jason12345: okay, i get it. but why don't you unite with them and see each other as one
O we Igbos and Ibibios are brothers we know that and we are already united. However, Because of the war the Ibibioshave a unity problem amongst themselves.Nigeria did the same thing they did with the Igbos to them i.e. the ikwere, delta-igbo problems. The government separated the Efik,Annag, Ekoi,Oro from the Ibibio mother-group and caused strife.
jason12345: my friend here said she is not igbo. i was even telling her about how most nigerians especially yorubas generally refer to anybody in the east as igbo. she started denying it and etc.
the point is i dont think they actually see themselves as igbo what do you think? pls, its not to spite you
Everybody from the East is not igbo, where is she from?
DapoBear: Heh, I see. Hrm, I was in PH for one month visiting some family, is that city Igbo? The language they spoke sounded different to me.
Yep it is definitely Igbo.However it is something like lagos,alot of non-Igbos live there as well. Maybe the language you heard wasn't Ikwerre it could have been Ijaw.
DapoBear: Fair point. "Grab" I guess is controversial language. It is no secret that ideally I'd want Kwara and Western Kogi state in Yorubaland. Neither of these two regions are considered currently part of the Southwest.
Hrm, perhaps it is bias against the Igbo that causes your own aspiration to incorporate your kin in other regions into Igboland? I don't know. Though you must admit that if we Yoruba constantly talked about incorporating Warri somehow because of the Itsekiri, it would seem like a "landgrab." Are the Iwerri likely to join you guys, if they were given the option?
Yes they are, most of them see themselves as igbo.They are very clannish though.There is nothing that will stop them from going with other Igbos. They make up Ohanaeze as well and and Ikwere son is Vice President of Ohanaeze. You should read about who the who Ikwerre thing came about. They were force forced by the nigerian government(although many of them didnt abide) to drop their "Igbo" ethnic title and stick to their "Ikwerre"clan title and also make that their new ethnic title. Nigerian government told them if they refused that they will not accept them into the federal side and instead regard them as Biafrans and not give them any types of regards and also they would killed them and give the rest of their land to the Ijaws.
DapoBear: Chyz, let's be realistic. If you Igbo want to secede, and you only take your 5 core Igbo states with you, you'll have created a state doomed to fail (well, let me not say doomed, but with a much smaller probability of succeeding.) Landlocked from the sea, not much economic activity within its borders. So your primary hope is to grab a significant portions of Delta and Rivers.
At least, if I were a Biafran, this is what I'd be trying to do.
So do you see the issue here? Biafra cannot come to be without taking parts of the country that are not considered core Igbo. Personally though, if you can convince Rivers to follow you, I have no problem, no skin off my back. I just don't think the Ikwerre Igbos are very likely to want to roll with you. Why share their money with you, basically? What incentive do they have?
If you can take Rivers though, I think Biafra could be a strong country.
Im still trying to understand what that has to do with you. the 5 "core"Igbo state, im not sure what you mean by "Core"Igbo, anyways is different that what Ndigbo want. Imo, Anambra,Ebonyi, Enugwu, and Abia is not "Ndigbo" they are states. Ndigbo is a people. So im still not understanding your argument are you saying "grab" as in yorubas trying to "grab" kwara and "grab" kogi into Oduduwa republic? come on make some sense to me im not getting you reasoning.
Now i hope that this pic Sun News posted convinces you about the lie that these people are telling. Clearly that volcano pic is not in or from nigeria. I've seen this one many times before and im sure you have too.
jason12345: thats a lie!!! non of the three big ethnic groups would allow that. infact, i believe the igbos would have done worse!!! the yorubas never said they need liberation ojukwu wanted to extend his territory and you know it. pls be honest and don't try to defend his actions. i am a neutral and i would say yes what awo did was bad. but you have to admit that when an army invades people die, yoruba people!!
Jason you have been getting very tribalistic(in a bad way) lately. Not good. O and you and I both know the Igbos wouldnt have done worse. Are you suggesting Ojukwu would have suggested starvation? HIGHLY unlikely. These are the same people YOU said were very truthful.Obviously we must have high morals.
seanet02: very insane posting. OJUKWU IS LIKE A SATAN TO US IN YORUBALAND, WE WILL FOREVER REGARD HIM AS A BIG SAtan FOR TRYING TO BRING AN UNREASONABLE WAR INTO YORUBALAND, THANK GOD AWO WAS ALIVE THEN, THAT BINGO ALMOST DESTROYED US WITH HIS SELFISHNES AND MADNESS
Ok you're done now.i hope it have calmed your nerves now hop of the sensitivity.
DapoBear: Long live Biafra. And may Biafra rise again. But hopefully you will not attempt to send armies of conquest westwards towards Yorubaland. If you can come up with a way to realize your dream that doesn't involve invading our lands, then it is much likelier to succeed. After all, I'm not really sure anyone in this day and age (certainly not the Yoruba) is really that opposed to Igboland seceding. Just don't try to landgrab the Delta (and the Ikwere by and large seem to be trying to disassociate themselves from the larger Igbo polity, so this probably wouldn't be very successful anyway) , choice parts of the Southwest, and very likely Biafra can come to pass.
binhozie: There are so many reasons why this stooopid topic shouldnt have made the front page Maybe i'm over-reacting but i am terribly incensed by this piece of fraudulent news How does a volcanic eruption completely cut-off a village that pics cant be taken even with mobile phones? How did they know one person died? I thought when a piece of 'important' news like this breaks, reporters from different news agencies rush to the scene. . .no? Abeg make una carry this nonsense commot from front page Nonsense!
Africans are usually gullible like this. They'll believe anything dumb. If news papers can show pics massacred people on the day it happen why not volcano eruption aftermath? Is it more graphic?
invisible!: Chai! This is crazy, they said the communications masts around the area are all fallen as a result of the quake and most phones are out of network. This is crazy really.
if true. dont u think is rather ironic that all of these earthquakes continue to just pop out of nowhere for some reason? anyways i dont believe it.
Justcash: This is the problem with Nigeria. Ezeuche said that he was sorry for all the tribal bashing he embarked on in the past. Instead of Peeps like Elrazur, Aigbofa(Igbo bashing 2IC) and co to repent too, they want him to run unclothed in the street before they'll accept that he intends to change. Simply doing the same thing that Ezeuche did would have made Nairaland a less tribal bashing online community.[b] The way they are taunting Ezeuche and asking him to lick their buttocks, The born-again Ezeuche will soon become born-against once more .[/b]
This will never happen. May they swallow knives. Igbo can never bow down. They should take their time.
This is BS. These people will do and say anything just to push there agenda. All of this clamor of hell and brimstones going on in this country is just the works of a plan to split nigeria up. They are trying to cause mayhem. A damn Volcano[b]?[/b]!You've got to be kidding me.
ElRazur: Admittedly you did not use the word hate, however anyone with half a brain can see in between your lines.
Your anger should be directed at those people, not "at those Yorubas". Clearly, your anger is misplaced. More than half of those people whom you despise so much are either dead or not around, but I guess it is convenient for you to direct your anger at "those yorubas" (as oppose to those people in question)
While I agree it a mind is a terrible thing to waste, I think having anger at a particular group or tribe like you have said in your post is nothing but an epitome of mind wasting to be honest.
Turning around to then say you love or like some Yorubas just goes to further highlight your misplaced anger (that is nothing but hatred)