Stats: 3,330,073 members, 8,443,710 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 July 2026 at 10:54 AM

Enigma's Posts

Nairaland ForumEnigma's ProfileEnigma's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 (of 198 pages)

Christianity EtcRe: New Rccg's Tithe Collection Format by Enigma(m): 3:13pm On Jun 11, 2010
007busman:
. . .
Those of you that think you have study bible so much that the issue of tithing is not relevant are just fooling yourself.I want to ask which of the word of God is to be discarded, is it from the old testament or the new one.Have you forgotten that thou shall not add or remove from the word of God those that are doing that has been cursed by God already.Why must you obey the ten commandment and decided not to honour the payment of tithe in the same testament.You guys just love where you will go and the sermon will be preach to suit your purpose.
So why are you discarding Deuteronomy 14:22-29 below?

22 “You shall truly tithe all the increase of your grain that the field produces year by year.

23 And you shall eat before the LORD your God, in the place where He chooses to make His name abide, the tithe of your grain and your new wine and your oil, of the firstborn of your herds and your flocks, that you may learn to fear the LORD your God always.

24 But if the journey is too long for you, so that you are not able to carry the tithe, or if the place where the LORD your God chooses to put His name is too far from you, when the LORD your God has blessed you, 25 then you shall exchange it for money, take the money in your hand, and go to the place which the LORD your God chooses. 26 And you shall spend that money for whatever your heart desires: for oxen or sheep, for wine or similar drink, for whatever your heart desires; you shall eat there before the LORD your God, and you shall rejoice, you and your household. 27 You shall not forsake the Levite who is within your gates, for he has no part nor inheritance with you.

28 “At the end of every third year you shall bring out the tithe of your produce of that year and store it up within your gates. 29 And the Levite, because he has no portion nor inheritance with you, and the stranger and the fatherless and the widow who are within your gates, may come and eat and be satisfied, that the LORD your God may bless you in all the work of your hand which you do.
Christianity EtcRe: New Rccg's Tithe Collection Format by Enigma(m): 12:16pm On Jun 11, 2010
Kunle has been referring to the passage below but of course none of those defending the "tithing" fraud has been bold or honest enough to tackle it!

Deuteronomy 14

22 “You shall truly tithe all the increase of your grain that the field produces year by year.

23 And you shall eat before the LORD your God, in the place where He chooses to make His name abide, the tithe of your grain and your new wine and your oil, of the firstborn of your herds and your flocks, that you may learn to fear the LORD your God always.

24 But if the journey is too long for you, so that you are not able to carry the tithe, or if the place where the LORD your God chooses to put His name is too far from you, when the LORD your God has blessed you, 25 then you shall exchange it for money, take the money in your hand, and go to the place which the LORD your God chooses. 26 And you shall spend that money for whatever your heart desires: for oxen or sheep, for wine or similar drink, for whatever your heart desires; you shall eat there before the LORD your God, and you shall rejoice, you and your household. 27 You shall not forsake the Levite who is within your gates, for he has no part nor inheritance with you.

28 “At the end of every third year you shall bring out the tithe of your produce of that year and store it up within your gates. 29 And the Levite, because he has no portion nor inheritance with you, and the stranger and the fatherless and the widow who are within your gates, may come and eat and be satisfied, that the LORD your God may bless you in all the work of your hand which you do.
So, how many of the "tithe" preachers ever comply with this passage from the Bible?

How many tell the "tither" that he himself can eat the "tithe"?

How many tell the "tither" that if he exchanges the "tithe" for money, he can spend the money on whatever his heart desires --- including strong drink?

How many tell the "tither" to share his "tithe" with widows, orphans, strangers etc?

