Stats: 3,330,700 members, 8,446,694 topics. Date: Friday, 17 July 2026 at 02:23 AM

RuuDie's Posts

Nairaland ForumRuuDie's ProfileRuuDie's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 (of 295 pages)

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 9:19am On Apr 03, 2012
[quote author=Mr_TA]https://files6.fliiby.com/images/_original/87gruyret8y.gif

This was SAF's response to the fans chanting the City is ours. grin

I love SAF.[/quote]No wonder he sent the lads out to acknowledge the fans after the game. . .most vocal support I've ever heard from a UTD crowd, home or away.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 9:17am On Apr 03, 2012
We played a relatively good game. . .no doubt we have the title in grasp, don't see us losing - all SAF wanted was any form of lead going into the Derby, now he's got five. He must have a stockpile of hairdryers in that dressing room waiting for the next player who dares to *f up!

DDG has certainly proven his worth beyond doubt, Evans has shown why faith's been in him for so long - still waiting for DW to do the same!
RomanceRe: Is It Necessary To Date Before Marriage? by RuuDie(m): 6:03pm On Apr 02, 2012
In truth, one can never completely know their partner inside out; there will always be something new. . . but at the very least, a period of courtship lets you know if you can accomodate their flaws and shortcomings without losing your head!
RomanceRe: Why Online Dating Won't Work For Nigerians Especially On NL by RuuDie(m): 6:25am On Apr 02, 2012
The one major thing that doesn't make online dates work for me is. . .somehow, somehow sha something just falls short of expectations when we finally meet outside cyberspace!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Fc Barcelona Fan Thread: "més Que Un Club" by RuuDie(m): 8:05am On Apr 01, 2012
Last night was an FCB I'd never seen before. . .the intensity was just crazy! The scoreline simply doesn't tell how comfortable Barcelona were in victory and it wasn't because A.Bilbao rolled over and let 'em or anything; they were utterly steam-rolled!!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Barcelona Vs Athletic Bilbao (2 - 0) On 31st March 2012 by RuuDie(m): 7:44am On Apr 01, 2012
Frighteningly ferocious display by Barcelona. . .for 80mins Bilbao just couldn't get a foothold on the game. Never seen FCB play with such intensity!
BusinessRe: “How Linda Ikeji Makes Millions Blogging” – [YES Magazine Interview] by RuuDie(m): 10:37am On Mar 31, 2012
The title is rather. . . .a bit too much I have to say!
NYSCRe: Was The New Nysc Posting Policy Fully Implemented? by RuuDie(m): 8:49pm On Mar 30, 2012
Except am not getting the jerk of the policy correctly. . . it appears to have more de-merits than merits - I mean, it seems illogical - because what the policy appears to be doing, is cutting down on the number of jobs and options available to corps members. Given the rate at which the population of corpers increases annually, shouldn't they rather be increasing the potential areas of posting for corpers rather than reducing it!?
RomanceRe: Being Single- Sweet Or Bitter? by RuuDie(m): 12:04pm On Mar 30, 2012
From the number of questions I get daily, mostly from married friends and colleagues, about when am going to "print and distribute my IV" - I take it that most of them wished they were in my shoes at this very time; so I conclude that being single and unattached might not be so much of a bad thing afterall!

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 9:37am On Mar 28, 2012
Lord Jesus!
All this quality strikers and top midfielders to learn from and DW still plays like some headless fowl. . .abegi, give me a 'clueless', clumsy Chicharito anyday - at least, I know even blindfold, he knows where the goal is!
TV/MoviesRe: Movies And Their Soundtracks by RuuDie(op): 8:49am On Mar 28, 2012
The soundtracks for the movie "Hope Floats" includes some of the smoothest love songs i've ever listened to -

What Makes You Stay - Deana Carter
When you love someone - Bryan Adams
To make you feel my love - Garth Brooks
TV/MoviesMovies And Their Soundtracks by RuuDie(op): 8:44am On Mar 28, 2012
Which movie(s) have the best (or collection of the) soundtracks you ever heard. . . .!?
Jobs/VacanciesRe: I Got 4 Missed Calls From Etisalat by RuuDie(m): 1:41pm On Mar 26, 2012
brighthabit: Pls can someone help me? I got 4 missed calls from 0809. Tried 2 call back but it wasnt going tru. I applied for the outbound and analyst-distribution. Shud i go to their office to see if i can get a positive response or wait to see if i wud get a call back? Pls some1 shud advise me here!!!
Wouldn't bother if I were you. . .if they wanted you that bad, they'd call again!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 5:37pm On Mar 22, 2012
I choose to go with the performance bit - current or immediate past form as I see it.
We labor to beat the likes of Otelul and Basle; yet dream to cut it in a league where all the best players in the world are assembled. Only if dreams were horses pally!

