9jaRealist's Posts
Nairaland Forum › 9jaRealist's Profile › 9jaRealist's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 (of 376 pages)
Komu1048:This is why I insist that we stick to FACTS and not beer-parlor rumors... ![]() The Indomie noodle scare, pursuant to which NAFDAC (then led the highly-respected Dora Akunyili) recalled batches of Indomie for CONFIRMED to have contained Carbofuran (a toxic carbamate pesticide), occurred in 2004 - that is, FOUR YEARS BEFORE Dangote went into the noodle business in 2008! Btw, Aliko Dangote was NEVER the “chairman of MAN”. The closest connection between the Dangote Group and the presidency of MAN is when Ahmed Mansur, an executive director of the Dangote Group (and former Director-General of the Nigerian Economic Summit Group) was elected president of MAN this past September 2018 - that is, FOURTEEN YEARS AFTER the Indomie recall incident of 2004! Just for the record, of course Aliko Dangote was once president of the council of the Nigeria Stock Exchange (an advisory board of the NSE who management is headed by a CEO - currently Mr. Oscar Onyeama, a former COO of an American exchange), but again he assumed that position in August 2009 - more than FIVE YEARS AFTER the Indomie scare of 2004! So, once again, I plead with you to stick to FACTS! They make these discussions so much more useful. Cheers. . |
Larryomooba:Dangote Group employs COMPETENT people, regardless of state or national origin (and NONE of Dangote’s Naija CEOs is from Kano)... That’s why unlike many Nigerian businesses, he builds factories, farms, and businesses all over Nigeria - not just in his hometown or state. Meanwhile, there are MORE NIGERIANS at management positions at Dangote Group than all foreign managers COMBINED! |
Komu1048:The residents of Obajana are now “facing” tarred roads, proper houses, a community clinic and school - and JOBS! ![]() |
Martin0:Nope! Written to you about what I personally KNOW from having spent time in Liberia... How did Samuel Doe come to power? Again, those ignorant of HISTORICAL CONTEXT fail to grasp the slow-boiling genesis of these matters. |
jaxxy:Have you been to South Africa? Apartheid has only been eliminated in the law books and in the state houses. Economically and in many black people’s lives, except for a handful of politically-connected rent-seekers, apartheid has INTENSIFIED. There’s a reason that black South Africans keep repeatedly attacking other Africans who contributed and sacrificed for South African liberation (and I am not referring to the segment of Nigerian criminals whose existence we must acknowledge), and why Johannesburg is one of the most violent and dangerous cities on the continent. Meanwhile (and seemingly for the umpteenth time), we simply cannot ignore how we got here and “move on”. Like you, I do not “live in the past” either but the consequence of British colonial rule is sadly NOT in the past but something that we witness and experience PRESENTLY! We cannot just move “forward” with a castle built in the sand because when the tide comes (as it invariably does), it will wash us all away. |
Martin0:Locating and defining our common purpose (if any)... Because so long as we do not consider this British-created contraption as OUR OWN COUNTRY, we cannot fix it. Right here on NL, you have folks saying “I am Yoruba before Nigerian” and some Ibos campaigning for Biafra, and you think national resolution (whatever it is) wouldn’t involve going back to Ground Zero! Corruption is the SYMPTOM, not the cancer. And it’s the latter that kills. |
Martin0:Again, someone displaying a palpable ignorance of the consequences of history... The history of Liberia (which was all but a US colony in name) that bequeathed over a century of Americo-Liberian supremacy and dominance over political and national affairs finally exploded into a ORGY OF GENOCIDAL VIOLENCE in the late 1980s/1990s that nearly consumed the entire West African sub-region. Sadly, the tortured mindset that history belongs in the past and has no nexus nor consequences with the present or future is why this country does not study its history - and keeps substantively repeating (or threatening to repeat) same. Meanwhile, as I have previously stated, it is NOT mutually-exclusive to criticize both our post-independence rulers as well as British colonialism. It is NOT the Hobson’s Choice of either one or the other - not least because both are inextricably-linked and in fact different points along the same continuum. Nonetheless, perhaps because some of us don’t bear the same subservience or inferiority complex that others apparently do, I have no qualms at all in telling an arrogantly ignorant Brit to take his condescending lecture and shove it up right up his sitter. |
gypsey:It may surprise folks in a country that devalues history... But the first step of “fixing” anything is first locating/defining the problem. So long as Nigerians do not believe this is THEIR country... They will never work together to fix it. Corruption is a SYMPTOM of a bigger problem. . |
