Travel › Re: From Lagos To Toronto - Follow My Canadian Hustle by jhoci: 9:03am On Jan 03, 2019 |
As long as you're stepping into the airport at Toronto, you will need a Canadian visa (transit or visitors'). Whether you're staying at the airport or taking a tour of the city. I had same experience but the Toronto transit was on my return leg from the US. I was allowed to board the flight (Air France) in Lagos on the condition that I must have a visa when returning. I applied for a transit Visa immediately I got to the US and it took almost two months to get the approval and get my passport stamped. The airline said it was my duty to make sure I had all necessary travel documents. They wanted to charge me $1,100 to reroute my flight but I chose to move my departure date forward instead and waited for my passport to come back from Ottawa. I paid $198 for moving my flight date forward. JWTheocracy1: Please I have a question to ask... I planned travelling by the end of the month to the United States , but I have a 14hrs layover in Toronto with my airline... Please I wanna know if I can possibly get a visitors visa from the airline and make little tour in Toronto during that hours of layover.? |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by jhoci: 9:02am On Jan 01, 2019 |
Why is there a part two when part one is still ongoing? I appreciate the fact that you have made vital information easily accessible, but shouldn't it follow the usual procedure? @joo2018 |
Travel › Re: My Monthly Savings In Canada by jhoci: 3:00am On Dec 26, 2018 |
Start from page one of the link below for detailed information about Canadian PR process. https://www.nairaland.com/4843199/canadian-express-entry-federal-skilledPurplelover: Hello, please how advisable is it for a lady to relocate having only B.SC also not having any relative over there, as regards survival and adaptation , also how easy is it to obtain a permanent residence permit, travelling Visa (cost and time involved also)?? and any other basic info you till might b helpful. Thank you |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 2:33am On Dec 22, 2018 |
You've just hit the nail on the head. Respect (submission) is earned and not demanded for. Enter a relationship with love and an open mind not with your "submission antenna" on full alert and you'd be happier. Estac: Your views sir, are representative of biblical headship and I have to say sir, that you are a representation of manhood.
If start to drop my two-two cents, POF go finish. But I will only add that "submission" or what is like to call respect (in its deepest and most profound form) comes naturally to a woman who is loved (sincerely, unconditionally and yes, sacrificially) and treated right. It is a natural bi-product of a loving and trusting relationship.
Submission, like respect cannot be "demanded" but earned. It's not something that is earned merely by acquiring the title "husband" or by having a phallus (borrowing the word from a poster). A woman will naturally submit to someone she trusts -- trust to understand, consider and more importantly, PROTECT her in all of his decisions/dealings. A woman will let down her guard for, and defer to any man she KNOWS will protect her, no matter what.
Sirs, I understand how important submission is to a man. But you also don't want forced or pretend "submission", the type that leads to marital collapse once the woman finds an escape route. You want the submission that is willingly given, from a place of a woman's trust. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by jhoci: 7:21pm On Dec 19, 2018 |
Congratulations!! Topsmamen: Hello fam.
It's ITA finally! In the past week, my anxiety for a back-to-back draw today has been.......sigh.
@wasseynewest: congrats bro! @boundlessjoy: thanks sis, i am deeply humbled, God bless you. @Ifeoma77: my own darling. Many thanks. Your gesture is much appreciated.
Thank you ALL.
It's a lovely Christmas gift for all ITA and PPR recipients. Congrats guys! For everyone in their different stages, God-speed. Inevitably, it will end in glamorous praise. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by jhoci: 7:19pm On Dec 19, 2018 |
Wow! What a joyous day! Congratulations to all those who got PPR and especially ITA today.
@Wasseynewest, I dey see your headlight everywhere. Congrats and keep doing good.
....back to silent mode....... |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by jhoci: 7:51am On Dec 12, 2018 |
Wow! Congratulations!! SkyWalk12: Guess who got her PPR? Izzz meeeeeeee. God has freed me from Accra visa office!!! Story loading tomorrow after I drop passport. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by jhoci: 8:26pm On Nov 30, 2018 |
Awww.... Congrats Newmum! Wishing you all the best as you move to start your new life. May blessings and favour follow you. Newmum0615: Finally dropped my resignation letter this morning. Whew! Mixed emotions.
