Lawyer's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Lawyer's Profile › Lawyer's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 (of 51 pages)
well if umanna gets banned, i am in support of it big tyme and should serve as a lesson to others. S you are spot on there. As for the moderator position, I would have offered myself to be the moderator but we work in a democratic society and so far so good, i see you always put it to vote so let the nairalanders property members choose their moderator as them deem fit! This is a very sensitive section of your forum! Its always 90% business and transanction and 10% fun! Cheers! |
Seun, Ummana is not the issue! The real issue is checking future people like him and multiplicity of posts that are either irrelevant, dubious or plain spam. Nairaland property section is the only part of your forum whereby in case a business or transaction takes place, millions of naira are spent at once, so extra precaution has to be taken to safeguard everyone's interest. |
You guys are right 100% Imagine one person with a post advertising his properties and people view them and make their offers and someone from no where comes to advertise his ware house for sale thereby altering the momentum. I have seen it happen to aeon's thread, popoyeh, smafolabi, lifedone, jayr,h$broker and a lot of popular estate agents on nairaland. This thing destroys credibility and with the simple fact that property is man's most appreciated treasure, it is very important to keep a safe eye and be vigilant against fraudsters and imposters. If you look at the auto's thread, they all watch themselves against stupid and irrelevant posts and sales because products that people expect to part ways with millions of naira is not a joke. A lot of families have been rendered broke and homeless because of posts like ummanahjj's and the senior ones on nairaland properties would have a major dent on their credibility. I appreciate the fact that thousands of nigerians abroad look unto nairaland properties for classified adverts on properties and seem to trust most agents they deal with. All it takes is for a lawless society to turn hell loose for all marauders claiming to be agents meanwhile they are omonile's in disguise. So Abeg Seun, this is no longer a laughing matter. If someone loses Millions of naira due to an imposter, it could bounce back to you in an unpleasant way because you refused to take precautions to safe guard your members! Cheers! |
No Pastor, Priest, pope or religious head has a right to choose a partner for another person based on certain criterias that doesnt conform with the religious head. As long as you met your selves without no pastor involved and you grew in love without that pastor and you decided to take that step further without that pastor to get engaged and marry, then the pastor's only job is to bless that union. Love conquers all and if he advises you not to marry your sweetheart and you break up with him, is he going to find an exac$t relacement for you? Wont your mind be wandering back to your former flame? Do you think the pastor will care about your love life in 5 years time when others are thronging in to seek counsel from him? Ma guy, abeg follow your heart. You chose him, you marry him and only 2 of you can solve any future problem thay you might encounter and only 2 of you will reap the benefits of your love! Cheers! |
This is getting ridiculous. Nairaland properties used to be one of the most interesting forums on nairaland but it has turned strictly to an advertising ground alone and what is extremely annoying is the spamming and continous repititions of threads by the same people over and over again and worse still is people like umanahjj who posts in virtually every thread advertsing the same properties 1 million times. This will definately turn a lot of people off since it has turned into a classified without any rules and a free for all. Nobody is saying properties shouldnt be advertised, in fact people need to know properties in stock but spamming and not knowing who is who and what is what, makes this forum the least appreciated. Alot of nigerians abroad look up to this thread for properties they might be interested in for them selves or their families but without rules, things could get awry. Please do something about it ASAP. i WONDER WHY THIS FORUM IS THE ONLY ONE WITHOUT A MODERATOR ![]() |
I dont understand how rational human beings think atimes. This thread was devoted to business registration and for people to ask all manner of questions regarding a sucessful registration and for people to help them out with it. What has a forex advert got to do with this thread? And to make matters worse you are delieverin your advert in a very comical maner. I am sure there are hundreds of forex threads for you to insert this inside? Sometimes people like you make it difficult for users to enjoy nairaland! ![]() |
Oh! Ok, nice one! We do need more people like you on nairaland properties! Well said and hope to do some business with u in future! ![]() |
