Stats: 3,153,005 members, 7,817,969 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:32 AM

IAH's Posts

Nairaland Forum / IAH's Profile / IAH's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 63 pages)

Sports / Re: Brazil Is Not Playing Well by IAH(f): 11:23pm On Jun 22, 2006
medube:

He will be the highest goal scorer when he breaks the record of 14 which is previously held.

He still is. It's a tie between him and Gerd Muller. So at least if they are mentioning the highest they are going to mention them both!!!! Fact!!! tongue

And by the way, he's going to score more. It's only the first round. tongue tongue
Sports / Re: The Formidable Group F in Germany-(all Salute!) by IAH(f): 10:29pm On Jun 22, 2006
diddy4:

ghana will stun the world when rhonaldo and rhonaldinho and gildato are dead.

Abi o. And Kaka too. Those guys are too much. Watch out for that small boy too, Robinho. He's deadly.
Sports / Re: Brazil Is Not Playing Well by IAH(f): 10:25pm On Jun 22, 2006
Awww Sorry Darling Rondolyn. kiss kiss But they are going to spell it G-H-A-N-A grin grin grin
Sports / Re: Brazil Is Not Playing Well by IAH(f): 10:19pm On Jun 22, 2006
Yesssssssssssssssssssssssss! Ronaldoooo! Highest goal scorer in World cup finals (14 goals). More to come!! Ronaldo is back y'all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

They are going to spell G-H-A-N-A for the Ghanaians. grin grin 5-0!!!
Family / Re: Which One 1st. Will You Start Dating A Girl Or You Will Inform Your Pastors 1st? by IAH(f): 10:29pm On Jun 21, 2006
mamaput:

so you are one of those people that tell the gate man not to allow any girl to enter when you are with another girl EH . grin grin
Yes i think the Gate man must be the first to know.

Honestly, I don't understand what you are saying. I'm lost.
Family / Re: Which One 1st. Will You Start Dating A Girl Or You Will Inform Your Pastors 1st? by IAH(f): 7:52pm On Jun 21, 2006
I must inform my Pastor first. I must also inform my teachers at school, my grandmother, the king of my hometown and our gateman. Duhhhh Pastor ko, Stopper ni grin grin grin
Business / Re: Starting Mcdonalds In Nigeria by IAH(f): 7:29pm On Jun 21, 2006
Wow! You are quite idle, aren't you? cheesy
Food / Re: Wara by IAH(f): 6:16pm On Jun 21, 2006
I love it too. It's very sweet. I prefer the fresh one to the fried one sha. kiss kiss
Sports / Re: Brazil Is Not Playing Well by IAH(f): 6:03pm On Jun 21, 2006
It's so painful to see Ronaldo like that because I love him sooooooooooo much kiss. I believe he's going to bounce back before the end of this World cup. He's going to bounce back and mesmerize those of you who have lost faith in him. I believe smiley.

*coughs* Emmm, although he doesn't even know I exist.*rolls eyes*
TV/Movies / Re: Is Nollywood Controlled By Igbos? (Tribalised?) by IAH(f): 11:11pm On Jun 20, 2006
Lol cheesy But the starter of this thread is Igbo. undecided So are the starters of many other 'Igbo this', 'Igbo that' threads. smiley
Religion / Re: An Unbelievable Islamic Miracle Or A Demon? by IAH(f): 10:54pm On Jun 20, 2006
And you believed that? Lol. grin grin
Music/Radio / Re: Yinka Ayefele by IAH(f): 8:21pm On Jun 20, 2006
I hate the person. I like the music. Ordinarily, I like to sing his songs but when we watched his videos we were almost puking. Like WTF? Argh! shocked
Music/Radio / Re: King Sunny Ade: Are You A Fan Like Me? by IAH(f): 7:31pm On Jun 20, 2006
Yeah, I love KSA too. I also grew up with his music playing in my house every morning, my Dad loves his music too much! I can sing some of his albums from Side A to Side B cheesy I especially like his contemporary ones though.
e.g.

Aye n reti Eleya mi o
Won n reti eleya mi o lojojumo
Won ti ko ra won jo o lati pegan mi
Won ni mi o mo ju ile adura lojojumo
Won ri mi lona ile adura won a maa pegan mi
Won a lo tun ti n lo etc cheesy

---------------------------------------------
Gbogbo ota mi, won o ni simi
Ota inu ile, won o ni simi
Otai ile ana, won o ni simi
Ota to n sebi ore si mi, won o ni simi
Wahala ni pa lekun, atikiri ni peran oje
{something something}
Ota o ni simi
Won a maa wipe, Holy Michael ko wa lo da
Baba wa lo da e
Ajagunsegun ode orun, Baba wa lo da e
Ani lori ota ko wa loda, Baba walo da e etc cheesy
-------------------------------
Ki leleyi o Eja Osan
Eja tutu Sokoyoto
Emi oni jeun ti oda
ki n laju mi sile
ki n wa fi sakuro saponleee
{something something}
Eleja tutu gbe waaaa
O ro dede! cheesy
-------------------------
Emi o ba won wa
Emi o ni ba won lo
Tori otooto larin wa
Sebi ile aye, ile aye yi la pade ara wa etc. cheesy
--------------------------------------
Sunny Ade Ma pa mi o
Owo Robb ti won
Ma kan mi nibadi
Ki n to dele cheesy
-----------------
And many many more. If I continue, this space no fit contain am! grin

babwilms:

Infact i am planning to invite King Sunny Ade to play on my wedding day, hopefully he should still be around by then.