Canada is calling my name. Speak Trudeau, your subject is listening. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by jhoci: 11:43pm On Nov 19, 2018 |
Also confirm from your school if a copy of your certificate was included in the verification. Same thing happened to me. I had to scan my certificate to the lady sending the verification to include in the mail to WES and my profile was updated after that. Charisfreak: Please I need advice o. WES has sent my transcript to my university four times, and my school responded on all four occasion as updated on my profile by WES, only for me to notified for the fifth time that my WES requires verification again. Please what could be happening. Have been on this since September. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 5:34pm On Nov 08, 2018 |
Thank you Lord!! I've been praying for you even though I don't know you. God has perfected the work he started, praise be his name. Congratulations dear!! aworldcitizen: Praise to the Lord the Almighty the king of creation! Gather round people, it's PPR!
Below is my timeline Decision to travel August 2017. Family of 5 Visa office: initially London, moved to kyiv in August. IELTS: September 2017. My IELTS was written once and was perfect 9,8,8,8. Spouse IELTS 7.5,7.5,7,7 ECA: Masters Nov 2017 Entered the pool Dec. ITA January AOR January 17th 2018 Medical Passed Feb 11th 2018 IP1 Feb 12th 2018 IP2 Feb 27th 2018 Then silence. Not even a single ADR. Ordered 1st GCMS notes April 2018 everything looked perfect. Then complete silence. Ordered 2nd GCMS notes July 2018, this never arrived Wrote Raplh who confirmed Eligibility and Security not yet started. More silence, not even a ghost update October 3rd 2018 ordered 3rd set of GCMS notes. Arrived Nov. 1st. Still same as April notes. My file had not been touched since March 2018. Eligibility and Security not yet started. Wrote a 3rd mail to Ralph on Nov 4th who was gracious enough to respond (Ralph responds only once). He confirmed that my eligibility and security was not yet started and my application cannot be expedited. Nov 8th, like a dream ! my PPR!
Checked email and profile this morning and saw nothing.
By 2pm during my lunch break, I saw a mail notification, I wanted to ignore but decided to check.
I saw a mail from donotreply@cic.gc.ca that I have an update on my profile. I was excited, that finally I am getting a ghost update / adr.
I logged into my cic acct and saw my profile was updated. I was so excited,thinking it was just a ghost update and that finally my file was receiving attention. I wanted to log out but I felt the nudge to proceed and click on view complete application which I did.
Nothing seemed to have changed, my background check was still in process, I was about to log out again, when I felt that urge to scroll further down to the mail section.
I saw I had a new mail, titled request letter. I already concluded that it was an ADR for fresh bank statement. Love and behold, it was the almighty PPR.
I wasn't expecting it to come without an ADR for updated POF since my application had been pending for almost 10months. I lost appetite immediately, and was was just screaming. I couldn't share the news with my colleagues, so I just lied to them that my husband got a new job!�.
I am immensely grateful to God Almighty who did not put me to shame. Delay is not denial. Though it tarries, it must surely come.
Thank you all for all the love and support.
Off to take my pictures and submit tomorrow.
This year has been so challenging. hubby and I lost our jobs, all our money tied at POF, we were feeding from Hand to mouth and struggled to pay school fees. Infact this September, we had to change their schools to a very cheap school.
God bless you all. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 12:10am On Nov 05, 2018 |
If you're a nurse already practicing in Nigeria, then look for bridging programmes. If not, you will have to start afresh. You may be eligible for the two-year accelerated BSN if you have a relevant first degree. I will advise you take time to do your research online, there's a lot of information out there. Also try writing to your school of choice for more details hayor2014: it depends, if a bridging program is to be better then I will take that option, but if one has to start afresh then that will be an option too.....I understand that there is a two years compressed program, with government grant in most provinces.... That's the one am searching for |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 2:29am On Nov 04, 2018 |
Are you asking about bridging programmes or you want to start as a fresh student? If you're starting afresh all you need is to do a search on your school(s) of choice. You can find information on application period, admission requirements, contact details and tuition on their website. hayor2014: Hello people....what is the process by which one can register for nursing program immediately one gets to Canada(Ontario), preferably on full grant |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 6:18pm On Nov 01, 2018 |
I've been enjoying your stories, thanks for the entertainment. I had to read it in two parts for maximum enjoyment  einsteino: I am not sure if this is helpful or relates to what we discuss here, but I hope to show guys a side to Living in Canada they may not expect.