The tithe preachers are either fraudulent or misinformed and those who believe that a Christian has an obligation to "pay tithes" are at least similarly misinformed.
Christianity EtcRe: New Rccg's Tithe Collection Format by Enigma(m): 11:15am On Jun 11, 2010
Redman44:
. . . Is it not Pastor  Enoch Adeboye [ I respect him and his Ministry ] that told a gathering of thousands of Area Pastors, Deacons and Workers that God told him if the rapture should take place at the moment he was speaking to them, only about 3-5 people would make heaven? The story still makes me shudder in fear and trembling as I type this post. . . .
The pastor doesn't know what he is talking about; he was telling lies from his own heart!

@Topic

Informed Christians know very well that "tithing" is not an obligation for a Christian; those preaching/teaching "tithing" are either fraudulent or misinformed. It is also insidious and sheer corruption to ask people bringing "tithes" to come forward for prayer (and recognition?).
Christianity EtcRe: Top 10 Reasons Why Jesus Christ Is Not God by Enigma(m): 12:45am On Jun 09, 2010
Additionally for Christians:

Christ of course saw Himself as God and gave enough clear clues:

1. Read the below from Mark 2:

5 When Jesus saw their faith, He said to the paralytic, “Son, your sins are forgiven you.”
6 And some of the scribes were sitting there and reasoning in their hearts, 7 “Why does this Man speak blasphemies like this? Who can forgive sins but God alone?”
8 But immediately, when Jesus perceived in His spirit that they reasoned thus within themselves, He said to them, “Why do you reason about these things in your hearts? 9 Which is easier, to say to the paralytic, ‘Your sins are forgiven you,’ or to say, ‘Arise, take up your bed and walk’? 10 But that you may know that the Son of Man has power on earth to forgive sins”—He said to the paralytic, 11 “I say to you, arise, take up your bed, and go to your house.” 12 Immediately he arose, took up the bed, and went out in the presence of them all, so that all were amazed and glorified God, saying, “We never saw anything like this!”
2. Read also John 10:29 to end carefully ---- in particular, note that the people wanted to stone Him because they understood that He was referring to Himself as God even including when he used the expression "Son of God"!
Christianity EtcRe: New Age Teachings Of Pastor Chris Oyakhilome. Is It Right? by Enigma(m): 12:22am On Jun 09, 2010
[quote author=petres_007 link=topic=340740.msg6176758#msg6176758 date=1276021037]I assume dats Kenneth Copeland you're referring to?

That guy is a real life example of a wolf in sheep's clothing. shocked shocked shocked[/quote]Even his eyes are demonic imho; a truly most despicable fellow is Kenneth Copeland; indeed an anti-Christ again imho!
Christianity EtcRe: Heretic teachings e.g. "I Am Christ" - Their Effects in Society/Christianity by Enigma(m): 12:13am On Jun 09, 2010
MyJoe:
Religious deceivers will bear a heavy judgement.
I don't know if the above is necessarily true, I just wanna share a related story.

There is a video (extracts might even be on Youtube) produced by Canadian Television exposing fake miracle workers including Benny Hinn among others. One of the stories was that of a 9(?) years old paraplegic whose very poor immigrant parents took him to a Benny Hinn crusade for healing. They pledged several thousand pounds and Mr. Hinn "prayed", "laid hands" etc. Unfortunately the poor boy died shortly after the crusade.

Here comes the relevant bit - a Jewish Rabbi who was asked to comment said something to the effect:

I hope God has a special place in hell {for the likes of Benny Hinn}
Christianity EtcRe: Pls Explain by Enigma(m): 5:25pm On Jun 05, 2010
Yep, I add my voice to the view that "tithing" is not an obligation required of Christians; a Christian will better abide by Christ's teaching by helping the poor, widows, orphans and other needy people.
Christianity EtcRe: Heretic teachings e.g. "I Am Christ" - Their Effects in Society/Christianity by Enigma(m): 5:23pm On Jun 05, 2010
^^^ Yep agreed; it is a good idea to challenge a lot of the false teachings that abound today and the idea of such individual topics in particular threads is right.