My sister said the same thing! cheesy

And yeah I also like Shina Peters, Obey Commander, etc. but that's another thread lol cool

TV/Movies / Re: Is Nollywood Controlled By Igbos? (Tribalised?) by IAH(f): 6:54pm On Jun 20, 2006
Actually there are more Yoruba movies churned out every week than any other in the whole world. How about that? cheesy cheesy

my2cents:

- they are the ones who started it all and so again naturally, they go with who they know

Ever heard of Oyin Adejobi, Fadeyi Oloro, Hubert Ogunde, Baba Sala? grin grin
Nairaland / General / Re: Do You Celebrate Your Birthday On July 17th Yearly? by IAH(f): 6:35pm On Jun 20, 2006
And Exu! shocked shocked Seun and Exu have a lot in common. cheesy cheesy
Sports / Re: Germany 2006: Countries That Should Pack Their Bags by IAH(f): 5:46pm On Jun 20, 2006
It's so sad to see Ivory Coast go. Oh my heart bleeds for them.Drogba Darling They were so unlucky to be put in that tough group! If they had been in the group that Ghana(or even Togo) is in, they would have sailed through easily. cry cry
Car Talk / Re: 34 Year Old Nigerian Man Who Can't Drive: Normal? by IAH(f): 5:42pm On Jun 20, 2006
Seriously it's odd. I mean O-D-D! Actually I know someone who can't drive and he's even older than that(I think so because he's married with kids). I think he says he has a phobia or something. He has a few cars and a driver who drives him about.

About the strong-will & adventurous part, the person I'm talking about is a politician and was former Chairman of Ifelodun Local Government in Osun State. What more adventure & strongwill can be greater than winning an election in Nigeria's murky politics?

But I still think it's odd. I mean O-D-D! shocked
Sports / Re: The Formidable Group F in Germany-(all Salute!) by IAH(f): 10:39pm On Jun 18, 2006
Who's here? My boys walloped the Australians 2-0. Though it wasn't quite an easy victory. shocked kiss
Family / Re: Would You Pay Your Children For Chores They Do? by IAH(f): 7:52am On Jun 16, 2006
Wesleyan, that's just a play with words. Whether you pay or reward them, it's still the same thing. You are still giving them something for their work.

For me, my parents gave us weekly pocket money so I'm going to give my children too. It's really good and makes you accountable, that's how to quickly discover traits of extravagance in your child and nip it in the bud before it's full blown - when you let them handle money of their own.
Sports / Re: World Cup Group B Unpredictable by IAH(f): 10:03pm On Jun 15, 2006
I think the hype about Rooney is too much. angry The fans were even singing Rooney in the stadium when they were about to bring him in. Chei! the boy's head would be really swelling o.

Crouch did not dance his dance today. cheesy
Culture / Re: Igbos Of SS/SE Nigeria by IAH(f): 9:41pm On Jun 15, 2006
Interesting points and offpoints here. Concerning the argument that 80% of the slaves were Igbos, I think the most slaves were Yorubas for a few reasons:

First of all, I agree with this point:

food4tot:

Just curious, how come their language couldn't survive but Yoruba language survived. Your claims can be flawed. I know Igbo and ibibio where taken as slave but PLEASE, for the love of sanity don't tell me 80% of Nigerian slaves where igbo and ibibio.

How come the remaining 20%(I'm assuming yorubas would be in this mix) were able to make more impact on America? Dont you question your reasoning?

Then again, history also has it that Badagry, Lagos was one of the prime slave ports in West Africa. Has anyone been to the Slave Museum in Badagry? Try to visit the place, there are important artifacts on slavery there including chains/shackles with which slaves were tied. I think that speaks much of how highly pronounced it was in that side (Yorubaland).

If you look at the map of Nigeria, Yorubas are closest to the largest port in Nigeria which is Lagos. I'd assume they would be hardest hit because of that.
Also, a region was formerly called "Slave Coast"(the name says it all). "The Slave Coast is the name of the coastal areas of present Togo, Benin (formerly Dahomey) and western Nigeria, a fertile region of coastal Western Africa along the Bight of Benin."

