Stats: 3,329,503 members, 8,440,961 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 July 2026 at 07:57 PM

Isalegan2's Posts

Nairaland ForumIsalegan2's ProfileIsalegan2's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 (of 185 pages)

PoliticsRe: Ojukwu - The Economist by isalegan2: 4:12am On Dec 03, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=815768.msg9682597#msg9682597 date=1322880720]I promise not to derail Prof Ola's thread again.

BUT. .

This is scary. . .

This story is so eerily familiar. . .

Just add the Economist to it and You have a converstion between me and a certain adult in my life when I was just about to leave Sec School. . . almost word for word. . (No wonder you chose Politics) That was before the days of Google search. . I bought the hell out of Newsweek, Time and The Economist when I could afford to. Good times, Google has now leveled us all. grin[/quote]I bought Newswatch instead of The Economist.

You blow the cover and we close NL for good. I pity Seun Osewa lipsrsealed
My assignment is just that.  lipsrsealed

Ta 'n pe Moola s'ejo?  angry

just kiddin'  embarassed

It means: How are you doing?
That dude is neither Hausa, nor Fulani.  (And I don't even have to check his post history to confirm it.)  Only us "ignorant southerners" lump Hausas and Fulanis together.

I bet he's one of your posse, trying to pull a fast one.  grin

Derail away!  There's a hundred similarly themed threads. lol.  Plus, I'd like to see Prof Ola throw a massive strop.  shocked cheesy
PoliticsRe: Ojukwu - The Economist by isalegan2: 3:31am On Dec 03, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=815768.msg9682472#msg9682472 date=1322876863]Haha, said like a true US liberal. Not sure they are the best in "World Affairs" Obituaries tho.

NYT is as American as they come, probably the best newspaper they have, but it's still too American, insular, (despite their pretenses and poke-nosing), isolationist. I frankly wasn't expecting them to write any obituary on Ojukwu at all grin

Having said that, I think America does great things when she withdraws into herself, just my personal historical observation. Yes Time is American too, but a bit more international than NYT. UK and Europe based News magazines are definitely more world-focused.

Is LIFE still printing? they should do a pictorial obituary of Ojukwu, I bet they have enough in their archives.

This year was good. 2012 better be great lipsrsealed[/quote]lol. i didn't say someone else couldn't do it (news) better.  Just saying, between Time and NYT, I'd pick the latter.  Been there, done that.  cool Even before I traveled out, I used to read the heck out of both Time and Newsweek when I was a wee child in Lagos.  So much so, an older neighbor saw me trying to buy both from a vendor one day, and she proceeded to ask me, "What is the difference?  One is enough o jare.  Waste of money." lol. True story.  I think it was the same person on both covers - some huge breaking news, like the death of a world leader or something.

I don't see myself as a liberal.  That is an American identifier.  Either you is a liberal commie ruffian or a right-wing nut!   I'm an African.  That's it.  That's all.  Name Rank and Serial Number.  tongue

I don't know if Life Magazine is still printing.  Never liked that pictorial piece of $#!*. 

Everything you said above is true.  Europe does world news better.  All you have to do is, turn on any of the news shows, you still hear more English accents from the international correspondents than American.  The world probably would be better off if USA (government) would go back to being isolationist.  undecided

Way to go, Kilode. I actually have decided I have another insight into your real identity. . . .

So, 2011 was awesome, huh?  Now, I want to know more.  We won't derail Prof Ola's thread sha.  cheesy

Maybe another one of our general threads in the works.
PoliticsRe: What Ojukwu Told Me Before, During And After The War —sam Aluko (SUN Newspaper) by isalegan2: 2:30am On Dec 03, 2011
Good read, OP. But where's the link? huh

Please indicate whether it is an excerpt from a book or a periodical.
PoliticsRe: Ojukwu - The Economist by isalegan2: 1:57am On Dec 03, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=815768.msg9682322#msg9682322 date=1322872118]^

Isale, bawo ni nkan?

