Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:19pm On Feb 05, 2012 |
[quote author=ekt_bear link=topic=862912.msg10125260#msg10125260 date=1328430957]Hehehehe I am glad that this thread was created, moreover that it was created by an Igbo  [/quote]+100 Hehehehehe |
Politics › Re: Northern Monarchs Deny Meeting Over Al-mustapha's Death Sentence by aljharem(m): 2:18am On Feb 05, 2012 |
nagoma: Nigeria is probably the most forgiving country in the World, On The 11th September 1963 the Court in Lagos under the leadership of Justice Sowemimo concluded the trial of Chief Obafemi Awolowo and others for their conspiracy to remove the democratic government of an independent Nigeria by force. Awolowo was found guilty. Before the sentence was read by Justice Sowemimo, Chief Awolowo in his speech complained that ( 1) that the trial took too long ( a few weeks - in his own words) . Classical Awo, he said he had rendered valuable service to Nigeria for 27 years and pointed out his fight against feudal system in the north, he was concerned that " the country would lose the invaluable service he would render within the period of his prison service". Hear the omnipotent Awo!
Justice Sowemimo before passing the sentence said a few words addressing Chief Awolowo which included " you mention about delay in giving judgement, but I wish you were in my position and had to read some of these things ; 800 pages of evidence and notes of submission 600 pages. The judge also said to Awo " I do not see what useful purpose a sentence of inimprisonmentill do to you - but to get yourself involved in this is enough shame , but this is a political crime, " chief Awolowo was sentenced on 3 counts 1) treasonable felony contrary to section41(b) of the criminal code -10 years imprisonment with hard labour. 2ndNDount conspiracy to commit felony 5 years in prison I.H.L. 3rd count Conspiracy to effect unlawful purpose 2 years in prison and the sentences were to run concurrently. All of us know that Awolowo was let out of Prison pardoned and made a Minister of the federal republic by Gowon in 1966. I will if there is a need go on to talk about , the person given to Gowon and to Obasanjo for a very similar offences by Shagari and abdussalam Abubakar respectively and also talk about the biggest person given by Shagari to Ojukwu after a rebellion and plunging the nation into war. Ojukwu also became a politician and his party candidature to be a president of Nigeria was tolerated. We are watching to see a different scenario - just because this time the leading criminal ( as decided by the lagoLagosrt was not Yoruba and therefore sympathy cannot be expected. Interesting 1. Awolowo was let out because he was needed to pacify the west for the war 2. Ojukwu was pardon to pacify the east after a bloody war ( It is only fair) 3. Both Awolowo and Ojukwu were leaders I mean topmost in their respective region same with Saro wiwa that is even why Ogoni people would not allow a single drop of oil to be collected from their land today. Because they felt cheated and the same tribalism claim by Al-Mustapha is their talk as well. 4. Al-mustapha was judged irrespective of his ethnicity or anything because if it is so then Shofolahan shoudl not be their. At least that is what I believe 5. Making it Al-mustapha case alone is not good because he did not kill them alone he had an accomplice. 6. They can ALWAYS APPEAL which they have done so the sentence is not final. That is why I don't understand what the anger is all about. 7. If we start talking of Justice then starting from Obj, IBB, Nzeribe, Edwin clark, Danjuma etc will all be sentence to death immediately. |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:50am On Feb 05, 2012 |
stpat1: @ezeagu, I don't think you are literate at all, if you are then u will know already that the Edos are more closely related to the Yorubas, they are close geographically, culturally, religiously, Historically, Names etc. I will not only say this but also give u examples. Geographically: Of course you know that a lot of Edo locations are intermingle with some western states. at the Akoko Edo end, you have the Akokos of the Ondos, at the Okada axis there are also there Historically: I don't think you need too much lecture on this go to Wikipedia and check that one out. Lagos was a former colony of the Oba of benin, the work Eko is an edo word, he was ruling lagos from Edo Religiously, like Sango, which is a similar God of Iron, the the Osun, etc The names, there are so many similar names with similar meaning, Segun, Bose, Gbemi, Ogedegbe, Tunde etc
I wonder which close ties any Edo man has with an Igbo man. Guy I am an Edo and there is no similarity between us. We are Niger Deltas and if u guys will not take us in We know our roots LOL well done Maybe you can explain it to Papabrown, Obiagu and co LOL  ACM10: Sometimes I have a feeling that some posters like Alj_harem is on NL payroll.