So indeed, I think the slaves were mostly Yoruba people.

So so? Why do we need to know which tribe got robbed the most anyway?
Fashion / Re: Cornrows (Hair Braiding) In Nigeria by IAH(f): 8:54pm On Jun 15, 2006
my2cents:

What part of "African ancestry"? I can tell you definitely not Nigerian.

Definitely Nigerian.smiley Male Sango worshippers of Yorubaland are/were known to braid their hair all to the back i.e. All-back cornrows. (Exactly as it is in the picture above)
Politics / Re: Death Penalty For Exam Malpractices In Nigeria? - Satire by IAH(f): 12:38am On Jun 15, 2006
What about death penalty for breaking any of Nairaland rules and regulations? grin Even Seun will not survive that!!! cheesy
Sports / Re: Germany 2006: Players Likely To Impress Or Disappoint? by IAH(f): 12:06am On Jun 15, 2006
So far, I've been very impressed with:
Ronaldo - He made a great spectator yesterday. He was well positioned to run commentaries.
Family / Re: Wives: Would You Submit Your Paychecks To Your Husbands? by IAH(f): 11:57pm On Jun 14, 2006
mikun:

and for your info I do have a very good marriage which I thank God for.

Clap for yourself.
I've not even said you don't have a good marriage. I just asked someone if she's been to your home before 'mouthing' it.

mikun:

Experience is the best teacher, come back after you have been married.

You may call the Admin to lock this thread and give special access to only married peops lol. And by the way, the topic is not "Do you submit----" it said "Would you submit---" Figure out the difference.

That said, I do agree with the rest of your points. I've only picked out the ones that do not go down well with me.
Family / Re: Wives: Would You Submit Your Paychecks To Your Husbands? by IAH(f): 7:05pm On Jun 13, 2006
Bhola:

They don't know crap about life and think they know it all. Just like someone rightfully pointed out, when u all get married and your marriage is half as good as Ono and Mikun and all the virtuous women that posted here, then come back and let us know.

Hmmm it's easy to sit one's fat ass behind a [i]compurr[/i]a and claim wealth, maturity, experience, good marriage etc. Have you been to their houses and seen that they've got good marriages worth brandishing the way you've done in this quote above?
Nairaland / General / Re: Definition Of Feminism: What Is Feminism? by IAH(f): 4:40pm On Jun 13, 2006
Seun:

Was Pastor Bimbo Odukoya, as a prominent female minister, inferior to the men in any way?

You! beat me to it. I was going to mention Mother Theresa, Kathryn Kuhlman, Joyce Meyer and our own Bimbo Odukoya.
Nairaland / General / Re: Definition Of Feminism: What Is Feminism? by IAH(f): 7:33pm On Jun 12, 2006
mamaput:

There is a difference betwen a feminist and a want to be feminist . A feminist is a lady that will be able to represtent women anywere in the world.
Its not about proving who can do what better or getting insolent and intolerant.
Women have fought for many rights in the past . Not with a loose mouth but with brains.

Thank you, Mamaput. Well said. I've said it before on this forum. Feminism is not about words (Cheap talk) but action.
Nairaland / General / Re: Definition Of Feminism: What Is Feminism? by IAH(f): 7:23pm On Jun 12, 2006
spikyn:

Someone famous once said "A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle". Cracks me up all the time grin

svs:

so its what shes saying thats crap.i cannot believe thats even coming from a lady!shocking

Svs, that phrase was actually meant to defend we women. You know a fish doesn't need a bicycle, don't you? Same way the lady is saying we don't need men, lol. grin
Family / Re: Bundle Of Joy: Addition To My Family by IAH(f): 3:41pm On Jun 12, 2006
Congrats Sir Kay! God bless you and your family. cheesy
Travel / Re: Amusement Places For Kids In Nigeria by IAH(f): 3:02pm On Jun 12, 2006
Shagari2:

Hey don't diss Ife Zoo o! u can diss UI till your hearts content but lay of Great Ife o!

VOC Ife has a really nice zoo but they will def enjoy whispering palms in Badagry, loved it when I went.

Lol, I'm dissing Ife Zoo because it's a fake zoo compared to UI Zoo. Ife means as much to me as it means to you, so don't take it to heart. If you are an Alumnus of Ife Zoo grin, please go here and sign the register. cool

I forgot to add that Unilorin has the "fakest" zoo. Oya Unilorites come and bite me.
Family / Re: Newlywed Husband Living In Wife's Parents' House by IAH(f): 8:17pm On Jun 11, 2006
Seun:

He can go ahead and live with his in-laws if they are:
1) White
2) Educated abroad
3) Phd Holders
4) Liberals

If not, then there will definitely be problems. You cannot have two arrogant African gorrillas in the same territory!

Lol, you'll be surprised that whites (and people educated abroad) are even the most intolerant about living with extended family members.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 63 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 43