Stats: 3,153,002 members, 7,817,964 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:13 AM

TheAdvocate's Posts

Nairaland Forum / TheAdvocate's Profile / TheAdvocate's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (of 31 pages)

Health / Re: How Corpse Is Transported To Mortuary In Congo (Photo) by TheAdvocate(m): 1:34pm On Apr 09, 2018
jericco1:
how sure are you that it is a corpse?

So you think you can breath in that attire?
Travel / Re: Lady Involved In Ghastly Accident Moments After Taking Selfie In A Keke. Photos by TheAdvocate(m): 1:27pm On Apr 09, 2018
That's not a keke.
Look at the car tires, the size and the roof.
Crime / Re: Woman Commits Suicide In Batsari, Katsina (Graphic Photos) by TheAdvocate(m): 12:23pm On Mar 13, 2018
krissconnect:

So daura is now in Kaduna abi?

Who needs the brain more?
Car Talk / Re: How To Process Your Car Tinted Permit Plus My Experience by TheAdvocate(m): 8:05pm On Jan 20, 2018
bobbiiee:
You can do you tint permit at police headquarters located at ikeja on the Thursday and Friday of every week. It's advisable for you to be there by 7.30am. Go with the original of your Proof of ownership and Vehicle licence. You ID card will be presented. They will ask you 1k after biometric.

If you don't have a National ID card, don't bother going because they need your ID number for the fingerprint verification.
Car Talk / Re: How To Process Your Car Tinted Permit Plus My Experience by TheAdvocate(m): 8:04pm On Jan 20, 2018
Fawklicant:

Go to your state of residence's police headquarters. The IG of police has authorized state commissioners to sign and issue tint permits. It is free nationwide.

Capturing done at State Police Headquarters but it must be processed and signed in Abuja by a DIG. The state ICT merely prints it out for you.
Phones / Re: Lady Mistakenly Buys N15k MTN Airtime Instead Of N1500 by TheAdvocate(m): 1:18pm On Jan 17, 2018
rawtouch:
goods once bought cannot be returned, its on the receipt..

Which receipt?
Religion / Re: "Amazon CEO, Jeff Bezos Is World's Richest Man & He Doesn't Tithe"- Daddy Freeze by TheAdvocate(m): 1:44pm On Jan 14, 2018
Tithing is for Christians and the foolish Daddy Freeze in his opening statement said the man is not a Christian. I
Politics / Re: Goodluck Jonathan Reacts To Fulani Herdsmen Killings, replies El-rufai by TheAdvocate(m): 7:44pm On Jan 13, 2018
Warship:

Praise Master Jesus.

So Sarrki has been redeemed.

Dancing Skelewu

He saw the light!

Religion / Re: "If Paying Tithes Makes You Rich, Bill Gates, Zuckerberg Would've Been Poor" by TheAdvocate(m): 12:33pm On Jan 10, 2018
Olanrefront3355:
He's not wrong.

Pay your tithes to the poor.

Even Jesus said
Feed the poor with your tithe

Bring the full tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house; and thereby put me to the test, says the LORD of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you an overflowing blessing. (Malachi 3:10)

Your churches don't give the money to the poors, do it yourself.

See signature
So which one is storehouse?
Which one is my house?
Muslims don't tithe and they are rich.
Who told him Zuckerberg, Bill Gates etc are Christians?
There are people making money from other sources that are spiritual eg voodoo, magic etc.
Politics / Re: "I Am Not Sponsoring Fulani Herdsmen" - Atiku by TheAdvocate(m): 1:37pm On Jan 06, 2018
GEJisBOKO:
Is Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, the Waziri, of Adamawa, not a Fulani like Buhari?

since the death of the late nnamdi kanu. you Ibos have forgotten about biafra. you are now championing the cause of Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, a Fulani man. I weep for biafra

So I can safely say Unongo too is financing Fulani herdsmen since his mum is a Fulani woman.

Celebrities / Re: Skales On A Bicycle Looking For Fuel by TheAdvocate(m): 8:11pm On Jan 04, 2018
Dreamwaker:
This guy is one of the few humble celebs in 9ja. I saw him in traffic and I gave me a shout out, he was bowing to greet me like I'm his uncle grin. Respectful dude

And wicked to his mum!
Politics / Re: New Year Speech: Buhari Was Not Accurately Quoted In News Report - APC Reacts by TheAdvocate(m): 8:39pm On Jan 02, 2018
Ignoramuses!
I watched Garba Shehu on Skype repeatedly harping on what Buhari said while rejecting restructuring.
Celebrities / Re: Yung6ix Laments Missing $1,000 Designer Belt by TheAdvocate(m): 1:55pm On Dec 31, 2017
NeeKlaus:
Is there anytime this one doesn't lose something?! Before, it was his Gold chain at a concert, now it's an ordinary belt.

