Stats: 3,327,255 members, 8,430,044 topics. Date: Friday, 19 June 2026 at 07:07 PM

Adconline's Posts

Nairaland ForumAdconline's ProfileAdconline's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 (of 203 pages)

SportsRe: Super Eagles Boycott Training Over Unpaid Appearance Allowance by adconline(m): 2:04am On Jun 28, 2014
Instead of holding corrupt NFA/NFF responsible, we are blaming players who are for demanding for their pay. Mind you NFA/NFF is going to get this money from FIFA and pocket it. Football in Africa is doomed with this type of corrupt leadership and blind loyalty.
Car TalkRe: New Policy On Importation Of Tokunbo Cars: Big News Page by adconline(m):
solomon111:
Shut up you morøn.
How's importation of cars beneficial to a country of 170million people with over 60million youths unemployed?

Typical Naija unproductive mentality? Win with facts not sentiments and curses. Spend ur energy on facts not shouting on people. We are unproductive because folks like u want to stifle dissenting opinions without facts
Car TalkRe: New Policy On Importation Of Tokunbo Cars: Big News Page by adconline(m): 11:51pm On Jan 09, 2014
ikenga67: You can trust me, they will not do that...the reputational and legal risk is just too much.
Take for example, I am a US citizen on a trip to Nigeria and I get seriously injured in a car accident involving one of those your poor quality Toyota or Nissan. Do you think I will pursue them in Nigeria? Of course not. Do you think I might have some colorable basis to sue them in the USA? You do not know US law if you do not believe I can. Trust me, those Auto giants are not going to do away with their minimum standards just so that they can make $7k cars in Nigeria.
How can US consumer protection laws protect Naija folks in Naija? How come BP paid billions of $ for oil spillage in the US while same oil companies don't give a fkcuk in Naija. B4 it's too late,KIA sells cars with one or no airbag in Naija, can US sue them? How many US citizens can u get to file a class action?
Car TalkRe: New Policy On Importation Of Tokunbo Cars: Big News Page by adconline(m):
solomon111: You are a morøn.
Nigeria is the largest market for imported cars in africa.
Most of the cars manufactured in SA are sent to Nigeria.
Nigeria is a huge market that no car manufacturer would take for granted.
What the FG is trying to do is to raise the tariffs as high as possible to make imported cars less economical to the locally manufactured ones.
Amd they 've also gone ahead to grant both old and new-incoming car manufacturers 50% tax breaks for the next 5 years.
And secondly,the reason why we currently have little car manufacturing is because drastic measures like this have not been taken.
The manufacturing companies see no reason to move to Nigeria,when they can always import unhindered.
And finally,if you think Nissan and toyota can't start manufacturing this year,then i can't help you.
You will need to deal with your pessimism by yourself.
Naija is a country peopled by ignorance and you are a true replica of that.
South Africa Toyota makes close to 120K vehicles a year. Toyota Nigeria Ltd imports less than 20K units a year. If TNL imports all their vehicles from RSA, that would be around 15% of their output. How is Naija the largest market? But Toyota Nigeria DOES NOT solely import from RSA. Maybe 10K units from RSA. We keep deceiving ourselves we are the best, largest this and that while other are climbing. Numbers dont lie ma fren!

http://www.toyota-global.com/company/profile/figures/
http://businessnews.com.ng/2011/03/25/nigeria%E2%80%99s-market-evades-japan%E2%80%99s-automobile-supply-crisis/
http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/12/toyota-nigeria-to-round-up-with-18500-units-sales/

It's only in Naija that we kill jobs to try to create another job that might not come. How about the jobs that are being created by used auto industry in Naija? Does the govt have numbers of folks who are direct and indirect beneficiaries of used auto industry in Naija? You are saying that your policy COULD create a "billion" jobs without recognizing how much job the existing industry has already created. We should be asking what is the net job gain? It does not make sense to destroy 500K jobs this year while it takes this policy another 10 years to create same amount of job. The multiplier effects far outweigh the benefits.

