Stats: 3,331,348 members, 8,449,873 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 12:44 PM

Timpaker's Posts

Nairaland ForumTimpaker's ProfileTimpaker's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 (of 89 pages)

Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op): 12:52pm On Jul 22, 2014
The Convict ( V) (Rhyme)

Intrusion on silence's speech
Ushered in by a black van's screech.
A wigged man in his spectacle
Sits in tentacles of fates and miracles

And bystanders troops in and out
Some either chants, sings or shouts.
An old man braced himself at the dock
Vehemently clinging to the tinge of luck

Gallery of evidence and exhibit were displayed
At the gleeful eyes of the persecutors and the dismayed
The judge have seen and heard it all
To give his sentence and leave the hall

"Death by the rope" he declared with the gavel
On a sound block just before it clocked eleven
Though, he knew his judgement has no laxity
To determine his professional sanity
Nairaland GeneralRe: A Thread For Nairalanders With Cute Dimples by timpaker(m): 5:55pm On Jul 21, 2014
farano: pics or.. tongue
I've not seen anyone post dias so huh
Nairaland GeneralRe: A Thread For Nairalanders With Cute Dimples by timpaker(m): 5:48pm On Jul 21, 2014
I'm here
CultureRe: What Are The Taboos In Your Villages? by timpaker(m): 7:30am On Jul 21, 2014
You mustn't cry on your wedding day..if you do, your marriage is set for doom huh You mustn't sleep with your wife with condom...if you do, the gods will give you useless and troublesome children............... Do not receive gift from a titled man (Emir) with your left hand for you'd be struck with leprosy if you do so huh
RomanceRe: Virgin's Forum by timpaker(m): 7:19am On Jul 21, 2014
Once a virgin...always a virgin.....if you're doubting me ask Onila huh
Forum GamesRe: AW-AS Let's Play by timpaker(m): 5:39pm On Jul 19, 2014
AW - Procrastination
AS - Thoughtful

Tag -OMA4U, tolutweety, LarryBeryl, Kaycee7, firestar, princesa,
etalker,
RomanceRe: Why Beer Is Better Than A Woman by timpaker(m): 12:00pm On Jul 19, 2014
How much is beer dowry? I wanna pay immediately!
AdvertsRe: Quality Wristwatches For Resellers by timpaker(m): 9:46am On Jul 19, 2014
I'm interested in the first watch
Nairaland GeneralRe: What Was The First Thing U Touched When U #walkeup This Morning? by timpaker(m): 8:59am On Jul 19, 2014
My JT. I've gotta make sure it is still intact cheesy
TV/MoviesRe: Name One Movie You Can Watch Over And Over Again? by timpaker(m): 6:53am On Jul 19, 2014
Seven Lucky Kids grin
FamilyRe: When Is One Ready To Get Married? A MUST-READ by timpaker(m): 6:56am On Jul 17, 2014
Getting married is different from staying married
Nairaland GeneralRe: I'm Worried For Musiwa by timpaker(m): 10:00pm On Jul 16, 2014
I'd have to wait till Jakumo comes and say something cuz he is his Special Adviser on Media Publicity grin
FoodRe: Zuri Kitchen At Computer Village. by timpaker(m): 9:01pm On Jul 16, 2014
I've been dia before. Can you guys do home service like the way some kitchen do here in Abuja whereby customers apply online for a particular meal and have em prepared and brought to dia office or house (within a particular vicinity)?
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Romance Chat Room by timpaker(m): 6:34am On Jul 16, 2014
MizMyColi: Bravo, ah will be back. I need to make eggrolls now cool
Do you sell eggroll? huh huh
Poems For ReviewRe: One Poem For The Road by timpaker(m): 9:54pm On Jul 14, 2014
Jodekss: nice...
Thanks boss. How you dey nah? Longest time!
RomanceRe: Nairaland Most Handsome Man by timpaker(m): 8:04pm On Jul 14, 2014
Op. Are you related to Jay - Z? #NoOffense huh huh huh
Poems For ReviewRe: One Poem For The Road by timpaker(m): 11:48am On Jul 14, 2014
BACK!!! (Haiku)

We refreshed and watched
On alien screen of cloud flare
As Nairaland beams...

What's nugatory?
Dreary internet which tides,
Green 'N' and blue 'f'...

Almost seven years...
Returns Lazarus of our screens -
We frolicked - Oh yikes!

Smile stains our faces,
Itching fingers run amok
On dusty keypads ...

