Stats: 3,330,484 members, 8,445,694 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 11:53 AM

Playmode's Posts

Nairaland ForumPlaymode's ProfilePlaymode's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 (of 42 pages)

PoliticsRe: Gej Bribes Youths At Youth Lunch by playmode(op): 11:20pm On May 25, 2011
If this is true then we the masses are our own worst enemies.What is up with this man giving everybody transport fares ,lodging people in hotels and flying people down to Nigeria  undecided

Why does Nigeria have so much badluck these days  embarassed
PoliticsGej Bribes Youths At Youth Lunch by playmode(op): 11:09pm On May 25, 2011
An event conceived as part of Jonathan's inauguration week has become a controversial bribe fest in Lagos, with about 400 participants receiving between N50, 000 and N150,000 each.

The event took place yesterday afternoon when Mr. Jonathan had a lunch date with "Nigerian youths" at the Eko Hotel in Lagos as part of his inauguration which takes place next Sunday.  Organized by some young people who were involved in the "What About Us" election campaign, the event on the surface sounded legitimate.

A young person invited to the event from Abuja told SaharaReporters that the event was packaged as though Mr. Jonathan wanted to open dialogue with Nigerian youth but what came out was a sham.

He said, "Last week, I got a call about today's event and it was played up as a conversation with Mr. President, but what happened today was a charade organized by people passing themselves up as youth representatives, who in the reality were closet consultants to the President and his people."

It was a different scenario when he got there.  "It wasn't a conversation, the speakers had been pre-selected," he lamented.  “This is the latest Nigeria youth scam on the block."

But for some deliberate infusion of a few critical comments, the rest involved politically correct speeches and youth kissing up to GEJ, the participant said.

Another commentator told SaharaReporters that they were disappointed by the speech made by Nollywood actress Rita Dominic, who couldn't stop thanking Jonathan profusely for giving $200 million to Nollywood stars.

Another low for the event, according to another participant, was video footage of a British band called "Goodluck Jonathan" which had been shown to participants apparently to prove that Jonathan was a global icon who had inspired a foreign music band.

The event which had originally been put up as “frugal” event of N70 million ended up costing over N150m as some youth participants spent three days at the super expensive Eko Hotel prior to it. Also, some participants were flown from the UK and US.

The event’s arrowheads include Chude Jideonwo of the “Future Project” and Amara Nwankpa, the youth who led a "LightUp Nigeria" campaign. Some participants said they felt scammed by the “What About US” campaign when Jonathan failed to honor a youth debate.  They felt disappointed that the leaders of the campaign turned around and involved themselves with the monumental wastage of scarce national resources at a time the value of the national currency is going down, fuel scarcity has returned and the electricity situation is getting worse.

At the end of yesterday's event, which started at 12:30 and ended at 3pm, an announcement was made that participants would get reimbursement of their transport fare.  That it turned to be a bribe fest as participants from Lagos were offered N50, 000 each while those from out of Lagos state were given N150, 000.

“Some 400 youths were essentially bribed by Mr. President,” said a participant who claimed to have rejected the gratification.  As expected the gratification of participants has ignited a fierce debate on Twitter and other social media channels.

Source: http://www.saharareporters.com/news-page/youth-lunch-jonathan-turns-another-bribe-fest
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 7:08pm On May 25, 2011
tttn726:
@Playmode

Its bitter sweat to see how you feel. Sweat because In my opinion, i,m not crazy when I worry so so hard about what the f$£5 is the matter with us. Bitter because, the whole issue makes my blood boil! Really boil!

I,ll jump right in to tell you, the best you can do is prepare and position yourself and then act. I gather you're out of the country (SA). Equip yourself with knowledge about our history, present, issues, world history/economics. Be the best at what you are doing, go totally entrepreneurial and that may be practice that you can manage resources and do stuff with your hands/brain THEN MOVE MOVE get back into the country or decide how you intend to come in

Right now, I,m in the UK. Right from day one, I,ve had issues with why people on thesame planet as us and in the same time period live like this and we live how we live. History gives me a hell of a headache. Slavery, colonialism, neo colonialism and even present day realities

Yu might say i,m crazy but digging into history, taking in realities of the present has made me shed tears not once or twice, hot tears and that by a man!

I burn with deep anger when I see the boats full of black folks trying to reach Europe "Better to die at sea than in Africa they say"

I am channeling my anger into all I described above -

Gat stuff to do otherwise I could go on and on
Thank for those words and your advice ,they are very encouraging.GOD speed to you.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 6:57pm On May 25, 2011
Orikinla:
Lagos is safer than Johannesburg and Soweto.
Beside the fact that you are off point ,how do you know that this is true.Do you have Lagos' genuine crime stats? Does the NPF even record crime stats in Nigeria?  grin  Last time i checked they write reported crimes with a chalk on a black board only to wipe it off the next day ,some times they record it in an exercise book which gets thrown away or burnt once their file cabinets are full  undecided

Nobody knows the crime rate in Nigeria because no one records it properly.Just yesterday soldiers went on rampage and killed several policemen.Does that sound like something that happens in a safe country?