Well this is an Internet Story and not really what happens in real life. 95% of divorces are settled 3 months ahead in the mind of that person. Go to the divorce section at the Ikeja High court and see the massive queue of people waiting to annul their 2 years to 50 years old marriage. People go tired and wary of staying with one person especially this generation and people just need to move on atimes. While this story might seem inspiring for some, none theless, it doesnt apply in the real world! Most divorces are meant to be and it has nothing spiritual or emotional to do with it. Its just an absence of communication and attraction! Cheers! |
'but i can still call eslynera your cousin to give me the address of her cheap bend down boutique customer in Mushin. . .' |
Thank you for calling Etislat Customer care centre. Sorry we can't talk to you because your free 5 minutes for life is up, so please load an all in one card to continue talking to customer care! Thank you for calling customer care! Hope we have been of great service to you! |
I had always wanted to be a DINOSAUR like Dino in the Flintstone cartoon! But after i reached 30 i realised i was'nt going to be a Dinosaur so i went to law school after that! Why didnt anybody tell me then that i wont be a dinosaur? I would have finished law school tay tay! |
yama yama! |
Is Obasanjo Sexy? |
Holy Ghost Fire Burn, fire burn, fire burn ! |
If anyone downloads Lefenu so Video on you tube without my permission, that person will answer to me for copyright infringement because i am his lawyer and he has given me all the instructions to take down all violators of his copyright, lol ![]() Anyway, Ajasa is fine, it was a rash moment of foolishness by his chaffeur who apparently slept off on the steering wheel after they were coming back from the p-square birthday bash at Kays Place. It just set him some few Thousands to fix his car the next day and an immediate sack of the driver. Confirmed Gist from Ajasa Himself to me last week monday! ![]() |
jericho o/c brothers and sisters degenerate 30s rock aliens in America one tree hill (I love their soundtracks) Dexter Ugly Betty Boston Legal Gossip Girl and although its not a full time series but the Apprentice U.S with donald Trump season 1-7 is a must watch for any budden Enterpreneur. Its hilarious and extremely educative unlike the rubbish Apprentice Africa that sends me to Dozy land anytime i see Chief Ogunbanjo's face trying to be a fake Donald Trump! ![]() |
rapidshare, but you need to have a very large disk space to place them. Presently i have over 90GB of t.v series and movies on my hard drive that i downloaded but you also need to have a very fast internet connection! |
@p.lawson Thanks for the kind words, truely appreciated. Yes i do registration of companies and that one of my core practice activities. I am a full corporate lawyer. The reason i havent posted anything recently is because the CAC has revised their rules and the new rules and fees will be coming out either on monday or tuesday and i dont want to jump the gun until i have the full facts to relate to you guys and post them. Until then, i have suspended all present registration requests from nairalanders till the new rules are out before i give my opinions about it. KINDEST REGARDS! ![]() |
Binutiri:i dont understand binutiri what this msg is? Are you saying that you are advising us to get a lawyer to do the investigation before you sell or its a must a lawyer must be involved in your propertis for sale? I dont get it! Please expatiate more on this thanks! |
@khari I dont understand you o! I believe this thread was to engage in meaniful property debates to educate our selves more and you still infiltrate it with properties for advertisment ![]() You have the opportunity of opening your own thread to advertize ur properties, why didnt you? You guys pls refrain from making this property section a place for all forms of rougish activities. We want to own our own homes but we also want to know how we can live peacefully in it. Cheers! |
Good grades are for academic excellence and the right to brag to your colleagues that you ave excelled in SCHOOL! But in the real world as i have come to discover, being street smart is what puts food on the table except you are a rocket scientist working with Nasa. If You come out with a third class or pass, be rest assured, you will most probably be the head of state of this country or a mega CEO of your own company someday except your life ambition is to work for somebody till the day that you die! |
In search of an urgent flat or house on the mainland or Island for N10 MILLION NAIRA MAXIMUM BUDGET. If it is just a flat, the client wants it in an estate but the area in mainland should be a good area. Pls treat as urgent anyone. And reply to my email with all the descriptions herein. Cheers! |
do you still sell those digicams? I am interested in the cybershot. Send me a mail if you still have them before the end of the month. Cheers! |
my people how una de? before una start to de yab me b'cos i know say the yab don full una belle, de wait to explode, i de jeje tell una no vex!, lol ![]() Wats good? |
