Stats: 3,326,236 members, 8,425,595 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 06:26 PM

Litmus's Posts

Nairaland ForumLitmus's ProfileLitmus's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 (of 361 pages)

RomanceRe: Does Having Tattoos Make A Guy A Criminal And A Lady An Ashawo? by Litmus:
Only the word Tattoo is foreign to Nigerians. Skin marking, either by sharp implements or chemicals from fruits such as Cashew is indigenous. This means that which, for convenience, we call Tattoo has been practiced by many of Nigeria's ethnic groups for thousands of years. Tattoo practices and markings for indigenous Nigeria cultures have thire reasons and meanings but I doubt any of it is to do with or has any of the negative associations you mentioned. If Nigerians currently look on Tattoos negatively, this would be the consequence of the age old African problem with Record Keeping. Namely the inability to keep Records. The inability to keep Records is not "Possibly" but Actually the primary reason for the primitivity and backwardness associated with "Black" people in comparisons to other racial groups.

We keep no records so we remember nothing. We stumble over the earth continually startled by things that aught not startle us because we either created or know them but we are nevertheless startled by them because we forgot. It's like that Panda startled by the presence of the baby she only minutes ago birthed. We are now as Nigerians startled by Tattoos, formerly something indigenous. We omitted record keeping for so long, dysfunctionality and the inability to organise, which are the byproducts of not keeping records has become genetic with us.
Car TalkOh, Look. The Canoo EV Is Not Only Being Manufactured, It Is Being Exported by Litmus(op):
PropertiesRe: Ten Tallest Buildings In Nigeria by Litmus: 7:50pm On May 21, 2024
Tall buildings shouldn't be aspirational.
Foreign AffairsRe: ICC Court Was Built For Africa And Putin, Not West - ICC Judge Tells CNN (Video) by Litmus: 2:38pm On May 21, 2024
Flamemignon1:
If Africans had any atom of sense, then shit like this wouldn't stand but they don't
The black men and women in power all over Africa are no less radical or informed than the people they govern, they are simply differing to the West due to the West's control over the citizens of Africa.

A micro example of this would be Lagos government Vs DJ Copy and other such celebrities. Or Nigeria Vs Simone Ekpa. The West exerts existential blackmail over Africa nations leadership through control of the citizens of Africa.

The ordinary men and women of Nigeria are owned by the West not by the Nigeria state.
Foreign AffairsRe: ICC Court Was Built For Africa And Putin, Not West - ICC Judge Tells CNN (Video) by Litmus: 1:59pm On May 21, 2024
WriterNig:
If they can do this to Russia, a fellow European with white skin, imagine what they'll do to you a black negro. A former slave.
Oga, with this your passive seeming statement that smacks of inferiority complex, are you a South African ?

I'm supposing that you're maybe South African since this is the sort of statement someone who has experienced great racial debasement over time might make.
PoliticsRe: TotalEnergies Chose Angola Over Nigeria For $6 Billion Project. See Why by Litmus: 9:17pm On May 20, 2024
In plain_speak then: Nigerians shut out outsiders and own thire own corruption but foreigners are able to own Angolan corruption.
CrimeRe: Lagos Shuts Popular Restaurants, Church, Others For Noise Pollution by Litmus:
Noise and liveliness is part of the Nigeria cultural scene, authorities should not try to kill these by sanctioning them. We should not abandon all that identifies us as Nigerians in favour of being like what identifies others. We Nigerians say Country not Cantry. We need better ordered cities and may need to borrow the blueprint from abroad but we do not need to be English , French or Americans in our sensibilities. We are Nigerians!

It so saddens me to observe from the sidelines as Nigerians slowly and steadily abandon the richer things identifiably our own for the poorer things of others. An example is how Nigeria's music ecosystem is abandoning the Corporative and friendly but helpful rivalry that propelled them into a force in world music scene in favour of the acrimonious, bad belly, bad blood, conflict ridden Ghana (Beef Culture) music ecosystem.

