Stats: 3,154,755 members, 7,824,162 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 01:44 AM

ICool's Posts

Nairaland Forum / ICool's Profile / ICool's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 19 pages)

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 5:10pm On Oct 02, 2016
Topiipii:

Not exactly as I'd like: V - 161, Q - 165, but I'm hoping the AW score would be better than the previous one.

TOEFL was sweet and terrible! I had 20 on the speaking section, writing 29, Reading 29 and Listening 30, I wish I can have your speaking score right now. I'm trying to complete my SOPs now, that's the last part of my application.

Those GRE scores are way beyond 'so sweet' (Drhopeful, 2016). If and when I get my 320+ score, I will take a one week break to Obudu cattle ranch cheesy.

That speaking score fall your hand!!! angry cry That GRE and TOEFL would have been 1st tier universities standard. Kai! This one is hard... re-write that exam.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 5:24pm On Oct 01, 2016
kenkool:

Thanks. Please do you have something for SAT also?
I do not have any.

Hi Topiipii, how did your GRE and TOEFL go?
Car Talk / Re: Where Can I Rent A Vintage Car For A Wedding? by iCool(m): 9:14am On Sep 30, 2016
I am guessing the price will lead to bankruptcy
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 8:53am On Sep 30, 2016
strictlynaija:
Guys, is Gregmattoefl a reputable company to register for GRE

Do a nairaland search of 'gregmattoefl' and read reviews to enable you decide.

I used a consulting firm in p.h for my registration, toefl score is out without issues. No issues on the GRE registration as I speak.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 6:55am On Sep 30, 2016
@Gunbiz. 2 full weeks on AWA ONLY? You don't mean it! shocked

What books are you working with?

I would suggest you leave the AWA for now and work on the other two sections.

Have you picked an exam date?
Business / Re: OPEC Agrees To Cut Production; Oil Prices Surge by iCool(m): 6:42am On Sep 29, 2016
stevepee42:
Good news for NAIJA
It's actually good news for the looters in government. angry

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 6:40am On Sep 29, 2016
biikeys:

No @bolded. You need to check that the freq bands are supported here.

Now I get it. wink
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 6:18pm On Sep 28, 2016
HalimaX:

Phantom 6 plus is better, except he is on a budget.
I'm looking to get one myself cos i was allowed to experience it yesterday at one shop I entered.

Asampete, with this current Dollar - Naira exchange rate, everyone most people doing the U.S admission runz this period are definitely on a budget! Except they were ex-oyel workers
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 3:19pm On Sep 28, 2016
lionlee216:
Abegi oo, Pls dont mind me question. will tecno products work successfully in the USA?

All androids are the same, read here that some U.S sim cards select phones.

[s]Buy the Techno Phantom 6 for 88k, it won't fail you[/s] grin
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 12:06pm On Sep 28, 2016
^Not a member of the group.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 7:19am On Sep 28, 2016
@socratez20 @kenkool. I just checked and this link still works for the videos..

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/pfponjisltie4su/AADld9-cQWy-c92Mx50Uc_5ha?oref=e
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 11:34am On Sep 25, 2016
strictlynaija:
Hello guys, I plan to register for GRE this week. For those that registered recently,

How much is it
What is the earliest date I can get to write the test

cc: icool

I used a consultancy company in p.h, paid 60k.

I checked yesterday for test centres in Lagos, saw last week October and 1st & 2nd week November.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 9:35pm On Sep 24, 2016
@temi4fash. You are welcome.

@cuspy. The videos are on YouTube. I will add the books to dropbox later.

...Some schools and their wonderful requirements. angry

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 10:21am On Sep 24, 2016
drhopeful:
Wow! Great scores! When are you writing GRE?

12th October. Thanks.

ipledge01:

Congrat Boss. Now go show GRE wassup

My man, I will try my best.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 8:09am On Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful Saturday morning it is... My TOEFL test score just came in. shocked

R28 L26 S26 W26
Total 106 smiley

All the preparation paid off. Relieved....

I used roughly 10days, jonsing for a better part of it lipsrsealed. Had been preparing for the GRE verbal, so the TOEFL was somehow covered.

How I achieved my score -
Reading: This was straight forward, only got myself acquainted with what I was expecting on test day. Got question answering and time saving tips from Notefull videos on youtube. Previous knowledge of secondary school comprehension passage came into play.
TOEFL Reading easy sha. grin

Listening: Was also straight forward, Used ETS official test prep materials 3 and 4 (these had audio embedded in the booklet) + Notefull videos.

Speaking: Used majorly Notefull videos for the Speaking part. Other materials were dribbling me, Notefull had a defined formular.

Writing: Used Kaplan GRE booklet that taught about grammar (before the Issue and Argument tasks). Kaplan TOEFL showed me examples of what Writing answers looked like. Helped alot. Here, Notefull and Cambridge dey dribble me.