Even when we had the money, clubs have shunned UTD for FCB, RM and other European; so what is the guarantee that it'll change because of the so-called "La Liga benefits"!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 4:09pm On Mar 22, 2012
coogar: you are beating about the bush.
when was the last time a team in the lower league played in any cup final in spain?
answer now. wink
My friend. There is only one major cup final in Spain. . .when was the last time a lower league club played in the FA cup in England!?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 3:15pm On Mar 22, 2012
StarBoard: @Ruudie,
Like coogar,it's hard to agree with that assertion based solely on two-legged ties.We paraded poor teams,yet managed to get to 3 CL finals in 4 years.How can you marry that with the assertion we will struggle in LA Liga just because we got beaten by Bilbao?
Hence,Fulham will finish in the top 4 in the bundesliga,since they beat Wolfsburg and Bremen in 2009/10 UEFA Cup. Both finished higher in the Bundesliga than Fulham did in the Premiership,but could only score ONCE against Fulham in 4 games,according to camel dayokanu's logic.
He thinks this is his taxi cab where he can coerce us into believing he played with Thunder Balogun, hence these miserable analogies.

As for La Liga itself, I'm scanning through to check how many lower-half teams beat Barca and Real (the true top teams in Spain) and I find not many times it's happened this season. . .compared to the EPL, it's not as regular. Swansea have beaten City and Arsenal and Chelsea escaped with a last gap draw. Swansea alone. Name one La Liga Side (newly-promoted or lowly,perrenial struggler) that has managed similar feat even when you add Valencia and Sevilla to the top team cadre in La Liga.
But you would also have to agree that since there is no way of directly putting all these clubs into one league to actually give us a basis for comparison on their relative strengths, it is only fair to look at the teams and current performances, not necessarily against clubs from that league, but all-round performance in matches they've featured in.
So, in very honest terms, you mean to tell me this UTD side, based on what you've seen of them will play in La Liga and will give the top sides there some competition!!? my friend, I love this club as much as you do, but no way! Maybe 3 or 4 seasons ago, definitely not the last 2 seasons I've seen. Lets leave this 3 CL in 4 years thing - we are beginning to sound like Scousers!

And I don't know how you are looking at that La Liga table. . . but there have been upsets; maybe not as sensationalized as when a Blackburn beats a UTD at OT. Zaragosa (rock bottom) just beat Valencia at the Mestalla, Villareal (struggling) have lost at home twice this term but none to any of the 'big boys'. . . and there is more.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 10:12am On Mar 22, 2012
coogar: because blackburn came to old trafford to beat man utd means chelsea, arsenal and spurs would do it?
there would always be one-off incidents in football. so because zenit st petersburg once disgraced bayern munich in europe means the russian league was stronger than the german league? the way people analyse football is baffling. if this trend continues for a period of 2-3 yrs, come and make your inference then.

then the idiotic dayokanu opined if man utd were in la liga, they would be trophyless - what an insane statement.
if man utd were in la liga, they would be the richest club. with the independent tv deals and 330 million fans, united's revenue per season would be £1 billion.
all the players that have doped up the performance of barca/madrid would probably be at man utd and there would be nothing for the catalonians n madridstas.

even with the money roman abramovic and abu dhabis have spent, they still cannot unseat man utd on the throne.
talking about teams lying down - swansea have beaten city this season, they beat arsenal too. sunderland beat city, blackburn murdered united/arsenal. wolves ended united's unbeaten run in the league last season. wolves had the least points on the league table when they achieved that feat.
who said bottom teams don't r@pe big teams in england? in the last 10 seasons, united have lost 8 times to a relegation bound team. if these teams happen to be from ghana, reprobates like yourselves would say the ghanaian league is better than the english league.
Well, with respect to finances. . . you are equally assuming things here and since we are painting hypothetical pictures, here is one - if UTD were in La Liga, the Glazers at the helm, we might not have as much wealth or have as much financial influence as you are wont to believe.

