Stats: 3,330,513 members, 8,445,800 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 03:21 PM

9icetoo's Posts

Nairaland Forum9icetoo's Profile9icetoo's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 130 pages)

TravelRe: Road Trip!!!!!!!! Lagos To Umuahia by 9icetoo(m): 11:39am On Dec 13, 2021
Driggs:
Going on same road trip from Lagos to Owerri

24th..

But your distance too long oo.. how you go use 12 hours take waka 580km? When motor dey move at 120km/hr.. you no do the maths?

I'm travelling with my sedan (V6) too.. the journey shouldn't be more than 7 hours (bar police checkpoint delays).

Lagos to Benin is 4 hours or less.. Benin to Onitsha is around less than 2 hours.. Onitsha to Owerri is 30 mins.
Dont worry. This your mathematics go clear you for eye when you enter express on the 24th. No be person go tell you. cheesy
Car TalkRe: On The Eight Day, God Made The V8: My Journey To 400 HP by 9icetoo(m): 11:36am On Dec 13, 2021
HeavenlyBang:
Apparently it's been about a year since the thread was created.

So far, I've documented all my maintenance.
Essentially comes down to control arms, linkages, one bad shock, and a kick starter. My alternator is also going out as well. I've put about 8k miles on the car since it was purchased. Roughly 1k km monthly.

It's never stranded me, apart from one time I bought fuel that was mixed with water and the car died about 500m from the station. Had to empty the tank and service the entire fuel system, injectors, and plugs.

So far, it's been a good experience. I hope to keep it for about 15 more months, then maybe look at a Porsche or a newer Merc.

Thank you chief.
cheesy cheesy
You know why I am smiling.
AutosRe: Clean Tokunbo 2009 Black Toyota Venza For N6.9m by 9icetoo(op): 9:39am On Dec 13, 2021
See
AutosRe: 2007 Tokunbo Toyota RAV4 V6 With 132k Mileage For N3.9m by 9icetoo(op): 9:39am On Dec 13, 2021
See
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 7:58am On Dec 12, 2021
Raphael007:
Good morning gurus in the house, please I want to know what could be wrong with my ES350, when I accelerate to 80mph i get this vibrations from my steering and also when I apply brakes I feel the vibration too and I just did my wheel balancing and alignment also just recently changed my brakes , I don’t know if it not done properly and I also just changed my front tires and the vehicle when I accelerate I get a feeling like it’s forcing itself to move I sense a kind of hesitation.
Move the front tyres to the rear. If the issues persists, change your front brake discs.
AutosRe: Movers,shakers,clowns,and Funny Characters Of Autos Section 2021 by 9icetoo(m): 8:45am On Dec 11, 2021
The meme man doesn't disappoint.
cheesy cheesy cheesy
Abeg write a feature on weyreypey and kewtt.

Honorable mentions to baba40 and croxif abi na crofix (the mdx guy).
AutosRe: Clean Tokunbo 2009 Black Toyota Venza For N6.9m by 9icetoo(op): 10:00am On Dec 10, 2021
Still available.
AutosRe: 2007 Tokunbo Toyota RAV4 V6 With 132k Mileage For N3.9m by 9icetoo(op): 10:00am On Dec 10, 2021
Still available.
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 4:37pm On Dec 09, 2021
kingreign:
950k-1m now... grin
It's alright. It's alright. It's alright. Bia chinedu, tell okwudili to return that 22pin. I no sell again. I get customer here.
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 8:03am On Dec 09, 2021
Michaeltoss:
Toyota Corolla 2008 Odometer Shows 0 as seen on the photo attached, please is there any solution to this? As this is a car I'm about to buy I did a vin check the last milage is about 154000.
Rollback gone wrong. You know the mileage. When was it shipped? Make sure it hasn't been registered before, used and put back for sale as toks. If all else checks out, buy the bloody car. It's more than 12 years old so you shouldn't expect the mileage to be low.
Car TalkRe: Lexus R350 Ac Works & Shut Off By Itself, 08061717193 by 9icetoo(m): 6:01pm On Dec 06, 2021
What they should to all posts by the op on cartalk.

Car TalkRe: Are They Premium Fuels In Nigeria by 9icetoo(m): 11:08am On Dec 06, 2021
LeJeun3:

Most Acura's in nigeria have the CEL light on for a reason......

This will apply to most cars too but it's likely not the fuel.

Even corollas that can run on shayo piss have their cels on. The lot of them.
Car TalkRe: Are They Premium Fuels In Nigeria by 9icetoo(m): 11:07am On Dec 06, 2021
735i:
Started using Octane boosters 2 months ago. Before then, my CEL was permanently on.
Scan showed something about fuel trims.
One Saturday morning, I used liqui moly octane booster on a full tank, and redlined from ajao estate to VI. Switched the car off, went for breakfast.
After breakfast, got into the car and switched it on, the CEL was gone.
Till date, it hasn't returned. And I use octane boosters each time I fill up now.
Car; 2014 5 series BMW
Cool. Your car surely requires premium fuel.
Mine used to ping under load or any time I go over 3500 rpm. I documented it here on Nairaland but other than that, nothing. It didn't trigger my CEL. Now though, the ECU must have adjusted my fuel or ignition timing cos I don't have pings anymore.
Car TalkRe: Are They Premium Fuels In Nigeria by 9icetoo(m): 11:05am On Dec 06, 2021
sultaan:
From my experience with the fuel in Nigeria whenever I go there, it always has a stench that will make it fail to meet emission regulations.

