Stats: 3,324,996 members, 8,419,858 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 03:34 AM

Marksum's Posts

Nairaland ForumMarksum's ProfileMarksum's Posts

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)

TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by marksum: 10:24pm On Jan 11, 2015
hey my people, hope everyone is cool its been a while. Happy new year everyone. Anyone coming to Toronto should be prepared oh the cold no be bean oh..Anyone coming to centennial college for winter semester?? wink
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 1:46pm On Aug 08, 2014
pyhz: sup, pm'ed u already!
Im good bro. I have replied you..Are u coming to centennial college
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 1:44pm On Aug 08, 2014
temidel: II give all the Glory and honor to God Almighty for his grace and unending mercy. My TRV story became successful with nothing else but Gods UNMERITED FAVOUR…indeed!! My story was an exception to the rules or norm!!
I applied online for my TRV on the 1st of July, 2014 only to discover a few days later that I made a huge mistake with my application…I discovered the following:

(1) CIC FORMS: My Family information form was totally incomplete and I also gave wrong information. Due to rush or sheer carelessness I entered a wrong date of birth for myself, which is totally different from my real age (what’s in my international passport). my parents are deceased and I did not include their death dates and city as requested on the form, I failed to declare if I had children or not and sign as required (even though I’m currently single let alone to have kids). I also did not include the country of birth of my siblings in the space provided. and ooops!! I remembered what someone said on this thread about how CIC declines application for people who either provide wrong information or fail to fill their forms completely (https://www.nairaland.com/1475467/travelling-canada-part-5/347)

(2) LOE: My letter of Explanation was not as detailed as it may have been for most people in here. Though just a page, no introduction, didn’t state why I chose to study in Canada, didn’t mention why my uncle was my co-sponsor, let alone state what he stands to benefit from sponsoring me. I only talked about why I chose my course of study, what my academic expectations are and the gap I hope to fill back home with the skills I acquire after study. I also talked a little about my work experience and why I decided to study in the school where I got admitted to and that was all.

I found out about this thread after I had submitted my application and I felt really depressed and looked forward to a denial. I sooo wished I had visited this thread before submitting my application and I knew it can only take Gods unmerited favor for this to be successful, so i fasted and did a lot of prayer work. In fact, at a point i stopped praying and still feared I was going to be denied but lo and behold:

I received a medical request on the 28th of July
Did medicals at Asaju-31st July
Passport Request- 5th August
TRV stamped and passport pickup-8th August

Documents submitted include: CIC forms, My account statement, my co-sponsors (Uncle) account statement, pension statement, Affidavit of sponsor, Letter of Sponsorship, my share certificate, SOP, letter of acceptance, employment letter, promotion letter, paystubs, staff id card, NYSC certificate, degree certificate and transcripts, police clearance certificate, passport info and digital photograph.

Note: I and my uncle don’t bear same surname and I didn’t include my parent’s death certificates

Moral of the story: There’s a God factor which supersedes every human endeavor and there can always be an exception to every rule. But only with God will all things be possible. Congrats to those who already got their TRV’s and to the medicals and TRV hopefuls, PLEASE commit everything to God. Even those who are over qualified still get denied. To those who use their time and resource (data, relevant documents) to attend to various queries in here and guide prospects with viable tips on the application process(Even more than most agents would do)…God will duly reward you with Favor in everything you set your heart to do…
Sorry for the Long, yet inspiring story grin

Canada can’t wait to receive a star!!!!....... Have a great day all.
Congrat broooo. What school are u heading to
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 2:11am On Aug 08, 2014
Hello House...Plz is anybody in the house heading to centennial college or Toronto this fallhuh embarassed
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 1:19pm On Aug 07, 2014
Amefrica: Thanks so much bro! cheesy How Toronto nah?
Tdot dey cool..When u dey show canada na
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 2:40am On Aug 07, 2014
Hello. my People,How who na dey na. Warm greetings from Tdot. Na so so good news i day see oh for house..congrat to everyone who don collect Trv nd to my frosh bro Amefrica, congrat this na true breakthrough oh, we gats wash am oh..Anyone who needs any info abt centennial college feel free to buzz me..The college dey cool sha, Naija peeps plenty there
wink
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:47am On Jan 10, 2014
Tmish: Hello guys, I would like to say a big thank you to this forum. Even tho I joined this forum 2 weeks ago and after d submission of my application. I got important info here on tracking and follow up on my visa. I got my trv on 6th December and traveled to Canada the next day.