Thanks for posting that. It was well done, maybe sexed up a little bit, but generally good. It's hard to be objective about a tragedy like The Biafra war. Even as an outsider.

One missing historical part for me is the culpability of the British and other European adventurers. Most commentators gloss over the unfortunate partitioning of Sub-Saharan Africa, and the effects on our people. For me, History is not credible in bits and parts. The whole picture has to be presented. It's called cause and effect.

I know it's no longer cool or sexy to blame colonialism for our problems, but [b]what we all need to realize is that Africa and Nigeria, as it stands today is a victim of circumstance, some self inflicted, but the real injury came from external sources. [/b]Sadly, we are still not treating the root cause of our malaise. Our Doctors (leaders of thought and action) are still playing the ostrich.

I was referring to the Time Magazine[/quote]Tragic, ain't it?  And we're still living it.  Still getting played.  Colonialism is alive and well.  But this time, American style!  

Never in my wildest dreams did I think Nigeria would get worse, not better.  Just imagine NEPA, for crying out loud!  And a hundred other hardships. . .   undecided

New York Times is infinitely better than Time Magazine, in my not-so-humble opinion.  tongue
I'm well.  Holiday season. . . *shrug*  I'm ready for this year to be over, mehn! Come on 20-12!
https://l.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/emoticons7/36.gif
PoliticsRe: Ojukwu - The Economist by isalegan2: 12:39am On Dec 03, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=815768.msg9674854#msg9674854 date=1322789780]I was waiting for The Economist or  Time obituary[/quote]Hey, Ola.  Kilode, Not sure if this is the "Time" [/i]you had in mind, but these guys do excellent obituaries as well.  Unfortunately, in this case, for such a potentially controversial subject, they were less objective, and less meticulous (they got the name pronunciation wrong shocked ) than their usual reporting. Still a very good read. 

[i]NEW YORK TIMES
[size=14pt]Odumegwu Ojukwu, Breakaway Biafra Leader, Dies at 78[/size]

Odumegwu Ojukwu, an Oxford-educated Nigerian colonel who proclaimed the Republic of Biafra in 1967 and led his Ibo people into a secessionist war that cost more than a million lives, many of them starved children whose skeletal images shocked the world, has died at a hospital in London. He was 78.

International news reports quoted Maja Umeh, a spokesman for the All Progressive Grand Alliance Party in Nigeria, as confirming Mr. Ojukwu’s death. The Associated Press said he died on Saturday, but Bloomberg News said the death occurred on Friday. The cause was not cited. Mr. Ojukwu had a stroke at his home in Enugu, Nigeria, in December 2010, and had since been under treatment in London.

Mr. Ojukwu was an unlikely militarist and a reluctant rebel: the sports-car-driving son of one of Nigeria’s richest men, an urbane student of history and Shakespeare who read voraciously, wrote poetry, played tennis and, with his wealth and connections, might have been a business mogul or a worldly rouge-et-noir playboy.

But he spurned his father’s offer of a business partnership, joined Nigeria’s civil service and then its army in the turbulent last years of British colonial rule. And as maps of Africa were redrawn by forces of national and tribal self-determination, he became military governor of the Ibo homeland, one of three tribal regions, at a historic juncture.

At 33, he found himself at the vortex of simmering ethnic rivalries among Nigeria’s Hausas in the north, Yorubas in the southwest and Ibos in the southeast. The largely Christian Ibos were envied as one of Africa’s best-educated and most industrious peoples, possessed of much of Nigeria’s oil wealth. Tensions finally exploded into assassinations, coups and a massacre of 30,000 Ibos by Hausas and federal troops.

While he denounced the massacre and cited other Ibo grievances, Colonel Ojukwu for months resisted rising Ibo pressure for secession. He proposed a weak federation to separate Nigeria’s three tribal regions politically. But Col. Yakubu Gowon, leader of the military government in Lagos, rejected the idea. A clash over federal taxation of the Ibo region’s oil and coal industries precipitated the final break.

