Ono's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Ono's Profile › Ono's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 (of 132 pages)
Onegai: Dude, I worked for government last year. 6 months ago, I turned to my colleague and told her to start applying for a stay permit to another country, as we were the next Russia. Wait till the poverty levels start rising.Madam, If you don't mind, can you please send me your e-mail address? Need to ask some questions. Thx. |
Someone left his work - annual pay of some 12 million naira and went back to school. He's in his late 30s, married and with 3 kids. He said he wants to develop himself, increase his knowledge base. There's nothing ''exciting' in what he does everyday at work, he wants new challenges and new way of doing things that comes with higher knowledge. |
The Ghanaian Profs comment or not, personally I will rate GEJ as a very uninspiring President. This country needs a leader that will inspire them to do greater things and to greater heights. And just when I though we're almost there, unfortunately, we're even worse off under GEJ. |
Interesting thread. Looks like eelvismd is the one ''thinking'' engineering in here. Knowledge of how the hardware operates is NOT engineering at ALL - that's meant for technicians and artisans. It is the ability to ''come up with the need for the hardware and make the hardware from the scratch through in depth thinking and application of knowledge (maths, physics, mechanics etc) geared towards meeting the needs of mankind'' that makes the engineer. Now, the ChemE is a mechanical engineer with an edge above the ''conventional'' mechanical engineer. Fact is that the Chemical Engineer can do ALL that the mechanical engineer knows to do. Why? The Chemical Engineer knows the rudiments of all that the mechanical engineer does - and more! He can easily adapt in a ''mechanical engineering environment''. Thesame cannot be said of the mechanical engineer. When Chemical engineers starts talking about reaction kinetics, chemical reaction engineering, and others, the mechanical engineering guys will be lost in outer space! Now, ask the mechanical guys what is really special in what they do that the chemical guys don't know. Absolutely nothing. If you want to foray into uncharted regions, and emerging technologies, which mankind is presently exploring; if you have a flair for adventure with a knowledge of how you can apply mechanical engineering and chemistry into pharmaceutical, nanotechs etc, Chemical Engineering is the way to go. Now, this is for academic and research minded person only. At the workplace, the engineers aren't folks who man the tools. At the workplace, team effort, co-ordination skills o and efficient utilisation of available resources (including manpower) becomes key yardstick for measuring your performance as an engineer, not necessarily which discipline you come from. I have an Agricultural Engineer friend from FUTO who's working in the oil industry as a ''Petroleum Engineer'' and doing wonders. He's highly respected among his peers. Many engineers learn on the job - OTJ, and that's because the whole gamut of what happens in MOST industries is a kind of cyclic process. Once you understand what's going on and have your mind focused on it and then play a bit of the ''politics of the workplace'', you become a ''management person'' in the place you're working. Now, the Chemical Engineer is the master of processes. No engineering discipline embraces process technology the way the Chemical Engineer does. So, even at the workplace (any workplace at that, never mind that the Mech folks say they're everywhere), the Chemical Engineer is king. He/She dictates the pace and he/she does this working hand in hand with the other engineers. This is not to say other engineers cannot lead, but the Chem Eng who knows his/her worth will take his or her rightful place. |
There you go. The ayes have it. |
Oh well, we can say the recent pictures are those of lagos ''during the era of crude oil''. |
Ibime: Well some of them wanted "continuity" so they endorsed GEJ.Coming from Ibime, well, I guess I'm not alone. I am really disappointed with the way GEJ has been handling the affairs of this country. |
I think I'll like to see things from DaLover's perspective. The problem is really beyond GEJ. He could do something now, but it won't have a lasting effect. Our problem is a systemic one. The fuel subsidy scam is just a tip of it. We don't have a system that's properly accountable to the public. Everything we run in this country is shrouded in secrecy. Does anyone here know that some of the retired Generals in this country, especially from the North owns oil blocks in the Niger Delta? What about other vested interests in key sectors - NNPC, PHCN, NITEL etc etc. If GEJ should start the cleansing today, I doubt if he will go far before they finish him - except of course he's ready to be the sacrificial lamb that will purge the country. This said, I honestly don't like the way the man GEJ has been running the affairs of the country - this is going by what I read everyday in the dailies and using common sense. I really expect much more than this from the man. But that's me. Now, until the ethnic constituent of the country decides to sit down in a round table to discuss how we want to live together or go our separate ways - peacefully, all these Soyinka's move will amount to a waste of precious time. There are many people of conscience in the South South who, ordinarily will want to agree with Soyinka. But the solution to our problems is beyond taking to the streets in a futile protest( that will yield nothing in the end) - and I am sure Prof Soyinka knows this too. Maybe he just wants to make some noise and attract attention - Goodluck to him. Lol. I would suggest going to court with some properly scrutinized and verified facts and figures. Make a convincing case and let the law take its course - that is if the powers that be will allow that to happen. We don't need to wet the streets again with more innocent blood. Boko Haram is doing that perfectly for us already. |
