Stats: 3,152,468 members, 7,816,102 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 04:48 AM

IbrahimMav's Posts

Nairaland Forum / IbrahimMav's Profile / IbrahimMav's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (of 27 pages)

TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 12:01pm On Jul 29, 2022
GloriousGbola:

i see your quote and i raise you
look at them mirrors man - MAGIC!
Is magic descriptive or prescriptive? lipsrsealed

Gaming / Re: What Game Are You Currently Playing? by IbrahimMav: 11:52am On Jul 29, 2022
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 11:37am On Jul 29, 2022
Baddestguyp:
well considering the powers of telekinesis...it qualifies as supernatural as well as sci-fi

It's just like saying THE BOYS is not supernatural because their powers come from a drug Compound V

By your logic, sci-fi=supernatural.
Nope.

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 1:34pm On Jul 28, 2022
Loving it so far.

Chris Pratt has found himself on the shitlist of the WOKE crowd so it’s not surprising this got a lot of hate from that side of the house.

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 9:34am On Jul 28, 2022
FergieRaww:

That show is the true definition of a slow burner

at the time when i was at the episode 1, i was simultaneously following fast paced shows (maybe it's my fault) but i couldn't keep up, maybe in a few years time i'll revisit it smiley

Well, that's on you.
Always endeavour to read the synopsis before venturing into a show.
The name reads like a biopic.
Have you ever known a biopic (fictionalized or otherwise) to be fast paced?

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 9:33am On Jul 28, 2022
abduleez1:

This people no Sabi better thing. grin

I watched the first episode but couldn't continue at the time cos I was deeply enmeshed in other shows I wanted to complete. Yet to go back to it but it's still in the plan.

It grabbed my interest from the onset.
As someone who has interacted with senile old people, watching Samuel Jackson convincingly bring dementia to life was fascinating.
He nailed everything, from how they fixate on certain aspect of their daily lives...
How they don't deviate from the formulaic structure of their daily lives...
How they drift in and out of consciousness when you're trying to hold a conversation with them...
How they sometimes forget who you're or who they are or where they are or all of the above...
How their past memories overlap with the present, forcing them into a confused state in the process...
How they see people that aren't there.

Samuel Jackson gave a performance of his life to the extent that if I hadn't known better, I'd be entirely convinced that he really did have dementia.

4 Likes 3 Shares

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 9:31am On Jul 28, 2022
moufan:
dropped it at episode 1, boring to me

It's about a very old man slowly losing his marbles after surviving a series of traumatic events, only to suffer a fresh trauma, then after a few moments of lucidity, set out to solve his caregiver's murder.

The synopsis has clearly shown it's a slow burn.
It bored you because you expected a fast paced show when its name and synopsis has clearly shown that it's a meandering mystery.

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 7:23pm On Jul 27, 2022
Samuel Jackson was incredible in this.
His performance elevated the show.

8/10

5 Likes 3 Shares

TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 12:59pm On Jul 26, 2022
pu7pl3:

Looks like I'll have to look for a software engineer around grin

Look for someone who knows their way around softwares
The guy who hacked my PS4 and Swift MIFI, also did my Kodi setup.
Some people are just talented.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 12:08pm On Jul 26, 2022
pu7pl3:

Wish I was close to you so you can help me do these things

I will be useless even if I lived near you...lol.
I paid a software engineer to set it up for me.
The procedure involves setting up PVR IPTV SC, IPTV manager, IPTV recorder, repositories, enabling Live TVs, channels, plus multiple driver/server/client installations.
Meehn....it's too much work.
Worth it though.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 12:06pm On Jul 26, 2022
Raalsalghul:

The film looks like a mid-tier flick.

I'm wondering why the budget is 200 million dollars?

Wow! I didn't even know the film cost that much.
It definitely looks mid tier.
Well, some of these so called high budget films are just fronts for money laundering.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 10:20am On Jul 26, 2022
DrDax:

Your bias will not let you see front.

That is a top notch movie with great dialogue.

We'll have to turn off our brains to watch it, just as we did to John Wick's antics.

Action is John Wick ish? Maybe even better.

The action is definitely the high point of The Gray Man.
I enjoyed it but John Wick movies are tier above.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 10:13am On Jul 26, 2022
Nova15:

I've seen the horrible ratings but it has a 79% audience score rating. That's why I asked
If entertainment is what you seek, it delivers on that department.
But if you want something more profound, you'll be disappointed.
It's a 6/10 experience.
Not great but not terrible either.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 9:59am On Jul 26, 2022
pu7pl3:

Is it the crew add-on?

The Crew works on and off.
Nowadays I use Nightwing and Scrubs V2 to stream movies and TV shows.
I use Mad Titan for sports.
It's great for streaming NBA live games and UFC fight nights.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 7:47am On Jul 26, 2022
Baddestguyp:
mine was also embedded and it was so inaccurate...
I decided to wait some weeks for a better sub

Mine was perfectly synced but the translation was wack.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 7:41am On Jul 26, 2022
pu7pl3:

My Kodi stopped working long ago and I don't know what the issue might be.