Joyous-complaints nags...
Was yesterday without smiles?
Seun silver-tongued.

We refreshed and watched
Our fun memories obscured
Like our past starts now

Nairaland GeneralRe: How Did You Come About Your Monicker? by timpaker(m): 1:08am On Jul 14, 2014
Obviously grin
SportsRe: Illusionist Ilan Smith Predicted The World Cup Finals Score, Scorer And The Time by timpaker(m): 12:57am On Jul 14, 2014
I wasn't deceived one bit huh
Poems For ReviewRe: The Poets' Café : Chat Room! by timpaker(m): 2:49pm On Jul 13, 2014
OMA4U: Timpaker I hope your convict is still intact?
Nope. But I was fortunate enough to get help in retrieving it from google cache file. I've started updating again. How you dey self? U just scarce like money for nairaland
Christianity EtcRe: .:: Non-tithers Are Criminals ::. by timpaker(m): 7:01am On Jul 13, 2014
huh huh huh
RomanceRe: What Is Wrong With The Girls Of Nowadays!!! by timpaker(m): 7:19pm On Jul 09, 2014
Kaycee7: Nigga, d same way U lyk beautiful girls, dats d same way chics lyk a financially secured dude.
some people think say na only em like good things.... huh
Poems For ReviewRe: One Poem For The Road by timpaker(m): 7:05pm On Jul 09, 2014
senrino: Would you ever get tired of me?
When shall this be?
That you would leave my lips..
Hand and fingers to lips..
I,Mariguana..
We kiss everyday long..
With passion,emotions all wrong...
I,Marihuana
As I caress the tip of your head..
But you give me head..
I,marijuana..
With my wet tongue I lick your side..
We bad all we do is hide..
So I hold you like,there is no tomorrow..
Morning,Night all my time you borrow..
I,marijuana..
Enlighten my thoughts..
Bold,you give me guts..
Should I call her my beloved?..
Mari-juana..
Hehehehehehehh grin I think I love this
Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op):
The Convict (IV) [Ballad]

Didactic old man
Fiddling with fright
As tears curled down
From a bemoaned and fretted face
To his foaming lip.
The tears thirst bitter taste
Spiced with desired regret
Of an action already finished,
Crime begets an accidental skirmish.

~
His hands,
Those quivering hands
Protective to a fault.
The palpitation; his heart
The ‘eye of his soul’
Full of surprises and confusion,
His heart and head
Were at war with intent,
One seem to agree less
Which is it?
~
His old bat given as
A gift to his nipper
Now lays dirty as a witness
In the gore colours of crime,
Glittering red instead of white
As day time
Further dim its light
It would be called that such
Was the gift, no, tool of death.

~
A van with siren screeched to a still
From a distance that only time covers.
Few men clad in black disembarks
With live weapon of coercion,
Their face sternly professional,
The cacophony from the siren
Mocks the victim -
The dead one, the twiddling one
And the old man – which ever it chooses
A new home seems near.

~
Cuffed with cheap silver bracelet
And dragged out from the house
To the crying van,
He took a wild look aback
His blood has turned his heart to a scar,
The one that will forever illuminate
Him, it will shine exclusively
In this midst of his darkness
Where love loves hate;
What a betrayal of doctrine!

~
They led him inside the van
After few steps on heavy feet,
He was whisked off the city -
His heart too was heavy
Heavy with thoughtless thought
Enmeshed in what he dreaded
And what he has always fought.
He put his old head out of the window
And breathe his last fresh air
While the wind stranded his gray hairs.

~
Hours followed closely in minutes
Like eternity;
Till time raptured
At a very big iron gate,
Where no one ever forgets its date
Of arrival – departure is the uncle of death
It comes when one less expects
Days,
Months, and
Years if lucky.
Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op): 1:01pm On Jul 08, 2014
The Convict (Part II) [Free verse]

Many months ago, a man from Middleton moved to,
A province of vices and soured delinquencies
Where dreams remain dreams
And reality seems unnatural
Like angels and demons in a guileful romance

Few months ago, a young enforcer was stationed
At the city of madness where reason has no reason
To be a reason, the city stood on a wild-wind bedlam!
Moans, groans and squeals were bedtime songs
That cradles everyone to sleep

The man from Middleton, my dad, a conformist preacher
A norm embedding parson passing creeds
From his forefathers to me, the enforcer, his seed -
He is the pioneer of my creation
An astute fellow to the bone
I live his air and breath his life
Just like him, I'm never pliant
Wrong is wrong and right is right
'No matter whose ox is gored'
That I've learnt, I've mastered and revered

