Christianity Etc › What God Cannot Do by jaephoenix(op): 1:13pm On Feb 22, 2023 |
Science has continued to break frontiers unheard of before. Like making people with amputated limbs have some life etc The latest is curing HIV cases. No its not your regular fake church testimony sessions. This is real. 5th person confirmed to be cured of HIV The Dusseldorf patient is latest to be rid of HIV with no signs of return. Referred to as "the Dusseldorf patient" to protect his privacy, researchers said he is the fifth confirmed case of an HIV cure. Although the details of his successful treatment were first announced at a conference in 2019, researchers could not confirm he had been officially cured at that time. Today, researchers announced the Dusseldorf patient still has no detectable virus in his body, even after stopping his HIV medication four years ago. "It’s really cure, and not just, you know, long term remission," said Dr. Bjorn-Erik Ole Jensen, who presented details of the case in a new publication in "Nature Medicine." "This obviously positive symbol makes hope, but there's a lot of work to do," Jensen said Recent Stories from ABC News For most people, HIV is a lifelong infection, and the virus is never fully eradicated. Thanks to modern medication, people with HIV can live long and healthy lives. The Dusseldorf patient joins a small group of people who have been cured under extreme circumstances after a stem cell transplant, typically only performed in cancer patients who don’t have any other options. A stem cell transplant is a high-risk procedure that effectively replaces a person's immune system. The primary goal is to cure someone's cancer, but the procedure has also led to an HIV cure in a handful of cases. With about 38.4 million people globally living with HIV, treatments have come a long way. Modern medication can keep the virus at bay, and studies looking into preventing HIV infection with a vaccine are also underway. The first person with HIV cure was Timothy Ray Brown. Researchers published his case as the Berlin patient in 2009. That was followed by the London patient published in 2019. Most recently, The City of Hope and New York patients were published in 2022. “I think we can get a lot of insights from this patient and from these similar cases of HIV cure," Jensen said. "These insights give us some hints where we could go to make the strategy safer." All four of these patients had undergone stem cell transplants for their blood cancer treatment. Their donors also had the same HIV-resistant mutation that deletes a protein called CCR5, which HIV normally uses to enter the cell. Only 1% of the total population carries this genetic mutation that makes them resistant to HIV. “When you hear about these HIV cure, it’s obviously, you know, incredible, given how challenging it’s been. But, it still remains the exception to the rule," said Dr. Todd Ellerin, director of infectious disease at South Shore Health. The stem cell transplantation is a complicated procedure that comes with many risks, and it is too risky to offer it as a cure for everyone with HIV. However, scientists are hopeful. Each time they cure a new patient, they gain valuable research insights that help them understand what it would take to find a cure for everyone. “It is obviously a step forward in advancing the science and having us sort of understanding, in some ways, what it takes to cure HIV," Ellerin said. Source https://abcnews.go.com/Health/5th-person-confirmed-cured-hiv/story?id=97323361 |
Christianity Etc › Re: What The World Need In 2023 by jaephoenix(m): 10:06am On Feb 22, 2023 |
Christianity Etc › Re: God's Miracle by jaephoenix(m): 8:29am On Feb 22, 2023 |
VictoriaIsland: Na u Sabi Christians like you don't wanna think rationally. Its almost as if its a taboo |
Christianity Etc › Re: God's Miracle by jaephoenix(m): 8:28am On Feb 22, 2023 |
Christianity Etc › Re: God's Miracle by jaephoenix(m): 8:27am On Feb 22, 2023 |
gohf: Never said he was rewarding them😏, I particularly love that Romans 9:22 😋😋 enduring someone with such patience because they are still going to be destroyed anyway 😂😂😂
I mean who doesn't like a God who will punish the wicked, don't you just love the fact that ALL who refuse to repent and change from their wickedness will be punished, all who have killed so as to have wealth, politicians who have lied. Young people like you and me who have decided to be evil and do evil without mercy will not be shown mercy.
Even though God was kind to them and gave them time to repent, even sent his messengers to them.
Are you not happy that those who have killed the innocent will be punished, or are you one of them, or their supporters.
Or are you the wicked who takes the little of the poor and laugh at the heavens thinking you will never be punished for it because God is still kind and waiting for you to return what you have stolen 😁😁😁
Or are you a deceiver that encourages people to be wicked and tells them there is no God who will punish them, thereby encouraging wickedness and trying to hide the result and effects of your wicked words 😯😯
Or would you like a world where the wicked will get away with their evil, so you can post there is no God and laugh in the face of heaven
Or are you afraid that there is a God like the bible said and all your words and lies will be held against you 😏😏😏
God is kind to them because He is kind, He is patient so that they will repent but He is also just to judge those who have been hurt and wounded, He is the judge of all the earth. Even those who are forgiven suffer by the hands of God how much more those who do not repent.
