Stats: 3,195,067 members, 7,956,982 topics. Date: Tuesday, 24 September 2024 at 01:15 AM

Tollu's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Tollu's Profile / Tollu's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 52 pages)

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by tollu: 2:42am On Dec 18, 2019
Enemyofpeace:
sorry for security reason i can't disclose that on a public to a total stranger.. i hope you understand? No vex abeg.

He's not asking for your full address. City name would do. This way, people can give you correct pointers.

33 Likes 2 Shares

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 10:26pm On Nov 20, 2018
olajide21:

You could give your spouse part and you carry part of it. Also, you can just declare it ( be prepared to answer nnecessary questions from NIS personnel sha).

Declare ke? Don't declare in naija ooo @jelmusboy. You're free to declare when you land in Canada.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 9:29pm On Oct 23, 2018
safex:
Eyin iya osoronga, arogba aso mo bale, iba yin o. E waa dakun e jebure o, e fi iwe ase irina odomode yi le lowo o. Eko yin ree o, epo ree o, shawama naa ree o, ati holandia yogot

cheesy grin abeg no wound me. Awon irunmole to nje shawarma.

Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 5:43pm On Oct 06, 2018
mamatwiny:

My hubby said it was a doctor that prescribed abidec to help build his immunity since he is not being breastfed exclusively. He also said the doctor advised we change to wellkid as soon as he gets to 3months. That it will help him build immunity that exclusive breast feeding would have given him. The doctor is a consultant ( heart surgeon) and not a paed.

I'm not a doctor but this sounds like BS. Why are you giving drugs to a baby unnecessarily? Please give your baby an opportunity to develop his own body.

Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 2:16am On Sep 08, 2018
tatacherie:
Hello mamas
My CS site is hard and it brought out little pus yesterday
I started bathing 6th day post surgery and it seems it didnt go down well with the site.i.e it started hurting afresh and its hard to the touch.
Pls any idea on how to manage it to avoid infection? Ive been cleaning with cotton wool and spirit.
Cc: Lifted.hands,
Zay.nie
Strong.woman333

Sorry about the pain mama. The hardness, I believe is normal when it starts to heal (I could be wrong). But if you're sure what you're seeing is pus and not just fluid, you should go to the hospital. Especially if you're feeling feverish. To rule out infection as that can be very dangerous if not caught in good time
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 12:22pm On Aug 07, 2018
preshpearl:

3.it seems as if he doesn't get satisfied with just breastmilk and water. Can he start with ogi baba at 2 months plus?

Thanks in ad as I await your answers

How do you know he isn't satisfied? The only thing your baby needs until 6 months is milk. Breast milk if you are making enough and can breastfeed him. Water is absolutely unnecessary as he gets all his hydration needs from you. If you give him water with breast milk, you are filling up the space for nutrients with ordinary water.
In fact, water can be dangerous for a two week old baby. Please stop it.

Please madam, no water or ogi for now. All babies need for the first 6 months of life is milk. Breast milk or formula.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 2:03pm On Jul 13, 2018
luffyhaki:

Why don't you consider coming into Lagos a weekday or two earlier and obtain PTA from your bank.I think it's a safer option for you

Seconded. Fake dollars dey o. Then whatever you have left to change, you can use Sulah or any other reputable BDC.

Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 7:48am On Jun 03, 2018
Pweetiebabe:
My journey here ends for now, my son has gone to rest with the lord

Ah God, Father Lord!
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 3:42pm On May 12, 2018
czaratwork:
Are you a black female accountant or finance professional interested in joining a group that will help you integrate into the system?

Then check us out on the link below.

https://bfannetwork.

If the link doesn't open, you can type it on your url and check us out.

For now we are in GTA area only. Hoping to spread out later.

Glad to read from you, Czaratwork.
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 6:33pm On May 10, 2018
Meeeeey:

Thank you ma'am
I wanted to ditch the formula but mum doing omuga will insist on formula. That the baby is staved, especially when he takes much formula after.

I will do as suggested.

Yeah, that is expected, our baby must not starve o. You just be sure that you aren't lactating well before introducing formula.

There's nothing wrong with formula but if it is your desire to breastfeed exclusively then it is good for you to try your best.

Here’s something from BabyCenter that I think you’ll like:

How to tell if your newborn is getting enough milk - BabyCentre UK

You may find this link helpful: https://www.babycentre.co.uk/a617/how-to-tell-if-your-newborn-is-getting-enough-milk
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 10:05am On May 09, 2018
Meeeeey:
Pls mamas help me. This breastfeeding issue is eating me up.