By the way, Kunle, I am more inclined to regard your view denying the Trinity as error rather than heresy ---- taking everything into account.
Christianity EtcRe: Top 10 Reasons Why Jesus Christ Is Not God by Enigma(m): 5:12pm On Jun 05, 2010
When non-Christians say Jesus is not God, we can generally ignore them as they are irrelevant as well as ignorant.

However for the Christian who denies that Jesus is God, here is a small task: go and study and try to find and understand the meaning of this passage; take your time to consider the words used and their meaning --- in particular (a) "fullness" and (b) "Godhead" or "Deity".

Colossians 2:9

NIV
For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form
KJV
For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.
NKJV
For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily
Christianity EtcRe: Touch Not My Anointed & Do My Prophet No Harm by Enigma(m): 12:03pm On Jun 05, 2010
Joagbaje:
. . .
Well if you will be sincere , these scriptures above should have been enough except you want more. A pastor is not just a title. He is chosen by God over the poeple. He is backed with power by who sent him.

2 Cor. 13:10
   Therefore I write these things being absent, lest being present I should use sharpness, according to the power which the Lord hath given me to edification, and not to destruction.

Because the power can destroy also. remember the case of Ananias and his wife. How Peter sentenced them to death. The power upon an anointed man is that much. Why didnt saphira tell Peter "Nothing, dey shele,  No shaking,  You be christian , i be christian too. we are all annointed!"  Just like the song some NL members sing here. We have no rights to attack , insult and speak words against men that God has anointed into offices.
And those who take pleasure blasheming against the works of the holy spirit in the lives and callings upon  men of God are attracting distruction upon their own lives. I know some do it in ignorance. We are praying for mercy upon you guys .

SUPPOSING A PASTOR DOES WRONG?  It is not your business. Touch him not! either with your mouth, your hand, or your post! No matter how knowledgeable you think you are , once you enter this error. I can easily rate you spiritually.

Romans 14:4
   Who art thou that judgest another man's servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.

Now you may say Paul rebuke Peter. Remember Paul was an Apostle. He rebuke Peter Because he has a Calling an besides Peter was in Pauls congregation. He didnt rebuke peter in jerusalem church . or in the Aggora market. So Threads and attacks against ministers is unscriptural. There is a spiritual law in exodus.

Exodus 22:28
   Thou shalt not revile the gods, nor curse the ruler of thy people.

I know many want to be like Oshob thinking it will give them popularity. But they should take a lesson from Paul.

Acts 23:2-5
   And the high priest Ananias commanded them that stood by him to smite him on the mouth. [3] Then said Paul unto him, God shall smite thee, thou whited wall: for sittest thou to judge me after the law, and commandest me to be smitten contrary to the law? [4] And they that stood by said, Revilest thou God's high priest? [5] Then said Paul, I wist not, brethren, that he was the high priest: for it is written, Thou shalt not speak evil of the ruler of thy people.
This is sheer nonsense. I'm still trying to give you the benefit of the doubt that you believe these nonsensical lies otherwise I will see you as using subtle tactics and misusing Scriptures for the purpose of spiritual abuse; i.e. to intimidate your flock, so that they won't question anything you say, including lies, and you can easily fleece them!

Where in the Bible does it say or suggest that a "pastor" has special powers? Where does it say "Touch him not" if a pastor does wrong? And who tells you that every "pastor" is chosen by God?
Christianity EtcRe: New Age Teachings Of Pastor Chris Oyakhilome. Is It Right? by Enigma(m): 10:28am On Jun 05, 2010
^^^ Perhaps I should have expressed myself more clearly; what I really meant is that, as petres_007 pointed out earlier, there is no conclusive evidence yet.  smiley
Christianity EtcSpirit Of Christ In Old Testament People by Enigma(op): 10:25am On Jun 05, 2010
This post is for the edification of Joagbaje and other CEC members who have here claimed that Old Testament people could not have the Spirit of Christ.