jaxxy:Do you actually understand what an analogy is? Surprised you were not asking if he was the one that impregnated the fabled daughter as well? I have already (and many times) acknowledged our own shortcomings, but simply do not want to hear from someone who sits at the corpus of the problem, not least because his drivel betrays an arrogant ignorance of history and it’s consequences. Whatever has happened in this British-created contraption are effectively “badges and incidents” (and some would contend merely a symptom) of British colonial rule. Meanwhile, why do seem to delusionally believe that we in the Southwest are any better than our siblings in the East? Forgotten about the recurring dumb Ife-Modakeke “indigene vs settler” dichotomy fratricide? Or so many other such silly disputes? At least, the Ibos took the 20 pounds they reportedly were each given after the war (before my time, so I may be wrong) and built veritable fortunes for themselves. |
semyman:It’s really not my headache because I really don’t know these people... But have to ask you why some Nigerians think marriage cures all. We are talking about an almost 60-year old marrying a teenager and people seem to think that it shouldn’t be a topic of discourse. What exactly is wrong with taking and posting pictures on social media as a so-called “slay mama” that supposedly makes it worse than marrying your grandfather’s age-mate? Even for the derided so-called “baby mamas” it probably is better if the baby father (eg, Davido) is young enough and present in the child’s to see them grow up into adulthood than an old man whose chances of even having a healthy baby (sperm degenerates with age) and subsequently seeing the baby blossom into adulthood (and I wish no one any harm or ill-will, but frankly that just brutal honesty) is greatly diminished? GOOD LUCK TO THEM, but seriously some of you Nigerians please really need to wean yourselves off this tortured mindset that any marriage is the overarching accomplishment of womanhood. There’s so much more to life (but perhaps the blushing bride is too young to realize that). . |
Dayam! The second tweet was sheer savagery... ![]() |
phonemakemoney:Pays what “well”? Bros, rest assured that if you are not a supermodel or a regular runway model (or at least what we call a ‘working model’, the sort of “character” or “stock” models that regularly does catalogues), you will be most likely waiting tables or holding some other ‘day’ job (eg, receptionist, temporary or night staff, etc.) that will give you the flexibility to go to auditions. More importantly, that career likely ends as a regular paying gig late-20s/early-30s. After that, the lucky (and smart) ones start trying out for pharmaceutical reps, flight attendants, etc. |
jaxxy:We don’t want him to say it... ![]() It’s no different than the military lecturing us after saddling us with a centralized “federation” of 36 mostly-unviable states and a Constitution that no one is totally happy with. You don’t fornicate with a dude’s daughter and be the same one lamenting her teenage pregnancy. |
HeyCorleone:Bros, if one bears a deformed (or specially-abled) child... It is bad form going around pointing at the kid and mocking him/her. I already conceded that we have underachieved... But it is galling for the entity right at the corpus of many of our core issues to gloat about it. It’s substantively no different than the Nigerian military pontificating about civilians/politicians being unable to properly run Nigeria after saddling us with a deformed over-centralized “federation” (by name only) and a Constitution that’s incredibly inappropriate-for-cause. . |
cescky:“Facts are facts”? Abegi, which “facts” would that be because while I have laid down factual details with names and dates, all you are proffering is beer parlor-type rumors of how Dangote allegedly “tried to poison Otedola” as if you prepared the poison for him - and more specifically, what exactly does that have to do with your allegation that Dangote is given at least a 4-year monopoly in every sector that he is involved in? What exactly has “import waiver” to do with WAPCO and Ashaka being CONTINUOUSLY in business in Nigeria since 1961 and 1962, when Dangote was 4- and 5-years old? For your allegation of a 4-year monopoly to hold any veracity, Dangote would have been granted said monopoly while he was in the womb (or Blue Circle and LaFarge must have been shutdown by the government, which did not happen). ALL Nigerian cement companies (including Dangote, BUA Group, Ibeto and the foreign companies Blue Circle, LaFarge and Holcim/FMN) received “import waivers” as part of Obasanjo administration’s Backward Integration Policy allowing them to import products for a LIMITED period while they built/upgraded local manufacturing units (same policy since applied to local automobile, rice, sugar and dairy production). Consequent upon the Backward