Yesterday, while shopping at Walmart, I decided to grab burger and coke at the McDonald's corner of it. Not long had I sat down, did a lady sitting adjacent to me say hello to me. It was very unusual cos here people rarely talk to strangers. I replied hello with the fake oyibo smile everybody here wears. Next thing she asked you are from Nigeria right? I just thought to myself, well we are the most populous black nation so its an easy guess, I forgot there are way more francophone africans than Nigerians in Montreal. Before I could reply, she quizzed "You dont look Igbo, yoruba or Bini and you dont have Iyanya's people face either, what part of Nigeria are you from?" At this point I was startled. I told her she is right, told her my hometown. She admitted she has never heard of the place. She went on to say I must have landed recently, I was like this one no dey use jazz so? Before I could ask how she knew, she said my paying for another cup of coke gave me away. I didnt know when you buy a cup of coke at McDonald's, you can simply go take more coke for free with the same cup, I have been paying for extra cup of coke like everyday since I landed o, money wey i no get o ...
She and her friend engaged me in a lengthy fun chat, she was even speaking small pidgin at some point of the convo. The more we talked, the more it dawned on me that she was only Caucasian in skin, at heart na almost Nigerian. I asked how she knew so much about Nigeria, "I have been dating Nigerian men for years" said she. Her friend chipped in "they keep breaking her heart but she cant help it cos they are always so gorgeous". Told me of how they selfishly keep demanding money from her and make her get in debt just so they could send money home.
According to her, she has been with men from other west african countries, but those were just sex, its only nigerian men she dated/married, at this point my ear stand like local dog own. She made some remarks about a particular nigerian ethnic group and their habbit of having pussies everywhere (thats exactly how she put it o). She sounded like she has been at both the sweet and bitter side of that habbit of theirs. At this junction, I remembered I have been told some white ladies have a fetish for black guys. Before I remember my papa name, she don ask wetin I dey do tomoro, say she go come show me around town tomoro. I com just rizin am say based on one thing, one thing, I dey relocate from Montreal tomoro. Her countenance changed, she just sad one kain like pikin wey go make pet out of christmas chicken when watch night don reach.
Her friend helped her out, told me she has taken a liken to me and asked if I was married or had a girl in Nigeria. I was perplexed, shuu na just barely 30mins we don know o! time wey no go reach naija babe decide which of her wrong number she go give you. I was like na now I understand how G boys take dey do am! No be juju, no be smart up anything ... Anyways, we took the metro together and chatted even more, getting off the subway, we realised our buses were different but sister say she go like join me in mine to see me off before she goes home. Ibaboo! even if na night dem born me, no mean say na last night na, this format no go work. I sha just use style persuade am say make I see am off to her bus instead. As I waved her goodbye, she kept asking if I was sure I didnt want to join her. Well I sure pass roll on, so I just smiled calmly and said goodnight. Na so my fuse take survive the direct voltage o. Aside the obvious card she was trying to throw, I enjoyed the time with her, i think she is a sweet soul. She says she has helped a couple of nigerian refugees in the past, according to her they easily find work as caregivers and are known to be so polite always saying "ma and sir" to the old folks they look after.
So, guys here is one of the culture shock you may experience. Firstly it takes nothing here for some ladies to clear you their mind. As much as it is possible that she could have been genuinely attracted to me, I think it falls into the category of white ladies who just fancy black guys. I hear some of them feel y'all are horses in bed and know how to make a woman feel loved lol. So if you dont mind the risk of being a sexual experiment; your race rather than your personality being your selling point, then you go enjoy tire be that. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 1:23am On Oct 31, 2018 |
It's quite unfortunate. My cousin is also in the same situation. He applied for his MBA transcript first week of August and has spent 80k so far trying to facilitate it, yet no transcript. Nowujeda: Sometimes, your strength will just vanish out of frustration.
