Stats: 3,330,058 members, 8,443,646 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 July 2026 at 08:55 AM

Phyde's Posts

Nairaland ForumPhyde's ProfilePhyde's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 (of 47 pages)

InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 3:45pm On Apr 04, 2019
Stanbic alert just drop.
HealthRe: "Stop Putting Cotton Buds Into Your Ears. Your Ear Cleans Itself" - Doctor Warns by Phyde: 2:36pm On Apr 04, 2019
nepapole:
Nothing feels better than using bic biro cover, matchstick to clean my ears. Always like i am cumming. So sweet a feeling. Thanks doctor but i love cleaning my ears myself.
grin grin grin Funny dude....Was thinking i'm the only one guilty of this.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 2:29pm On Apr 04, 2019
Tweetums:
woow, that's a lot for the break down.... I really appreciate.... I'm going for tb
U're welcome....Is crypto still booming ?
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 1:15pm On Apr 04, 2019
Tweetums:
yes ooooo...
I'm not trading forex again but crypto on point now....
Do you know much about tb?
Treasury Bills are government guaranteed debt instruments issued by CBN on their behalf to finance expenditure. The CBN also uses treasury bills to control money supply in the economy

How are Treasury Bills Sold?

Treasury Bills are sold through a bi-weekly auction conducted by the CBN. Buyers are requested to quote bids following which the average minimum bid is selected.

Where can I buy Treasury Bills?

Treasury Bills can be bought through any official dealer. The easiest will be through your bank

What is the Minimum Amount I can Buy

You can buy for as low as N1,000 and in multiples of N1,000 thereafter. However, Banks typically accept minimum purchases of N100,000 or more

When is it usually sold?

Treasury Bills is sold every other Wednesday (bi-weekly) as announced by the CBN. The CBN announces issuances in their websites and in the pages of the Newspaper. You can also ask your bank account officer to notify you ahead of an issuance.

How Can I Buy Treasury Bills

To buy Treasury Bills you will have to approach your bank requesting for a form. You fill the form with your personal information also indicating the amount you want to buy as well has your bid rate.

What is the bid rate

The bid rate otherwise called your STOP RATE is the likely interest rate that you have indicated ti receive for the principal that you investing in the TB’s. For example you can indicate an interest rate of 10% as your expected rate. Your bid rate will most likely be different from that of other intending buyers of TB’s.

How is the Bid Rate selected

The CBN selects the bids that fall below the accepted marginal rates. The Marginal Rate is the minimum average rate for bids submitted within a bid window. For example if the marginal bid rate for a bid opened Wednesday 4 September is 11% then bids falling below this rate will be accepted and those above rejected.

What if I don’t have a Bid rate

If you do not have a Stop Rate or you are not sure of a rate you can select the option of having the bank choose a rate for you. However, this does not guarantee that the bank rate will be chosen or will be the best.

Can I still buy if my Bid is rejected

You can purchase TB’s from the secondary market Over The Counter (OTC) through a broker. This is also where buyers and sellers of TB’s trade the notes in exchange for cash.

What are the durations (tenor) for the TB’s

Treasury Bills are usually for 91days, 182days and 364 days. As such, you can have the CBN hold your cash for 91days or 182 days or 364 days depending on your choice. However, the CBN can decide they want to sell Treasury Bills for all the tenor available or either of them.

Can I sell before Maturity

Yes you can sell Treasury Bills before maturity. As mentioned above, this can be done through the OTC market. The price at which you sell depends on the forces of demand and supply. For example a N100,000 face value TB maybe selling for less or more depending on the yield expectation of the buyers. If your face value is trading at a higher price, it means you can sell your treasury bills at a profit as such your N100,000 can sell for N101,000 or more. If your face value is trading at a lower price, it means you can sell your treasury bills at a loss as such your N100,000 can sell for N99,000 or less.

When is the interest paid?

The interest element of a treasury bill is paid to you upfront and credited to your bank account. For example, if you purchase a N100,000 TB with an interest rate of 10% the CBN debits your account with N90,000 as such your N10,000 interest is paid upfront. Upon maturity, you are paid the face value N100,000. The upfront payment of your interest makes your true yield actually higher.

What is a True Yield?

True Yield is your actual Return on Investment. (ROI). Using the example above, the initial yield for the N100,000 is 10%. However, because they pay you interest upfront your true yield is actually the N10,000 in interest divided by the N90,000 actually deducted from your account. That is N10,000/N90,000 0r 11.11%. This is thus higher than the 10% coupon. The True Yield is completely earned when you hold to maturity.