Well the apostle Peter disagrees with you ---- though knowing you CEC people I expect you to say Peter was wrong and that you know this doctrine better than him because of your "revelation knowledge"!

1 Peter 1: 10 and 11

NKJV
Of this salvation the prophets have inquired and searched carefully, who prophesied of the grace [that would come] to you, searching what, or what manner of time, the Spirit of Christ who was in them was indicating when He testified beforehand the sufferings of Christ and the glories that would follow.
NIV
Concerning this salvation, the prophets, who spoke of the grace that was to come to you, searched intently and with the greatest care, trying to find out the time and circumstances to which the Spirit of Christ in them was pointing when he predicted the sufferings of Christ and the glories that would follow.
Christianity EtcRe: Top 10 Reasons Why Jesus Christ Is Not God by Enigma(m): 10:09am On Jun 05, 2010
Jesus IS God!
Jesus was NOT created!
Jesus was NOT made!
Rather Jesus IS begotten of the Father!
Jesus' baptism has nothing to do with His being begotten; rather Jesus IS eternally begotten!)
Jesus IS of one being with the Father!
Jesus WAS in the beginning, IS now and forever WILL BE! Amen.
Christianity EtcRe: New Age Teachings Of Pastor Chris Oyakhilome. Is It Right? by Enigma(m): 8:46am On Jun 05, 2010
I am also on the cautious side in making conclusions from hand/body gestures; the jury is still out, shall we say.
Christianity EtcRe: Touch Not My Anointed & Do My Prophet No Harm by Enigma(m): 8:19am On Jun 05, 2010
I am late to the party but very good work by aletheia and Nuclearboy. One point made by aletheia is extremely significant i.e. someone claiming to be anointed as Christ and thus equal to Christ. This is the heresy that Word of Faith people like Kenneth Copeland, Benny Hinn, Creflo Dollar etc have been teaching; in fact, sometimes they even make their congregations shout and chant repeatedly "I am Christ". Our own resident Word of Faith chief defender, Pasiitor Joagbaje of the posts above, has himself claimed here on a couple of occasions that  he is Christ using the words expressly "I am Christ".

Another point I'd like to see developed further is to ask Joagbaje exactly what he understands as Paul's meaning when he said he had "delivered [them] unto Satan"? Also, I wonder how literal Joagbaje regards this "delivery unto Satan"?
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 5:12pm On May 31, 2010
nuclearboy:
The icing on the cake is Petres_James_Bond's post above: There is ONLY ONE God. so its either that Jesus is it or not. How you can say He is a God but a lesser one in the light of the stated scriptures, I do not understand. . . .
Absolutely! That is the nub of the matter. Either Jesus is God or not. None of this He is "god" or somewhere between "god" and "God" business!
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 12:14pm On May 31, 2010
KunleOshob:
There is only one God almighty who is the creator God. There are several other super natural beings who were termed god in and outside the bible. The capital G to delienate the creator God is done to show he is superior to the lesser gods, I use capital G to describe Jesus as a God also to express his superiority to the lesser gods, that however does not make him equal to God the father.
You see kunle, in your posts this morning, you have been accusing me of reading into the Bible when I had not so far even tried to quote/interprete scripture at all. Yet what have you been doing with your last two posts other than reading into the Bible?

Consider these:

1. Does the Bible create a category in between "god" and "God" --- and on what basis do you place Jesus into a category between "god" and "God".

2. What does it mean to say that Jesus is "God" (capital G)? {I ask this specific question again, quite deliberately}
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 11:41am On May 31, 2010
KunleOshob:
@enigma
I think the mistake you are making is that you assume only one God exists like other trinitarians you then panel beat scriptures to justify calling Jesus "God almighty" by coming up with the extra biblical three in one concept. The bible acknowledges the existence of other gods but only the almighty creator God is worthy of worship.