In the recent election ,NYSC members were murdered ruthlessly as well as other people.Does that sound like a safe country to you.

Do you need me to remind you about how safe Lagos is to the extent that in some neighborhood ,Armed robbers write letters weeks in advance to their potential victims telling them that they will be visiting them shortly to collect their entitlements.

Do i need to also remind you about the numerous killings of innocent civilians by policemen?

Do you need me to go on.The documentary did not focus on crime but poverty so please learn to comprehend what the crux of the matter is.We have repeated it here so many times,let us face our own problems and stop dragging other nations into this discussion.If a South African should visits this thread he will just laugh and assume that Nigerians have inferiority complex since they cannot debate their own issues without dragging SA in to the matter.The Documentary is titled Witness -Lagos  not Witness-Johannesburg  undecided
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 4:54pm On May 25, 2011
Kobojunkie:
That is not true. For one, these same Arabs you speak of now make POUR onto Aljazeera's facebook pages, Facebook, Twitter etc to call on more media houses to carry their issues.  Stop pretending to speak on behalf of Arabs.

Imagine that  . . . . State controlled TV stations call Aljazeera SwineJazeera and suddenly this gumba tells us Arabs do it.

for those who want to know what @Guyman02 is considering the opinion of Arabs, check the site below
https://barenakedislam./2011/04/07/some-arabs-call-news-outlet-al-jazeera-swine-jazeera-for-its-lies-and-deception/
Kobo ,you wicked o  grin grin grin grin grin grin That was some comedic ish.Thanks i really needed that to lift my mood  grin grin

Human Wrongs organization  grin grin grin grin grin grin

Uncivilized nations  grin grin grin grin grin

Comedy ,libyan style  grin grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 4:30pm On May 25, 2011
virtual78:
Watched the video with Mixed feelings, yes the documentary is true, but I got confused with some parts of the video, I am not ready to shed a tear, maybe because i know this is true (although very wrong for people to live like this), and moreover I see this every day and I hate it every day!!!

1. The Beninese Men? What kind of job would u hope to get in a country whose official language is English? The video only identifies them as foreigner, we don’t know what sort of degree they have if any? Or maybe i missed that part.
I believe people on this forum who live/lived abroad especially in Non-English speaking countries would understand better, it is not right to ask migrants to leave though, even the English speaking countries we used to hear the sweetest gist until you see things for yourself……where are the jobs, hey stop complaining (Have you lost your passport)

2. The woman who stays/sells by the railway line, now this one is touching, the way she has narrated the story seems to look like they were not given any notice to leave there, even if they were the government owes it to them to provide them with an alternative, as they are endangering their lives at that location, beside railway (suicide) shocked , seen similar videos of some other countries on the internet too.

3. The okada rider/carpenter? What’s his own story? I would feel extremely pained if he was a graduate or even an OND holder, we all know that in today's Nigeria education only gives u a very little opportunity of making ends meet, but trust me, without education to an extent your chances of sitting in an office with your suit and Tie is history.

4. What was that Okada accident all about? Ozumba just beside law school I recon? Safety first No Helmet, we all know that a large amount of Okada riders have no clue what they are doing when they hit the road, (still part of issues we need to address in this country).

5. The guys at the Dumpsite? Pretty dirty job right? and that makes Nigeria a bad place? No one deserves to work in such a filthy place but then? where will they get  a job and who would employ them? Education comes back into the picture, this is not taking away the fact that there might be a few educated people in a mix, but very minimal I dare say, 
I got bored along the line watching this video, but hey guys am not going to feel bad because some journalist showed a video about Naija, come to think of it, which country  be heaven sef? Hmmm, Nigeria is not the worst country in the world, only problem is that with our Oil, we should be able to live better than this, every child born in Nigeria should be able to enjoy the benefits of a good life coming from an OIL RICH COUNTRY,

TRUTH BE TOLD:
Migration to Lagos has also taken its toll on the state, what we need to understand is that some people would have been better off in their own states, maybe farming,fishing (no shame in this), but the search for greener pastures keeps bringing more people to lagos,  we lagosians sef nefer see the greener pastures
Fair Enough

Guyman02:
You watched what the Arabs now call [b]swine[/b]jazeera and you felt like crying, the station that reports everyday how NATO is bombarding Tripoli a heavily populated city and tell us they are protecting civilians.

Perhaps, they are planning something to destabilise this country and it starts from the media telling us how the 'international Community' is going to assist Nigeria fight poverty and insecurity by locating a NATO military base here.

Shine your eye, there are homeless people everywhere in Europe and how many documentaries have you watched on that?