Well there are various advantages and disadvantages of registering a company or business name. Generally a business name suits people who are interested in small scale and medium businesses e.g hairdressers, tailors or general blue collar jobs. The advantage of this is that you own all the profits and can keep a eye on things. Its generally a major factor for sole proprietors and those who want to start a business idea with little capital to make ends meet. Over the years you can upgrade your lifestyle with your business name and move into bigger things but still low scale.eg most of those generator dealers or carpet dealers in Apapa. General supply and distribution and movement of goods from a-b. The start up registration fee is small and you can do it for less than 10,000 probably yourself at the CAC to get your business on the right track. The Disadvantages On the other hand to me are huge especially if your a professional aiming for big business. With business names, you are stuck from moving up in the corporate world. It reduces the chances of you borrowing money from a bank or stock market to move your business. These days mega money is being splashed around for emerging businesses and nobody is going to give a person who has just a business name registration that money because it is totally unsecure. Another bad thing about business name registration is that you suffer all the risks in a business and if you default, all your personal assets will be seized till you pay back what you ave defaulted in. While in a registered company, your personal assets are safe and its only the assets of the company that would be seized and valued according to the company alone. Although its a bad thing but that's how bank managers of failed banks got away with all the crimes because it was only the company's assets that were seized and not their own personal fortunes. So company formation is more secured. Also in terms of operating in a big way, most companies would listen to a potential enterpreneur who is registered as a company as opposed to one with a business name. In fact investors will feel more comfortable dealing with a company than a business name owner. Also big businesses such as oil, insurance, finance, telecomms and a host of other big business always advetise for people to supply goodsand inventories for their big companies. One of the major requirements is that only companies registered can bid and auction to win contracts. Business name owners are definately out of the race with such stipulations. My own advise is that if you really want to step up your business game in future, you should discard the business name formation now and just close your eyes and register the company. It would be there for life and when that big bingo time arises you wont be running helter skelter looking for how and when to register a company. Funny enough its not as expensive as people think. The only problem is that for every day delayed, those bureaucrats at the CAC end up increasing it and adding one fee or the other. In short they make money from the procastination of potential registerars. I don't know about tomorrow but as for today and before christmas the price structure still remains the same. Pray the current world recession doesnt affect the CAC before next years budget unless we might be paying double for what is so cheap now! ![]() Cheers! Those interested in knowing the price can click on this link for further info: https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-185768.0.html |
Sorry, it will be a waste of time for you to use the online registration process because you have to be accredited by the CAC usually given to lawyers to use the online registration. It was designed to curb touting by fraudsters who pose as authentic registrars of companies after recieving money from unsuspecting clients. Cheers |
No yawa, i'll call you when i get to the office. Good to hear say e no concern u, lol, but e go worry u die if lakeside shop de affected , lol, See to you 2 morrow.Cheers! |
damola, how come you didnt tell me abouts today? |
Beautiful pictures, well done. I m kind of interested. Can you send me the price quotations for your chairs alone , i mean the couches especially the 2 seaters to barrister_matto@yahoo.com. Hope they r reasonable though. Cheers! |
Well i havent heard of any special licensing to operate a magazine except for it to be registered under ABC (That is the Audit Bureau of Circulation) and for the magazine to be registered as a company so that it has the powers to operate as one. Mostly the Right to freedom gives ou the right to publish whatever but you must also be prepared for law suits for libelous publications. Mostly the journalists have a body which you must be under that is the Nigerian Union of Journalists, so you can get more information from them and whatever licensing you might need from the media world, but the bottom line is that it is a company that must be registered first which gives you the right to publish those Magazines or Publications for public consumption. Cheers! |