“Long live the Republic of Biafra,” Colonel Ojukwu proclaimed on May 30, 1967.

Five weeks later, civil war began when Nigerian military forces invaded the breakaway province. It was a lopsided war, with other nations supporting federal forces seeking to unify the country and Biafra standing virtually alone. Nigeria was Africa’s most populous nation, with 57 million people, of which 8 million to 10 million were Ibos.

Poorly equipped and outnumbered four to one, Biafra’s 25,000-member army held its own for months, supported by a citizenry that donated food, clothing and supplies. Colonel Ojukwu ran Biafra as a wartime democracy, fought alongside his troops and was said to be revered by his people.

He gave orders in a slow, deliberate baritone: native Igbo with an Oxford accent. Fond of Sibelius, he chose “Finlandia” as Biafra’s national anthem. And he read Shakespeare. “Hamlet was my favorite,” he told a New York Times correspondent. “I wonder what the psychiatrists will make of that.”

Over a battle map he looked like a brooding Othello, with solemn eyes and a luxuriantly bearded countenance. He slept irregularly, sometimes working nonstop for days, taking a meal now and then, rarely touching alcohol but chain-smoking English cigarettes.

Tanzania, Zambia, the Ivory Coast and Gabon recognized Biafra, and France and other nations provided covert aid. But the Soviet Union, Egypt and even Britain, after a period of neutrality, supplied weapons and advisers to Nigeria. The United States, officially neutral, provided diplomatic and relief coordination aid. But after 15 months of war, Biafra’s 29,000 square miles had been reduced to 5,000, and deaths had soared.

As crops burned and refugees streamed away from advancing federal forces, much of the population was cut off from food supplies. As the 30-month civil war moved onto the world stage as one of the first televised wars, millions around the globe were stunned by pictures of Biafran babies with distended bellies and skeletal children who were succumbing to famine by the thousands daily in the war’s final stages.

Colonel Ojukwu appealed to the world to save his people. International relief agencies responded, and scores of cargo planes ferried food in to the encircled Biafrans, but airlifts were woefully inadequate. Deaths from starvation were estimated at more than 6,000 a day, and postwar studies suggested that a third of Biafra’s surviving preschoolers — nearly 500,000 — were malnourished at war’s end.

In January 1970, secessionist resistance was crushed and its leader, by then a general, fled into exile in Ivory Coast and London. Granted a presidential pardon after 13 years, he returned to Nigeria in 1982 and was welcomed by enormous crowds. He became a Lagos businessman and ran unsuccessfully for president several times, but remained a hero in the eyes of many of his countrymen.

The legacies of the war were terrible. Deaths from fighting, disease and starvation were estimated by international relief agencies at one million to three million. Besides widespread destruction of hospitals, schools, homes and businesses, Ibos faced discrimination in employment, housing and political rights. Nigeria reabsorbed Biafra, however, and the region was rebuilt over 20 years as its oil-based economy prospered anew.

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu (pronounced chuk-woo-MA-ka oh-doo-MAG-woo oh-JU-kwoo) was born on Nov. 4, 1933, in Zungeru, Nigeria. From modest beginnings, his father, Sir Louis Phillipe Odumegwu Ojukwu, had made fortunes in transportation and real estate, and was Nigeria’s wealthiest entrepreneur when he died in 1966.

The boy nicknamed Emeka attended Kings College in Lagos, Nigeria’s most prestigious secondary school; Epsom College, a boys’ prep school in Surrey, and Lincoln College, Oxford, where he graduated with honors in history in 1955. Classmates said he was popular, dressed stylishly, drove a bright red MG sports car and loved discussions of Machiavelli, Hobbes, Louis XIV and Shakespeare.

He had three wives. His first, Njideka, a law student he met at Oxford and wed in 1962, died in 2010. His second, Stella Onyeador, died in 2009. He married Bianca Odinaka Onoh, a former beauty queen and businesswoman 34 years his junior, in 1994. Returning to Nigeria in 1956, he rejected his father’s business overtures, worked on development in remote villages, and in 1957 joined the army. He called himself an amateur soldier, but rose rapidly in the ranks after Nigeria gained independence in 1960. In 1966, he became military governor of the Ibo region, and declared Biafran independence after repression enveloped his people.