Used vehicle trade between US and Nigeria in 2011 was $1.1bn. Mind you this figure also includes buses and trucks. Let's assume that used cars made up 80% of total which is about $900m and if you we assume that US imports have about 50% share of used cars in Naija, we could assume that used car business in Naija is about $2bn industry. How can this amount be the stumbling block to car manufacturing in Naija? How can this $2bn business provide all these jobs we are talking about? Numbers dont add up!
http://www.ustr.gov/countries-regions/africa/west-africa/nigeria
Car TalkRe: New Policy On Importation Of Tokunbo Cars: Big News Page by adconline(m): 6:05pm On Jan 09, 2014
Look at comparison Rice Mill vs Car Manufacturing. Rice mill is one of simplest technologies to be deployed while car manufacturing is complex.
Why give Vaswani's Stallion group a waiver to import over 20k units if the govt is serious about local content? Vaswani brothers that imported expired food products and had to fight NAFDAC?
Why does the govt reward their importer cronies like Stallion and Coscharis before they start making even brakes? Why can't the govt say for ever car made locally in Naija u get a 20% tariff waiver on 2 imported cars. What are these cronies offering the govt and Naija to get such juicy waivers?
NOI is an economist and does not have all the idea of how manufacturing works. It's like a Wall Street banker running Exonmobil or Caterpillar.
Just take a look at ur vehicle and tell me how many of the parts are made in Naija?
PoliticsRe: What Makes Lagos A Model City - Newyork Times by adconline(m): 4:50pm On Jan 09, 2014
mapet: Dumbo.........
I think some of you are simply clueless..ok.why didn't Fire Service, Emergency Rescue teams, etc not save almost 2000 people that died in 911 saga?
Stupidity is ingrained in ur DNA. What a stupid comparison. Fire services in the US work and always fire-fight ready with water etc while Fire Service in Lagos came with no water after several hours. Why should fire service go to a fire outbreak without water? Julius Berger and Capital Oil Fire Services assumed the role of state fire service.
PoliticsRe: The Top 3 APC Presidential Candidates To Watch Out For! - CramJones exclusive! by adconline(m): 11:41am On Jan 09, 2014
abacrested: Tambuwal will Make the best candidate by 2019 after Gej because APC does only the talk and Gej is busy working.by 2014 Gej must Ve changed the face of naija dat we will have no other choice than to vote him again.finaly it is a known fact the PDP is the master of the game and has power backed by the constitution and a performing president,it will be impossible for APC to take power since dats wat they want.nigerians are gettn wiser by d day and have seen for once dat we ve a govt.Gej might be slow but he's laying a foundation for a greater nigeria .
Under whose supervision the NASS gets N150bn budget with less than 500 members. NASS budget is bigger than the budget of about 23 states.
BusinessRe: Who Manages Money Better: Men Or Women? by adconline(m): 11:07am On Jan 09, 2014
Women could be better managers if 50% off and shoes don't exist.. Lol
PoliticsRe: What Makes Lagos A Model City - Newyork Times by adconline(m): 11:04am On Jan 09, 2014
About $60bn spent since 1999 by LASG, yet fire service fleet had no water to put out fire that killed over 20 people and burnt businesses at Berger Suya? Naija is irredeemable!
PoliticsRe: Petrol Tanker Explodes In Lagos, Killing 15, Bank & Houses Burnt (VIDEO) by adconline(m): 10:59am On Jan 09, 2014
Incompetent Lagos State Fire Service came later with their usual excuse " no water". Julius Berger fire fighters and Capital Oil Fleet were used to put out the fire.
Music/RadioRe: Your Top 10 Musicians Of All Time by adconline(m): 5:25am On Jan 09, 2014
Ijogz K: We all listen to music, we love music, it lifts our spirit when we are down, we sing along even when we have horrible voices, it keeps our company and I would rather listen to music than to hang out with a boring person.

For this reason I have decided to come up with my best 10 musicians of all time. This Musicians cut across different decades and genres of music as my music sense is eclectic.

Your comments, contributions and criticism would be highly welcomed.

