Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 7:53pm On Jun 02, 2018 |
Mujtahida: Please stop this nonsense narrative you are pushing !!! Who has denied that the team is average? What we would never do, I repeat never do is to be negative.
And then what's the big deal - if they get beat, they come home, if we progress that's credit.
Criticism is different from negativity abeg No one is being negative. Acknowledging fact is no negativity. Some of you guys here don't agree this team is average. Tbaba was arguing here the other day that this team was better than our WC 2002 squad. All of us want Nigeria to go far and win WC, but we will not trade our objectivity for wishes. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 6:54pm On Jun 02, 2018 |
I dont understand this Ighalo sef. His national team goal ratio is too poor. Iheanacho even better. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 6:22pm On Jun 02, 2018 |
When some of us called attention to the fact that this team is at best average earlier on this thread, Safarigirl and Tbaba almost skinned us alive. I hope we have all seen it.
I keep seeing another 2002 WC outing for Nigeria
1 point in 3 matches. I pray I'm wrong. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 1:05pm On Jun 02, 2018 |
Interestingly, Nigeria do well against highly rated opposition.
Our best games in 2014 WC were probably the 2 we lost - against Argentina and France.
We have also beaten Argentina and France in friendlies in the past.
I suspect Nigeria vs England tonight is going to be a very balanced game - no humiliation by either team.
I'm suspecting a draw or a narrow 2-1 or 3-2 win by either side. |
Nairaland General › Re: How Many Nairaland Mods Are Still Active And How Does One Become A Mod? by Jarus(m): 1:17pm On May 31, 2018 |
YOUNGELDER1: Forgot to mention Lalasticlala the snake master He was talking of old generation. Lala wasn't the boss here in 2008, Mukina was. |
Travel › Re: 7 Dead In Ogun Boat Mishap by Jarus(m): 8:01am On May 31, 2018 |
Riversides2003: May God have mercy on us, simple life jacket would have saved these lives. Nigerians takes safety for granted a lot leading to so many avoidable deaths.RIP. Not always a guarantee. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 8:58pm On May 30, 2018 |
forgiveness: Is that what you read, sir? I didnt understand where the nepotism I saw in one of your posts in this matter came from. |
Christianity Etc › Re: "Millions Of Muslims In Nigeria Are Coming To Jesus" - Man Says (Photos) by Jarus(m): 8:55pm On May 30, 2018 |
maestroferddi: Without threat, fear and intimidation I wonder how many people will chose to profess Islam on their own volition.
The day liberty spreads to all nations will mark the beginning of the end for Islam, an ideology that has done much more harm than good in the world. I have been hearing this since I was young. I thought by 2018 there should not be 2 billion Muslims in the world again. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 8:45pm On May 30, 2018 |
forgiveness: Are we not here to analysis issues holistically in regards to players, selections of players, administration, etc of Nigerian football?
When I saw the list I critically studied the situation and figured out the sinister behind the 30 man list.
It became more glaring when another list was released with 7 strange names on it.
It was after then, I gave my submission that Nwakali was on the 35 man list after adding one plus one with my brain but many claimed my theory was wrong. 
Behold, Rohr has confirmed and affirmed with his mouth that indeed Nwakali was on the 35 man list. GBAM
Now, that I have been vindicated, what is meaning all this name calling and saying face talk?
Should I not clear myself of numerous false allegations in the face of that vindicates me?
Abeg! So are you saying Nwakali was dropped because he is Igbo? |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 8:43pm On May 30, 2018 |
fabyom: Joel, balogun, Tyrone, Onazi, Musa, Aina, Ekong, Etebo, simmy.These are guys playing consistently for their club week in week out in some of the best leagues in the world. What's your criteria for terming them average. However, yes they are not outstanding but they are not average. Musa that couldn't make Leicester first team. Aina that had to be loaned to tier 2 league etc. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 8:08pm On May 30, 2018 |
fabyom: who are those average and below par players in our squad Every other person other than the listed. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 7:49pm On May 30, 2018 |
Moses, Mikel, Iwobi, Ndidi and Iheanacho in that order are the players we are relying on in this tournament.
Mikel hardly has a bad game in SE jersey.
I'm just hoping the other teams don't capitalize on other average and below average players we have |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 7:39pm On May 30, 2018 |
komekn: We have a very crucial game on Saturday and for me it will be true test of how far we have come and how prepared we are.
The English players are going to be very competitive and will play the game at a considerably fast pace.
This is where Ighalo and more relevantly Simi will be tested. Can Simi replicate his physicality to such great effect in the Seria A against EPL players from England. I have speculated a 4-4-2 formation if things get tough with Ighalo and Simi essentially bullying thier way to goals.
