VPersie's Posts
Nairaland Forum › VPersie's Profile › VPersie's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 (of 14 pages)
Amidst all this talk of development, I wonder what is there for the common man. Capitalsim always makes make the rich richer and the poor poorer. I think its time for Nigeria to tilt left ala Cuba. |
I have often heard people assert that instances of supposed “homosexuality” in animals prove that homosexuality is natural.@DeepSight I appreciate the time you took to analyze a complicated issue, when others will take the easy option out and grab cliches and insults when all else fails. kEEP IT UP. wE NEED MORE OF SUCH DISPLAYS OF INTELLECTUALISM ON NAIRALAND. |
My guess is you do not understand the meaning of the word "crux" "Prestige" is only of passing interest to me and that is why it takes up less than 1% of my post. The main thesis of my write-up is what the afore-mentioned careers enatil on the graduate level and in the industry. If that is too complex for you to grasp/not sensible enough for you to understand, do not hide under the cloak of my honest admission of a desire for prestige in my job. And the general repsonse to this thread may be symptomatic of a more prevalent problem on NL: no one wants to take time to UNDERSTAND and THINK about an issue before hitting the keyboard. It is much more easier to sit on high horses and pretend to have a quick-and-simple solution to a complicated probelm or say the problem is not sensible because it is too difficult to think through. It is intellectual chicanery at its worse and it seems to be the most popular charcateristic on nairaland. |
Waiting for sensible replies, Please read the original post before replying. The crux of the issue is job-fulfillment not prestige-or-no-prestige. |
In think I may have my head in he clouds. Whenever, I try to discuss a futture career with colleagues, I end up talking idealistically about fulfillment and joy that must come from a job. I say stuff like I will take a 50% pay-cut to move to a job that will give me happiness and other such feel-good emotions. I really believe what I say but I fear that I will not back up my words with actions when I finally get into the job market and have significant bills to pay. My question is am I naive to insist on getting into a job/career that does not just pay the bills but gives me fufillment. For example, say I could study well and be very good at computer programming ( good enough to work for a tier-B company, say Cummins Inc., Black $ Decker, or Chevron), but I find computer programming very boring and will rather like to do something more fulfilling and personally satisfying for me ( like say work in the non-profit sector), which career move will be better if computer programming will always on the long run pay more than non-profit sector work? Am I being unrealistic? I know my parents did not think about job fulfillment when they were working hard to put food on the table. I also know that they are so many people that willing to do any job to make ends meet. This makes me like an ingrate when I consider something like "love for what I do " as a factor in choosing a job. Is it notthat doing what you love is the sure gurantee for success or is it working hard at anything you do |
Is it the type where you tell someone(a nigerian) you are doing a PhD and they go ahhhhhhhhhhhhh phdActually you are correct. yes. |
In think I may have my head in he clouds. Whenever, I try to discuss a futture career with colleagues, I end up talking idealistically about fulfillment and joy that must come from a job. I say stuff like I will take a 50% pay-cut to move to a job that will give me happiness and other such feel-good emotions. I really believe what I say but I fear that I will not back up my words with actions when I finally get into the job market and have significant bills to pay. My question is am I naive to insist on getting into a job/career that does not just pay the bills but gives me fufillment. For example, say I could study well and be very good at computer programming ( good enough to work for a tier-B company, say Cummins Inc., Black $ Decker, or Chevron), but I find computer programming very boring and will rather like to do something more fulfilling and personally satisfying for me ( like say work in the non-profit sector), which career move will be better if computer programming will always on the long run pay more than non-profit sector work? Am I being unrealistic? I know my parents did not think about job fulfillment when they were working hard to put food on the table. I also know that they are so many people that willing to do any job to make ends meet. This makes me like an ingrate when I consider something like "love for what I do " as a factor in choosing a job. Is it notthat doing what you love is the sure gurantee for success or is it working hard at anything you do |
In think I may have my head in he clouds. Whenever, I try to discuss a futture career with colleagues, I end up talking idealistically about fulfillment and joy that must come from a job. I say stuff like I will take a 50% pay-cut to move to a job that will give me happiness and other such feel-good emotions. I really believe what I say but I fear that I will not back up my words with actions when I finally get into the job market and have significant bills to pay. My question is am I naive to insist on getting into a job/career that does not just pay the bills but gives me fufillment. For example, say I could study well and be very good at computer programming ( good enough to work for a tier-B company, say Cummins Inc., Black $ Decker, or Chevron), but I find computer programming very boring and will rather like to do something more fulfilling and personally satisfying for me ( like say work in the non-profit sector), which career move will be better if computer programming will always on the long run pay more than non-profit sector work? Am I being unrealistic? I know my parents did not think about job fulfillment when they were working hard to put food on the table. I also know that they are so many people that willing to do any job to make ends meet. This makes me like an ingrate when I consider something like "love for what I do " as a factor in choosing a job. Is it notthat doing what you love is the sure gurantee for success or is it working hard at anything you do? |
