Stats: 3,329,483 members, 8,440,843 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 July 2026 at 03:42 PM

Gombs's Posts

Nairaland ForumGombs's ProfileGombs's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 (of 268 pages)

Christianity EtcRe: Rhapsody Of Realities: A Daily Devotional by Gombs(m): 6:37am On Apr 10, 2015
A Faith-response . - Friday, April 10th . 

Pastor Chris 

Then touched he their eyes, saying, According to your faith be it unto you (Matthew 9:29). 

We belong in a spiritual kingdom, and there're things that matter in that kingdom, which we must know about. For instance, we need to know how to respond to God. He talks and ministers to us every day, but some people don't know this, and so they say things like, "Lord, I just want you to really talk to me". He talks to you, but you need to know how to respond to Him. 

Your response matters. Remember, when God called Samuel; He called him three times, but each time, he ran to Eli, the priest, thinking it was Eli that called him. When Samuel came the third time, the Bible says, "...Eli perceived that the LORD had called the child. Therefore Eli said unto Samuel, Go, lie down: and it shall be, if he call thee, that thou shalt say, Speak, LORD; for thy servant heareth..." (1 Samuel 3:8-9). 

Those words were specific and important. Eli didn't tell the boy to merely say, "I am here"; he taught him how to respond to God, and it worked. Sometimes, our response to God can be affected when we try to reason out His message. For instance, the Spirit of God could say to someone, "Laugh!" and the person will wonder why he or she should laugh when nothing is funny. That's a wrong response. Imagine David going to fight Goliath, a giant and trained soldier, and the Spirit told him to pick five smooth stones. This didn't make sense, but he believed nevertheless, and picked the stones. With one of the stones, he killed the giant, and won the battle for Israel. 

You may be in a terrible situation or have found yourself fighting a habit, and you've been praying, "Oh God, help me". The Word lets us know He has already helped you. So, how are you going to respond? What you need is a faith-response. You ought to declare with confidence, "I'm mightily helped of God. The Spirit of God is working in me, causing me to triumph over every situation and habit". When you respond to the Word this way, it'll work for you, producing the desired results. Glory to God! 

Confession...
The Word of God is my light and my life. I'm sensitive to the leading of the Word and the Spirit of God in my life. I'm quick to respond by faith to the Word, and my progress is evident to all, in Jesus' Name. Amen.

Further Study:
Luke 5:4-6
Now when he had left speaking, he said unto Simon, Launch out into the deep, and let down your nets for a draught. 5 And Simon answering said unto him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net. 6 And when they had this done, they inclosed a great multitude of fishes: and their net brake.

Luke 1:38
And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.

Daily Scripture Reading 

1-Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 12:22-48,Judges 9

2-Year Bible Reading Plan: Mark 1:1-13, Leviticus 10
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 9:38pm On Apr 09, 2015
WinsomeX:
So did you see "debate" in that response I made to Kenny? You took up issues with what I've been saying until you left or better still, fled.

The things I'm saying here are basically information provision. You are free to counter them if you like. What I would not get into is endless responses to one issue while derailing the thread. That's what I mean by debates.

BTW, I thought you said you left? Well, is it not Gombs?
Seems you... SMH

I'm here because you mentioned me. Kindly disist. Thanks. I hope not to be back here again.

Now, please continue your wishful writings.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 8:22pm On Apr 09, 2015
WinsomeX:
You promised to take me up on the issues I'm discussing but save for Gombs who has fled now, none of you have been able to take up the challenge.

Never mind. The thread is progressing just fine.
You're a painful liar. You said here that the thread was not open for debate, you just want to warn people, I left you to your fate, now you saying I fled?

So, suddenly you want to debate with Kenny? I feel so sorry for you.
Christianity EtcRe: Pastor Chris Oyakilome DID NOT Ban Singer , Sinach From Singing In His Church by Gombs(m): 6:33am On Apr 09, 2015
vooks:
Gombs,
I had mentioned as much in another thread
https://www.nairaland.com/2241721/pastor-chris-oyakilome-allegedly-bans/4#32469216

But please note this negro insisted that she was in South Africa over Easter

Defending the truth with lies is not exactly wisdom
Well, some folks love lies and negativities. They feed on it
Christianity EtcRe: Rhapsody Of Realities: A Daily Devotional by Gombs(m): 6:26am On Apr 09, 2015
See From The Mountaintop . - Thursday, April 9th . 

