Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 1:40pm On Dec 27, 2015 |
safepassage2015: This guy thinks am poor and that I don't have access to health services abroad. You are funny indeed. Please i need the name of your lawyer because my family lawyer is an ex attorney general and commisioner of Justice in Enugu State. Trust me he will bring this case to a logical conclusion. We are not on the same level intellectually, financially or otherwise So you pride yourself in having access to medical treatment abroad while you render quack treatment here. No wonder Oyibo don't respect your certificate. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 1:32pm On Dec 27, 2015 |
chronique: Life has a way of serving us the bitter pill we serve to others. The senior doctor who asked you not to touch anyone until they pay a deposit,would someday find herself or her loved ones in such a situation,and the same policy would be read out to them,and they'd lose their lives. That's karma. If I were you,I'd read this out to her,and damn the consequences. It's no fault of yours that the patient died;you had intentions to save lives but the principality that calls herself your boss,who has a pact with the agents of darkness,had already promised to deliver blood to herr coven. Honestly,I think some of these nurses and doctors are agents of darkness. I almost lost 2 of my siblings at a private hospital,and a govt hospital on 2 different occassions. It was just God that used my stubbornness and inteligence,to save them.
On one occassion,I had left the hospital to go see an old friend but as soon as I got close to his house,I heard a voice asking me to go back to the hospital. I tried to ignore it but it got stronger the further I walked. I think I'd gotten to the gate of my friend's house before I decided to obey the voice and turn back. On getting to the hospital,a nurse was about changing the blood bag/pint. My sister was on blood transfusion and the one she was on,before I left had finished. Everything had been connected and what was remaining was to insert the needle to her hand. I decided to check the blood and discovered it was a different blood from what she had just received and I drew the attention of the nurse to it. The idiot started arguing with me that she knows her job but I was adamant on my claims and demanded that she calls the doctor. When the doctor came,he raised the alarm and was asking why she didn't read the tags on the blood bag. He ordered her to remove it and asked me to return the blood to the lab where they bought it from. If they had succeeded in giving her that blood,the blood would have clotted and she would have died. It was then I realized why that voice kept telling me to go back to the hospital. Sometimes,we wonder how people die in the hospital but the truth is that majority of patients die due to negligence and some silly errors that shouldn't have been made in the first place. I don't even want to talk about the experience my elder sister had at Luth after they had called me to donate blood for her that they'd use for her surgery. She was only wheeled into the theatre when it became an emergency. I remember my mum trekking from ikorodu to surulere until a good samaritan gave her a lift to Luth, due to fuel scarcity. I remember my mum and I taking turns to go look for hospitals supplies to buy for the surgery. Things as basic as needles they'd use in stiching my sister,we had to buy them ourselves. Reminiscing about all we went through then,makes me feel like crying but I thank God that my sisters are alive today and all the sacrifices I and mum made at different times,weren't in vain. The Nigerian healthcare system sucks for real. So pathetic, Bro ! |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 6:47am On Dec 27, 2015 |
ogawisdom: U r a morbid fool, for once I tot I will see a different doctor jst reading d post but I saw another murderer n to think u a claimed senior doctor supports this shows its normal.
If he and other doctors care abt live then they shld do sth different n save live at times like depositing their money for a helpless accident victim until his/her parents comes.
