Politics › Re: Macron's Picture With Wike: Only God Knows What's Running Through Macron's Mind by yemmit90: 5:30pm On Dec 02, 2024 |
Napata77: YOUR PROBLEM IS INFERIORITY COMPLEX.
That’s why you typed and posted this garbage.
Get rid of your complex, and you could post something productive.
Why do you care what the white man thinks about you?
Does the white man care what you think about him? Lolz, there is nothing like inferiority complex when talking about White/Black relationship, blacks, particularly from Africa are simply inferior to the white. If you can logically answer this simple question, then I will believe you are not inferior; What makes you think you are not inferior? |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Trump Threatens BRICS Countries Over Abandoning The Dollar by yemmit90: 6:57am On Dec 02, 2024 |
oldguyman: Initial gra gra, Trump should calm down as no one is buying into his bullying tactics again. The same thing he did during face off with North Korea , and up to this moment, North Korea is still standing with robust military and economic power. If China, India and Russia decided to move away from Dollar, alot of aggrieved countries will follow suit and nothing will affect them economically. |
Politics › Re: Tinubu Pledges To Tackle Nigeria’s Economy Problems Through Agriculture by yemmit90: 10:49am On Dec 01, 2024 |
tundegan: Tinubu is a man with a plan. I trust he will get the job done. It is almost 2 years now, and this man is still pledging to do what a good leader would've done withing 6 month in power. 2 years gone, no concrete plan to solve farmers- Herder crisis, no plan or specific program for agriculture or farmers. No plan to create several farm settlements across states, yet you all still believe in this pathetic government. The earlier you all realise that these useless politicians have no plan for Nigeria, the better. |
Politics › Re: Peter Obi Carries 2Face Idibia's Bag At Airport (Video) by yemmit90: 5:37pm On Nov 30, 2024 |
Thundafireseun: This man is not fit to be the president of Nigeria….
Very soon he will carry Ola of Lagos bag or that small boy Peller’s bag … Maybe it was 2face that help him carry the bags because I wonder how a suppose leader will stoop that low in the name of politics. What if he become president and has to deal with old demons in politics, traditional institutions and ministries. |
Family › Re: Single Fathers Taking Custody Of Their Kids by yemmit90: 5:17pm On Nov 29, 2024 |
Afodot0022: Top of the day to you all and compliment of the season.We will all witness the new year coming. pls house, I need advice and opinion especially from single fathers either divorced, widowed. I have been separated from my wife for 2 years now and my two daughters age 8 and 7yrs had been with my ex wife ever since. It has gotten to the stage that she is now using the kids to get back at me by denying me access to them and also manipulate me, the greatest mistake I made was letting her took my kids away cos at that time I was emotionally down due to what lead to us separating and couldn't make a sound judgement at the moment.
Now my decision now is that I want to take custody of my daughters, for now I have my mom with me and also myself to take care of them while they are with me, all I just need is what are the prons and cons of being a single father and taking care of your kids as the man alone. what challenging's will I face in doing this so I can prepare my mind mentally and psychologically for the challenge ahead. Though I prefer the kids being with their mom and I take responsibility but the fact that she is using them to get back at me is annoying and frustrating reason why I want to make this move now so am going to be free from her manipulation.
Pls experienced single fathers raising their kids alone, which is better, letting the kids be with her while she use them as bait to get back at me or I should take their custody and raise them myself. I want them to finish up this school term and make the move. Your input and advice will be valuable and appreciated and pls if you don't have anything valuable to say or to criticize as some does here, kindly ignore and move. Pls mod, kindly move to FP for wider view and inputs You did not make any mistake, kids are better off staying with their mums. Just make sure they feel your present in their lives. Give them more time, they will be the ones disturbing their mum to come and see their lovely dad. |
Family › Re: "Seriously, I Am Fed Up With This Life Pattern", What Should I Do? by yemmit90: 5:03pm On Nov 29, 2024 |
* You have no money or mean of getting an accommodation or feed yourself.
* You have no one who can accommodate or feed you at the moment.
Is that not enough to appreciate your sister for saving you of impending hunger and homelessness?
See boy, life don't work as you think, you practically have no option or decision of yours until you have resources that would made you not to depend on anyone.
Since your sister is not abusing or starving you, the best option for you is to keep reminding her of your desire to find something doing. Basically, every Nigerian big sister/brother will treat you the same because they feel you are still young at 18 to be left alone doing your things off their monitoring.