The long and short is that if you could quote the scripture Peter-2 2:1, and still twist posts into lies
But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction
then you must really think there is no judgment anyway for wickedness and you will get away with it
So why complain if God allows anyone to fool themselves, if He even let's you to. I am sure you have nothing to be afraid about a God somewhere who would let you do whatever you want and judge you for it. I mean he should have stopped you. 😁😏 like teachers stop students who don't listen in class from writing rubbish and failing their exams Im not one of your regular theists who believe any bullshit spewed by anyone. Your bible verses clearly said yahweh destroys the wicked. He abhors them. Their prayers are abominations to him and he doesn't answer such. So what is all this bullshit youre trying to defend? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 7:54pm On Feb 21, 2023 |
Jashub: So you're discrediting a scholar whose reputation is widely recognized even in the atheist and agnostic communities...? Please how many of your works have you publish on the subject of existence or nonexistence of God. If you haven't then you're in a position to talk Fallacy of appeal to authority. What I write is irrelevant. Its not being scrutinized. What is being scrutinized is Ehrman's book. I went through the book and there was no concrete historical points. Please go through the book and point out the facts and correct me. |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 6:19pm On Feb 21, 2023 |
TenQ: It's your call! Thank you for the revelation |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 6:17pm On Feb 21, 2023 |
Jashub: Oga, he's a renowned scholar in the US who has taught in alot of Ivy league schools. Currently, he's not a Christian but an agnostic who provided factual evidences that Jesus was indeed a historical individual. Kindly read up his work on the subject Lol So suddenly he's 'factual' to you because he said Jesus lived. But he's not factual to you about his agnosticism . Why didn't you believe his agnostic message but you believe his message about Jesus? You now remember he's an ivy league scholar  Anyway about his book, Jesus: Apocalyptic Prophet of the New Millennium I went through it, and there was no historicity or credibility he attached to Jesus existence. Its just like J.K Rowling writing about Harry Potter. It doesn't mean Potter lived. Do you understand? If I'm lying, check the book and point out his historicity there |
Christianity Etc › Re: Nasa Completes Mission To Find & Kill God by jaephoenix(m): 6:05pm On Feb 21, 2023 |
theseeker2: This is the most idiotic thread ever on NL Very idiotic. Op just put a clickbait there and slapped on a sensational topic to lure people |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 11:54pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Jashub: Bart isnt a Christian...he's agnostic. Note the difference … but he's a New Testament scholar, takes his time talking about it. But whatever he is, is irrelevant. What is relevant is the credibility of his book. He tried to create an argument on Jesus existence, unsuccessfully |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 11:30pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
TenQ: It's okay if you know Him as the uncreated "SOURCE" of life
He is not English or Igbo nor Fulani, etc! Then he's Flying Spaghetti Monster. All praise to his noodly limbs |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 11:18pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
TenQ: The immaterial uncreated "SOURCE" of life is he who did the programming. And s/he doesn't have a name? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 11:16pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Jashub: Ignorance is bliss...look up Bart Ehrman before displaying stupid attached to ignorance So I checked out about Bart Ehrman and he's just another christian scholar. Whats special about him? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 11:09pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Jashub: You're the one that made Josephus argument fake by coming up with your own delusions about fact that's known by many atheists and agnostics. And the last time I checked , reputatable Scholars (including atheists) believed Jesus existed. Even the almighty, Bart Ehrman, an agnostic and one of Christianity’s most outspoken critics, believes that Jesus was a historical flesh and blood person.
If you're still looking for historians who believe and wrote about the historical individual called Jesus, just Google Pliny the Younger . 1. Lol. Am I the one that wrote the articles on Josephus? Lol. Youre funny. It is a well known fact amongst scholars that his depositions are fake. 2. I don't even know 'the almighty Bart Ehrman' you're on about. But whatever he said, its irrelevant. What is relevant is the truth. Josephus account is clear forgery, spoken by many authors, not just one(and definitely not mine  ) 3. About Pliny, he was a Roman ruler. And he interfaced with christians, and not with JesusSo get your facts right |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 10:25pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Jashub: We've already debated this subject and I brought references to famous historians like Josephus and Tacitus who both accounted in their writings of Jesus existence . Going back and forth on this matter is actually boring ...  … and what did you get from our discourse? Josephus account was proved to fake and Tacitus's made a sentence about him. A sentence. |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 10:21pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Techobeys: It’s a course of event. It’s like a path and evening that should happen before you get to destination Where did you get this definition? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 10:14pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
von02: I weep for you for , so after seeing all these world events dovetail the prophecies in the Bible, you still prove stubborn to heed to God  You even had the audacity to call it a scam, Kai, what a deceitful and blinded age the Bible prophecied (Laodecean Age) and yet they don't know it. Let this be known to You, If God ever made a promise, He is OBLIGATED to His Promise, Heavens and Earth shall pass, but not His Word, it may take ages, but will certainly come to pass. It's even better I am Ready for the second coming as He promised, (because He MUST certainly Fulfill His Word), it's better am prepared to meet Him, than not to be prepared and have my self to be blamed on that day Which specific world events? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Opium Of The FAKE Second Coming Scam by jaephoenix(m): 10:12pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
Jashub: Everything is always true until proven false and so far it's impossible to assume that the second coming Jesus is a false narrative .