Today marks 3months since I applied for LAUTECH transcript and nothing has been heard. Just transcript oooo!
This is frustrating. I swear! |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 6:17pm On Oct 02, 2018 |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 7:57pm On Sep 28, 2018 |
Check what is written on your certificate. Mine says Professional Diploma in Human Resource Management. I didn't evaluate it so can't answer your second question. canadianxmas: Please, should the name of the certificate/diploma CIPM offers be PROFESSIONAL DIPLOMA IN PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT or ? also any idea on what the field of study should be on the WES form. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 7:53pm On Sep 28, 2018 |
Thanks for your response. He paid the person to handle everything, so we don't even know if the application has been done online as the person is neither picking calls nor responding to messages. SESE10: I know Lautech registers for transcript online. So that a student copy will be sent to your before sending to the address u wish for it to be sent. then wait for a while to follow-up with themithem in person or via mail |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 12:09pm On Sep 28, 2018 |
Congratulations! That MAP is not a small something. At a point I asked myself, "who send you?" But it's all for the best. Congrats again. doppler06: Thank you Nairaland for all your assistance . The journey that started from Part 3 of this thread has been concluded in Part 5
IELTS: 3 Mar 18 LRSW 9988 WES: 17 Apr 18 Masters CRS: 481 ITA: 25 Apr 18 AOR: 29 May 18 MEP: 8 Jun 18 IP1: Same day as MEP IP2: 20 Sept 18 PPR: 25 Sept 18 (mail came in 1:34am Sept 26) AOR to PPR: 117 days (approx. 4 months) Passport transmitted: 26 Sept 18
Visa office: Ottawa. Single applicant ( |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 10:40am On Sep 28, 2018 |
Thanks a lot! Please I sent you a PM.. ytp: I think I can help.Although Wes is yet to receive my transcript due to a mix up last week,hopefully they get it today.I also know someone that used Etx-no.The former is cheaper. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 9:14am On Sep 28, 2018 |
Please guys, does anyone have a contact for Lautech PG transcript? My cousin paid someone two months ago but the person no longer picks his calls nor respond to his messages. And no transcript yet. Abeg make una help me...
Also, any opinions about using Etx-ng? I want to suggest that to him too.. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 7:13pm On Sep 26, 2018 |
Congratulations Casecasr! You can check Glitteringstar's post on pages 114. https://www.nairaland.com/3617393/living-canada-life-canadian-immigrant/113casecasr: Good day Seniors, a new PPR recipient in the building. Its been a wonderful journey through this house. You guys are highly appreciated. Keep up the good work, may God reward all the moderators and contributors abundantly.
I hope to move down by mid of November all thing being equal, to Calgary most likely. I have applied for a plan for canada session coming up next month.
kindly advise your junior on way forward.
Cheers!!! |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 6:04pm On Sep 26, 2018 |
Congratulations! Estac: My Darling Nairalanders,
It is with great pleasure I dance in to announce the arrival of my PPR!
Here is the short version.
Timeline: AOR - July 14 MEP/IP1 – August 1 IP2 - September 21 PPR – September 25 (received 1.35am this morning).
I wish everyone a successful outcome on this journey. God bless us all |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 3:19pm On Sep 21, 2018 |
Wow! This is great. Congratulations! mepconsultant: Darling Nairalanders, PPR News.
I have been thanking God since yesterday and couldn't still thank him enough. PPR has falling on me. All thanks to God.
My brief Timeline below.
IELTS = 5 times ITA = 04/06/2018 AOR = 11/08/2018 MEP = 12/09/2018 BIL = 17/09/2018 PPR = 20/09/2018
3 days between Biometrics and PPR 8 days from MEP to PPR.
This could only have been God.
I'm actually a silent follower of this thread. Learnt a lot from here. IELTS oppressed me. I will by tomorrow highlight my experience and detailed timelines, for others to learn from and not get neither weary nor discouraged.