10. Don Moen
9. Tu Face
8. Celine Dion
7. Eminem
6. Dolly Parton
5.Kenny Rogers
4. Whitney Houston
3. Carlos Santana
2. Phill Collins
1. Michael Jackson

10. Don Moen: The only gospel artist on the list. I sleep and wake up with Don Moen inspiring songs. You automatically get connected to the Holy Spirit and I can remember faaaar back as 1993 whenever we are going to church. Pupsy was always playing his song and how I use to spoil his song by saying "let the weak say I am strong and let the strong say I am weak" instead of "Let the weak say I am strong, let the poor say I am rich"

Don Moen is an American singer-songwriter, pastor, and producer of Christian worship music. He produced 11 volumes for the Hosanna! Music series of worship albums. His first album under his own name, Worship with Don Moen, was released in 1992. His music has total global sales of over five million units.

Moen is also a prolific songwriter, having worked with Claire Cloninger, Paul Overstreet, Martin J. Nystrom, Randy Rothwell, Ron Kenoly, Bob Fitts, Debbye Graafsma, Paul Baloche, Tom Brooks, among many others.

9. 2face: The only Nigerian on the list our dear Tuface Innocent Idibia, is a Nigerian singer, songwriter and record producer. He is also variously called 2face, Tuface, 2Baba or Tubaba. He is one of the most decorated and successful hip pop artists in Africa. He is consistently ranked as one the best African musicians of all-time.

We all know the way African Queen swept us off our feet. He was one of the revolutionaries in the Nigerian music sector. 2Face has received one MTV Europe Music Award, one World Music Award, five Headies Awards (Hip-hop award), four Channel O Music Video Awards and one BET award for his musical work, four MTV Africa Music Awards, one MOBO award, one KORA award, and numerous additional nominations.

8. Celine Dion: Ohhhh how can we ever forget our dear Dion. As a kid, I thought she was a spirit. The voice is soooo damnnn flawless. Born in Quebec Canada, Dion first gained international recognition in the 1980s by winning both the 1982 Yamaha World Popular Song Festival and the 1988 Eurovision Song Contest where she represented Switzerland.

During the 1990s, with the help of Angélil, she achieved worldwide fame after signing with Epic Records and releasing several English albums along with additional French albums, becoming one of the most successful artists in pop music history.

Dion has won five Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year for Falling Into You and Record of the Year for "My Heart Will Go On". She is the best-selling Canadian artist of all time, In 2004, after surpassing 175 million in album sales worldwide, she was presented with the Chopard Diamond Award at the World Music Awards for becoming the best-selling female artist of all time. According to Sony Music Entertainment, Dion has sold over 220 million albums worldwide.

7. Eminem: This was really a difficult pick/selection. Over the years I av listened to a lot of Rappers, Jay Z or Kanye West would come to the lips of so many, Infact the almighty 2Pac might probably be expected or the Lyrical Notorious BIG. But to be fair to you all, when it comes to lyrics that I have memorized and would always rap along, it's that of my dear Eminem. Better known by his stage name Eminem and by his alter ego Slim Shady, is an American rapper, record producer, songwriter, and actor. Eminem is one of the world's best-selling music artists and is the best-selling artist of the 2000s. He has been listed and ranked as one of the greatest artists of all time by many magazines, including Rolling Stone magazine which ranked him 82nd on its list of The 100 Greatest Artists of All Time. The same magazine declared him The King of Hip Hop. His worldwide albums sales stand at more than 115 million, singles 120 million, and the estimated sale of over 220 million records worldwide. Eminem won Grammy Awards for both Relapse and Recovery, giving him a total of 13 Grammys in his career.

His Originality Is out of this world Abeg give it to the only rapper on this list!!!

6. Dolly Parton: Yes another country musician, an American singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, actress, author, and philanthropist, best known for her work in country music. If you listen to her sing you might think you made it to heaven.
Beginning her career as a child performer, Parton issued a few modestly successful singles from 1959 through the mid-1960s, showcasing her distinctive soprano voice. Listing her immediately after Kenny Rogers ain't a mistake. Just listen to their 1983 duet "Islands on the stream" and come back to thank me.

She has composed over 3,000 songs, the best known of which include "I Will Always Love You" (a two-time U.S. country chart-topper for Parton, as well as an international pop hit for Whitney Houston), "Jolene", "Coat of Many Colors","9 to 5", and "My Tennessee Mountain Home".
She has received eight Grammy Awards (including her 2011 Lifetime Achievement Grammy) and a total of 46 Grammy Award nominations, the most nominations of any female artist in the history of the prestigious awards, a record tied by Beyoncé.