Decision is your to make, you can decide to leave her house and see what the street has to offer or be patient with her until she listen to you. |
Family › Re: Family Disowns Son For Exposing Cheating Sister To Husband by yemmit90: 3:59pm On Nov 29, 2024 |
MadamVanessa:

Inasmuch as what the sister did is so so wrong, but also what the brother did is also wrong . It's okay to be all mad at your sister and threaten her for such an unethical and shameful behavior, but going as far as reporting it yourself to her husband is the greatest undoing. It's okay for others to report her ,but not a sibling or family member, except you people are enemies. Today you've reported her and you're the best, very righteous brother, but remember tomorrow the consequences may come. Same people hailing you today will used that to taunt and ridiculed you tomorrow.
I know a lot of self righteous people will attack this comment. But whether you like it or not family covers a lot . If family starts exposing each other, believe me a lot of people will not be safe including you that is going to attack this comment. Yes, he shouldn't have directly inform her husband but should've instead disown her as sister. Their parents too are very bad people, if they had punished and disown her when she did the first one, she might have turn a new leaf or at least do it responsibly. I blame their parents more. |
Car Talk › Re: Was I Rude Banning My Father From Entering My Car? by yemmit90: 5:37pm On Nov 28, 2024 |
Factcheck0001: Omo who train these people self?
U tell your papa make e keep quiet? Like make e shut up?
Omo things dey happen ooo Honestly, i wonder the kind of upbringing some people had to the extent of talking to their parents like that. You can't even say this to elderly persons in your family, let alone your biological father. |
Politics › Re: Ehi Ogbebor Storms Her Ex MC Oluomo’s NURTW Office To Congratulate Him by yemmit90: 10:19pm On Nov 27, 2024 |
Bobloco: Curiously, those who screamed 'obey court order' in Rivers State have suddenly become silent, while encouraging Mc Oluomo to disobey and disregard a valid court order Nigerians are all the same(hypocrites), if you could have problem with them saying Fubara should obey court order, it means you are directly or indirectly supporting his impunity too. |
Celebrities › Re: 65% Of Married Men In Lagos Are In My DM - Pride Evy by yemmit90: 7:25pm On Nov 27, 2024 |
Zico5: Liar. These daughters of Jezebel can lie. How is it possible for 65% of married men in Lagos to be in ur DM. Do you know how many married men are in Lagos. I'm a married man in Lagos and I have never heard about u or your existence. She was probably saying that 65% of men in her DM are married. |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Farmers Beg Trump To Spare Their Workers From Deportation by yemmit90: 9:17pm On Nov 26, 2024 |
Zico5: Let him deport them all. We shall see how USA will cope without immigrants. Immigrants are the one doing odd jobs to sustain the economy and the states. Go and write it down today, Trump second term would be contrary to the expectations of many. He won't deport anybody. |
Health › Re: The Percentage Of People With Hypertension Per Region - StatiSense by yemmit90: 5:17pm On Nov 26, 2024 |
nedu666: Stupid stats. Did statinosense visit households to conduct BP test Don't mind them, alot of Nigerians are working around with HBP withiout even knowing. Anyway, HBP is not a sickness but a condition that resulted from troubling state of mind or sometimes hereditary. It could vanish the way it comes if the carrier takes a necessary lifestyle change. |
Romance › Re: Is She Not Too Young For Me? by yemmit90: 12:03pm On Nov 25, 2024 |
Electorate: You are 33 but think like a teenager, where you not alive when Ned married Regina Daniels or you are Ignorant of the constitutional age of consent?...Oga, you are not thinking like a 33 year old abeg. Abi na school you no go abi na exposure you no get... whichever way, you fvck by even bringing this online.
Age is indeed not maturity and you are a living proof of that I was about to say this but don't want to sounds rude to him. How can a young single man be saying 24yeqrs old woman is too young for him. Maybe he prefer above 30 years old woman with multiple body counts or single mother. |
Romance › Re: Is She Not Too Young For Me? by yemmit90: 11:58am On Nov 25, 2024 |
jbreezy: So I'm currently liking this girl, and with all things being equal, I am ready to marry her. But my fear is the age difference, I will be 33 next year while she is currently 24. She likes me too, but I'm still playing safe as I am still skeptical. Should I go on or just cut off the relationship before it becomes serious. The best woman to marry is between 18 - 26. I wonder why you have problem with 24 years old lady that some guys even consider too old for them. |
Science/Technology › Re: What Is The Worst Thing Humans Have Ever Invented? by yemmit90: 11:35am On Nov 25, 2024 |
Everyday247: Civilisation and law and order.
