Gerrard59's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Gerrard59's Profile › Gerrard59's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 (of 574 pages)
folake4u:Ta! He would not have an erection again. He would not produce semen. He would not be a man. He would not produce the testosterone hormone again. And many more. ![]() Our people think it is fun to have children. They forget these children have to be raised for at least 25 years using the Nigerian system. For the next 25 years, they are spending on three people to be responsible human beings. I don't know why they think having children is fun. The koko is in raising children. After two like this, I don lock up! I did not come into this world to raise children. In fact, I look forward to creating a thread of my vasectomy experience when the time comes. |
studyless123:The snag isn''t even sponsoring, but the job filters away international applicants when they get to the "do you need sponsorship?" question part. So, one gets declined even before an actual interview. With that aside any serious student that want to stay can start preparing from day 1.Do American companies look at grades and transcripts like their counterparts do elsewhere? Students should research and look at professions in demand.Nice initiative, but it would not succeed. The original immigration law and restrictions are embedded in nativistism. Dole out 10K visas because of the semiconductor industry will see Indians and Chinese overflood the system. The same Chinese American lawmakers are fighting everyday. Just like Germany said it will accept 250K work visas to Kenyans; till now, nothing comot. The same Germany passed dual nationality amendment and reduced the years to naturalise, only for some people to sue the process and have it suspended. Nonetheless, I do agree that it is a good field to pursue as there would be more interested employers. Most of the best engineering grads in the US don pivot go consulting and finance industries. |
LastProphet:Then they should do NIW. People should focus on what they control. |
CHRISTFUCKER:Why do I need to do engineering before I say something that is fact-based? It is easier to graduate with a first class in numerical courses than non-numerical courses. That is an undisputed fact anywhere in the world. There is a Nairaland thread of OAU's BGS from the faculty of engineering, all had high CGPAs which made them the highest. Ayodele Dada (Psychology) of Unilag and the Law graduate from LASU are the only 5.0 graduates who did not do numerical courses in Nigeria. The girl from Covenant University did Computer Science, which is akin to mathematics. No be first class be issues , na whether if you finish school hope say you go day earn better money or get better workLOL! No first class grad, especially from numerical programs, who has access to information, acts on them and is diligent is unemployed. I am ready to die on this hill! Look at me , a forking schizophrenic Computer engineering grad earning more than a faangman engineerYou don't earn anything. A physicist can work in a FAANG company. Why do I need to know your academic program and where you work? I don't care how much you earn. I honestly do not. Your salary has no basis in this conversation. |
CHRISTFUCKER:LOL! This is something I have been following in recent years. I dare say no university in the east has convoked a 5.0 graduate, and schools in the SW convoke more first class graduates than their counterparts in the east. Na because I dey tied up, I already have an manuscript I had written. I just needed to input the data (already available) and make it an article. Again, no university in Eastern Nigeria has convoked a 5.0 student. LASU, Unilag and Covenant and I think Babcock have done so. I am cocksure of the first three. If you disagree, show me evidence where they (universities in the east) have done. |
Raskimonojendor:Interesting. Well, na individual preferences. P.S. With this kind of profile, you be Chief Tribalist. Chai! The white man must continue his dominance in the world. If he ever fails, the Chinese man takes over. |
Netizen28:If you spend too much writing a comment, copy the post and exit that page. Return and paste your comment then post immediately. However, this does not work always when you have quite a number of links embedded in the post. |
BennyDGreat:The elite MBA programs as ranked by USNEWS, Bloomberg and Forbes. Don't use the Financial Times to assess American B-schools' ranks. The FT works better for B-schools outside North America. Ivy Leagues mostly populate the M7, but there are subtle differences. MIT & Stanford are not Ivy Leagues, but Stanford GSB is part of the M7, but MIT Sloan is not. Brown University is an Ivy League, but not included as it has no b-school. The same applies to Princeton, another Ivy, but no b-school. |
otipoju:This is true, and applies to both genders. Sex is good, refreshing and soothing to the soul. But more so for women since they are demisexual. Plus when they are still young they enjoy freedom and being accountable to no one by going on wild f***king sprees hopping from one state and city and hotel to the other. even their parents can't control a girl that wants to be wild.But if that is the case, why are they gloomy? Women of African descent are not the most desired females so their dating pool is limited to Africans like them who are not as many as the other demographics...so competition dey very tight.True, especially the native AA women out-number them. But does this apply to second generation African migrants, since they were bred in the US just as AA women? In spite of this , they discriminate against Nigerian men that have just arrived in the country. The think that those men are beneath them since they still have a couple of years to fully integrate into the system by