ogugua88: Civilians need to hit Aso Rock. That's why politicians are not taking anything seriously. Boko Haram are killing innocent civilians left and right, bombing churches, police quarters, and now universities. Wetin concern PDP or GEJ and him cabinet? They haven't been effected one bit. Bomb Aso Rock with KLC (kerosene, lighter, and cloth). Make their eye shine small. GEJ go deliver 9pm speech by 6:30pm that day.Agree. |
LOL |
StateOfMind: The fact that it was her employee hit me the most. How disrespectful and betraying! I just hope insensitive guys don't troop in here to spew trash. The last thing this woman needs is mockery or blame of any form.Yea. The words in bold rings true - and it scared me the most. The useless guy should have at the least consulted with the wife before doing what he did. But then again, I understand how he might have felt. You women can be so very difficult at times, talking and trying to reason with you can be a waste of time. Anyway, OP, take heart and just do as mazaje said. |
chucky234: Guy I have been in Lagos for close to forty good years and I can tell you that ACN government have under performed since 1999 going by what Lagos generate on a daily basis,Fash have ruled fraction of the state since he was voted in. He govern only VI,Ikoyi,Ikeja,Lagos Island,Surulere and Oshodi-Apapa expressway where the rich live leaving the poor in areas like Okoko,Ajegunle,Amukoko,Ajangbadi,Satellite,Ojo,Iba Town,Iyana-Ipaja,Ejigbo e.t.c to their faith and you sit there to praise them.Wow!!! WORD! |
Sad. But do as mazaje has advised. Other women, if you're in her shoes, don't put a female employee over your affairs. |
I wish him well. He did a lot for his state - but he stole a lot too. |
Truth is that Ibori did a lot while he was governor of Delta State. I still find it strange that he stole so much. The monies they say he stole are really mind boggling. If he could do this and was able to win my ''trust'' at the time he was governor - people believe me, this guy did a lot. His efforts at restoring peace in war torn Warri was legendary. The bridge at Bomadi - I have been talking about this bridge for years now, that bridge was a major hassle smasher for the Ijaws. Transport to and from Ekeremor, Bomadi and adjoining villages was made easy by that bridge - It practically opened up Ijawland, hence the deputy governor general of ijaw nation title given to the man. Those stadia Fash talked about were actually built by Ibori. Warri city stadium, I am told is one of the best in the country. It was built by him. Several other major projects this man did as governor. What's baffling is how he could do so much but still was able to steal - so much! This life sha. I hope for the good he did, he could get a short sentence. |
[quote author=Sisi_Kill]Y'all have totally jumped shark with this topic. Can't tell who stands where and for what!! [/quote]Naa people are just ''shedding'' more ''light'' on the gospel. Don't be led astray though. Have fun! |
gearshift: gambling....the list goes onAbi o! Nothing wrong with gambling, helep me tell them! Okija, how about gambling? I don't think I read anything about that in the Bible, therefore doing it is no sin, right? Same with watching pornographic movies, going to brothels and stuff (Even Judah, the ancestor of Jesus once patronized the services of an harlot - although it later turned out that the ''harlot'' was his daughter-in-law Genesis 38: 15-19) So therefore, no wahala with mingling with harlots. Enjoyment and freedom don start! |
Lagos Shia: thank you for the long post which is very much irrelevant to the OP and the confession of your "brother in Christ".Thank you friend. Now, let me respond to your ''understanding'' of these things as you stated above. Indeed we're deviating from the original OP's view, but I thought I could come in and shed a little light on things - its obvious you were not making any progress - even in the 8th page of this discourse. I will respond to your bullet points as quoted above. 1. You said/implied that being born again is ''repentance and piety/devotion, and be subservient to God's law and commands'' This is NOT CORRECT. Now, I will explain, and may the Lord grant us all wisdom to comprehend. When Adam and his wife ''fell'' in the garden of Eden, we were told that they were to die. Ideally, one expected Adam and Eve to fall down and die immediately after eating the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil. God said in the day that they eat of that tree, they will surely die. Now, it took more than 900 years before Adam eventually died - physically. The ''death'' God talked about in there is definitely not the physical death. If it were, Adam and his wife would have died instantly on eating that fruit. There was more to it. It was the spiritual death. This is separation from the Almighty. And that was the intention of the Devil from the start. The Devil knew that man's fellowship with God was a glorious one - full of benefits, pleasures for ever. He never liked it, and his sole task was to separate man from God, and he succeeded through the woman and through cunning craftiness and deceit. If you read Genesis very well, God wanted to continually have fellowship with man in the garden of Eden, as much as God made