The natural law is survival of the fittest.
Jungle law is supreme! Humans can't live peacefully or survive withiout law and other in place. Jungle law is like state of nature, which is characterise by perpetual fear, brutally awful and short. If law and other are working perfectly in some societies, then it should be branded as best human invention. |
Family › Re: What Will You Do? by yemmit90: 5:14am On Nov 23, 2024 |
abiolamitodun: Getting home from work and you meet you wife beaten to stupol by your friend.....
What will you do next? The way Goat stand in the market dem dey take price am. This cannot happen among the sane people. So I will pass. |
Health › Re: What's The Difference Between Blood Group And Genotype? by yemmit90: 6:57pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
Richtaiwo: Blood group: A+ A- B+ B- O+ O- AB+ AB-
Genotype: AA AS SS SC There is genotype AC as well. |
Romance › Re: Those People That Carry Hookup Girls(advice) by yemmit90: 5:53pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
Sirchiboy: It is sad seeing our young girls doing hookup because of failed society. I met this girl.. Damn this girl was too beautiful to be doing hookup. I asked her why is she into this. Her story touched.
Her parents are very poor and she is the one sponsoring her self in school with the little money she make from business. Omo this girl started crying 😭 that she needed some funds to continue her business in school. That her business crippled. That if she can see like reasonable amount that she will stop . . I felt pity for her. I wish I have the money. I will support. I know some hookup girls are very deceitful and lie alot but this one story was pure.
Please guys that carry hookup girls please be an instrument that God will use to change them . Even if it is not money. You can provide them with jobs. God bless us all amen. Nothing on earth will make a good or decent woman indulge in prostitution. Don't fall for her nonsense story, majority of them live above their means, reason they are still in the shameful business. |
Politics › Re: Tribalistic Cancer On Nairaland: Seun Osewa, Take Action Now! by yemmit90: 1:57pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
WaleBuraimoh: While it's true that Nairaland has historically had its share of tribalistic posts and comments, it's essential to recognize that the online environment has evolved significantly since 2007.
Allowing tribal tirades to fester on a public discussion forum like Nairaland can have several negative consequences:
1. Normalization of hate speech: When tribalistic comments are left unchecked, they can create a culture where hate speech is normalized, making it more acceptable for others to engage in similar behavior.
2. Radicalization and polarization: Unchecked tribalistic rhetoric can contribute to the radicalization and polarization of individuals, making them more susceptible to extremist ideologies.
3. Damage to Nigeria's reputation: As you mentioned, tribalistic posts on Nairaland can portray Nigeria in a negative light to international visitors, reinforcing harmful stereotypes and perpetuating negative perceptions.
4. Real-world consequences: While it's true that online behavior may not always translate to offline actions, it's essential to recognize that online hate speech can still have real-world consequences, such as contributing to a culture of intolerance and hostility.
5. Missed opportunities for meaningful dialogue: When tribalistic tirades dominate discussions, they can crowd out meaningful dialogue and constructive debate, preventing Nairaland from reaching its full potential as a platform for insightful discussions and knowledge-sharing.
In conclusion, while Nairaland has historically been a platform for lively discussions, it's essential to recognize the potential harm caused by unchecked tribalistic rhetoric by Helinues and his ilks. By promoting respectful dialogue and addressing hate speech, we can create a more inclusive and constructive online environment.
Comrade Prince Wale Buraimoh! I understand your point sir, but trust me, Nigerians love peace more than you think. It is not that people don't joke or play with one another offline too, but people are sensible enough and will never allow that to turn us against one another, because we all love peace. Go to the markets, parks, clubs, and many other gathering places and see how each tribe make fun of one another withiout turning it to fight. I can't count the numbers of igbos/Yoruba/Hausa jokes I have withiness expecially in the large markets. Like I said before, tribalistic posts/comments on Internet cannot and will never resulted in real life riots in Nigeria because it is too petty to 99% of Nigerians. Let me highlight the major reasons for tribal wars so far in Nigeria. 1. Land disputes 2. Religions. 3.Beating and maltreatment of tribal men( this common among Hausas) 4. Market or trading right. 5. Politics. It is good thing to control it on Internet anyway because it is not good for our international image. |
Politics › Re: Tribalistic Cancer On Nairaland: Seun Osewa, Take Action Now! by yemmit90: 1:31pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
Goodmarlian: You said internet thing shouldn't be taken serious? you know nothing Yes, because it is not always real. People come on Internet to do what they could not Ordinarily do in real life. You can practical lives two or more different worlds through Internet. That is why you should not be jealous or sad about anything you read on Internet. Some supporters of a particular party or politicians are not real as well. Majority of them don't belong to any party or vote in elections. Their own imput and contribute live and die on Internet. Though they impact some people's (particularly unintelligent people) decisions through their posts or comments. |
Politics › Re: Tribalistic Cancer On Nairaland: Seun Osewa, Take Action Now! by yemmit90: 1:22pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
brain54: It shouldn't be tolerated because it's "just an internet thing"...