going to school, building credit score, owning property , buying enviable cars and eradicating Nigerian accent. ( they are not petty).Well, I am not surprised as women are hypergamous. At the bold, is it that terrible? They mock Nigerian accent? For an English speaking country, it is quite absurd, and more so for your native country's men. Provided the words are pronounced lucidly and fluently, why the animosity?So they reject those men outrightly or if they marry one...will stress the hell out of Him by seeking to control him. Some women will not Normal house chores wey woman dey do....dem go sey dem no be slave. To cook for your man now na slavery. Na machine dey wash clothes ooo. So Nigerian men prefer to go amd face that stress from other races than to feel betrayed by a naija girl who should know better.Well, a growing number of Nigerian young ladies now say cooking is slavery, at least on social media sha. Washing machine should handle clothes, though. Some men cannot go and play football with their friends on weekends because their wives will not permit them. It's that bad for some people because they are afraid of loosing everything they worked for in a divorce. Or pay monthly child support that is costly until their kids turn 18.Chineke nna knew when he told me to get naturalisation on my merit than otherwise. I knew it! Me I no kulu send anybody papa message, they know I'm not afraid to loose anything for my peace of mind and they are not indispensible...na wetin dey give me leverage be that.Are they not interested in changing or do they plan to be spinsters for life or kpata kpata become lesbians? What are their replies when you lampoon them? Sha, no dey too harsh The concept of marriage has changed in recent years. |
Cassandraloius:I dare say no first class awarded to a Nigerian student from ANY Nigerian university is illegitimate. Any first class graduate you see from a Nigerian university merited it. First class o. |
Raskimonojendor:Bros, it does not work that way. A year's experience at Boston Consulting Group is equivalent to three years at PwC. A year of work experience at PwC is equivalent to five years' of work experience at Atutupoyoyo Consulting. These days, business school students tend to be much younger than their predecessors ten years ago. This is more so for someone with stellar grades from a good school and work experience from an elite firm. There was a Unilag grad, also engineering, who spent less than three years at McKinsey (BCG oga at the top) and got into Harvard Business School with a Seven-Up scholarship. No one who is interested in business school spends that long garnering work experience before applying. However, as you said, depending on his background and preferences, if he gets into the O&G industry, he might not be interested in b-school because of the hefty salaries. Whatever his preferences is his prerogative. But that aspect of spending seven years before b-school is outdated. Another thing: folks from STEM courses who work for strategy/business/consulting/finance/sales/accounting firms as their first jobs after school tend to stick with it rather than return to academic programs. This dude is going to an M7. I would be here to mention it in five years' time. |
BigDickProblems:Because you don't have a first class. If you do, send me a PM. ![]() |
Impactever:Before you finish from your program, apply for NIW. Nigerians have numbers on their side compared to Indians and Chinese. NIW leads to GC faster than H1B. Try to publish one paper in a high-profile journal. AI is an interesting field that American authorities are very interested in. It is a field favoured by NIW screeners. I was actually considering getting married in Nigeria before I Japa but with this information from you, I have just changed my mind.Nothing wrong with marrying before you japa, but your wife would not have the authorisation to work as a dependant in the US. Dependents don't have the right to work. Preferably, marry then japa. Then bring your wife after a year. That is what a senior colleague of mine did. Today, he has gotten his NIW approval and had his child. The wife is also studying in the same state as he is. I am now beginning to see the long term benefits of getting married to a US Citizen. Most especially African American women.Yes, as it is the quickest route to GC then citizenship. However, if you are a PhD grad in AI, it is pointless. Do NIW. I prefer our men hold the ace when it comes to immigration. There is this feeling you have when you attain permanent residency on your merit rather than by marrying a woman, especially from a different culture. That is my mindset, though. |
GboyegaD:Unfortunately, in an employers' market, international students are not favoured by firms as there are countless qualified people who have work authorisation. Also, the timeline to file for H1B is almost nine months after employment. Most startingly are the chances. Prior to COVID, it was 2/3, but now 1/3 and going down. Let's not forget that this is a visa class with 85000 visas for almost one million applicants. Out of which 65000 is for BSc holders. It is for that very reason we have more Nigerian students (first generation) studying at Canadian universities than US' universities. Ten years ago, the US was the top. Not anymore again. |
BigDickProblems:Go and tell Boston Consulting Group that. ![]() Also, tell CBN, P&G, Stanford University and Knight Hennessy the same because Ayodele Dada graduated with the same grade from Unilag. ![]() |
BigDickProblems:But you are not an American by nationality or culturally, so it is not possible. ![]() |
Pitto:It is the standard in numerical courses. My alma mater's BGS was from the mechanical engineering department. In fact, except for the pioneer set, all BGS have been from engineering. |