Pastor Chris 

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me (Psalm 23:4). 

Did you know that just as we have mountains, valleys, and plains in the physical world, they also exist in the realm of the spirit? Yes, they do! The physical world is actually a shadow of the spiritual world. Study the Scriptures; you'll discover from the writings of the prophets that they weren't talking about earthly mountains and valleys, but about spiritual ones. In the realm of the spirit, some people live in the valley, while others live on the mountaintop. 

In the valley, people only see the activities of demons and evil beings of darkness, from which they always need deliverance. Satan and his demons become more popular to them than God and the angels. To live in the valley is to journey in the wrong direction in the realm of the spirit. Some of us, however, see from the mountaintop. We dwell and function in the realm of light, where all we see is success, victory, prosperity, healing and testimonies of salvation. In our trajectory, Satan isn't a factor because we know he's a defeated foe. Jesus completely paralyzed him and made a public spectacle of him and his cohorts in the realm of the spirit (Colossians 2:15). 

On the mountaintop, we know we don't have to struggle with Satan. He's completely defeated; all he does now is to try deception and fear. He uses those two things to render the Word of God inoperative in people's lives, because he knows the only way they keep him defeated is through their knowledge, and the proclamation of the Word. 2 Corinthians 10:4 says, "For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds". 

Ideas, theories and imaginations planted in the minds of men that cause them to behave wrongly are strongholds. These strongholds are destroyed through the knowledge of the Word. When the devil tries to plant imaginations of fear, failure, sickness, or the very worst that could happen in your mind, use the Word against them, and they'll crash at your feet. 

Confession...
I'm not ordinary. I'm a citizen of Zion, Jerusalem which is above. I'm seated together with Christ in heavenly places, far above all principalities, and power, and might, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this world, but also in that which is to come. All things are under my feet, and I reign and rule with Christ. 

Further Study:
Hebrews 12:22
But ye are come unto mount Sion, and unto the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem, and to an innumerable company of angels, ; 

2 Corinthians 10:4-5
(For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holdswink 5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

Daily Scripture Reading 

1-Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 12:1-21, Judges 7-8

2-Year Bible Reading Plan: Matthew 28:11-20, Leviticus 9
Christianity EtcRe: Pastor Chris Oyakilome DID NOT Ban Singer , Sinach From Singing In His Church by Gombs(m): 6:57pm On Apr 08, 2015
Lalasticlala and seun. Please do the needful. Do not let NL be known for peddling lies and old wives tales.

And, here is proof for the Uganda ministration. The way some bloggers are piling curses on themselves just because they want to drive traffic eh!?

In other news, God bless partners world over for their labour of love in building a happier world with love. God bless you all

Cc:
Winsomex
PastorKun

FamilyRe: My Wife Demands Money From Me Before Sex – Husband Tells Judge by Gombs(m): 6:51pm On Apr 08, 2015
Amazing shocked

I'm stunned at the topic as Hormer Simpson

Jobs/VacanciesRe: Beware: Nigeria Custom Service Job Scam On Linkedin by Gombs(m): 2:37pm On Apr 08, 2015
9ja sef.

Scam Oyibo, scam ourselves, when these people go scam CBN?

Christianity EtcRe: Rhapsody Of Realities: A Daily Devotional by Gombs(m): 6:40am On Apr 08, 2015
...In Control And In Charge! - Wednesday, April 8th . 

Pastor Chris 

For if by one man’s offence death reigned by one; much more THEY WHICH RECEIVE ABUNDANCE OF GRACE AND OF THE GIFT OF RIGHTEOUSNESS SHALL REIGN IN LIFE BY ONE, JESUS CHRIST (Romans 5:17). 

The underlined portion of our opening verse refers to God's people that are operating from the mountaintop, from the realm of limitless possibilities and perpetual victories, because they've taken advantage of God's grace. The Apostle Paul said such folks "king" (reign) in life; they're in control and in charge! They exercise dominion over circumstances, and are able to tame the forces of nature! They live a different kind of life - the transcendent life. 