man head over everything on earth, He still wants to be with man. Well, man fell, and today, you know who rules the world now - the Devil himself. Bible said the Devil is the god of this world. He rules and reigns in the affairs of men - especially men who do not know the truth about God's plan for man's redemption. When the old man (Adam) ''died'', he died for real. God came up with a plan to have man come back to ''life'' again - life in the spirit realm that the Devil cut, life with God having fellowship with man again. My take here is that God knew man was not really bent on disobeying him in the garden of Eden. He had mercy on man and decided to redeem him. And don't for one think that God did not know it was the Devil that was behind the wahala. The new life, the life in the spirit was what Jesus talked about to Nicodemus. He did not understand it. And you my friend, you don't either and I am not surprised. ''Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God - John 3:5 KJV'' And then again, Jesus said: It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life John 6: 63 And yet again, as pertaining to his death Jesus said: " And he laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I am the first and the last: I am he that liveth, and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death" (Revelation 1:17- 18 ) ''For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life - John 3:16'' - still from Jesus. ''He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him - John 3:36''. Now, you need to understand me, I am not trying to give you any Greek gift. Stay where you are. Remain in your Muslim religion. No wahala. The only condition I can read up there for one to get to God is to believe on His Son (difficult as this might be to some - it's the only sure bet here) The Jews of old lived pious lives, they were devoted to the Mosaic laws - even unto today, even they still do the passover feast as the Lord commanded them. They still offer animal sacrifices like the Muslims do, for the cleansing of their sins, although the animal sacrifice thing is just skin deep. It could not purge their conscience - which is what Christ came to do. Living a pious life and obeying scriptural injunctions does not necessarily mean you're born of the Spirit. So, how do one get born of the Spirit. I said that earlier: Through the one who said the words himself - Jesus. It is a miracle he will do - when the person involved has accepted that he/she indeed needs the miracle of salvation from sin and death. Thanks. I will address point 2 soon enough. Peace. |
Lagos Shia, I greet you. Well done. There is no need for any serious argument with my fellow christian brothers up there. At the rate you guys are going, nothing will be achieved at the end of the day - you will just keep on accusing each other, cancelling out each other, etc etc and using up Oga Seun's space needlessly. You all need to understand one thing. Why are we here on earth? Is it only to be born, live for some years, get married, have kids, achieve your heart desires and then die? Is that ALL the reasons why we're here on earth? Surely not. The hope of eternity after a life lived on earth is what keeps most christians and muslims (I want to believe) going. The hope that after living to please God, a heaven awaits us in the life hereafter. The two religions - Christianity and Islam have very similar purpose for mankind - Reconciling Mankind from his fallen state back to his creator. In the end, both religion believe there is a heaven for those who live according to the dictates of the Holy Scriptures and the Lord God's commandments. But, unfortunately for the religion of Islam, things have advanced to a higher level, a level where living a life to ''please'' God is not anymore the way to heaven. I put the word please in quote because it is indeed difficult to please God as an ordinary human being. Jesus has entered the picture, and with his coming, some ''complications'' which only the Christian faith have shed much light on. These complications are difficult for the Islamic person to understand, hence the reasons why I stated earlier that you will keep arguing till ''thy kingdom come'' and you will still be in the dark. The complication with Jesus is about living in the spirit. The book of John in the Bibile, read it very well, LagosShia, I observe you read the scriptures too, and that's great. But you see, you have to be born of the water and of the Spirit for you to comprehend these things. You can read meanings to pronouns as you like, do everything and anything you want to the word of God. It won't make any sense to you until you become born of water and of the Spirit - just like Jesus told Nickodemus - a similar character like yourself (LagosShia) in the scripture during the time of Jesus. He knew practically everything about Moses, the prophets, Kings of Israel all of them, but the subject of being born of water and spirit was new and strange to him. Ok, so how do one get born of water and Spirit? Simple. Through Jesus himself - the author of the words. Getting born of water and Spirit as christ himself said it is to be born again. Now, this is not the jingos you hear all over the place - especially with many fake churches around now twisting and preaching heresy in the name of getting born again. This ''experience'' truly is one which should be desired by all - Muslims and Christians alike. The central theme of the scriptures is Jesus Christ. Everything revolves around him, right from the start. Our sole purpose as humans on earth today, aside from living to fulfill our obligations as humans in the world today, is the acceptance of Jesus Christ as our Lord