Stats: 3,325,746 members, 8,423,560 topics. Date: Tuesday, 09 June 2026 at 10:04 PM

Joebie's Posts

Nairaland ForumJoebie's ProfileJoebie's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 (of 621 pages)

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:44am On Nov 06, 2019
netherlands are too composed in the rear. .forget matter
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:42am On Nov 06, 2019
Averageeeeeeeeeeeee
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:39am On Nov 06, 2019
na sentiments go kill us
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:38am On Nov 06, 2019
e don finish ooooo.. team with abroad born players wan beat naija
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:17am On Nov 06, 2019
this ref dey play partia oh
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:05am On Nov 06, 2019
oga.. what did I say when Tammy scored last? oya talk.. what have I said about Tammy since he became a full fledged England international?
oya talk
if u no fit quote my post then keep kwayet grin

TheSuperNerd:
But he didn't do badly. He bagged an assist and a goal today. grin

Aha... The bolded is exactly my point. I hope you remember that when next Tammy scores again. wink
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:47am On Nov 06, 2019
i don start to watch
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:43am On Nov 06, 2019
i don't believe all this tribalism talk.. if u talk say dem select to sell players, I go believe.
Manu's team was compromised.

Marjoribanks:
I have never seen a worse Nigeria under 17 team in my life.
This is what you get when you select players based on religion and tribe.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:41am On Nov 06, 2019
i cleared throat.. u know wetin that one mean?

at this very moment, I'm just getting to know something happened as regards Tammy from reading ur post.. no be everybody dey follow football 24/7. Besides anyone who celebrates Tammy here despite he being an England international is as bad as those who celebrate when he does badly..

is this not a Super Eagles thread?
TheSuperNerd:
When Tammy Abraham scores I thought a few people take it upon themselves to update us even though he is now an England international and no longer a prospect of the Super Eagles.

They know this is the Super Eagles thread but will choose to keep talking about an England International.

Where are they? Abusule007... Joebie... How far naa... You guys were among the last to talk/quote Tammy's last goal update.

Well, he scored again today.... Albeit for the Opponents. But Goal bu goal not so? wink grin
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:27pm On Nov 04, 2019
Jupiler League Scorers Log

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:07pm On Nov 04, 2019
watch Colin continue his wailing just a couple months ago. @ Eartquake1 Chriskels Komekn

clueless Rohr. Didn't care to do his research or playing wayo grin

Seriously... What more does QPR's Eze need to do to get a Nigeria call up?

QPR's Ebere Eze can't seem to buy his way into the Nigeria team at the moment, despite his excellent efforts in England. Mark Pain/PA Images
Nigeria's latest squad call-up once again brought disappointment for admirers of QPR's Ebere Eze.

On Thursday, the Super Eagles named their 23-man squad to face Brazil in a prestigious friendly game scheduled for mid-October, with just one new addiction to the list in Slavia Prague's Peter Olayinka.

It meant that, once again, there was no space for the 21-year old, who has shown such good form that there has been reports he could be an English Premier League player sooner rather than later, with Tottenham Hotspur reportedly keeping close tabs.

In midfield, where Ebere would have fit in, there was a recall for Granada's in-form starlet Ramon Azeez as Gernot Rohr named six midfielders. That is the most he has listed since just before the Africa Cup of Nations, an area of clear deficiency.

Both call-ups are nothing if not thoroughly deserving.

Former junior international Azeez, who was in Nigeria's 2014 FIFA World Cup squad before slipping into relative oblivion, showed such strong performances this new season that he broke into the ESPN's Nigeria Power Rankings for August.

And what more can be said of Olayinka, who transferred his domineering league form into the UEFA Champions League as Prague went within a hair's breadth of a major upset at giants Inter Milan.

Add the stunning impact made by Glasgow Rangers' Joseph Aribo on his debut for Nigeria, and it is almost understandable why Eze is still on the outside looking in. Almost.

Midfield has been a problem area for Rohr from the very beginning of his rebuilding process. While his forward line and defence have seen relatively minimal churn, midfield has experienced more than its fair share of turnover, from Nosa Igiebor during the early days to this latest call-up of Azeez.

Granada CF's Ramon Azeez has earned a Nigeria call up after years in the wilderness. Quality Sport Images/Getty Images
The German has, to be fair to him, come to something of a settled middle three for his 4-3-3 style. Prior to John Mikel Obi's retirement, the preferred selection was Obi, Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo, with Alex Iwobi and John Ogu as backstops. Kelechi Iheanacho has also been deployed there occasionally.

With Mikel's injury absence, then dip in form and eventual retirement, his place was taken by Iwobi. But that area of the team continued to be lacking in numbers, especially after injury to Ogenyi Onazi.