That was how he lost the little success the entire Warri joined hands to give him before. undecided

He claimed he lost a gold chain worth millions in a concert in Jos about 2 years ago. The chain was found and it's a worthless chain which at best will cost N2,000. The boy who found it in Jos approached me with it and I in turn handed it over to the organisers of the event (one of whom is a friend of mine). It's actually a cheap aluminum chain coated in gold color.

Politics / Re: Dino Melaye Shows Off His Football Skills On The Field For Dogara @ 50 by TheAdvocate(m): 11:57am On Dec 21, 2017
Alwaysking:
Dino is more of a celebrity than a politician. he should just leave politics for the serious ones. grin

For Yahaya Bello abi? Smh
Politics / Re: What Is Atiku Abubakar's Highest Educational Qualification? by TheAdvocate(m): 9:00am On Dec 18, 2017
Like many of his generation, Atiku's father was opposed to the idea of Western education, and tried to keep Atiku out of the traditional school system. When the government discovered that Atiku was not attending mandatory schooling his father spent a few days in jail until Aisha Kande's mother paid the fine.[1]
At the age of eight Atiku enrolled in the Jada Primary School where he performed well. In 1960, he was admitted to the prestigious Adamawa Provincial Secondary School in Yola where he did well in English Language and Literature, struggled with Physics and Chemistry and Mathematics. He graduated with a Grade Three WASC/GCE Certificate in 1965.

Following secondary school, Atiku studied a short while at the Nigeria Police College in Kaduna. He left the College when he was unable to present an O-Level Mathematics result.[2] He worked briefly as a Tax Officer in the regional Ministry of Finance, from where he gained admission to the School of Hygiene in Kano in 1966.
He graduated with a Diploma in 1967, having served as Interim Student Union President at the School. In 1967 he enrolled for a Law Diploma at the Ahmadu Bello University Institute of Administration, on a scholarship from regional government. After graduation in 1969, during the Nigerian Civil War, he was employed by the Nigeria Customs Service.

Culled from Wikipedia.

Career / Re: Is This Legal Precedence In The Firdaus' Hijab And Nigerian Law School Incident? by TheAdvocate(m): 4:01pm On Dec 17, 2017
Mynd44:

https://mobile.facebook.com/ylfikdbranch/posts/1338720136235551?_rdc=1&_rdr

The use of wig and gown is not a regulation of the Nigerian Bar Association which is voluntary to the general public but mandatory to all lawyers.

The regulating body for call to bar is the Council of Legal Education which is a body created by law.

Career / Re: Nigerians React To The Hijab-Wearing Law Graduate Who Wasn't Called To Bar by TheAdvocate(m): 1:17pm On Dec 15, 2017
A few days or so ago a young lady presented herself for call to bar and rather than simply wear the regulation dress decided to come in the regulation dress with a hijab as an accessory.

Now, I notice that very few lawyers have said anything about this matter on the social media and I was tempted not to say anything too until I read somewhere that the young lady and a few persons are suggesting that she was denied her right to be called to the bar because she was a Muslim.

Really?

Haba jamaa.

This is how religious tension is created in Nigeria for no reason.

And making this issue a religious one?

Haba!

Haba jamaa.

When I read the report suggesting that the young lady suggests that she was denied her right to be called to the bar because she is Muslim I could not help but weep for Nigeria.

Why will this matter all of a sudden revolve around religion?

Is it truly a religious issue?

I am more troubled by this event and the suggestion that has followed it because I know of hundreds of lawyers who are Muslim but were called to the bar notwithstanding their religious beliefs.

Why is this case different?

Simple answer: she decided to break a code of dressing acceptable for the call to bar event.

That was the only reason why she was not called to the bar.

It has nothing to do with religion at all.

This is how seeds of discord are sown by some persons who weep us religious sentiments and get some over zealous persons to come out chanting war songs in respect of matters that truly have no connection at all to religion.

The question that needs be asked and answered is this, suppose she had decided to dress as a nun because she is a reverend sister as well as a candidate for call to the Nigerian bar, would she have been called to the bar?

The answer of cause is NO.

And the reason is simple, she would be falling foul of the dress code for her call to bar. That would be the reason for not calling her and not that the Body of Benchers don’t like nuns.