This was what Paul meant when he told Timothy, "...be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus" (2 Timothy 2:1). That means, "Take advantage of the grace". Receive grace and reign! Take as much of it as you require for a life of reigning; rule and be in charge by grace. You're not going to reign in heaven, because there's nothing to reign over in heaven. You're to reign as a king in this world; you're to function with authority in the earth. 

God has made you superior to Satan, his demons, sickness, disease and infirmity. You're seated together with Christ, far above all principalities, and power, and might, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this world, but also in that which is to come (Ephesians 1:21). Therefore, rule over circumstances; exercise dominion over fear, hell, lack, poverty, and death! 

Manifest the glory of God everywhere; that's your calling; that's your life; that's your heritage! You're the seed of Abraham, which means despite global economic meltdowns, recessions, and inflation, the grace of God puts you ahead, in charge and in control.

Confession...
I'm highly favoured of God, and positioned by grace for the triumphant life! I'm reigning in life as a king, exercising dominion over circumstances, taming the forces of nature and charting my course in victory! I manifest the glory and righteousness of God today. This is my calling, and my heritage, in Jesus' Name. Amen.

Further Study:
2 Timothy 2:1
Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. ; 

Revelation 5:10
And hast made us unto our God kings and priests: and we shall reign on the earth.

Daily Scripture Reading 

1-Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 11:37-54, Judges 5-6

2-Year Bible Reading Plan: Matthew 28:1-10, Leviticus 8
PoliticsRe: Video: Nigerian House Of Rep Member Defending Pay, Says He Is Not Payed Enough by Gombs(m): 2:18pm On Apr 07, 2015
Grendel:
remind me the title of this movie please grin
Senator Clive Davis, The wire

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1dnqKGuezo
PoliticsRe: Video: Nigerian House Of Rep Member Defending Pay, Says He Is Not Payed Enough by Gombs(m): 2:17pm On Apr 07, 2015
Bawss1:
Lol, is that gif Clive Davis from The Wire?
Yup, Senator Clive Davis. grin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1dnqKGuezo
PoliticsRe: Video: Nigerian House Of Rep Member Defending Pay, Says He Is Not Payed Enough by Gombs(m): 10:27am On Apr 07, 2015
If only we were smarter with legislation

as for those calling Buhari will fix this etc... I'm like

[img]http://i./GUiKSvedM5daE.gif[/img]

i feel sorry for you all. He will be a president, not a miracle worker.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 9:49am On Apr 07, 2015
[quote author=WinsomeX post=32438074]
Good morning Gombs,

There is nothing wrong with what Pastor Chris wrote up there. It is Word of Faith, alright.
If there is nothing wrong with the post, why then do you criticize WoF, and call them a cult?what is your scare?

I hope to continue analysis on cult psychology. This thread is really not meant for debates. Like the others I have worked on, it is to warn people. You could either take a warning or not take it.
Ah! Not meant for debate? You just want us to swallow all you have? Really? Warn people? Ok o

The thread will also help those coming out of the cult thinking of WoF. It would help you when God eventually liberates you from that sect you glory in today.
You really are being hysterical. Well, Godspeed. I think I'm done here.

May God's Spirit guide you, I pray.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 7:21am On Apr 07, 2015
Keep Your Body In Health - Tuesday, April 7th . 

Pastor Chris 

Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you (Luke 10:19). 

As a child of God, your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost (1 Corinthians 6:19), which means your body isn't yours; it's owned by God. However, you're the one to keep watch over your body and keep it in health. You're the one to exercise authority over your body, keeping it free of sickness, disease and infirmity. 

The words of Jesus in our opening verse should let you know that you're not ordinary; you have the right to tell your body how it should feel. Tell your body what to do, and it'll respond. Jesus said in Mark 11:23 that you shall have what you say. If you've been struggling with an addiction, declare with boldness, "I'm not going to let anything dominate me. I keep my body in subjection to the Word of God!" Don't permit in your body anything that's not consistent with the Word of God for your life; take charge and rule over your body with the Word of God. 