You never know who you are inciting with words you think are ordinary! Lolz, I have knew Nairaland since 2007, and there has always been alot of tribalism posts, comments and arguments ever since then, how come it has never resulted into civil war or political unrest in Nigeria? Today's tribalists are not even done half of what some Nairalanders has done in the past. I could remember an handle " DayoKanu" back then, you guys are learners where this guy and his igbo opponents dey. I move around alot,, and i have never seen anyone arguing or fighting over irrelevant tribalistic topics we normally see on Nairaland. You should by now understand that people come on Internet to do opposite of what they do offline. Alot of these people are introvert who hardly go out of their rooms. The only issue I have with them is the fact that it doesn't portray us well among other nationalities who visited Nairaland. |
Politics › Re: Tribalistic Cancer On Nairaland: Seun Osewa, Take Action Now! by yemmit90: 1:02pm On Nov 22, 2024 |
It is just an Internet things that shouldn'tbe taking serious or allow to affect your way. You hardly see people discriminate or rejecting one another in our daily lives. There are many Igbos living peacefully among Yorubas here, the same goes with Hausas.
It is just an Internet thing, and it stopped here I think. |
Politics › Re: Nigerians Intensify Campaign To Strip President Of Powers Over INEC, Judiciary by yemmit90: 12:53pm On Nov 20, 2024 |
Lookmun: Are you then saying that in western countries, private individuals are not allowed to accumulate properties? I don’t think so. Maybe you should tell me which countries do this. In western countries, so long as you can afford to stack up and accumulate as many properties as you want, you can do so. In the western world you can accumulate properties as Mr Andrew or Andrew Ltd and it doesn’t have to have any connections with the government. This is capitalism guided by enforceable laws. It drives competition and innovation and ultimately grows the economy. Also there are so many micro, small and medium enterprises in the western world. You don’t have to be a limited liability company before you can operate. In fact you may not even need to be in the stock market to operate.
The egg produces the chicken but the chicken is the initial source of the egg. In the same vein, the society produces the leaders but leadership enforcement of law and order is the initial factor that influences societal behavior. This means that if a country was good but the administration of law and order (which is a leadership function) breaks down, the society will become more and more lawless as time goes on. Also, when an organization or system is bad and the leaders decide to correct the anomalies and begin to punish wrong behavior and ensure that the right behaviors are enforced, sooner than later, that system or organization begins to change for the better. If a system or organization or society is bad today, it can be better tomorrow. If a society can be good without the intervention of leaders, there would be no real need for leaders. If a country can steer its affairs and maintain law and order without leaders, there would be no need for leaders. But it’s impossible.
Even if people are greedy, if laws are effective to punish wrong behavior, whether you are Donald Trump that wanted to be president when he lost the election, they will have to behave rightly by force. Infact most humans are greedy because they think about themselves and their families primarily. The reason why a greedy individual will still behave in an acceptable way in the society is if:
a) regulations are effective meaning that if you do wrong (cheat to gain etc), you will likely be caught b) the laws are not selective and are applicable no matter who is involved. Meaning that even if you are Donald Trump, if you mess up, you will face the music.
That greedy person will have no choice but to behave in an acceptable manner. But in some other places, because the regulation is not strong, you will likely getaway with wrongdoing and even if you get caught eventually, the laws can be bypassed on your behalf if you have the money or connection.