Can I roll over my investment

The CBN does not rollover your investment automatically. However, you can give your bank a mandate to rollover the principal on your treasury bill upon maturity. You can also get the benefit of compounding interest by asking your bank to reinvest the interest portion of your TB once it is paid.

Are Treasury Bills Safe

Treasury Bills are one of the safest forms of investment and are backed by the full faith and credit of the Federal Government of Nigeria

Apart from the Interest Rates what are the benefits

A good source of steady stream of income
Treasury Bills are a good investment outlet for your free and disposable cash
Treasury Bills are good investments for people who wish to save
Treasury Bills are also tax free
Treasury Bills are very liquid and can be converted to cash quickly
They can be used as a collateral

Are Treasury Bills Taxable

Interest derivable from Treasury Bills are not taxable.

Still try to read first 10 to 20 pages of this thread and be following every updates.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 5:26pm On Apr 03, 2019
Tweetums:
I have 15m fixed deposit in Polaris bank but the return is very low every 91 days I receiving #336,575.. Pls, what are the processing to move to treasury bill... Thanks
Are you the same Tunlip Tweetums; the forex guru i met on facebook some years back?
CelebritiesRe: I Have Not Had Sex In 12 Months – Yvonne Nelson by Phyde: 5:51pm On Mar 27, 2019
IamD18:
Are you suppose to be having sex when you are not legally married?

What's wrong with these shameless ladies of this generation.

One of the reasons I cherish and value virgin ladies more than these wayward non-virgins parading around with their lagoon pussay.
They would still be proud of something they should be ashamed of.
CelebritiesRe: Uche Jombo Reacts To Daniella Okeke's 32nd Birthday Photo by Phyde: 1:52pm On Mar 27, 2019
Gistvic:
woooooow... shocked shocked... i like dat phone she is using....naa black...

those grasses self dey green wella..... wink
The phone make senses even at night. grin grin grin
FamilyRe: Family Of Girlfriend To KENPOLY Graduate Who Committed Suicide Speak Out by Phyde: 5:44pm On Mar 25, 2019
rawitools:
Imagine oo for this strong buhari regime I swear them need kill that guy for hell fire again.
Baba easy naa... grin grin grin grin grin grin
HealthRe: Side Effects Of AC (air Conditioner): We Should Watch Out For by Phyde: 4:09pm On Mar 23, 2019
1, 2 & 4 very true.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 5:43pm On Mar 20, 2019
Bluecollarguy:
S(he) is wrong, don't be alarmed! Next primary market auction holds next Wednesday March 27.
Ok, thanks
SportsRe: Sonia Ighalo Poses In Bikini At Beau Vallon Beach by Phyde: 5:42pm On Mar 20, 2019
HerTotoScream:
Should I masturbate to thishuh Lemme consult from Vaseline.

Ok Vaseline says "NO"

But lemme just rob the head of my Dik small with saliva who knows maybe Vaseline may concur as the tempo increases
grin grin grin Funny dude.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 5:20pm On Mar 20, 2019
awesomeJ:
It appears you're expecting an auction for next week.

There's been an auction today 20th and the next one will hold on 3rd April.
shocked Not 2 weeks interval again? I have marked Mar 26 to submit my form. Why this sudden change of calendar? angry
RomanceRe: Have You Ever Had Serious Bad Luck Just After Pre-marital Sex? by Phyde: 2:44pm On Mar 18, 2019
bukkyemotions:
Cases of bad lucks after sex has happened. I have real life cases to tell you. A guy slept with a married woman and was sacked the next day. A man slept with a lady on her wedding day and was sacked later. A guy told me he took a lady home probably for sex and as he left, a man who was very powerful in Nigeria came to his shop, but he wasn't found...

if you have had yours, tell us
Won over a million naira on bet9ja one week after we got laid. I will likely search for her again.
EducationRe: Video Of Success, The Warri Schoolgirl Sent Away From School Over School Fees by Phyde: 5:18pm On Mar 15, 2019
ifyalways:
Lol. See her well powdered neck. cheesy

Omgosh. So hard not to laugh. cheesy real rugged omote cheesy

How much are tbe books biko? Any idea @OP or her parents contacts.

Im happy the school sent her home as opposed to flogging her. Doesnt make sense and is not right to flog kids for late payment of fees and/or buying books.

Edit: seems the girl have got help. Thank God
Laughing at the bolded...She has automatically become a celebrity. I trust my fellow Nigerians in situation like this. She will get massive help.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Phyde: 1:01pm On Mar 14, 2019
feelamong:
Rates not looking good!