When you perceive the symptoms of sickness in your body, reject them for they only become real when you say they are. Your words aren't empty; what you say comes to pass; therefore, talk to your body always, and keep it in health. Don't say, "I have a growth in my stomach and it's hurting so bad. The doctor says it's cancer". Don't talk about the growth; talk to it instead! Tell it to die and pass out from your body. Tell the pain to cease, and tell your body to function rightly in line with the life of Christ that's in your spirit. 

Christ literally lives in you! He dwells in your spirit and expresses Himself through your physical body. Your consciousness of this reality makes it easier for you to exercise dominion over your body against sickness, disease, and infirmity. 

Confession...
The Spirit of God vitalizes every fibre of my being! The God-life in me destroys sickness, disease and infirmities! I'm healthy and strong! Only the life and nature of Christ - His beauty and glory - are manifested in my physical body, because He perambulates in me, through the Holy Spirit. Halleluiah!

Further Study:
Romans 8:10-13
And if Christ be in you, the body is dead because of sin; but the Spirit is life because of righteousness.

11 But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.

12 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh.

13 For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live.

Daily Scripture Reading 

1-Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 11:14-36,Judges 3-4

2-Year Bible Reading Plan: Matthew 27:55-66, Leviticus 7
https://www.nairaland.com/393253/rhapsody-realities-daily-devotional/36#32432191

WinsomeX, this is a good example of Positive faith confessions. Wow! I almost leaped for joy today, just by reading it.

Now, can you point to me what is wrong with any of the above? Can you show me what is unscriptural about any part of it?

Remember, when I say "I'm not ordinary",from the above, you can understand my [i]sunesis[/I] (that's Greek, look it up please). You see why I cannot be sick or broke any day of my life? Christ did it all for me.

Good morning
Christianity EtcRe: Rhapsody Of Realities: A Daily Devotional by Gombs(m): 5:18am On Apr 07, 2015
Keep Your Body In Health - Tuesday, April 7th . 

Pastor Chris 

Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you (Luke 10:19). 

As a child of God, your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost (1 Corinthians 6:19), which means your body isn't yours; it's owned by God. However, you're the one to keep watch over your body and keep it in health. You're the one to exercise authority over your body, keeping it free of sickness, disease and infirmity. 

The words of Jesus in our opening verse should let you know that you're not ordinary; you have the right to tell your body how it should feel. Tell your body what to do, and it'll respond. Jesus said in Mark 11:23 that you shall have what you say. If you've been struggling with an addiction, declare with boldness, "I'm not going to let anything dominate me. I keep my body in subjection to the Word of God!" Don't permit in your body anything that's not consistent with the Word of God for your life; take charge and rule over your body with the Word of God. 

When you perceive the symptoms of sickness in your body, reject them for they only become real when you say they are. Your words aren't empty; what you say comes to pass; therefore, talk to your body always, and keep it in health. Don't say, "I have a growth in my stomach and it's hurting so bad. The doctor says it's cancer". Don't talk about the growth; talk to it instead! Tell it to die and pass out from your body. Tell the pain to cease, and tell your body to function rightly in line with the life of Christ that's in your spirit. 

Christ literally lives in you! He dwells in your spirit and expresses Himself through your physical body. Your consciousness of this reality makes it easier for you to exercise dominion over your body against sickness, disease, and infirmity. 

Confession...
The Spirit of God vitalizes every fibre of my being! The God-life in me destroys sickness, disease and infirmities! I'm healthy and strong! Only the life and nature of Christ - His beauty and glory - are manifested in my physical body, because He perambulates in me, through the Holy Spirit. Halleluiah!

Further Study:
Romans 8:10-13
And if Christ be in you, the body is dead because of sin; but the Spirit is life because of righteousness.

11 But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.

12 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh.

13 For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live.

Daily Scripture Reading 

1-Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 11:14-36,Judges 3-4

2-Year Bible Reading Plan: Matthew 27:55-66, Leviticus 7
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 6:02pm On Apr 06, 2015
trustman:
[/size]

Now you're doing exactly what you accuse him of - paint him black!