You can cry me a river, how many documentaries have you watched in Aljazeera showing American Soldiers cutting off their dead victims body parts as souvenirs in Afghanistan (what is more degrading to humans than that?)
Please if you want to talk about news channels dont mention what you see in the corporate medias represented by CNN, Fox, Aljazeera, only watch them with bias.
See how they are promoting that French Woman Lagarde to become the new IMF MD, without mentioning the guy from South Africa or Mexico interested in the position which has been occupied by Europe for the past 65 years or making so many Nigerians to spend 24hrs watching so called royal wedding and thinking that the royals are from outer space which to me is no different from the son of Oba of Benin wedding.
Forget all these documentaries, Aljazeera should be showing us Fasholas achievement in the last four years.
You made valid points but there is nothing wrong in crying for your fellow man who is less privileged than you. Aljazeera may have there own hidden agenda as you say for showing that documentary but it does not make it less true.If you follow the thread ,no one has ever laid blame on Fashola, we all know this problem is bigger than him.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 4:19pm On May 25, 2011
nwa afo:
@playmode,
thank u, u've just been speaking my mind in this thread, i always cry for my dear nation and sometimes regretted bein from there. i may not have stayed a no. of years u hv in S.A but i must confess that since coming here, i hv never found even one reason to believe S.A can ever be compared with Nigeria or any other African country. please if u dont mind, kindly teach me on how you made it through the Black Economic empowerment in S.A, i live in Cape Town, but still a student. inbox me abeg
Edited
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Faces Challenges Of Building West Africa's First Theme Park by playmode(m): 3:47pm On May 25, 2011
Beaf:
They aren't oil companies that destroy life and livelihoods, so why your comment? In any event, the struggle in the creeks has abated, because the area is finally getting the attention it deserves. Its not pillaging and ra'pe as in the past, these days when soldiers go in and destroy places, they are promptly rebuilt and the people given soccour. For once, the ND person feels like a Nigerian, not something the rest of the country spits on while the wealth of the land is tapped.

We should be measured in how we describe the Niger Delta. Its funny how most Nigerians are callous about it, but foreigners view it as a disgraceful human rights disaster; indeed, Hilary Clinton recently said the the Niger Delta is colonised by the rest of Nigeria. Do you know the ND is the Worlds most polluted wet lands?

This excerpt is from the Huffington Post:

http://www.aolnews.com/2010/05/23/nigerian-spills-make-valdez-look-like-drop-in-bucket/

Here's an excerpt from CNN article that should interest you (you can watch a vid if you click the link):

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/africa/06/29/nigeria.oil/index.html
So when do we start buying tickets ? I will take two "adult" tickets and 3 "child" tickets. Also any news on affordable accomodation.I can't afford 5 star hotel O! grin grin grin grin grin

They must consider us the average joes because affordable accommodation will be key to the success of the park. cool

Most importantly they must get their advertising strategy right to attract a lot of tourists.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 3:15pm On May 25, 2011
otitokoro1:
I am sure this guy just installed DSTV or Star-time and trying to announce it,  grin grin grin

Must you watch Aljazereel before acknowledge Nigerians are suffering? 

Emi a looo grin grin grin
Duh ,did you not read where i said i watched it on my laptop  undecided

Which one be star Trek now  huh

Yes i have always known that Nigerians are suffering but does that mean i must not speak about it in 2011 because i already knew Nigerians were suffering since 1980s  undecided
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 2:05pm On May 25, 2011
cvibe:
Where is Eko Ile? Your comment is required with respect to this video.
The fault is not that of Fashola but that of our leadership since our independence.Unfortunately in an effort to clean up Lagos ,some of these people will fall victim to the LASG bulldozers.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 2:03pm On May 25, 2011
Kobojunkie:
Well, you don't have to wondeer anymore. Many of them are already here to stand in line to give you "Classic 'manufactured' excuses" for what the problems presented in the video.

I mean we already have people saying there are slums in South Africa too as if that sort of makes the fact that 80% of Nigerians live in less than $2 dollars a day all good. You already have people attempting to bring indian slums and slums in other poorer countries in to this to justify or excuse what was said in the videos. Heck, some have even gone as far as to attack Aljazeera, claiming it unfair and what not. I mean this is what many of our diasporans do -- make excuses so we can wait for the next video to make some more.  grin
Kobo ,i tire o! I honestly was not expecting such lame excuses and i did not know that it is now a crime to sympathize with the less privledged in our society!

