goldcoinhub: A video sighted by Lailasnews.com has shown the moment a female drug trafficker was captured in an Asian country with cocaine braided into her hair.
Female drug trafficker caught with cocaine braided into her hair
The black lady looking sober in the video, probably regretting her action, had the illegal substance frozen and weaved into her heir to appear as mere braids.
This is Nobanda, a south African lady who was arrested in 2011 en route Thailand. Her case came up recently and her 15 year sentence was reduced by 2.5 years.
JaceBlaze: They are so xenophobic that you actually stayed for 10 years?
Read between the lines. I was not attacking South Africa and i am sorry if you're a black south African. I do not have anything against SA but gratitude.
TYPOP: Please allow me to be the devil's advocate and proffer some words about SA not wanting Nigerians in their country, hence long visa processing times.
1. Ask yourself, which country wants Nigerians in them? Really? Our brothers have given us a bad image all over the world. And the government is not helping matters. In this regard, don't blame the other countries, blame i) our brothers and sisters that have soiled our image and ii) our government who make our people want to leave in droves.
2. The longer processing times may not be fully intentional as you think. The embassy staff have a lot of responsibilities. Issuing visas is not the only responsibility. Unfortunately, as things are so hard in present day Nigeria, there are much more people looking for visas out of Nigeria than in the past 6 years. As such, the embassies (not just SA) are overwhelmed. This will surely lead to a much longer processing time.
3. Because of the volume of application to be dealt with, it will not be difficult for an officer to deny visa based on the flimsiest of reasons. This was not the case 6 years ago when they could even call you to resubmit some documents.
4. Ask yourself this question: The time I went to submit my document, how many of us were there? How long will it take the officers in the office to check all our documents, verify them and attend to all of us. Now, multiply that by that same number of people going to the embassy EVERYDAY!
Does all these mean I condone the SA Embassies for the delays, NO. I'm just saying, look at the flip side.
Peace.
True, but sad. It is funny how we blame SA for our problems. Ask any Nigerian to choose between living in Nigeria or SA, most will choose SA. Why? Nigeria is a hell on earth. Is it only SA that does not want us in their country? The whole world is against us. If you're in SA and doing well, you had better thank your God and stop complaining about your inability to get Visa for your girlfriend. There are many Nigerians with better qualifications but sadly roaming about the streets at home. South Africa has gotten nothing to loose if they decide to deport all Nigerians and before anyone says "we will close Mtn, shorprite, games among others in Nigeria ", who are those working in those places? I admit there are bad South Africans, especially black south Africans, but same cannot be said of south African government that continues to give scholarships to Africans to pursue Masters and Doctorates. How many South Africans are in Nigeria universities? How many South Africans come to Nigeria for vacation? Vacation where? Zamfara? Kaduna? Borno or Katsina? For those of us who want to emigrate to SA, package well your documents and be prayerful. If you're already in SA, live by the rules and continue to pray for God's protection.
AdolfHitlerxXx: I am sorry to say this, but the rich gal's family likely got away with framing the luggage handlers.
Comparing the cost of Cocaine vs Tramadol is the first indicator.
The 2nd is ... the Family's influence and speed she was extracted. If you get in trouble even when 100% innocent and expect Nigerian FG to bail out, your bones would be dust before that happens.
The girl's family is so influential that they were able to pressurize the FG into bringing the matter up when discussing a business deal with Saudi.
Saudi of course would be "reasonable" so as not to jeopardize 100s of millions of dollars on the line.
Case in point - Jamal Khasoggi. The US looked the other way. What's his life compared to billions of dollars Saudi gives annually?.
Tramadol vs Cocaine comparison is as stupid as saying someone tried to steal a stainless steel cup when there was diamond or platinum available.
Pray you will never fall a victim. When your gate pass is issued, the number of luggage you are travelling with is clearly imprinted.This must have been checked by the Saudis immigration department and in addition to a fact that she only picked her luggage and left for her hotel. However, if she was involved anyway, it is okay to set free 99 criminals but wrong to jail one innocent person.
Realslimshady: I'm a final year student of the University, I just found out that I got kicked out of the university due to the fact that I have been unable to register for the previous semester (which I did my Siwes). I don't know what to do now ,has anyone ever passed through this ? how did you overcome it? how did you pick yourself up? is there any possibility that I can still return?