5. Kenny Rogers: This is my list and nothing but my opinion before you all say who the heck is "Kenny Roger" infact as I dey mention en name, my belle they sweet me die!!!

Yes I love country music, infact you might wanna cry if you listen to some country music lyrics, I feel they have the greatest job, cuz you just can't but make sense. You are talking in a calculated manner.. This Texas king of music was born on August 21, 1938. An American singer-songwriter, photographer, record producer, actor, entrepreneur and author, and member of the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Though he has been most successful with country audiences, he has charted more than 120 hit singles across various music genres, topped the country and pop album charts for more than 200 individual weeks in the United States alone and has sold over 130 million records worldwide, making him one of the highest-selling artists of all time. He has received numerous such awards as the AMAs, Grammys, ACMs and CMAs, as well as a lifetime achievement award for a career spanning six decades in 2003.

4. Whitney Houston : Can I hear that shout!!! Our beloved queen of pop was an American recording artist, singer, actress, producer, and model. In 2009, the Guinness World Records cited her as the most awarded female act of all time. Houston was one of the world's best-selling music artists, having sold over 200 million records worldwide. Houston is the only artist to chart seven consecutive No. 1 Billboard Hot 100 hits. She is the second artist behind Elton John and the only woman to have two number-one Billboard 200 Album awards (formerly "Top Pop Album"wink on the Billboard magazine year-end charts. Houston's 1985 debut album Whitney Houston became the best-selling debut album by a woman at the time of its release. Our queen is just out of this world when it comes to her vocal prowess.

3. Carlos Santana : To tell you the honest truth in the most humble way, I can't just tell you why I love him. He uses the guitar in a way that even it's inventor would wonder if some of the tunes could ever be produced. He's a Mexican and American who became famous in the late 1960's and early 1970's. He has won 10 Grammy Awards and three Latin Grammy Awards.

2. Phil Collins : OmG this guy is simply out of this world, an English musician, singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, actor and writer, best known both as drummer and vocalist for English rock group Genesis and as a solo artist. His solo career, which was launched in 1981 and was heavily influenced by his personal life and soul music, brought both himself and Genesis greater commercial success. Collins's total worldwide sales as a solo artist are 150 million. Collins has won numerous music awards throughout his career, including seven Grammy Awards, six Brit Awards—winning Best British Male three times, three American Music Awards, an Academy Award, two Golden Globe Awards and a Disney Legend Award in 2002 for his solo work. In 2008, Collins was ranked the 22nd most successful artist on the "The Billboard Hot 100 Top All-Time Artists".
God, Allah, and Yahweh.. I can't listen to him with my eyes opened.

1. Michael Jackson..: I need not introduce him to you, the name Michael would forever ring a Bell to the Living or Dead, especially if you lived between 1980-2009.. Jackson is recognized as the most successful entertainer of all time by Guinness World Records. His contributions to music, dance, and fashion, along with his publicized personal life, made him a global figure in popular culture for over four decades.
Jackson 1982 Album is the best selling album of all time. Jackson is one of the few artists to have been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice. He was also inducted into the Dance Hall of Fame as the first and only dancer from pop and rock music. Some of his other achievements include multiple Guinness World Records; 13 Grammy Awards as well as the Grammy Legend Award and the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award; 26 American Music Awards, more than any other artist, including the "Artist of the Century" and "Artist of the 1980s". He's definitely My Greatest, at some point as a kid, I referred to him as my Father. R.I.P Dad!!!