When i read some of the comments here , i started wondering whether Nigeria is worth fighting for or criticizing because the people i thought will understand my point of view are telling me to shove it since their families are not directly affected , i cannot afford to support another person and because other countries are worse off undecided
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 1:51pm On May 25, 2011
reindeer:
Which SA be paradise?
Well. . .its not the fault of thse making documentaries focussing on the bad sides of Nigeria, it is the fault of nothaving our own story tellers. Nobody can tell your story for you,people will always tell stories from their bias. People living in those middle eatern countries try to paint the picture of Dubai as a general picture while their people die in droves for lack of basic things.Same with south Africa and much of the developed world, they hide their shameful stories and broadcast what will bring them business as tourism etc.
You wonder why they will never give you stories about the Mike Adenuga's and the Dangotes or make a documentary about Abuja.You hgo to those places and ask for permission to make a documentary about their slums and see what response you'd get. No one says Nigeria is heaven, it is a country with her challenges just like any other country in the world, but to tell that story as if it is only about that is mischief and evil.
This is exactly what Kobo said will happen.How about you show some compassion for your fellow Nigerians in the documentary instead of telling us what we already know.This is not a whose "dick is bigger" contest,it is a simple documentary detailing the life of hardship that many face in Lagos.Why has none of you dealt with the matter instead of dodging the topic and diverting to other irrelevant issues.

How does Dangote being rich put food on the table or shelter those poor disadvantaged people in the documentary.So you prefer that Aljazeera show the multi million dollar mansion of the corrupt cabals instead of exposing the harsh reality that many Nigerians face today.Typical najia mentality,instead of reflecting soberly on what is we are busy yapping about is not.None of you has expressed regret about the situation of those people,instead some you have tried to justifying by comparing Nigeria to other countries with baseless assumptions.

That can only mean one thing,that as Nigerians we are selfish people who rather than sympathize with the less privileged amongst us we instead be looking for another country that we sheepishly believe is worse off to point at for comparison.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 1:15pm On May 25, 2011
GNBohr:
there is always a good side and a bad side to every human being and countries. there are places in Nigeria that if shown in an documentary you would believe is not in Africa, SA and Egypt inclusive. there are places in USA and UK that if shown in documentaries you will belive it is in backwater places in africa.

we dont need aljazeera to tell us how bad some of our system is but we dont need to claim another country is better than our own all the time. the guy who called himself playmode (or is he a she) is deluding himself to think life can be better in SA or UK or USA than Nigeria even with all our inadequacies.

I hope you, playmode have built your houses in SA or have established youe own company. Many like you mostly come back to realise that the people you think are suffering back in Nigeria have achieved what you are still dreaming off.

That same SA you are praising to high heavens have a lot of nationals here in Nigeria vowing never to go back to SA. Many are married to Nigeria and some even speak local languages. They own properties and have being given citizenship.

So do not come here telling us about SA as if it is one paradise on earth. Just thank your GOD or whatever you worship and believe in that you enjoy some measure of success there.

Remember, many have gone, disappeared, died, deported, denied, failed, disappointed, frustrated and brutalised.

If you really feel about your country and really have that human compassion, establsh a business that can give jobs to some of these people you feel so sorry about. Afterall you said you are comfortable and successful.

MANY LIKE YOU ARE STRUGGLERS WHO CAN NOT AFFORD TO GIVE EXTRA SUPPORT TO ANOTHER PERSON BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT SUPPORT YOURSELF. ENOUGH.
I am guessing you posted this comment without reading through.It is a democracy ,feel free to believe what you believe.Your comment sounds like something coming from the mind of a confused person.Please proof read before you post and read previous comments before responding so that you don't sound like a broken record.I am a He by the way i am sure the word (M) on my tag stands for male don't you think?
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 12:37pm On May 25, 2011
omoekoni:
The population of Lagos is more than the state can bear! Fashola should get all rid non-lagosians from Lagos!!!!, to many people from other states come to settle in Lagos and yet they are complaining, if they don't like it then go back to your state.
[b]
I wish Lagos state can start issuing visa, seriously, if the only residents in Lagos are the original Lagosians, it would be a far better place but you have so many other people moving to Lagos daily, abeg its to much, you should all go back to your states and try to improve it instead of moving to Lasgidi[/b]s!!!
If LASG does that ,then that will be Apartheid just like what is happening in Isreal today.The people we should blame are the other state Governors who are not doing enough to make their state viable.Lagos state population is larger than the population of some countries.  shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 12:30pm On May 25, 2011
Rossikk:
playmode said

Dude, please remain in South Africa or wherever you say you live. People like you really have nothing to contribute to Nigeria. You talk about SA as if that country started at the same time as Nigeria. FYI, SA was already a full fledged developed country by the 1930s at least. Same as Egypt. The British who ran those colonies adopted a totally different policy there which involved committing funds from national resources to national development. This is why SA and Egypt had their first universities in the 1880s while in Nigeria, the same British, while evacuating our natural resources for over a century, put nothing back in terms of infrastructure, and refused to build any higher institutions  until 1960, when they were about to be kicked out. Even literacy remained at an abject 7%. (Contrast that with 75% today under indigenous rule).