If you fail to register for courses in a single calendar year without applying for suspension of study, it means you have withdrawn from your programme. This is different from rustication. Rustication is when you are suspended for at least a semester due to examination misconduct or gross wrongdoing. That being said, you cannot be withdrawn by your HOD but by the Senate. You may appeal the decision of the Senate if you have a strong reason for not registering, e.g. on medical ground. Good luck.
Kyase: #KanoReRun Kanawa Sumaila Local Govt. APC 753 PDP 13
Stop posting fake results. The highest number of registered voters in a polling unit is 750.From experience as somebody who has been actively involved, only about half of 750 would have collected their PVCs. Out of those that have PVCs, not all of them will come out to vote. Even, if there are VPs, this your figure is erroneous.
simplymh: Hope everyone is fine. I applied for a South African study visa on the 14th November 2018. I am yet to get a response. The email and phone numbers on the South Africa High Commission website are not working. A visit to the High Commission office was also futile as I was refused entry and told to channel all visa issues to VFS. What can one do? I have also written the International Students Office of the university where I intense to pursue Phd Studies but that also has not yielded any result. Is there any channel available to speak to the consular office?
The new SA High Commissioner is the one making the permit process complex. However, as a PhD student you need not worry too much because you can commence your study anytime. You only need to inform your supervisor and the International Office.
mushystuff: Non-interference? Fair? With the blatant attack against the CJN and his illegal 'suspension'? That is the worst form of interference but the judiciary stood its ground! Why do u think the Court of Appeal already granted that questionable stay of execution of judgment even when the Supreme Court in a judgment last year had pronounced the correctness and propriety of the ruling of the state high court?
Attack my foot. You must be a learner to believe that CJN actually forgot to declare humongous money discovered in his bank accounts. You and I may not like Buhari but I think we should applaud him for non interference in Rivers state judgement , if it were to be other way, PDP would have written everybody in the world . A questionable stay of execution granted by the court of Appeal? You mut be a PDP member.
Of course the Supeme court will say that the FG action is unconstitutional but will ask Onoghen to step aside pending the conclusion of his alleged infraction , and the new acting CJN should continue in acting capacity. Nothing has changed, Onoghen has a case to answer.
Mystick: Waitoo apart from APC members and their zombies which other reasonable and neutral organization, national and international support this move by Buhari? Does it mean that the lawyers and the Supreme Court judges do not know the laws anymore? So zombies are now the interpreters of our laws and no longer judiciary of which lawyers are the core if not the only constituents.
In as much you want to condem the action of Buhari, you pause a bit to ask yourself ' how did CJN come about this humongous money?' ' How can a sane person forget to declare a whooping million dollars ?' Then, why did the CJN suspend indefinitely the NJC meeting? By the way, Niger-Delta militants and Ijaw Youth Council are many of neutral organizations that have come out to support the action of Buhari.
sage111: After they have Collected 15bn for their Salaries, they are seeking public opinions.....
Awon thieves..... Everyone fighting for his pocket
SELFISH LOTS
Ignorance is now a crime in this era of information explosion. The 15bn released by the federal government is to settle the salary arrears of staff of 12 federal universities who have been receiving modulated salaries since the inception of this present government. Modulated payment as a result of shortfall in salaries and that is what the government promised to settle. If you don't see this struggle as a struggle for students, what befell public primary and secondary schools in Nigeria will soon hit the university education.
I need your help deciding the best smartphone to accept as Christmas gift from my Uncle who just arrived from “the abroad” .
He brought home Huawei Y9 2019 and Samsung Galaxy S8 for my younger sister and I but I get to choose first because I am the eldest and It’s being hard deciding the one to settle for.
Samsung Galaxy has built a name for itself over the years but I feel like exploring something better and different entirely. Compared to the 5.8 inches screen and 3000mAh of battery which Samsung Galaxy S8 boasts of (which I am sure isn’t as long-lasting as Huawei Y9 2019), I am pretty sure Huawei Y9 2019 won’t be a bad choice afterall.
From the reviews I have seen online and the articles I have read online about the Huawei Y9 2019, I feel like it’s the smartphone of the moment for a camera freak like me because I will love to take thousands of pictures when I go on Xmas trip to Olumirin waterfalls and Calabar festival (adventure and food is my weakpoint ) and I won’t have to worry about charging my device from time to time because of its 4000mAh strong battery.