Oya, Nairalanders. . .over to you. Post your top 10 musicians of all times and lets discuss
Seems like you are in ur forties?
SportsRe: Mikel To Be Flown To GLO/CAF Awards In Chelsea Jet by adconline(m): 3:09am On Jan 09, 2014
Good luck to Mikel but Yaya Toure is likely going to win.
PoliticsRe: Educational Qualifications: Yoruba Governors Vs Igbo Governors by adconline(m): 6:38pm On Jan 08, 2014
eeeeeee: If you don't know anything about their qualifications then why open a thread in the first place?
Peter Obi attended Harvard Business School in case you don't know.
Not he did not. He might have attended a week executive training. Everyone who can afford it, can attend.
RomanceRe: Should I Betray My Friends To Save Them From Destroying Their Lives? by adconline(m): 4:41pm On Jan 08, 2014
Naija and their morality . Abortion is sinful but sex is not? U knew when they became intimate friends? Did u think they were brother and sister? Make urself a moral police and go to NTA instead!
RomanceRe: After 3 Abortions, He Will Marry Another Lady This Month by adconline(m): 4:28pm On Jan 08, 2014
2 things to take away:
No marriage was promised.
It takes two consenting adults for marriage to happen.
PoliticsRe: FG Gives Private Operators Deadline For Steady Power by adconline(m): 4:09pm On Jan 08, 2014
From 10k MW in 2013 to another order in 2014. Useless govt!
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Auto Policy Is Attracting Attention From Auto Makers — NAC DG - See More by adconline(m): 8:30pm On Jan 07, 2014
omanzo02: U must not be a spare parts before manufacturer set up an assembly plant, The reason they are coming is 1. The favourable policy, 2. The cheap labour, 3. They want to conquer new terrain for their product, 4. The growth in Nigeria's economy.

I once worked with Opel europe, most of the parts these days are sourced from Asia and south America.
because it's cheaper for them to source from Asia and S/American but not going to be cheaper for Naija to source OEM parts from Asia and S/America. With economy of scale, EU manufacturers are at better advantage with bigger market while Naija is a small market. Naija is talking about $6k cars.
Toyota sold only 18K new units in Naija in 2013. Toyota is the largest auto company in Naija which imports from RSA/UA. How does this policy force them to manufacture $6k cars in Naija?
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Auto Policy Is Attracting Attention From Auto Makers — NAC DG - See More by adconline(m):
manny4life: Keep believing in your facts, it's a matter of choice, companies that wants to brave the odds will do so... For the record, Nigeria doesn't import glass or light bulbs, go to Aba and Nnewi and see it for yourself.
Companies that make cars are not owned by Mother Teresa. U build the infrastructure they will come and cannot come before infrastructure is built. Naija has neither comparative nor absolute advantage in car manufacturing.
I wonder if you have been to Nnewi that you are talking about? How many companies are making after market parts like struts, caliper linkage, bearings, suspension systems. Ibeto makes union brake pads and lining, but go to Ladipo and see how many of them are available. Union battery is also in the market but the ratio of Union battery to the imported ones is 1 to 100. This is a great start for the govt. We cannot be using Innoson as an example for a couple of reasons: He has not been in business for more than 10yrs and still heavily financed. Electricity is his major problem. I know of vendors who supply his gen sets. Car Engines, transmission and some drivetrains are imported by Innoson.
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Auto Policy Is Attracting Attention From Auto Makers — NAC DG - See More by adconline(m): 7:41pm On Jan 07, 2014
solomon111: You this car importer.
You've been very consistent in lambasting this policy on various threads.
I'm definitely sure you can list one million reasons why YOU think this policy is wrong and it would be a sheer waste of time for me to start countering them.
Fortunately for us,the real stakeholders are very serious with this policy against all odds.
So i advise you to adjust to the new system or be swept away.
I dwell on facts not on sentiments. I'm no car dealer nor importer. If the govt increases the tariff to 1000%, I'll be just fine unlike u. Naija does not make light bulb for cars, tires, windscreen, body parts. We should be talking about these parts before talking big.
RSA leads the continent in auto manufacturing, they have invested in public infrastructure while Naija has not. Toyota/BMW/Mercedes manufacture in RSA, and cannot come to Naija to manufacture because of infrastructure.