So stop comparing Nigeria to South Africa. They had a hundred years head start on the rest of black Africa in terms of development.
Please read the thread from the beginning before jumping into the conversation ignorantly.The thread is about my beloved country Nigeria but as usual you guys cannot stop yourself from taking a jab at SA,just because i stay there.It is starting to seem like some people are jealous of SA or have inferiority complex issues.I NEVER brought SA into the these matter but you guys keep bringing SA up.I responded to someone who was trying to spite me and make light as well as divert attention from the documentary and i am done with that so please next time read,that is why you went to school isn't it huh

The comment you quoted above has more to do with setting up a station like Aljazeera in Nigeria and less to do with SA but once again they SA phobia has popped up in your comment.Jeez maybe i should change the location on my profile to Antarctica so that i will get some room to breathe without everyone shouting SA this ,SA that. Enough of the SA crap,stick to the topic!

Mariory:
Of course that is not to say South Africa doesn't have terrible slums.
Yes they do but as i have indicated above ,we should focus on our country Nigeria and leave SA out of this.I could careless what happens to SA's poor but certainly do care what happens to Nigeria's poor.I maybe one of Nigeria fiercest critics on this forum but that does not mean i love SA more than my country.That is not even an option for me.Like they say Aluta continua.Nigeria can be better,we have the resources ,what we lack is proper management of those resources so that it can benefit the masses.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 11:50am On May 25, 2011
Mariory:
As regards Aljazera, Nigerian TV networks dont have the revenues that Aljazera has seeing as they are currently primarily financed by the Emir of Qatar and the Qatar government.

As regards BBC, Nigeria doesn't have a law requiring everybody watching live TV in the country to pay a fee of £100+ to an organisation like NTA.

As regards CNN, Nigeria doesn't have a TV network sponsored by a billionare that's worth upwards of $1 billion.
You are right about that,here we pay for Tv license every year just like we pay for vehicle license.I was shocked the first time i wanted to buy a Tv in store and they told me that they can only sell a TV to me if i also purchase a TV license.The only people here who sell Tvs without requesting for Tv license are the Pakistanis and the Chinese.

I do believe a group of rich seasoned Journalist like Tony momoh and co could join hands together to start a new channel like Aljazeera.

The problem with Nigeria is our "manage mange" mentality and our terrible maintenance culture.

Take nollywood for example,up till now they are still using camcorders to shoot most of their movies instead of using hollywood standard 8mm camera which bring out studio quality pictures.Is it that chico ejiro and co cannot afford these cameras? No ,but they like to make maximum profit while delivering half baked goods.It is the typical Nigerian way of doing business.

It is the reason why nollywood has been declining in recent years ,it is the reason Nigerian Airways collapsed,it the reason why most things don't work in Nigeria.I mean check out our Federal Government's website : http://www.nigeria.gov.ng/

As a web designer myself ,it is an eyesore.I wonder how many millions of naira was awarded for that kindergarten looking website.I can do a better job than that for less than $5000 by just using drupal or CMS flash.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 11:33am On May 25, 2011
Mariory:
As much as I thought. The house that was demolished was built on a railway line.
Thanks for uploading the video,i know the structures were illegal but i just feel sad for those people.They have no money and nowhere to go especially that woman.If we had built our country from the 60s with all the resources we had and still have ,such scenes will not be occurring in present day Nigeria.It is just a clear indication that a lot of work still needs to be done by the ruling class to right the wrongs of the past.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 11:28am On May 25, 2011
johnie:
Playmode,

Can you educate us on the service delivery issues in SA?
You see what i hate about my fellow Nigerians ,is that when we are talking about issues that concerns the ordinary man on the street.You will see people coming to derail the thread with  rhetoric bullsh*t.

You want to talk about SA? Really you wanna go there?

Trust me SA will excreta on Nigeria's face any given day. Ask your friends who are here.Many of them are now SA citizens,they have bought homes ,got married here and vowed that they will never return to Nigeria on permanent basis again.Nigerians love to under estimate SA because it is a country on the African continent but let me assure you that SA is nothing like the rest of Africa.You have to come here to see for yourself how Nigerians are living large even better than Nigerians in the western countries because of the the immense opportunities here.

The poor in SA get free homes ,24hr electricity,an opportunity to be somebody through several B.E.E(Black Economic empowerment) programs.It is Affirmative action on steroids.In case you do not know ,Black South Africans are one the most spoilt blacks on the planet.Majority of the uneducated ones are lazy ,they depend of Government grants to survive instead of taking advantage of the short cuts which the Government has made available to Black South Africans.

Most 22 year old educated blacks have a decent Job where they earn a minimum salary equivalent of N200,000 ,drive a 2011 BMW 3 series ,Own a 2 bedroom townhouse and live their lives to the fullest.

Most of the one who suffers are uneducated ,unmotivated and extremely lazy folks to do not want to do anything but commit crime.

Nigeria on the other does not care about its citizens and does not create opportunities for its hardworking populace.

