baretalk: The way to true prosperity is creating production units, manufacturing, processing of agro based products and natural resources to finished products and exporting. Importing enriches only the importer business man, clearing agent, and customs, but when you encourage investment and production, you prosper the nation and earn foreign exchange. Nigeria is worlds largest importer of champagne, rice etc, we have been importing, that is what killed our currency and economy. When we took IMF loans and had to follow their instructions on free trade and open borders, our naira started crashing. Obi is not smart enough.
Lol.. Na you no smart.
So how will you produce? or u think say production na only agricultural produce?
If someone wants to maybe produce cars or electronics components can the person get all the materials in Nigeria that you are now restricting import?
I a sure, he will decide what to allow and what not to allow as is always the case.
But comming here to say anything import is bad is u being smart by half
babaolofin: He is a crude trader. Just like Onitsha Main Market or Ariara or Alaba market uncivilised trader.
That is a container economic theorem.
He was the Special Adviser to Goodluck Jonathan on Economy, the economy failed woefully. That time, he was the Anambra State governor and Jonathan honoured him and made him Special Adviser on Economy, his sister, Ngozi Okonjo Iweala was the head of the Economic team, they liquidated Nigeria, after, the woman ran away.
IBETO was allowed to import and package cement in PortHarcout while FMN, BUA, Dangote & Lafarge invested on local production. There are so many things I don't want to discuss here. Apart from IBETO, there are many other deals that took place among their kinsmen. That is why they insisted Jonathan should not be probed.
In 1993, during the Presidential Debate on NTA Network service between Abiola and Tofa, Tom Ikim and Nduka Obaigbena were on the side of Tofa. They asked them a question on how to bring exchange rate down and stabilize Naira. Tofa said, he would peg Naira to Dollar rate. Abiola said a Glasgow Trained Accountant can never say he would peg Naira to Dollar. He explained that there are factors that forces exchange rate, you analyse the factors and work upon them to control exchange rate.
Container economist can say anything.
No dey sound as if u smart. U are dumb Lol
How will u become a producig nation when u don't have the raw material needed t produce? So producers will struggle to buy forex at a high rate to bring in raw materials that are not available in NIgeria to produce and produce and sell at cheap dollar rate??
U get sense at all or ab u think say agriculture na the only means to produce?
U call him a crude trader but he managed to manage a bank and today the bank is top 5. But your TInubu Oando has gone maourbund.
deji17: That is how a trader thinks. Turn Nigeria into a dumping ground for all kind of junks. Container economist..
Three candidates. 1. One wants to sell Nigeria assets to his friends at ridiculous price. 2. Second one wants to liberate imports and turn Nigeria into a dumping ground for foreign goods. 3. The 3rd one wants to focus on production of goods like cassava, ewa, agbado etc thereby providing employment to our youths...
Honestly, the choices cannot be more clearer than this.
How do u intend to be aproducing nation without importing?
Or is it only agriculture that Nigeria will produce?
Ona dey sound like say una dey intelligent but na olodo u be.
casualobserver: On the contrary it is only ignoramuses that will think he just said something intelligent which speaks to the problem with the Obidients!!!
It is only ignorant people you can be saying this things to. Informed people know from this statement that you are clueless. To begin with monetary policies are the preserve of the central bank. If the central bank is independent then you cannnot tell them what their monetary policy should be. Govt can only effect the economy through fiscal policies!!!
If your central bank is independent you have no control over monetary policy, you have no control over the main instruments of inflation fighting and you have no control over forex policy!!!! How clueless and daft is this guy?
What he just said is contradictory but most people won’t know because they are ignorant and those who know like his audience will be thinking to themselves “this man is an idiot””. But they will clap for him because that’s what Oyinbo do!!!
Yes we need to fight inflation and eliminate the 2 tier forex window but you have no power to do that if you give the central bank true autonomy and independence!!!! If they are truly independent and chose not to there is nothing you can do as far as monetary policy!!!!! You cannot make promises on something over which you have no power. It just shows this man is clueless and is just saying anything to get elected…..luckily for him most of his supporters are ignorant but luckily for Nigeria he won’t become President!!!!
An independent central bank is currently increasing interest rates to fight inflation in the process tipping the US into recession, 5 eeeks before mid term elections, same with the Uk and there is nothing Biden or LISS Truss can do about it. So Obi either doesn’t understand what he is saying or he is just lying or trying to sound intelligent but succeeding only with ignoramuses!!! You cannot have an independent central bank and control monetary policy!!!
Did u not read the part where he said he will "Insist"?
Or do u not knw the maning of insist again and why he chosed that word?