Same way we were promised 10000 MW in 2013. Maybe they are using Ethiopian calendar. A nation that believes more in miracle than hard work can never prosper
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Auto Policy Is Attracting Attention From Auto Makers — NAC DG - See More by adconline(m): 10:21am On Jan 07, 2014
manny4life: Yes, we're plucking numbers but positive numbers that will soon be translatable into results. When these car companies build their factories, let them survive like Dangote and the rest have, anything is better than paying double/triple taxes. Besides, it ain't all that bad.
Key words like : soon, will , be, when. It's going to take another 30 years to make body parts and tires. The more we delay infrastructural development like power and road, the more we push back vision 2000 to vision 2100. Development can never by projecting some illusory numbers and executive fiat!.
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Auto Policy Is Attracting Attention From Auto Makers — NAC DG - See More by adconline(m):
scipher: trillion dollar economy loading...
We are plucking numbers from the thin air instead of rolling up our sleeves to do the work. Projected numbers can never ever build Naija, but simple and common sense executed developmental plans!
RomanceRe: My Fiancee Must Pay For This Hurt/pain. by adconline(m): 7:32pm On Jan 06, 2014
Someone has caused you this so much pain without marriage; has brought disunity between you and ur family, and u still wish that u married her? You are in for a bigger trouble if u married her. Count ur losses and move on. Please don't take care of any girl let alone her family. If u are not married, it's not ur job to give her a life her parents could not give her.
PoliticsRe: Okay by adconline(m): 7:07pm On Jan 06, 2014
me_for_you: because Isaac is a typical Ghanaian. Olodo
Cos u were not taught logic and reasoning in school. What an ignorant troll! Her accent, phone number, personal info could have given it away that she's Nigeria or black African.
PoliticsRe: The Truth About 'Lagos' Sunburn Yacht Hotel by adconline(m): 10:47am On Jan 06, 2014
I'm still waiting for a factual rebuttal
CelebritiesRe: Billionnaire Emeka Offor Weds Wife In Anambra (pictures) by adconline(m): 8:17am On Jan 05, 2014
caprini: He was never really married to the first wife and mother of 7 from otulu in IMO state.The second wife a lawyer just got pregnant and he did the traditional for the child to have a fathers surname....Ada the new bride is actually from orifite..Offors home town..And this is the first time he is LEGALLY getting married.She has been a staff in Offors company and has spearheaded many growths in the company unlike others that came to enrich themselves.........summary is the so called 3rd wife is actually the real wife.
Spearing "growth" on top of already made money. Nonsense!
Car TalkRe: The Pros And Cons Of Using A Hybrid Vehicle In Nigeria by adconline(m): 9:30pm On Jan 04, 2014
Fueleconomy.gov. is ur best resource.
CelebritiesRe: Billionnaire Emeka Offor Weds Wife In Anambra (pictures) by adconline(m): 6:07pm On Jan 04, 2014
Emeka Offor is a money bag. He sponsored OBJ-PDP as far back as 1999 with N200m.His company, Chrome oil services, was awarded TAM of NNPC by either Abacha or Abdulsalam and OBJ extended it. He owns oil well in Sao tome Principe. His company was involved in failed IPP contracts awarded by OBJ. Emeka Offor is all that's wrong with Naija politics. Friend with any government in power AGIP.
His company, was favored with the winning bid of Eastern electric power company in Enugu.
http://thestreetjournal.org/2011/09/emeka-offor’s-multi-billion-naira-contract-scamwhy-efcc-looked-the-other-way/
PoliticsRe: Kim Sentenced His Uncle To Be Eaten Alive By Dogs by adconline(m): 1:51pm On Jan 04, 2014
Did he not kill his girlfriend?
CelebritiesRe: Billionnaire Emeka Offor Weds Wife In Anambra (pictures) by adconline(m): 1:34pm On Jan 04, 2014
ifyalways: Ada bekke can hold down her own any day,any time. She comes from a well-to-do family too. They've been together for more than 3 years now,nothing new. she's the one controlling Emeka's oil biz.

Congrats Ada. Love and lust is wherever you find it. kiss
She can hold her own with pucci or brain? She's a pure gold digger! What do some women take men for? A dunce? Most men know that women come because of accomplishments, it's most women think its because of " love". Is she the 4th wife?
PoliticsRe: Okay by adconline(m): 8:26am On Jan 04, 2014
So u called Isaac with ur Naija number and Naija identity and he still thought and wanted u to be white?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 (of 203 pages)