91 days - 10.75%

182 days - 12.50%

364 days - 12.845%
cry cry cry
Car TalkRe: Are You Bold Enough To Do Your Wedding With Any Of These Vehicles? by Phyde: 3:02pm On Mar 11, 2019
Ijaycool:
Before you take this silly decision in NIGERIA,
First of all ask yourself

1. will my mother in law agree?
2. Will my father in law agree?
3. Will my husband's sisters agree?
4. Will my parents agree?
5. Will my mum's pastor agree?
6. Will Mike my elder brother agree?
7. Will our church youth agree?
8. Will the decorator agree?
9. Will our village youth agree?
10. Will our landlord agree?
11. Will my Facebook group (poshness bae) agree?

In oyibo land, wedding is between two consenting adults.
In Nigeria, wedding is between two families trying to out-do everyother humans.

The couple can't take any decisions.

I remember saying I will like to do my wedding on low cut hair, kaiii my mum and sisters almost disowned me.

Them go dey there dey wait marriage, I will just carry belle. I dey pity them.
I owe you 3 bottles
PoliticsRe: Thugs Cart Away With Boxes In Ikwerre LGA Rivers State - Photos by Phyde: 10:20pm On Mar 09, 2019
nero2face:
Lol, Rivers and their ways, see Police Men escorting thugs with ballot Box... Tomorrow someone will tell me my vote counts... Akuko
Count fire...voting in Nigeria is a scam grin
TravelRe: Which Country Can I Relocate To With 6million by Phyde: 4:26pm On Feb 27, 2019
ShawttySoFyne:
canada
Can 6m really cover all processing and living expenses ?
PoliticsRe: See How Election Was Rigged In Akwa Ibom State By PDP by Phyde: 4:11pm On Feb 27, 2019
Reasons why i am still a strong advocate of e-voting system. It will only take IT gurus who are good in hacking to foul-play the system and another IT gurus in cyber-security to safe-guard the system. With manual and stressful voting system, even an illiterate can play around and destroy the trash cans called ballot boxes like what happen at Ago in Lagos.
Christianity EtcRe: What Will Be The Fate Of Samuel Akinbodunse, Now That Buhari Has Won? by Phyde: 3:47pm On Feb 27, 2019
Sharming95:
Definately dis ain't election....anybody dat tink it an election is totally deluded...rather d two major party tested dia Rigging strength....
APC aving learn well 4rm its master PDP in d past is nau paying d later back in it own coins...
The two parties rig...and d best rigger won....No one shud complain abi die bcuz of any politician...it doesn't worth it...and for dose calling for violence and protest cuz of d election...day shud tink it twice bcuz if it happen d Atiku and Buhari and other politicians go move with dia extended families...if possible dem fit carry dia cows and chickens in dia farm noin body....we will b d one at d receiving end...most of us who don't even knw d road to airport not to talk of procedure in collecting visa...Think twice...d next tin yhu'll yhur Dubai landlord address Nigerians 4rm Dubai... don't fight bcuz of d chicken change day promise yhu dat won't last yhu for four months not to talk of four years....don't b d agent of dia selfish interest whereby after getting dia after d struggle day will still end up looting yhur future...day ain't worth dying for....either Yoruba...Igbo abi Hausa...and minority groups let see ourself as one...d love dat exists btw us shudn't go down d drain bcuz of a few section of d society....let use Venezuela�� and Libya ��as case study...lets learn d international observer won't be here to save yhu wen d wahala start na dia ppu dem go evacuate Rwanda comes to mind...tink it twice...let leave above dis election results...
we d masses are d winner don't let d few ruling class turn us d majority for dia own selfish interest...ma own one million dollar advice
Thank you sir
PoliticsRe: 2019 Presidential Election Results Announcement By Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman by Phyde: 4:23pm On Feb 26, 2019
Bungalow:
Even America does not do electronic voting.
So, sharrap
You are a fool. read this https://people.howstuffworks.com/e-voting.htm
When will you be delivered from bondage and stress?
PoliticsRe: 2019 Presidential Election Results Announcement By Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman by Phyde: 4:12pm On Feb 26, 2019
Nadheer15:
Even with electronic voting system you can't win, abi the northerners too won't acquire how to engage in it?
It will minimize rigging and stress of vote counting, even encourage eligible voters to vote anywhere. If we can succeed in BVN and Sim card registration, why can't we give electronic voting a try.
PoliticsRe: 2019 Presidential Election Results Announcement By Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman by Phyde: 10:20pm On Feb 25, 2019
moshoodn:
Since the days of the North, there have been underage voters..