Please is there anybody on this forum in Conestoga College? Pls hola at me so we can meet up. I'd like to meet like minds in this zone with many unfamiliar faces smiley.
Congrat dear, so did ur vfs status change b4 u got ur Trv...I tap 4rm ur blessing
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 7:01pm On Jan 09, 2014
BashToks: I was denied on the grounds that
"You have not been able to convince us that you are a bonafide student" which according to vfs is what they say when they have no candid excuse for denying an applicant.
I did everything by the book didn't leave any room for error and yet I got denied at the last minute.
VFS said they got way too many denials for a week or 2 cos they heard a new new immigration officer stepped in to handle applications for 6 weeks.
So bad timing for me and all the other numerous people that got denied during that period I guess.

I have one question for people that have used or are using the online application route though..
Do I need to upload a receipt for tuition payment right from the start or should I wait until the embassy asks me to do that.. cos as it is am due to get my full tuition refund from Seneca college by end of January so I can now use that to pay for my new school.
ThanKs!
Sorry abt the delay bro...did u do ur medical b4 u got delayed
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 6:55pm On Jan 09, 2014
Anointed111: guy hwfa with ur trv na.. sorry I can't read all through again..... anyway I dey wait fir u here fir centennial. ... wish u well bro
Bro hw far na, how centennial...Me sef still dey expect my trv ooo..I must resume this Jan o, hope say dem go fit extend registration date
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 4:30pm On Jan 08, 2014
eazzzy1: Hi everyone so i just tracked my application now and it says my processed passport is ready for collection.

I applied via paper route august 8 2013

I got the mail to go for my medicals and pay my accomodation fee on 20th november 2013

I did my medicals at asaju on 29th nov 2013

I resubmitted my passport and receipt on 10/12/2013

And my visa got out on 8th january 2014

It took 5months and 2days.

I have been a lowkey follower of the thread, thanks house.
Wish me luck in canny.
Congrat bro,I tap from ur blessing..I shall share my testimony here 2moa...In jesus name.Amen.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 1:56pm On Jan 07, 2014
Princessterry: Glory to God. I got my TRV yesterday. I submitted on oct 3,paper route. Medicals 13th of December and finally TRV 6th of Jan.
To all medicals and TRV hopefuls, God will do it as He has done mine in Jesus name (AMEN)
Congrat dear.I tap frm ur blessings,This week is my week, I wld get my Trv.in jesus name.Amen
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:48pm On Jan 05, 2014
marksum: If u are instructed to go do ya medical, u wld need to get a Gud,hospital that wld be able to send ur medix 2 the embassy very fast,Afta that is done..the Trv is urs
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:35pm On Jan 05, 2014
trodon: @ marksum: Thanks for your response. What about the medical? Can everything be concluded in just one month? I am just trying to figure out when i should advice him to apply
If u are instructed to go do ya medical, u wld need to get a Gud,hospital that wld be able to send ur medix 2 the embassy,Afta that is done..the Trv is urs
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 10:16pm On Jan 05, 2014
trodon: Abeg my wonderful people, is it faster applying online?
Yeah online is the fastest o.Online take jst 1month while paper route take lyk 2-6month..so go for the online route
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 9:02am On Jan 05, 2014
Sleek5: We have same resumption date and we are in the same shoes. Done medics and waiting for cdhc. Going to lambton. Sometime this week, I will email them again and see. The wait is nt easy..
Yea o, the wait isn't easy @ all o.but I know,This week,we shall celebrate wif our Trv.By the special grace of God..Amen.....Are u on bbm?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 8:46pm On Jan 04, 2014
Sleek5: Marksum why don't you send them(embassy) a mail? You never know.
Sleek, I have mailled dem o, still haven't gotten a reply Nd I just have one week left o, skol dey resume on d 7th...deadline 4 resumption na 13th..I have don medix tho! Wat abt u wah skol are u heading 2?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 4:49pm On Jan 04, 2014
saxywale: feels good to be on here after serving my ban. congrats to all guys and babes that have collected their trv. i wish you all success in your studies in the maple leaf country.