I don't know if this is a well intended lie. But be that is it may, it is important to point out that the igbo spoken in Bonny is the Ndoki version, Bonny chiefs had in the past, resisted teh usage of central Igbo or other Igbo as a means of comunicaition. That is why today Bonny do not speak central Igbo or other igbo aside Ndoki. And you know that Ndoki were never slaves in Bonny. GOing by this, it is stupid to claim that Bonny speak Igbo because of slave trade,
Bonny has been spaking Igbo even before the advent of slave trades cause Ndoki founded Bonny and the first set of Kings in Bonny were Ndokis.
The Igbo captain hugh recorded were Ndoki dialect. No other Igbos who migrated to Bonny called 1 "Oli/Oly" aside Ndoki.
So this ur claim of Bonnny speak Igbo cause of slave is a bg fat lie!!
Chidibe212: Please make a topic on this using this YouTube link let us see if Osewa and his moderators won't take it to FP. When there don't then we will know what nairaland stance for politically & I swear, I will deactivate my account if such topic did not make FP and I believe others will follow suit
This is a response to a video Reno shared regarding Obi's opinion about IPOB in 2015
Watching thru the Video I am yet to find where he falters.
One thing I like about Obi is in his integrity and courage to say what has to be said despite how uncomfortable it will make you feel.
No 1. When Obi made that Interview, IPOB was only interested in carry flags and protesting. There was no ESN or any intention to bear arms.
No. 2. Him Saying IPOB are not terrorists then is him being practical and factual. The agitators for referendum and succession can never be branded terrorists by any country. US, Britain, etc. have all discarded the call to label IPOB terrorists cause they know they are not.
No. 3. His saying I live with them and eat them is also being practical and courageous with the truth. I was in support of Kanu agitations, just ike millions of working-class Igbos then. They were protesting and canvasing for their separate country. Will you now call them terrorists for doing so?? If you say yes then sorry, I am not here to entertain fools. One of my brother's teachers was an IPOB member, they go to meetings to advance the cause for separation in the evening, in the morning they go to their work, will you call them terrorists? Of course not. Catalonians protesting and seeking secession in Spain are not called terrorists why would he have called IPOB terrorists than when they were not bearing arms? Watch his
Also, you will agree with me that the approach FG used to handle IPOB did not solve the matter nor did it curb it, rather it only escalated it beyond the manageable control of the State Government and now beyond FG (seemingly).
This is why Yaradua stands tall amongst all.
I drop my pen.
Now let's hear what he has to say about IPOB's recent modus Operandi
Watching thru this Video I am yet to find where he falters.
One thing I like about Obi is in his integrity and courage to say what has to be said despite how uncomfortable it will make you feel.
No 1. When Obi made that Interview, IPOB was only interested in carry flags and protesting. There was no ESN or any intention to bear arms.
No. 2. Him Saying IPOB are not terrorists then is him being practical and factual. The agitators for referendum and succession can never be branded terrorists by any country. US, Britain, etc. have all discarded the call to label IPOB terrorists cause they know they are not.
No. 3. His saying I live with them and eat them is also being practical and courageous with the truth. I was in support of Kanu agitations, just ike millions of working-class Igbos then. They were protesting and canvasing for their separate country. Will you now call them terrorists for doing so?? If you say yes then sorry, I am not here to entertain fools. One of my brother's teachers was an IPOB member, they go to meetings to advance the cause for separation in the evening, in the morning they go to their work, will you call them terrorists? Of course not. Catalonians protesting and seeking secession in Spain are not called terrorists why would he have called IPOB terrorists than when they were not bearing arms? Watch his
Now let's hear what he has to say about IPOB's recent modus Operandi
saintrow1: Shey then born your own useless papa well or you even get father self. Werey for your mind you think you are superman abi, you know that this is a forum and that person can't see you or locate you so you are beating your dirty chest. Just wait for tinubu to enter office. Oloshi
May God punish make I jam ur type den u come tell me that nonses=nse. I go beat ewedu comot rom your bele
It's funny How Yorubas that are leading in Ritual Killing, Cyber fraud, Indian Hemp and Drug sales (Especially in Mushin) are saying Igbos are spoiling Nigeria's name.. Clowns
Even TInubu has a drug case with US in the 90's that he had to forfeit money. Recently a governor's aide was arrested in US for fraud. Yoruba don spoil Nigerian name since 90's if God Forbid he becomes president, then we will have our first ex-drug peddling president.
In Lagos, Yoruba youths now aspire to do fraud. Abi na skull mining I wan talk abi ritual wey dem kills governor pikin for SW??
Wetin Yoruba never do?
But yet dem no dey make am. Their envy be say upon all the hustle e no pay dem, now them dey find who dem go use pour there frustration.
SHUT UP AND QUIET YOURSELF!!