But do you hero-worship your pastor chris?
Do you apply 1 Corinthians 3:21 to him? If so how?
Paint him black? You want links? That I reported what he said, without apology and in strong terms, you had the temerity to say I paint him black?

Trustman, you don start o. grin
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 5:58pm On Apr 06, 2015
[quote author=WinsomeX post=32416062]
Thank you nannymcphee for the contribution.

I had stated somewhere that I will hesitate to call Pentecostal churches that teach WoF cults bc I can vouch that a lot of them, to some extent still preach the basic tenets of scripture that can secure the eternal home of a soul.
Example please. If CE is a cult, you may as well tell us those that aren't.

Unfortunately I cannot say this of CEC. I believe that church has tilted into the realm of a full blown cult and thus the need for a thread like this one.

The similarities with other churches you pointed out is those churches tethering to the cliff end and themselves entering the cult realm. One other church that is clearly a cult is the Synagogue of all Nation - T B Joshua. Unfortunately CEC have love, respect and adoration for this man.
What exactly made Synagogue a cult? undecided

What other evidence is left on the shelf?

I will continue in other posts with chapter of Dr Martin book as he speaks on cults vocabulary.
You need help, urgently.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 5:51pm On Apr 06, 2015
Nanny, it's been a while. I trust you're good? Welcome to the month of fruit bearing. (DB will call this "cult greeting" now)

Wonderful reply you gave to DB, I was overwhelmed, as you couldn't have put it any better. God bless you jare.

DB, study nanny's post well, thanks.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 5:37pm On Apr 06, 2015
WinsomeX:
Appendix 4 or 5 of Kingdom of the Cults have done justice the issue of why the religion of Mohammed is a cult. Pls consult that manual.

Judaism is not a cult. It is the religion of the Jews. And if properly taught and believed should lead them to the Saviour.

With this I hope you don't derail this thread any further. If you cannot defend why CEC should not be called a cult, you may sit back, read and learn a few things.
I have showed you why CE is not a cult. Please visit previous pages.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m):
damosky12:
Sir, like Gombs earlier said: if you are so concerned about a erring church, get on your knees and pray for them that their eyes be opened. I also think you should be reading materials that is connected to the gospel of Jesus instead of that one confusing you now.Its only on the basis of the word that you can prove sth to be error."that ye may be able to prove"Rom 12:2
Don't mind DB, he knows how the Church of God should be like, yet, he's made no effort to start a church, according to how God 'has shown him'.

He finds fault in almost all ministers, and ministries, he can't name a minister or author that completely endorses his kind of Christianity.

He does not have a spiritual head, he is not an author, he is not a pastor, teacher, etc, he is the 'true gospel preacher'. He has a problem with 'money' and 'church' in one sentence. He called Hagin, a failure, Kenyon a fraud, Oyedepo a thief, Oyakhilome an adulterer, RCCG worshippers he called brood of vipers littering Lagos/Ibadan Expway and Monroe? Yet, he hasn't done anything for the kingdom except writing blogs and NL, doing more harm to the body of Christ with his idea of Christianity.

That, is the man WinsomeX, aka Drummaboy. His doctrines and teachings? Jesus was ill at a time, their is no such thing as God kind of faith, health and wealth are not part of Jesus' plan for the new creation, tithing is done away with, WoF is devilish, CE is a cult, christianity began at the cross and not the resurrection, speaking in tongues is gibberish, etc

Next you'd see "CE has a currency" "CE will produce the anti Christ" etc. Watch out
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 2:08pm On Apr 06, 2015
WinsomeX:
Yes.

Incidentally, the book also listed Islam in appendix..

I don't know your point in asking but Christians are already on guard against Islam. Its churches like yours that need to be warned against bc yours is the subtle deceiver. Islam is not.
Why is Islam a cult? Is Judaism a cult too?
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 11:55am On Apr 06, 2015
WinsomeX:
Before I answer your question, note the bold. Now to your question:

Dr Martins is sound because he was a Christian whose persuasion came from orthodox Christianity: Reformed theology. He was well taught with four degrees, ultimately earning a PHD in theology. He was sound because he could clearly distinguish BTW what was Christian and what was cultic, this the book.