This Information is both for old owners of companies and prospective new registrars of companies. This deals with your Annual returns and the harzards of not following the rules of company floatations: After your company has been incorporated, it doesnt just end there in fact the legal work and requirements has just begun unless without knowing it, your company could be delisted after some time because of the failure to follow some certain rules and protocols which includes the following: 1. A major requirement is that every company must have a company secretary. What they mean by company secretary isnt the secretary at the door of your company or customer care secretary, the company secretary is he one that handles most of the legal work that relates with the C.A.C so it wont be delisted or desubscribed for failure to do certain things. Such things incllude: a. Filing of your ANNUAL RETURNS: Most companies are delisted because of their failure to pay the Annual returns of the company. An Annual return payment is a yearly payment or tax to the government showing that your company exists and its still functioning. The C.A.C is so secretive about this because the more people are Ignorant about this, the more fees you pay to them when your in their problem. Section 370-378 of the Companies and Alied Matters Act (CAMA) 1990 PROVIDES FOR THE PAYMENT OF THE ANNUAL RETURNS AND PUNISHMENTS. Every company formed from the date of its incorporation must pay its first Annual Returns immediately after 18 Months of registration. That is if your company was formed in January 2006, you should pay your Annual returns from the first of July 2008 and any immediate default attracts a late fee of N100 per day for not complying. The fees for the Annual returns is Just N2,000 PRESENTLY which is subject to increase likely Next year. So bring out your calculators AND START CALCULATING YOUR ANNUAL RETURNS YOURSELF in case you have defaulted. The hazards of this is that failure to pay these sums would deproscribe your company from the C.A.C without you been aware and when you might need the company and would need a document from them to show its existence, you would find out that it is no longer there and you have to re-register a new company all over again. Even before you file your annual returns, it is a must that all companies, whether small or big must go through routine Annual general meetings. I know there are so many companies with just only 2 directors and your wondering why should 2 of you just do an Annual General meeting? It is important to note that there are also certain documents to be filed with the annual returns fee that requires the company secretary to handle. The Annual General Meeting just between the 2 directors or more should streamlinre the following: 1. Declaration of Dividend ( As long as there are 2 Directors in the company, your company ought tohave made profit. Whether you just made N100 profit or N1Billion Naira,it shold be noted and divided according to the share structure between 2 of you. So if yor company is a 50-50 thing and you made N150 Profit, after subtracting all the capital expenses and miscellaneous things invested through out the year from that N150, whatis remaining is the dividend that should be shared between the 2 directors or more, whether 50-50 or 80-20 or depending on the share ration. Now you don't need to disburse the money just like that in cash, but it must be recorded that there was a declaration of dividend and should be noted and attached to the C.A.C. Failure to do this attracts a penalty fee or worse still de proscription from the C.A.C register. 2. Also the presentation of your financial statement of that past year should be declared and attached 3. Minutes of the general Meeting 4. Auditors report Also every company must keep in its head or registered office the following; 1.The registrer of members 2. Minute books 3. Registrar of Directors shareholding 4. Registrar of directors and secretaries 5. Accounting Records To avoid all these wahala and due processes, that is why companies engage Company secretaries to handle all these things at the right time and alert you on the fees and things to do. Most of all these Minutes are already done by the company secretary and files all the bills so that you don't run afoul of the law and pay big penalties that you don't know about. To see how important the Annual Returns is, you cannot do anything at the C.A.C in future or ask for any document or certified true copy of anything without proof of the Annual Returns paid till date. In case your company wans to take a loan and the bank organizes a search whether the company exists, without that payment of the Annual Returns, you can't do anything. In case you need your company to add new directors, allot shares or take out a mortgage, purchase new products through the CBN or government auctions or even bid for a new job or proposal and a search at the C.A.C is required, your company will be under the line of fire. I have a friend whose father registered the company in 1997 and recently the father passed away. So in the process of getting the probate documents and getting the accounts and monies stored in different bank accounts by his father's company, the bank asked for the certified true copy of the Memorandum of Association. The guy also wanted to replace the dad as the new director and when we got to the C.A.C, He was politely told that he should file his annual returns before he can change the director, change the name of the official address of the company or get a certified true copy of the companys incorporation documents. Lets do the calculation together. N2000 per year for 11 years and 100 per day for each year not paid. All you accounting gurus should help me out here! ![]() Till today, his fathers money is still there and he cant prove otherwise or change the directors because of this small problem and it is still accumulating. So please don't run afoul of these rules and your Company would be just fine! cheers! |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 (of 51 pages)