Incidentally, Beef Music culture arose in America in the later part of the 20th Century. It marked the beginning of African American music downward spiral into gangster rap that both debased black America culture and decimated a generation of talented black music stars. Contemporaries ague that this Nihilism was introduced into Black American music by the none black controllers of the music industry. This anti black Beef Culture then infiltrated Jamaica music industry then gradually permutated throughout black music world wide. Then Nigeria music came on the scene, fresh, beautiful, healthy, it uplifted black women, was inclusive and heralded something new and could be said to be revolutionary due to this. Yet the people behind Nigeria music sore fit to abandon all of this in order to adopt the same tired old murderous, Nhilliistic , misogynior .

Why undecided

Why do we always abandon what's uniquely ours for the rubbish of others?

Another example is how we are abandoning insisting on news readers wearing Nigeria traditional attires and are now insisting on them wearing Western clothes.

Why?

I bet we will soon abandon our beautiful and unique flag for some over colourful flag that conforms to the mundane sameness of other African nations.
PoliticsRe: Soludo's Funcity Project Nears completion, As Anambra Gets ready for Tourists by Litmus:
These glitzy, fun-parks, lodges, amenities, including rides and water entertainment type development are not what will long term position Nigeria as a significant Tourism Destination. It may work as attraction for Nigerians, which is not a bad thing but it will not specifically attract international visitors to Nigeria.

What attracts majority of Nigerians to West are things not in Nigeria or things not executed properly in Nigeria. The fact that these Western things of interest to Nigerians were indoctrinated into Nigerians from birth due to Nigeria's consumption of Western political, capital and social products and outputs, is a separate argument. Conversely, what attracts Western visitors (in thire capacity as tourists) to foreign nations are things not common in their various Western nations or things that are extraordinarily different to what they have. Some examples are wildlife or extraordinarily different wildlife, especially in scope, scale and verity. Then there are extraordinary landscapes, including beaches, then exotic sex, and finally culture.

Nigeria's strengths are her cultural heritage but unfortunately cultural heritage as some of the areas Nigerians seem most egar to abandon. The northern Nigeria islamic heritage such as mosques, horsemen, Dunbar, and Southern Nigeria's kings, palaces, arts , dances , masquerades, cultural cuisine (foods) are areas that Nigeria needs to develop for international tourism.
PoliticsRe: UK Home Office In Threat To Deport Disabled Man To Nigeria After 38 Years In UK by Litmus: 8:22am On May 20, 2024
The social engineering, "Deportation" , weapon often employed by Western nations is something the Nigeria state has not yet learned to deploy. There are many people Nigeria should deport. The Nigeria state should take advantage of the fact that we don't in Nigeria keep much record on Deaths and Births. I have hardly met a Nigerian with a birth certificate. If this is as widespread as I believe, Technically, many Nigerians are not citizens of Nigeria. Nigeria needs to deport many people from Nigeria, where they end up, Nigeria shouldn't care. Deport the self-entitled Swaggering Angry of Nigeria to the Libya desert!
CrimeRe: Soldiers Retaliate After Clash With Abuja Traders(video) by Litmus: 1:49am On May 20, 2024
I generally have no sympathy for Nigeria's civilians when they're in conflict with authority. For me Nigeria's civilians are altogether too entitled and much of this is informed by an overblown sense of America. Nigerians need to calm down and cease with these swelling with anger and swaggering about in fury because of some misguided sense of righteous Abroadness.
PropertiesRe: Lagos Law Mandates Approval Before Any Building Must Be Renovated by Litmus: 12:07pm On May 19, 2024
What are the penalties for contravening any of these dictact?
PoliticsRe: Bandits Kidnap Over 80 In Katsina by Litmus: 1:21am On May 16, 2024
Kidnapping in the north is becoming so regular someone entrepreneurial could become rich by setting up a kidnapping betting shop.
PoliticsRe: Bandits Kidnap 500 Zamfara Residents, Sack Dozens Of Villages, Kill 2 Policemen by Litmus: 11:04pm On May 14, 2024
Governorship is a secure political career otherwise how does an executive loose five hundred of anything without resigning. undecided
PoliticsRe: Delta Government Commences Demolition Of Illegal Structures by Litmus:
Good. The Lagos situation shows us that overlooking liberty-taking in the name of, "going easy on the people because life is difficult and we are 3rd world", only leads to the same people becoming entitled.