No matter the good idea being suggested, it is the leaders that still need to implement it. But they will never implement it if it favours them. That’s why the people need to come together and look away from those things that divide us and demand good leadership. That’s how it s done everywhere. Nations overcome bad leadership when they come together any where in the world. In the western world you can’t find people arguing about manual collation of votes vs electronic transmission. They will compel the leaders to embrace electronic transmission but if you come here they will tell you that it doesn’t matter. Ok. |
Politics › Re: ‘Would You Say This If Your Father Was In Govt?’ — El-Rufai’s Wife Tackle Sons by yemmit90: 12:12pm On Nov 20, 2024 |
God1000: All I can say is that Obasanjo was right about everything he said.
The insults from the presidency is totally unacceptable, Under Obasanjo, Nigerians were buying cars and building houses everyday, but now Nigerians are selling everything they have just to feed, this government is the worst in the history of Nigeria.
INEC chairman should not be appointed by the president Yes, this government is nothing to right home about. On the INEC part, who do you think should appoints inec chairmen or chairpersons? |
Politics › Re: Nigerians Intensify Campaign To Strip President Of Powers Over INEC, Judiciary by yemmit90: 11:59am On Nov 20, 2024 |
Lookmun: To be fair to Africa, industrialization was built on the backs of the black race. Not only were they enslaved for centuries, structures were put by colonizers that make it very difficult to break away from the shackles. It’s called neo-imperialism (a modern form of slavery). However, the right leadership will solve any of these problems. Humans generally have an innate tendency for greed, selfishness and tendency to dominate others. The white man is included if not they will not have enslaved the black race. In Nigeria we have leaders and the people. We have not really had leaders of integrity not because there are no great leaders with integrity in the society but because the SYSTEM that brings in leaders make it difficult for the good ones to come in. If American citizens should live in a society where the executive appoints and pays the electoral umpire and the justices, law and order will break down. They can’t escape it. Chinese people do all manner of things here that they can’t do in their home BECAUSE OUR SYSTEM ALLOWS IT.
The solution to this problem is for the people to come together and demand accountability from the leaders but unfortunately when some people say they want to do that, some other people will act as detractors mainly because of tribe, religious leaning and political affiliation. Because the politicians know that people defend them even when they do wrong, it emboldens them to do more wrong with impunity. If a people movement will succeed, it has to have unity, solidarity and cohesion. What you have in Nigeria is that when some people are protesting bad governance, some will say that the government is good so there is no real cohesion. When some people want to push to ensure that the electoral umpire is truly independent, some others will insist that the umpire should remain under the umbrella of the executive. That’s the real problem.
You say the solution is to remove private ownership of property? I guess you are advocating for communism system where the government owns the property and government feeds the people. Even if it was the solution, who will implement it when government officials see politics as the highest business in the land. That leads us to the real problem - leadership. So long as leadership is the way it is, you may have 1000 great ideas but they will intentionally frustrate it because the are gaining very much from the status quo. That’s why the people have to compel the leaders to do the right thing. Any where in the world where leadership has a change of behavior, it was the people that pushed for it. But as I highlighted earlier, we are too divided along fault lines of tribal, religious and political affiliation that it becomes very hard for the citizens to have a common front.
America and the western world did not overcome their problems through socialism or communism so that’s not really the solution. Their leaders in the past institutionalized the right behaviors and it became a culture to them over the years. Whenever their leaders were doing rubbish, they were not defending their leaders. That’s the difference. I don't think you took your time very well to comprehend my posts. There is total different between communism( public ownership, including the means of production), and removing the reason to steal or accumulate properties. I didn't say people should not own properties, I was literally saying government should remove power to accumulate properties from private individuals. You were actually confused between the uses of terms " OWNING AND ACCUMULATION" .That was why I highlighted what government can do to discourage people from accumulating properties, which cumulated to a vital reason people are embezzled public fund in Africa. Check my posts very well, I didn't say government should stopped people from owning properties, i was only saying that, the power to accumulate or build ones should be remove and vested in the hands of government or government backed private properties companies. I even suggested that individuals can built businesses but must comes in form of Limited liability companies that shares can be obtain. It is the same system western countries are using, because it promote accountability and transparency to check mate corrupt citizens. I also sum up your other points, and still see you don't really understand what I was trying to opines( Impact of African cultures/traditions on its social-economic development). Let me explain this in a simple term, a society are first formed from individuals, follow by families, groups of families, villages, towns, and upto a larger society. Since these set of people sees the need to have a constituted authority to promote common goals and aspirations, they picked one or few of them, to whom they surrendered their individual power for protection or to collectively move their society forward. My exact point here is that, societies are the real reflection of its leaders. You can't give what you don't have. While I will agree with you that tribalism, religions and political affiliation will hinder people from coming together to demand accountability, the greatest of them all is greed. The reality is that, a selected few that should lead the movement due to the same problem (greed) could be easily bought out in this part of the world. Americans were able to institutionized their behaviors because they took both capital and humans resource seriously by taking care of physiological needs of their people. Nigeria and Africa will remain the same, until one leader accidentally embark on what I highlighted in my previous post.as long as people sees basic necessity of life as luxury, corrupt will continue to consume us the black race. If you want to know the basic tenet of European and American system, try to read all the theories and postulations from Socrates, upto the recent Karl max. That will give you an insight of how a good society are built. |
Politics › Re: Nigerians Intensify Campaign To Strip President Of Powers Over INEC, Judiciary by yemmit90: 4:38pm On Nov 19, 2024 |
Lookmun: The assertion “no black man/Nigerian is free from corruption” sounds like what a lady whose heart has been broken again and again might say that “all men are scum.” Neither of these hasty generalizations are correct. The fact that society has been getting worse and worse because the administration of justice and the system of law and order has been consistently broken down doesn’t mean that all Nigerians are terrible.
