Afam's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Afam's Profile › Afam's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 (of 175 pages)
I know, sometimes one cannot resist the urge to stand by and read such nonsense from people that are intellectually bankrupt and yet in their imaginery world they see themselves as being fantastic people. What is the world turning into? |
@Tornadoz, Why worry, in a world where people hide behind computers to write whatever they want you don't need to bother yourself with claims made by people. My take on his wonderful achievement is that considering the level of intellect he displays on this forum then I cannot but pity MTN and the company he currently works with. I have been invited to seminars where you see CEOs of IT companies talk a whole load of nonsense even with their well made suits. After one such seminar I stopped wondering why Nigeria is not making real progress. I keep wondering if people actually get interviewed for jobs or they just get ID cards because of the language they speak. Assuming his claim is not one of his many lies on this forum then MTN is a disappointment. Enjoy! |
As a minimum, get inverters with inbuilt chargers. Buying off the shelf chargers (if not properly setup) may just fry your battery bank. |
Mamajama:Yar'adua resolved the issues NLC brought before the FG and in my opinion the strike was completely meaningless. The strike achieved nothing because the organizers ended up agreeing with what the FG came up with. We should learn to give credit when it is necessary while condemning what needs to be condemned. |
How much is N850M? If you sell something as small as maggi cubes you can make that amount of money in one month. Even if you make just N2.00 from every cube and in Nigeria today you have just 50M out of 140M using maggi to cook you will be making N2.00 x 40M = N80M And in 11 days you would have made N880M, more than what Yar'adua declared. We must learn to look at issues critically and aspire to be successful in life. Sometimes, I see nothing but a sense of hopelessness and impossibility in the way some of us look at issues here. Making money is not difficult if you are honest, hardworking, dedicated and above all if you do not have blood on your hands, not the situation where the average businessman is looking for a head to donate so he can be guaranteed riches. You can make all the money you want by providing services to people living in your area. The average okada rider makes more money than the average banker (minus fraud). |
@Denex, I did promise to make Yar'adua hand over to OBJ if you could bring davidylan out of his ignorant world where he sees everything in black and white when people are seeing colors. You sees things in 2 dimensions when 3D is becoming ubiquitous. Let the boy concentrate on his studies, you may be distracting him. I wonder the type of excuses he will be giving each time he fails an exam, he may claim the lecturer is ignorant or the lecturer doesn't like him. When will Nigerians get the courage to accept responsibilities of their actions? Not knowing something is certainly not a crime so why do people prefer to do all they can to show that they know what they do not know? This is really dangerous. @TayoD, Credibility wise in this forum (based on your posts) you are no where and it will do you a whole lot of good to take some time off, read other peoples posts and try to read meaning into them. To post for hia no be by force. Abi you wan dey like I-man/4Play wey dey hide hin face when everybody come sabi say he dey use multiple usernames for this forum to dey deceive people? |
If this pictures are from Iraq then it makes sense to heap the blame on the doorsteps of the US because the current scenario wouldn't have existed but for the lies of Bush that led to the illegal invasion of that country. Prevention they say is better than cure. Why avoid discussing the root cause of the problem while dwelling on the effects? |
Seems you are lost when personalities are not the issues here. Free lawyer, your services are not needed, abi na by force? Me? Provide facts to prove that Bush lied? Is your stay in the US based on an arrangement that you must defend Bush and the US regardless of what they do? Even Americans are pissed off with their president and here you have a Nigerian embarassing himself on a public forum by defending rubbish. |
@TayoD, Considering the fact that Denex clearly made it clear that I never insulted him and you insist I did you now appear as a laywer that is hell bent on defending someone that openly says he doesn't need your services. Need I say more? Your tactics backfired and that is just one of many that did so. Still maintaining that Bush did not lie about Iraq? Can someone wake this guy up from this slumber? |
I know a lot of non muslims that go to Dubai to buy stuff and they all come back with their heads still on their shoulders. Personally, I believe that peace and injustices cannot co-exist. You cannot beat someone and at the same time ask the person not to cry. The killing of anyone by anyone, group or nation is bad and until we begin to look at these issues with all sense of sincerity nothing much will come out of the current state of insecurity. |
denex:I wonder why this man (TayoD) will manufacture a lie to prove a point. This is getting ridiculous and anyone with an iota of shame will even avoid the forum for a long long time or apologize to the users for trying to deceive people. But he will come and try to justify the lie and even introduce new ones. |