I came to SA and i conquered by exploiting the B.E.E programs to achieve my goals,it is very easy if you are intelligent enough to understand how the system works.

What i am saying is don't compare SA to Nigeria.On their worst day ,they are still light years ahead of Nigeria.There are no tokunbo cloths or tokunbo stuff in SA.The poor folks buy new clothes or locally used vehicles.Level pass level

Service delivery problems is as a result of a slight decline in their maintenance culture due to political appointments being made out to unqualified ANC cadres.That however is a problem which exists in some "some townships".The Zuma led ANC has been a source of embarrassment for South African blacks and the ANC itself.On any good day,the infrastructure of SA is even on par if not superior to that of the United Kingdom as well as the U.S.A. Do your research and prove me wrong.

Every suburb here has at least 3 parks and 1 mall even the townshipS have their own shopping malls.

You people love to jump into conclusions.I am not bothered that Aljazeera showed the whole world that documentary,i am bothered that humans especially Nigerians are still suffering to that extent.It is human compassion,maybe you should look it up in the dictionary because i am tired of explaining when i don't even need to.

Anyone who watches that documentary and instead being sober decides to attack Aljazeera is a joker.Leave aljazeera out of this ,we have problems ,BIG BIG problems.We have to deal instead always sweeping it under the carpet and pointing fingers at other people.Instead to focus on our won issue ,we are busy minding SA's business huh

Since you have an issue with SA i have complied some videos to educate you a little about the great side of SA.Remember i did not bring SA up on this thread,you brought it up to spite me because you know i live there.It is totally uncalled for and just show that just like the average Nigeria we never like to admit our faults.Instead we like to point out others'.:

South Africa -Tourism
[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMP28f1sBG0?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

Sun City - Largest Theme Park in Africa
[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwpzMEEBh1g?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHA399Pw6xI?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8ifjwx6Btc?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

Ushaka marine world

[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R6in59ntJA?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

Gateway Theatre Shopping Mall - Africa's largest Shopping mall

[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-jh6xNBGCk?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]

Watch an notice at exactly 1:22 where the American said he got a culture bshock when he arrived in SA,that the roads in Johannesburg are better than some of the roads in new york and even cleaner.Also notice the smooth roads throughout the entire drive:

[flash=425,344]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxeAzJ_19xs?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 8:23am On May 25, 2011
wesley80:
^^ oh come on. Pls tell me why u're really sad.
Did you read the above  undecided  .You seem to think this is funny matter.I Guess you did not watch the program ,you just picked up a bit of what Kobo said and jump in several conclusions huh NLers will never change.Watch the documentary then come back here.

Kobojunkie:
I kept wondering where those dudes were originally from. I mean what they were complaining of, many have already come to accept as daily acceptable, occurrence by the way. If they had not been speaking in a foreign language, I would have been left wondering what part of the country they were originally from. lol
I am not even bothered about those beninese guys,they should go back to their country instead of complaining  angry They are exploiting those young kids but they are still complaining.

I was only bothered with that Lady who was selling food in the middle of the high way,the scavengers at the dump site,the guy who bought an Okada as well as the level of filth in those part of Lagos.There are poor people all over the world but i believe that Nigeria's poor suffer more than others apart from Sudan ,Afghanistan, Somalia and a few others.

I wonder how those of us in diaspora who live relative comfortable lives will feel after watching that documentary.It just makes you so sad,you wish you can do something to help those people but what can one really do?

Lagos is too congested ,the other state Governors should start developing their states fast so that people can relocate out of Lagos and have a better chance of making it elsewhere.I am sure many Government officials watched that documentary yesterday especially fashola.It seemed those people were complaining that his Government destroyed their homes.Fahsola is doing a great job in Lagos but its seems most of his efforts only affect the middle class and the rich while most of the poor are still left behind.I know it is not an easy task but i hope he makes noticeable improvement in the nest 4 years.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 12:34am On May 25, 2011
wesley80:
Oh pls not again. These guys should spare us the bullcrap. Which country on earth is safe? Give me a cam and a mic and pick a country of your choice and i'll come up with a more touchy story. Ok lets pick Spain, not just anywhere he doumentarin ETA's Spain, lets pick their beautiful holiday resort of Tenerife and i'll do this story; http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/may/13/woman-beheaded-tenerife-supermarket-spain
Take a pick and i'll show u a story. Now OP, dont dare mention South Africa!
Did you watch the documentary? You should ask me why i am sad before you jump to conclusions.They did not talk about crime,they said they did not feel safe because of police harassment.That is not the reason why i am sad,i am sad because of the daily sufferings of ordinary Nigerians that was shown in the documentary.No one deserves to suffer the way those people are.
PoliticsRe: Aljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 12:27am On May 25, 2011
Kobojunkie:
Oh !! I can't wait to hear the news that Aljazeera is now WESTERN MEDIA against Nigeria. That was definitely a sad documentary . . . Africans telling of how nigeria is an unsafe place. lol
I wished i hadn't watched it.It is 1:19 A.M here.I could not sleep,i got from bed to go and get myself a glass of water and decided to switch on my laptop only to stumble upon that documentary.  cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry  You can't imagine the amount of sadness,shame and anger that i feel right now.