Besides, I get to play candy crush and my favourite games to my utmost satisfaction and watch movies on it like I am in a cinema because of its super-powered 6.5 inches screen with excellent display features (I started to fall in love with this phone from the pictures I saw online). Also heard about the unique Huawei Kirin 710 processor which makes the phone very efficient, fast and takes multi-tasking to a whole new level (I am drooling over this phone already .
Unfortunately, my uncle won’t let me use the two and make my choice afterwards. I guess I am too greedy .. This is probably the hardest decision to make right now in my life
So guys, please, what should I settle for between Huawei Y9 2019 and Samsung S8?
Please advice your baby girl!!
I will go for Galaxy S8 for the following reasons: - You cannot buy class, you earn it! No matter how better Y9 is, it is a Chinko phone - S8 is more expensive (N220,000) than Y9 (N98,000), S8 is likely to have a better second value - Never compare an orange with an apple, no basis for comparison. Compare samsung with Iphone please.
adioolayi: ISI is a private run school, it is independent of FG. That being said, how will it look like if the celestials, cherubim, masquerades, Osun, sango, Obatala, Ifa and Ogun worshippers all come in their attires since we are independent nation ISI is over 50yeras old, Muslim parents should not disturb the peace of that school.
ISI is not a private school. It is owned by a public, federal university, University of Ibadan. Over the years, its staff are on the payroll of the federal government until recently when the federal government asked all universities to take control of their schools. The case is still in court because staff members are opposed to idea of this autonomy. A government school should respect the right of everybody, it is a constitutional right.
computergeek: I'm not trying to bring them down or denigrate them, but I just feel Muslims like to act as if they're being mistreated. I understand that they take their religion as a culture, but then again they should stop forcing their nuggets on other people, because some of us take our religions very seriously too but we know when to cut back.
A government school is not a religious school. It won't kill anyone if the girls drop their hijabs for a few hours of school. Schools don't allow Catholic kids to wear Chaplets and medals and finger Rosaries. Schools don't allow girls from other Christian denominations to cover their hair or wear Church vests to school, so why should Muslim girls be permitted to wear hijabs to government schools? Everyone should try to be more tolerant, more flexible and less over-zealous.
What is wrong in wearing a headscarf in government schools that is entrenched in the right of religion? My dear, the world has moved on from this parochial and unidirectional view of issues. The morning assembly is riddled with Christian rites, Muslims never complain. Muslims are forced to buy songs of praise, they never complain. But you are quick to attack Muslims because of headscarf. Who cares if Babalawos daughters dress with opele-laced uniform, as long she is not infringing on other pupils rights.
daewoorazer: Following a sour experience at one of Nigeria’s airport, the star actor didn’t fail to make his disappointment known. He even blasted every Nigerian citizen for being too docile while the government strip them of their rights.
Campus4u: Nonsense I wonder how people think.....after years of non payments and people still get mind dey vote this party in this state....i will not be sorry for you fools when you will come here crying non payments again
There is nothing like non payments in Osun, what is in place is a modulated salary. In terms of infrastructural development, Ogbeni will get a pass mark. If the PDP has fielded a better candidate than this dancing senator, APC will be dead by now. Running a state that receives the lowest allocation from the FG will be intellectually challenging to someone with no single credit in WASC. Why do you think we are in a mess nationally today? Your guess is as good as mine.
wristbangle: In SouthAfrica, DSTV is not among the top TV satellite brands as competitors offers quality service and reasonable price to them. It's only in Nigeria where nepotism and corruption is having a field day they can practice this unlawful act of milking the masses and it's courtesy of the orangutans/clueless barbarians in power.
Ideally, if competition speaks in the TV satellite sectors just like in the telecommunications, by now even their premium subscription price would have reduced to N1000 or be forced to shut down. If not for the likes of Glo who brought per secs billing, Money Taking Network ABI EmptyHen will still be billing us per min.
Useless thieves.
DSTV is also the top TV satellite in SA. The rate is even higher when you compare its Rand equivalence to Naira. The same way Nigerians complain is the same way South Africans also complain. The premium package was R750 (N22,500) as at 2015. I don't know what the rate is now. The only edge South Africa has over Nigeria is that internet service from the Telkom is affordable and many have switched to Netflix and co.
What DSTV has done is to monopolize airing of EPL, LaLiga and other notable programmes. The only way to break their shackles of monopoly and exorbitant rates is by granting access to other satellite TVs to these notable programmes.
superemmy: My problem is mostly our government's total unwillingness to act up. Why are Mtn and shoprite not sanctioned for their unending infractions?