A stick in time saves nine planking in future.
PetsRe: Nigerian Family Excited After Puppy They Ordered Arrives From Russia (pics/vid) by Litmus: 8:58pm On May 14, 2024
Donyenye:
Una never talk wetin make una dey happy shocked
because i no understand the kind excitement.. 🤔
Even the fact that something ordered from Russia arrived in Nigeria, and did so safely too, is worth celebrating.

it's funny how some of the most important progress takes place in Nigeria without people noticing.

Anyway, I'm assuming postal services of some kind was responsible and not a visitor, friend or relative.
Car TalkThe New Mercedes G-Wagon Electric by Litmus(op): 11:04am On May 14, 2024
Foreign AffairsRe: S. Africa Unveils New Parliament Design Following 2022 Fire (PICS) by Litmus: 12:11am On May 11, 2024
I see posters are mainly pleased and celebratory over this creative South Africa new parliament. But this is the odd thing about Niraland, people are usually only happy when developments occur in other Africa nations. They are usually very unhappy about developments taking place in Nigeria, which begs the question are these Niralanders really Nigerians?
PoliticsRe: He Says Stop Coastal Road Project. Is He A South South Man? by Litmus(op): 1:18pm On May 10, 2024
helinues:
Who is he?
I don't know, which was why I asked. He is very adamant. But there's method to my mind. For instance, I've strong views on the Nigeria Niger republic railway project although from the southern Delta state. I expect I have a right to express doubt and advocate its cancellation as a Nigerian due to the project's international dimensions and potential national security implications. However If the project was a railway line linking only Northern Nigeria states, and the cost became a topic of political debate, and maybe including arguments over perceived imbalance in national investment awards, I may have my say and opinions but ultimately I don't believe it would be my place as an individual from Delta state to fight tooth and nail to have projects meant for other states of Nigeria stoped.
PoliticsHe Says Stop Coastal Road Project. Is He A South South Man? by Litmus(op): 12:51pm On May 10, 2024
PoliticsWas Nigeria Niger Republic Railway Project Okayed By NASS by Litmus(op):
Lagos-Calabar coastal highway: Project not okayed by NASS, procurement for probe — REPS

By Gift ChapiOdekina

ABUJA — The House of Representatives said yesterday the controversial Lagos-Calabar coastal highway had no National Assembly’s approval.
It also resolved to investigate the procurement process of the coastal highway.
The House also called on the Minister of Works, Minister of Finance and the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice to ensure that all project guarantees and credit enhancement instruments are sent to the National Assembly for approval.
The Green Chamber equally mandated its committees on Procurement and Works to investigate the procurement process of the contract for the project