I just feel like hurting some of these politicians right now  angry angry angry

Sometimes i wish i was not born a Nigerian  cry cry cry
PoliticsAljazeera Airs A Heartbreaking Program About Lagos(25 May 2011 -Video) by playmode(op): 11:53pm On May 24, 2011
Is any one watching WITNESS on aljazeera right now? I am close to tears right now cry

See the way Nigerians are suffering,i am so ashamed of NIGERIA  cry

[flash=853,510]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyni7iI579Y?fs=1&hl=en[/flash]
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Faces Challenges Of Building West Africa's First Theme Park by playmode(m): 1:54pm On May 24, 2011
Beaf:
The ND is a very beautiful place, just waiting for investment:

https://www.unitedijawstates.com/images/2009/04/nigeria-niger-delta-map.jpg
That is the only thing you and i will ever agree on.I love the delta because of its similar topography to miami.Instead of oil gushing from under the seabed and spoiling the environment,the delta should be home to exquisite multi million dollar estates that will bring in huge foreign as well as local investment in terms of property acquisition & trading,casinos ,theme park,malls e.t.c

Beaf is that waterfall going to be man made? It looks huge and will cost a lot of money to build such high wall with mined rocks.

P.S Why call it "The Delta Theme Park" ? Why not just "Delta Theme Park" ,no need for the "THE".
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Faces Challenges Of Building West Africa's First Theme Park by playmode(m): 12:06pm On May 24, 2011
That is a welcome development,hopefully the theme park becomes a reality.It will be nice for Nigerians,i hope they also build affordable motels around the park where average Nigerians can afford to stay when they are visiting the park.It will be pointless if they create the park and make unbearably expensive like everything else in Nigeria.

[quote author=Mr, Cork link=topic=674209.msg8382763#msg8382763 date=1306234305]team park filled up with goats, cows and donkeys?  HELL NOOO!! undecided [/quote]grin grin grin What are you insinuating ,are you saying Nigerians will slaugther the animals and use them to make egusi soup  grin grin grin

On a serious note though ,i think the major concern should be security due the militants in ND.If adequate security is not provided the theme park will become a buffet for kidnappings.
PoliticsRe: Democracy Can Only Work If We Are Paid Jumbo Allowances - Rep Member by playmode(m): 9:17pm On May 23, 2011
Mr Adeseun ,how about i put a bullet in your rib cage ,will democracy work then ? or better still i put a tyre around your neck and set you alight ,will democracy work? Bunch of greedy monkeys  angry
PoliticsRe: Influential Ritualists In Our Midst? by playmode(m): 8:37pm On May 23, 2011
chino11:
You are a dull brain. Anambra is like a holyland compare to the ill rotten yorubaland. At least am proud to come from Anambra, but you have refused to publicly profess your rural state eketi or oson for us to know. Even the UN confirmed that all the social vices in Nigeria are more pronounced in yorubaland. You guys are dirty both physically and spiritually. You guys are involve in everything evil. what a tribe!!!!!
Inferiority complex is something that you definitely suffer from.Such a pity that a young kid like you is wasting his life hating on other people.So what are you going to teach your kids when you have a family? To hate all Yorubas? People like you never amount to anything except to the remain the trash of human society.
PoliticsRe: Influential Ritualists In Our Midst? by playmode(m): 7:38pm On May 23, 2011
chino11:
Ofcourse its only things like this that we hear from yorubaland. Its either corpers are violated by their rascal obas or that an oba killed his wife. Here its another rascal Yorubas on ritualism. I thinks its time FG should ban corpers from  being sent to the southwest. I think east and north is still preferred to some Yoruba caves.
Your mind is a rotten cesspit full of misguided hatred that can only emanate from a negroid with an IQ of 2.1  angry

So you are from Anambra and you have the guts to make such a comment knowing what evil acts emanates from your foul smelling hometown angry
PoliticsRe: Alaafin Wants Akala Jailed ! by playmode(m): 4:07pm On May 23, 2011
[quote author=alj_harem link=topic=673314.msg8374444#msg8374444 date=1306127243]^^^^^^

bleach fight grin grin grin grin grin grin grin cheesy cheesy cheesy grin grin grin

na who go win[/quote]Oh boy u wicked  o grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin chai both of dem worwor die.  shocked I wonder which women will sleep with these two ,*yuck* flipping disgusting  lipsrsealed
RomanceRe: Why Are Nigerian Girls So Money-conscious? by playmode(m): 3:59pm On May 23, 2011
@OP ,eiya sorry! well that is the way Nigerian girls are.Even the ones who don't club, love money and make very ridiculous demands before they hang out with you.Of course not all of them are like that but based on my experience growing in Lagos ,at least 80% of them are like that.No blame them sha ,na owu dey blow dem.