One big criticism of that department has been a lack of creative juice. Almost all of Rohr's midfielders have been essentially defensive-leaning, when an attack-minded person was desperately needed.

Mikel did not appear particularly suited to the role despite early successes, Etebo has been tried there, as has Iheanacho before Rohr finally settled on Iwobi. The Everton man appears to be settling in there game by game, and occasionally offers glimpses of the crowd-pleasing footwork that gets fans juices going.

Overall however, he is a tidy player who just wants to advance the ball and keep play circulating. Which may explain why there remains a yearning for more. More creativity, more adventure, more invention.

Eze ticks those particular boxes. He possesses the nifty footwork, the eye for a pass, and the vision to get past players. His energy and defensive graft also make him suitable for a box to box role. Not to endow him with all-conquering abilities, but he has the looks of a good fit, especially for the long haul.

Joe Aribo recently received his first call up to the Nigeria side, after a stellar early season for Glasgow Rangers. Mark Runnacles/Getty Images
That was, until Aribo came along. The Rangers man, in direct competition for the spot, came in like a whirlwind and blew all competitors away. It is only right that he has earned a second call. And it would take a real stinker for him to lose it now.

In danger, though, is Anderson Esiti, who may have earned a recall but played poorly in the last game when he made his return, after over four years in the wilderness. A second dodgy performance could prove fatal to his international career, and open the door to Eze.

There may also be an additional hoop to jump through. Although he is yet to make a competitive appearance, Eze was in the England setup for the UEFA Under 21 championships and Rohr told ESPN a year ago it could mean a longer route to secure the paperwork needed to get him to play in Nigeria colours.

That could well be a reason for his absence, even if a tenuous one, because if he is really needed and wanted by the coach, that paperwork won't be as big an obstacle as it seems.

NIGERIA SQUAD TO FACE BRAZIL
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Anderson Esiti (PAOK Salonica, Greece); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic)
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:59pm On Nov 04, 2019
I don move on.. i just dey expose our foolishness. We will need to act better going forward.

modified
And if Colin catch you.. u go hear weeen
Eartquake1:
Collins has moved on, you should too
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:47pm On Nov 04, 2019
u dey yan kpwan.
if i dey cry, then Colin was what? wailing?
Eartquake1:
Dude why are you crying over a player in the championship that has decided to ignore us

Is he better than the players we have?

Is he more talented than our crop of U17, U20, U23?

This is a thread of Nigerian footballers and as at now Eze is an English property so go cry elsewhere
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 5:22am On Nov 04, 2019
eh.. i had said it was new.. u no get anything to say lol
charlesemeka85:
This is an old post
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:51am On Nov 04, 2019
i'm surprised how this did not get many likes and shares grin
actually, i'm not surprised.

tbaba1234:
Corruption in Nigerian football is a terrible thing
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:43am On Nov 04, 2019
This is a beautiful piece for Colin Udoh written over a year a go, and he finished with line full of wisdom. However, Rohr kept on sleeping until now and decided to send his assistant to approach his momma.. i dey laugh hahaha

Ebere Eze at the heart of Nigeria's dual citizen debate
Oct 9, 2018
Colin Udoh

https://a4.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=%2Fphoto%2F2018%2F1009%2Fr444473_1296x729_16%2D9.jpg&w=920&h=518&scale=crop&cquality=80&location=origin&format=jpg
Ebere Eze has scored three goals for QPR so far this season, leading to an England under-20 call up.
Yui Mok/PA Images via Getty Images

Queens Park Rangers' Eberechi Eze, who some consider Nigeria's great attacking midfield hope, is one step away from being lost to the Super Eagles.

The midfielder has been called up by the England under-20 selectors, and is expected to make his cadet bow in two friendlies this week.

If that happens, it will mean a significantly more convoluted route to navigate if the Greenwich-born 20-year-old is to suit up in green and white.

Not unexpectedly, this has led to a bit of friction between the Nigeria Football Federation hierarchy and Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, who called Eze into a training camp last year but did not hand him a debut, thus leaving him unbound to Nigeria.

Eze was one of a number of British-born players, along with Ola Aina, who were invited to scrimmage with the Nigeria national team in London. The expectations were that these players would gradually be integrated into the Super Eagles set up.

Eze's efforts were particularly eye-catching. His technique, skills, passing, and movement drew favourable comparison with the legend Austin Okocha, and NFF sources tell KweséESPN that Rohr had pencilled the then-teenager down as a potential replacement for captain John Obi Mikel.

