RoughCut's Posts
Nairaland Forum › RoughCut's Profile › RoughCut's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 41 pages)
First Bank may extend public offer Read------------>http://www.proshareng.com/myproshare/portal_news.php?id=2515 |
why would i be shy? Just wondered if anybody was chatting as i have not used the chat forum on Nairaland before |
Intercontinental Banks’s public offering oversubscribed by 774% Please read this------------------>http://nigeriaworld.com/cgi-bin/axs/ax.pl?http://odili.net/news/source/2007/jun/14/215.html For those who bought into the IPO last year share certificates will be out 3rd July if you are waiting to flip your shares not long to go and let me know! |
Hi All |
same. Another one i use is ----->http://www.africancapitalmarkets.com/stock/index.php |
NSE Lists 4bn Custodian & Allied Insurance Shares. Read this -------->http://www.thisdayonline.com/nview.php?id=80799 Is this one of the ones to watch? |
@naijacutee Hiya you`ve been a bit quiet on the business thread of late. I remember in your post to the use of ethanol fuel in naija you said you were having your exams so how did that go? Expecting your deferred contribution to ethanol fuel in naija.NNPC is entering into contracts to import the stuff any way we defer this to the appropriate thread |
Prospects of bonus, cash dividend drive up Zenith Bank price Read this------>http://www.businessdayonline.com/?c=56&a=13730 |
@naijaking1 It`s becoming incresaingly difficult to operate in the American business environment it is probably one of the most over-regulated stock exchange and business environment in the world so this tends to discourage those who might be tempted to look across the atlantic . I understand why this is the case at least the memory of Enron, MCI and all other entities that collapsed due to fraudulaent and sharp practises of the executives with billions of dollars of investors` money is still fresh in our memory but at the same time there has to be a balance between the need to protect investors from these white collar frauds and a deregulated business environment that is conducive to business. Striking a balance i think is a very difficult task indeed. London is more business friendly For those business savvy minds out there dont overlook london personally i`m looking at South Africa and Angolan stock exchange(to be opened later this year) these are markets that have yet to attain anything like their real potentials so if you get in early the better. By the way the biggest banks in Nigeria are in the process of listing on the London stock exchange(UBA,FBN,Oceanic,Zenith,UBN and two others) |
www.firstglobalselect.com and you can select select the link for any african country you want. I`m personally looking at Angola and South Africa though Angola`stock exchange is not opening until sometime later in the year |
i share Tmoni sentiments. I bought 100,000 units when it was 1.65 Naira in 2004 so i gues its time to bail like i said in an earlier thread i think its trading at its peak and not much room for a swing upwards. You have been told the rest is up to you! Obajana cement and the flour mills are much more profitable propositions shame i missed out on the sugar refinery but hopefully not the next time around |
I was a bit annoyed that this was meant to be a serious thread for budding real estate magnates but after thinking about it i have seen the funny side¨. All work and no play makes plezant a dull girl:-) |
Like i said earlier i think Access bank is selling at their peak so not much room for upward movement in share prices. They have also raised capital by selling bonds just to bump up the shareholders funds so if you divide the bank`s market capitalisation by the number of shares held by investors that is not a lot in terms of the share price which is why they had to do a share reconstruction in the first place to reduce the shares being held by investors. So I wont be surprised if another share reconstruction `happens` in the future. This is not to say whoever wants to invest should not but Access shares i think have had their day. |
@nijainvest Your analysis is only half-true. When Access bank did a share reconstruction by halving the share holders` holdings they also at the same time compensated by making sure that the price of the share doubled so in effect the value of your holding is still the same. We bought about 100,000 units back in 2004 at about 1.65 Naira now the price is about 20 Naira now and with this new IPO with a discount of about 6.00 Naira its your call if you want to invest in the bank`s IPO. Personally i believe the shares are trading at their peak so not much room for an upward movement. This is what i think personally and not backed up by any facts or figures but just gut-feeling |
To buttress my point pls read this------------->http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/suntech/2007/may/30/suntech-30-05-2007-001.htm The point is that this initiative needs to be thought-thru properly and come up with a sound business plan/proposal. Its not a bandwagon that anyone can just jump on like many other things. This is emerging technology and the business case is obvious so if we do something the potentials in terms of returns are almost endless. Keep your contributions coming and let us conclude with sometning tangible that we can move forward with. |
@naijacutee all the best in your exams. Go and break a leg! @seun The problem is the oil. Sunlight and natural gas which we have in abundance are environmentally friendly alternative sources of energy. Fossil fuel is the major culprit when we are talking of environmental pollution. Anything that will reduce our dependence on fossil fuel is welcome. Like some people have suggested ethanol production can be vaible in certain areas of the country especially in the north where a great proportion of the land mass can be put to better use for renewable sources of energy. There is Bio-diesel which is environmentally friendly and can be made from recycled cooking oil. How much cooking oil do we throw down the drain after using it?. There is money to be made in this alternate technology it just needs resesearch and some funding in the initial stages wherever that is either in nigeria or abroad Global warming is no joke and the earlier we start thinking of environmentally friendly alternative sources of energy the better for us and the generation coming after us Thanks for your contributions so far well thought out and enlightening. |