Ur people are criminals too. .Killing people for money rituals and you dare come here to say Igos are giving Nigerians bad name.. Idiot!
HABA NA, DEM SWEAR FOR UNA JUST THIS YEAR ALL THIS!!
Just Ritual killings and all this came out on a role. Na wa. Make una stop to dey kill una self na, if u no be Igbo u no be Igbo. No too gree die to make am.
Yoruba like drugs, we only supply them as Businessmen wey we be, even though we rarely take am. What's the fux here? Is drugs more deadlier and criminal than ritual killings
KUNU ZUKWANIKE!
DON"T WORRY, AT THE RIGHT TIME, YOU WILL BE WEALTHY AS IGBOS. NO RUSH, JUST LEARN TRADE AND TAKE LIFE SMALL SMALL
Dsalvo: That is what makes Igbos despicable. Davido sang "if you no get money hide your face".
Should Igbos not hide their faces when they are the biggest and most disgraceful criminals in Nigeria with a large percentage of their net worth directly affiliated with criminal activities?
Instead they will attack Tinubu all day while praising their drug barons like Obi Cubana, E-money etal as symbols of Igbo 'business' superiority.
They busy themselves daily insulting Yorubas and others as "lazy" and "unambitious" folks they are "dominating" in their own States and domain yet we see everyday that the wealth and 'success' Igbos brag about is based on criminality 90%.
I can't wait for regional governance so we all go and build progressive lives from our regional bases.
We will see how badly Igbos, ingrates who keep fighting and demonizing their hosts , will be exposed as parasitic criminals and empty barrels once Nigerians begin to shape their regions as pleases indigenes.
Mandate2023: But zombidients and mumudients said we should go and verify that obi has turned Anambra to small London that even d airport obiano built was with the money obi left behind
D only achievement of obi as governor we have seen is d hype on social media to make it look as if he did something but we've gone to verify we did not see anything....he only invested Anambra money into 'life beer' and also into some of his personal companies
When Obi was Governor, Obosi was still a bush. ANambra is developing rapidly and the need for moee roads is increasing.
EVen Awka was not as developed as it is when Obi was governor, if Awka needed 10 roads when Obi was governor, now I am sure they will be needing 100s.
ANambra is developing rapidly and more than 5 LGA is developing very fast.
A typical example is this Abakpa area. When Obi was Governor it used to be the hideout of cultists and criminals and was just one forest. Obi flushed them out, the place became peaceful. After he left Office people are now buildig rapidly, now these houses will need access roads.
BTW, Obi never said he fisxed all the roads in ANambra, today Anambra can boast of 10 lane road. Thans to Obi
Pic 1: Abakpa Forest Now Pic 2,3,4: Roads contrusted by Obi
Pacesetterz: U dnt nid 2 tell me. I know the lunatic with 20monikers is not from the southeast. A serious findings points him to be frm d Niger delta but instead of him owing up he’s rather quoting with all his numerous ids. The guy is an impersonator,he impersonates one of the big names here. Both are even partners in crime. So xerxerz,globemoney,0fodirinwa,and co we know it’s one person running the accts. until ur cup go full one day
It's very Obivious. He does not know how to disguise
Kingsbuchi: He is not from Imo ,don't mind the fool..He is Chino from Anambra ,he told you Imo in order to make his assertion more substantial, that's psychology. He is the same person as Xerz Xerz ,globemoney, Ndibunna...There are two Ofodirinwa here, one is real from Imo the other is a nitwit and impersonator from Anambra. Be careful he might clone your name.
investnow2013: MARKING SIX MONTHS IN OFFICE, SOLUDO FLAGS OFF ADDITIONAL 60.34 KILOMETERS OF ROADS IN ANAMBRA
By Christian ABURIME
As part of activities marking his sixth months in office as Governor of Anambra state, Professor Charles Chukwuma Soludo has continued to demonstrate commitment to duty and campaign promises made, by flagging off the construction and rehabilitation of about sixty point thirty four (60.34) kilometer of more roads across the state.
The event began by flagging off the rehabilitation of the twenty six (26) kilometer Awba-Ofemili-Amansea road which will be completed within a record time of sixteen (16) months.
Another road flagged off by the Governor was the 26.4 kilometer Amansea-Ndiukwuenu-Awa-Ufuma road which will be completed in four (4) months.
The six hundred (600) meter stretch Isu/Igbo, Isuofia/Igboukwu section of the Ekwulobia/Nnobi Road, popularly called 'Isu/Igbo river was not left out as well as the seven point seven-nine (7.79) kilometer Akpaka to Basilica road, Onitsha North Council Area.