My D's of 11 days is eating more formula than breastmilk. I planned EBF but I'm not lactating enough embarassed embarassed.
I spend about 30 mins breastfeeding den d milk doesn't come out again and he still takes formula.
I pumped after today's feeding to see what's left and I got only 6mls of milk.

Pls what can I do to have lactate well.

I have drank tea, pap, oats(saw improvement with this) and even taken lactating cookies but no much milk.

Sorry for the long post
Pls help a worried FTM

Thank you

Try not to worry, easier said than done, I know. You just might be producing super sufficient milk but not know.

In my experience, the breast pump is unreliable. I'm almost 7 months into breastfeeding and I have NEVER been able to express with a manual pump, tried Mam, Medela and Philips Avent.
I then used Medela electronic pump and I have NEVER been able to get more than 2 ounces from a full breast.
I almost got into the "not producing" trap too but hunted and hunted for information on the internet.

You need to try other means of knowing if your baby is getting enough milk. Accepting formula after being breastfed is not proof enough because babies generally like to suck. And you just might be teaching baby bad hunger cues and also putting your supply journey at risk because the more baby takes, the more your body produces. Breastfeeding is demand and supply, not a storage tank.

He's just 11 days, my suggestions:
1. Ditch the formula until you are absolutely sure he's not feeding well at the breast

2. Nurse frequently, not pump, direct baby to breast. At least, every 2 hours and on demand

3. Check you baby's throat. You can totally tell when they are sucking well. When you first put them to breast, they do a quick suck motion. This is what stimulates your breast to release milk.
When the breast milk starts to flow well, you'd see them take longer and bigger swallows, sometimes you can even hear it.

4. Let your instinct guide you

Let us know how it goes and good luck mama!

12 Likes 1 Share

Religion / Re: What Is Your Favorite Worship Song? by tollu: 9:15am On Apr 22, 2018
Currently Frank Edwards - Oghene doh

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 7:54pm On Apr 09, 2018
Blackbuddy:

Hi, you can also try Two Men and a Truck, they have online presence to get their details and rates. I also found this link online just now for you to check out, https://homestars.com/on/toronto/moving-storage?page=2&

In my case, I got a large U-Haul truck, a group of my friends and the move was done in 1 day. Drove the truck myself smiley

The guy you quoted was doing style style advert ni. But of course, the information you provided will be useful for others.

Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by tollu: 11:09pm On Mar 30, 2018
rvpbae:

Although he is still learning to latch well but I'm glad there's progress. How can i help him latch better?

Well done mama, another hurdle crossed. The proper latch is vital for baby to get good quantity/quality of milk and for you not to suffer bruised nipples.
Here's a link you might find helpful: http://www.breastfeedo.com/getting-a-newborn-to-latch-wider-and-deeper/

Also, run a Google search for more tips, check kellymom. If you wanna breastfeed exclusively, no information overload smiley

All the best!

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 4:14pm On Mar 29, 2018
Iumezinwa1:
Please carry me along am thinking of BC as well. I am a credit analyst in a commercial bank in Nigeria.

I am not ready to brave it grin Maybe after several months of being in Canada. For now, it's Ontario.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 9:59am On Mar 17, 2018
themaestro212:
Hi guys. Here’s my Landing Experience

That was a satisfying read smiley

Congratulations on landing and may we reap the good and blessings of the land.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 6:24am On Mar 15, 2018
GlitteringStar:
Knock! Knock!! Knock!!!

Application Approved!!!

Kindly find below my timeline.

GlitteringStar is a Winner! Covenant greetings sis.
You're one amazing and organized woman, very useful skill to have. Big Big Big congratulations to you kiss

We will reap the good and blessings of Canada by God's grace.

Travel / Re: Longest And Most Confusing Pedestran Bridge In Nigeria by tollu: 8:59pm On Mar 14, 2018
Yeye bridge

This only way to describe this bridge is a colossal waste. Seriously, you need to see this madness to believe it. OP, you try but the bridge is so senseless it cannot be easily captured in photos.

Who designed it isn't really a problem but the person who approved it must be a rogue. Because we know say na opportunity to siphon funds.
Senseless project.

25 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 8:49pm On Mar 14, 2018
Thanks 40manlappy, I kuku have.

Gymme:
Eyha! Choice of city has major impact on a lot of factors. If you have made up your mind on living/settling in BC, what city to live in totally depends on you, your family/career and what your plan is. Google gives close but generic answers. Practically, there is nothing in Victoria (only has the title 'BC's Capital') compared to other known cities. I'm not sure one can explain all about different cities on this platform.