@Mckren, Unfortunately, the onus lies on us to dispel the lies these Igbo haters keep spreading everywhere since there is a high probability that people will end up believing lies if they are told over and over again. Thanks. @ono, You cannot even hide the hatred, it is stinking to high heavens. Meanwhile, this forum cannot be used to fully educate you on what you seem not to understand ranging from military issues then to the spread of crude oil in the Niger Delta including majority of core Igbo states not to talk about the abundance of coal and other mineral resources. Over 40% of electricity generated in the US comes from coal so that should tell you that left alone the Igbos will guarantee steady power supply in no time while making money from crude oil in Abia and Imo States. Huge gas reserves in Anambra is another untapped resource and I hope you understand that gas reserves are more viable than crude oil reserves (try to understand this before you start challenging it, just get the facts right and everything will be just fine). So stop blaming the 3 ethnic groups for any problems there. Having lived and worked in places like PH, Bonny Island, Eket and Warri I believe I have a fair understanding of what happens in the Niger Delta. Do take this post as my last post to you as I do not have time for people that spread hate ideologies while masking same. |
davidylan:For a student who finds it difficult to know his left from his right I don't expect much from you. It seems that lies are part and parcel of your life otherwise why do you keep telling them without any shame? I never stated anything about 4,000 jews but because you come here with a dangerous mindset based on hatred for a people based on race and religion you never even bother to think before you post anything. Face your studies for your own good. I asked if it was true that none out of over 30,000 Jews working at WTC died on 911, a clear statement but until you force the statement to align with your pre-determined position you cannot read properly. I guess you don't see anything wrong with lies and I pity people that are close to you because as far as I am concerned a liar can equally be a thief. Stick to the facts, it won't kill you, it will only make you better as a human being. Learn to accept responsibilities of your actions whether right or wrong. |
@TayoD, 1. That you concluded that my statement directed at Denex was raining of abuses then it is safe to conclude that you are confused yourself. I made a precise comment because I was disappointed that he was asking for a link when it was clearly stated that the article was from my mail box, hence the question that followed what you have dubiously termed raining of abuses. 2. This thread has been doing well with comments from many people without anyone focusing on individuals but I guess you find it difficult to discuss issues without focusing on personalities. 3. It seems you spend a lot of time visiting Syria owned-newspaper because I did not have to visit any government owned newspaper to write anything anywhere. I asked a question anyway and if you think the answer is in the negative state your reasons. I did not ask anyone to explain where, why and when such statements were made and whether they were works of spin doctors or not. Stick to the issues abeg. When the lies told by Bush were exposed for the first time there were allegations of spin doctors working round the clock, today we know better. But I guess what I think on issues matters a whole lot to you otherwise I find it supremely difficult to understand why you have to divert attention to an individual on an otherwise interesting thread with different point of views. |
Facts don't lie and like the author of the rubbish called article you have introduced yours and I will make them clear. ono:I did not know that the Yoruba Major (1 out of the 5) was from Ironsi's tribe, please educate me on this fallacy. ono:Since this was a military uprising any soldier (let alone a higher officer) has the option to fight against the uprising or become part of it. Ojukwu chose to fight because he was not part of the coup and the coup was targeted at the Igbos so what's your point? ono:I am sure not every Igbo speaking part of the Eastern region was happy about the administration and by the way oil wasn't the main stay then, so get your facts right or are you referring to palm oil? ono:As some other posters have queried - so the innocent Igbos living in the North had to die for what 4 out of 5 Majors did in the army? ono:You surely don't know the facts. Ojukwu was in charge of the Eastern region and that included the present Bayelsa, Rivers, Cross Rivers and Akwa Ibom states. Your analysis about crude oil story is not based on the reality on ground then abeg. ono:Thanks for the information. At least he achieved that task and we know better today. ono:Put differently, the Igbos fought a noble war but Nigeria fought to secure the oil rich areas, little wonder a lot of Niger deltans today are shouting resource control. Hear this - LOVE THE IGBOS OR HATE THEM, YOU CANNOT CERTAINLY IGNORE THEM |