While the Isu/Igbo road will be completed in four months time, it is projected that the Akpaka road will be completed by May, next year.
According to a pact signed between the state and all the contractors, the roads are built to have at least a minimum of twenty years life span.
Governor Soludo also assured that from Awba-Ofemili, his administration will build a bridge across to Ayamelum. He equally said his government has a commitment with Awka North which he is bound to fulfill.
"I'm so emotional about this place. We even have the road we are designing that will pass through Isuaniocha to Urum and so on. The reason this Amansea to Awba-Ofemili road will take such a long time to complete is because the contractor wants the work to be done on dry stone base.
"Today, we are six months in office and as partners, we need your input in terms of advice and otherwise. I still remember that Ebenebe woman and other people who refused financial inducement during the election".
"Eventhough there is dearth of funds, we are committed to build these roads and more." Governor Soludo reassured
Speaking on the strategic importance of the Amansea-Ndiukwuenu-Awa-Ufuma Road, Governor Soludo explained that with the road in place, Orumba North and South can get to Awka within minutes instead of running round.
In his words: "During the campaign, we went round Orumba, namely; Awa, Ajali, Umunze Nanka, Ezira, and the rest to ask for votes. We say thank you. The All Progressives Grand Alliance is the heritage of Ndi Igbo that should be cherished and nurtured. Ndi Igbo should unite under this party."
Governor Soludo further said, "I've come back to your place because this is a promise given and will be fulfilled. Hopefully, I'll come back through here to Amansea by end of December."
Continuing, the Governor said, "I make special mention of the late Joe Anatune of Awa. He was one big iroko that we lost who believed in the Anambra project. For two years, he relocated to Isuofia, working on it. Before his demise, the late Joe envisioned the Anambra of our dreams. And so we are determined to keep working for he did not die in vain", added the Governor.
"As for the Isu/Igbo Isuofia/Igboukwu section of Ekwulobia/Nnobi road, the Governor said, "this is more like an emergency river. It is man-made. I heard people say that for doing the road, I've recognized that charity begins at home, no. We are actually doing charity from outside in this case. We came to make disruptive change in Anambra."
"Over the next two months, we will be flagging off many roads. But we just began with the strategic ones. We will do this road in two phases. In addition to whatever we are already doing here, we are exploring phase two which is the longer term intervention of channeling the flood water collected here to Agulu lake. And mind you, most of these roads are federal roads. Our people are suffering and we can't continue to wait for the federal. We will continue to fix them, as much as funds allow us". Governor Soludo further reassured
Continuing, the Governor decried the rate at which people arbitrarily erect buildings in public places in Onitsha.
Said the Governor, "sadly, Onitsha was left to die, while people started moving to neighbouring states. That's why we started from clearing and cleaning up the place. We are working on the greater Onitsha water scheme because Onitsha must rise again"
"We promised Ndi Anambra and we've started to gradually take back and deliver our state. We are desilting Nwangene to free the blocked drainages and water paths. There is another road, off Awka road to Trans Nkisi, we are coming", concluded Governor Soludo.
The Commissioner for Works, Engr. Ifeanyi Okoma said that the contractors assured to deliver a road project that has the durability of nothing less than twenty years, explaining that fifty percent of the contract sum have been mobilised for the contracts.
The Secretary to the State Government, Professor Solo Chukwulobelu; Chief of Staff to the Governor, Mr. Ernest Ezeajughi; Deputy Chief of Staff and Chief Protocol officer to the Governor, Hon Chinedu Nwoye (Glamour) and Transition Committee Chairmen, stakeholders and members of the communities visited among others, were present at the event, which witnessed handover of the site certificates to the contractors.
Omanambala: The chairman of southeast governors forum is Umahi but he is the most divisive figure in Igbo political scene. So , tell me how this will happen.
APC governors in SE are dividing SE governors. We should get to a stage where political affiliations should not affect our commitment to development. If AlaIgbo must progress swiftly
Kingsbuchi: Open drainage is common in Nigeria due to torrential rainfall. If we adopt a closed drainage system, we will experience heavy flooding.
UGM/ESN is currently receiving it hot hot in Orsu, airstrike coupled with ground operations. The community have harboured those killers for long, I don't pity them. Kudos to the military
Are are you kidding me? Please don't be repeating this thing again, Southern America receives more rainfall than Nigeria, you won't find such roads there.
EVen PH do't have Open gutters littered in key roads.
I think SE governors should come together to fund and build Igbo Resort/Research Centers which will have a headquarters in a chosen state and a branch in all Igbo land.
I like this design that a good Nwafor did, but it can be better and bolder. A design that has good tall and bold buildings will do the magic.
If one is to be built in Anambra, I will like it to sit on the bank of the Niger River.