Mine is still working although I only use it occasionally.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 4:51am On Jul 26, 2022
Baddestguyp:
where did you see subs for the Witch Part 2

Embedded subtitles.

Streamed from Kodi.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 4:48pm On Jul 25, 2022
The Witch: Part 1: The Subversion (2018).....8/10
The Witch: Part 2. The Other One (2022).....7.5/10
The Pirates: The Last Royal Treasure (2022)....7/10
The Gray Man (2022).....7/10
Phones / Re: Who Has Updated Redmi Note 11 To Android 12 Here? by IbrahimMav: 11:47am On Jul 25, 2022
Unbiased1:

Don't bring Transsion into this discussion. Transsion does not send OS updates to any of its phones which is really bad of them but this thread was created for Xiaomi users. Xiaomi is yet to officially release Android 12 to it's Redmi phones when Android 13 is already around the corner? Very horrible for a company that is receiving this much hype.
So when will they release it? Probably when Google launches Android 13 and then only God knows when the Redmi phones will receive Android 13. SMH.

There's not much difference between Android 11 and 12, and if what heard about 13 is true, it will just be more of the same.
We won't get a significant upgrade until Android 14 rolls around.
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 11:08am On Jul 25, 2022
abduleez1:

While you both are right in your notions as to how boards and corporations work.
I hope you understand that not all decisions are made by a single person in a multinational company vice versa.
While David Zaslav the CEO of WBD wants a Superman in his upcoming universe he can't decide who dons the cape cos he's not an expert in the business. That's why he relies on the creatives in the company to do that. If not with Zaslav's passion I'm sure by now he would have announced a slate.

That's the main reason why Zaslav is waiting to get a new president for DC that is highly independent from Warner Bros bureaucracy. If not he won't be actively shopping for studio heads when he can just use the newly appointed heads of New Line and WB to oversee DC.
If Zaslav is like an authoritarian he wouldn't really give HBO's Casey Bloys an additional 5yrs contract. Exactly the tenure Zaslav's CEOship lasts (if he doesn't extend it). Hope you know HBO is arguably the most independent arm of WBD.

Yeah I heard about that.
Apparently Zaslav wants DC's version of Kevin Feige.
Someone who can strategize on how all the properties can move forward.
I think it's a step in the right direction but I'm not getting my hopes up.
We'll wait and see what comes of this.
TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 9:57am On Jul 25, 2022
teeshet:
Final Destination 2
Hit quote: Only a new life can defeat death.

Kimberly cheated Death but didn't defeat it,
Death simply made a new kill list.
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 9:04am On Jul 25, 2022
Kaycee7:
Bruh, you're the one creating scenarios in your head because, apparently, people simply having a different perspective or opinion on an issue is seemingly beyond your comprehension.

You feel Cavill's demands are reasonable. I disagree.

You feel WB needs him more than he needs them. I also disagree.

And if disagreeing with those notions means I'm singling out Cavill as the villain, then suit yourself.

You keep hammering on this "corporation" thing and it's giving vibes that you don't really get how corporations works. It feels like your knowledge of them comes from the movies where they serve as antagonists.
Corporations are made up of board members with stakes in the company. Just about everything they do is decided in meetings where there's deliberations and voting. Now Cavill has at least 3 demands, if rumours are to be believed. Some members could agree with 2 but not a third. Some could agree with only one, some with none and some could even agree with the whole thing. But since the board can't come to a consensus yet, the notion of agreeing with Cavill's demands will remain pending until either Cavill proposes a more agreeable set of demands or the board members lobby each other into supporting the eventual majority.

This is simply business, not Superman vs Lexcorp.
It's ironic because you don't understand how a corporation works either.
Some Corporations are privately traded while some are publicly traded.
Each of these have board members but the voting power of these board members varies from board to board.
In WB, like in many media powerhouses, there's a chairman of the board who has a veto power to overrule or block any decision he feels are unfavorable to the company.
So it literally comes down to one man to give the green light, not multiple people like you're trying to claim.
It's a good thing you've acknowledged that it's simply business.
From Cavill's POV, it's simply business.

TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 7:18am On Jul 25, 2022
Kaycee7:
My agenda? Kuku keee me. You made a wild claim. I pointed out with reference that said claim wasn't accurate. Now I have an agenda. Wahala!

You have singled out Cavill as the villain in this shitshow despite the fact that WB have continually shown they are hopeless in handling delicate situations.
There are rumors that Cavill doesn't want to do only cameos but want his own film and more creative control.
These are fairly reasonable demands, and if WB really care about the future of DCEU, they'd give it to him.
Certainly some of us see it this way.
But some of you in this thread would rather take the side of a proven incompetent corporation over an actor who not only has proven he's tailor made for the role of superman, but has shown he's willing to come back as long as his demands are met.
I mean, just take a look at abduleez posts.
Those posts read like what a campaign manager would write about a political rival.
Those posts are completely unfair, unflattering and straightup propaganda.
It's beyond strange to take the side of a soulless corporation over a marketable actor.

TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 5:41am On Jul 25, 2022
Kaycee7:
Sure. Copy and paste a post out of context to prove a point. That totally makes sense.
I mean you're the one screenshooting downvoted posts to pass off your misguided agenda.
Except in your haste, you picked the wrong post to screenshot lol.
You've work to do, so you'd better get on with it.
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 5:35am On Jul 25, 2022
Kaycee7:
Funny. Here's a Cavill stan getting downvoted on a DC subreddit.
Also, throughout the whole thread, people are calmly having back and forths over the issue. It's almost like the fanbase actually has different views and opinions on this issue. Shocker!

Lol sorry but that user deserved the downvote because he made an assumption from a dated tweet.
A lot has happened since then so his assumption while right at the time it was tweeted, doesn't tell the whole story.
That's why I love that subreddit, it doesn't tolerate nonsense.
Also, DC_Cinematic subreddit love Cavill.
If you're in doubt, copy and paste one your post here and post it there and see what happens.
I dare you.
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 11:03pm On Jul 24, 2022
AnfieldFan:

Mr, calm down... Nobody's capping rubbish...All concerns are valid, yours and likewise, theirs....

Many Dc fans obviously want Cavill back, but if a deal can't be hammered out, then I believe it's in everybody's best interests to move on ...

It's hard to move on when there are no clear paths leading to the future of DCEU.
As it stands now, the DC universe will have no superman.
It's insane to even imagine a DC universe without supe.
WB sucks, it's well known.
The WB apologist in this thread obviously don't get the memo.
They'd rather blame Cavill (the fans choice) because it's a crime to hold out signing a contract until you're paid what you're worth.
Sure, blame the guy who's earning a living like everyone else instead of the big greedy corporation who can easily afford him but chose not to because why not.
People like the shills in this thread are more likely to blame ASUU than the Federal government owing them.
It's a shame.

TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 10:18pm On Jul 24, 2022
AnfieldFan:
DC fans grin grin grin
Cavill that used to be the best thing after sliced bread is now a nobody.... grin grin grin grin grin

Don't mind these ones capping rubbish in this thread.
From there vitriol, I've surmised they are more WB fans than DC fans.
No real DC fan will spew such nonsense.
Their nonsense talk starts and end in nairaland shaa.
If they try such nonsense on the DC subreddit, they will be downvoted to oblivion.
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 7:00pm On Jul 24, 2022
Kaycee7:
If fans have been pissed at WB for years, them makes all the more sense for WB to not give a flying fück about them.

You love Cavill as Supes, that's great. Then pray he acts reasonably. If he keeps playing hard to get like an Abuja slay queen, he'll be left behind and the franchise won't even take as big a hit as you're predicting.
On the contrary.
It would make more sense for WB to start listening to fans demands.
Fix DCEU and the ire will dissippate, and maybe WB will start making some roadin in regards to planning the DCEU.
I'm one of these fans so I'm speaking for a lot of likeminded people.
Also, I find it strange that someone would take the side of a corporation over fans especially in a matter in which fans are justifiably pissed.
Are you a WB apologist?

TV/Movies / Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by IbrahimMav: 6:52pm On Jul 24, 2022
oyaskii:
sad grin

Henry Cavill probably wanted some creative control or a premium payday or both.
Could be WB lowballed him.
Anyhow, Cavill is making a name for himself in another universe.
TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by IbrahimMav: 6:43pm On Jul 24, 2022
Chucky (2021)

S1.....8/10
TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 6:34pm On Jul 24, 2022
Kaycee7:
Fans are one of the most fickle creatures in existence. And in this current climate where everyone seems eager to be angry at something, I wouldn't go above and beyond trying to please the whole fanbase.
WB should do what they can and let the fanbase sort themselves out.

Fans might be a fickle bunch but they've been pissed at WB for years and I doubt they'll stop now.
Replacing Cavill in the present DCEU is out of the question.
Fans feel particularly strong about it.
Personally, Superman is my favorite superhero, probably of all time.
The fact that he is not being included right now sucks.
I love Henry Cavill as Clark in MOS, he was perfect for the role, but if a complete reboot is what it will take to have superman content, I'm all for it.
Can't have DCEU without Superman, he's like the heart of the DC Universe.

TV/Movies / Re: DC EXTENDED UNIVERSE (FILM) by IbrahimMav: 5:50pm On Jul 24, 2022
Kaycee7:
Cap! Dude doesn't have the kind of hold on the character that you're trying to portray. If he continues being unreasonable, his role can be easily recast. If the DCEU was well underway, he might have had a stronger hold but with the new direction DC and WB have been veering in, Cavill playing Supes isn't really all that important.

And yet the majority of the audience at Comic-con panel booed DwayneJohnson when he implied that Cavill won't reprise his Superman role in forthcoming projects.
Why?
The fans are increasingly frustrated with WB due to the current sorry state of DCEU.
Fans want Cavill to be DCEU superman, stat.
Replacing him with another actor will be met with tremendous hostility the kind you've never seen before.
The best next thing WB can do at this point is to reboot DCEU and start everything from scratch.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (of 27 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58