Thanks Gymme. The search continues I guess. One way or another, we'll pick someplace, just might not be BC anymore. If a location is throwing up so many reasons not to pick it, then I'd better respect myself and look elsewhere. It's looking like unrequited love, guy making shakara cry
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 10:59pm On Mar 12, 2018
40manlappy:

Longest time! We are looking at Ottawa-Gatineau now. How about you?

We keep going back and forth, can't make up our minds!
As Kontagious said in the other thread, this post PPR phase is something else. After one headache comes another one. Lol.
I wish we had a close family member over there, the "where" decision would have been an easy one.

We're still looking at BC but the research keeps giving me all sorts. Vancouver: expensive no jobs, Abbotsford: drugheads, Victoria: expensive no jobs and on and on. Jobs are not an issue for me because I freelance, this is mainly for my husband.
And I'd really like for us to start life in a proper city then move to wherever we decide. Ayam tayad of the research jare.
We've looked at other provinces but we just keep returning to the beginning.

This is a clarion call to anyone in BC willing to take me under their wing, I be good pikin. Hep needed.
All that cold and snow of other provinces is scaring me s***less.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 11:32pm On Mar 11, 2018
40manlappy:

*modified

So you are thinking about BC too? cheesy

We have given it some thoughts too but we want PPR to land first before making a final decision.

While waiting for Gymme to share practical insights, see what I came across below.

http://www.surrey.ca/6554.aspx

http://www.surrey.ca/community/3609.aspx

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surrey,_British_Columbia

Bro, still thinking along this line?
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 4:38am On Mar 07, 2018
Kontagious:
My Dear Brethren,

Getting PPR or having your Passport stamped and CoPR at hand is not the end of this Journey.

Frankly, It might just jolly well be the beginning.

Hmmm. What's the story behind this assertion, care to share?

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 2:19pm On Mar 06, 2018
Beeea:
Just a piece of information I thought to share:

Nice one, thanks for this!

Congratulations, MummyJaygirls!
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 7:54am On Mar 06, 2018
Honestly czaratwork, you need to CHILL out. Seriously.
The vibes you give off are concerning and me o, I care.
All the best.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 7:08pm On Mar 03, 2018
caon:
does it take this long? I ask cos my cousin submitted his but is still yet to hear from them.

Yeah, it takes up to a month, or even more, with these Accra folks.
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 4:45pm On Mar 03, 2018
caon:
tollu pls how long after your passport was delivered to Accra was your application approved.

No news till now smiley
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 9:32pm On Mar 01, 2018
Madcow:
Hi TOLLU.

I trust that you are keeping very well. Please i need some info from you... I had my child in america in Jan.. he just returned and i want to add him to my application.

I submitted a CSE to CIC and i got a response to compete some forms

Questions:-

1. Did you complete/submit the IMM008enu_2d or IMM008depenu?
2. In the IMM5406, did you add just your newborn or did you complete it all over again with details of your entire family?

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Thanks and kind reagrds

Congratulations on your baby smiley

I didn't even realize there's a difference. I filled IMM008ENU_2D

IMM5406E, is there just a 5406? I hadn't filled any before then so I filled and my spouse filled.

Big congratulations to Jesusisable and Lopside12!

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 7:48am On Feb 27, 2018
sthillz:

Sounds good. Wish you the very best

Thanks Sthillz and all the best to you as well.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by tollu: 11:01pm On Feb 26, 2018
sthillz:

And yes o. Its not easy to run an online business in Nigeria. I miss great WiFi, not to talk about international clients i have lost because i can't receive funds through PayPal. Cant wait to enjoy the benefits of running an online business in Canada

You and me both. God through Freelance made the finance part of this Canada waka possible. I'm not even thinking about running around dropping resume after resume, I'm just gonna leverage on what I have going on and research how to get into 6, 7, 8 ~ digits in dollars.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 10:36pm On Feb 26, 2018
Ambidextrause:
Hello Good People,

I got PUM today!!! And I wish to share my story as a testimony to God's glory and in the hopes that someone might be encouraged, inspired, and motivated.

AMAZING story! Congratulations friend, I bless God for this. You were relentless meeen, good work and thanks for sharing.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 10:28pm On Feb 26, 2018
KweenCee:
Hi Tollu,

Please how did you go about getting ur husband's reference letter from the bank he worked for nine years ago?

Please this is kind of urgent.

Hiya.

We weren't able to run around trying to get that. We used one of his letters, a picture of his complimentary card that we got from one of his contacts and an email he sent me while we were dating.

All the best!
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 by tollu: 9:46am On Feb 21, 2018
Noviolence:

It's FINALLY PPR guys.

You sef don commot head, big big congratulations!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 52 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57