#MoneyCannotWaste cool

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 7:46am On Sep 24, 2016
temi4fash:

My course is Electrical Engineering.

Can you suggest some other schools not too far from Minnesota?

This link gives a comprehensive list of schools offering your course. I used it to arrive at sensible schools for my own course taking into consideration tuition, toefl/gre requirements and so on.

http://www.findengineeringschools.org/Search/Majors/electrical.htm

jlakesideo:
Please , who can help me with the link to all these test.. I only just downloaded the PowerPrep test from the ETS but I'd still appreciate other test like Manhattan , crunchprep, Kaplan , Princeton etc..

You can not cover all the materials on test preparation. Manhattan online test that I know requires you to spend money.

Work with PowerPrep after reading through the study materials (ETS, PrincetonRev, NovaMaths, manhattan 5lb), that's MY plan.

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 4:37pm On Sep 20, 2016
tblvck:

quantitative comparison questions chop all my time, am so scared to choose any answer for those ones that don't have a final value, will you advise I skip all the qc questions, solve the multiple choice, data interpretation and the rest then when done go back to qc?

Skipping the unknown questions to grab the easier known questions is your best bet, else you lose BOTH the unknown questions and unanswered known questions. Too much know know tongue

@Jumybecks. Thanks for the tips.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 11:52am On Sep 20, 2016
tblvck:
Elders in the house please any time management tips, observing my performance in timed tests and untimed tests shows that I really need help with managing time.

Use your 'church mind' to time yourself while taking the test. grin

Divide the total time given by the number of questions and get the 'seconds allowed/question'.

While solving, skip questions you have difficulties solving and later return to them (if time remains) OR carefully strike out unlikely options and pick an option you know feel is correct right.

All questions carry equal marks & there's no negative marking

Leave the difficult ones and score cheap points on the easier ones FIRST.

@happyday. Good job keeping the thread alive! smiley
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 12:33pm On Sep 18, 2016
Priceless200:

Dp you have any idea where I can get this official ets booklet, especially in Abuja... Thank you.

The soft copy is available on the ets website. Within the last 5pages, I dropped the link for the Quant & Verbal official practice booklets.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 11:39am On Sep 14, 2016
@guchi120
@Lekkyg

Read through page 9 of this thread and search for Kkphantoms post, it summarizes the whole process.

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 8:05pm On Sep 12, 2016
^Good to know The official ets booklet and lots of practice was enough to get such scores.

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 7:21pm On Sep 12, 2016
dickoflife:
arab kini... bobo na 2000 dollar car i dey find.

Arab money!
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 7:14pm On Sep 12, 2016
Topiipii:

Sep. 29
V - 162 Q - 167

In summary, tell us how you achieved this marvelous sontin!

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 7:11pm On Sep 12, 2016
@tblvck. Relax.. cheesy

Be cool... cool

Give it time, you would soon perfect the act of avoiding silly mistakes. wink

Just keep practising while looking out for keywords in the Quant questions. [s]Me too follow fail wella when I first started[/s]
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 7:07pm On Sep 12, 2016
Topiipii:

Sep. 29
V - 162 Q - 167

shocked shocked shocked

*Thinking* did I do the addition of both scores wrongly?? shocked

Wia is my calculator..
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 1:17pm On Sep 12, 2016
^The breakdown would go a long with in helping those planning to retake the test.

#VerbalMustPayMe cheesy

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 12:37am On Sep 12, 2016
They did a maintenance on the GRE site two weekends ago and it has been the acting funny since then.

Let's all just be patient.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 by iCool(m): 4:28pm On Sep 10, 2016
^ Reference - walspring, 2016. cheesy

Femi321, you sabi book! cheesy
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 11:46pm On Sep 09, 2016
tblvck:
Would studying for GRE verbal and AWA section give enough knowledge to write TOEFL and pass? If not what strategy can be implemented to study for both GRE and TOEFL at the same time?

In my opinion, the Reading Comprehension and AWA share similar styles with the Reading and Writing section of the TOEFL. However, the Listening and most especially the Speaking sections of the TOEFL need special prayers preparation.

Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 9:35pm On Sep 08, 2016
drhopeful:

I can't download it for some reason. Please can you send it to my email? looking4mercies@yahoo.com. Thanks.

It is very large so it won't attach to e-mail. I have tried the link and it works, maybe you try later at night.
Education / Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 6:27am On Sep 08, 2016
drhopeful:

Thanks. I am not sure what edition I have. Can't seem to find it written anywhere in the book. But it was published 2013.
2nd edition - 2011
4th edition - 2014

Will upload it before noon. Engaged in some downloading for now.

UPDATE: Link to the Mahattan 4th edition (About 230mb) -
https://docs.google.com/uc?id=0B6FBl1JdVum6Um4yRTdNN1gxa2c&export=download

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 19 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34