As for tithing and spiritual gifts, the recent book reviewer had himself said on minor issues, he disagreed with Walter. Example eschatology. And that those who worked on the recent edition Also were not agreed on all points of doctrine. You might find an antitither among them then.

Until you can show me where Walter taught that not tithing is cultic, you will have to make do with the topic of discuss and stop digressing from the issues on ground.
Thank you for answering. From the above, you admit he was sound by number of degrees and also, you disagree with him on a number of things. That aside.

From your above bold, I couldn't help but laugh. I am not saying anti tithers are cultic, you're the one obsessed with naming others cultic. I have no intentions derailing this thread.

Now a quiz question, would you term Islam a cult?if yes,Why, if no, why?
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 11:04am On Apr 06, 2015
WinsomeX:
I could you wish you would heed your own advice and stay on topic. The topic on discuss here is CEC bring a cult, not tithes or cessationism. There are hundreds of threads on tithes, you can post this there and mention me, I may oblige you.
The questions I asked are not tithe related. It was related to Dr. walter., and your clear distortion of what he said.

More so, it was to make clear why you choose to call one a sound Christian, while you ignore and/or despise what they do.

If you cannot answer, then, you can go on with your thread...after all, a bulk of my points have been made thuse far.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 10:58am On Apr 06, 2015
WinsomeX:
It was the introductory statement on the sect. You can download the book and read the rest yourself.
I asked you some pertinent questions with regards Dr. Walter Martin. I want you to address them, or, I and most viewers, will conclude on your motives, which quite frankly is conspicuous hate, bitterness and acute feverish desire to be slanderous.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 10:09am On Apr 06, 2015
vooks:
Is WOF cultic?
Please make a point of examining the sources shared by Winsomex. Appendix B titled the Word Faith Movement paragraph 4.

The reason I asked about marriages is because that is the hallmark of cults; exclusivism. They are the only custodians of truth and outside is just ignorance and deception.

I don't know of ANY pentecostal church that frowns upon members marrying other pentecostals and it came as a surprise that CEC actively discourages that bro.

I find it decidedly convenient that you keep on throwing examples of Catholicism and JW,obvious sectarian organizations. Catholics derives their doctrine/authority from Scriptures AND Tradition;JW from their own translation of scriptures AND Watchtower Society. These two are clearly incompatible with Pentecostalism. But what about RCCG?

Once again, what's the risk of Gombs marrying an RCCG girl? By actively encouraging 'inbreeding' while being indifferent to inter-sects marriages, they are clearly DISCOURAGING such

A more relevant question is, what's so WRONG with a fine RCCG damsel?
You had to twist my intentions, no?. Nothing is wrong as a believer, in RCCG marrying CEC, or CEC marrying Winners, RCCG or Catholic or JW or even Muslims.

I said it is not encouraged, I did not say "CEC actively discourages" it. It is unfair to clamp it on CE as a flaw, most (if not all) churches do not encourage marrying outside, because of doctrines, majorly.

This is my last on this. Stop derailing this thread, if you want to discuss marriage further, open a thread and call me in.

Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 8:41am On Apr 06, 2015
Kenny4lyfe:
Christianity is a cult indeed

*We eat flesh;
*We drink blood;
*We speak in tongues (which is gibberish to the spiritually unlearned);
*We call forth things that be not as though they were ('cus we've come to understand that all things were made by the spoken word);
*We are so addicted to our belief such that it has become the air we breathe, the clothe we wear and the food we eat and we are resolute that nothing- not tribulation, distress, persecution, famine, unclothedness, sword, peril nor a dead on arrival thread by someone with a personal vendetta would stop us. and;
*We are led by God's spirit.
What more can I say? grin grin
We are unstoppable jor!!!!
Haahahahahahahahahhaahh. Nice one jorr... The head of all principalities is our boss. We, christians, for sure are a cult.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 8:39am On Apr 06, 2015
[quote author=vooks post=32396087]
Gombs,
First tithing is not exclusive to evangelicals. Even Catholicism teaches it
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/14741b.htm
SDAs too
So for Walter Martin to have believed and taught it and yet label WOF as cultic means the distinction between tithing and WOF was clear to him.
He never labeled WoF as cultic, Drummaboy would want us believe thus, in a subtle way. Now, that you know he didnt, you can now re think your post.