Quick question, what is your definition of God? Also what is your definition of gods?
Going by your post, following questions arise:

1. Are you distinguishing between God and god (or a god)?

2. How many Gods (capital G in God) are there?

3. Is there more than one God (capital G)? {this is question 2 in a different way}

4. How many gods (small g) are there?

5. Is Jesus God (capital G), or god (small g) or simply a god?
Christianity EtcRe: The Left Behind Christians by Enigma(m): 11:36am On May 31, 2010
What "rapture" is that? huh

By the way, a chap called Tim LaHaye seems to have made some dosh with this "Left Behind" idea!
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 11:04am On May 31, 2010
KunleOshob:
The bible makes it clear that Jesus is the son of God, that then makes him a God as well. . . .
Can you explain this further as I'm not sure I get you clearly. Are you saying that Jesus is God?

If you are saying Jesus is God, then what does it mean to say "Jesus is God"? How is He then "God"?
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 10:10am On May 31, 2010
@ Kunle

Your position is one side of two broad types of arguments against the Trinity ---- from the perspective of Christians. I mean that in broad terms Christians who do not accept the Trinity doctrine can be divided into two categories.

Category 1: those who say that Jesus is less than the Father; this is the category of your line of argument.

Category 2: those who say that there is one God; and that that one God is Jesus Himself; in other words they say that Jesus Himself is ALSO God the Father; they say that the one God simply shows Himself in different ways e.g. as Spirit in the form of the Holy Spirit and in physical form as Jesus. This people for example will not do baptism "in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit" --- because of course they do not believe in the Trinity. They will only do baptism in the name of Jesus ---- because, to them, Jesus is the ONE GOD!

This argument in Category 2 is particularly associated with a group known as Oneness Pentecostals aka Jesus Only

You will notice that I went on more about Category 2, whereas you belong to Category 1; I of course belong to neither as I am Trinitarian. The reason I went on about 2 at length is that before we go on further about the Trinitarian doctrine itself, I want you to confront the following two questions.

1. Is Jesus God?

2. What does it mean to say Jesus is God?
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 9:16pm On May 30, 2010
^^^ Amen smiley
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 8:55pm On May 30, 2010
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/c/y/cyfranth.htm

Come, ye faithful, raise the anthem,
Cleave the skies with shouts of praise;
Sing to Him Who found a ransom,
Ancient of eternal days,
God of God, the Word Incarnate,
Whom the heaven of heaven obeys.

Ere He raised the lofty mountains,
Formed the seas, or built the sky,
Love eternal, free, and boundless,
Moved the Lord of Life to die,
Foreordained the Prince of Princes
For the throne of Calvary.

There, for us and our redemption,
See Him all His life blood pour!
There He wins our full salvation,
Dies that we may die no more;
Then, arising, lives forever,
Reigning where He was before.

High on yon celestial mountains
Stands His sapphire throne, all bright,
Midst unending alleluias
Bursting from the sons of light;
Sion’s people tell His praises,
Victor after hard won fight.

Bring your harps, and bring your incense,
Sweep the string and pour the lay;
Let the earth proclaim His wonders,
King of that celestial day;
He the Lamb once slain is worthy,
Who was dead and lives for ay.

Laud and honor to the Father,
Laud and honor to the Son,
Laud and honor to the Spirit,
Ever Three and ever One,
Consubstantial, co-eternal,
While unending ages run.
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 7:26pm On May 30, 2010
KunleOshob:
^^^ I have studied the scriptures and yet to see one single clear cut scripture that supports the allegation of Jesus being equal to God the father, on the contrary there are tonnes of scriptures which makes it clear that God the father is superior and a totally different entity from Jesus even though scripture makes it clear that Jesus is identical to God his father.
OK; however debate is for another day. Today (Trinity Sunday) I just want to celebrate the Trinity!

http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/f/i/firmlyib.htm

Firmly I believe and truly
God is Three, and God is One;
And I next acknowledge duly
Manhood taken by the Son.