I can see the teenage Alexander playing to nullify the speed of Musa. Musa will need to play intelligent football and not just rely on sheer pace. And if Alex doesn't play we still have Rose and Walker to deal with. Sadly Moses Simon, so Etebo must bring some real gra gra power football.
Like to see a mobile midfield with Mikel pulling all the strings, his input will determine to a large extent who will win this match.
Winning is important but not essential, putting in a composed disciplined and inventive performance much more vital.
Concerns Echiejile slow and could be easily over run I prefer a midfield of Ndidi and Onazi not Ogu. I see this as a game Ogu can be left behind because he is simply too slow and lacks good recovery.
I use to feel that England lacked flair and inventive unpredictable guile in midfield. That's not the case anymore Rueben Loftus is a beast in midfield and our prodigal son Dele has a lot to offer skill wise.
Onazi and Ndidi will have to be on top if thier games.
Vic Moses is for me our Ace he brings it all to the game, pace, power, skill, speed and unpredictability. I expect him to score.
Iwobi will have to work hard and I don't expect him to start. He will have to be at his best to influence the game.
Our defenders will be dealing with an on fire Harry Kane. Our midfield has to stop any supply to him. So closing down and pressing as a unit from the front Liverpool style against Real, KEY to success. It's going to be hard fitness is a major issue.
My heart wants Nigeria to win but my objectivity says unlikely. Been waiting for decades for this game. So I am extremely excited.
On the selfish side some of our players if they put in a good outstanding display. Will have played themselves into a lucrative EPL contract. Good analysis. @bolded, same here. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 6:38pm On May 30, 2018 |
tbaba1234: Jarus compared this team to the rag tag team of 2002 with Opabunmi and co... That is ridiculous. Apart from Okocha, Taribo, Aghahowa and Yobo, the 2002 team was bare bones and they did not do as poorly as the one point suggests. They held their own against Sweden and England.
Individually, this team has more in terms of depth than the 2014 and 2010 WC much less the 2002 side. I do not know how well we will do but if we have our key players fit, we can hurt anyone.
Another thing, the team spirit in this side is one of the best that i have ever seen from a Nigerian team. You know that they will fight together when it comes down to it. There is togetherness and friendships are being built.
I expect them to put up a great fight in Russia. 1, This group is as tough as 2002 group. Argentina/Argentina, Sweden/Iceland, England/Croatia - other than maybe Iceland is slightly below Sweden. 2, You listed Okocha, Taribo, Aghahowa and Yobo as "other than". I will like to see the "other than" of this 2018 team and let's compare. 3, This was our starting 11 versus Argentina GK 1 Ike Shorunmu RB 16 Efe Sodje YC CB 6 Taribo West CB 5 Isaac Okoronkwo LB 3 Celestine Babayaro RM 10 Jay-Jay Okocha (c) CM 2 Joseph Yobo CM 4 Nwankwo Kanu LM 11 Garba Lawal CF 9 Bartholomew Ogbeche CF 17 Julius Aghahowa Compare the 2018 likely starting 11 with these guys. Other than maybe Sodje and Ogbeche, I don't see any "rag tag" in this team. Kanu was better than Iwobi, JJ than Mikel. Garba Lawal was more useful than Musa. Aghahowa on pitch gave more hope than Ighalo in GWG colours etc |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 3:14pm On May 30, 2018 |
OMANBALA1: I don't really know but there is a certain air of confidence in this current English squad. I watched their recent friendly I think against France or Germany and they looked really threatening going forward QF is the farthest England can go and I think that's enough achievement for them. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 3:10pm On May 30, 2018 |
Naughtytboy: only jayjay is irreplaceable in that 2002 squad .this team is more promising So apart from Moses and Mikel (neither of whom compares JJ), who else is "irreplaceable" here? |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 3:01pm On May 30, 2018 |
safarigirl: Argentina will win the World Cup after Messi retires. He is the reason why they have not won it Reminding me of CIV winning AFCON only when Drogba retired Football can be funny sometimes. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 2:58pm On May 30, 2018 |
MetalJigsaw: I'm sure If we that had it been we defeated Congo, this comment would not have existed. Sorry, not from me. I'm not a one-game pundit. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 2:50pm On May 30, 2018 |
Icon79: Haha!! The World owes Messi a World Cup triumph. It's just fair that the GREATEST player, in history, to ever play the game should win the biggest trophy of them all - the World Cup, but it doesn't look like that's gonna happen 
O pari I also want Argentina to win WC but after losing to Nigeria in group stage. Semi final is enough achievement for SE. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 2:43pm On May 30, 2018 |
KK50: FIFA should allow Nigeria to go with 30 players. Nigeria should be allowed to field 12 men against Croatia and Argentina but that wont stop the massacre that will happen.