The CEL light is on in most Nigerian cars for a reason.
My car requires premium fuel. I use the RON 87 Nigerian fuel. My CEL is not on. So many cars in Nigeria don't require premium fuel. Most recommend premium fuel but will run just fine on regular fuel.
CELs are not on largely because of our fuel. There are other reasons.

The stench could be from dirty tanks. PMS smells.
Regular RON 87 fuel is still in use in the mighty USA.
Car TalkRe: Are They Premium Fuels In Nigeria by 9icetoo(m): 11:02am On Dec 06, 2021
erico2k2:
I will reduce ur car to display a low performance, thats what my RRS is doing at the moment
I agree with that.
Car TalkRe: Are They Premium Fuels In Nigeria by 9icetoo(m): 12:57pm On Dec 05, 2021
sultaan:
X2 on that response.

The fuel they sell in Nigeria is illegal in the US where the car comes from.

When manufacturers make the cars, they never imagined it will use such low quality fuel used in Nigeria.
Regular PMS is illegal in the mighty US of A?
Seriously?
Okay ooo.

OP, like Nurey said, top up your tank with octane boosters.

The ECU in your car will realise in a little while that your are using regular fuel and will adjust the cars performance to accommodate the regular fuel. Just keep your rpms below 4000 and you will be alright.
AutosRe: Clean Tokunbo 2009 Black Toyota Venza For N6.9m by 9icetoo(op): 9:36am On Dec 04, 2021
Available
AutosRe: 2007 Tokunbo Toyota RAV4 V6 With 132k Mileage For N3.9m by 9icetoo(op): 9:36am On Dec 04, 2021
Available.
AutosRe: Used 2004 Honda Pilot for 1.3m by 9icetoo(op): 8:11am On Dec 02, 2021
Av
AutosRe: Clean Tokunbo 2009 Black Toyota Venza For N6.9m by 9icetoo(op): 8:11am On Dec 02, 2021
Av
AutosRe: 2007 Tokunbo Toyota RAV4 V6 With 132k Mileage For N3.9m by 9icetoo(op): 8:11am On Dec 02, 2021
Av
Car TalkRe: Has Your Car Ever Given Trouble That U Found Joy Dumping It by 9icetoo(m): 2:17pm On Nov 24, 2021
Aaaaarghmed:
My friend buy nissan Altima for 450k and he spent almost 450k in 2 weeks .the guy no con dey chop again..he became slim when he bought the car.he sold it 150k after 2months
If someone had shown your friend a sound Nissan Altima for 900k, he would have said it's too expensive. Cheap car get why e cheap. cheesy
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 12:14pm On Nov 23, 2021
diportivo:
guy

how can you be educationally sound and savagely astute in the same post??

just how?? grin
I am learning from the best. cheesy
AutosRe: Clean Tokunbo 2009 Black Toyota Venza For N6.9m by 9icetoo(op): 2:28pm On Nov 22, 2021
Negotiable
AutosRe: Used 2004 Honda Pilot for 1.3m by 9icetoo(op): 2:27pm On Nov 22, 2021
Negotiable
AutosRe: 2007 Tokunbo Toyota RAV4 V6 With 132k Mileage For N3.9m by 9icetoo(op): 2:27pm On Nov 22, 2021
Negotiable
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 10:30am On Nov 22, 2021

Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 12:59pm On Nov 21, 2021
nymphomaniac:
Dru and 9icetoo it’s ok. No need to derail the thread.
On the contrary, I am not derailing. Just helping clear the air in a car related problem. I was not selling tokunbo radiator from abroad sir. smiley
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 12:55pm On Nov 21, 2021
samuelson06:
A little enemy is nice too wink
I saw that. cheesy
Car TalkRe: Ever Sold A Car And Regretted The Decision by 9icetoo(m): 9:07am On Nov 21, 2021
kingbee90:
I sold my 2005 Nissan Murano. I still regret it till date because through out the 4 yrs of ownership, the car was surprisingly reliable & never left me stranded. Asides routine servicing & a one-time steering rack fault, it never left me stranded & the fuel consumption was too okay for a v6. The 2009 MDX I use now is a pain in my ass huh
Why is it a pain if I may ask? cheesy
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m):
@Dru23, act your age.
Don't misquote sienna. Nowhere in that deposition did he talk about single core, single cell, double or double cell. Nowhere. Have some shame man. Be original. Quoting sienna out of context is not going to give you credibility. Don't be an idiot.