Thank you all for you supports. I wish you all the very best. 1 Love |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jhoci: 5:46pm On Sep 16, 2018 |
 OMG!! You just made my afternoon. Wishing you all the best in Canada! Pipes1759: VERY LONG LANDING GIST!!!!(Directed by kunle afolayan) |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 8:06pm On Sep 15, 2018 |
Wow! Very unfortunate... Newmum0615: So, I heard the most bizarre post-PPR rejection story this week.
Someone who works in a bank applied for himself and family and instead of using his bank job as work experience, he stated that he was self-employed and proceeded to apply with docs to show that he is a self-employed consultant or something like that. Everything was moving smoothly, he got PPR and then the worst happened when his and dependent's passports was returned by VFS without COPR or visa. Next, he got a notice of rejection. Apparently, they found out about his bank job and that he lied about the fact that he was still employed by the bank. Reason he gave for not using his bank job to claim points was that he didn't want to ask his HR for letter. He actually has a side hustle that pays but he wanted to use that rather than use his job to claim points.
So guys, for some of us who are always reluctant to ask for reference letters because of the preconceived notion that our employers might either not agree to sign or become hostile once they learn of our plans, please be warned. There is no harm in trying. Always play on the side of caution. I can't even begin to imagine if this guy has gone ahead to announce PPR to friends and family or even bought flight tickets etc.
Stay woke guys. Stay woke. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 11:27am On Sep 14, 2018 |
16th Aug. My profile was updated to medicals passed and I got the biometric instruction letter last night. Zeiya: What is your AOR date? Did anything else change on your profile? |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 10:24am On Sep 14, 2018 |
Same here too. Just did mine this morning. melochic: Thank you all for your responses and encouragement yesterday. I received a biometrics Instruction Letter last night. It will surely end in praise. Amen |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 1:44pm On Sep 11, 2018 |
My dear, I cannot say I truly know how you feel as I am not in your shoes. But I can say "Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken. - Psalm 55:22" You breakthrough is at hand.. aworldcitizen: Congratulations to all the recent PPR recipients
Still waiting for mine, I will be 8 months post AOR next week.
I know all things is working out for my good.
I have done all things; sent mails, raise cse, written and gotten response from the minister yet nothing.
I was able to call and get through once and I was told my file has been moved from London to some european country that I have never been to.
I ordered 2nd set of gcms notes from gcms buddy since July 23rd and I am yet to receive it.
GCMS buddy said they are yet to receive it from IRCC.
I have moved on with my life, I trust God and cannot come and die.
God bless you all and may it end in praise for us all. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 8:38pm On Sep 07, 2018 |
That was exactly what I did. I submitted my application with all relevant documents and LOE, then I also sent same documents to WES explaining the mistake. They replied me after one month saying my school needs to resend my transcript. It took them one whole month just to tell me to resend my transcript! I replied them with all the anger in me. All they could do was apologize for the delay in replying. chizyay102: Thanks for the response. What if i write a LOE and attach all relevant docs confirming my DOB with my application do u think it will raise an issue. I am not the primary applicant. What do u think. Thanks |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 4:36pm On Sep 07, 2018 |
You need to submit a birth certificate if you are claiming points for having a sibling in Canada. I thought I needed the attestation but later found out my birth certificate would suffice. So I didn't bother doing the attestation, especially as I knew I was going to be extorted. Debsify: Is this for dependants/children? Because I didn't know CIC needed birth certificate for EE. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 12:24pm On Sep 07, 2018 |
I was at the NPC office in Ikeja LG council in May and was told to pay 11,500 for attestation (10k + 1k5 for affidavit). I went directly into the office oo, not the agents that hang around. When I told the lady that the official cost is 2,500, as I saw online, she told me to go and pay online na and just ignored me. Room112: National population commission cost of attestation of age is going to be 10,000 next week just confirmed today. Currently is 2,500 naira. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by jhoci: 8:02am On Sep 06, 2018 |
Wow! Congratulations!! masrapido: You guys were right!!! You were so right!!!
IT'S PPR!!!!!
Cheers. ~dances out with serious Niger Delta waist shaking~ |