And who said bottom teams don't beat big teams in La Liga!!? why sounding like its a special thing that can only be associated with the EPL only!?

I agree with Dayo on the fact that in the recent past, the teams we have paraded would not make it in the La Liga. This present side in particular has no business sitting at the top of the log; no business whatsoever!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: The Galacticos (Real Madrid Fans Only) by RuuDie(m): 9:34am On Mar 22, 2012
Its just hilariously amazing to see how Real Madrid self-destruct the way they do sometimes. . .with all the experience and quality in the side, one would expect they'd just get on with the game and quit bickering, hassling and arguing with the officials. Its one area where FCB still have an edge; as long as there is still time left on the clock, no matter how short, something can be salvaged - just focus on the game - doesn't anybody ever bring that to their notice!!?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 3:34pm On Mar 21, 2012
coogar: that would be the same la liga that the idiotic rafa benitez won twice, right?
the same benitez who couldn't sniffed the premier league in 6 yrs?
alaba_slim, you are a fool!
The man has a point.
If we get whooped like against Bilbao week in, week out --- how long will you think it'd take before you bring out your old-school, Sir Bobby jersey, waving it frantically in the stands, singing in a Barry White for the gaffer's axe!?
CareerRe: Oil Expatriates In Nigeria Are The Highest Paid In The World by RuuDie(m): 3:20pm On Mar 21, 2012
And I think the question of security, high-tension, though tenable, but still with commas. . . the way I see it, the local and the expat are working in the same environment, exposed to the same hazards, risks and volatility of the region they work - so what's good for the goose doesn't necessarily have to be good for the gander but something relatively commensurate wouldn't be bad either!
CareerRe: Oil Expatriates In Nigeria Are The Highest Paid In The World by RuuDie(m): 3:16pm On Mar 21, 2012
I understand why some folks are bitter. . .
if you see the pay of some of the 'average' expats compared with the average local, it'll take a strong heart not to run wild I tell you. Made worse, like some have pointed out, by the fact that some of 'em seem not to be doing an awful lot to merit that size of pay, at least nothing a local cannot effectively do - yes we can factor in hazards, away from home, medical and all the like - but in some quarters, its still somewhat questionable!

But that said, undoubtably some of these guys do bring a certain level of expertise, experience and professionalism to the job, I for one can testify to this. . . so what I usually advice our people in this situation is, focus on the technology-transfer, what you can learn from some of these guys because at the end of the day, all the oil facilities and resources will be ours to run; they can't hijack it and carry to their land.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 10:49am On Mar 21, 2012
chamotex: Vieira says bringing back Scholes shows weakness.
Mancini bringing back Tevez after he claimed Tevez will never play for Man City again is what?
Weakness ^ 2

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 8:49am On Mar 21, 2012
The crux of the matter is, we are too ingrained in the English game and in fact, help them 'overhype' every little thing that happens there.

In every league, managers are axed. . . .in every single country, footie managers are endangered species. Some individual clubs have sacked more managers than the entire EPL in one season, we don't hear any noise. But one manager gets sacked in the EPL and you hear the Brits going on for a seeming eternity about how their football clime is the hardest to survive in all the world. Well, then again. . . I guess its all part of the publicity gimmicks!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Fc Barcelona Fan Thread: "més Que Un Club" by RuuDie(m): 8:40am On Mar 21, 2012
Shaping up really nicely. . . . .10 to 5, hmmmm.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 5:58am On Mar 19, 2012
Heck. . . . in Spain Pellegrini got fired for what - losing to FCB twice - after a record run of 12 wins!