He sometimes compared Biafrans to Israelis. “The Israelis are hard-working, enterprising people,” he told a visitor to his besieged field headquarters in 1969. “So are we. They’ve suffered from pogroms. So have we. In many ways, we share the same promise and the same problems.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/11/27/world/africa/odumegwu-ojukwu-leader-of-breakaway-republic-of-biafra-dies-at-78.html?scp=1&sq=ojukwu&st=cse
PoliticsRe: *~ Gbawe Voted The Politics Section Poster Of The Year *~ Congratulations by isalegan2: 9:28pm On Dec 01, 2011
I know there are so many quality posters.  I think I enjoy the banter on this thread more than the voting. lol.

I apologise for the double post, but I understand I need to officially nominate my choice, in case my original post didn't count.  embarassed

Okay, I am ready.

*stepping on soapbox*

*clearing throat*

Friends, Nairalanders, Countrymen!  Arise from your slumber and behold our nominee. The erudite, well-versed in any subject, wise-beyond-any-years sage of the politics section.  The one and only Japo-Naija Samurai KATSUMOTO.  Politics, History, Economics, Foreign Affairs, The Art of War. . .  What doesn't he know?  Katsumoto, you're a winner no matter what.  And if you don't want to compete with your peeps. . . tough!

*Stepping down from soapbox* 

smiley
PoliticsRe: *~ Gbawe Voted The Politics Section Poster Of The Year *~ Congratulations by isalegan2: 6:37pm On Dec 01, 2011
Is this thread going to be moved to the General Section, like last year?

I already see names of quality contributors to the politics section, alongside a couple of monikers that I have never seen here.  Oh well.

IMHO it's no contest that Katsumoto is the best poster in politics section, but I don't know if he cares to run this term. cheesy  Therefore I shall refrain, and let someone else to do the nominating and put forth an eloquent nominating speech.  wink
PoliticsRe: Bianca (Ojukwu's Widow) Speaks From The U.K by isalegan2: 6:08pm On Dec 01, 2011
I don't wish to disrespect Ojukwu (r.i.p.) but if his wife was going about having a love affair or sexxual relations with other people while he was alive or fighting for his life, that is really deplorable and unconscionable. Is there proof of this?  Damn! (edited to add: either way, that issue can wait until mourning period has ended.)

The man was recovering well, making plans to come back home, and then took a turn for the worse, if the below selected quotes from the opening post are to be believed:   

". . . (Ojukwu) was already very aware and alert and was planning to return to Nigeria for full recovery."

"Ojukwu had surprised doctors and the family severally even when he was given up for death and recovered."

"his demise at this time came as a surprise, because he had just been discharged from the hospital, he was doing so well and I have never seen him look so well, he was interractive, he was very alert, very aware and we will sing him songs, cracked jokes. . ."

Reminds me of coma patients who suddenly wake up, are active and talkative for a few hours or days and then relapse, never to awake again. 

You just cannot predict the end.  I am sure a man like Ojukwu would have preferred the end be on his own soil.
RomanceRe: It's Official! Ms Romance Section 2011. by isalegan2: 4:42pm On Dec 01, 2011
It might help to have the list in some sort of order - maybe alpha. Not sure if this was already mentioned, but "Natasha" shows up twice in the poll.
PoliticsRe: Why Do Ladies Shy Away From Politics & Political Discussions? by isalegan2: 8:33pm On Nov 13, 2011
Now I've heard it all.

So, a woman who discusses politics or likes sports, or - HORRORS! - goes into engineering, or plays chess, is abnormal.  lol.  In one breath, we are accused of being hormonally challenged, in the next paragraph, we are really here online discussing Naija affairs because our diasporan existence is unsatisfactory due to the hostile environments in which we find ourselves.  So, which is it?  Are we freaks or are we simply being communal with our brethren spread all over the world?