One daring day, amid vast numbers of outlaws
A dare-devil hooped into the enforcer's bay
His face was masked with effronteries of crime
And calmly, he strolled to a safe like he owns it -
An enforcer skirmishes him halfway to the safe-room
But was overpowered and subdued with a deadly choke
And within the barriers of life and death
The man from Middleton who seeks the well being
Of his son; the son staring and clinging to deaths' strings
He man took a baseball bat and hit his head
And when the outlaw charged,
He hit him with a blow on the chest
And the outlaws' soul flee the earth
But he did something extraordinary'
He repeatedly clubbed his remains to mutilation

"Father, you just killed a man"

I've sworn to you to solemnly uphold
Your sacred transferals in me as my ethical fealty
In which laws aren't dared but held in esteem,
My call to the Force was like that of a messiah
You knew that just like I too - very well;
"For if there was a crime, damn all involved and
Make the call asap" these were your words -
Your norm, my belief, a practical now -
When guilt smolders his old face
I grabbed the phone and thumbed 911...
Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op): 12:58pm On Jul 08, 2014
The Convict (Part II) [Quatrain]

The prepared necklace of doom, damnation and death
Hung around me; ready to swing me quivering to a painful sleep -
With a priest beside me, my sins were as it were from birth;
Few transgressions I admitted but just one I've decided to keep

The priest's holy water made my soul to steep - but was mild
As he moves aside and signaled for my condemnation
My heart ponders to my dream of playing with my grandchild
Telling tales of my ancestor's taboos, trials and tribulations...

Alas i was unmasked and my assassins took off my trinket of crime
And was garbed in the reality of that which i once dreaded - fear.
It was a sign that the light had lost its sparkling flare this time
I wondered, as the stench scent of death oozes near

A chair was there under my feet, and beneath, a hole below
Me, I fixed my sullen gaze on my happy killer as he positioned
Himself; his face, the last I'd see as today ends my tomorrow
Its a pity his crime was the one i failed to mention
Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op): 12:54pm On Jul 08, 2014
princesa: First piece emotional and good.

TemitopeDaniel and prettyspicey were of help too.

Keep it comingwink
Really? How do I thank them now?
TravelRe: Major Tourist Attractions In Nigeria by timpaker(m): 12:47pm On Jul 08, 2014
From Gashaka Gumti National Park to Boko Haram Camping site grin
Poems For ReviewRe: The Convict by timpaker(op): 12:30pm On Jul 08, 2014
The Convict (Choka)

Life behind these bars
My recidivistic chained lounge;
I bonded with loneliness
At will - my frial wrist
Scarred by the bangle of guilt -
Chaste from birth but now guilty

"Death by the rope" - is
My price for dis-innocence
I embraced it well like wraith
Of though fear might flee
Justice will kill me tonight
And I'll whiff peace through my death

Bang!!! Off goes the bong
The call for my head I think;
Broody pangs aches me aloud
As the crowd barracks,
Sully smile stained their faces...
Spits, sticks, sands and stones were thrown

Inside the foyer -
My doers came with blindfolds -
Glow of darkness beholds me,
Farewell my best friends;
Crickets, flies and mosquitoes
I'd hear chirps and buzz no more

I'd be dead real soon
But no one knows my reason
For crime - no one ever cares!
Now, freedom will walk
To criminal's tomb for peace
Just for my son's sake

Defending my blood
was all I did - just a blow
On the chest and death took him...
For this single sake
I'll die so that I can live
The gallow awaits my scrag
Poems For ReviewThe Convict by timpaker(op):
In life we are faced the option of standing for what is just or not, how we go about it also puts us in dilemma.
The average human often have the thought to change the world when faced with glaring and daring situations but what happens when the world changes you?

In this piece, I intend to tell a story using poems and its different forms while exploring the theme/topic to reflect the actual cause.
I was encouraged to write this by firestar and IfyChuky after when I wrote one piece and they demanded for another.

So here I go again. The earlier thread was lost in the Nairaland tsunami but thanks to my Seun, Princesa, etalker, TemitopeDaniel, prettyspicey and other good friends for helping me get it back and sticking with me. Thanks a million.
RomanceRe: A Thread For Guys In The Friend-zone. by timpaker(m):
My testimony is best reserved till I come out of it cry

PS: I was not here!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 (of 89 pages)