*smh*
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Fc Barcelona Fan Thread: "més Que Un Club" by RuuDie(m): 5:40am On Mar 19, 2012
I for one, always looked at the fixtures and likened FCB's position to UTD in the EPL. . .just like City, Real Madrid will have a succession of 'tricky' ties and they will drop points like we've seen last night. Even better is, it is coming at a time when FCB seem to have steadied themselves somewhat doemstically (similar to UTD) and some of the games are scheduled ahead of Real Madrid games, in contrast with earlier in the season.
In reality, it is a long, long, long shot - but I still believe that FCB will win La Liga. . . . . and never mind what the managers and players have been saying in the press, I think they sense it that they can too!
RomanceRe: Come One, Come All! Nairaland's Broken Hearts by RuuDie(m): 6:01am On Mar 17, 2012
Damn!

Really had mad, deep feelings for a certain dame and she knew it. . . . .I am fairly certain she is attracted me too but for some reason, she just never seemed to be revealing much of herself to me as I was to her. I thought maybe it was a thing time and a bit of patience would overcome but I guess I was reading it all wrong.
Folks who knew her a great deal better than I cautioned that she was (as with most women of a certain age) on the look-out for settling into marriage and I probably didn't fit the bill. I didn't see it that way or she didn't give any such impressions - I guess I was giving her a great deal more regard than she deserved because a couple weeks back, I got word she'd be tying the knot. knocked the wind right out of my sail.
Its just crazy 'cuz I am in a position where I can do or say little - afterall, she never made any concrete promises. . . . .but damn it hurts!

I don't want to believe that in the bid to acquire that status of being a 'married woman', she's shunned true love and settled for the 'next best thing'. On the surface, thats what it appears. . .but I will never know for sure. I can only pray it isn't so, not because it hurts to be rejected this way but because that's how much I truly love her - I always wish and want the best for her; anywhere, anytime!

I could have sworn we had something good going and with a bit more time and room to grow, she would be my wife - maybe she didn't have that luxury! After the previous paragraph, I shed a few tears for the love I never had but that is always in my heart!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: The Apoel Fairytale - Vindication For Platini? by RuuDie(op): 5:28am On Mar 17, 2012
chic2pimp: ^^^^ I don't see it. That kiev side had extremely talented players like Sheva,Rebrov and Kaladzhe. And there were oe of the best sides in europe in the late 90s. This Apoel side is more about team ethic than anything else
I was just gonna say the same - they don't seem to have an particular stnd-out, star performer; its all more of team effort.
Guess theirs will serve as a tonic for other 'smaller' clubs to step into the limelight and shine. . . . .I was hoping they would get Marseille or Benfica in the draws but who knows; history in the making perharps, the fairy-tale of all fairy-tales huh
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Uefa Champions League Draw Live! by RuuDie(m): 8:58pm On Mar 16, 2012
The plot is obvious. . . . keep Real Madrid away from Chelsea and most likely we will have a Classico Finale!

This is the way I reason it - JM knows Chelsea inside out but at Real Madrid, he is hardly equipped to deal with what Chelsea will bring to the table on a highly charged European night. . . .imagine the tempo, aggressiveness and aerial bombardment of Napoli doubled (or even quadrupled) by Chelsea against Real.

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Offical Bayern Munich Fan Thread: 6x Champions Of Europe by RuuDie(m): 3:34pm On Mar 16, 2012
@ Dayo,

What do you think about the prospect of a semi-final showdown with JM's galacticos - you reckon your team stands a chance given Real's form and ruthless streak this term!?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 2:44pm On Mar 16, 2012
Krayola: They were fired. My guess is because they didn't meet expectations. Your claim that media pressure drove them out is absurd to me. What does this even have to do with Biesla? Mourinho won with porto and had some success with Chelsea. AVB won with Porto and failed woefully. . . . . my point is . . . . I think u can figure it out by ya sef grin

These guys are winning. Let them drop points in 3 straight games and the Madrid/Catalan press will turn on them in a sec. Losing managers get raped by the press. It happens in every league.
Exactly. . . .by club owners who do not have a clue!
Media pressure or not - the buck stops with the board or club owners; if they want to keep a manager, they can and will keep him. The media doesn't run their clubs for them!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Fc Barcelona Fan Thread: "més Que Un Club" by RuuDie(m): 2:38pm On Mar 16, 2012
The road to the final for FCB looks really tough on paper only. . . .in truth, I don't think Milan, Chelsea and Benfica have what it takes to knock you guys out. I can understand you guys being a little itchy here but deep down inside am sure the FCB players are confident that they ALMOST have one foot in that final already!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 (of 295 pages)