and saviour. Whether you're a muslim o, christian o, pagan o, atheist o, once you believe with your heart and confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, and that he came to bear your sins by dying on the cross for your redemption back to God, and that he has the keys of Death and Hell, and that he has the power to transform your lives to that of the new birth; every other thing you do is secondary. Accepting Jesus I say, is the final obligation of every human on earth. For without what he has done, we have no chance against an old foe, the Devil, who deceived our fore-parents (Adam and Eve) and we stand judged and accused by him before God. This toga of religion fades away when we all stand before God on judgement day. And the redemption blood shed on the cross of calvary is your saving grace on that day. All of you here have been quoting the scriptures like water, so I don't think I need to quote any more. You know very well what Jesus said about going back to God. He is the only way, the truth and the life. No one - and that's strong one - no one gets back to God except through Jesus Christ our Lord. Now, this is instructive. In Jesus's times, there was nothing like Christianity. It was after he ascended to heaven that the word ''Christianity'' found its way into our books these days. And bible students know that the disciples in Antioch were the first to be called christians - the word even came from unbelievers! They observed that some people were living and behaving like Jesus Christ - hence the word! Now, remember what Jesus himself said - many will come in his name, do signs and wonders, perform miracles in his name yet, he will tell them to their face on judgement day: I KNOW YOU NOT! DEPART FROM ME YE WORKERS OF INIQUITY!! No be so my Christian brethren?! I did not read anywhere in the scriptures where Jesus specifically said only ''christians'' should come to him (please correct me if you can). The floor is open to everyone. The only condition is what Jesus himself said in the scriptures, and that's what matters the most. Does that mean muslims can accept Jesus as their Lord and saviour and continue with their religion? I think and believe so. For Christianity is a religion, just like Islam is. And Christ did not put any emphasis on religion in coming to God the father or making it to heaven. Again, my christian brethren, please reason with me on this. But I know this will be difficult with most, if not ALL muslims. But if pagans and others have come and are still coming to the knowledge of the saving grace of Christ, nothing surely is impossible for God. The Lord God bless you all. |
Is that the toshmann of good old Nairaland - or a fake? Anyways, me sef don laugh die. The things we see on nairaland these days....makes me wonder. |
And why do you think she's not a Muslim? I have Muslim friends who don't wear hijab. I don't want to go the religion way, but things should be put in proper perspectives. Until it is announced that she's not a muslim, just keep what you know to yourself. |
Moving in the right direction..I'll wait to read about scapegoats in the news. |
But Fashola is a Muslim. Am I missing something here? ![]() |
[quote author=kayci_d77]Abeg any person who cannot work in Portharcourt, be it Hausa or Yoruba should resign sharp sharp, no compromise [/quote]Fully supported. Simply tender your resignation to HR adviser. Rest assured you will be fully compensated. |
Positive development. Wonder what the HQ was doing in Lagos in the first place. Chevron, ExxonMobil and others who have their operational bases should move out of congested Lagos with immediate effect - too. |
Interesting video you have got there, Musiwa - even though your post and the video are very much at variance. What are you trying to pass across about the Itsekiri's, are they Ikwerre's now too? I am struggling to make some sense off your post! |
@shymmex, Ok. Granted 70% (don't claim 80% o! the itsekiri's will fight you with their last drop of blood for that 10% difference o!) No wahala. Itsekiri will never agree with the Yorubas as one of their offshoot o. I have several Itseke friends, and they simply don't buy that ''Itsekiri is Yoruba too'' bull crap. Go figure. Back to your entry: Fact remains that if push comes to shove, the Niger Delta people will hold their own o! And any dreamer who thinks he can play the British colonial card at that level will be taught the toughest lesson of his life. |
Depends on how you look at it. Alliances could be made, wars may be fought. Those areas (the two Bights) belongs (98%) to the Niger Delta people. The remaining 2% will go to the Yorubas - Ondo/Edo axis (and that's a lot by the way!). There really isn't anything to benefit from anywhere other than making alliances with the people who have the highest say in what goes on in those two Bights. And when the other tribes come around to make any kind of alliance ''proposal'', they must come pleading - this time around, there isn't anything like the ''British handed the place to us to rule forever'' talks. And if talks get nasty and some ''rule forever'' people decide to get crazy and aggressive, as they're wont to be, then the Niger Delta people will be ready to teach them a lesson of their life about begging when you know you don't have anything to offer. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 (of 132 pages)
that will attain him salvation.but Jesus went further that he should be "born again" or "of the spirit"(which is a phrase for repentance and piety/devotion) and be subservient to God's laws and commands.
[/quote]Fully supported. Simply tender your resignation to HR adviser. Rest assured you will be fully compensated.