Pushing the argument even further, suppose this same Lady was a Christian or a Sango worshiper and yet wore the same hijab for her call, would she be called to the bar?

The answer would still be an emphatic NO.

This is because it would not be a question of what religious faith she professes but how she chose to dress to attend a regulated event.

I have a lot of Muslim lawyer friends and interestingly enough all the lawyers I employ in my office presently are Muslims.

Would it be ok for one of them to dress in a hijab and appear in court while seeking to represent a client?

NO.

Would any such lawyer be said to have been denied the right to appear and represent her client simply because she is a Muslim?

NO.

The reason such a lawyer would not be allowed to appear in court and argue a cause on a clients behalf is simple, she is not dressed in the regulation dress.

I attended an event organized by the NBA Zaria Branch a few weeks ago.

The Chief Judge of Abuja was in attendance.

When he came in he noticed that several of the magistrates in attendance were dressed in the northern style flowing gowns and babanriga which is commonly worn by Muslim northerners.

His lordship who is a Muslim himself from Zaria directed all of them to go back and change into black suits and ties. All of them were Hausa Muslims.

Was his lordship discriminating against his Muslim brothers or punishing them for being Muslims or northerners?

NO.

His lordship eventually said that he insisted they go and change because they were not dressed properly in view of the fact that it was a gathering of lawyers in respect of a Law Week Event.

If you decide to be a lawyer you should make up your mind from day one that you have agreed to abide by the codes that other lawyers abide by.

Please let’s stop using religion to whip up sentiments and get ourselves support for doing the wrong thing.

#Copied from Maxwell Kyon a Kaduna based legal practitioner.

Politics / Re: Fulani Herdsmen Plant Bomb In Shaforon Village, Adamawa State (Photos) by TheAdvocate(m): 9:30pm On Dec 12, 2017
9jakohai:

No it won't

1.Atiku is Fulani, his dad herded cows..
.2.Atiku has said nothing about how he would handle the problem.

APC has failed in this regard, but PDP too had no answer when in charge.

Until I hear things like ranching, afforestation, industrialization, anti open grazing, strict gun control, better land planning., railways,..... before we see serious solutions to this issue. Libya too needs solution.

Sorry Atiku is not Fulani
Health / Re: Girl Undergoes Surgery To Correct Her K-leg. Before & After Photos by TheAdvocate(m): 2:01pm On Dec 09, 2017
Yeligray:
Amazing but i know that the surgery was not done here in Nigeria...

They do corrective surgery like this and even worst cases at Bimma Orthopedic Hospital Jos, Plateau state. This hospital is strictly into bone related ailments and accidents for more than 20 years.

Politics / Re: PDP Elective Convention 2017: Live Monitoring And Updates by TheAdvocate(m): 1:55pm On Dec 09, 2017
engineerboat:
chairmen aspirants

Those angling for the position of chairman are

1. former Governor of Ogun State, Gbenga Daniel;

2. founder of AIT and Raypower, Raymond Dokpesi;

3. former Deputy National Chairman of the party, Bode George;

4. former Deputy National Chairman and Acting Chairman of the party, Uche Secondus;

5. former Minister of Education, Tunde Adeniran.

6. former Governor of Oyo State, Rasheed Ladoja;

7. former governorship candidate of the party in Lagos State, Jimi Agbaje;

8. former Minister of Youth and Sports, Taofeek Adedoja

9. Segun Aderemi.

Olabode George withdrew from the race yesterday evening in favour of Tunde Adeniran.
Religion / Re: "How Mad Is Your Madness?" Church Poster In Jos (Photo) by TheAdvocate(m): 1:50pm On Dec 09, 2017
deebrain:
Thanks to the imo state governor for making his state, a joke even in the spiritual realm.

On a brighter side, the deliverance program is making enquiries. Meaning that despite the evolution of statues in the state, in addition to the hardship there, potential madness can still be cured.

It's in Jos not Imo. They use a hall inside the Rochas Foundation College Jos.
Religion / Re: "How Mad Is Your Madness?" Church Poster In Jos (Photo) by TheAdvocate(m): 1:49pm On Dec 09, 2017
Oxster:
Imo imo##I tink de end time is starting from Imo state�

It's Rochas College in Jos and the pastor is of Taroh tribe of Langtang South LGA of Plateau state. The school is my next door neighbor.
Crime / Fulani Militia Attack MOPOL (graphic Photos) by TheAdvocate(m): 7:29pm On Dec 01, 2017
�viewer discretion is advised

�NUMAN MASSACRE UPDATE | FULANI MILITIA ATTACK MOPOL, 4 DEAD, 1 MISSING
Tension is at fever pitch in Numan as Fulani militia attacked a MOPOL unit and there was a fierce exchange of gunfire, one MOPOL member is reportedly missing, but according to report, his phone is being answered by a member of the militia who responded in Hausa saying 'mun kai shi' meaning 'we've killed him'.