There is something you mentioned up there to the effect that marriages within membership are strongly encouraged to 'prevent clash of doctrines' and you gave example of a Catholic and a CEC lady marrying.
Are you sure you read carefully what i post here? undecided

Please tell me whether there are doctrines peculiar to CEC and not other evangelical churches like say RCCG, and if marriages between members of CEC and other evangelical churches are frowned upon.
stay on topic please. thanks.

but for clarity, marriages between CEC and other churches aren't frowned upon, neither are they encouraged (Which church would encourage her brethren to marry from another church?). If you want to marry from say winners, the church writes to Winners introducing the sister or brother, likewise Winners, by then, CEC for example would have read and known what Winners believe in, and winners likewise, and then, a go ahead is given.

But if for example, a CE member wants to marry a JW, knowing what they believe in, it will not be encouraged to do so, especially when it is a sister going to the JW brother, why? becasue alot of people have lost thier ministry on the altar of marriage. A sister or brother who won 20 folks to Christ, a leader, all of a sudden is light out, because their spouse do not share same beliefs or doctrine, but if you want to still marry outside, fine, go head.

*I am solely responsible for anything i posted above, this is what i know about it, it may however, not be the complete detail. Joagbaje will do great in answering this, extensively.

but, if i want to get maried now, why would i ignore all the fine sisters in CE, and end up looking outside? grin

Thanks buddy
welcome jare. Now, can we stay on topic? undecided
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m):
WinsomeX:
As we continue the study of Christ Embassy being a cult, my hope is that the readers understand that my reference to the CEC being a cult is not in that extreme manner of a group of people who make covenants in blood and hold meetings at night. This is the reason I refused to respond to an earlier comment where an individual resorted to the dictionary to define what a cult should be. I am not doing dictionary definition of cultism here. I am looking at cults as defined by Walter Martins in his book The Kingdom of the Cults and with reference to how the bible sees them.

Apart from the Mormons, Jehovah Witnesses and Christian Science, Dr Martins also did a study of many other cult groups, including the New Age movement, etc. I was very surprised to find Word of Faith listed as a cult in the Appendix of the book although my surprise was only a confirmation of something I have long suspected.

Joagbaje has commented on this thread with a seeming witty statement that Christianity could as well be a cult if CEC is one. Like a responder said to him, such a comment cannot detract from the matter on ground.

Dr Walter Martin was a sound evangelical Christian. His theological persuasion were derived from orthodox Protestant theologies, deeply rooted in the Reformed Tradition. He was not a Pentecostal and he did not list Pentecostalism as a cult in his book. In fact he did not include WoF as a cult in the original version of his book. But his followers deemed it fit to include WoF as cultic after his death and that's why it is listed in the appendix of the book.

Quite naturally the thought of CEC being a cult sounds distasteful and I'm certain even some that are my friends in this forum may think that my assertion is a little on the extreme but shall we consider the evidences before us without bias and shall we not take heed lest this false doctrine creep into our homes and into the lives of our children? Shall we permit a modern day Nigerian Jimmy Jones tragedy before we speak out?

Another person has shared on this thread how people he knows suddenly become "new creatures" the moment they imbibe CEC doctrines into their lives. With thinking of "I'm a god", "I can fly", "I can do all things", "the world is mine", "I do everything for the money", etc, replete in their thoughts and words.

I would continue the discuss as I try to retrieve salient quotes from Dr Martins on the cultist mental state, so that you can understand the CEC member next door even better.

Cheers.

- WX.
Seems I am the only one trying to make sense out of your thread. Hopefully, I'd wish to stay longer.

From the above bold, I like your description of Dr. Walters, in fact, I knew he had issues with Hagin and Copeland over positive faith confessions. However, as you described him as a sound evangelical Christian- emphasis on 'sound'. I don't seem to want to doubt that now.