Scholace:So why is Unilag ranked higher than both schools? Rigorous according to what parameter? Who ranked this rigorousness? |
Raskimonojendor:One year would not get him admission into an M7 or T15 business school. Yes, he had stellar grades and work(ed) for an elite firm, but one year work experience is too weak. He needs to do like three years. Ayodele, his senpai in 5.0 pointing, did three years before heading to Stanford. First at CBN, then P&G. P.S. To such people, it is M7 or bust! |
BigDickProblems:It is easier to convoke with stellar grades from numerical courses. That is why in most universities, the BGS tend to be come from engineering or the sciences, especially mathematics or physics. 1 + 1 = 2 everywhere. Ayodele Dada was the first 5.0 pointer from Unilag and he studied Psychology. His saving grace I believe was entering the school via direct entry. But it is entirely false to say it is not possible to convoke with a 5.0 as an engineering student. P.S. You did not graduate with a first class. First class graduates don't mock or deride their folks. |
Ibrahim, the second BGS, works for an investment firm: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ibrahim-quadri-99847a184/?originalSubdomain=ng7 Abiola Itakpe, the BGS from the Business School, works for Deloitte: https://www.linkedin.com/in/abiola-itakpe-sa-sphri-acipmn-022a9639/?originalSubdomain=ng School is not scam o ![]() |
FreeStuffsNG:Very impressive, but less than 2%. From the looks, the sheer numbers looks "frightening" to those who lampoon "first class inflation", actual percentages don't say the same. Nonetheless, it is a good one from Unilag. Schools in Eastern Nigeria (south south and south east) should learn from their counterparts in the west. No university in the east has convoked a 5.0 pointer. Does it mean students in the east are not intelligent enough to attain or merit it? I would like to know the 5.0 pointer's primary school and secondary school academic results, and I would keep tabs with where he ends up after school: corporate Nigeria or postgraduate studies in the US. For the love of whoever he worships, he should not go to the UK unless under a prestigious scholarship like Commonwealth or GatesCambridge. McKinsey & Nigeria, what are you waiting for? Na this kind people dem like. I recall McK sent a one-time OAU BGS grad who is a Nairalander test invite even after he relocated to Canada. Modified: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-akanmu-98b954197/?originalSubdomain=ng Boston Consulting Group already cupped him. ![]() McKinsey don fvck up. |
obaidan:That is what most people don't realise. The legal and STABLE authorisation to work anywhere as an immigrant, especially those from poorer countries with weak passports, is extremely important. This applies everywhere as an immigrant. |
uvie66:That is entirely untrue! Why do we lie too much? Here is a link to approved countries for truck driving in the US: https://americanvisas.net/visas/non-immigrant-visas/h-2b-visa-program/; https://www.uscis.gov/working-in-the-united-states/temporary-workers/h-2b-temporary-non-agricultural-workers Did you see Nigeria listed? If our truck driving is the same, why are we not listed? Why is Madagascar listed, but not us? In fact, in one of the links, drivers who don't obtain their licenses in either Mexico or Canada MUST do so in the United States. Please, this is not 2004 where people talk anyhow. |
Konquest:The end justifies the means. I would do the same if I were in the US. The legal authorisation to work is extremely important in the life of an immigrant. |
otipoju:Is it that terrible? A church of about 30 adult women , only about 5 are married and currently living with their husband. Sunday morning na gloomy atmosphere always.I went through the comment section by one popular Nigerian-American influencer on Instagram, and man, she once mentioned that she is 30 and has only attended three weddings in her life. To God who made me, I have attended more weddings of my female classmates than she has, and viewed a growing number on Facebook. But why is the atmosphere gloomy? I thought American women don't need men? |
luminouz:This is for immigration purposes. The end justifies the means. You are in Ibadan, what do you know about immigration? Ednut clearly mentioned that top guys with stellar careers from good MBA schools are going the marriage route because the H1B chances have worsened after COVID (check the stats online). What should they do, return to Nigeria to shine teeth with Tinubu? Become illegal immigrants? They need authorisation to work. What quicker alternatives do you have aside marriage? |
GboyegaD:Apart from NIW, what other straightforward route? P.S. NIW can be done from anywhere sef. What OP needs is the authorisation to work in the US, which is hard to get these days. International students with PhDs and stellar publications are finding it difficult. Most Africans do NIW to scale through, but the major group of foreigners - Chinese and Indians - are finding things not easy. Marriage offers the quickest route to GC which lays the foundation for authorisation to work. Work dey, but authorisation is the problem. |
CoronaVirusPro:So Future even get pikin with Ciara? I thought she was on classy chick sef. ![]() |
chronique:Next time, Davido will learn to use condom. This would not have happened if condom was used. |
Godwin4444:He should have used condom. All I see are men defending irresponsibility. You don't want to pay monthly support? Use condom! |
tetralogyfallot:When we tell them not to have children with different women, they see us as boring men. ![]() |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 (of 574 pages)

For an English speaking country, it is quite absurd, and more so for your native country's men. Provided the words are pronounced lucidly and fluently, why the animosity?