BOLON Situation Report:
Following build up by the Fulanis at Bolon area, the Military advanced and engaged them, they supposedly overpowered the military due to their large number. The military retreated tactically, leaving the MOPOL Unit already stationed around the area. The Fulani militias clamped on the MOPOL killing FOUR.
The military then reinforced this morning and repelled the Fulanis and had to fire RPGs.

Politics / Re: Ibrahim Idris Appears Before Senate Panel Over Misau by TheAdvocate(m): 2:42pm On Nov 28, 2017
Daboomb:

That "expenses" is the duty of the Court Judge to determine and that is done AFTER the person summoned has appeared in court where after proceedings, he can request the leave of court to have his expenses defrayed..

[s]Dont talk about legal matters, if you are not trained or at least intelligent enough to read it up yourself.[/s] undecided undecided undecided undecided

****okay, Baby-lawyer, l free you because you be "Gunner". grin grin grin

Liar!
It's a condition precedent to his appearance and I am 12 years post call. Maybe you are the baby lawyer here.
Romance / Re: Pre-Wedding Photos Of Soldier & Lady He Met After Reading Her Facebook Comment by TheAdvocate(m): 6:23pm On Nov 24, 2017
MhizzAJ:
Her own better oo cheesy
Let me start commenting nicely on nairaland
Who knows cheesy My better half might just read my comment and propose

See my ✋
Am ur better half. My wife is with the remaining half!
Let's do it. My wife doesn't knife���
Celebrities / Re: Phyno Pulled A Crowd At Enugu Phynofest 2017 (Photos) by TheAdvocate(m): 1:38pm On Nov 20, 2017
vivypretty:
.the guy on blue in the fourth pix looks bored.

Nope!
He wants to pee and or poo & he is thinking of how to make way out from the stage area to the toilet in that crowd.
#MissionImpossible

Politics / Re: I Am Free To Have Romantic Affair With Any Policewoman – Ibrahim Idris by TheAdvocate(m): 12:52pm On Nov 12, 2017
Where is morality?!
Politics / Re: I Won't Answer Your Questions, IGP Tells Senators by TheAdvocate(m): 6:40am On Nov 09, 2017
But that same IGP and the police force will not obey orders and judgments of court. Yeye

Politics / Re: Ibrahim Idris Appears Before Senate Panel Over Misau by TheAdvocate(m): 3:49pm On Nov 08, 2017
adem30:
Meanwhile Jonathan is ashamed to appear in court

Jonathan didn't refused to appear. The Administration of Criminal Justice Act provides for expenses of witnesses.

Crime / Re: Police Auctions Stolen Range Rover In Port Harcourt After It Was Recovered by TheAdvocate(m): 8:21pm On Oct 30, 2017
QuotaSystem:
To be fair, the police have been auctioning recovered but unclaimed vehicles after advertising them in national dailies for as long as I can remember. The original owner must have missed the advertisements and the vehicle was auctioned to another person for a low price. I can only fault the police for not contacting the original owner once the car was found, since he had already made a report and presumably dropped his contact details.

The owners best option is probably to contact the successful buyer and persuade him to give back the car after paying him what it cost him at the auction; this is because the auction is a legally recognized and regulated process.

My two cents.

They didn't check the car's engine and chassis number before they auction it?
Crime / Re: Adamawa Teenage Mother Sold Her Baby For N10,000 (pic) by TheAdvocate(m): 2:10pm On Oct 22, 2017
ashjay001:

Its normal to find northern xtians using hijab!? Esp those from villages, seems to come with d territory.

It's not true. I attended primary and secondary school in Mubi attended Polytechnic in Yola and University in Jos while I served in Kano. It's very abnormal for a Christian girl to wear it. A veil is a common clothing for women both Christians and Muslims but certainly not hijab or himar.
Politics / Re: Breakdown Of September 2017 Allocation To The 36 States by TheAdvocate(m): 9:43am On Oct 17, 2017
beautyoftheLord:
Seriously Taraba dey carry pass Cross River state? Abeg restructure this God damn country or better still split it.

After deductions sir

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (of 31 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54