Desola, you might wanna do something to get these folks off your back.  They're besotted with you, I think.  Maybe, you will choose to dip your toes into the fetid jungle, the ever so "Romantic" and Family Sections.  That is where normal women belong, don't you know.  We can all sit around and hate on other women - "oh the nerve of her. . . posting a picture of her wonky face and 'perfectly round butt'. . .(no homo). . .how dare she be so confident . . ."  grin grin grin

As for me, I'll stick with the Politics section whenever I want.  I have to show something for the years I spent studying that crap.  tongue  Of course, when the facial hair starts forming because of my "high testosterone," I'll be sure to wax it off.  And, if I am destined to have only boys, I will accept my fate there too.  All the more chance of me having a son that will bring the World (football) Cup to Naija nau!  See, all the politics and football talk is worth it after all!  cool grin

Perfect time for cute cuddly things. smiley smiley smiley

[img]http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRfV4AmXFVoGrpFPKOhvdXkxnSPuLoorv_11tjtOrYZEH7tSX43XQ[/img]

[img]https://encrypted-tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSux8y7IciEHI0Q1mVqd73dR3bIjTcxZoZGoB7StCxfb-XVj5718YIOZ7o[/img]
Reminds me of a particularly pesky dude who's been circumnavigating this thread.  grin

[img]http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSlnBrcJLs8GYFNXOUgLNSiaqf_HQvwYdgQr_mdXpF0qB2NHVYcOQ[/img]
"Ah! Politics, Shmelitics!  PMs. . . Catfights. . . Deletions. . . Duplicate threads. . . Maps. . . Becomerich. . . Tribalists. . . I hate them all!  Moderating sucks!  I need a nap." https://l.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/emoticons7/28.gif
FamilyRe: Man Raises Family Under Lagos Bridge by isalegan2: 5:55pm On Nov 13, 2011
Thanks to everyone who wants to help.  I daresay there is some mental illness at play here.  According to the story, the woman's family put pressure on her to leave the husband.  While she's admirably refused to do that, I don't see why she can't go stay with someone for a while until she and her husband can be reunited.

That man will never be able to find time to go seek work as long as the whole family is living in such condition.  Because I suspect he needs to stick with the wife so she doesn't get jumped by the hooligans in the area.  That's what goes on when you live on the street, I imagine.  

The best help will be, not gifts of cash (to prevent the likelyhood of robbers attacking them), but a way to get them lodging with one years paid rent.

P.S: We had a similar story this time last year - about a destitute 5-yr-old.  It was hard doing much from afar.  Many of us were ready to contribute whatever we could spare.  But efforts to generate interest from people (Naijas who are already so worn down by daily life) was fruitless, to be honest.
https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-565111.0.html

Thankfully, a followup article stated that the boy had found a home.  Hope he's doing well.
https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria?topic=591914
PoliticsRe: Why Do Ladies Shy Away From Politics & Political Discussions? by isalegan2: 1:24am On Nov 12, 2011
armyofone:
Just passing by  kiss.
Happy veteran day
SemperFI
Support our troops.
God bless America
kiss

@topic

Ifyalways don talk am finish on page 1.

back to ROM (read only mode)
Ooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhh!   shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked

[flash=420,300]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ix-AMYos0Js[/flash]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ix-AMYos0Js

Big mistake!  You should have kept lurking.  You wandered into the wrong room tonight, hon!  Come on; let's go.  You and me.  Wo[b]mano[/b] a Wo[b]mano[/b]. 
wink

[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=799934.msg9527673#msg9527673 date=1320987300]Bros, See wetin you cause?

I guess the topic question has been answered abi?

Please do more of these topics, waayyyy better than ekt_bear's data spreadsheets and Katsumoto's dissertations  tongue[/quote]Kilode?! Kilode?! Kilode?!