Integration Policy, Dangote built the Obajana plant (followed by the Ibeshe plant), BUA Group upgraded/built Obu-Okpella and Sokoto plants, Blue Circle upgraded the Ewekoro and Sagamu WAPCO plants, LaFarge (which later merged globally with Blue Circle) upgraded the Ashaka plant, while Holcim (which also later merged globally into LaFarge) built/upgraded its Odukpani plant. Ibeto was the ONLY Nigerian cement company still importing finished products as of 2018, after the waivers had expired, causing Dangote and other competitors to cry foul. Ibeto has since signed contracts with Sinoma to build its first manufacturing plants and to rehabilitate Nigercem’s Nkalagu plant after over a decade fighting his own ‘kinsmen’ in Ebonyi State to assume control of the plant post-privatization. BTW, LaFarge is a publicly-traded company listed on the stock exchange, and so all of this informed is actually publicly-available (including the FACT that it has operated continuously in Nigeria since the 1960s and NEVER stopped production during the Obasanjo administration so that Dangote can enjoy a fabled “monopoly”), but again so long as we continue to elevate sentiments over FACTS we will be stuck in the abyss. . |
Congrats to them and good luck... But I hope the girl has a real job o! ![]() |
gypsey:It may well be the “truth” but we sure as hell do not want to hear it from the British who created this mess in the first instance... Meanwhile, it is NOT mutually tell the Brits to put a sock in it while simultaneously holding our politicians accountable (Fela did it daily)! |
HeyCorleone:Nope! Lagos became a British colony in 1861... And they didn’t “teach us education” but to read and write so that we can keep records/collect taxes for them. Education is a different animal. . |
PrecisionFx: ![]() So the UK’s Blue Circle/WAPCO and France’s LaFarge/Ashaka (as well as Heidelberg/Scancem’s CCNN) all shuttered their plants and stopped production while maintaining/paying idle expensive expatriate and indigenous staff, so that only Dangote can import cement?! LMBAO!! What rumor mongers do not understand is that companies like Blue Circle and LaFarge are PUBLICLY-LISTED companies whose shares are listed and traded on stock exchanges, and accordingly if they have to stop operations for any reason, they are REQUIRED to publicly release such information because it would be what is classified by law as “material” information that would affect profits and thus stock value/prices. . |
cescky:Feel free to name specifics... But before you do, see my post just above. Cement: Blue Circle/WAPCO (est. 1961); Heidelberg/CCNN (est. 1962) Fertilizer: Notore/Kellogg (est. 1981); FESPAN Kaduna (est. 1976) Petrochemicals: Indorama (Singapore) Eleme Petrochemicals (est. 1990) Sugar: Flour Mills/Golden Sugar (est. 1978) Tomato Paste: Erisco Foods (est. 2004); Jos Tomato (est. 2014) Rice: Dangote (2018); Stallion Group (2014) Refinery: Orient Refinery, Anambra State; 28 private refinery licenses BEFORE Dangote Until Nigerians elevate FACTS over sentiment, this country is destined to remain mired in the abyss. |
PrecisionFx:Yet again, misstating facts a million times will never change reality... ![]() The UK’s Blue Circle’s WAPCO Ewekoro plant was built/launched in 1961 (the Sagamu plant followed about a decade or so later), while the Northern Regional government partnered with the German giant Heidelberg to incorporated the CCNN Cement in 1962 and its Sokoto plant built sometime thereafter, and they have been in CONTINUOUS operations ever since. Dangote was 4 years old in 1961 and 5 years in 1962. |
HeyCorleone:And as for the personal insults, that’s just CHILDISH and boorish, and I refuse to dignify it with a substantive response... SMH ![]() |
HeyCorleone:Exactly what “quality work” please?! Please let’s leave the beer-parlor recollections of old people who grew up under colonialism and were miseducated to equate white with godliness. After all, there are folks (starting with your current President) who thinks that Abacha was a great leader for Nigeria. Rather, let’s look at the facts - after a century of ruling Nigeria, the British did not establish a single university! And before you jump in with old folks’ foggy recollections, yes they did leave a university college or campus, that did not have a single program in engineering or medicine, and all those other disciplines that would be useful for a newly-independent developing nation (in contrast, within 2 years or thereabouts post-independence, Nigerians has established 4 first-rate universities for themselves). The physical infrastructure was even more atrocious. Rail lines (that those old foggies probably will wax nostalgic about) rarely moved between population centers (except by mere coincidence) but primarily moved between the ports and the hinterland, for two basic reasons: (1) to move raw materials and minerals from the hinterland to the ports for export to the UK, and (2) to move imported UK goods from