Why is Dstv left to operate with a monopoly unrivalled by any Nigerian firm or operating services?
Why is the Nigerian government refusing to indigenise the south African companies and block their unhindered foreign exchange repartriation back to their country?
I blame Nigeria's soft stance towards this issue? If even at home, the Government doesn't regard the sanctity of human life, how then can they protect it overseas?
Buhari You have failed. By now a normal government supposed to withdraw embassy and issue international threats of equal violent reactions.
I lived in South Africa for 10 years and I still go there once in a while. I can tell you that his death might have come from several angles. Some Nigerians without legal means of livelihood are into drugs business and funnily Nigerians kill each other in this gory business. If a Nigerian is killed in a remote village, his death is most likely to be from jealous South Africans; if a Nigerian is killed in a CBD, I can tell you it is likely to be drug-related.
AlphaT1: As a seasoned public servant, my heart bleeds whenever I read what you young ones with no experience come to social media to post. I am not a member of JOHESU but look at this objectively, a fresh medical officer enters the public service at grade level (GL)12 while pharmacist and lab sci enter on GL 10, nurse on GL 8....how can these salaries be the same? doctor's call duty allowance is 4% of his basic salary while pharmacist's call duty is 2% of his basic salary...now how can 4% of GL 12 be same with 2% of GL 10? Nurses collect shift duty allowance, how can a meagre shift duty allowance of GL 8 be the same with 4% of GL 12? A medical officer who enters on GL 12 as resident and becomes a fellow after 4 or 6yrs is upgraded to GL 15 ..it takes a pharmacist minimum of 12 yrs to get to GL 15 and nurse minimum of 18 yrs to get to GL 15. NMA is really not helping the Nigerian health sector.
Thank you sir. However, some lazy Nigerian youths will never understand this and it is painful. The ethos of a multidisciplinary healthcare system around the world revolves around a professional identity, inter-disciplinary collaborations, establishing clarity of professional roles and boundaries, equity in distribution of resources and the list go on. What JOHESU is fighting for is NOT an equality but an equity, that is giving every health workers what they need to become successful. I doubt if Nigerian physicians understood the difference between equality and equity?
jomoh: You folks won’t stop disgracing yourselves in the name of religious intolerance and sentiments you have against the religion of Islam.
Is there any rules or regulation that supersedes the Nigerian constitution?
Is the law of the NBA superior to the constitution that gives her the freedom of religion, association and basic human right?
You had better save your energy for something positive. This is one issue that has generated a national discourse and I am pretty sure the solutions wont come from the pages of Nairaland but by the same people who made the law. Some people, no matter how good the intention is will never support it. The day will stop seeing every issue from the lens of religion and being objective, it will mark the beginning our success. -
Isokowadoo: Stupid Buhari not every woman can be as dumb as Aishahalliburton
This is the same reason why we will continue to wallow in abject poverty. On one hand, we support those people who have looted our resources to a state of stupor. And we later turn around to condemn the government for lack of governance. Patience Jonathan was not only being prosecuted because she is GEJ's wife, but also she is being asked to account for her monumental wealth as a civil servant of the federal republic. Mrs Jonathan is a permanent secretary for goodness sake! Being a GEJ's wife, if PDP happens to rescue power from APC in 2019 general election, let them go after Aisha Burari if she is found wanting. As a civil servant, let her tell the whole world how she came about her sudden wealth that runs into Billions.
I have read so many articles on the coming to US issue and i just don't want to repeat what i have read before. This topic is for those that have the opportunity to LEGALLY migrate to the US but also have a good life in Nigeria. Whether you have made the decision to leave Nigeria or you are afraid to leave kindly consider this.
I met a guy recently in Chicago and he changed my life forever about migration to the US, I would summarize his life and add my comments. He used to work in big telecommunication company in Nigeria (y'hello) after bagging a masters from UK. His wife a US citizen filed for him and he finally decided to resign and enter the US in 2010. We met in downtown Chicago and he is now a finance manager in a big US consulting firm earning 6-figure salary. He told me two principles he works with -
*Believe that there is a God who can do all things and answer prayers *Runaway from people that say; you cannot make it in the US or those that would always have stories of woes to say about living in the US. Avoid negative people like plagues. These are my own conclusion from what he said and his life style -
Point 1 - A lizard in Nigeria cannot become a Crocodile in the US - A lizard would always be a lizard regardless its geographical location. If you cannot make it in the country where you have birth right advantages then it is gonna be more difficult to make it in a place where even your accent is a hurdle to cross.