Still on 911, is it true that none out of the over 30,000.00 Jews working at the WTC died on that day? Maybe they were all on vacation or something assuming the answer to the question is in the affirmative. Rather than dismiss claims that may appear as outrageous I guess the best line of action will be to try to find out if statements we may not like are actually true because the world will be a better place if we know for sure what is happening. For example, the world is better off today since we knew Bush lied to the whole world just to illegally invade Iraq. Now, many people are not ready to swallow his lies any more as he has become the most ineffective US president one can remember. At least the world understands that both John Major and George Bush Snr were board members of a company owned by the Bin ladens. At least the world understands that Israel used cluster bombs against civilian populations when they were bombing Lebanon because Hezbollah kidnapped some soldiers. |
initiator:Why do you agree with me on this? Did I protect your interest here? All my posts have certain things in common, fair play, honesty, justice, peace, truth, fact and racial and religous tolerance. So if you agree with this post and disagree with others then you may be too subjective and in my world, subjectivity takes back seat. I do not agree that lies, misinformation, misrepresentation etc will achieve anything so why waste time on them? Truth shall always prevail over lies and from Iraq to this thread where the writer criminally attempted to rewrite history without any iota of shame it is evident. Enjoy! |
You ain't seen nothing yet, it seems people don't give a damn these days when they lie. The newspapers? Investigating anything? When its not politics and rumours they are lost. As for the website, soon they will understand that having 4 million hits per month mean nothing if they do not make money unless they are running some charity. A lesson a lot of website owners learn the hard way. |
Na email you want make we send to the link abi na website address wey you want show? http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/6292578.stm Are they being arrested because they are corrupt or because they did not honor the invitation by the EFCC? Meanwhile, does it now mean that the other governors are clean simply because they honored the invitation? |
It seems it is now fashionable for people to make sometimes ridiculous attempts to rewrite history. Without bothering to spend time on quite a load of rubbish put down by the writer one cannot dispute the following 1. That a yoruba man was among the 5 majors that spearheaded the coup 2. That Ironsi (being the most senior in the army) took over and locked up Nzeogwu and co 3. That Gowon led a counter coup 6 months later and proceeded to call himself the commander in chief 4. That a Brigadier General of yoruba extraction (Ogundipe) was the most senior surviving person in the army who should ordinarily take over government 5. That Ojukwu refused to see Gowon (a junior Col to him) as his CIC as that would mean retirement as his junior cannot be his CIC 6. That Ojukwu and the Eastern part of the nation maintained a position that even those who went to Aburi agreed upon for about a year before the war broke out 7. That Nigeria did not restrict its fighting of the war outside Eastern part of Nigeria so I wonder why someone in his right senses will question Biafra fighting outside Eastern part of the nation unless the writer's idea of war is for you to stay in your house and continue to defend while your enemy comes in with every type of amour Put differently, Ojukwu insisted on equity and fairness and in reality fought a war that the yorubas would have fought if Ogundipe stood his ground as the most senior army officer in the Nigerian army then and not allow a junior Col (Gowon) to take over the mantle of leadership. So, while I am not a fan of Ojukwu I dare say that as an Igbo man I am happy for the boldness he exhibited even though his family background meant he could have lived life to the fullest and lived a comfortable life. Let the lies stop, let people stop trying to to rewrite histories because there is always a lesson for us to learn from past mistakes. |
I read an article sometime ago where the relevance or otherwise of wikipedia was debated and the conclusion was that those who have more access to wikipedia will eventually define what people should believe regardless of whether it is wrong or right. The same thing can be said about the media and the messages they make available to the public. My take on this is this; If you don't understand the creator of a message and the motive behind creating the message you may never understand the message no matter how hard you try. People must learn to live together in peace because the price of war is way too much and unpredictable too as the planner may actually become the first victim. |
I am of the view that people should be in the know about what happens around them. I am not the type that believes in convincing anyone, I believe information should be made available for all and let the individuals decide for themselves as regards what to believe and what not to believe. Unfortunately, many have already taken sides on this issue of Israel/Palestine (well just as so many other issues) even without taking time to understand the reality or facts on ground. I have seen or read from people that practice religous extremism and fundamentalism even without their knowing it. All in all, we cannot have peace until we are guaranteed justice, fairness and equity. |
@Mariory, You just confirmed my position. You should know by now that I do not respond to individuals unless I read posts that have my name on them. Go back and see the post you made and come back here to maintain the same position that you are maintaining now that you just replied to someone's post before I focused on your person. I never deny any comments I make including insults because in 100% of the cases I do so by way of responses, I never initiate them so crying wolf won't help. |
