publicity we get from local and foreign media, its the same situation here in S.A the average person doesn't know a thing about our Defence they think all of our soldiers are fat lazy and they never do anything, its because we don't have that Major PR like western countries , our Media only reports the bad things, they never really show any support for the defence Force, plus our Military leaders themselves don't like sharing information about their operations.

I also think that if the Nigerian Government did more to show its people that the Military is working there A**es off to deal with Boko-haram, people would showed actually support instead of criticising them, maybe they should copy Israels style of Military propaganda.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries Strictly Discussions Thread. by Centrifude(m): 3:43pm On Oct 23, 2014
Henry120:
Since the main thread is back, this place is pointless.
I think this would be a good place for any kind of discussions, concerning Military matters then we won't have to derail your other Thread.
Foreign AffairsRe: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Centrifude(m): 3:38pm On Oct 23, 2014
What on earth is going on here, why is this thread so messed up? so many people got banned.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 (of 26 pages)