Doctors like u and op dnt have any biz with medical practice since wat u want is money, u shld b traders 
Pathological hydra headed monster Easy |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 6:46am On Dec 27, 2015 |
GoddyMendex: Am a Nurse.... I don't wait for my Matron before I start saving lives.. . So why on earth should you wait for your M. O ? You nr try at all.... You should have done something..... You know what am talking about... Nice, Bro, to know that there are still people like you. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 6:44am On Dec 27, 2015 |
xreal: you had the time to take pictures. That's it. Had time to take pictures, but no clue on what to do. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 5:52am On Dec 27, 2015 |
segalex: Your excuse doesn't seem tenable or convincing to me. I'm also a medical doctor and there's nothing like order from above when life is involved, that's your sole responsibility as a doctor. This is not to blame you or cast aspersions on you cos I believe you acted the way you did cos you're new and naive. Your medical officer i.e your senior only asked you to refer them cos she was either not around or she didn't want to be bothered cos she knew she will be held responsible once you admit the patient and that's wickedness on her own part but having said that, it still doesn't stop you from resuscitating the patient before referring them. You should only refer after you've resuscitated or at least stabilized or what's the point referring a patient whose condition is so critical that he/she may not even make it to the hospital. Now you have to be careful and pray that the relatives won't take the case up with you cos you and your MO may not escape very serious punishment if this case is reported to the appropriate authority especially MDCN. You also talked about a lot, and that was when I knew you're indeed new and naive, cos there's a law that all accident victim must be treated as an emergency without any constraints even including gunshot injury victims (in the past we used to demand for police report but the new law now is treat first then inform the police), that law was passed by the Senate about 2 or 3 years ago. Pls make sure you learn from this incident, God bless you The voices of doctors still confirming that the op's action wasn't good enough. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 5:39am On Dec 27, 2015 |
FuckTheMod: May God torment their lives too
Wicked souls Easy, Bro |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 5:37am On Dec 27, 2015 |
abbey621: Ask yourself how many doctors or medical professionals working at government hospitals can afford to pay for a patient out of their own pocket? It might be helpful if you can research how much they make and how easily government forgets to pay their salaries. You are right, Bro. But, my question is : were his actions towards a critically ill patient justifiable, as a trained medical doctor that he is? |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 5:16am On Dec 27, 2015 |
abbey621: The people bashing the OP deserve to be flogged! Some even brought up suggestion that the person pay out of pocket and be reimbursed later, what a stupid suggestion! I've yet to see one single person actually acknowledge the fact that money matters more than lives in Nigeria. Till we come to this drastic realization we are all just kidding ourselves! Where did it all go wrong? Politicians! They are the ones responsible for enabling laws which protects accident victims and those in need of urgent care. There should be a budget set aside every year for such expenses but rather they would rather spend money on luncheons and private dinners, private jets and clothing allowances. These morons are clueless and unfortunately the Nigerian masses are even more clueless. I weep for this bastaard of a nation, where medical professionals are forced to watch injured citizens wallow in pain till they pay up or die, I pity the nation where medical professionals are so severely underpaid that they must choose between survival and morality. Finally I pity the youths wishing for a better tomorrow,there's no such thing as tomorrow when today we keep making the same mistakes of yesterday, our politicians visit abroad for medical treatments,they know how the system works yet prefers the stone age system of Nigeria. My advice to all medical professionals is to not be discouraged but rather do your best and leave the rest.....shalom. Did you read the testimonies of the doctors that have done that, paying for patients, ? If everybody keeps waiting for the time things would be better before doing the little one could do, things would definitely get worse and worse. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 1:06am On Dec 27, 2015 |
ayoolanr: Idiot doctor trying to reduce his guilty conscience online! Karma is real! Expect it to bite your a55 soon! An order is worth more than a fellow Nigerians life! This is a perfect example of how much Nigerians value one another's life! Animals in human skin that fail to evolve! Easy, Bro |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:54am On Dec 27, 2015 |
vizion: I am not a Doctor, but would say that ppl should understand that treating of patients requires funds. and if accident victims are treated and hospitial is not able to recover their funds, it is likely the hospital would no longer be there to even treat patients how are willing to pay for the services.
I would suggest that goverment should make it compulsory for each intercity transporter to have insurance cover for all passengers, so in the event of an accident, the hospital is assured of claiming the money from the insurance company. Passengers should be willing to pay and increment in fare for this insurance cover.
vehicle owners should also stop purchasing over-the-counter third party issurance. You are right, too. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:52am On Dec 27, 2015 |
toksbisola: @Op; a very somber moment and it just made me sad.
I couldn't help but ask this question; if this was your sister or a relative of yours, what would you have done 1st? What procedure would you have carried out on them? Would you have put in more effort to stabilised the patient first before calling your superior? Or would you have tried your best for the patient before even thinking of a referral?
I am trying very hard not to say that you’re embarrassing the medical doctors/profession as it appears in this case the ABCDE procedure as mentioned by @Cramjones and other medics in the house doesn't appear as if it was carried out. Even the simplest of first aid procedure wasn’t done (I may be right as well as wrong) which invariably could have saved lives (a possibility) even before you start talking about a referral. Don't get me wrong, as a referral in itself is not wrong but simple procedures still needs to be carried out on the patient before you even get to the referral stage.