From my inbox (before person go say make dem post link) - GopherCentral.com, check viewpoint NB; The article below is not meant to sway public opinion, we get better by having access to a lot of information even though how we assimilate them may be different from person to person. Read, enjoy and be your own judge but don't attempt to force others to agree with your position, it only leads to frustration. +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ A Declaration of Independence From Israel– by Chris Hedges Israel, without the United States, would probably not exist. The country came perilously close to extinction during the October 1973 war when Egypt, trained and backed by the Soviet Union, crossed the Suez and the Syrians poured in over the Golan Heights. Huge American military transport planes came to the rescue. They began landing every half-hour to refit the battered Israeli army, which had lost most of its heavy armor. By the time the war was over, the United States had given Israel $2.2 billion in emergency military aid. The intervention, which enraged the Arab world, triggered the OPEC oil embargo that for a time wreaked havoc on Western economies. This was perhaps the most dramatic example of the sustained life-support system the United States has provided to the Jewish state. Israel was born at midnight May 14, 1948. The U.S. recognized the new state 11 minutes later. The two countries have been locked in a deadly embrace ever since. Washington, at the beginning of the relationship, was able to be a moderating influence. An incensed President Eisenhower demanded and got Israel's withdrawal after the Israelis occupied Gaza in 1956. During the Six-Day War in 1967, Israeli warplanes bombed the USS Liberty. The ship, flying the U.S. flag and stationed 15 miles off the Israeli coast, was intercepting tactical and strategic communications from both sides. The Israeli strikes killed 34 U.S. sailors and wounded 171. The deliberate attack froze, for a while, Washington's enthusiasm for Israel. But ruptures like this one proved to be only bumps, soon smoothed out by an increasingly sophisticated and well- financed Israel lobby that set out to merge Israeli and American foreign policy in the Middle East. Israel has reaped tremendous rewards from this alliance. It has been given more than $140 billion in U.S. direct economic and military assistance. It receives about $3 billion in direct assistance annually, roughly one-fifth of the U.S. foreign aid budget. Although most American foreign aid packages stipulate that related military purchases have to be made in the United States, Israel is allowed to use about 25 percent of the money to subsidize its own growing and profitable defense industry. It is exempt, unlike other nations, from accounting for how it spends the aid money. And funds are routinely siphoned off to build new Jewish settlements, bolster the Israeli occupation in the Palestinian territories and construct the security barrier, which costs an estimated $1 million a mile. The barrier weaves its way through the West Bank, creating isolated pockets of impoverished Palestinians in ringed ghettos. By the time the barrier is finished it will probably in effect seize up to 40 percent of Palestinian land. This is the largest land grab by Israel since the 1967 war. And although the United States officially opposes settlement expansion and the barrier, it also funds them. The U.S. has provided Israel with nearly $3 billion to develop weapons systems and given Israel access to some of the most sophisticated items in its own military arsenal, including Blackhawk attack helicopters and F-16 fighter jets. The United States also gives Israel access to intelligence it denies to its NATO allies. And when Israel refused to sign the nuclear nonproliferation treaty, the United States stood by without a word of protest as the Israelis built the region's first nuclear weapons program. U.S. foreign policy, especially under the current Bush administration, has become little more than an extension of Israeli foreign policy. The United States since 1982 has vetoed 32 Security Council resolutions critical of Israel, more than the total number of vetoes cast by all the other Security Council members. It refuses to enforce the Security Council resolutions it claims to support. These resolutions call on Israel to withdraw from the occupied territories. There is now volcanic anger and revulsion by Arabs at this blatant favoritism. Few in the Middle East see any distinction between Israeli and American policies, nor should they. And when the Islamic radicals speak of U.S. support of Israel as a prime reason for their hatred of the United States, we should listen. The consequences of this one-sided relationship are being played out in the disastrous war in Iraq, growing tension with Iran, and the humanitarian and political crisis in Gaza. It is being played out in Lebanon, where Hezbollah is gearing up for another war with Israel, one most Middle East analysts say is inevitable. The U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East is unraveling. And it is doing so because of this special relationship. The eruption of a regional conflict would usher in a nightmare of catastrophic proportions. There were many in the American foreign policy establish- ment and State Department who saw this situation coming. The