Na by force to talk? Dey swear give you chop? Abi craze miss road enter your head? E be like sey u wan receive email from devil! See dis useless maga. |
It is neither. I am just an ordinary citizen like you. And I am surprised that no one has had similar experiences to me. |
Wow! I thought things would have improved on NL. I will just recoil my tail between my legs and run away. Animals will always behave like animals. |
I am presently majoring in Computer Science and planning on going to graduate school. My passion is for figuring out stuff. Although I enjoy figuring out a wide range of stuff (especially social, psychological, and human-related issues), I am limted in terms of application of this passion in a career, since I am already on the science/technology track in my university and I am almost done. It is very important that whatever job I have constantly challenges me to analyze/figure out stuff. In computer science, I have found out that only programming caters to my intellectual desire. However, I do not want to be limited to programming in the future. For reasons such as financial benefits, prestige, and potential of more professional fulfillment, I am considering graduate study (most likely PhD ) in areas such as software engineering, computer engineering, and electrical engineering. I need advice on what these areas entail both in the industry and in graduate study and what aspects of them demand regular use of analytical skills. Your help will be highly appreciated. |
Hello all, Instead of cooking up a cock-and-bull story and taking you all for a ride, I have decided to come out clean and say i am bored and need attention. Anyone who wants to gist or flirt should reply. |
Thanks all. |
yes, baltimore. |
No I am not. I amsure someone will show up to back up my claims very soon. |
It is been 22 months and counting since NEPA has given us constant electricity in Maryland. I find it unbelievable and am curious that other nigerians complain about lack of electricity. Anyone with similar experiences? |
I dont rely on my father or anyone, but God, for money. But i also know proving levels is not the best motivation for buying a car. But then that is my reality and I cant be dishonest with myself as some of u here are. |
Hello, In am a college student and a first time car buyer who has been saving up to get a Mercedes Benz C-Class or any other car that will help me prove levels. I was checking the internet the other day and came across some advice that sunk my heart. The dude basically said first-time car buyers should not buy luxury or good-looking cars because of the amount of accidents that are sure to deface the car. He also said stuff about not buying a fast car like Benz and going for cars like Honda that are 'simple' and 'efficient'. Is this true and what are the factors a first-time car buyer should consider in getting a car? |
Of the Greatest Ife!!!!! Articulate Ife!!!!! What we are saying, |
Although he had always wished she was a IndecentStar. |
Cool. Keep it up. |
"No," said Osama. I am to blow up Aso Rock now. |
he ran for several miles, dogging the thorns and branches in the thick forest |
rotflmao @ Rhymz and Klinboy This is why I love NL. I can always come here and be entertained by the sheer, innate, innocent stupidity of likes of Chief. Dr. Becomshi.t. Rhymz, becomericch belongs to those categories of guys that got into school through GCE, never paid attention in high school, did not buckle up in UNiverisyt and were just content to ride the tide and graduate even if they did so having no knowledge whatsoever of their field and lacking basic critical thinking skills. I have definitely seen many of his type at newspaper posts arguments and the likes. Bu the cant help himself. Or can u, becomerich? Thanks for the comedy, though, becomeshit. |
@Mama gee or whatever silly name you chose to call your miserable dumb-backside self, i have actually been reading so many of your comments where you contribute senselessly about intimacy and other silly opinions of yours, where you completely sound idiotic and no one cares to talk to you cos probably, in the area of intimacy and prostitution, you may have been perceived to be a professional, but in the area of football, you should just keep your shitty thots out of it cos you are dumb! I didnt direct my opinion at anyone just the people who dont know what they write about. If theres anyone out there who will be calling Kanu names, and you think you are a party to that then go and concentrate on what you know best; Prostitution and not football cos Kanu is a Legend from Africa and should be respected in Nigeria. I wont respond to you anymore cos i know your type. The only avenue people like you have to air a view is hiding behind the Computer/Internet. and even with such opportunity, you still dont have the common sense to make sense out of itExactly. The sarge, I hope you have noticed another modaphucker called Kobojunkie. Please help me rain curses on all their fake ass shitty intellectualism. |
Were lo n shey eyin mejeji. Our people say, a toad does not walk in the daylight for no reason; it is either chasing something or something is chasing it. Nigerians, remember that there is no smoke without fire. I love Governor Fashola and I am gay but truth be told, no man is above the law. I just hate it when people pretend to be holy-holy or they don't show love to the dying people of Somalia. Look at Obama for examples, he called Rush Limbaugh a d.i.ckhead on National Television. Is that how he will solve the Niger-Delta problem? Why can't he just focus his resources on governance in the mother -land so that people like Fashola will not have God-like status. We have so many good leaders like Tinubu, OBJ, and Mugabe who can form an African workshop/coonference series to teach our Governors to be holy and follow the bible. So man-power is not a problem. |
All of una dey beh! As far as I am consand, Fashola is nut abhove reproached of anys kind. IF the man stealing, then he shall be probe. The in the cut of law, we shalled determine weather or not he was guiltys. That is mys tree kobo. |
Apparently Fashola is now under arrest for corruption charges. What you see is not what you get. |
Wack As.s. Lyrics From Retarded A.s.s Artists. My IQ is 185. Your smears cannot pull me down. Wizzy for Life! |
You. Oloshi. |