I have been looking into the use of ethanol fuel as an alternative to the àlmighty petrol and i have come across some interesting discoveries. Ethanol fuel is derived from sugar-cane or maize but apparently ethanol from maize is better. Ethanol fuel is environmentally friendly considering the issue with effects of global warming and unfortunately africa as a continent is most at risk from the detrimental effects of global warming and i think it is in africa this issue is given the least priority. In Brazil which is an emerging market little better than nigeria about 90% (i think) of their automobiles run on ethanol fuel. Agreed this is a technology for the future and not intended to replace petrol soonest but there is a lot of money to be made if you can find the funding and the right contacts. Remember that fossil fuel -petrol reserves have limited life-span. If this technology is embraced will it lead to the hiking in price of maize which is a constituent of the staple diet of many nigerians. I welcome contributions from those who have some knowledge or are conducting research into this area or some consultancy-level input so we can push this forward. Somebody raised the idea of recycling waste on this forum a whileago there is a lot that can be synergised between waste recycling and ethanol as an alternative source of fuel. Let me know what you think |
At least you know what to do kind heads up in case it happens |
Read this------------>http://www.businessdayonline.com/?c=45&a=13181 If some or all of these banks eventually get listed on LSE and international fund managers,brokers etc start trading in these stocks imagine what efect that would have on the stocks back in naija. That takes the stocks of these banks to a whole new dimension. |
Read this and let me know what you think---------------->http://www.businessdayonline.com/?c=50&a=13069 It takes about 180 days for one cycle which in effect means you can do this minimum of 2 times in a year and that translates to twice the profit projection in the article. For farming pepper for 6 months in a year you are talking 30,000 dollars in profits. Your inputs are welcome |
@seun That is what market research is all about. What segment of the market do u want to target and how best can you satisfy the tastes and preferences of the group you are targeting and of course it goes without saying you have make quality your watchword |
@enolase Obajana cement is still a private company as it is not yet listed on the stock exchange so they are not allowed to sell shares therefore no private placements as such. When it lists on the stock exchange by waof IPO which we are all waiting for then you can deal in the shares in the primary market for example IPO or what you call public listing or in the secondary market where u buy and sell from stockbrokers. |
@ladapo pls have read ------->http://www.businessdayonline.com/?c=50&a=12902 , Any potentilas? |
@babalawo cheers means i need to start getting ready. As it happens i just bought into Oceanic IPO which shd be good cheers |
@naijacutee there u go , need i say more? |
I mean come to think of it why should we as a nation be importing something like tomato ketchup or salad cream for that matter? but then we are the 6th largest producer of crude oil in the world inside OPEC and yet we are always inundated with images of never-ending queues for petrol in naija. This is symptomatic of a society that mismanages her God-given natural resources |
@seun have you actually taken into consideration how much salad cream all the posh hotels restaurants and eateries in a big city will be consuming on a regular basis? Have you thought about the supermarket chains and all the distributors of imported salad cream in nigeria. Your imagination is as far as your eyes can see. |
@ Dis Guy i think you have just made exactly my point and in not so many words |
@seun u r very correct but what about those who eat salad and why do u think i`m necessarily looking at the nigerian market alone? There`s something called tunnel-vision you need to be able to project into the future and we are talking about looking beyond one`s immediate horizon. The question you got to ask yourself is is there a market or is there a gap you can fill? and once that`s sorted you are on your way A starting point will be to try and research into how much is spent on importing salad cream into Nigeria and if you realise we are spending a disproportionate amount on something that can be sourced locally then what`s stopping you? It`s all about potentials and how these can be harnessed and exploited. Good thing is the raw materials are all over the place so aggro with regards to sourcing your product |
@naijacutee Not sure becos i`m not in naija but its something one can find out. I think the writer of the article will be a good source of research and info to come up with a business plan that`s worth the paper its written on. I will try and sound out the writer and find out what he`s up to. One of the advantages of living in Europe or elsewhere is you always have access to finance/funds so a joint venture or partnership is not completely out of the question. The article sounds interesting and worthy of further enquiries |
Wont be too surprised when i next i visit naija and there are salad cream factories all over the place which is not a bad thing itself it means no more importation of salad cream but then are we able to keep up the quality if we ever get to that stage so that someone can explore the export market potentials to our african neighbours |
Phew check this link for the full gist --> www.businessdayonline.com/?c=50&a=12902. I wonder why nobody has thought about this before now. Views welcome on this business lead. |