decision to throw our lot in with Israel in the Middle East was not initially a popular one with an array of foreign policy experts, including President Harry Truman's secretary of state, Gen. George Marshall. They warned there would be a backlash. They knew the cost the United States would pay in the oil-rich region for this decision, which they feared would be one of the greatest strategic blunders of the postwar era. And they were right. The decision has jeopardized American and Israeli security and created the kindling for a regional conflagration. The alliance, which makes no sense in geopolitical terms, does makes sense when seen through the lens of domestic politics. The Israel lobby has become a potent force in the American political system. No major candidate, Democrat or Republican, dares to challenge it. The lobby successfully purged the State Department of Arab experts who challenged the notion that Israeli and American interests were identical. Backers of Israel have doled out hundreds of millions of dollars to support U.S. political candidates deemed favorable to Israel. They have brutally punished those who strayed, including the first President Bush, who they said was not vigorous enough in his defense of Israeli interests. This was a lesson the next Bush White House did not forget. George W. Bush did not want to be a one-term president like his father. Israel advocated removing Saddam Hussein from power and currently advocates striking Iran to prevent it from acquiring nuclear weapons. Direct Israeli involvement in American military operations in the Middle East is impossible. It would reignite a war between Arab states and Israel. The United States, which during the Cold War avoided direct military involvement in the region, now does the direct bidding of Israel while Israel watches from the sidelines. During the 1991 Gulf War, Israel was a spectator, just as it is in the war with Iraq. President Bush, facing dwindling support for the war in Iraq, publicly holds Israel up as a model for what he would like Iraq to become. Imagine how this idea plays out on the Arab street, which views Israel as the Algerians viewed the French colonizers during the war of liberation. "In Israel," Bush said recently, "terrorists have taken innocent human life for years in suicide attacks. The difference is that Israel is a functioning democracy and it's not prevented from carrying out its responsibilities. And that's a good indicator of success that we're looking for in Iraq." ----------------------------------------------------------- What's New On DVD, Are you the kind of person who just has to own your favorite movies on DVD? Or maybe you see a new movie advertised and think to yourself, 'renter' and decide to wait until it comes out on DVD to see it. If you're this kind of person you can stay up on all the new DVD releases just by subscribing to 'What's New on DVD' for free. It's a periodical email publication from GopherCentral.com that let's you know what's coming out on DVD. You'll also get links to video clips and special pricing. Just click the link below and look for What's New on DVD: <a href=" http://www.gophercentral.com "> Look for What's New on DVD</a> ----------------------------------------------------------- Americans are increasingly isolated and reviled in the world. They remain blissfully ignorant of their own culpability for this isolation. U.S. "spin" paints the rest of the world as unreasonable, but Israel, Americans are assured, will always be on our side. Israel is reaping economic as well as political rewards from its lock-down apartheid state. In the "gated community" market it has begun to sell systems and techniques that allow the nation to cope with terrorism. Israel, in 2006, exported $3.4 billion in defense products— well over a billion dollars more than it received in American military aid. Israel has grown into the fourth largest arms dealer in the world. Most of this growth has come in the so-called homeland security sector. "The key products and services," as Naomi Klein wrote in The Nation, “are hi-tech fences, unmanned drones, biometric IDs, video and audio surveillance gear, air passenger profiling and prisoner interrogation systems—precisely the tools and technologies Israel has used to lock in the occupied territories. And that is why the chaos in Gaza and the rest of the region doesn't threaten the bottom line in Tel Aviv, and may actually boost it. Israel has learned to turn endless war into a brand asset, pitching its uprooting, occupation and containment of the Palestinian people as a half-century head start in the 'global war on terror'." The United States, at least officially, does not support the occupation and calls for a viable Palestinian state. It is a global player, with interests that stretch well beyond the boundaries of the Middle East, and the equation that Israel's enemies are our enemies is not that simple. "Terrorism is not a single adversary," John Mearsheimer and Stephen Walt wrote in The London Review of Books, "but a tactic employed by a wide array of political groups. The terrorist organizations that threaten Israel do not threaten the United States, except when it intervenes against them (as in Lebanon in 1982). Moreover, Palestinian terrorism is not random violence directed against Israel or 'the West'; it is largely a response to Israel's prolonged campaign to colonize the West Bank and Gaza Strip. More important, saying that Israel and the US are united by a shared terrorist threat has the causal relationship