I and a friend just discovered a way of getting very good rates for one way fliers(not one way tickets) for klm/airfrance/lufthansa so i thought i should share as it may save some extra dollars. I haven't tried it on middle eastern countries airline.

When you are about to book your tickets online, select return/ multiple destination. We used a family of two i.e husband and wife, We used Calgary & Edmonton for destination airport from Lagos, then chose Toronto to London for the return journey.

The result was:

$2500 for the return/multiple destination option. i.e lagos-calgary-toronto-london. if for one person.it's $1250.

$3800 for return trip to lagos. i.e lagos-calgary-calgary lagos.

$4650 for one way lagos-calgary.

Note: This is for two adult. I hope it helps someone.
Congrat,bro..I tap from ur blessings..is it tru ur vfs tracking num,u got 2 knw ur visa is ready or did yu go 2 d Embassy
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:45pm On Jan 03, 2014
britiko: To you lord, be all the glory,honour and Adoration. I'm so happy.
I came, I saw and I conquered!
It has been a long and challenging journey of over seven months.
I had two interviews,medicals and further medicals instructions.
And finally, today I got my TRV...
Its the lords doing and its marvellous in my sight.
I'm so grateful to this thread. Learnt so much despite d fact dat I had submitted before I found it out.

Applied 24th May
Applied as an HOUSEWIFE.
Applied with a lump sum deposit a day to submission.( Good account turnover prior to d deposit)
Medicals- 17th Sept
Further medicals- 4th, Nov
Trv issued- 3rd Jan.

My husband was my sole sponsor.
All Supporting doc were his.

All required forms, family composition form etc
Bank draft
Letter of acceptance
Police clearance cert
University transcripts
Birth certificates(husband's, daughter's and mine)
Landed Properties evaluation
Tax clearance certificates
SOA- 8.5 million.(Savings account)
Company account- 30million
Cash domicilliary account- 33,000 dols.
company. Cert of reg. CO2 and CO7
Audited company's report.
Affidavit of support by husband
Sponsorship letter signed by company's board of Directors.

Management certifications.
Passports showing Travel history.
Lots of prayers( I was discouraged @ some point)

My interviews were more or less hot debates to convince the VO's on
Purpose of visit
My home ties
And that I would return after my studies.

Looking back, I'm grateful for d interviews.

ADVICE.
Never give up in ur pursuit for success.
Challenges, obstacles might rear dier ugly heads, embrace with all boldness. It makes u stronger and refined.
My trv is a testimony to d glory of God.
Pls, always turn in ur application well ahead of time.
Never u tender fake document, if found out, u might be banned for a min of 2yrs without you being aware of their decision.
Overall, never u forget the place of prayers.
May God crown our efforts with success.
Congrat ma, wish u all d best in canny..plz did your vfs status change, when d cdhc told you to go get ur visa @ Ikeja nd also how were u able to see a Vo, today @ Cdhc
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 2:28pm On Jan 03, 2014
ojoolajire: Asaju on December 9, but I have been to the embassy like three times after then, just to keep a little pressure on then . try and track your application because it seems they gave a lot of people today
ok tnx..but did ur vfs status change?..plz when did u submit ur application
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 2:13pm On Jan 03, 2014
Princessterry: Congrats dear
how far, I have nt seen ur Pm o..plz resend it
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 2:02pm On Jan 03, 2014
ojoolajire: using the toilet at VFS office to pass away all the stress and wahala. I don't chop TRV after 4months of waiting. All thanks to God and my Uncle. I will forever be grateful to him.
My broda congrat oooo,When u do ur medics? Nd which hospital u do am
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum:
ojoolajire: whether them they attend to people or not. I stormed embassy today. and actually nobody attended to me but I sent another message to their email there. immediately I got a response that my application has been finalised that I should go to VFS.. I am so nervous right now. I pray to God for it to be a good news. #medical done #full tuition paid. God of Miracle will surely give me a reason to smile today. so nervoussssssssss
You shall testify today in jesus name,When nd where did u do ur medics nd which Email adress did u,send d message 2?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 1:03pm On Jan 03, 2014
britiko: Hmmn, VO dey halla(no inperson enquiry)
Don't u know?
britiko dey smilee..
Today na today...
Trv loading...
All is well.
By his grace , yu would get it today..In jesus name..So are u @ Cdhc
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:21am On Jan 03, 2014
obichijiokeobi: Please how can I get d cheapest flight to canada. Plan moving on Sunday. Just got my TRV.
Congrat bro,I tap frm ur blessings..mine is next in jesus name
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 11:12am On Jan 03, 2014
britiko: By fire by force storming...
Trv Loading......
Gud morning,ma
Can we now storm d embassy now?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 10:02am On Jan 03, 2014
Princessterry: @Marksum How far?. Please check ur mail. Tnx
Am fyn nd u.I wld check it now
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 7:00pm On Jan 02, 2014
eddydestiny: THANK YOU FOR QUICK RESPONSE.PLEASE YOU MADE MENTION OF A WEB SOME ONE CAN USE TO COMPRESS HIS DOCUMENT,PLEASE CAN YOU STILL MENTION IT AGAIN.THANKS
http://compress.smallpdf.com/
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 8:15pm On Dec 31, 2013
Onye oma: Thanx bro...You'll surely get yours
Amen oooooo
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 4:56pm On Dec 31, 2013
Onye oma: [b]HAPPY NEW YEAR IN ADVANCE FRIENDS...