He posts 24hrs of the day for the year round. I couldn't describe this as an addiction. Bros I make my money if not i for done die na  una no go kill pesin o |
Culture › Re: Are Ijaws Related To Igbos ? by aljharem(m): 1:46am On Feb 05, 2012 |
^^^^ why do you have to answer can't you just allow the thread to die  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:43am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:42am On Feb 05, 2012 |
afam4eva: @al_harem Are you saying there's no fine black Yoruba woman? Did you have to show us a half caste? LOL which one na half case again |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:31am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:28am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:23am On Feb 05, 2012 |
ezeagu: Ws I right that the boy you posted was Yoruba? His name is rotimi akinosho claims yoruba but his mother is igbo. I just used that for Onlytruth so I could catch him  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:18am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:07am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Obiagu1: Glad the myth has finally being unravelled. LOL what myth. Has it not being clear from day one that there have been no claim and change in history. Dude you are just stressing yourself. really |
Culture › Re: Are Ijaws Related To Igbos ? by aljharem(m): 1:06am On Feb 05, 2012 |
dumb topic is this really necessary  . No point in bring out topics like this we already have one of yoruba edo |
Politics › Re: What Does The North Contribute To Nigeria by aljharem(m): 1:05am On Feb 05, 2012 |
[quote author=Had_one link=topic=862513.msg10123860#msg10123860 date=1328400219]WE HAVE BEEN ANSWERING THIS TYPE OF QUESTIONS LONG AGO, BUT ONLY THAT IT EITHER FALL INTO YOUR DEAF EARS OR SIMPLY CONSIDER THE EVIL OF A CONSPIRACY CALLED BOKO HARAM TO ABUSE INNOCENT MUSLIMS, QUR'AN AND EVEN HOLY PROPHET (S.A.W) BUT LET ME ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS IN SERIES: 1. WHICH PEOPLE ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT, IF YOU MEAN MUSLIMS, I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT SOME FEW SECTS LIKE BOKO HARAM THEN SOME JOBLESS DRUG ADDICTS THUGS ARE THE ONLY NEGATIVE PEOPLE GIVING THE NORTH AND ISLAM A BAD NAME. AND WHEN EVER THEY ATTACK, THE MUSLIMS ARE THE MAJOR CASUALITIES. GO ROUND HOSPITALS IN KANO YOU WILL PROVE THAT MAJORITY OF THE VICTIMS OF JANUARY'S ATTACK ON HOSPITAL BEDS ARE MUSLIMS. BUT PERSONALLY I NEVER KILLED AND ALSO NEVER SUPPORT OR LIKE THOSE THAT KILLS. 2. WHY ARE YOU ASKING ME TO DISOBEY THE HOLY QUR'AN, TO OBEY YOUR BOOK? NO WAY!! "LAKUM DEENUKUM WALIYADDEEN"(QUR'AN C109;V6) AND BESIDE, MY HOLY BOOK ONLY GUIDE ME TO LIVE IN PEACE NOT TO KILL. 3. GOOD PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS GOOD PEOPLE WHILE BAD ONCE STILL ANSWER THEIR NAMES. IN EVERY SOCIETY THEIR ARE GOOD AND BAD TYPE, OR ARE YOU TELLING ME NO SINGLE CHRISTIAN IS BAD OR ARMED ROBBERS DONT EXIST IN THE SOUTH? ATLEAST I CANT ABUSE YOUR RELIGION OR JESUS CRIST, BUT LOOK AT HOW YOU ARE DISRESPECTING MY PROPHET FOR NO REASON. SO EVEN HERE BETWEEN ME AND YOU, WHO KNOWS GOOD AND BAD AND WHO DOES'NT? 4. ALOT MY FRIEND! QUITE ALOT!! EVEN THE ANSWER TO Q3. ABOVE FOR ME IS WORTH TO BE PROUD OF, ISLAM TEACHES TOLERANCE. ISLAM PROVIDES ME WITH A COMPLETE WAY OF LIFE. I ALWAYS THANK GOD THAT I'M A GOOD MUSLIM. 5. GOOD MUSLIMS DONT CREATE ANY CHAOS, THEY DONT DESTROY ANYTHING. BOKO HARAM AND THESE THUGS WERE THE DESTROYERS AND WE DONT SEE THEM AS GOOD MUSLIMS BECOUSE THEY OPERATE CONTRARY TO THE ISLAMIC TEACHINGS.[/quote]+ 10000 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 1:03am On Feb 05, 2012 |
naijaking1: There're certainly many similar words used by Igbos, Edos, and even Yorubas. I heard about prince Eweka of Bini, any relationship with the Iwekas of Onitsha? The fact that Igbos and Yorubas share the same meaning for God or divinity in Olisa, Orisha, Olisha, or Olise indicates some historical connectivity. If so then why do Igbos hate yorubas. I am still trying to understand this phenomenon |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 12:52am On Feb 05, 2012 |
ACM10: Why should they be yoruboid instead of yorubas?