Glad you had fun. wink  BTW, I sensed the chemistry with a previously unknown (to me) chick, going by "Gestapo."  [size=5pt]i kid i jest.[/size]  That poster's got a way with words, I must say. cool  But. . . you do know I was in the room, right?  angry Yes, I was momentarily preoccupied with Sefago, having a very civil discussion about etiquette, but I did see y'all.  hmm hmm hmm.  SMH.  embarassed tongue

Katsumoto:
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
No one wants to see oversized Japo teeth.  Gbe'mi.  cheesy

P.S.: For those who feel NL women have no place discussing politics, I shall return with a post on all the neat and cute things we are allowed to discuss.  Such as, cuddly and furry puppies, the right kind of kitchenware (I like Calphalon myself - the "cheap" ones at discount stores of course - I'm no Adenuga), the latest in beautiful wedding gowns, cute and cuddly babies.  I shall return with pictures.  Not!  grin grin grin
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 1:53pm On Oct 14, 2011
Hmmm.  It seems Katsumoto is so deeply embedded, even NASA Space telescopes folks at Google Earth can't locate our clandestine Yoruba/Brazilian/Japanese samurai.  Wherever you are, Kilode will wait for you. . .  kiss

PoliticsRe: Are Lagos State Politicians Are Mostly Moslem? by isalegan2: 1:45pm On Oct 14, 2011
[quote author=eku_bear link=topic=582273.msg7497109#msg7497109 date=1294606593]Just in case ya'll don't know, @fstranger has a heart of gold. So don't get offended by what he says  wink[/quote]What? Where did the love go?  shocked  sad  undecided
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 11:14pm On Oct 13, 2011
Ola one:
I'm busy right now. We'll talk 2night.
shocked Talk for where?   huh I don't want your NL wives after me o.  wink Please and thanks.  cool
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 11:18pm On Oct 11, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=590933.msg9319614#msg9319614 date=1318370437]^^^

LOL She don vex.

I think it's called "Fire Brigade syndrome" it's in the blood of most Nigerian Ogas I know, walahi I tested their DNA grin

Even on a thread about off-topic-random-life-abroad-perspectives, You. Cannot. Go. "Off Topic" lipsrsealed[/quote]No, Kilode?!  It's not that.  And I am not sure Seun did it either.  (If he did, I shall complain to his uncle/stepbrother/godfather OlaOolala.) I generally try to be understanding and charitable towards mods, but I am suspicious of this dude going by r231 whatever.  He may be nursing a bruised ego cos. . . I was kidding with him when he misspelt "disappearance" twice in the same post.  You know me, I'm a kidder, right?  cheesy angry

Anyway, the point is, why delete 2 sports-related posts when there are a 100 sports related posts in the thread - with pictures!  Big ones!!! 

Oro o won, awon n'ikan lo'ye.  grin

BTW, you can't edit in this thread/section anymore, so. . .  wink
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 11:09pm On Oct 11, 2011
[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=590933.msg9319055#msg9319055 date=1318364908]^^

Iyalode Iwapele, Mo ri ise owo yin o. Good looking out. I appreciate  wink[/quote]Kilode?!  I tell ya!  These folks around here are the type that'll leave you behind at the stadium in a bad neighbourhood with no ride home.  So, hmmm.  Glad you're safe and sound sha.  All kinds of scenarios floated thru my mind. . . "Kilode went to Naija and could't re-enter USA". . . "Kilode just became the papa of sextuplets and now he has to work 5 jobs". . .  and so on.  cheesy

BTW, Oga Katz? hmm. The rumor is that he's in Bahia, stuck between two very jealous menina bonita's   lipsrsealed
hehehehehe.  lipsrsealed indeed.

Do you mean metaphorically caught between two amorous women or physically lipsrsealed between two mamacitas?   cheesy  I have it on good authority that Katsumoto does not like to have two women at one time; he prefers for the second one to come back the next day.  grin grin grin  Oh dear!  I made that up.  embarassed wink

I'm still miffed, not so much pissed anymore. undecided
[quote author=isale_gan2 link=topic=590933.msg9319515#msg9319515 date=1318369423]i am reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyy PISSED!  Really.  