Since that kickabout over a year ago, Eze appears to have fallen off the Nigeria national team radar. His contemporary Aina has become a fully-fledged international and only missed the World Cup party by a whisker.

Ebere Eze was born in Greenwich, and if he makes a senior debut for England, he will not be able to play for Nigeria. Luke Walker/Getty Images
In that time, however, Eze has grown from strength to strength at QPR, operating from a free midfield role that allows him the liberty of dropping his little technical bombs from all over the park. That unshackled rein has yielded three goals already this Championship season and made him a favourite with the Rangers fans.

That form has led to this call up by England, and could ultimately be the reason for Nigeria's loss. But that ominous prospect is still a long way out as he is nowhere close to the senior England set up.

So could he still be in Nigeria's plans? "Yes," Rohr told KweséESPN, before admitting that the road is now just that little bit tougher: "But it will be a long process before authorisation for him to play for us."

But a source within the federation preached sympathy for the coach, explaining that with so many foreign-born options available to select from, not to mention a plethora of home-grown talent also making their cases, it is a 'damned if you do, damned if you don't' situation for the coach.

"He can't take every player born abroad. If he embarks on doing that, people will still moan and call it a team of second-divisioners and that he is leaving local boys out. There's never a perfect fix to the issue," the source said.

"Ebere is playing well. Good luck to him with England. There are many others that are being touted. Danjuma. Billing. There's so many. Yet when [Rohr] leaves even one of the old guard out of the list, heavens will almost fall."

It is about finding the balance between which of these dual citizens to pick and which to leave out. For now, Ebere is one that needs chasing while the door is still open.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:34am On Nov 04, 2019
we are all making deductions from what we see in the news. no one is a mind reader.

Barryseal:
But Komekn, previously you claimed Eze will come around and play for Nigeria after he must have bagged all the dollars and pounds from corporate sponsors.
In a space of a few days you turn around to blame the Nff for Eze's monetary ambitions?
How does it add up?

In a nutshell, I've never seen a bag of hot air, falsehoods, assumptions, yet presented with such pomposity and arrogance. You missed your calling as either a politician or a con man.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:30am On Nov 04, 2019
jihday:
na your man with the blue font na, he say make we turn our age grade team to poverty alleviation scheme
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:26am On Nov 04, 2019
your story too long.. as long as Eze has honored our call to train with SE every other thing you are yanning is irrelevant.
Those introductory talks must have been done before that get-together.. don't forget Aina was also part of that training meet.. and prior to that introductory talks have been done with Aina.. Maja as well. would Maja and Aina have turned down an invite from England thereafter? Most likely not.. The truth is Aina and Maja never got invited by England since that meet. Correct me if i'm wrong.
These players have dual affiliations. As long as they qualify as Nigerians or Englishmen either country can call them up at will especially if they have shown they are open to representing either in the past.

charlesemeka85:
Some folks n their reasoning dey tire me atimes. So Rohr n the nff should just invite a foreign born player whom they not re sure of him having the ambition to play for 9ja without consulting him first?

Before keshi invited balogun he called him personally to know if he is interested to be a member of his team. It's unprofessional to pencil down the name of kids born abroad for an invite to our national teams without atleast reaching out to them first.

Even the likes of Aina, Iwobi, ebuehi, Ekong, victor moses, Anichebe etc were all contacted by one way or the other before they were invited to the national team.

The case of this kids are different to that of kids groomed in Nigeria who re automatically obligated to accept a call up even when they re yet to be approached by anyone from the glass house.

Even I remember so may years ago Obafemi martins initially rejected his first invitation to the national team with an excuse that he wants to solidify his place in inter milan's team then and when that was achieved he made his debut against Ireland in an international friendly.

Some here behave as if they know it all but thier post on certain issues here expose their ignorance.

Eze was in the get together organized by the nff few years ago in UK as an unknown quality but his fortunes have changed and after being capped by the English u20 side and currently having a good season with the possibility of moving to the almighty epl in few months time and a recall to the English u21 mooted in the media in the next fifa break, the nff and Rohr did the right thing to contact him to know his stand on repping us in the future which the young man informed them that he needs more time and I don't blame him for that because he has to make the best decision for his young career.

Lets try to be sincere to ourselves rather than castigating and vilifying the nff and Rohr for not inviting him without his consent which will even make mockery of the German and nff chiefs to the outside world.

The area I blame Rohr was not capping him since last season though the lad wasn't consistent then. I once advocated for fast integration of this kids most especially the talented ones to our national teams when they re yet to hit stardom but I was insulted here and labeled an ass licker.