You can't compare Nigerian girls to east African or southern African girls because simply put,level pass level.

Eastern and Southern African girls enjoy a relatively better economic situation as compared to Nigerian Girls that is why they do not demand so much.Little things like TFC ,chicken licken ,mac donalds e.t.c easily moves Nigerian girls while in eastern Africa or southern African they are just regular meals which are easily affordable by everyone.

This is one of the reason why 90% of Nigerian guys who travel overseas end up marrying citizens of the countries they reside in because those girls tend to have far less drama and give less headaches than Nigerian girls.
PoliticsRe: N20 Billion Recovered From Tafa Balogun Still Missing by playmode(m): 3:45pm On May 23, 2011
[quote author=[WilyWily link=topic=673211.msg8377346#msg8377346 date=1306161326]N50 Billion, Yoruba people sabi Thief oooooooooooooooooooooo.[/quote]Can you please not turn these into a tribalistic thread.A tribalist is as bad as these politicians in case you don't know.They use tribalism to divert our attention from their looting.Get your act together and stop feeding these corrupt cabals' agendas.

For your information Nigeria has 5 major tribes

Yorubas
Igbos
Hausas
Niger Delta
Politicians

The one who loots is the political tribe otherwise known as the corrupt cabals.
PoliticsRe: N20 Billion Recovered From Tafa Balogun Still Missing by playmode(m): 3:17pm On May 23, 2011
madridguy:
I BELIEVE IT'S RIGHT TIME FOR NIGERIAN TO WAKE-UP. I'M JUST TIRED OF THE WHOLE THING IS THIS COUNTRY.I'M HERE THIS AFTERNOON DON'T KNOW WHAT TO EAT SINCE MORNING AND READING SUCH A SILLY STUFF HERE ABOUT THE MISSING OF SUCH A HUGE AMOUNT OF MONEY.

FOR ME,THE BEST WAY TO STOP ALL THIS IS FOR US TO BE USING SHARIAH LAW IN THIS COUNTRY AND ANYBODY CAUGHT WITH MIS-MANAGEMENT OF $$ SHOULD BE HANG WITH ANY silly COURT ORDER .

I HAVE TO SLEEP SMALL.
Please shariah law is not needed ,they will just corrupt it.What we need is citizens' justice.It is time for Nigerians citizens to assassinate these people.If i have proper funding and strong support i will not hesitate to set up and train a hit squad to take these men out.These just makes my stomach turn and makes me boil with unimaginable anger.I am just fed up of hearing painful news like these.Nigerians are dying in the hospital of curable diseases but some group of people just swallowed N50 billion just like that without fear  cry .These men know that ordinary Nigerians are too soft and have a 'sit down look" attitude,that is why they are robbing the country blind in broad day light.

[quote author=Ibo-made link=topic=673211.msg8376340#msg8376340 date=1306151749]Why the sudden interest by the Federal Law makers?
Could it be because they want an increase in their allowance and want to force the Executive arm of Government to bow to their demand by force?.

This situation will turn to a case of dog-eat-dog.

Shame! Shame!! Shame!!![/quote]Good point you made there.If we are calling for people to take up arms, Nlers will start jumping on my throat saying i like violence too much blah blah blah.

The honest truth is until we kill a few of these cretins ,Nigeria will continue to be looted.Imagine we take out a few corrupt senators sniper style.They won't see it coming.Imagine having 4 to 5 snipers laying siege on the House of assembly and blowing up to 20 brains all over the pavement.Then these modafu8kers will sit the Zap up and maybe rethink their ways.

They cannot do this venezuela or countries where nonsense is not tolerated !  angry

Jerry Rolins of Ghana had to brutally dispose of the corrupt cabals in his country to set the country straight.Now look at Ghana,corruption is at very low levels.

There are so many liberation movements in Nigeria but all they do is blow up pipelines and bomb innocent civilians instead of developing a proper strategy where they STRIKE immense fear in the hearts of these monkeys called politians.

I still maintain my stand and will allways call for the assassination of these lawless politicians,it is the only way out of these madness. ENOUGh is ENOUGH !

They do not understand the language of compassion ,honesty,integrity or discipline ,they only understand the language of intimidation and fear.

You know where they reside ,Lock & Load people and Zap these niggaz Up!!!  angry  angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry angry

PoliticsRe: GEJ Inauguration To Gulp 5 Billion Naira! by playmode(m): 10:26pm On May 22, 2011
The only way to teach these people a lesson is to have an assassin take them out.They are heartless angry

N8million for[b] REFURBISHING[/b] the air cons shocked

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 (of 42 pages)