backwards: the US has a terrorism problem in good part because it is so closely allied with Israel, not the other way around." Middle Eastern policy is shaped in the United States by those with very close ties to the Israel lobby. Those who attempt to counter the virulent Israeli position, such as former Secretary of State Colin Powell, are ruthlessly slapped down. This alliance was true also during the Clinton administration, with its array of Israel-first Middle East experts, including special Middle East coordinator Dennis Ross and Martin Indyk, the former deputy director of the American Israel Public Affairs Committee, AIPAC, one of the most powerful Israel lobbying groups in Washington. But at least people like Indyk and Ross are sane, willing to consider a Palestinian state, however unviable, as long as it is palatable to Israel. The Bush administration turned to the far-right wing of the Israel lobby, those who have not a shred of compassion for the Palestinians or a word of criticism for Israel. These new Middle East experts include Elliott Abrams, John Bolton, Douglas Feith, the disgraced I. Lewis "Scooter" Libby, Richard Perle, Paul Wolfowitz and David Wurmser. Washington was once willing to stay Israel's hand. It intervened to thwart some of its most extreme violations of human rights. This administration, however, has signed on for every disastrous Israeli blunder, from building the security barrier in the West Bank, to sealing off Gaza and triggering a humanitarian crisis, to the ruinous invasion and saturation bombing of Lebanon. The few tepid attempts by the Bush White House to criticize Israeli actions have all ended in hasty and humiliating retreats in the face of Israeli pressure. When the Israel Defense Forces in April 2002 reoccupied the West Bank, President Bush called on then-Prime Minister Ariel Sharon to "halt the incursions and begin withdrawal." It never happened. After a week of heavy pressure from the Israel lobby and Israel's allies in Congress, meaning just about everyone in Congress, the president gave up, calling Sharon "a man of peace." It was a humiliating moment for the United States, a clear sign of who pulled the strings. There were several reasons for the war in Iraq. The desire for American control of oil, the belief that Washington could build puppet states in the region, and a real, if misplaced, fear of Saddam Hussein played a part in the current disaster. But it was also strongly shaped by the notion that what is good for Israel is good for the United States. Israel wanted Iraq neutralized. Israeli intelligence, in the lead-up to the war, gave faulty information to the U.S. about Iraq's alleged arsenal of weapons of mass destruction. And when Baghdad was taken in April 2003, the Israeli government immediately began to push for an attack on Syria. The lust for this attack has waned, in no small part because the Americans don't have enough troops to hang on in Iraq, much less launch a new occupation. Israel is currently lobbying the United States to launch aerial strikes on Iran, despite the debacle in Lebanon. Israel's iron determination to forcibly prevent a nuclear Iran makes it probable that before the end of the Bush administration an attack on Iran will take place. The efforts to halt nuclear development through diplomatic means have failed. It does not matter that Iran poses no threat to the United States. It does not matter that it does not even pose a threat to Israel, which has several hundred nuclear weapons in its arsenal. It matters only that Israel demands total military domination of the Middle East. The alliance between Israel and the United States has culminated after 50 years in direct U.S. military involve- ment in the Middle East. This involvement, which is not furthering American interests, is unleashing a geopolitical nightmare. American soldiers and Marines are dying in droves in a useless war. The impotence of the United States in the face of Israeli pressure is complete. The White House and the Congress have become, for perhaps the first time, a direct extension of Israeli interests. There is no longer any debate within the United States. This is evidenced by the obsequious nods to Israel by all the current presidential candidates with the exception of Dennis Kucinich. The political cost for those who challenge Israel is too high. This means there will be no peaceful resolution of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. It means the incidents of Islamic terrorism against the U.S. and Israel will grow. It means that American power and prestige are on a steep, irreversible decline. And I fear it also means the ultimate end of the Jewish experiment in the Middle East. The weakening of the United States, economically and militarily, is giving rise to new centers of power. The U.S. economy, mismanaged and drained by the Iraq war, is increasingly dependent on Chinese trade imports and on Chinese holdings of U.S. Treasury securities. China holds dollar reserves worth $825 billion. If Beijing decides to abandon the U.S. bond market, even in part, it would cause a free fall by the dollar. It would lead to the collapse of the $7-trillion U.S. real estate market. There would be a wave of U.S. bank failures and huge unemployment. The growing dependence on China has been accompanied by aggressive work by the Chinese to build alliances with many of the world's major exporters of oil, such as Iran, Nigeria, Sudan and Venezuela. The Chinese are preparing for the looming worldwide clash over dwindling resources. The future is ominous. Not only do Israel's foreign policy objectives not coincide with American interests, they actively hurt them. The growing belligerence in the Middle East, the calls for an attack against Iran, the collapse of the imperial project in Iraq have all given an opening, where there was none before, to America's rivals. It is not in Israel's interests to ignite a regional conflict. It is not in ours. But those who have their hands on the wheel seem determined, in the name of freedom and democracy, to keep the American ship of state headed at breakneck speed into the cliffs before us. +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Can we honestly dismiss some of these statements even when a lot of them are evident today? |