Wishing you all your good heart desires as we enter the new year...We shall all witness our good news this coming year...

CONGRATS to all my people that have gotten their both their medical and TRV approval...MISS BON, AMBEYH, NASDAQ (Could only remember these names cos @ a time they hijacked the thread via BABA CHRIGO the noise maker's influence)

HUZZIE my man: Your congrats is special cos you're a great guy...and our worthy CORDINATOR...

@ Chatters: Dear, I've been doing fine ooo...Thanx for such a care shown by asking after me.

To God be the Glory: I got my TRV on December 2, 2013 (2 weeks after medicals on 19th November, 2013)...I've been absent from NL for some time now...cos of some personal reasons...

Our Lady of Perpetual Help...St. Michael, Gabriel & Raphael the Arch-angels...St Rita( Saint of the Impossible and most hopeless cases)....St. Philomena...St. Henry (my Patron saint)...All the Angels and Saints in Heaven, I Thank you for your powerful INTERCESSION before the Almighty God on my behalf thru out the course of my Visa processing which lasted for almost a year (11 months precisely from admission processing to TRV approval).[/b]
Congrat broda, I tap frm ur blessing
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 9:25am On Dec 31, 2013
Ambeyh: bro am sori amma call u 2day,in d nite.
Bro hw fa na ,u don dey canny?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 7:52am On Dec 31, 2013
FISLAG: Thanks guys, ire na a Kari o, like we say in Yoruba! As this year draws to a close today all of our outstanding TRV's and medicals calls would come forth today IJN!

Please I need help! I'm based in Abuja and came in with an evening flight ystdy to collect TRV, now the letter from CIC dint state specifically where to go submit my passport, it just gave the option of vac Ikeja or Cdhc on the island. I'm heading to the island, guess I'm on track? Tanks
Yes u are on track. Embassy is the best place to go, for ur passport to be stamped...so wat school are u heading to?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 5 by marksum: 7:00pm On Dec 30, 2013
FISLAG: Ok, I was able to log in too. When did the person apply and has he been called for medics? Online route takes actually about a month and 2 weeks before you get called for TRV. I applied on the 12th of November and got called for my medics 10th dec 4weeks afta application ( but its usually 3 weeks precisely as stated on the site if you were to get a denial, I know this becos my 1st application decision was received in exactly 3 weeks). By 20th dec they had received my medics and it was stated online that I passed my medical examination. And then got called for TRV today 30th dec. #oluwa was largely involved#

PS: I be chair lady o! #smiles
Congrat dear,I largly tap frm ur blessing,mine would b next IJN..so wah skol are u heading to?

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)