Ol boy, if it dey like panadol, then it can never be panadol OK know the defination of yoruboid before you makes comments Yoruboid is a group of languages composed of Igala, a language spoken in central Nigeria, and the Edekiri group, the members of which are spoken in a band across Togo, Benin and southwestern Nigeria. The name Yoruboid derives from its most widely spoken member, Yoruba, which has more than 20 million speakers. Another well-known Yoruboid language is Itsekiri (Nigeria, 600,00-800,000 speakers). The Yoruboid group is a branch of Defoid, which itself is a branch of the Benue–Congo subfamily of the Niger–Congo language family.
Igala is a key Yoruboid language, spoken by 1.8 million people in the Niger-Benue confluence of central Nigeria, it is excised from the main body of Yoruboid languages to the west by Ebirra and the Edo languages. Igala is closely related to both Yoruba and Itsekiri languages.
All Yoruboid languages are tonal, with most of them having three level tones. Grammatically, they are isolating with a subject–object–verb basic word order. The Itsekiri's are a riverine Yoruboid people who live in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria. They maintain a distinct identity separate from other Yoruboid people. Their neighbours are the Urhobos, The Ijaws, and the Mahin Ilaje, a Yoruba clan.further more there are 3 distinct yoruboid groups 1.Defoid language family ----------Akokoid language family (Arigidi, yoruba etc) -----------Ayere-Ahan language family (ayere etc) 2. Edekiri language family --------Ede Cabe -------Ede Ica -------Ede Idaca --------Ifè ------Ede Ije -----Isekiri aka itsekiri ---------Lucumi --------Mokole -------Ede Nago even to ghana ----------Kura Ede Nago --------Ulukwumi aka olukumi --------Manigri-Kambolé Ede Nago -------------central dialect Yoruba 3. Igala family --------igala http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=sl_dDVctycgC&pg=PA422&lpg=PA422&dq=Ayere-Ahan+yoruba&source=bl&ots=4X2Hb9-ed_&sig=UQT1-yAtYIdMM8os3pqTi8p6wUI&hl=en&sa=X&ei=isQtT7uPA8Wh8gP0qNSWDw&ved=0CB8Q6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=Ayere-Ahan%20yoruba&f=false |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 12:44am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Onlytruth: That Edo is POLITICALLY closer to Yoruba has no substantiation. It remains a real red herring.
The language affinity is also suspect. As for me, I go with LOOKS. The two don't look much alike. Edos actually look more like Igbos.
All these will be settled in the future, after the Biafran war issues must have taken the back seat. tell whether this is igbo or yoruba in this pictures since you can use facial struture to identify people's group LOL  [img] http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRIOv80A1FgSKqg7WXEMru2OHImPmgXFKx0uRdx3JUB3R5XEssS[/img] |
Politics › Re: What Does The North Contribute To Nigeria by aljharem(m): 12:40am On Feb 05, 2012 |
[size=18pt]NL bigots you asked what the north contributes, I gave it to you and now it is time to start insulting. LOL [/size] |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 12:39am On Feb 05, 2012 |
ACM10: YORUBOID, he he he
This one must enter my dictionary
This alhaji can lie o
So u have to nelogize inorder to support your lies?  Make him enter dictionary I am not lying though tell me where u think I was lying |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 12:36am On Feb 05, 2012 |
Moodie: [size=18pt]Na wa ooo, Oyinbo go discriminate against me unto say i be Nigerian, my fellow Nigerian Go discriminate against me say i dey from South South, even my south south asaba man go discriminate against me unto say i be Bini man. If this country begin scatter, every street go be country on im own o.[/size] Gbamm that is the silly games some people are trying to play here |
Politics › Re: Owerri The Cleanest City In Nigeria by aljharem(m): 11:16pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
How many states in Nigeria today have sidewalks ? |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:15pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:13pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
shymmex: You're a clown!! I'm not IJEBU 
I won't expose my identity on the internet because anyone from Epe will know my family - we're very popular there. I'll give you my mother's lineage, and anyone from Iperu Remo will know the family, but because it's a big one - I doubt you'll be able to trace my mum,
My mum's family lineage is AGBONMAGBE which birthed OKUPE and others - that's all I'm going to tell you, If you know IPERU REMO, you'll know EYO FESTIVAL actually belongs to her family lineage, and they brought it to Idumagbo,
The Ijebu's primary settlements in Lagos are Epe, Ikorodu and Ibeju-Lekki, According to pops, some settled on Lagos Island in places like Idunmagbo and Ebute Ero, The Taiwo Olowos' from Lagos Island are our distant cousins, That's all I'm going to say about that,
Every simpleton knows that IKOKORE is our dish,
I'm not the type to claim what I'm not - I did that when I was younger trying too hard to be Jafrican - but I'm wiser now, I'm proud of my culture and heritage - and I'm proud of Nigerian, Proudly Nigerian, Yoruba and Ijebu, period, Ibeju-lekki is not part of Ijebu settlement, Parts of Badary is Ijebu and actually back in those days Ijebus held the control of the trades between the upperland yorubas and the british/portugeses. Badary was a famous trading point Ikokore that is true, how do you make it ? Hmmmm I dey watch you, no make mistake o !!!  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:06pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