Can Mikel and any of those wack midfielders match Modric and Rakitic in the midfield? Can your full backs stop Perisic? Can your central defenders stop Manzukic?
Nigeria dont know what awaits them in Russia. You people have been mouthing off against England. On 2nd of june, you arrogant ignoramuses will be shut up.
Rashford, Sterling and Kane will eat you for dinner. I dont have confidence in this team but I believe England wont find them easy. They may pull a win or draw un Wembley. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 1:08pm On May 30, 2018 |
asha80: yeah but our preparation and build up to this tournament is superior to 2002 own Fair enough. That's the only difference. Other than that, this team and 2002 team have many things in common - too many below average players. I'm hoping for a different outcome from 2002 despite the stark similarities. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 1:05pm On May 30, 2018 |
We had our easiest group in 2014 WC. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 1:04pm On May 30, 2018 |
darkelf: There is a 20% chance that we'll survive that group. We might be one of the first casualties in that group.
But if we do, then I'll be surprised. I'm been really sincere here. Our recent friendlies hasn't inspired much confidence in me. I mean, 3 games where we could hardly create chances. Yet, some peeps think we would somehow miraculously enter beast mode in the World cup, citing the 1998 team (who had obviously better individual talent).
In asmuch as I'm pained writing this, we should severely lower our expectations of this team so that our high hopes aren't dashed. Same here. As enthusiastic as I am about national team football, I'm finding it very difficult to raise my hope. I keep seeing a repeat of 2002 - 1 point in 3 matches! But I'm also hoping for some miracle. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 12:21pm On May 30, 2018 |
asha80: i think 2002 was tougher even before the tournament started Yes. Tough group with wacky players too. Like this year's, we just dont have the players. We didnt survive the group. I fear for those similarities |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 12:08pm On May 30, 2018 |
Naughtytboy: This is the best pre world cup preparations ever, in terms of funds support and everything..... This boys just have to do us proud no excuse Unfortunately, this may be our toughest group ever. I'm really worried about our ability to survive that group. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 11:28pm On May 29, 2018 |
pelezico: Hmm i disagree with your statement - Cameroon played defensively true but they also played good possession football and the goals they scored were methodical genius especially against england. Ghana played good possession football and deep probing of oppositions defense combined with good technical skills and fast transition form defense to attack. I cannot remember how Senegal played but what i do know is that none of these teams played like "Iceland" for instance i.e soak up the pressure then hit you on the break. They all played just as well as the opposition That Senegalese team of 2002 had many skilful players - Diouf, Henri Camara etc. They played like Nigeria's team of 94. |
Politics › Re: Anambra Government's Public Announcement On Sit At Home Order by Jarus(m): 11:02pm On May 29, 2018 |
Sports › Re: Moses, Balogun, Rohr, Oshoala Win At 2017/2018 Nigeria Pitch Awards by Jarus(m): 5:32pm On May 29, 2018 |
Good choices although the awards look like kobo kobo awards. |
Sports › Re: Aftermath Of Nigeria Vs Congo Draw : 5 Lessons To Learn by Jarus(m): 10:23pm On May 28, 2018 |
Nnaemiemax: To be honest..
Success is very very predictable, and this team is very far from it!
Using the just concluded UCL final as a case study, and excluding sentiments as regards Ramos' well planned damaging tackle on Salah, any logically sound football lover could easily tip Real Madrid to secure victory.
They simply had a better fleet of exceptional players, well grounded team with hands on experience, and a world class frontier in Zidane.. FYI, cristiano haven't scored since the semi's and they were still able to comfortably secure victory, and win the final.
Whoever is hoping for this joke of a team to pull a magical feat in the Russia is setting up a bed of thorns for themselves. Honestly, I really dont know why people pass around biases in the name of football analyses. I don't see Nigeria coming out of that group but this is one thing I want to be wrong on. |
Sports › Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Jarus(m): 7:03pm On May 28, 2018 |
Ola Aina is failing to prove he deserves a place in SE 24 man final list. |
Sports › Re: Moses Ruled Out Of 2018 World Cup Over Injury by Jarus(m): 8:19pm On May 27, 2018 |
Jeezuzpick: No mind dem!
Oga Jarus, how are things? I dey o |
Sports › Re: Moses Ruled Out Of 2018 World Cup Over Injury by Jarus(m): 8:17pm On May 27, 2018 |
The guy is an asset to the team though. He did the cross rhat Iwobi converted for the goal vs Zambia. |