Recall that the project has generated a lot of controversies, with former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, and Presidential Candidate of Labour Party, LP, in the 2023 election, Mr Peter Obi, asking the Federal Government to come clean on the project.
The motion, titled “Urgent need to investigate the procurement process and award of contract for the Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway’’, was moved by Austin Achado(APC-Benue) at plenary in Abuja.
Moving the motion, Achado said award of the contract did not follow due process, adding that it also did not get the approval of the National Assembly, hence the need to thoroughly investigate the procurement process of the contract.
Achado said: “The House is disturbed that the contingent liabilities accruing to the Federal Government of Nigeria on this project violate the Debt Management Office (Establishment) Act of 2023, as Section 22(3) states that the minister shall not guarantee an external loan unless the terms and conditions of the loan shall have been laid before the National Assembly and approved by its resolution.
‘No NASS approval for debt guarantees’
“The guarantees issued to cover the debt financing component of this project do not have the approval of this National Assembly.”
Speaking further, he noted that the Federal Ministry of Works had executed an Engineering Procurement Construction and Finance (EPC+F) contract, in favour of Hitech Construction Company Nigeria Limited, for the delivery of the 700km Lagos to Calabar Coastal Road and Rail Project estimated at a rate of N4.329 billion per kilometre, using reinforced concrete technology for a carriage width of 59.7metres to include 10 lanes, shoulders and rail with additional designs of service ducts, street lights, drainages and shore protection.
Construction of coastal routes can strengthen naira — FG
He further noted that the project, with the prospect of providing easy access for the movement of goods and services across the nation, has a financing structure, as announced by the Minister of Works, which required the Federal Government to provide 15 to 30% co-financing, while the private sector counterpart will provide the balance, and toll the road when completed for a minimum period of 15 years, to ensure full recovery of all debts and equity applied for the delivery of the project.
The lawmaker expressed concerns that the procurement strategy might have violated the Public Procurement Act 2007, Section 40(2) which required that where a procuring authority adopts to use Restrictive Tendering Approach, it should be on the basis that the said goods and services are available only from a limited number of suppliers and contractors and as such, tenders shall be invited from all such contractors who could provide such goods and services.
According to him, the procurement strategy adopted by the Federal Ministry of Works for the award of the contract violates the Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission Act 2905, as Section 4 of the Act outlines that all approved infrastructure projects and contracts for financing, construction and maintenance must be advertised for open competitive public bid, in at least three national dailies and Section 5 of the Act further clarifies that any direct negotiations with only one contractor could be allowed, only after exhausting the provisions of section 4 .
He expressed concern that the Federal Ministry of Works, in promoting the project, has provided a rate per kilometre for the planned works, but has not provided the private partner’s financing sources, structure and competitiveness, as this was likely to create contingent liabilities to the Nigerian government.
The House, therefore, asked it’s committees to report back within four weeks.

Ref: https://www-vanguardngr-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.vanguardngr.com/2024/05/lagos-calabar-coastal-highway-project-not-okayed-by-nass-procurement-for-probe-reps/amp/?amp_gsa=1&amp_js_v=a9&usqp=mq331AQIUAKwASCAAgM%3D#amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&aoh=17153408637779&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.vanguardngr.com%2F2024%2F05%2Flagos-calabar-coastal-highway-project-not-okayed-by-nass-procurement-for-probe-reps%2F
TravelRe: The deplorable state of some Roads In Nigeria (video/pictures) by Litmus:
onuman:
Don't you know that the Nigeria versus Biafra war has been pursued in the Economic front by people from some sections of Nigeria; and that Umahi as Works Minister is a ruse like putting Igbos as Information or Foreign Affairs Minister of Nigeria in the bid to project the eastern region of Nigeria as belonging to Nigeria? The buck stops on the President's table.
This excuse can be made for any position or office an Igbo man or woman holds in Nigeria, including presidency. It is the heads i win, tails you lose, (coin-toss) dilemma.
FamilyRe: 3 Lost But Found Akan Brothers In Akwa Ibom State by Litmus: 9:08am On May 10, 2024
In Obodo Oyibo, stray children seem to be in more danger than stray children in Nigeria.

Nigerians do not give themselves enough credit.
Foreign AffairsRe: Togo President, Faure Gnassingbe Abolishes Presidential Election by Litmus: 3:16pm On May 09, 2024
blueAgent:
Those places you mentioned, are they 3rd world countries?

Are they as corrupt as Nigeria and African countries?
They are arguably not as corrupt as Nigeria but more corrupt than Nigeria. Their corruption is just more hidden by the legitimating of "corrupt practices" it in law.

A simple example: a form of bribery will no longer be marked against Nigeria in the collating of scores used to scale nations in the World Corruption Index when Nigeria legitimates the taking of money from the public by the police as Public Servants Benevolence Funds.