Back to your point, nobody is advocating absolute powers to anyone. We are simply saying let there be true separation of powers such that when A’s powers end, B’s powers begin etc etc. What we have today is a situation where the people that are supposed to check the powers of the executive are under his apron. Even if you have that system in the USA for decades, there will be a societal decadence in the USA. If you want to address fundamental issues, these are the issues to look at.
If the administration of justice and the system of law and order is non-existent in any place - Canada, Uganda or Mongolia - the effects are the same, it’s just a matter of time. So if someone is recommending that the electoral umpire is truly free from the aprons of the executive BUT STILL SUBJECT TO THE LAWS OF THE LAND, it’s only a fraudulent person that would kick against it.
All these things that you mention that government should start doing - free education, care for children and the aged, employment, etc. Why will the government do these things when they know that they have the power to elect themselves even though they failed during their tenure? If it was possible for a people to govern themselves without leadership, then there would be no need for leaders. If leadership is faulty in a society you cannot expect the society to function orderly. It’s just like parents that spend that have young kids but spend time in different ogogoro joints. If the children turn out irresponsible, it’s not going to be a surprise. If you are wondering why those children turn out as riff-rafts without addressing the root cause, it’s similar to expecting a good society from bad leadership.
Anywhere in the world, once the MSMEs are given support and an enabling environment, they grow and begin to employ more and more and contribute to the growth of the economy.
People steal because of all the following:
1. There is uncertainty about tomorrow 2. The opportunity arises 3. They know that if they are caught, so long as they have the money or connection to cover it up, they will likely get away with it. 4. The first and second points speak to failure of government to provide a economic security to the populace in the midst of abundant God-given wealth and that’s why people try to get wealth at all cost and once the slightest opportunity opens up to be fraudulent, they grab it. The third point speaks to consequence management. People know that it’s who you know or what you have that determines the consequence for your punishment. In a society where enforcement of the law is based on what you have and how connected you are to the powers that be, how will people be motivated to do what is right? In fact some people that do the right thing get punished by the system and there is no reprieve for them. When you obey the law (as a female for example) and you are diligent in civil service but you are stagnant and yet your colleagues who warm the bed of permanent secretary are getting promoted, how do you want to advise such a person to do the right thing. If the leadership system is faulty, the society cannot be good.