Secondly, just because you don't believe in a particular religion doesn't make it false. On the contrary the second coming of Christ is true because the Man Jesus Christ really existed, and if He existed , then the bible and its narratives must be true about what's to come 1. No. Your claim is everything is true til proven false is a lie. If I tell you I have wings and I fly to work everyday, I guess you won't need proof. Just believe me 2. Apart from your buybull, which history text corroborated the existence of Jesus, or better still lent credibility to his deity? |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 1:00pm On Feb 20, 2023 |
TenQ: You are made from inorganic dumb atoms that chemically reacted together isn't it.
Where did the "programming" that gave you CONSCIOUSNESS and INTELLIGENCE come from?
At least from the periodic table of elements and the laws of chemistry and physics, there is NOTHING that predict these attributes of yours.
Thank you Okay, so who specifically did the programming, sir? |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 1:03am On Feb 20, 2023 |
Dtruthspeaker: I am right even though I always stand to be validly corrected that I may learn only that which is True, which is why I argue and expect everyone to validly prove their point.
The only thing I need from people is the Truth. Look who's talking  |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 1:00am On Feb 20, 2023 |
Techobeys: I do not think this is a good definition to go by. Fate also means destiny you’re basically saying destiny is destiny that has been predetermined.
Kindly define destiny in a clear terms let’s see. This is Merriam Webster definition
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2023 |
Techobeys: I think you’re the one who needs to answer your question.
What’s destiny? I thought I have posted the definition here before. Destiny is a fate that is already predetermined irrespective of the course of events. |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 3:32pm On Feb 19, 2023 |
triplechoice: Clown. See who's talking. "Nigerians are notoriously poor in grammar". After saying so, the next thing is to confirm for everyone through what comes out from you that you're part of those Nigerians.
Another headache causing reply from you again. Chai. I don see something for Nairaland.Pot calling kettle black
Go and employ a private English language teacher. You don't know the grammar rules behind what you're correcting.
I have friends who are medical doctors and Nairalanders too. Unlike you, they don't always have the time to be on Nairaland 24/7 due to the nature of their job.
But you're always here probably because you're either not whom you claim to be or not very good in what you do.
Besides you're not too familiar with the regular medical jargons doctors use in describing some of the things they do. How do you expect people to believe your claim then?
"Legit" prescriptions. Mofo Like a lawyer calling his clients, customers. You have betrayed who you're already. Stop acting!
Go and help yourself with those "legit" medications you prescribe for your patients. . Once again bro. I'm sorry for correcting you and hurting your feelings.  Shit, you're more butt hurt than a whorre who got no customers for 1 week. Never seen a nigga this pained for a correction. Lol See, I understand sniper is costly these days. You can try any river near you. Or get a rope. I don't think you would be too fat, so you can use bedsheets as a noose, and do the needful  I use any word I wanna use to describe anything, as long as it's grammatically correct.  |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 1:58pm On Feb 19, 2023 |
triplechoice: Go and take your "legit" prescriptions.
How often do you find other nairalanders correcting the spelling mistakes of others or drawing attention to it.
You have failed woefully Oh, there are many. Your ignorance is top-notch. There's even one with moniker of Nairaland police(or something like that). But I don't go around correcting peeps as you can see from my posts. |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 12:59pm On Feb 19, 2023 |
Dtruthspeaker: I have already rebutted your stupid statement in a smart and civil manner. So we all know that you are talking rubbish out of the pain of your several disgracefull losing. So you have nothing valid to say but to commit the fallacy of attacking the man. Stupid Sore Loser  Awww. Ma nigga DTruthSpeaker is truly butt hurt. Sorry bro. Word of advice: Always take your L in peace, like triplechoice, and don't look back  |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 12:57pm On Feb 19, 2023 |
triplechoice: Clown. Grammar inadequacies is correct . I don't expect you to know anyway. You don't know the difference between grammar and grammatical . I guess you were never taught attributive nouns in the mushroom school you attended .
You have used the word ,crack, like an illiterate who wants to impress others and now defending it foolishly.
I never boasted at anytime that I speak perfect English. Correcting me is meaningless and wayward You started this whole nonsense which has exposed you . Everything you're doing now is just to save face.