And I trust and hope most fully
In that Manhood crucified;
And each thought and deed unruly
Do to death, as He has died.

Simply to His grace and wholly
Light and life and strength belong,
And I love supremely, solely,
Him the holy, Him the strong.

And I hold in veneration,
For the love of Him alone,
Holy Church as His creation,
And her teachings are His own.

And I take with joy whatever
Now besets me, pain or fear,
And with a strong will I sever
All the ties which bind me here.

Adoration aye be given,
With and through the angelic host,
To the God of earth and Heaven,
Father, Son and Holy Ghost.
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 7:03pm On May 30, 2010
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/h/o/holyholy.htm

Holy, holy, holy! Lord God Almighty!
Early in the morning our song shall rise to Thee;
Holy, holy, holy, merciful and mighty!
God in three Persons, blessèd Trinity!

. . .

Holy, holy, holy! Lord God Almighty!
All Thy works shall praise Thy Name, in earth, and sky, and sea;
Holy, holy, holy; merciful and mighty!
God in three Persons, blessèd Trinity!
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 6:56pm On May 30, 2010
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/t/h/3oneone3.htm

Three in One and One in Three,
Ruler of the earth and sea,
Hear us, while we lift to Thee
Holy chant and psalm.

. . .

Three in One and One in Three,
Dimly here we worship Thee;
With the saints hereafter we
Hope to bear the palm.
Christianity EtcRe: For Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 6:52pm On May 30, 2010
nuclearboy:
baiting DeepSight, ehn? grin

how's my son-in-law doing?
Ah ha; he's doing well; we are trying to raise the funds for bringing our 42-42 when the time is due grin grin grin

[quote author=jesus. link=topic=454157.msg6119649#msg6119649 date=1275233143]enigmalet i guess[/quote]Indeed wink

KunleOshob:
Much as I dis-like debating this "trinity" topic, I believe it is blasphemous to describe Jesus as co-equal with God. Jesus himself makes it crystal clear in the bible that the Father is greater than he is and he is subject to the will of the Father who sent him. As christians we should learn to stick to undiluted scriptures and not force our biases into it. Much as I love Jesus, worship and adore him, I would never equate him to God the father almighty who is the father and God of our saviour Jesus christ.
Kunle

This is one issue on which you are mistaken --- unfortunately. If you study the Scripture in the round carefully, seeing that God is Three in One and One in Three is basically inevitable. smiley
Christianity EtcFor Trinity Sunday by Enigma(op): 2:10pm On May 30, 2010
Blessed be God Almighty
Three in One, One in Three
Co-equal, Consubstantial, Co-eternal

And now we give you thanks
because you have revealed the glory of your eternal fellowship
of love with your Son and with the Holy Spirit,
three persons equal in majesty, undivided in splendour,
yet one God, ever to be worshipped and adored.
Christianity EtcRe: New Age Teachings Of Pastor Chris Oyakhilome. Is It Right? by Enigma(m): 2:09pm On May 29, 2010
Africankel:
Warm greeting to u all in the matchless name of our Lord Jesus Christ.
It is with glee that I make a comment, having read a few comments here. . .

@ babaearly, first of all let me point that you have already categorized Pastor Chris' style of teaching to a particular group "NEW AGE". . . I am glad you said with your mouth, "it is not bad" , But May I bring to your notice that Pastor Chris is preaching the "GOSPEL". . . Did you ever read in your bible where Jesus asked us do to these things that your so called Catholics, Baptists, Lutheran's and self styled Pentecostals? (By this, I don't mean to be insultive)
If you closely study the scriptures you will notice that Jesus only sent us to go into the world and preach the gospel (goodnews), which means to give hope to the hopeless, tell the love-peddler and criminal 'there's a better way of life' (not condemning them like your Penterascals and other groups will do).
I am sorry, a LOT of what Oyakhilome "preaches" is not the Christian gospel.