In summary any attempt for change in society without leadership is a waste of time. Individuals don’t have state powers or instruments of coercion to enforce right behaviors but when the people that have these powers use it to acquire unusual wealth, amass more and more power, then you cannot have a good society. I am quite understand your points as a fundamentalist, this is where our failure begins. We always thought we can do it withiout addressing the problem we all have as black race, especially the ones imbedded in our traditions. Greed and tendency to dominate or being worship are the major characteristics of African cultures. It is so unfortunate that we all forgot the same leaders emanated from the same society with the same cultures and traditions.. If you say a black man can liberate himself, why was he unable to do so many decades into civilization era? Why was he remain at the bottom of the ladder and unable to bring himself out? I won't type much because African issue has only one solution, which is to remove reasons to steal by removing power to accumulate private properties from individuals. No politicans/leaders, both dead or alive can give you that because it is not in their nature to do so. We can only start by providing basic necessity of life for people in which I highlighted in my previous post. For instance, if my income is 100k, and I tell a government properties agent that I wanted to buy a house worth 20 millions with cash, they will definitely ask me where I get the money from. Since it has became illegal to do it myself, I may not have choice but to stop looking for 20m cash that I cannot afford in the first place. Also, if I know that government will take care of my children needs, and also myself off active years, there is no point accumulating unnecessary wealth for my old age or children to inherit. People steal because of uncertainty of future, and once that is removed, people will no longer see the need to be corrupt. I was once an apostles of good leaders, strong institutions, etc, but looking back at African culture/tradition, every single soul born into that bloodline has a tendency to be corrupt or abuse power when given opportunity. Have you ever wonder why we Africans performed excellently well in Western countries but come back home to become our real version? It was once like that in western countries and other developed nations until they took those factors into consideration, which eventually free their societies from greed and unpatriotism. It is after this that good and patriotic leaders can emerge from nearly corruption free society. |
Politics › Re: Petrol Price Cuts May Force Nigeria’s Inflationary Pressures Down – Economist by yemmit90: 3:17pm On Nov 19, 2024 |
jmoore: If petrol won't go back to 200 naira a liter, only a clown would expect inflation to stop rising. Petrol subsidy removal is not really the issue now but floating policy. There is no way inflation will come down with #1700 per dollar. |
Education › Re: Here Are Some Practical Tips For Saving Effectively From A Monthly Salary Of 50K by yemmit90: 9:38pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Solidex: No offence but, if you earning a salary of 50k in this economy, then it's better you drop that slave job and go pick up a skill like mechanic, carpentry, plumbing etc. This motivational article here won't save you no matter how well you apply it. It's total bulshit.. E better say you go ride okada or do taxi than sit in an office or wherever for a whole month, just to get 50k at the end of the month. Artisans too are hungry, he even have hope of getting 50k at the end of the month, those you mentioned may not get work that will amount to 30k in a whole month. infact majority of them are riding Okada and keke now. I was even surprised when some keke men start complaining about their debts. It is not easy eveeywhere, people are just managing what they have. The economy doesn't encourage savings in large number of Nigerians. |
Politics › Re: Nigerians Intensify Campaign To Strip President Of Powers Over INEC, Judiciary by yemmit90: 9:19pm On Nov 18, 2024 |
Lookmun: I disagree.
The reason why things are getting worse in the system that you are familiar to is because the checks and balances that restrains excesses in governance are being destroyed. It’s because for a long time, in the system you are used to, reward and appointment has a lot to do with the executive arm. Why won’t the umpire be getting worse and worse in that situation?
If the executive have no business selecting and remunerating them, then there is still some hope that they will do the right thing. If on the other hand the executive appoints and rewards them, there is no hope at all.
Don’t justify the wrongdoing of executive meddling with INEC with the excuse that it won’t be better. I expect any responsible Nigerian that desires the best for his or her country to desire independence of the INEC. At least let’s try that since we have tried the other system for so long. Read my write up very well, I only address the fundamental issue facing by black race (greed, which is embedded in our cultures and traditions). We are just deceiving ourselves if we think that an average Niegrian can manage power or do the right thing where he can do and undo. No Nigerian or black man is free of corruption where he has a good chances of accumulating wealth or power to oppressed others. Until the reasons to steal is remove from our lifestyle in Africa, we may not witness a worthy development till the rest of time. What are the reasons to steal, 1. Power to errect structures of any kind should be remove from individuals and vested in the hands of government or property management companies. 2. Government should ensure all group of adults in active age are gainfully employed and pay reasonable unemployment allowance. 3. Government much take good care of all children below 18 years and adults above 65 years of age. 4. Education must be free from elementary schools upto University level. 5. Heath care service should be almost free and health insurance must be subsidise by the Government. 6. Food must be the cheapest commodity in the market and cost next to nothing. 7. This may sounds strange to many but I can categorically say that SMSE as it being practice in Nigeria can not move us forward. The power to do businesses should be remove from individuals and vested in the hands of big companies that is capable of employing thousands of workers. Individual can start business but must be limited liability company that people would be able to buy shares. If we can achieve the above points, especially 1 - 3, which i think is the core reason people steal at any slighted opportunity, Nigeria and Africa will witness a significant progress in short period of time. Besides, people tend to obey the law and be more patriotic when they have nothing to fear about their future or wellbeings. |