The motto for medical doctors still remains as save life first before any other thing that is the oath of the medical profession. If you probably had done the correct medical procedure for the patient(s) at the initial stage, then just maybe some would still be alive.
If by any chance the family of the dead victim(s) decides to sue you, your senior officer or the hospital, just be sure to have your defense handy as the case may go down the line of medical negligence. Sad as it is, sometimes, you have to be prepared to go against authority to perform your duty. In all, I’m sure you did your best but I perceive, you could have done a bit more.
Lastly, if this were us lying in that bed, I’m sure you’ll have wanted the doctors to try their best to safe our life irrespective of whether we deposited money or not. Let us always put ourselves in the situation of others and see what we would have done in that instance. In the medical profession, it's always a good process to finish each shift with a conscience that you did your best for every patient that you came across during your shift for the day.
I rest my case His doing all that he knew for the patient has been the point tonight. A nice man indeed, but he could have and should have done more. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:35am On Dec 27, 2015 |
Sgwash: how exactly is being a doctor lucrative? They are paid higher than others, starting from NYSC |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:33am On Dec 27, 2015 |
BoboYekini: I am, actually. ok. But there are some you can't prove by science, and they still exist. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:14am On Dec 27, 2015 |
dohyn: Oga,go and sleep.. This pathetic news has robbed him of sleep. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:12am On Dec 27, 2015 |
saxywale: that is why it is very difficult to get admission into medical schools in developed countries. having good grades it just a prerequisite. The selection interview is the toughest. They employ psychologist as part of the interview panel. They use it to screen those that might be interested in the profession for glory, money or human compassion. They check if you have volunteered for free just as that is one of an indication of your suitability for a medical career. Thank you sir |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 12:10am On Dec 27, 2015 |
BoboYekini: What's your point? Can a dead person be 'bitter'? And how would you, for comparison, determine the degree of 'bitterness' of the fiance?? If indeed he's bitter at all. I hope you are not limiting every human experience to science. The dead could indeed be bitter. As for the fiances bitterness, you do the calculation yourself. Something you cherish and have hoped for, for many months, then just 3days to the D day she died without even saying goodbye to you. |
Family › Re: No To Getting A Car Because Am Single by Analysiscorner: 12:01am On Dec 27, 2015 |
HIDDENSECRECY: Is unfortunate how inconsiderate the opinions of people are as seen in lots of bias comments from people. None of those kicking against your decision to buy a car put into consideration your personal well-being, emotional, psychological and physical stress of going to work everyday. Life is too short girl, your happiness is paramount and more important than the feeling & opinions of people.
Beauty attracts a man but character keeps him!!!
Hey Girl!!! Go for your car baby and make life comfortable for yourself. You work hard to make your money, you need not stress yourself too to spend your money.
"Don't listen to what people are thinking about you, because they are thinking it anyhow". Les Brown Com' on, she requested for people's opinion |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:51pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
Venom104: Cover your head in shame Doctor... All you did through out the ordeal was to go buy airtime, you administered nothing as the so called doctor that you are to relieve any of the patients form their suffering.
Typical Nigerian doctors... Heartless and lack love for fellow human life.. They are just there to make money. This your name sha! |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:50pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
RedCapChief: If you can't answer the question, just say so. Don't hurl insults. It is impolite
For sure you will get a fair hearing. They will ask you why you disobeyed a superior order to refer the patients. You will tell them you wanted to 'save life'. God help you if just one of the 7 patients developed a complication or died why you were trying to 'save life'. They will tell you that the patient may have lived if you had obeyed your senior and referred on time. They will tell you there is no room for superheroes in medicine. They will then starting debating how long to seize your license for. If you are a HO with only a temporary license, then gbese re o!
My dear, the anger on this thread is not borne out of the Op's lack of experience in treating accident victims but for the fact that his senior mentioned money as the prerequisite for treatment. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:45pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
Chinwem: As 'bitter' as you claim your experience as a doctor was today, It's nowhere near as bitter as the young lady who lost her life or the young man robbed of his fiancé under your watch Nne m,gwawa ha. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:43pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
Crocz: Shame on you too Woe unto you Sadduccees |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:40pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
RedCapChief: 1. The HO wasn't not incompetent by calling his senior. That is the first thing to do as a junior officer. You call the senior person once you have an emergency.