the ports to the captive Nigerian market (captive because in those days the present-day system of global trade was non-existent). What passed for “education” was merely the ability to read and write (and in those days much premium was placed on cursive handwriting) because the SOLE purpose of ‘educating’ Africans was to maintain control over the population, particularly keeping tax and other records. Frankly, it would take a veritable dissertation to do justice to the subject matter (which no one obviously has the time for), but it is always disgusting whenever I hear/read any supposedly-educated Nigerian/African extol the purported virtues of colonialism - even including the folks who lived in GRINDING POVERTY in an effectively Apartheid system, complete with “European Quarters” and “European Clubs”! SMH PS: Btw, perhaps you are confusing me with someone else, because I never said anything about the British teaching us corruption (albeit they are CRUCIAL co-conspirators/enable by omission or commission in lots of corruption perpetuated by the Nigerian political/elite class). |
Hier:What has Buhari to do with anything? A company like ProForce has been building APCs in Nigeria well before 2015. |
OBAGADAFFI:We are trying to build something resembling a cohesive nation from the gibberish contraption they saddled us with... ![]() |
BTW, you criminal Britons did NOT rebuild Korea... The Koreans led by Gen. Park (who you vilified as a dictator) did so themselves. . |
jarkbauer:What exactly is the “message”? That while we may have underachieved (not least because we are still trying to build a nation from the contraption that his British brethren saddled us with for their own administrative and economic convenience), we have still done much better than the British did in a century (i.e., 100 years) of colonial rule. Does the fat-faced jamoke grasp what it takes to dismantle the physical and economic infrastructure that was set up over a period of 100 years to serve his country, together with the coercive forces (police, etc.) oriented towards control and oppression of, rather than service to, the general population. Somebody should stick a pin into where his brain should be and let out some of that empty gas! |
BlacSmit:I forgot one more “scam”... ![]() Running an out-grower program for tomato, rice and sugarcane farmers in the communities near the Dangote Group’s farms and agricultural plants, under which the Dangote Group not only supplies local farmers with inputs such improved higher-yielding seedlings but guarantees to buy up to ALL of their produce at an agreed-upon market price, thereby guaranteeing them a readymade market. What a “scam” indeed! LOL |
BlacSmit: ![]() So his “scam” is to take bank loans, build some of the biggest manufacturing plants/refineries in the world here in Nigeria, employing directly and indirectly TENS OF THOUSANDS OF OUR FELLOW NIGERIANS (both in the construction and operational phases), and for Nigerian subcontractors, thereby sustaining livelihoods for even tens of thousands more of other fellow Nigerians who service such employed Nigerians (such as doctors, dentists, landlords, teachers, food vendors, local bukas, etc.)? Or is the real “scam” training THOUSANDS OF NIGERIANS (not just at the Dangote Academy, but also the many engineering graduates sent abroad to train for the refinery and petrochemical/fertilizer projects), and thereby providing life-long skills to these Nigerians not only for tens of thousands of direct and indirect NIGERIAN JOBS at the Dangote Group but for the remainder of their professional working lives, even long after they may have left the employ of the Dangote Group? Perhaps the real “scam” is generating tax revenues (both corporate and income taxes from all those thousands of jobs created) for the government to hopefully invest in both much-needed physical and social infrastructure (such as public transportation, public education and healthcare)? Or perhaps it is contributing massively to turning Nigeria from the world’s second-largest importer of cement (reportedly only behind the US) to an exporter of cement, saving Nigeria billions in otherwise wasted foreign currency and even earning forex from exports and the Dangote Cement plants in different African countries. Of course, this same particular brand of “scam” will be replicated when the Dangote Refinery, together with the fertilizer and petrochemicals plants, become operational and thus not only save Nigeria billions of dollars from the current dumb importation of petroleum products, but earn Nigeria millions (possibly billions) from exportation of the plants’ products. The fact that someone will idolize Yahoo boys who often steal people’s life savings, and routinely engage in crude backward superstitious ritual that often involves the MURDER OF FELLOW NIGERIANS, is a sad succinct commentary on the disturbed mindset of so many Nigerians. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 (of 376 pages)