I can correct myself if I spot the errors on time, but in your case you can't . That's the difference between you and me
You thought you found something in my reply which you could use to mock me .But it has unfortunately worked against you.
Your major preoccupation on Nairaland is to mock others whom you assume you're more intelligent than, whereas nothing in your head.
You can continue with the denial and self deception. That's your business.
Just look at how you're now using the excuse of auto-correct for your inability to differentiate between its and it's.
Even if that were true, why have you not been correcting them after you hit the submit button? You don't because you don't know the correct one to use. That's the truth.
And you reply again is filled with errors, Mr English teacher who also claims to be a medical doctor that corrects his patients grammar in his consulting room.
A medical doctor using the word, legit, to qualify prescriptions he gives to his patients.
You put "your medications on the spot" to see if they were "legit" and "They all checked out" lol
Impostor! You can deceive others not me.
Go and take "your medications" they are actually "legit". Grammatical errors is correct while grammar errors aint. You're welcome  And I never boasted I speak perfect grammar. In fact I even told you myself, I do have irregularities but you were already bawling like a baby while reading the post. Apologies for making you cry, bro. Not intended. Correcting people isn't being proud. Its being meticulous. Nigerians are notoriously poor in grammar and knowledge. Now if everyone assumes your mindset of 'Your grammar or knowledge is poor, so don't correct me' then we become a nation of poor quality(which is already happening) And I don't re-read comments after hitting submit. Call it laziness. Call it pride. Dunno. I'm not here to argue about my profession. I'm not interested in impressing you or anyone, for that matter. Only reason you know my vocation is because I want my audience to know my perspective. This is Nairaland, lots of impostors here. Maybe I am one. Maybe I aint. So take your tear filled exposition and give it to anyone that cares |
Christianity Etc › Re: Uncovering the Surprising Reason Jesus Said "The Violent Taketh it by Force" by jaephoenix(m): 10:52am On Feb 19, 2023 |
Dtruthspeaker: Talking rubbish and lying as usual because you are always a failure when you come against me. I woulda been surprised if you came up with a civil or smart rebuttal. But this is Dtruthspeaker, one of the dumbest theists to draw breath. I would as well expect a piece of rock to talk to me  |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 10:49am On Feb 19, 2023 |
TenQ: You don't have to believe in miracles, the people I engage with believes in it. Therefore, you are in a wrong section sir.
Were there witnesses of miracles in the Bible or these were done in secret? That is the point.
Too bad you don't believe in miracles as your existence is just one pure mind boggling miracle How is my existence a miracle? My pops hits on my moms and boom, I was made. Where's the miracle process? There's no need to ask you to provide evidence of your miracle claims, both of you |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 10:20am On Feb 19, 2023 |
TenQ: Unfortunately for you, this is between two sets of THEISTS who believe in MIRACLES!
The point of argument is: Who are the witnesses to Mohammed's claims: NO ONE! Not his 13 Wives, not his companions, not people in Mecca or Medina, not the Jews .... Unfortunately these two sets of THEISTS have the same illness: gullibility. And they accuse each set of being gullible, while being totally guilty of the same sin. You claim Mo had no witnesses to his many claims, but you quickly forget the bible is filled with mind bending stories, like Samson slaughtering many Philistines. Imagine one man killing thousands of able bodied men, and they were all queued up waiting for Samson to kill them with a donkey jawbone. If you believe the above story(and many like it in the Bible) without witnesses or corroborations from mainstream history books, then you're even worse than Muslims  |
Christianity Etc › Re: Mohammed's Night Journey To The 7 Heavens: REAL Or FICTIONAL by jaephoenix(m): 10:14am On Feb 19, 2023 |
SIRTee15: When we say the bible is the word of God, we don't mean the texts itself but the revelation in the texts. Bible writers gave narration of events based on the understandings of the limited knowledge available to them at that time. the letter killeth but the spirit gives life. Pls be guided. Hold up! Are you saying the events in the Bible didn’t literally happen, or what? |
Christianity Etc › Re: SCIENTIFICALLY PROVEN THAT '' THANKING GOD HEALS '' by jaephoenix(m): 10:12am On Feb 19, 2023 |
LordReed: Scientifically proven but you provide no scientific proof. SMH. If you clicked this thread and was actually hoping to see scientific evidence, then you need your head checked |
Christianity Etc › Re: Why Do You Stopped Going To Church ? by jaephoenix(m): 10:10am On Feb 19, 2023 |
Lasgidi90: You guys are so quick to call anyone who doesn't believe in your god a lost sheep. Do you seriously think he is the only god out there. Lol. Don't get your knickers in a twisters. I was being sarcastic. That recipient is agnostic and knows I'm an atheist |