Like I wasn't already bored of this crock.  

I just discovered some clown has been deleting my posts.  So they delete a couple of sports-related posts in a thread discussing everything.  I have a mind to go through the thead and link him to all the other footy-related pposts, so he can go ahead and delete each and every one.  Wish I had the time.  Ugh, I am ready to slap someone.  I am trying really hard not to tell Seun what I think of his site.  LOL.  Why not just move the whole thread to the SPORTS SECTION like one of the mods threatened?  That, I'd be cool with.  Then, I'd break my own record of the most moved thread on the interweb.  cheesy

Seriously, this is bullshit.  I don't have the time.  Let's wrap up this sucker and leave NL to the losers (like Dayokanu  tongue )

https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-776835.0.html#msg9319439[/quote]
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 10:43pm On Oct 11, 2011
i am reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyy PISSED!  Really. 

Like I wasn't already bored of this crock. 

I just discovered some clown has been deleting my posts.  So they delete a couple of sports-related posts in a thread discussing everything.  I have a mind to go through the thead and link him to all the other footy-related pposts, so he can go ahead and delete each and every one.  Wish I had the time.  Ugh, I am ready to slap someone.  I am trying really hard not to tell Seun what I think of his site.  LOL.  Why not just move the whole thread to the SPORTS SECTION like one of the mods threatened?  That, I'd be cool with.  Then, I'd break my own record of the most moved thread on the interweb.  cheesy

Seriously, this is bullshit.  I don't have the time.  Let's wrap up this sucker and leave NL to the losers (like Dayokanu  tongue )

https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-776835.0.html#msg9319439
r231, mods,

You must be a joker!  Did you actually go into my thread and delete a post I made regarding the SuperEagles loss to Guinea? Plus the post about Mudashiru Lawal?  What about the one about Best Ogedengbe?  Am I to believe that anything is up for discussion in that thread except for sports?  Do you have any idea how many different things we've discussed in that thread to get it to 100 pages?  Or how many times it was moved until it rested in the general section? 

Does that deletion make any sense to you?

The post following the SuperEagles game was also about the loss from my point of view.  Why didn't you delete that post?

Then, if you go through each page of that thread, you will find that we cover various subjects - including, Naija politics, music, Yoruba culture, just to name a few.  Are you going to delete every post on all subjects except for one subject?

You must be joking! 

Did you even read the thread at all.

Is this not the General Section.
Nairaland GeneralRe: Buzugee/Nairaland, So I Want To Talk About Living Abroad by isalegan2(op): 9:12pm On Oct 11, 2011
hahahahaha.  The one and only Kilode?! is back. 

Happy days are here again
The skies above are clear again
So let's sing a song of cheer again
Happy days are here again!

[quote author=Kilode?! link=topic=590933.msg9318690#msg9318690 date=1318361634]100 pages!! shocked[/quote]It's 100 pages cos I was trying desperately to lock the damn thread!  So I could take a sabbatical for 3-4 months like you and Katsumoto and everyone else had.  The last 5 pages was mostly me talking to myself.  The only thing that kept me going was picturing the look on old man Katz face when he returns and can't figure what the heck happened.  grin  "If it ain't on Politics section page one, it doesn't exist in the internets." 

https://l.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/emoticons7/24.gif

Catch you later.

BTW, it got moved again. Kinda. ::shrug::
FamilyRe: Nigerian Gay Man Okechukwu Kingsley Uba Opens A Gay Entertainment Company In Abi by isalegan2: 2:41am On Oct 11, 2011
You gotta be kidding!
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 10:58pm On Oct 10, 2011
[quote author=ekt_bear link=topic=778080.msg9313048#msg9313048 date=1318283035]Then if you call Arabs who look like this "white", then pretty much most of the middle east, Afghanistan, big chunks of Pakistan and some of India is also white.[/quote]huh Did we disagree? Those guys pictured are caucasoid, not negroid.
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 7:36pm On Oct 10, 2011
Maybe because we've learnt to accept that not everyone will spend their money the way we would.  That others are not similarly motivated.  That, probably due to age and repetition, we've moved beyond the point of working ourselves into a fit over it.