What bothers me on this forum (politics section) is that those who will first insult will scream the most when they are responded to in kind, those who will spread misinformation will claim that others are responsible, those who will lie and expect everyone to disprove the lies will be the ones accusing others of lying, those who will call a spade a spoon will be the first to scream lets call a spade a spade. Why is the world filled with hypocrites and sycophants? @chidichris/dog, How many times have I stated that posting on a public forum is not compulsory? With your comments on the bilbe and israel I dare state that you are the perfect candidate for suicide bombing - no brains, blind follower and religious bigot. |
Na wah ooo. With petroldollar the US may be getting free crude oil anyway, just print more notes and ship in more crude. If euro is used toady the US will be in deep trouble, little wonder Saddam had to leave the scene because he was a strong proponent of currency shift. |
ezines are subscribed to, maybe it is new to you but that is what it means. However, if what you are doing now makes you feel cool then go ahead. No one is asking you to believe the thread, so do not feel too important on this issue. |
denex:Don't tell me that your level of reasoning has become this low. Did you miss out the very first statement on this thread or what? Inbox means from my email box. Send an email to Viewpoint <ezine@gophercentral.com>. Or do people now provide links to messages in their mail boxes? Wonders shall never end. It seems that we are now using the word liar anyhow simply because some of us here lie a lot, not so for everyone. Davidylan, I pointed out 2 clear lies some couple of minutes ago and your justification was that I should contribute my own and leave you in peace. I don't have any reason to lie about anything on this forum and would promptly admit any mistakes I may make, I don't avoid them, I don't ignore them, I don't justify them. So for Mariory who posts as a man even when someone had earlier challenged her identity which she shamefully ignored to be talking about liars is another wonder of the world. I don't deal with hermaphrodites (I hope say na the spelling sha). |
davidylan:GBAM!!!! Abeg wetin be the names of the history books wey you get? I go like read them if I get time. |
How can you discuss the issue of crude oil without discussing volume? I made it clear from day 1 that volume of crude oil is the main issue. Your mathematics is indeed very correct but was that the impression you were trying to create when you stated that OPEC does not make sense since 60% of nations were not part of it? If OPEC control over 80% of the crude oil export whether you have 200 countries sharing the other 20% or not is immaterial. No vex, your maths correct but the point has been made that OPEC calls the shots and there is nothing the US can do about it. Over to the other issues you raised. |
davidylan:Don't chase anyone around, I try as much as possible to correct misinformation, lies and half truths. Glad you are now clear that some of your statements are indeed flat wrong. It is far better to make sure of what you are saying than making these mistakes here and there. Good luck, the forum is meant for the benefit of all and as such we should all endeavor to make the information flow as accurate as possible. |
@denex, Don't do this to this boy, help him abeg. davidylan:Really? See what browsing without understanding does to people? Choosing not to run any nuclear weapons program is not the same thing as asking as relying 100% on the US for territorial defence, in fact no sane nation will depend completely on another nation for defence. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Today, Japan's Self-Defense Force is one of the most capable militaries in the world. In 2005, Tokyo spent $44.7 billion on defense - just slightly less than Britain, which finds itself heavily deployed in both Iraq and Afghanistan. Japan has one of the world's best navies, with 18 submarines, 55 destroyers, frigates and other ships, and a robust contingent of antisubmarine aircraft. The increasingly capable Air Self-Defense Force has seven combat wings, which deploy 150 F-15s, among other aircraft. http://www.iht.com/articles/2006/06/15/opinion/edcronin.php ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ davidylan:Is ASUU still on strike? Which is easier, to confirm information before stating them as facts or to google and come up with very wrong statements that lead to nowhere? @davidylan, Try to be in the know, try to understand issues you dabble into so that you don't end up making clearly avoidable mistakes which by the way you will never acknowledge. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 (of 175 pages)