Same brought in Obasanjo and Atiku...

Same brought in Yar'adua and Ebele..

Same brought in Ebele and Sambo..

Same brought in Buhari and Osinbajo..

Its bad, however, it's an expected Northern trend.

So, let no one cry foul now. It's been right before us since the Northern dawn.
It is only the invention of electronic voting system can stop those cheats.
PhonesRe: Samsung’s Foldable Phone Is The Galaxy Fold, Starting At N714,780 by Phyde: 5:18pm On Feb 21, 2019
Beautiful gadget but i expect the battery capacity to be higher. smiley
PhonesRe: Samsung’s Foldable Phone Is The Galaxy Fold, Starting At N714,780 by Phyde: 5:16pm On Feb 21, 2019
Xionez:
12GB RAM!!!
My laptop should be ashamed of itself. 8GB RAM...
grin grin grin Funny you.
PoliticsRe: Witches In Kogi Endorse President Buhari And Yahaya Bello. Hold Mini Rally by Phyde: 5:11pm On Feb 21, 2019
swiz123:
I am not surprised. Illiteracy has made people do much worse.
But the worst thing an illiterate can do is to endorse illiteracy in the person of GMB
That's why nigeria is still struggling to developed. Just suffering and smiling citizens.
RomanceRe: The 4 Different Types Of Men In Every Relationship by Phyde: 6:19pm On Feb 11, 2019
AntiStupidity:
If there's one thing you should know about women. It's the fact that they hardly heed advice because they prefer not to be told what to do.

A woman will be played several times, she'll meet boys and babies, she'll also date a confused man before finally settling down for the good guy.

Good guys hardly get good women. Good guys often end up with used women.
Major reason the confused men are scared of commitment, they don't wanna build or invest on a lady for another man bcoz some women are unpredictable.
PoliticsRe: FG Begins Expansion, Rehabilitation Works On Lagos-badagry Expressway by Phyde: 4:19pm On Feb 11, 2019
fergie001:
Agbara to Badagry?

When Trade Fair to Iyana-Iba is a death-trap?

So,it's down to up and not up-to-down,why?
You just said my mind. They don't know what they are doing. Same fools have been seeing burning tankers claiming lives and fallen containers on daily basis and are doing nothing about it.
SportsRe: Lionel Messi Bottle Flip Pepsi Advert (Video, Photos) by Phyde: 1:52pm On Feb 09, 2019
World football magician.
CelebritiesRe: 'Baby Face' - Davido Swags Up In Paris, France (photo) by Phyde: 4:09pm On Feb 05, 2019
freemanbubble:
These frogged voice is not supposed to be singing if not for too much enhancer. Only tubaba is talented
Although i don't play Nigeria songs because they sing dog shiit but am still surprise how people compare this frogged voice with wizkid

Listen to the likes off edsheeran and your life will never remain the same
The weekend
Sia
Katty pery
Passenger
Bruno Mars
Avicii
Twenty one pilot
The Chainsmokers
Dig the kid
Cold play
Khalid
Maroon 5
Calum scot
John legend
Selena Gomez
Post malone
Ellie Goulding
Christiana aquilera
A great big world
Rita ora
Clean bandit
Dua lipa
Martin garixx
Major Lazer
The night

And i bet you you will never play Nigeria song again

quote me and argue with me only if you listen to music twenty four hours non stop
But till then let me light some weed
Osazee abeg give me that weed make i wrap one tie
You belong bro but your list is not complete. Thought it's only me that done listen to naija hits.
FoodRe: Dipping Bread In Tea: How Many Of You Still Do This? (photo) by Phyde: 8:05pm On Jan 30, 2019
uuzba:
Well, you have to understand who invented bread and tea.
As you know, these came to us through the British who colonised us. The colonist were disciplined people of very high standards (AKA effizzy).
They drink the most tea in this whole world till date. They bake bread and so many types if pastry.
Usually they'll eat bread as a sandwich ie. With sardines, ham, cheese or other condiments inside. Sandwich one hand, tea to wash down.

The problem with this method of dipping bread inside tea is that the bread is naked. There's nothing to go with the bread. Indirectly, you are saying you cannot afford anything to go with your bread. This method, hence goes with the poorer people. Some poor British people still do this.

So it all depends whose style you are following. The rich or the poor.
Rich normally attributed to educated and poor attributed to illiterate.
I will always prefer the poor style even when i am rich, so village people won't come for my head, While many poor still prefer the rich style trying to live a fake live.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 (of 47 pages)