Point 2 - US would be to you whatever you want it to be - This guy has only spent 3 years in US and he earns 6 figures with all the luxuries of life, i have met people here that have spent over 25 years in US and have nothing to boast about. Choose what you want to be. US economy is far better than Nigerian economy and also in standard of living so i wonder on what basis people would say living in Nigeria is better than living in US.
Point 3 - Be Professional - Take advantage of any professional experience you have had, although US prefers their own qualifications and experience above any foreign qualifications but there are some skills that are universal. Be ready to start small but your prior experience would distinguish you for rapid progress with time. All you need is that US experience and you would be a hot cake in their labor market. Have a career focus, do not jump into any job line via certificate courses because people say it's lucrative, that's the formula to living the average life for long years to come. I do not have a rule against doing blue collared jobs to survive but have a career focus.
Point 4 - Get a US Education - Working hard wont give you success rather working smart. It would be in rare cases that a bricklayer would be richer than a medical doctor or engineer. You are lucky you would find yourself in a country where education is well funded! Get an MBA, PhD, M Sc or pursue your professional exams (US version). If you tow the line of menial laborer you would create an income boundary ceiling but educated your income potentials are limitless.
Point 5 - Leave Black African Myths/Curses behind in Nigeria - I have heard too many stories of how it is unfortunate to be a black man in America, i used to believe these myths until Obama became president of America. I am an African immigrant in the US and many occasions i have dropped coins into the cups of beggars that are American natives, yes racism exist but whites are not sentimental when it comes to recognizing good talents that can make money for them.
Point 6 - Do not forget your identity - A colleague of mine used to say "sabi yourself no be abuse". The problem most immigrants have is that they forget who they are and start acting the American part. The American welfare system is designed for the Americans that have no other place they call home, except you plan to die in the US and dash your dead body to their government then you need to remember that one day you may go back home. American life is the Debt system, they can make you earn like a pauper and live like a king. Most Americans are not sentimental about owning properties like we Africans are so they pile up debts to enjoy life and when they die the bank forecloses the house which is still on mortgage and "Repo" the car still on lease. Live within your income, avoid credit card debts, buy a car on need basis, yes get a house on mortgage but also buy a land back home, do not start acquiring liabilities and unnecessary loans - a saying goes _ if you jump up to a height you would come down back but if you grow up you would remain in that height.
Point 7 - Avoid criminal activities, illegal activities - A saying goes -There is no short cut to the top of a palm tree, the easiest way to ruin your life in the US is to have a criminal record. US is not Nigeria where you can bribe the police and their record keeping system is impeccable. Don't move with the wrong crowd and don't roll with tribal sentiments which might lead to allowing people use you for illegal processes or activities. It is better for friends and family to declare you wanted than for the US government to declare you wanted.
I have more to say but it is getting too long.....to be continued .... Job finding tricks
When Nairaland was NAIRALAND , not these days when it has been infested with bigotic and tribalistic posts. Even in today's circumstances, your messages still remain evergreen. God bless the op.
tinkinjow: I like Osibade.... The thing is: given a different cast the story would have been great bur in this instance it's very lame.
Given Tinubus smartness, he needed not to know you. All he needed was find out about a man who would swallow the bait hook, line and sinker and afterwards will do his bidding even when woken from the sleep. Osibade you probably didn't know that his foot soldiers have tested you and found you the right man for the plan.
Osibade even as you are talking right now you're unwittingly paying homage to Tinubu even without his urging. He knew that's how you'll turn out. The very reason you're discussing Tinubu shows what and how you have sold yourself to him. And the very fact that he doesn't even try to pretend to give you the respect as the vice president speak volumes. Btw when you are done running his errands you can go back to Abuja and pretend to be our acting president.
I fear I too am program by Nigeria to sit idle in the face of disastrous leadership. So we're both being used. The difference is that i know my situation but you Osibade you don't know.
These days, I hardly make comments on this forum. Your anti-epistle about Tinubu is perhaps a brilliant piece, but warped with bigotry and one-sided. People that behave this way hardly make it in life. Every story has a head and a tail, and the only victim here is you and not Tinubu. Please, go and listen to the "Danger of a single story" by Chimanda Adichie, and the VP name is spelt Osinbajo.