Africankel:
On the issue of human being gods, did u ever read in the book of Genesis, "let us make man in our own image and in our likeness. . . What does that mean to you? The bible said, so God make man in HIS OWN image and likeness, we never heard that God changed his mind and made man to look like something is. No wonder John tells us, you are of God,. . .because greater is he that is in you. this portion of scripture using lexicons and a Greek dictionary, u'll see it means that "your origination is from God", now if that is true, aint you a god? Do lizards originate from snakes?
Here is an example: no Christian church or group (other than WoF of which Oyakhilome is part) teaches that man is "god"; and we are very familiar with Psalm 82 and John 10 among others. Where was such nonsensical teaching in Christianity in the 2000 years or so predating WoF and Oyakhilome?

Africankel:
About meditation and visualizations, take your time, think of yourself as the owner of a conglomerate, let it soak your entity, and let me know if you are not inspired to be what you have just thought of.
You can do that, no problem. Just do not call it Christianity! You can call it "positive thinking" or something.
Christianity EtcRe: Between Pentecostalism And Word Of Faith Movement by Enigma(m): 8:47pm On May 26, 2010
Yep, the Word of Faith movement is a subset of Pentecostalism/Charismatism - a particularly heretical subset. In turn the prosperity "gospel" is an offshoot of the Word of Faith movement. The article pasted above by Mudley313 (which I have often linked to myself) is a reasonably good summary of the Word of Faith movement and some of its doctrines. Unfortunately, as many of the doctrines of the WoF movement are very attractive to the fleshly minded and materialistic, heretical WoF doctrine are seeping into mainstream Christianity --- particularly elements of the prosperity "gospel".

Beyond the prosperity "gospel", some WoF doctrines are basically satanic as even the article above points out. They downgrade Christ while at the same time elevating themselves to god definitely, perhaps God or at least "divine" status in self-delusion. The most ignorant/deluded (or possibly even corrupt) defender of the WoF movement here on nairaland is my own old mucker Pasiiitor Joagbaje. In turn the biggest WoF propagating "church" in Nigeria is the so-called "Christ Embassy" which makes Oyakhilome the leading individual WoF propagator in Nigeria and thus makes him befitting of the title of Nigeria's heretic-in-chief.

Some of Oyakhilome's blindest followers/admirers have often claimed here that he is a great "bible" teacher with "special revelation"; the mumus do not realise that Oyaks is simply repeating and parotting old WoF heresies from well known WoF preachers. I still plan to specifically investigate his books for plagiarism and I'm sure I will do it later this year. In the meantime, below is a post from a poster who has unwittingly helped me with background preparation.

SistaSista:
Still, I'm not asserting that Mr Chris Oyakhilome is a fake but some of the things I have found make it hard for me to turn a blind eye, for instance,

I find it interesting that 5 of his publications have the same titles as publications by other authors in the 40's, 70's and 80's!

eg.
1. Join This Chariot  by T.L. Osborn Paperback Book 1974

2. None of These Diseases (Paperback)
                by S. I. McMillen (Author), David E., M.D. Stern (Editor)
                Publisher: Fleming H Revell Co (June 1984)

3. E. W Kenyon- ( deceased in 1948)
a.           New Creation Realities
b.           The wonderful name of Jesus
c.           Two kinds of knowledge

but  judge for yourself,
Christianity EtcRe: Can A Christian Have Double Personality? by Enigma(m): 8:19pm On May 20, 2010
grin Ha, at first I thought this was about double/multiple IDs on the nairaland forum. That I have some idea about even as i have no clue about Beyonce's double personality.

A few nairaland double/multiple IDs are so easily recognisable that it has crossed my mind that the forum's owner and moderators are not that interested in prohibiting double/multiple IDs. Interestingly, apart from those with easily recognisable double/multiple IDs here, there are some who operate as a team ---- especially the CEC members.

All rather amusing!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 (of 198 pages)