Did you know his stands on tithing? Maybe i should drop something for you here: hope you know he founded Christian Research Institute, (CRI)? Now read carefully

CRI has had an official position on the subject, it has been that Christians should tithe. Walter Martin’s answer to this question was a resounding yes.

He cited Hebrews 7:8–9 as proof, arguing that just as Abraham, who was before the Law of Moses, paid tithes to Melchizadek (a type of Christ), so we who were “in his loins” as his children through faith (even as the text says Abraham’s grandson Levi was in his loins) should properly pay tithes to Christ.

Current CRI president Hank Hanegraaff has not been as vocal about tithing as was Martin, but in an upcoming book he will take the position that tithing is for today.

He cites, among other things, the fact that Jacob tithed to God long before Moses (Gen. 28:22), and long after Moses, Jesus reaffirmed tithing even while censuring the Pharisees for their meticulous practice of it to the neglect of the weightier matters of religion (Matthew 23:23).
http://www.equip.org/article/tithing/#christian-books-4

Now, are you calling him sound evangelical Christian because he wrote about cultism, or because he really was sound Christian?

If your answer is the latter, why then would you reject his stance on tihing and embrace cultism, a fact you admitted he didn't mention WoF as one? Should I list what he mentioned as cults?

While Dr. Walter Martin was critical of Hagin and Copeland's teachings concerning their views of Christ, healing, faith, and prosperity, he believed in the perpetuity of charismatic spiritual gifts in the Church. To that end, Martin presented his positive appraisal of spiritual gifts in several audio lectures (visit www.waltermartin.com) . Or watch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjMMbFYojA4

You can't just come here and lie about the man just to suit yourself. Using his positions on Mormonism, Scientology, Christian Science, Jehovah witnesses etc to make us believe what he wasn't saying.
Christianity EtcRe: Rhapsody Of Realities: A Daily Devotional by Gombs(m): 6:25am On Apr 06, 2015
"…Being Filled With The Spirit" · Monday, April 6th

Pastor Chris

And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord (Ephesians 5:18-19).

Receiving the Holy Spirit and being full of the Spirit are two different things. You receive the Holy Spirit once, to live in you, but "being filled" with the Spirit is something that should happen continually. Actually, the latter part of our opening verse is literally rendered, "be being filled with the Spirit," which means it’s a continual experience.

You ought to be perpetually filled with the Spirit, and it’s something you can make happen for yourself. It’s not God’s responsibility to get you filled with the Spirit. The instruction is that "you" get yourself filled with the Spirit by doing the things listed in our theme scripture: "Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord."

This means speaking the Word to yourself in psalms, and hymns, and spiritual songs, and then singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord through the Spirit—through praying in other tongues. Paul said, "…I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also" (1 Corinthians 14:15).

"Singing with the spirit" is singing in other tongues, and that’s what he means by speaking to yourself in "spiritual songs." Therefore, to be filled with the Spirit, you ought to speak in tongues, sing in tongues, and make melodies in your heart to the Lord.

Maybe you’re facing challenges in your marriage, in your home, your job, your academics, finances or even in your health, if you’ve received the Holy Spirit, happy are you! Get into your closet and act on the Word. Tell yourself, "I’m what God says I am! Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world! I am a victor in Christ Jesus! I can never be disadvantaged!" Then sing the Word in Psalms, and hymns and make melody of the Word in your heart to the Lord.

Speak in other tongues and by interpretation, declare the wisdom of God.

Prayer...
Dear Lord, I thank you for the infilling of your Spirit. Your glory is manifested in and through me today, and your wisdom is seen and heard in my words and in my actions, because I’m full of the Spirit, in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

further study:
1 John 4:4;

Acts 2:4

1 Year Bible Reading Plan: Luke 11:1-13 Judges 1-2

2 year Bible Reading Plan: Matthew 27:45-54 Leviticus 6
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 11:02pm On Apr 05, 2015
^^
Sarcasm grin
Christianity EtcRe: The Christ Embassy Church Is A Cult by Gombs(m): 7:30pm On Apr 05, 2015
MuttleyLaff:
There is cult, and there is cult
Is this an attempt to "get the dirt off" Christ embassy so Christ embassy can come up smelling of roses?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 (of 268 pages)