And rolls Royce will not touch your car if you install double cell (double core) radiator? How we went from Camry to rolls Royce and from radiator to oil is astounding. cheesy cheesy. The tokunbo or naija used Camry owner is quaking in his boots now. Elizade won't touch his car. cheesy

To your questions to me dru23.
Am I an engineer? Yes
My academic level? MSc
Have I worked for a car manufacturing company? We have assembly companies in Nigeria. Haven't worked for any but I've assembled complex machines and plants for companies who use standards.
Have I .... ..... Foreign cars? Dude, do not think you are a local champion. We have crossed the border too, lived and worked in saner climes with the four weathers winter, autumn, summer and spring. Don't be a dwib.
What brand of weed I smoke? None for now. My work does not permit. Tests are regular. And I hope you have quit too.

Now please shut the Bleep up and let people who know more than you do about this shit make their submissions. Sell your oil in peace. 1. Tokunbo compressor? No shit. We buy those.
2. Synthetic Oil? No shit. We buy those. (You were a Mobil 1 die hard. Market has forced you to reconsider other brands whom you swore were nowhere near Mobil 1 even after being schooled by auntyRadu.

Tokunbo radiator from abroad? On this I draw a line. Sir, you must be an idiot. Get off your high horse.
Who did the freaking test that you are here rambling about? Where are the test results? Where is quality control mark and signature that this was really tested and passed a test? What were the test parameters? What were the acceptable markers?
Was the used plastic subjected to a test under an electron microscope to check for cracks?
Was the core leak tested and to what pressure? What test medium was used and what were the acceptable leak rates? Can I see a pressure time graph for this test?
Was it examined under an x-ray?

I initially said I won't respond but for posterity sake....

Like I said and I will say again, it don't mean jack shit wether it's double core or single core or double cell or single cell. New radiator trumps used radiator. Na why old ones full ladipo. They develop leaks, the plastic covers crack over time and are refurbished.
Go to ladipo and buy double core. You go Waka tire for market.

Lastly, double cell is not meant to cool the engine more.
Let me educate you a little bit.

With an increased surface area, the heat exchange across the radiator is faster. The fans assuming on factory settings spin for a shorter time. Remember the fan is triggered by the ECU via the coolant temperature sensor. As soon as the set temp is reached, the fans shuts off.
Now, coolant performs four main purposes.
1. Increases the boiling point of water. Good for us.
2. Reduces the freezing point of water. We don't need that function here.
3. Lubricates the water pump. We need that too
4. Prevents corrosion of the cooling system. We need that function too.

Now double cell or single cell installation was not made to perform the above functions.
The decision to use water or coolant rests with the car owner.

From what I wrote above, you should be able to deduce that coolant is necessary (if you can see past your nose). I have not advocated that people should not buy coolant from you or anywhere else.

Also please know that it is not a band aid to overheating issues. A car will not overheat just because it was running on only water without coolant. It won't. If it does, the owner should look for the reason his car is overheating in the first place. It is akin to removing thermostat when the source of the problem has not been resolved.

Now that I have done justice (at least I think I have), I leave you in peace.

Cheers mate.
Car TalkRe: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by 9icetoo(m): 8:32pm On Nov 20, 2021
dru23:
My dear brother again. You don't know better than the manufacture.....

People should use what comes from the car manufacture and not compromise anything .. Don't mix and match anything from the car .......... You are not smarter than the engineers........

Each year car manufacture improves their car .. Any errors that comes from a cars first generations is usually corrected in the next generation .. So if single cell radiator was an issue on first generations cars , the manufacture would have corrected it in the next generation to double cell .. Those adjustments would have been made ....

Please and please don't say na Nigerian weather dey cause am .. That the White man does not know what he is doing etc ..........

Below is my client car that I supply engine oil and other parts to.. This Benz is a beauty, can u imagine someone tampering with it . changing the radiator to double cell . changing the a/c compressor from Automatic to manual ? This car is a beauty why would anyone want to just tamper with the car by changing parts that don't belong ..........

I am car enthusiast and I just want cars to be the way it is intended to be
This will be my last response to you.
1. Sell your oil. This is not about who uses your oil. I couldn't care less.
2. Stop disguising tokunbo radiator as better than new. It is not. Never will be.
3. People often improve on what manufacturers installed on their cars from lighting, sound system, sound proofing, rust proofing, swapping cloth for leather, engine performance upgrades, brake system upgrades (bigger brake discs, ceramic pads, drilled and slotted rotors, single piston calipers to double or even three piston calipers, stainless steel braided brake lines), transmission fluid upgrades, exhaust upgrades (free flow catalytic converter exhausts, better performing j pipes), lighter wheels and tyres of same dimension etc. The list is endless. Yes. And the cars last and perform even better.
4. You do not know what single cell or double cell means. This renders any of your submissions on this topic meh.
5. I have tried to educate you, it is not my fault you didn't learn. I do it for posterity sake and other people who may be mislead by you.
6. Do not close your mind to new knowledge. It will help you.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 130 pages)