Eze left the door open and their is still chances that he will play for us in the future so let's wait and hope for the best
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:21am On Nov 04, 2019
hahahahaha.. e don reach that one?.. the visiting Nigeria requirement.. as if Rohr or the NFF dey check their immigration records
i don too laugh tire for this thread
charlesemeka85:
The nff and Rohr have to be proactive in getting this lads but it is unprofessional to invite a player who if well checked have not visited Nigeria before without consulting him.

Imagine appointing a Nigerian professional born and groomed abroad for a governmental post without reaching out to him first. Make we dey use common sense abeg
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 12:20am On Nov 04, 2019
and Eze had been to a Nigerian national team camp before England came calling.. grin. Our ways tire me..
a country that wants to keep it's pride but keeping disgracing themselves in funny ways.

jihday:
Because Maja have never been to any English national team camp
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:51pm On Nov 03, 2019
if playing an unofficial game is like dating another man, how about training. if e never play official game dem never shook

Lucque:
Nd den he represented anoda country... Common courtesy will require dat u ask him if he is still interested in playing for u before u roll out his name nd get embarrassed... because u kissed a gal... Nd now she has dated anoda man... U will just go nd ask her hand in marriage immediately u see her again because u once had a fling?.. knowing dat d moment she marries u.. she cant be with anoda man again... Guy u still reason am without prejudice abi na wetin komekn de call am
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 4:11pm On Nov 03, 2019
I asked because I didn't know if it was already said here. For those who say we shouldn't be using foreign-born players in our U17 team, we have a prime example here of a another European country who are no minnows in football having a very open mind and not being discriminatory.
TheSuperNerd:
Well, several of them sound Dutch to me at least judging by the ones I have watched at the WC so far. I don't know much about their bench. But what exactly is the point of asking about the Dutch nationality diversity? It is normal to see a Dutch team having a diverse group. I remember 2005 vividly with Owusu Abeyie, Ibrahim Afellay and a few more.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 3:10pm On Nov 03, 2019
Barryseal:
His mother could be his manager don't you think?
You know... Like Pogba's mum is his manager.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 3:04pm On Nov 03, 2019
na the mama thing dey vex me.. and people are talking about due process.

ChrisKels:
A very stupid stuff.

Boy say him wan play for Nigeria, him sef come ur camp for England follow u train, instead wey u go send him invitation letter as u did Maja who also follow u train for Barnet, u indirectly go meet the mama begin talk "shoot bird mama fly". Why u no meet Maja mama too nah.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 3:02pm On Nov 03, 2019
Okay, if due process was followed, was Eze notified? grin
That would have been a good time for Eze to pull out and we will not be talking about disgrace. Why all this mama talk? grin

Barryseal:
Oga, maybe you don't have information how invitations get sorted.
Let me gist you. Players are notified 1 week or 2 before the invitation list is made public. Durring this little window, players can pull out if there are injured and replacement called up. That is standard practice. A player who has never been capped will be will be first contacted through his club or management to know his readiness.
Sorry to say, but due process was respected in the Eze saga. Only insatiable Nigerians will fault the management of the call up leaving the man at the centre of it all.
The bulk stops at Eze's desk here. You can't blame anyone else except you have contrary evidence.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:42pm On Nov 03, 2019
Rohr met him in a get together 2 years ago, and today you don't have all those information. interesting.. Why is Maja's case different?

Barryseal:
What is wrong in consulting him first? Do you know the state of his international passport? Are you sure he even has a Nigerian passport? You have to acertain his readiness before giving him a call. Same courtesy was accorded Ebuehi.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:33pm On Nov 03, 2019
oga which kind drink u like that time?

ChrisKels:
Did england seek his consent before giving him that invite, knowing fully well that he once trained with us. You seek consent when the said player has played a competitive game or if it's ur first move. U don't seek the consent of a player that has trained with u, whose profile on every reputable website reads Nigerian, before giving him an invite.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:32pm On Nov 03, 2019
help me.. because Eze was never quoted.

My argument here is that if he was called up outright, will we be hearing from his mama?

Barryseal:
Like you didn't read the report.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:31pm On Nov 03, 2019
but have we not been disgracing ourselves already the way we have been going with these approaches?

naming a player who has honored a call once is not disgraceful to me at all, if he turns it down this time.
Barryseal:
What is a country without a sense of worth and pride?
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:30pm On Nov 03, 2019
u fit help am answer. what did Eze say according to the quote?
Eartquake1:
Are you still on this matter?
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 2:27pm On Nov 03, 2019
okay and what did Eze say according to that quote? grin
Barryseal:
Rohr was quoted verbatim by a renowned journalist. Such report cannot be categorized as rumor.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 (of 621 pages)