I know what I would do if I had that kind of wealth, ney, 1/10th that kind of wealth. 

You also know what you would do if you had that kind of wealth  Fate has deemed it that we are not in that position.  YET!  lol. 

When you are able I trust you will do what pleases you.  "Reversal of fortune," brother.  It happens.  smiley  Believe it.

So. . . we are not necessarily celebrating them.  It's a list.  We are commenting in it.

Plus, we don't know all the charities they sponsor. Not everyone wants attention everytime they help others, you know.
PoliticsRe: Let's Have Your Complaints Here by isalegan2: 6:00pm On Oct 10, 2011
Okay. Well, I don't want to belabour the point, but I was asking you to elaborate for a reason. lipsrsealed undecided

Moving on. . .

I like your current profile pic. Parlez-vous français, Monsieur Moderator? cheesy
PoliticsRe: Let's Have Your Complaints Here by isalegan2: 5:33pm On Oct 10, 2011
OAM4J:
it is against the rules to have more than one moniker. Cheers wink
OAM4J, I hope you were just kidding o.  lipsrsealed

Sisi Eko, what good job have I done? cheesy
I was def kidding.  wink
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 5:15pm On Oct 10, 2011
grin grin grin I often wonder if all the Musiwas and Becomrichs that now spring up are the genuine Becomrich article or "admirers." Hmmm. Dear ol' Jarus once did an imitation to die for. cheesy
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 5:04pm On Oct 10, 2011
huh What're you getting testy for? He was only responding to those who are saying the Arabs are not white. At least that's what I got from his meandering. ::shrug::
PoliticsRe: Let's Have Your Complaints Here by isalegan2: 4:18pm On Oct 10, 2011
https://l.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/emoticons7/24.gif

Kilode gan, ogbeni o she nkan. Ekan fe fun awon familly ogbeni  ni wahala. Ke mope Olorun wan be O. OAM4J, Mo ri iwe to ko si mi. Mi o mo pe ami ni kan lon she be, awon ton she po. Anyway emi mo inco ton shelle. Ba wa so fun awon okunrinla ati obirinla kpe ogbeni ton je johndoe300 o she anything o.
Very very bad Yoruba.  Deserving a permanent ban. SMH. tongue

Good job, OAM4J! https://l.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/emoticons7/41.gif
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 4:02pm On Oct 10, 2011
Under Dangote's profile, there is no education. That tells me something.
Yes. wink That you don't need a pali (from oyinbo school) to be a good businessman, just like our forebears before him.

This list is bias. Where are my hustler brother, Ibo, ? I am surprised they are not on the list. . .
cheesy They're Thousandnaires nau.  They keep the economy moving, and can provide for their family and extended family.  Very much needed.  Essential to our stability.  cool
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 2:40pm On Oct 10, 2011
Well, Ghanaians are really trying.  They may not have billionaires, but I bet they have a growing number of millionaires, plus, more important, a growing and comfortable middle class.  More stable than Naija's own.  Especially if they have a constant flow of electricity.
BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 2:28pm On Oct 10, 2011
Are the Arabs pictured Caucasoid or Negroid?  Maybe they're Mongoloid?!  wink

Tinubu is not a billionaire. 

And they wouldn't be able to get an accounting of Obj or IBB's wallets.  Those two are scary.

BusinessRe: Africa Richest People 2011 - Most Are White (pics) by isalegan2: 3:29am On Oct 10, 2011
So, Dangote is wealthier than the blood diamond Oppenheimer people?  And there's a black South African billionaire?  Interesting.

The Sawiris, from Egypt, all look alike. 

Always saw Fayed as the new Adnan Khashogi - "richest man in the world," my foot!  grin

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 (of 185 pages)