Or as ChatGpt rephrased the above:

if Nigeria legitimizes the acceptance of money from the public by the police as a fund for Public Servants' Benevolence, it may no longer be recorded as a form of bribery in the World Corruption Index ratings for the country."
PropertiesRe: Mende Demolitions: How The Developer Deviated From Approved Plan (Pictures) by Litmus:
zombieHUNTER:
State building control goes round to checkmate these developers
There's no way the state wasn't aware of this development till now,
The state should get a huge chunk of the blame here
In the West, due to the Fines and Penalties systems, it is often in the interest of the State's Coffers for citizens to transgress.

Nigerians are the freest people in the World. The forgoing of commensurate freedoms are the wages others pay for their Ordered and cleaner nations. Or as ChatGbt would put it : "Nigerians enjoy unparalleled freedom, while other nations sacrifice certain freedoms for order and cleanliness".
PropertiesRe: Mende Demolitions: How The Developer Deviated From Approved Plan (Pictures) by Litmus: 11:57am On May 09, 2024
zombieHUNTER:
State building control goes round to checkmate these developers
There's no way the state wasn't aware of this development till now,
The state should get a huge chunk of the blame here
It is eventually too expensive for the State to go from place to place trying to enforce certain laws.

In the West , they adopted the fines and Penalties systems to mitigate this. If Lagos State as well as other States in Nigeria adopted this method, the people whose homes or and estates are being demolished for contravening the relevant regulations would find themselves in far worst positions. This is since they would also foot the bill for the demolition of thire own homes or serve jail terms.
TravelRe: How Much Does It Cost To Travel To Malaysia? by Litmus: 11:28am On May 09, 2024
Are roads, including flyovers,in that state a priority? Are beggars, homeless people, hospitals and schools not of higher priority?
Car TalkHe Says This Highest Density EV Battery Is Now In Vehicles Not Phantasy by Litmus(op): 9:45am On May 09, 2024
ComputersRe: Microsoft Africa Development Center In Ikoyi To Shut Down by Litmus: 2:32pm On May 08, 2024
James91:
My happiness is that if you check well all the staff are from one or region, when the company was recruiting, they may not allow them to recruit from other tribes, now these people are they one becoming unemployed.
I believe people from other African nations are employed there too. There was, if memory serves me, a CNN or Al-Jazeera expose on the place. If true how would this impact your belief that employment at the centre is based on tribe ?
ComputersRe: Microsoft Africa Development Center In Ikoyi To Shut Down by Litmus:
On a more serious and alternative note: I have little doubt that if orientals such as Chinese, Koreans, Japanese were at the helm of Microsoft, Microsoft would not leave Nigeria. At least not in favour of Kenya than Nigeria.

Nigerians need to factor in these things.
ComputersRe: Microsoft Africa Development Center In Ikoyi To Shut Down by Litmus: 1:04am On May 08, 2024
Microsoft Africa Development Center In Ikoyi To Shut Down
Microsoft center is not a priority when there are masses of Lagosians dispossessed of thire homes that require food and rehousing. The Microsoft Centre building should be requisitioned and turned into a feeding centre and temporary accomodation.
BusinessRe: Binance: Nigeria Setting Dangerous Precedent For Firms By Detaining Executives by Litmus: 12:24am On May 08, 2024
vengertime:
Nigeria is a criminal enterprise that think it's a country. It's a kidnapping centre of the world.

They kidnapped two innocent people

Why Bomb Gaza and Iran when US and any other super powers can bomb Nigeria to pieces to make the world a better place
Nigerians behold your fellow Africans. If he had the power, he'd slaughter millions of you for the sake of a couple of Asians.

...and Nigeria is busy investing billions to link Nigeria roads to the rest of the shithole Africa nations to which such scumbags belong undecided
TravelRe: Relocating To Benin, Togo Or Ivory Coast? by Litmus: 1:43pm On May 07, 2024
solexjames:
Make I leave naija go another African country...I no fit o
That's because they're from those countries originally. They're not Nigerians.

Type of people evicted from under Lagos bridge wanting to return to thire original nations of origin if possible....

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 (of 361 pages)