2. Nobody is going to sack the MO for instructing the HO to refer all those patients. It has happened severally with me. If you can't treat, you refer.
3. Let us even assume that the HO disobeys the senior and starts treating . . .and then one of the patients dies . . .That is now a case of hospital mortality. . .When the hospital ethics/disciplinary panel gets information that a house-officer was trying to play superhero, I assure you, they will not be merciful
I have worked as a HO in a govt hospital. Have you?
But the point of the argument is not about competency of the HO, but rather about money first before treatment. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:33pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
dohyn: as expected, the idiot called Cramjones has pulled up a story in the UK to back up his points. like we all don't know the difference between Nigeria and UK is night and day. If you are who you say you are,then you should be grateful you are in a country that lets you roam the streets and not be in jail. Rabid dog. As if it's not you and your ilk that turned Nigeria to the pitiful state it is now. Anuofia Why? What did he do? |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:30pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
RedCapChief: The worst that could happen to a disobedient house officer?
Option A - Nothing -if the senior colleague is not pissed.
Option B - You could be sacked for insubordination, reported to the MDCN, made to face a disciplinary panel who could strip you of your temporary license and render you unable to safely practice medicine
If you are reported to the MDCN, won't they give you fair hearing? |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:27pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
adahib: I'm glad you pray to get to a level where you can do that. I hope you achieve it. Like you rightly pointed out,how many patients can you pay for? As a house officer in O&G,we had a patient who required emergency c/s,I thought I was helping by signing as a surety at the blood bank for two pints of O-negative blood. We know how expensive that is. The patient left the hospital without paying. I was called daily by the H.O.D of heamatology to come pay. Finally,I had to go write for it to be deducted from my next salary.
My dear, I don learn my lessons. I'm not forming any unnecessary heroics for patients who will never appreciate it at the end of the day. I'll do my job as best as I can but nobody should expect me to take any unnecessary risk for him or her.... Very sad that your patient treated you that way. But, you are happier that your action helped prolong ones life. Also, if the patient had died without care, your conscience might have been feeling guilty. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:21pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
ccaramel: A nurse controlling a doctor. Ridiculous! If it was your sister or mother....would you still listen to orders from above? Very painful that she died and you could have done SOMETHING  My dear! I am with you. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:19pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
alpontif: The OP should accept responsibility. Psychologically speaking, you posted this article because your conscience is truly judging you that you did not give your best.
You want to pass the blame to your Oga, and hide under "orders" from above for plain cowardice to do the right thing.
Heroes are made in impossible situations.
You have no consolation from me. It is your fault that some died. You could have made a difference.
You are a big disappointment to the profession, and humanity. Please, don't carry it too far, Bro. But, you're right. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:09pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
THUNDER4real: God forbid: What of if the person lying down there is a sibling? will you wait for orders to act? On point, Bro. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 11:07pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
Leopantro: He was given a direct order by a senior doctor not to treat. In an ideal setting, he will answer a query. From a doctor's standpoint, if he went ahead to treat, he will not be punished. But Nigeria is not an ideal setting. Doctors have been sacked for disobeying senior doctors. As a junior doctor he must be under supervision, a case can be made from there. This is why having views sometimes termed eccentric is so very good. It's just like a pregnant woman due for delivery, but she couldn't have normal birth. Then, the doctor demands for payment before he performs c-section on her. And the money is not available at that crucial time. Leaving the woman to die with pregnancy is not justifiable. |
Health › Re: My Bitter Experience As A Doctor Today by Analysiscorner: 10:58pm On Dec 26, 2015 |
cosmatika: Did u read everything at all? I'm a house officer, d lowest in d medical ladder. Can't tek some decisions wtout my snrs. Its a govt hospt & nt my father's House officer. Right. Even if an auxiliary nurse, and you know what you can do to save a dying man, history will judge you well if you do that. Come to think of it, the consequence of your action can't be higher than receiving a sack letter. |