richkids1: This is really a funny conversation that is why I love NL. different characters each time  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:04pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
onila: edos look like igbos
edo women and men are one of the most beautiful people in Nigeria Nope Women are fulani/hausa girl men are yoruba/bendel men get your facts right. |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:04pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
bluehorizo: My mother is an Edo woman from Owan LG. And I can tell you that they SPEAK YORUBA and also answer Yoruba names. Right from Ifon to Uzzeba to Sabongida Ora to Ogute to Afuze to Otuo to Akoko Edo. + 100 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 11:03pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
sleekman: Obi of Onitsha is a direct descendant of d Oba of Benin so also is d Obi of Agbor, all Enogies in Edo state, Owo of Owo, Oba of Akure, Oba of Lagos, Ooni of Ife, Rulers of Igbira, Atuwase of Warri, ruler of Uhrobo. One of d reasons adduced for d Bini empire not expanding much was that d Binis were very wicked. So much atrocities were commited by them. So u see just like in Europe most people in d south that's SW, SE, SS and part of d middle belt are closely related. Various Oba's intermarried amongst eachothers tribes as peace treaties.  na wa oooo southern Nigeria in one epistle |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 10:55pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
shymmex: I never spoke to you on this thread - you came at me sideways for no reason, Next time if you don't care about a post, ignore it and stop talking to me side ways, People get their faces knock off for that, where I'm from,
I'll talk about what I know about my history, which are FACTS - because we're being MARGINALIZED in Lagos by the AWORIS, We were in Lagos before them, and they stole our culture and traditions, yet they want to claim Lagos to themselves, I have cousins we couldn't even get into the State University in Lagos because some bigoted Awori elders told them they're not from Lagos, when their ancestors were in Lagos before these Aworis were barnished from Ile-Ife, I know my history and I know what rightfully belongs to me in my home state - if you don't like it, ignore my comments, No ratings for gossipers and cowards - who only talk behind people's back, period, sorry you are not Ijebu I would ask you some series of questions now 1. Name 3 Ijebu settlements in Lagos 2. What is the ijebu favourate food 3. What do Ijebus added to their ewedu that aworis don't add 4. Give me some proper Ijebu names 5. what were ijebus concerned and what position was reserved for Ijebus alone in Oyo empire 6. What is your Ijebu name that they were able to know you were not awori ? 7. Which part of lagos do Ijebu aworis occupy ? Awori is a mixture of different groups and we are the most mixed yoruba group. 8. Was Awori under the Oyo empire yes or no what what was ijebus role in Oyo I am waiting |
Politics › Re: Nigeria: South West, Edo Move To Rebuild Lagos-ibadan Expressway by aljharem(m): 10:34pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
PStylish: Where were you when alj_harem's original identity was unmasked? alj_harem is no northerner. He is an Awori man from Lagos state. He also uses the moniker, step1, once in a while. I think he was employed by Nairaland to act as the voice of the north (to speak in defence of the north) when issues that concerned the north were being discussed.
I hope this my post doesnt get deleted by the mod like previous similar ones. gbammm tell this people oooo although I was not employed but did it out of free will after so much dehumanizing comment I have read  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 10:23pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
andrewozed: Afam stop concluding in the light of your reasoning always look at the fact and know that it is possible that you might be wrong. Are you an expert on history? am from edo, igbanke is in edo, the speak the same language with abgor in delta state because they share almost the same landmass. The akoko edos are yoruba settlement, the igalas speak yoruba fluently that's why they bear yoruba names, they wouldn't just give their children yoruba name if they don't know the meaning. Go and read about the history of great bini empire in the 15th century before posting a thread ignorantly and even bragging with it. + 10000 |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 10:16pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
shymmex: Y'all need to know that "EKO" means only Lagos Island - people were living on the mainland, Epe, Badagry, Lekki and Ikorodu before either the Binis or Aworis got to Lagos, Stop post fake history that only belongs to the thrash can - Aworis are not the only ones from Lagos, Spewing this BS makes them feel larger than life - the Ijebus and Eguns were living in Lagos before the Aworis left Ile-Ife - and the same goes for the Binis,
The Ijebus got to Nigeria before Ile-Ife, y'all need to stop spreading lies, We're Yorubas as well but don't force your fake history on us, Even if I've never really lived in Nigeria, I know my people and our history, I am awori, clam down. Yes you are right |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 7:44pm On Feb 04, 2012 |
dayokanu: Igbos just wan attache by force haba, there is nothing wrong in what they are doing  if they attache good  |
Culture › Re: Myth or Reality: Yoruba is closer to the Edos culturally than the East is. by aljharem(m): 7:42pm On Feb 04, 2012 |